Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Avenue Hotel

87 Harehills ave, Leeds, LS8 4ET, United Kingdom

#41 of 45 hotels in Leeds

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant staff, restaurant provided good food and good value...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pleasant staff, restaurant provided good food and good value for money. Also good public transport with frequency buses to Leeds town centre and around. For information use Bus numbers 12,13,13a take you to town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Barely adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely dated , falling apart really . Think we paid too much for hotel of this standard. No facilities

    Close to event we were attending Parking Tea and coffee in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice and quiet. TV in the room with free wifi .Tea & coffee facilities provided.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could do with upgrading. The room could do with modernising. Could not check out at the time stated as the connecting door was locked & no-one answered the bell. There was nowhere to leave the key as the box was in the main reception which was loked.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel iv ever stayed in
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Wow! This is the worst hotel in the world! Rude staff. Rooms are disgusting. I didn’t think there were still hotels like this! I was pretty much lost for words when I arrived! Kitchen was disgusting. Please don’t eat here. It’s not safe or hyhginic. Mouse droppings in the room. Electrical wires exposed. No hot water, no iron, this was the worst experience I have ever had and as a result I decided to pay to stay else where. Please please don’t stay here. Pay 10 pound extra and stay at a holiday inn or something. This place is disgusting. The staff are very rude. When I checked out they asked why do I said i had found somewhere else to stay and was told to leave now! The sheets were also dirty, stubble around the sink, damp in the shower. I could go on but I am currently trying to erase this experience from my mind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    excellent value for money, suited our requirements for a basic two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor very tired, couldn't close bathroom door, requiring a complete refurbishment, which is about to happen as under new management.

    The staff were lovely, really friendly, helpful and accommodating, my daughter was competing at the Leeds Triathlon, they did not mind us taking her bike up to the room! Beds really comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean room with all facilities. Excellent breakfast. Great value for money. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.0
    Clean but very old and tired
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole establishment needs a bit of TLC and updating. Don’t mind shabbiness but rate is too high for what you get.

    Breakfast served late so never partook

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    Find somewhere else
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned, drab, broken showers, broken furniture. Nothing like the website described. Would not as use a tone to go there. Overpriced for such a faulty towers type hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Avoid at all costs !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is desperately in need of a make-over. The carpets are very shabby and threadbare in most places. Wallpaper is hanging off the walls in the corridors. The bedrooms are very basic, the bedding was clean but the walls / paintwork very dirty. The bathroom had a very dated pink bathroom suite with taps that don't turn off properly. Cigarette burns noted on the bath panel and also in the lino flooring.

    The cooked breakfast was quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    Beds were very comfortable and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dirty. Stains (looked like vomit) on the curtains. Furniture not cleaned. Woke up the following morning to the sound of what I thought was the shower. It was water pouring through the bathroom ceiling from the room above. Soaked the bathroom. Made having a shower difficult as we were also being dropped on by water from the ceiling.

    Beds were very comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.5
    Gordon Ramsey couldn’t even save this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not work, the room and bathroom was extremely dated, there were screw heads sticking up on the door plate which I cut my foot on. The beds were very uncomfortable as you could feel the springs through them. I woke up in the night absolutely freezing as the duvet was so thin and the radiators were not putting out any heat. The light fittings in the bedroom had gone rusty and stained the walls, there were holes in the walls from old plug sockets. The fire escape steps foundations were a total botch job, their bases had been propped up on some spare bricks as the metal had rotted away.. but only three of the four posts had been propped up on bricks so incredibly unsafe! There was an Armenian party until 2am too. Literally the worst place I have ever stayed.

    It was cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotels like this should not exist nowadays.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room key was broken so we had to use the master key. Took them 40 minutes to give us the key to the room. 2. Mould in bathroom, and the shower didn't even work. 3. No one at reception even by 8:30am. 4. Party in restaurant lasting until after midnight. We were on the second floor and it kept us up, can't imagine how the first floor felt! 5. Couldn't get parked in car park initially due to party guests.

    1. Beds were quite comfortable. 2. Wifi worked. That's literally it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    Even though it wasn’t an expensive stay, you still expect the basics like hot water.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in there were still the empty shampoo containers left in the shower from the previous guest. No hot water for the entire stay Bedroom door was open when I returned on the second day and the TV was gone. The guy that eventually brought one from the room next door said that the cleaner had broke the other TV???

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    2.5
    Couldn’t leave early enough the next morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am very surprised that booking.com advertise this hotel it is most definitely not 3star. It was dirty, no hot water absolutely disgusting

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Cheap, but not worth saving the money- wouldn't stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold shower in the morning- when i complained, i was told there was a problem with the boiler and i should leave the shower running for 10 mins 1st. no bulb in lamp, no plug by bed & stains on towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay and delighted with the room we got, but just needed one double bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It still has work to do to it. They need more staff, hopefully it will get some of the hotel done.

    The bed was comfy and room was perfect.The room needed some work done, TV not mounted on wall plus the lights needed fixing to the wall properly. Understandable it's under new management.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Don't have high expectations but clean and staff welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under new management and needs a complete overhaul.The basics are there at a cheap price but don't expect anything more until renovated.

    Clean comfy beds. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    They gave us heaters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains in bedroom which was road facing, freezing cold inside the bedroom they said heating came on at 7.30, it was still not on by 9 so we had to ask for portable heaters? Beds were lumpy and most of the lights in the bedroom wasnt working

    They gave us heaters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing! Do not stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly dirty, there was no hot water. Also we didn’t have a mirror in our room so had to get ready using our phone cameras. It was very cold in the room and the curtains are see through. The room doesn’t look like the photos on booking.com.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    Very bad hotel, lost money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pay for breakfast, but already they don't have that service, I recuest a reimbursement, but nobody knows how to make it, I lost the money. The electrical plugs are disconnected, then Cannot charge the phones to work next Day.etc.

    Non

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay thoroughly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I do not have dislike for the hotel.

    I loved everything about the hotel. The environment, the room service, the ambience, the customer service and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.3
    very poor condition through out...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like anything...

    The whole place was tired and needed upgrading... carpets were threadworn and decor was poor... wardrobe door was missing amd toilet seat was broken... not good at all...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.9
    The staff were ok the rooms was awful and the cafe wasent open when we got there
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is all they had to do was 're grout the shower make sure paper was down proper and buy a desent set of draws

    The rooms were mouldy and wall paper falling of dust in the lights the cabinets were broken the carpets were on tour down right there was no hot running water the curtains had stains on them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    Think staff need to go on some sort of customer service course
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was terrible on the Sunday night from 8pm until after 3am from other people staying at hotel I rang reception at 1am to ask him to ask them to keep it down constant banging of doors and a a girl screaming and shouting in polish So have no idea what was going . And them calling me on the second day of my stay telling me that I had to leave as my booking was for only one day I really do think it was to get my money out of me because I told him I was calling up booking.com to confirm my stay so then I went down to reception he told me it was a mistake I really would not stay there again and yes I know it was a two star bnb we was only expecting to ruff it for my bday weekend but was a terrible stay .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom really small. Shower could have been cleaner. Had to run the shower for quite a while to get hot water.

    Bed was comfy. WiFi and TV worked well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    Definitely would not stay here again. Ideal for one night on a very low budget, would not recommend.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival nobody greeted us; we waited 5 minutes to be seen. Some of the lights in my room were not working. Rooms were cold (heating very dated), shower was not powerful at all and sometimes cut out which the owner attributed to a faulty boiler. Fair enough, but if the shower is advertised it should deliver a consistent stream of water and not keep stopping. Furniture was very dated

    The property was secure and relatively cheap for two rooms. Not very much good to say about it. Good amount of tea and coffee and sugar in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Location from event very handy. Friendly, helpful staff. The room is in need of a huge overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no curtains only net which let in an awful draft and outside noise. No mirrors anywhere. Some of the sockets did not work or the uplighters above the bed. A headboard was missing. Radiators did not work. After an hour or so with the fan heater on the fire alarm went off so I switched the fan heater off. Room soon became very cold again. No hot water from basin tap. Shower was powerful but kept running very hot then very cold.

    The beds were clean and comfortable and the duvet's warm coupled with the blankets we requested from reception. The staff were always helpful, friendly and amicable. Gave me a fan heater for warmth as the boiler had broken and needed repairing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Average place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no heating in the rooms even when we asked for it.. they promised to fix it but they didn't so we spent 3 nights without heating Voices were so loud downstairs and the towels didn't look clean enough

    Good location, decent room size and good wifi connection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Clean but run down hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very scruffy and run down, with peeling wallpaper. The bed was lopsided as a castor was missing, so we had to jam a shelf from the bedside unit under it to make the bed flat. There was no breakfast available as apparently this has to be ordered the night before.

    The location was convenient and there was plenty of parking. The direct line to a local taxi firm was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Good price, location quite close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor and condition of the hotel was acceptable but you can tell that they are in the process of making it better.

    The hotel was good for value and not too far for the centre of Leeds. The staff were very friendly and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Can't fault The Avenue on price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed needed replacing, and the room/en suite decor very tired and much in need of a makeover, but the new owners have made a good start (very nice Reception entrance and restaurant), so we wish them well!

    Owner very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    A budget friendly place to stay when visiting universities...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mould in the bathroom and couldn't fully close the top window.

    A budget friendly place to stay when visiting universities in the area. It's easy to get to by public transport. Supermarket and other shops nearby. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.5
    Hotel quite poor and in a not very nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated and in desperate need of decoration, we wanted an earlyish night on the Saturday as we were driving back to Newcastle on the Sunday, our room was above the function room and there was a party going on with very loud music

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Not the greatest place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were in poor repair and needed decorating. The matress was wafer thin and the springs were poking out of the bed. The bath was broken. We couldn't use the TV due to there being no ariel.

    Easy off road parking and the wifi was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    Satisfactory for the price, if you want luxury then pay luxury money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to be realistic,I booked at the avenue because of its locality to the hospital while my wife was having surgery, it’s inexpensive and for the price you pay this place is good value for money, the location of harehills is not the best ever but that’s no fault of the hotel. Overall this is a decent place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.0
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy til early hours, no sound proofing, staff didn't seem to care, no hot water in shower,no shower guard, had to wash in the sink before work, until last two days! No bathroom mirror, broken wardrobe, tiny tv that didnt work properly, 7 days a week bar that was never open, as budget as it gets!

    That I managed to get a decent night's sleep on the last evening

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location near several takeaways.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location near several takeaways. Lots of free onsite parking. DVD player and great WiFi in rooms. Restaurant near reception. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.0
    very poor. shower was useless, couldnt wash properly all week.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head had only three holes letting water out, a trickle at best. took half an hour to get wet enough to wash... completely useless. Stained towels (may be cleaned but certainly not appealing)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    doing it up, so value for money all depends on what room you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room hadn't been redecorated & was very old fashioned, it was acceptable for a budget hotel in an emergency. the other rooms are apparently better, so maybe ask if you have one of those rooms? as they would be good value, whereas ours was not really worth the money, and the room was abit cold while we were trying to get ready. the stairs were hefty, not great if you've got alot of bags

    they are doing it up, so you can tell where they have done already so it should be nice once its done. the staff were great and happy to help. the lobby is nice and smelt freshly decorated and clean. restaurant was nice and nicely decorated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely owner and staff. Very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was rather tired but the new owners are currently refurbishing and modernising the property. They are doing a great job, it will look great when they have finished.

    The staff were very accommodating and plenty of free parking. There was a party when we were there but they did their best to make sure it didn't inconvenience us. Their plans to modernise the hotel will make it a great place to stay. The proprietor has a great sense of humour and made us feel at home straight away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Value for money hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some repainting form behind the toilet where the new smaller one had been fitted.

    The value for money was excellent. I wouldn't be taking the wife for a romantic break, but as a single over night stay it was extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.9
    Awful. Would not use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor was really run down. wallpaper had stains where water had leaked in. The furniture surfaces were peeling off. There was a wire hanging out the wall in the bathroom that I hope was not live. The room was cold and smelled musky. Soundproofing very poor so was kept awake by another group until 5am.

    Large free car park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff, Free parking and Wi-Fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and very dated. Mattress was way too soft for my liking.Pricey for what I got with no breakfast included.

    Friendly staff, Free parking and Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    Cheap, but beware the noises of other guests.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls lacked noise insulation of any kind, meaning I got little sleep due to the loud party in the room next door.

    Very comfortable bed and low price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not access the main hotel for breakfast or checkout at 7:15 even though the room info states breakfast is served from 7am so had to leave my key in the room and pick up breakfast elsewhere. The daytime phone number in the room was not answered and worryingly the overnight emergency phone number was not recognised.

    The hotel was excellent value for money, comfortable bed, hot shower and warm room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel & will be even better once the work has been completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs improvement.

    The hotel is going through a full refurb so will be nice once fully completed. The breakfast was good & the staff friendly. Location about 15 mins bus ride outside of Leeds city centre. 12/13 or 49/50 all go within 5 mins walk of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay again when im in leeds
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom suite leaves a bit to be desired.

    Very friendly helpful staff i left a couple of things in the room and they were at the desk when i returned later. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    This was a good value basic hotel which I would stay at again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit tired and needs updating but I think it's new owners who may be working their way through updating as they go.

    The staff were friendly, the car park was more than ample, there were refreshments, toiletries and clean towels in the room every day. The bedding was clean and the room a good temperature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, small dated with clear areas of damp showing in the ceiling. Was advised the hot water takes a while to kick in

    Served purpose for single stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Fairly okay! Good helpful and friendly staff at the Reception.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom didn't work well no proper hot and cold water facilities :-( the room had a cracked mirror the rest was fairly good..

    It was quite and peaceful..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Basic and clean, just did not feel comfortable in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realise what sort of area this hotel is in. As a young woman I did not feel comfortable in the car park by myself. I visited in November so maybe I would have felt more comfortable in the summer with more daylight hours.

    Friendly staff. Tea/coffee-making facilities topped up daily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Generally, I felt fine and safe.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows needs to be Change. I could feel cold coming through and the room was cold. However, friendly staff borrowed me a radiator and was nice and cosy.Also, the door from the shower, because of age, are wobbly and separate each other making the whole.It would be nice to fix it too.

    I like the kindness of staff and their communication too. However, the building is old, the facility is in the process of referbish and i felt safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast room was freezing no cereals/ yoghurt or fruit only choice was full english which i wouldnt normally eat owners had only just taken place over so bit unfair to criticise

    staff were helpful & polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    The receptionist is so helpful and nice with everything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is really hard, very little power on the shower, the room was clean but appeared dirty because of old furniture and mugs around the window

    The receptionist is so helpful and nice with everything!:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Every thing was just right !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was just right ! Fantastic location only a couple miles away from city centre. Shops and restaurants around the corner of walking distance ... defo recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    OK as a convenient place to lay my head
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor very poor, Room very small and tiny En suite- bathroom facilities rather tired

    Comfortable bed, helpful staff. very clean room & public areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    I think this will be a lovely hotel once all work is completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact I had to leave earlier than expected due to family issues

    the staff were lovely and helpful the lady who cleans the rooms although limited English was very pleasant and did a great job.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    It did what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel we couldn't judge as it look like it was a work in progress

    We just needed to be near a family party so we didn't see the surrounding area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool table area wasn't in use and we wasn't informed beforehand my daughter was looking forward to having a game on this.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    To many inconveniences to recommend to anyone, I wouldn't stay here again. Lacking in the basics.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was TINY (the smallest room I've ever stayed in). Shower took about 10 minutes to warm up and was rubbish anyway. No bar, nowhere nearby to get food, not even a sandwich or a coffee. Earliest breakfast was 8am which wasn't much good to me as I was on a course with 8 o clock starts, very inconvenient. There wasn't even a vending machine to get something.

    Staff were very nice, wifi was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    A basic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs decorating properly new intact furniture.

    Very basic hotel. Rather tired and dated but very clean and beds comfortable. We only needed a clean and comfortable bed and for the price it was as expected

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff at desk (female, blonde) was very friendly, lovely and...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bad smell in the corridors, I can only describe it as "old" and musty. Obviously the hotel right now is mid renovating. It is going from an old 70 type hotel to something more modern. This is obvious by the style of the rooms and corridors -its all in the middle of being renovated, which is why my review is positive. The entrance of the hotel is lovely (inside), and shows what will become of the hotel.

    Staff at desk (female, blonde) was very friendly, lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Cheap hotel undergoing refurbishment at the moment. Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night there was lots of noise with other residents coming back in the early hours of the morning and shouting out to each other. We were dreading the second night but it was much quieter. The single rooms are small but have everything you need in them.

    This is a very cheap hotel so you get what you pay for! It is a bus or car ride from the city centre which is easy to get to. The hotel is under new management and is being refurbished at the moment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The single rooms are small but have everything you need in them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok.... felt safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's being refurbished...so... some things are obviously not finished. Not sure £39 for the single room is worthy....at the moment,very dated... but ok. Depends how fussy you are. I was just ok with it, as I'd been once before...so, familiarity was the thing for me. A fair way from town... but between£6-£10.... depending on the time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    clean,warm no frills. undergoing refurbishment
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man working at the reception when we arrived. Pushing take away leaflets at us and couldn't manage a smile. Very bad for business.

    Jolly owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    The cleanliness was well below expected levels even for a budget property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was only lukewarm at best.Wardrobe had one door missing.Very narrow and steep stairs to top floor.Bathroom door had no internal knob and therefore could not be closed as you could not exist without help from outside.

    It was very cheap and easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but waited a while to say there were 5 people in the room. Dining area bare and quiet

    It's an ideal place to stay if you're not fussy. Cheap and cheerful, and clean which is a bonus. Uber into the centre was less than £5 which is handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I'm not usually fussy ! Horrible dirty hotel , grotty , smelly Bathroom was so old , had mound in shower ceiling , toilet seat hanging off Room looked like a hostel I was travelling alone and am easily pleased however this hotel was dire !! If I'd had my daughter with me I wouldn't have stayed £45 is cheap but this wasn't with money one bit I would not recommend this hotel and will never return The bathroom was so disgusting I never showered I took photos as it was so bad but am I sure where to send them This is the only hotel I've stayed in via booking .com that had been terrible

    Reception staff very nice and hepfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Budget Hotel well placed for visiting Harewood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no single thing that 'grated', the hot water for the shower took a while to come but we were told this would happen.. We self-catered using the Lidl about 1 mile away to the north-west (car needed) and local takeaways. Note that the traffic lights coming up the A58 Roundhay Road from the city centre for Harehills Lane have restriction and there is no left turn - very strange, you have to do an immediate U turn and turn right...(I do hope I don't get a ticket!) It's best to go up Chapeltown Road and turn right into Harehills Avenue instead.

    It's a budget hotel, suitable for those looking for value rather than luxury. The main building is very tired but is in the process of renovations, these did not impinge on our stay in any way. This is in an area that has seen better days but is nowhere near as run down as some nearby areas, in fact not far to the north is very pleasant - it's 'in between'. We stayed 2 nights and the room was made up with fresh towels without our asking. The Wifi was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quite old and looked like it hadn't seen any changes since the 70ies. It took ages to get the shower to a warm temperature (either too cold or too hot). There was next to no pressure on it. However, it all worked and was decent value for money.

    Friendly staff and very reasonable rates. Comfortable beds and a quiet location - had a good night's sleep. It was super easy to park the car in the car park at the rear of the building. Perfekt for our group as we were on a business trip. There's plenty of fast food places nearby which meant we were able to get some food late in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing standard of staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Paid for 6 breakfasts @ £7 each (£42) and find I was charged £49. No cereals only OJ. Shower very small and hot water slow to arrive, had to run shower for over 5 minutes to get any hint of warmth of flow. Trip hazard by room entrance, cold water tap loose. Paint flaking due to dampness and insufficient ventilation.

    Fresh towels each day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Room was great everything need for a basic hotel stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finishing could be better Wasn't many plug sockets so had turn TV off to boil kettle maybe quid extension lead sort that out. Breakfast wasn't included so had pay extra 7 quid for full breakfast for one day expensive when wetherspoons is 3.80. Could do with little updating but works were being done.

    Room was great everything need for a basic hotel stay On a quiet street and on site coffee shop. On a quiet street near buses and short hop to city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Would be nice if the room was anywhere as nice as the enormous reception area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room with very dated decor and although painted recently, very poorly done. EG. door edges not painted and door stuck to frame. Shower and toilet very cramped and hard for a large person to access. Broken light fitting with bare wires on ceiling, creaky door to stairwell annoying with people coming and going. No hairdryer. Worst of all was the water taking about 15mins to get hot, wasting gallons and gallons of water in the process.

    Bed was clean and comfy and freeview TV worked fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Cheap, clean and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a cheap hotel with a nice breakfast, hot water and comfy beds. It's not glamorous but it does what it needs to do. We have stayed here twice now and will use it again. Excellent car parking and quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Located in a nice, leafy residential suburb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told by the two staff on reception to leave the shower water running for a while for hot water. However, 6 a.m. the following morning I left the shower running for an unacceptable length of time and there was no hint of hot water emerging. I also hate wasting water. Rather than having a cold shower I made do without. A few days later I suggested a slight discount for the irritation but was told that there was a phone in the room I could have picked up to report the matter for assistance. It was 6 a.m. at the time and mornings are generally one big rush to get out. I was also told that nobody would be on reception until 7 a.m. Hot water apparently emerges from a boiler down in the basement, two floors down. Having a shower before work is an important part of why one books overnight accommodation, so it didn't represent very good value for money.

    It was in a leafy residential area a couple of miles outside of the city centre. It made for a restful quiet night. Room 8 had its own ensuite shower room. The room was a nice adequate size.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: