Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Northamptonshire hotel reviews
  4. Daventry hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Abercorn

Reviews of The Abercorn

The Abercorn Hotel 101 Warwick, Daventry, NN11 4AJ, United Kingdom

#12 of 13 hotels in Daventry

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    5.0
    The location for work was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My window faced next door restaurants kitchen, so I couldn’t sleep until they were closed. I couldn’t open the curtains too, as they kept going past my window and their kitchen light was so bright that it would lit up my room through the curtains. Unfortunately my room was right next to the entrance door, which is a fire door. So when people came in & out I was woken up by them. Especially since someone loved constantly leaving & coming back in at 5am. I won’t stay there again.. I went home a day early, so I could have some sleep.

    The location for work was great

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    4.6
    Wish I could get my money back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy, I could hear visitors walking up and down the whole night. The mattress was the spring type which made for a very uncomfortable sleep. No complimentary toiletries

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    Clean, warm & cosy room with all basic facilities but no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very uncomfortable, it felt I was sleeping on the base of the bed and the spring mattress is flat.

    Clean, warm & cosy room with all basic facilities but no tv.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good rooms if you just want to use the place as a dormitory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area a bit ropey Entering and leaving via the rear - with little lighting in the dark

    Fit for purpose for what I was doing - room was nicely done out - but I just used it as somewhere to put my head down for the night

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    Good for the money good location friendly staff clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Green emergency light is annoying, more than one cup would be nice better access i.e. not the dark ally.

    Good for the money good location friendly staff clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    2.5
    Dreadful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything this is not a hotel but more of a bail hostel!!! it smelt dirty nothing was provided apart from tea and coffee there are no staff there just a caretaker not even a tv in the room. I could go on and on but its not worth the effort I just want to forget the whole thing

    NOTHING

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    A lovely weekend, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Abercorn, is an ideal place for location, local shops bars and restaurants all within a 5 minutes walk, our room was clean and bright ,tea and coffee available and a small fridge,the ensuite was small but clean, towels and shower gel and soap provided, although there's no TV or breakfast , which was not a problem to us, we noticed that there were plates , bowls, and cutlery should you wish to have a snack and a communal kitchen to use, there is also free WI-FI and off road parking , we had a very restful weekend , Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    I booked this with free cancellation but didn’t realise they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s not a clear sign of the hotel name outside and I had to just hope I had the right place until I went to the door and saw the sign. I would suggest that you paint in big white letters on a dark background so that you can be sure you have the right place. There was a wet patch by the shower room I thought it might be just that you cleaned before I arrived but it was still there three days later. It didn’t smell or anything but maybe check it out if you didn’t clean to make sure it’s not a leek? The shower was a bit hot for me. I don’t know if you can turn the temperature on the boiler down a little? Lovely place otherwise. Oh, and I know you didn’t have a hair dryer but maybe a cheap on in the room? Oh and one last thing, do you need the green light when you turn off the main light? I would remove it from inside the room if you can.

    I booked this with free cancellation but didn’t realise they had set check in times. I called to see if I could check in later and if not I was happy to cancel and book somewhere else. They said it wasn’t a problem. I turned up at the hotel and called the number and Horis came to let me in and give me my keys. A very friendly nice chap. He told me about the parking round back. I was quietly surprised. The place was white and clean and close to my conference hotel. The room looked exactly like it did in the pictures. Cheap, clean, nice budget hotel exactly what I needed. Oh and there was a fridge in the room which really helped because I’m on SlimFast and I could put my shakes in there. There was a heater that Horis had put on for me before I arrived, which I appreciated. You can open your windows to get some fresh air. There was tea and coffee making facilities and lots of plugs to use for my various devices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    8.5
    Bed was comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park access road needs tarmacing.There were some spiders in my bedroom.

    Bed was comfy.Room was nicely furnished.Overall clean.Good location. Very helpful staff. Good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.8
    I say it met my expectations simply because they were low due to previous reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in which I was staying in backed onto the door leading to the restaurant kitchen. As a result, for privacy, I had to have the curtain shut even in daylight. I suggest some blinds might be useful. I found the entrance to the property dangerous (down a small alleyway between the restaurant and house next door). This entrance is unacceptable and if it does have to be the only access point, a light would be a good idea. It is dangerous, especially for someone on their own. I was told that the front door remained shut because there was nobody to man the reception. I understand this for check in but there are plenty of hotels who do not have a reception 24/7 and who provide keys to the front door. I chose to stay at The Abercorn due to the low cost but I certainly would not recommend it to anybody else.

    The room was clean and the bed comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    5.8
    Cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt like I was in a cellar. Shower controls were cheap and felt like they would break, no bed side table or lamp. Light was a good 3 metres away. Lighting was very dull. No TV.

    Clean room. Car parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.3
    satisfied
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    next time would request not to have the room right next to the kitchen of the restaurant next door

    good value, no frills but what was expected and met expectations perfectly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.5
    Good inside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was scared to go out after dark as You have to go through the back to a dark car park or down a tiny alley past the kitchens and side wall of the Indian restaurant (also owned by the Hotel I think). Steps outside not even and don't have hand rails. The external floor not good for people unsteady on their feet. Has no sign outside to say it is the Abercorn hotel and scruffy pieces of paper saying ring a mobile number on the windows.

    Inside is being refurbished it will be lovely when finished. The room was spotless. Bed linen and towels very clean. No dust, kettle and small bin for tea bags and nothing else. Clean crockery and cutlery. A noisy fridge that I had to turn off over night, but at least it worked. Some people complain of the green escape light but I didn't mind. I also used the shaving light over the sink, not the big bathroom light as a night light so the extractor fan wasn't noisy. The double bed was comfortable. It's a good room once inside. To make it a great room: a TV, a bedside table and lamp. To make it a great hotel: full outside lighting, disabled access, and smarten the front up with front entrance access, which I think they intend to do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.0
    The place is undergoing refurbishment by stages, the room I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small ally divides the property from an Indian restaurant so was a bit noisy.

    The place is undergoing refurbishment by stages, the room I was allocated was very new ,nice clean and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    5.8
    Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was next to Indian restaurant, not a problem with that, but it was filthy outside the window. Daren't open it. I gave a time of arrival but couldn't get in as there is no one there. a caretaker arrived about 20-30 minutes after me calling management company to see what was going on. The place looks half refurbished then left. You have to go in through the back door. As with previous reviews no bins in the room. I believe there was a communal kitchen? but wasn't brave enough to go looking for it!

    Clean room. Kettle, cups and plates provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.1
    staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no TV in the room. woken by restaurant staff shouting outside the rear of the restaurant. woken again by a rat trying to gnaw through the skirting

    staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    2.9
    Noisy,bed must be 20 years old,no tea or coffee in room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy,bed must be 20 years old,no tea or coffee in room,extra charge for bed linen and towels,bedroom window opposite to Indian restaurant kitchen door,I would not recommend or stay at this “hotel “

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    4.2
    Hotel was like building site. Was it legally open? Substantial refund required pleae.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not see the caretaker or anyone most of time, Sometimes no-one else in building. Nothing was provided apart from toilet paper and towels; e.g. no soap, milk, teabags etc. No breakfasts. Room never entered to service or clean in 6 days. Noise from adjacwnt Tandoori restaurant kitchen disturbed till often well after midnight and other unmentionables caused disturbance outside window untill small hours.

    Initial greeting by caretaker was helpful. Room was OK and reasonably clean but not provisioned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Basic but spotless room, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was spotless, if a bit basic. Coffee making facilities... Kettle, cups, fridge etc but no coffee/tea! A tv would be a good addition too. Bed was very comfy. Free carparking at back of hotel. Would use again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.0
    Potentially good if above points are addressed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We met the proprietor (?) on arrival but we were not able to contact him later when needed. Bright green emergency light overhead made sleep impossible. Smells and noise from next door restaurant.

    Bed comfortable and room ok, though only one towel and one mug. Had to leave after one night for reasons below.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    3.8
    Not a very great stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hard to locate The car park was pull of pot holes It was very noisy no tea/coffee were provided No toiletries for example shower gel or hand soap No bin in the room No tv

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.1
    With a few little improvements it could be very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bin in the room & only one cup which didn't really matter as there was no tea or coffee to have a hot drink. No soap or shower gel. There is a little green light in the ceiling which comes on when the main light is off. Not great when you want to sleep.

    The caretaker was helpful and friendly. Easy access to the town centre. Room clean & fresh , cool in this heat we've had. Plenty of towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.8
    Was clean & will be nice when finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn’t finished, only 1 set of cutlery, no tea or coffee & no bin in the room. Staff from restaurant next door talking outside window until late into night & then from early morning. Green light from emergency lighting lit up room.

    Was clean & will be nice when finished

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.1
    Room was ok but so disappointed to find no soap , teabags etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1/ old noisy fridge beside the bed. 2/ no soap or shampoo in sink/shower. 3/ almost no toilet roll. 4/ no complimentary coffee or teabags. 5/ my bedroom window was about 1m from the back door to neighbouring restaurant, the door was open and I was unable to sleep until after 12:30 at night when the banging of pots and washing up etc stopped. 6/ had to phone up in the morning to find out how to check out. 7/ pillows were very poor, thin and not supportive.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed and unsatisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken mirror and sink, no tea coffee etc had to purchase own and only 1 cup. No use of shower.Flooeing unsafe. Hassle to check in and out.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    4.6
    Sleep deprivation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not stay for the two night I could only endure one night of the tourcher you call a hotel. Firstly I was kept awake by your nabours kitchens going about the business banging pots etc. Secondly I had to endure the green light tourcher. When I turned off the main light (white light) the green warning light came on to illustrate that the battery backup was indeed working, this light was over my head when laying in bed and was so strong I could read my book by it. Third I made the misfortune to need the toilet in the night and turned the bathroom light on. As normal the extracted fan came on but did not turn off when the light went out because there is an over run setting on the extract fan which in normal hotels runes for 5-10 minuets BUT NOT in your hotel the over run was for 2 hours. I knew this because I could read my watch by the green light which was also keeping me awake. So yes I will be giving your hotel a review to prevent anyone else from have to endure the sleep deprivation of your hotel.

    The room was clean but the rest of the hotel was not

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    It was pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea and coffee in the room and hand gel and shower gel

    The caretaker was helpful and friendly. He bought me tea and coffee however I did expect there to already be some along with hand wash and shower gel. But overall it was pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    4.2
    It was horrible!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a hotel at all. There are some rooms in the property under construction! I really have doubts that the property has any license to work as a hotel or guest house. The contact tel from booking reservation was not answering when I arrived. It was not possible to enter in to the “hotel” as there was no bell, no indicators, nothing to come in. The bad was terrible and the linen very old. I spend 2 nights in the hotel and really wanted to leave it just after arriving, but everything was fully booked in the days I stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    5.0
    Nothing really.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit of a shambles really - Bed was awful - must’ve been about 20 years old, could feel every spring, no carpet in the corridor to the room. Had to fill in a form with name, address, date of birth, driving license number - extremely concerned with their compliance with Data Protection, potential identify theft. I decided to cancel the card I payed with as a result as was concerned when got 2 e mails asking to update card details and to provide c2v number over the phone. Also activated fraud alerts on all credit reference agencies. Why does a hotel need date of birth and driving license number? Was cheap but will be sticking with well known brands in the future like travelodge and willing to pay a bit extra for piece of mind.

    Nothing really. Carpet in the room seemed newish, bathroom was small but newish and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    I would go there again when I stay in Daventry
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty getting the shower hot enough.

    Facilities, especially fridge, were excellent, and the bed was super comfy. Staff were great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That mattress was a little uncomfortable (springs), as were the pillows.

    Very good value for money. Nice and clean, and a fridge was provided.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    The kitchen facilities, car parking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress

    The kitchen facilities, car parking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    good!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedside lamp would have been nice.

    Clean +comfortable. En suite immaculate as with bed linen.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.8
    Did the job. Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building shabby more like a hostel. A small obscure glass window could not see outside at all.

    Clean and shower worked

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.5
    Just the job
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV and quite noisy as near a take away

    Close to place of work clean and comfortable for the purpose.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.4
    Bearable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most things

    Very Basic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tv in room. No breakfast on offer. Room was dirty and everything was grubby everywhere

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all ok. Just the mattress could have been a bit better. Not too uncomfortable

    Very clean. Excellent location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    Simple and straightforward
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no soap or coffee/tea bags

    Simple and straightforward

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    2.5
    Don’t go there if you intend on sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything, light in room won’t turn off, workers building at 06:00 in next from, bed extremely uncomfortable... and still no refund!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    5.4
    It only cost £40 so what can you expect?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The green emergencey night light could not be extinguished and made staying asleep an issue.

    It was at a budget price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    2.5
    Bad and not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tv. Not clean.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!