Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Garden View Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

29-31 Nevern Square, Earls Court, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW5 9PE, United Kingdom

#687 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1451 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    3.8
    Value for money? What's that?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I realize that one has to ramp down their expectations when looking for hotel rooms in London, but this hotel really took the cake in terms of poor value for money. First of all, our ground-floor room was roughly larger than a sardine can and looked directly onto a tool shed in which half-naked men were working all day. As such, we weren't able to keep our windows open at any time of the day or night during 30-degree daytime weather, since someone could simply climb into the room. I'm also usually weary of leaving my key at the reception, since anyone could claim to be you and get into your room, but the hotel insisted upon this. The bedsheets had stains on them, dirt and dead spiders littered the floor, neither TV nor WiFi worked properly, and only two Cirque du Soleil acrobats could fit in the bathroom at the same time. We had no place to lay our suitcase on except for the bed, but since the sheets were dirty anyways, this didn't make a big difference. The "continental" "breakfast" featured instant coffee, cereal and toast, none of which contained any actual flavour per se. Staff stood in the doorway, chatted amongst themselves and ate half-burnt, half-raw toast while not paying any attention to the guests. The icing on the cake was when the fire alarm went off at 6:45 in the morning, thus sending guests half naked out into the hallway (I sense a theme here...). Apparently the alarm was set off by the steam of someone showering, as you couldn't regulate the water temperature anywhere between "no heat at all" and "hot enough to peel off your skin". Had we paid 20 pounds a night for this room, I wouldn't have felt the need to write such a scathing review, but we paid much more than this and -- even in expensive London -- expected more.

    Unfortunately very little to like about this hotel except for the location close to Earl's Court.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's no air con so in 30 degrees summer heat, it was very difficult to sleep. Fans not always available. Some bedrooms very, very small esp if more the 2 people staying.

    The location is excellent. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is limited but a great bonus. Terry on reception was so unbelievably helpful and kind. Good blackout curtains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.1
    Otherwise it was a good stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and particularly the bin in the room smelled of cigarettes. In addition the room was on the lower ground floor and it wasn't really appropriate to keep the windows open during the night. It was very hot in London and in the room but it didn't feel safe to keep the main window open. We were a little disappointed about the breakfast.

    It was a quiet hotel and area of London.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.4
    Not as a good as before.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed here before and I was given a much better room. This one was too small with a tiny bathroom : in order to shave , you need to be in the shower stand because there is no other room for you to stand while shaving. Furniture of this room was too old. Despite the heat , there is no A/C : just an old fashioned fan that stopped existing in any other hotel in the so called third world. Price of the hotel has increased and became exaggerated. For this price or even less you can find a nicer hotel with a/c and more modern furniture. To the hotel owners : please take a look at the hotels around you and price your hotel accordingly.

    Location Friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    3.8
    Smelly leaky shower, faulty plug sockets, owner/manager doesn’t care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very dusty and stifling. Requested a fan, there weren’t enough for each room. Staff made phone contact with manager who refused to allow them to supply one, unlike other hotels. Staff did their best and moved us to another room but it was still stifling. We were forced to sleep under wet towels as the room feels so fiery hot. In addition, the shower smelled of sewage. It also leaked which added to the difficulty in sleeping. The plug socket didn’t work. The phone was disabled and was only in the room for show, thereby insulting ones intelligence,so communicating with reception involved using the very slow lift. My fiend left a day early, unable to spend another moment in there. I only stayed out of desperation. Never again!

    Staff tried to help but were unsupported by an absent manager who had no regard for them or hotel guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.5
    Location - a quiet street, next to the small garden
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there is no air-conditioning - there is no refrigerator - old furniture - bathroom is too small and inconvenient - a dirty terrace

    Location - a quiet street, next to the small garden metro and bus stops are near by; friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was close to metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was so hot in July: the window cannot be opened widely, there was no air condition in the room. Neither no mini refrigerator to put some cold water.. Hence, in July, it was a bit challenging to stay in the room.

    The hotel was close to metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.7
    Good for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are thin, we could hear the cleaner hoovering the hallway and making lots of banging noises outside our room at 7am until 9am. The bathroom was tiny and wasn’t that clean, we kept finding long black hairs.

    Great location, bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Okay for the money for a night or two, but wouldn’t stay there long term
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast consisted of toast or cereal no hot food, the room wasn’t very clean and the tap on the shower and sink wasn’t working properly. The lift wasn’t working properly and when returning to the hotel late at night the receptionist ( a man not even in uniform) was chatting with a mate, clearly not an employee, who was leaning over the desk. Both were shouting and swearing enough that my wife didn’t feel comfortable smoking outside alone.

    For the price you pay considering it’s location in London then it is okay for a one night stay. It’s close to the Underground, the rooms have everything you need and a breakfast is included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    It was in the price range that we could afford but not somewhere we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt cleanliness was an issue. Floors didn't seem to be cleaned and bathroom appeared clean but a bit smelly.

    The proximity to underground station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.8
    Room was as described, a small but very functional room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head was not very good. Tiny little haphazard sprays with little actual water flow. If I'd had to wash my hair it would have taken hours such little water. Use a washer and you can get clean enough - just don't wash your hair,

    Room was as described, a small but very functional room. All rooms in this area of London are small - but you don't spend much time in your room! Lovely view over park. Bathroom was as expected for an inner city location - shower was actually bigger than i expected! (Just the water flow issue ). Staff on reception are great and will help you with any questions. Fantastic location for accessing other parts of London. Loved having a window to open and get fresh air - would love a fan in the rooms for when its humid. Would tecommend this hotel as a budget accomodation base if you are coming to London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.8
    Location was great, easy stroll to tube station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms tiny, beds uncomfortable, room smelly. Not enough plug sockets. Breakfast not included, when I thought it was.

    Location was great, easy stroll to tube station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hand towel in the rooms. Bath towel was small. Only 3 electric sockets in room. All a long distance from the bed. No chance of charging your phone and using it as a clock during the night. The smoke detector/sprinkler was held together with tape.

    Convenient location. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    It was very clean and the staff were very good and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot and there was no Air Conditioning so we opened the windows, but outside, as we were on the ground floor with a pipe coming out from the garage (not sure what for) from which came fumes which also steamed up the windows inside, and so we had to close them and as there was nowhere to go to sit we had to stay in our room. Not very comfortable.

    There were no Croissants! Just cereal and toast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.4
    Ok for a couple of nights. Handy for the tube or walking if preferred.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Choice of so called ‘continental’ breakfast.

    Hotel was a few minutes walk from Earls Court tube station. Hotel was basic. Continental breakfast was a joke costing £5. Three choices of cereal, toast, tea or coffee, fruit juice. Room was ok but bathroom very small, practically had to stand in shower to reach hand basin which was dangerous if shower had already been used as it flooded floor. Could have done with several bath mats to soak up the water. Shower curtain useless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    Fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Iron/ironing board were next to useless — for business travel a major problem. Invest 30 quid in a proper ironing setup! Breakfast does not rate the label. Nescafé (like powdered instant coffee) and cereal. Not sure why they even bother. Skip and go over Earls Court Rd for variety of breakfast options. The full English at the Prince of Teck was very good.

    Good location and friendly staff. Room tiny but very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    5.4
    Poor room, very poor breakfast offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was far too small for 2 - with the bed right up against the wall meaning one person had great difficulty getting in and out, particularly during the night

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel in a super location for visiting London - will definitely use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower water cold on both mornings.

    Nice little hotel in the heart of Earls Court - 2 mins walk from the tube station. Its perfect for somewhere to put your head down whilst on a city break. The only complaint was the water - first morning it was lukewarm and the second morning it was cold. I was already in the cold shower so too late to complain then. otherwise perfect and we will definitely use it again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.3
    The room was small and cramped, the bathroom needed work and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and cramped, the bathroom needed work and only one bath towel was provided each day. No air conditioning. The elevator (Lyft) sucked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.5
    Garden View Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room as a single was cramped as the bed is too big - only 6" space to the wall (& I'm 5'2" small person). Single bed would be better. The floor was gritty (dirt). Shower needs a glass screen to avoid water splashing over the floor or deeper floor. Current shower curtain is ineffective.

    The staff, Elena & Anna were helpful. Elena organised repair of basin tap & the safe very promptly. The bed was comfortable & proximity to Earls Court station excellent. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely be back again!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    By nature of the building, the room was a bit smaller than expected but ok for a solo traveller. Would have loved a slightly bigger bath towel, and two towels as standard (although there was no problem when I asked for a second one each day).

    Loved being able to open the window and leave it open all night. Bed was super comfortable. Staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great accomodation! 2* with a 3* service! Suggested!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast room bit small

    For the price we paid, staff absolutely helpful, great location 2min walking from the tube, the room was very clean, new towels every day, amenities in the room like hairdryer, shampoo, tea&coffee. I previously stayed in others 3* hotels with much worse experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was the smallest hotel room I had ever seen, maybe one m2 of floor surface where to put the suitcase and shoes. The washbasin had only hot water, no cold water at all cause the tap was broken. Noise coming from street all night.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    OK choice in a city with expensive hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely soft beds, but apparently that's the European preference. Intermittent wifi, anything from very good to non-existent every few minutes. Primitive shower with hard-to-control temperature. Toilet mechanism failed to flush repeatedly.

    Very friendly staff. Perfect location for Earl's Court station and buses. Reasonable rates (for London). Simple but good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.7
    The room was uncomfortably small for two people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was uncomfortably small for two people. The breakfast was the poorest we've encountered - instant coffee, sandwich bread, a few cereals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location in Earls Court. Clean enough. Tiny room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny. I mean TINY! Could barely get into the bathroom and closing the door to access the shower needed one to be a contortionist.

    Good location. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little cold (although the communal areas, such as the staircase, were pleasantly warm).

    The Garden View hotel was very good value considering its location. In addition, it was very clean and generally well kept. Our room was compact but more than adequate for our needs and we both slept very well in comfortable beds. Every member of staff we met was pleasant, polite and helpful. There was somebody on reception each time we left or returned to the hotel which was reassuring. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would happily return to The Garden View.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.7
    Met our needs which was really just needing a place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See section below

    Didn't spend much time in the hotel, mainly just a bed for the night as we had to leave early the next morning so didn't use any facilities other than the room. It was a very warm night, room a bit stuffy, could have done with a fan. TV very small and at a difficult angle to see the picture properly. But the room met our needs which really was just a place to sleep as we spent most of our time out of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    6.7
    Very well located. Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was in poor condition: it could use a better cleanup, some rusty parts... The most annoying was the fact that the curtain was too short (meant for a bathtub, not a shower) and water splashed everywhere, no mater how carefully we showered. Such an easy thing to fix!

    Bed was comfortable and hotel was quiet. Room was tidied up daily and fresh towels were always provided. Check-in and out was fast and easy. Location very convenient, close to the subway, and with plenty of stores nearby, with supermarkets opens until late.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Quiet, but a bit tired looking. Overall good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed a bit saggy

    Breakfast very sparse and basic but included in room price. Hot water not working in the morning but fixed quickly. Excellent location 5 min from Earl's Court yet quiet and pretty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    4.2
    An uncomfortable and unsatisying stay that wasn’t worth the savings on the rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was consistently grouchy and rude. Breakfast, for which we had to pay extra, was a joke (just toast, tea, and stale cereal). Room was uncomfortable and clumsily furnished—for instance, the bed wasn’t a proper bed but two sofa-like base cushions pushed together and topped with a foam mattress.

    Location near the Earls Court tube station was good. Rooms and facilities were generally tidy and clean. Free WiFi came in handy for booking a new hotel for the remainder of our trip when we decided we needed to find a better place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great location for the olympia centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was happy overall

    The property is in a a great location which was my main reason for staying here. Rooms are clean and tidy, a little on the small side and the bathrooms are also smaller in size but price reflects this. Second time staying here, and I've booked again for July.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, near the metro station with easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor breakfast, not very comfy matresses

    Great location, near the metro station with easy access to all areas of the city, very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too hot but couldn’t find a thermostat to turn the heating down! It would be better with a solid frame round the shower rather than a curtain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bath facilities drastically need updated. Very dangerous shower arrangements. Need several handholds, toilet flushing hard to use, sink too close to shower

    Convenient, close to restaurants, very clean, wonderful staff, able to open window for ventilation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.9
    Was exactly what we needed at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not enjoy lying in bed smelling air freshner. Room seemed fine and was clean and fresh without the artificial smell overriding everything.

    Room was clean and in good condition. Quiet situation although we could hear people in other rooms at times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were really nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a few points I hope can be used constructively. The mattress seemed to tilt towards the outside of the bed ... every night my sleep was broken by trying to stop myself from rolling out of bed + I could hear my neighbour snoring! The breakfast was very basic ... I love fresh coffee - not a fan of instant coffee, and maybe some croissants would be nice.

    The staff are very pleasant and accommodating, couldn’t fault them. The view from my room over the Square and the park was very pleasant. The hotel is in a nice quiet area off the main road but well lit. Very convenient for the tube station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay. Great location for what we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room/Quad Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit basic, but ok, cereal and toast. More food options would have been great. The room was a bit to warm at night.

    Room was clean and beds were really comfortable. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Overall not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window had draft coming through we had to put towels and blankets to stop draft and the window rattled every time the wind blew

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.9
    The hotal has a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotal has a perfect location. It is just a few minutes walk from the Earl's Court tube station and it is a really nice neighbourhood (restaurants, markets etc. just around the corner). Unfortunately our bathroom was very small and the breakfast was poor. I still would recommend the Garden View Hotel because it has a good location and the staff is very freindly and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.5
    beds were really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were quite hard. The room was really hot - we asked for the heat to be turned down but it was still too warm. We were on the ground floor so it was quite noisy overhead and banging door outside

    beds were really comfortable. Location was great just a couple of minutes walk to Earls Court station. We didnt have breakfast there so cant comment on that. Room was spotlessly clean on arrival.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room, friendly check in, terrible breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was really basic, toast and jam, no coffee and very grumpy person working there. Don't have it!! There are plenty of cafe's nearby.

    Room was lovely, cosy clean and comfortable with lovely view onto a garden

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    5.8
    Great location, everything else not so much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities were incredibly basic, breakfast was literally bread, jam, cereal and instant coffee. Limp at best. The radiator in my room kept falling apart and the overall design of the hotel is stuck in the 80s. There was no toiletries in my bathroom until day 2 of my stay

    I thought the location was excellent, private and secluded from the crazy od earls court butess than 5 min walk to the tube. Easy access to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff, a secure hotel located in a quiet area close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed, squeaky frame and a mattress topper on top of an uncomfortable mattress.

    Helpful staff, a secure hotel located in a quiet area close to all amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.5
    Safe area, efficient check in and kinder 11am check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was made to a low standard. I re-made it and got down the blanket and extra pillow to make it more cosy. £60 is a good rate but it's still £60 so I expect good service rather than 'that'll do'.

    Perfectly functional single room. Excellent water pressure in the shower. Had everything I needed for my over night stay -- location and distance from tube being the major plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good option for a short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Old furniture and common areas (corridors, elevator, etc) - Limited offer for the breakfast

    - Very convenient location - Ease of booking and registration process - Effectiveness of the staff - Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    The service and the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a mess the sink was dirty and blocked, we raj the water and dirt and a bottle cap come up the sinkhole. The shower didn't work and was weak.

    The service and the bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.8
    Comfy but
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 6 has a step up to the bathroom, not good for elderly or disabled people. Toilet wouldn't flush in the evening but ok in the morning? Once plug was in the sink it wouldn't come out again therefore water wouldn't drain away.

    Bed was comfy, quiet room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.9
    A fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a common area and a better selection of tea and coffee in the room.

    The location is brilliant! Chelsea/Kensington is a lovely quiet area but the Earl's Court underground stop is about a 5 minute walk with the Piccadilly line going direct from Heathrow. The city centre is also very close! The accommodation was good for the price as everything in the area is very expensive. The room was fine, with relatively comfortable beds and toiletries provided. It also had tea and coffee, if a little on the stingy side.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.8
    Poor Experience but Amazing Location
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The night staff was UNPROFESSIONAL to say the least; no one cared about the smallest request from our side (e.g. removing a round table from one of our rooms as the space was so small that no luggage could fit inside); the bedding does need to be renewed as it is clearly old and worn-out; the rooms need to be cleaned properly, particularly the floors, and the spiderwebs need to be removed from the cealing.

    The location is great: about 2 minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station; the price for the area is also extremely good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    6.3
    Good enough for a one or two night stay, good location, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was next to the window and there was a howling gale coming through the rotten window frame! The drains were very smelly. Not enough choice of breakfast, cereal, sliced bread, instant coffee and one type of tea bag is not enough really! Should have had cooked meats, cheeses, yogurts,fresh fruit and breakfast pastries to make it a continental breakfast!

    Room was clean if a little small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    6.3
    Three days stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a pity, they have a prehistoric shower there. The electronic safe in the room was not working.

    It is a very good location, only 5 min walk from the metro, with lots of cafes and pubs around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plugs were far away from the beds. Beside that, everything was really good.

    Great! The room was really cosy and clean. We got a room on the third floor with a view to the beautiful garden in front. The bathroom was clean. The rooms were small but we didn't have a problem with it. You can use the Internet. The hotel's location was great! The area was really calm and beautiful. You have restaurants and the subway station a 5 minute walk away. ( We really did appreciate the location)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    2.9
    Horrible simply horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a small dingy dungeon in the basement. The drains were smelling through the laughably entitled 'bathroom' so I had to open the window, which made it cold in the room which I guess was preferable to the sauna like temperatures emanating from the radiator, which couldn't be turned off. Horrible simply horrible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    5.8
    Smallest room in London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the smallest room I have ever stayed in across many different countries. I was bitterly disappointed even though the price is low. I had also booked breakfast which was continental and charged at 5 pounds. As the breakfast started so late at 7.30am I said I was not able to have it. However, I was annoyed I was still asked to pay for it when I paid at check in I will not be staying again due to the complete lack of space to be able to move in the room as in not able to put my bag flat on the floor and the immovability of the breakfast which was a principal issue of my own

    Good access from earls court tube.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.5
    Clean, friendly helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better. Cereal and toast only. Would have been better perhaps with English breakfast.

    Clean, friendly helpful staff and great location. Good value for money for central London.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 48 was located by the lift which was extremely noisy. Negotiating entry to the bathroom was difficult to say the least. The bathroom was no more than a converted cupboard with 2 steps up to it which were located at the end of the double bed - dicing with death springs to mind! Be careful of cracked tiles on the bathroom floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    was lovely and clean staff were lively and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the lift was broken and we were on the top floor so we stayed out all day till late cus I could not do the stairs also the toaster only does one side so had to wait long time for to as

    was lovely and clean staff were lively and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    7.9
    Overall good. Very near to tube station and near to restaurants/cafes/shops
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During my 7 days stay once they forgot to replace towels, and to add additional sugar packs for tea/coffee in the room

    Comfortable bed / cleanliness and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    4.2
    Basic basic basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basically there is an bed and a shower. But the wifi didnt work, they start vacuuming the hall at 0830 and the 'breakfast' was nothing more then a slice of bread toasted or untoasted. And it is quit a distance from all the main highlights of London.

    The hotel is ok. There is a bed and a shower and that is what you get.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Basic but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No plugs at the bed side to charge phones over night. Only one plug in the room for the kettle which I don’t think is enough.

    Close to Earls Court Station, clean bed, hot shower, basic but good value for money & was fine to just go back to after a busy day to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    5.8
    Okay, Perfect for a Short Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very basic and small. I was lucky that I travelled by myself because 2 people in the room would have been very inconvenient. The internet was very spotty so I had to use 4G or work from the hotel corridor, which was not ideal. The breakfast was also basic: cereals and toast were the only options.

    The staff was incredibly helpful; The location was very nice in my opinion (the neighbourhood was beautiful and the hotel was close to the metro station with a direct connection to the touristic center).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    4.2
    location was fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was poor and intermittent Breakfast was virtually non existent - staff could be bothered Shower curtains not up to task Mattress was basically just a collection of springs with sheet over them

    location was fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was bit of a climb to the top floor. Wifi connection intermittent. Skip the breakfast.

    Good location… close to tube station, restaurants, coffee shops etc. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was very central for our needs and very clean.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very small but adequate fora short stay. The rooms were very hot so had to open the window which made the it noisy at night with the traffic.

    The hotel was very central for our needs and very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.5
    Pleased with the location and my stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful Thank You.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't get the TV to work. I would have preferred a room with a bath.

    Breakfast was basic but adequate.Room was clean and good value for money. I liked the location being near to Wesminster.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    8.8
    Staff are well-organised and very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift was out of order. Hair dryer was not very handy.

    Staff are well-organised and very kind. Very clean room/bathroom. Good wifi. Safe neighbourhood. Easy to get to Heathrow/Kings Cross.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    Comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow wifi and no variety for breakfast; only toast and cereals. No cooked breakfast here.

    Comfy beds. Ensuite bathroom. Location is closeion. to train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.5
    I like the room they gave us, it's good for five people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow wifi connection. I always have to use my prepaid data plan, it's much more faster.

    I like the room they gave us, it's good for five people and we're just two. Comfy beds, ensuite bathroom is large enough for two.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    3.8
    An uncomfortable stay and very bad value for money. I would like to see a refund of some sort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room window when closed did not seal properly so there was excessive noise as well as a cold room. The milk / coffee tea in the room was not resfreshed every day. The first floor bannister was loose to the point that it felt unsafe to use the stairs in that area. The staff at breakfast was rude un unhelpful. The phone in the room was not even connected and the wires from the TV were hanging.

    There was a VERY limited choice considering the price that i paid for the room with breakfast - VERY bad value for money. No cooked breakfast, choice of only fruitjuice or coffee/tea, two options of cereal and toast with Jam. NOT Impressed at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    V. pleasant stay in an affordable and good value hotel. Glad travel links too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed very very warm and our room was stifling on arrival. Opening the window helped but not ideal as we were on ground floor. At night time this was not a problem though and the temperature was just right.

    Although compact, the rooms were well set out and clean. Bed was also very comfortable! Staff were friendly too :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    3.8
    Good location but very poor breakfast and tiny room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was average. Room was tiny. Could barely move around it (slither of space between wall and bed) and I fell over my partner a few times trying to manoeuvre around. Bathroom was dirty - hairs in the shower upon arrival and peeling paintwork. Breakfast was the worst of the whole trip. We appreciate it was only a continental breakfast but to only offer toast and cereal was very poor. My partner doesn't eat or like cereal so he had to suffice with only toast. Some pastries and goghurt would have been nice to add to it I've had some poor breakfasts in budget hotels in the past but this was by far the worst. If we weren't pushed for time to head to Olympia we would have skipped our it altogether - which some guests did after taking one look at what was on offer!! It would actually have be better for them not to offer any breakfast at all than provide such poor choice and quality.

    Location was ideal for us. That was all to like really.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    6.7
    Nice facilities without comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in room number 55 which was a basement double room without any view. The double bed was not big enough for 2 persons. Room heating was automated so without duvet we were feeling cold and with duvet we were sweating. Bathroom shower space was very small. One strange thing I noticed, the TV light was blinking middle of the night. I was a bit worried because I heard lots stories of hidden camera.

    There are few best points about this hotel. 1. Only 7 min walk from Earl's court station. 2. Garden view had a left luggage facility so you can check out (11 AM) without carrying your heavy luggage. 3. Staff are very helpful. 4. Many good restaurants closer to Garden view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    6.7
    nice location, budget hotel though very basic facilities. Simple breakfast. Small room but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fan in the room. Had to open the window to get the air and remove suffocation. Balcony was very dirty like never cleaned. Breakfast was missing with eggs and fruit.only cereal and bread was served with tea/coffee and juice but acceptable. Arrived an hour before but i was not allowed to check in but i was allowed to keep my luggage in safe room for an hour till i come back at 02 PM.

    Excellent Price to money. Though not much of the facilities but for leisure purpose and budget travelers is a good choice. Location was good as many shops and Underground station is nearby in walking distance. Breakfast was an average type but reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    A pleasant hotel, 5 min walk from the underground. Clean and tidy, friendly and obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - poor selection of cereal and toast and that is all. But having read reviews we already knew this and to be honest toast is fine for a quick breakfast and we went out for coffee and lunch anyway!

    Hotel was clean and modern decor. Compared to some London hotels at similar prices the rooms were fairly spacious in that they didn't feel clausterphobic and were quite airy.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Garden View Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: