Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Admiral Hornblower 2 stars

High Street, Oakham, LE15 6AS, United Kingdom

#4 of 10 hotels in Oakham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.5
    An memorable, lovely experience etched in my memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Superb experience. Room was terrific and very cosy. Staff were always helpful even after checking out and when I’d returned for a late afternoon meal as the food is excellent and being impressed with the polite, attentive and friendly service. Definitely will book this hotel again, very soon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    If you like pretty, stylish,clean rooms, tasty food and excellent service, choose here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was genuinely nothing to dislike about our stay at the admiral hornblower.

    The room was very clean. It was pretty and quirky and well equipped. The food was delicious both at dinner and breakfast also, however it was the staff that really shone, the customer service from the young people in the restaurant and on reception was exceptional, we have never felt more welcomed or relaxed. We went to the hornblower for dinner then decided to stay the night and the staff were engaging and kind and attentive and made everything very easy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Our second visit this summer (room 4) and it was just as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke

    Our second visit this summer (room 4) and it was just as good. A beautiful traditional Inn/hotel in the centre of town with a small, rather complicated parking reach by going down past Tesco’s and under an arch through what appears to be private houses, but it’s there. Promise! Very friendly staff. Everyone says hello as they pass. Our room is at the front with a very comfortable four poster. Rather small tv but tea/coffee facilities and a high back chair. Large bathroom with an excellent shower. If you like it very it quiet ask for a room at the back. There are a couple of charming, ultra modern rooms, ground floor, across the car park. No lift in the hotel. The road can be noisy and it’s a busy restaurant/pub, so don’t moan - and the floors creak like mad (yours and the floor above) but it’s still lovely Breakfast menu is extensive but, although it offers cereals and fruit at a buffet, no fruit this time or last. However, the food, breakfast and dinner, is fabulous with lovely, friendly service. There is a lovely garden area with heaters and rugs for the chilly evenings, unfortunately out of bounds for a chronic asthmatic as it is overrun with smokers, as is the area out front 😢 Otherwise a perfect spot with lovely walks and interesting shops. Highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    2.5
    Lovely place and very friendly. Even did pudding after 9pm with our coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely. We had to leave extra early for the vetruvian the staff let us help ourselves to tea/coffee fruit juice and cereals. Very helpful and kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay for one night as we used this hotel as a base to explore the local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the windows open and a slight breeze blowing the blinds rattled annoyingly, managed to stop them by gaffer tape which I had. Parking is tight in the courtyard as there is limited room. There is parking out the front when an available space is found but only until 9.00 am.

    Easy check in, friendly staff, clean comfy room with tea and coffee making facility. Excellent food menu. Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    A great stay at a great venue with a real warm and wecolming atmosphere and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really struggle to find any negative at all

    Staff were helpful throughout and despite it been a busy public house took the time to show us to our annexe room and organise a cup of coffee. Evening meal was excellent and so was the breakfast. Great location and though the car park can be tricky to find again the staff assisted with directions so no major issue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not quite as accessible as the web site suggests but this was sorted by member of staff giving us his space which was appreciated. Rather noisy room being over the bar which is probably to be expected.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    GREAT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was a bit tight but we managed with some cooperation with other residents & visitors

    Everything. The room & room facilities in particular were top class & had I been asked to guess the price I would have said £120 per night v £85 per night. I even told the check-out receptionist that it was priced too cheaply. Will definitely use this hotel again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall Excellent, Will certainly recommend and return.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only gripe I have is not with the place but with the very inconsiderate, selfish, mindless people in the room next door playing quite loud music until 4.00 a.m, disturbing what should have been a very pleasant night!!!!

    Location is ideal for touring the area or as we were doing playing in a 2 day golf tournament, The Admiral Hornblower is top notch in all departments, Food, Bar, Accommodation and really nice staff creating a warm and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Ok for one night, intolerable not to have a window to open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and opened directly onto car park, no windows to open, room stuffy and hot. The floor above creaked loudly when the occupants moved around. Over priced for the standard of accommodation.

    Bed very comfortable, breakfast good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    We use the Hornblower on a regular basis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proper blinds or curtains would be amazing (just a recommendation)

    We use the Hornblower on a regular basis. Location is great and it's extremely popular with the locals so you don't want a room over the bar! Nice breakfast selection. Rooms are quirky and individual furnished. After staying there since their opening nearly every month it would be nice to be recognised by the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Sraff extremly, pleasant polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sraff extremly, pleasant polite and helpful. Food (both dinner and breakfast were excellent) but parking was limited. The room was on the small Car park but was clean and adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Only stayed one night so not to bad don't think we would stay more than one night in the room we had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet stained in bedroom. Dirty hair brush left in draw in bedroom. No table mirror for my wife to do her makeup. Room was to light in morning due to the fact there were no curtains in room. No shelves in bathroom no shaver point.

    Comfortable bed and evening meal was excellent Staff very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Would stay again !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    small car park, blocked in on check out. directions not great to the car park which is situated to the rear of the building.

    extremely friendly and comfortable. welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OAP's travelled with my sister from Ireland poor for parking one room in annex beside gravel parking lot other over main street woken early each morning with deliveries one room with no plug point in bathroom and no mirror in bedroom for h/dryer room in annex with sloping ceiling, broken kettle also no non slip mats for shower, was advised on arrival that my request for rooms close to each other could not be met because I had booked thru booking.com and not directly with hotel. Food and staff very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent! Brilliant location, perfect for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floorboards 😁 I know it's an old property but they really are noisy!

    The breakfast choice was excellent, we've stayed there before so would recommend if visiting Rutland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks very expensive. Breakfast very poor, raw sausage first day and soggy muffin the second day. Very creaky floorboards. Uncomfortable bed.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I arrived late after a hard day and it was exactly what I needed. Very nice room across a courtyard, spotlessly clean and recently refurbished. Nice pub in centre of the town with good food. Bed was very comfy, breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Even though there were some issues we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little too hard for our liking and it was also a bit lumpy. Sleeping comfort is a bit fundamental for an hotel don't you think. There was no lounge for hotel guests, it would have been a nice thing to have somewhere to read a newspaper and relax.

    Very friendly staff. The food was excellent. Good beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Traditional inn refurbished with all modern comforts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room (no5) was noisy because it had a generator outside and the door to the next floor banged on my door every time it was opened.

    lovely porridge with fresh fruit and nuts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    It was ok. I wouldn’t book again and wouldn’t recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast were a bit austere and lacked warmth. I didn’t feel welcome. Service was poor. Slow and unresponsive to my needs. I had to ask for more tea/ coffee. Sauces were offered for cooked breakfast but didn’t appear. Other guests were offered breakfast items that didn’t materialise at our table. I got fed up with raising issues with staff.

    My room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A warm and welcoming hostelry run by a well-managed team of caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to truncate our stay - we would have loved to have stayed longer!

    The welcome we received, after an arduous journey, was warm and friendly - the staff couldn't have been more caring and attentive. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The en suite was splendid! The food was of a high standard - well presented and tasty. There was a covered, outside area for my pipe smoking husband - a rare treat these days!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Funky and interesting local pub hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was in had a bit of road noise from outside. The pub location is right on the main road and because the windows only have single glazing the noise comes through.

    The Admiral had a great atmosphere and a funky decor. The pub restaurant had really tasty food at good prices. I would love to see some more local beers (there is a local brewery up the road) available or featured more prominently

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Every aspect from the moment we arrived was just perfect.
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll holders in our bathroom and in public ladies room were simply not there...so you had to contort through 90 degrees to reach the loo roll...why?

    We were in room one which was quirky, romantic and spacious..a big WOW factor. Breakfast was fabulous with very attentive, but not invasive, service. I could not fault a thing about any aspect of our stay. Excellent restaurant choices, great value for money. Will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location,excellent service and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The venue, staff most efficient and friendly. The location most suitable and easy to find. The standard of food was excellent served with a most friendly waiter. Room was most acceptable well decorated and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely atmosphere, comfortable room, very clean & fabulous food. We loved the decor in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park, especially the entrance under a tunnel was worrying as it was nearly the same width as our car. However, staff moved their cars to accommodate us so all good in the end. It was a bit noisy on the street during the night and as the building is very old it doesn't have double glazing.

    The evening meal was excellent, great atmosphere in the restaurant and the service was top notch. The waitress especially was really friendly. The room & the beds were comfortable, the bathroom newly refurbished was a good size. We liked having a few magazines in the room. The tea & coffee were good quality and great choices. The breakfast was fantastic. All the staff we met were friendly and we felt our stay was important to them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at the front of hotel but wouldn’t stop us staying again.

    Everything was perfect ! Management couldn’t do enough for us. Drinks and food were superb as were the rooms. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    The atmosphere of the old pub was great and it is obviously...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the creaky floorboards add to the charm and character of the place which is a good thing they are a bit of a nuisance when people run along the corridor in the night!

    The atmosphere of the old pub was great and it is obviously very popular with the locals which is always a good sign. The room was comfortable but did lack a full length mirror. The ensuite bathroom has obviously recently been updated and was fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovee the quirky stable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovee the quirky stable room. Breakfast this was delicious and great quality food. We dined the evening before with 10 of of family members. Great meal and setting. Will be booking again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    We've booked again for another stay in a room at the back near the courtyard area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather nasty wall lights in room 4 & thin blinds no curtains so the street lights on the high street were bright as well as the bright green fire exit sign above the door! Most annoying.

    4 poster bed in room 4. Very friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble, decor in room & downstairs is extremely nice. Porridge at breakfast was sensational. Lit fire made the area cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Good for visiting Oakham, particularly if you need gluten-free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Admiral Hornblower is on the High Street in Oakham, and shops, castle and church are all within a short walk. The room was very clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was generous, and they provided gluten-free options without fuss.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and probably the best hotel in oakham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High charge for a travel cot per night so we declined.

    The room was large and very clean and the bathroom was very posh and clean also. The breakfast was wonderfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    The Admiral Hornblower was a beautiful pub with a lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, we stayed in the old barns they were lovely but the stairs creaked quite badly so when other residents returned to the room all you could hear was the stairs creaking which disturbed our sleep. We also noticed that our beautiful room floor also creaked when we moved around. So we felt that we were disturbing the resident below us.

    The Admiral Hornblower was a beautiful pub with a lovely, comfortable, clean room. The breakfast was great and good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need an outside light for the courtyard. Insufficient parking (and directions to it) Some of the staff a little casual in their attitude

    Comfortable room. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall we would recommend this hotel as long as the electrics are sorted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very nice hospitality tray and an electric kettle however there was no where to plug the kettle. The only sockets we found was one on the skirting board behind the bed which could not be reached. The only other socket was high up in one corner of the room serving the television set. We did manage to boil the kettle by my husband unplugging the TV and plugging the kettle in and holding it high whilst it came to the boil! We had not noticed this problem when we first arrived as we were off to a wedding so it was not until we returned late at night we discovered it! We did mention it to staff before we left on the Sunday.

    Beautiful room, lovely ensuite. Lady on reception was very helpful on arrival and moved her own car so we could get our's into the car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer parking was a little small and not easy to find

    The staff were very helpful and understanding as we were back very late each night and had to let us in and did it still making us feel welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and friendly with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    WC flush was a bit of an effort; told the manager and they said they'd look at it.

    Very helpful and hands on staff; bit chaotic when we arrived with Octoberfest party going on in one of the pub rooms. Stayed in room 4 - 4 poster room. Big room with a proper squeaky undulating ancient floor which you should expect in an undulating squeaky old building. But as a place to prepare for a wedding party at Ladywood Estate it was perfect. Book a taxi well in advance as there are a few wedding venues near Oakham and demand is high.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb, would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Any complaint would be overly-picky.

    WiFi was free, but my wife was unable to get a connection (could have been her phone). Excellent location in the heart of Oakham, with adequate free parking in courtyard to rear. Our room was in the annex and had obviously been decorated recently -lovely comfy bed. The room of my wife's father was huge, with two large single beds, an absolute bargain at £75 b/b. Excellent value evening meal, though one or two hiccups with the order. Enormous breakfast (3 bacon rashers, 2 sausages, 2 eggs plus tomato, mushroom, black pudding and toast) and really tasty. Other options also, though no fish. We did not eat again until the evening!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Apart from the noise upstairs and the lack of parking it was a very comfortable room.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking, had to park 10 mins down the road as the car park was very small and full. Got woken up a number of times but the person staying above me because of squeaky wooden floor boards.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious, staff very courteous, and the room was great. Very comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    NEEDS TO SORT OUT CAR PARKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The provisions supplier delivering produce at 5.30 am unloading directly outside below our windowcrashing open side van door dropping steel trolley.

    excellent breakfast good knowledge of my wife,s gluten free requirements provided gluten free menu at dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant &I extremely good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The bed was very comfy. The staff were extremely friendly. The smoked salmon & scrambled egg toasted muffin for breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room, nicely decorated. Good selection at breakfast. Driving distance to Peterborough and much better value for money than some of the hotels there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for a town centre stay. All the staff I encountered were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was in, I think, a converted stable and had no window view. So felt a little claustrophobic.

    The place had been tastefully refurbished, at some expense.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good place to stay bearing in mind we did not use all the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking space was too confined

    Breakfast choice was good and amount of food reduced to suit our taste i.e the cooked breakfast. Good value for money overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toast with breakfast

    Nice quirky hotel, all the staff were helpful and friendly. Great food at dinner, we were part of a large group and it was well managed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    V good breakfast but we did not have dinner there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few minor maintenance issues. Car park is very hard to find unless you already know exactly where it is. And it was full when we got there. We parked in nearby carpark until a space became available. Minor inconvenience.

    V good breakfast but we did not have dinner there. Looked a decent menu though

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Would have been better if the weather hadn't been so hot!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning and room was so hot. They suggested not opening windows because of midges and provided a small fan, but even with that going full pelt it was far too warm. Room was at the top of the hotel, so maybe a room on the ground floor may have been better. Didn't ask to move as only there one night, and we were getting up at 5am anyway. Large garden space but was full of smokers (probably to be expected) which spoiled it for us. However, we did sit in the smaller area outside the front of the hotel which was fine.

    Mix of old and new. Room was good size and clean. Staff were very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They accommodated a late breakfast without any issue as we were out very early on a Dawn Cruise and came back later for breakfast. Pub was quite lively on the Friday night, and open til midnight, pleasant space outside the front of the hotel to sit with a drink. Good Wifi. Easy parking - hotel has small car park at back and got in there fine. Location is good, in the centre of Oakham with shops and restaurants nearby. Didnt eat in restaurant, but menu looked great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely pub/inn in the centre of Oakham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It only has a small car park so gets full very easily so we had to park in the long stay, a little walk away which was cheap! We could have done with a mirror in our room, just for doing your hair and make up. The pub itself seemed very popular which is excellent but if you go to bed early, be prepared for a bit of noise!

    It was a twin room which overlooked the front and road. That was ok as the high st is nice and not too noisy with traffic. The beds comfy, bathroom clean and spacious. Breakfast was lovely and the general service was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location to stay for the wedding we attended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room on front of hotel, revellers on street were very noisey in the early hours of the morning. Breakfast was not very nice, bacon was too salty and eould have preferred baked beans rather than harcot bens in a tomato sauce

    Perfect location to stay for the wedding we attended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirrors in the bedroom!!No opening windows other than the French windows which opened onto the car park.On the hottest day of the year and the fact we were getting ready for a wedding we really needed the afore mentioned items (I removed the small bathroom.mirror to use in the bedroom)

    The breakfast was very good.The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly modernised gastropub with rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited on-site parking (full with staff cars when I arrived). Very informal check-in and still trying to work out whether I've paid or not - guess I'll have to wait for the credit card bill to show. No sign of the receipt I asked for

    Modernised pub with clean, fresh rooms and smart bathrooms. Busy with locals on a sunny Friday but quietened down later, though some noise from the street at the front. Friendly, efficient breakfast staff. Right in town centre so good for Rutland Water etc. Not my usual choice in the town (it was full) but I'd probably use again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Quiet at night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff run the pub and restaurant as well and are clearly very busy. But I'd have liked more of a welcome as a guest. Bed was uncomfortable. Sunday roast pork was hard going.

    Quiet at night. Nice room. Located in town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    A gourmet base for exploring Rutland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was tricky to find at first and was quite a tight squeeze, but it was good to have.

    Our room was in a well converted building behind the main pub/restaurant across the carpark. It was compact but well appointed for our one night stay. The food was excellent at dinner and at breakfast. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Must Try Harder.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall facilities in the bedroom which were poor.

    First time at this pub/hotel. The wardrobe was not really deep enough to accommodate more than half a dozen items of hanging garments, consequently the wardrobe door was difficult to close and was a trifle insecure. No drawer space whatsoever, a definite minus as we had to leave items lying about the bedroom. The wash hand basin was more to do with design rather than being practical; it was far too small. The shower again was more to do with design than being very good. There was lack of power and the water flow was more like a trickle than being invigorating like a shower should be. We had to request glasses to accommodate tooth brushes etc. On the second day we discovered that no milk had been left so that we could have a cup of tea or coffee. No problem if one prefers black coffee or tea! The other unpleasant element was the strong smell of fish as one passed through the restaurant on the way to the hotel area. All of these points we raised with the manager and she promised to address the issues raised.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, comfy bed, exceptional food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On site car park was small and congested. The bedroom furniture was not good - drawers in c of d rickety and small, wardrobe doors difficult to open & close & only 4 captive coat hangers, small mirror on dressing table was unadjustable and no full length mirror. No stool at dressing table so pretty useless. Just one small glass shelf in bathroom was inadequate.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We ate in the bar at the hotel 2 nights and the food was exceptionally good. Good hot shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, very friendly staff, great menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need clear directions for hotel parking, difficult to find without help and limited when busy.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, great menu. Large room with good en-suite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel, full of character, top staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfortunate size of their private car park should be prioritised for residents who should be able to park. I had two rooms, one car and unable to park at night. In the morning there were spaces, too late for me, that had obviously been used by non residents.

    Top marks for all the staff who were extremely attentive and helpful, nothing seemed to faze them, even when my bill was accidentally charged twice, it was quickly remedied with full apologies. The premises were extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Curates egg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs non slip mat in shower or grab handle. Room extremely warm even after turning off all radiators. Free view tv reception poor.

    best breakfast we have ever had in all of our travelling

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.7
    Overall OK - but not brilliant vfm or sound-proofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing against road noise & movement on 1st floor is poor. Breakfast could have been more substantial. Payment taken before I actually stayed - contrary to guidance on website & confirmation email.

    Staff very willing & polite

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a problem. Use to be for Residents only, now anyone using the bar/restaurant can park. Bit of a inconveience having to move or get others to move their vehicles so you can get in and out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.1
    little disappointed considering the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one armchair and no free standing bath as stated on our booking form, biscuits would have been nice with our drinks, faulty TV

    the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Liked the location but would not recommend the accommodation for a long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No marmalade at breakfast for the whole of our stay even though we asked for some. Gave us a very noisy room (air conditioning attached to wall outside) but they changed it to a quiet one when we complained. This room was very small and in the roof of the annex. It had no wardrobe, chest of drawers or dressing table. We could not see outside as the windows were in the roof and were very dirty. Only net curtains covered the windows so light from the moon came into the room at night.

    Bed was comfortable. Good size breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    The old coach house interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The old coach house interior. The log and coal fires which kept the place so warm and made it smell so lovely. Breakfast was all the things I like. Good location in this small town high street. Would choose to stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in gorgeous surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, gorgeous pub and country style room, very pleasant stay, would definitely stay again and recommend to friends if in the area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    6.3
    Could be fabulous, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in am, couldn't sleep due to glaring emergency light on door. Both issues were noted on checkout and apology given but these issues have effected previous guests so they should not be continuing (I felt staff are frustrated that such issues are not getting remedied and are therefore being let down by the owners) I think property has, or did recently have, same owners as The Finchs and if so that may explain some style over substance and other issues (our clear and obvious complaints after a stay there were totally ignored and left a much worse feeling as the room had cost nearly double what hornblower does)

    Breakfast fab, large room, good location, friendly etc staff. I would def return but would choose a different room if avail.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    Lacked warmth or welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor 'welcome'. Real lack of any interest in us as guests. No-one to check us out, encourage us to return etc. No Mirror in the bedroom. Requested twice but did not materialise. Lead for kettle didn't reach plug so kettle had to go on the floor. Lead was not detachable so had to dangle whilst pouring water from kettle, wifi was very slow. Struggled to get a space in the car park - had to park up the street as small car park was filled with pub/restaurant visitors. Noisy but that is to be expected as it is a pub.

    Bathroom was excellent. Cafetière coffee in bedroom. Food was excellent. Restaurant staff were good. Beds were comfy. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the hotel's consideration and understanding for the airline changed the flight schedules of my kids causing them not to travel as scheduled.The hotel allowed them to stay even if it should have been considered another day booking.Thank a lot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast freshly cooked with high quality ingredients.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been helpful to have better directions to the car park in advance.

    Breakfast freshly cooked with high quality ingredients. Dining room was light and well furnished. Staff all friendly and efficient. Bedrooms recently redecorated with modern bathroom and very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit awkward at first. After that OK

    Nice room. Nice food. Good value no

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely little Town. Hornblower right in the Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited Parking

    Friendly Staff and Great Food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    If you are looking for a quick stay in Oakham this is your place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good

    Fact I was aloud to pay after my stay, signifies trust which is good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Marvelous - would love to return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming & outstandingly maintained property, offering a rare combination of modern comfort and traditional aesthetic. Our stay was a bliss!

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: