Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Albany St Andrews 3 stars

56 North Street, St Andrews, KY16 9AH, United Kingdom

#6 of 16 hotels in St Andrews

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 863 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Loved every minute of it and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time we stay we will ask for a room on ground floor but not hotels fault that we find it hard on second floor.

    Excellent location! Friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast one of the nicest ever and we stay at hotels all over the country!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the Bunker and there was a nasty step between the bedroom and bathroom. Not easy to negotiate in the dark. In fact we felt it quite dangerous

    A very nice hotel. Beds comfortable, room clean. Breakfast good, Late night staff able to get you a drink.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing hotel. St Andrews is lovely and the golf courses amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in attic very small and hot. No one to help with luggage. Very steep and narrow staircase. When we asked why we had been given these rooms when we had booked as long ago as November the staff could not explain and weren't interested. n general the staff were not helpful and probably needed more training, also when booking you should be aware that they charge per person not by the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed. Didn’t have much time in the hotel as we were at a wedding but staff very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot as it was at the top of the building and window only opened a tiny bit. They did give us a fan and it was a hot day so not really an issue!

    Most amazing breakfast!!!! Extremely friendly staff, very accommodating allowed us into a room early to get ready for a wedding. Room was hot and they gave us a fan without us having to ask. Lovely place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice location and people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was minute and extremely hot and even though they lent us a fan it did little but circulate hot air....Also the Seagulls spent plenty of time dancing etc on the roof above us during the night...

    Nice location and people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was great and the breakfast was good too - they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite old and not recently renovated - bathroom door did not close intirely, the WC tank filling noises and other plumbing noises were so loud, that they woke us up in the night.

    Location was great and the breakfast was good too - they have an a la carte breakfast menu (although at first its not clear - they could put up a sign or have their staff notify guests. We found out about it halfway throufh the breakfast).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A memorable trip made all the more special Albany Hotel, like a home from home
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in this category

    Courteous and friendly staff. Spotlessly clean with a sunny terrace to enjoy the evening sunshine. Wholesome breakfast with lots of choice and really good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and beds are quite small, prices a bit too high for the value you get

    The location is in the old town. A short stroll away from the cathedral, the beaches and the restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Small friendly hotel ideally situated and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    We were in the junior suite and it had French doors leading on to a large balcony with table and chairs overlooking the gardens ! Very peaceful !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, will book well in advance next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky to get the last two rooms, the double room was far too small for comfort, the single was great, but we were happy to accept these as the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    I loved that is was close to the restaurants but slightly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cancellation policy was such that I could not cancel the second day I had booked which is not what we encountered at any of our other hotels.

    I loved that is was close to the restaurants but slightly out of the tourist traffic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    A friendly Georgian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for a lovely view if possible and the hotel had replied saying that I had a garden view. However, when I arrived my room was looking across at the university across the road.

    The location of the Albany Hotel was excellent. It was very centrally located in St Andrews and just across the road from the university. I also was made to feel very welcome by the hotel staff and they were able to recommend restaurants, book a taxi for me and also store my suitcase until later in the day. The breakfast was also plentiful and there was a varied menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the centre of St Andrews in a comfortable hotel with extremely helpful and friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of wardrobe and a comfortable chair in the bedroom.

    Very friendly helpful staff, pleasant comfortable and extremely well kept rooms. The breakfast in the attractive breakfast room looking onto a garden was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay at The Albany, comfortable room in a quaint hotel. Staff were great, the girl who checked us in was lovely. Gave us some recommendations on where to eat, and was very friendly. Good location, close to all the bars, shops and restaurants. And a tasty breakfast in the morning, all included in the price. J

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay apart from not getting a good night sleep due to selfish guests .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy guests

    The room was excellent only one compliant was that could not get a good night sleep due to talking and laughing loudly at 3am from some guests which sadly spoiled our stay Sorry .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located right in the center of town across from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located right in the center of town across from St. Andrews University which we were visiting. The room was decent size for the UK and had 2 twin beds. The mattresses were comfortable. Not the best but fine for a night or two. The bathroom was good size and updated with good water pressure and personal water heater so you always had water at the temperature you prefer. The staff was very helpful and nice. Gave us a map and marked the hotel on it and gave us suggestions on where to go and what to see. They looked up the train schedule to Edinburgh for us and stored our luggage after check out until we left. All around great stay. Only difficulty could be that there is no elevator so if you have lots of luggage or problem with stairs ask for a ground floor room. Ours was on the second floor. We only had a small suitcase each so it was not an issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A once in a lifetime experience playing golf at St Andrews Old Course & Castle Course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms were a little bit on the small side with low water pressure in the showers.

    Breakfast was excellent. The lounge/bar was very cosy & the staff were hugely accommodating of our late night requests for drinks from the bar. The location was great for walking to all parts of St Andrews, including the Old Course.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    small sink in the den. Hotel doesn't have it's own car park and the parking in the street can get very busy during the day.

    We had room 18 - twin beds. Room was lovely, clean and spacious and very comfy. My Mum and Dad stayed in the den. The bathroom in the den was much smaller with a very small sink that was quite awkward to use. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The hotel has a lovely garden which you could sit in. Easy access to centre of St Andrews. Parking available in the street but can get busy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and clean room, quiet and well located in St Andrews. Staff are friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast ordering was a bit chaotic and slow. On several different occasions the server brought me the wrong thing e.g tea instead of coffee, wrong kind of toast. Having had many excellent Scottish breakfasts the ones at the Albany were slightly disappointing - no haggis or black pudding.

    Comfy and clean room, quiet and well located in St Andrews. Staff are friendly and try their best to be helpful e.g. fixing my faulty shower, storing bags and arranging an early morning checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    The property was in an excellent location in a charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very compact with very little space once I’d opened my suitcase. But overall the staff were friendly and location was good

    The property was in an excellent location in a charming building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    A relaxing and comfortable stay in a friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My daughter and I stayed in a twin room. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was a small room without a wardrobe, just a rail and hangers but it was perfect for us for a short stay. If you had a lot of luggage this particular room might not suit (Room 2), but there are obviously larger rooms ( as evidenced by the quantity of luggage carried by some guests). The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The breakfasts were fabulous and the staff really helpful and friendly. Would definitley recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay wish it had been a little longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small.

    The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was in a pleasant garden room and there was plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Cozy hotel with friendly staff, ideally located for all purposes, be it golf, business or sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water heater for the shower was providing a very low water pressure, even at the max. so if you prefer showers, add an extra 5 minutes to your usual routine. The Garden Suite had very minimal WiFi reception, in many areas of the suite it was not usable at all.

    The Garden Suite could easily accomodate the 4 of us: 2 in a separate bedroom and 2 in the large main room. Both rooms were huge and furnished with 2 large sofas as additional elements. The view from the room was very nice, to a little private patio and garden area, where you can also go out to have a tea or coffee. There was abundant supply of mineral water, tea, coffee and biscuits every day. The staff at breakfast always went the extra mile no matter how busy they were. The location of the hotel is ideal for discovering St Andrews, since it's in the downtown area, but not in the very busy and noisy part, so it's great for relaxing after a long walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was great and the staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower temperature is very irregular.

    The breakfast was great and the staff very helpful. Albany has a great cozy atmosphere. Overall it was a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Very central homely hotel, we would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No genius discount from booking.com when we booked. Our room was quite small.

    The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom was exceptionally clean and the staff were all very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    +Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Could use more variety on the "cold" breakfasts -The outside of the building looks tired, paint has chipped away -Price

    +Friendly staff +Good choice of cooked breakfasts +Cater for different dietary requirements +Central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Warm and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfy. I liked the big bath towels. The room was warm and inviting when I entered. And the fur blanket on the bed was a great edition. Wifi was super fast. And you got both a hot and cold breakfast to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    great location on high street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathrooms were very poor and old fashioned shower hot water came on via a water heater and was difficult to get the correct temperature lounge in serious need of an update, very unwelcoming breakfast - stale rolls, cheap sliced bread toast, old fruit in the fruit bowl

    lovely location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating in bar could do with an update.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great central position and usually free parking on street outside.seating in bar was basic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave me room with faulty plumbing which they changed as soon as I asked without checking so must have known there was a problem before giving me the room

    Room very good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Very nice little hotel, central and excellent breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just prefect and the staff made sure that I had a room on the ground floor (as I was on crutches). The breakfast was also very good! And we loved that our room looked out over the little back garden courtyard!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fabulous place to stay, with a lovely homely feel to it. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. the room was spotlessly clean, and lots of choice for breakfast in the morning. I would definitely recommend! Great location too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Great wee find on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a wee fridge in the garden suite

    Welcome at the hotel was very friendly and welcoming. Staff at breakfast particularly Paula were fantastic. Lovely fresh breakfast, good selection all served with a small. Going back again next year and won’t hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful, great customer service, great atmosphere and great breakfast, I loved it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the atmosphere in general, it was very cosy but at the same time, the professionally was on par with a large four-star hotel. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were amazing, it was nothing like standard inter-continental self-service breakfasts, The rooms were beautiful, clean and homely. In the lobby or rather the general common room there was a fire going and it was a lovely addition to coming from a hards work. I cannot fault them in any way, I will certainly be returning to their facility. Its also very conveniently placed right in the middle of the town, what more can one ask for?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    A friendly, warm hotel in an ideal location - we'd come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two rooms between four of us, and we all found the beds uncomfortably hard and rather short.

    A lovely welcome from friendly staff, and a blazing fire awaiting us in the bar, both made us feel warm after a freezing day in St. Andrews. The hotel is nicely decorated: touches of muted tartan and pictures of local views, but nothing twee. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and generous too, with plenty of variety to suit all of us. The location was perfect, just across the road from St. Salvator's quad and the Younger Hall (ideal for parents visiting students).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Will definitely recommend and use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coat stand or somewhere to hang our coats other than in wardrobe with our clothes. Especially when they got wet.

    Location was great. Room was spacious and spotless. Would return again and recommend to friends and family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    We were very pleased that we chose The Albany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small and friendly hotel; very helpful staff; room clean, tidy and spacious with comfy beds; perfect central location and truly excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't apply to us but not suitable for those with walking disabilities

    In St. Andrews for a wedding so didnt have time to benefit the many shops or the lovely buildings. Hotel ideally located for shops, restaurants, theatre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff, cozy atmosphere.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Poor internet. Shower low on water pressure.

    Nice little fire place in the lounge in winter. Makes it very cozy. Good breakfasts in general. Excellent location. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast with lots to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred that the cleaning staff don't hang the reused floor mats (in the bathroom) back on the towel rack.

    Great breakfast with lots to choose from. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Fine after booking mess up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow we were double booked despite booking via this site and had to have two singles the first night and a double the second night.

    Clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay, we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV connection kept cutting in and out so was almost impossible to watch but it didn't ruin our stay.

    Staff were great! The bed was really comfortable, so comfortable in fact that we accidentally slept right through breakfast which we had heard great things about.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice and got the job done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was served early compared to everywhere else we stayed in the UK - this meant we missed breakfast and need to pay again and find somewhere in town

    Room was cute albeit very hard to lug a suitcase to the very top room on a small windy staircase - some help would've been nice. Great location and easy to walk everywhere!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    A nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, I did like my stay. I just think that the bathroom was a bit small. Apart from that, I am very satisfied with the Albany Hotel

    The location is very close to the most relevant attractions in Stock Andrews. Moreover, the bus station is within reach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend and would rebook there for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor detail ie. we didn't have a bathtub but we didn't request it so... Also for breakfast the lady didn't tell us the plates would be so hot and seemed a little grumpy but I suppose she was busy that morning. There was also a lot of banging during the early hours of the morning, sounded like someone cleaning or moving boxes around.

    The location was excellent - stones throw away from the Cathedral Ruins, the University, shops and pier. Lovely and cosy room with pretty windows. Boutique hotel - enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay but let down by breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and breakfast a disappointment. Cooked breakfast came before cereal finished so subsequently cold and veggie option too greasy. Also cona coffee!!

    Good location, room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Recommend with the expectation that beds aren’t the most comfortable and showers coild be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was outstanding, the swapped us for two beds instead of just one but the bed was a board, not very comfortable and the shower did not work very well. Location, staff, service and breakfast were second to none but for the price had hoped for a more comfortable bed and better shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A great discovery in a characterful city with traditional comforts and contemporary standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service both friendly and efficient and room beautifully clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the dining room well appointed and comfortable. The hotel is convenient for all the attractions of St. Andrews but in a peaceful location. Superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel ideally located for exploring St.Andrews.The staff were all very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good for exploring St.Andrews and the room was very comfortable. Staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The bar was inviting with a lovely fire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Really disappointed on arrival as hotel looked very very tired, not at all what was expected,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower not fit for purpose, water just trickled out. No heating, had to ask for heating to be put on. TV unable to watch as signal breaking up. Bed uncomfortable. Room tiny.

    Breakfast was good. Varied choice, dining room pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not replace biscuits and shower gel after first day. Ran out of milk cartons. Poor Hairdryer. One lot of sauce for 12 tables. Pancakes and scones not topped when finished.

    Great Breakfast, Friendly staff and central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found it impossible to find a space where I could stay for more than 2 hours near the property at around 2pm.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. It's a beautiful location and my room was functional and I had everything I needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again, it's value for money considering it's location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower alternated between scalding and freezing, took 5 minutes to get the settings right.

    The hotel was as expected for a 3 star rated hotel. Staff were nice, very clean place, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Limited food choice within hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food choice within hotel. “Toasted” Ham and cheese sandwich turned out to be “dry” untoasted bread with cold ham. But overall, place was fantastic value for money. Very nice room and staff. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our time at The Albany. Good location, quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a bit of a challenge. Finding a close park during the day is difficult and you will likely need to pay and keep topping up which is an inconvenience.

    Staff were accommodating, the lounge was great, room was good and breakfast very nice. The location is fairly central and an easy walk to most areas of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable and comfortable stay with very welcoming and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent cooked breakfast choice, and yes, the croissants were particularly delicious (and not too big!) When I left a note for the cleaner she replied completely to my satisfaction.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Bad personal at the breakfast, bad organisation
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unpleasant service at the breakfast. You feel annoying the personal of the breakfast's service. Do not come at the end of the breakfast time 9h30 - you will be very bad treated. We couldn't get even the fork and the knife during 10 min - just complete ignorance. For sure I will not be back to this hotel.

    The room was ok, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    An excellent hotel with a wonderful breakfast. A bit expensive, but then it is St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit expensive, and if there had been two of us the room in the bedrooms would have been a bit tight

    This is a bijou hotel. The facilities in the rooms are excellent, but the rooms are slightly small. The cooked breakfast is magnificent, and you meal has been specially cooked for you, not kept warm under some hotlights. There are no evening meals available, but they do have a small bar area. The hotel is on three floors and there are no lifts. The staff did offer to carry my luggage up for me. There were no single rooms available so I had single occupancy of a double room. This cost £142 pounds for one night, which I though was a bit steep for mid October.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and cramped, basically the size of a cupboard. Expensive for standard of hotel but pricing typical for St Andrews.

    Very comfortable great location handy for all the major attractions and bars. Bed very comfortable decent breakfast friendly staff. We parked in a car park five mins walk away cost us £1.50 for 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Cosy family run hotel with a nicely furnished room with good beds. Good breakfast with a choice of freshly made options as well as a buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    lovely location. clean and comfortable, but needs noise insulation to ensure guests can sleep.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hearing next door's every noise

    exceedingly clean ....cleanest bathroom ever! but walls very thin, can hear next doors noise, even a little sneeze, so no good if you have a noisy or romantic neighbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable accommodation in St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Albany is in a great central location for exploring St Andrews. Our room, although on the small side, was very comfortable with a modern ensuite bathroom. Breakfast, in a light airy basement room looking out onto a small garden area, offered a delicious selection of food options. Would thoroughly recommend The Albany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Home for golfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's mirrors the St Andrews Scottish style. The Garden Terrace is unique for B&B style Hotel

    Conveniently located. Access to restaurants and golf courses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Friendly helpful staff, good location.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food could have been better. Stayed 2 nights, bed and breakfast. The Tattie scones were burnt, the kippers were awful, (the cheapest ones you could find) & the fruit scones were both stale and only half cooked (really inedible). Also, the breakfast room was like an old fashioned B&B (very old fashioned) rather than a hotel. Bit of a shame that the food let it down as otherwise it is a great location, very friendly & helpful staff. Unfortunately I wouldnt stay again because of the food.

    Friendly helpful staff, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and our room was on the 3rd floor and my sister who is 88 and had a bad back found it quite a struggle to get to the room.Having said that the staff went out of their way to help buy setting up our breakfast in the lounge to save as going down another flight of stairs.very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location and comfortable accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a group of lads staying in the garden suite, the night before my wedding. We were greeted by a very friendly member of reception staff. Some of us were arriving later than others but this wasn't a problem for the staff. They also allowed us a later check out, which was a great help. The little garden at the back of the suite was lovely and perfect for our occasion, plus we didn't have other rooms right next door to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Exceptionally friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge. Rooms are very small.

    Exceptionally friendly staff. Comfortable rooms albeit small. Breakfast was excellent! We played golf at the Old Course, so the location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, great staff, but very expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny and ceiling and shower height was very low. My husband is 6'4 and would hit his head off the light and had to bend down in the shower.

    The room was very clean and the staff were all lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    A great little find. We shall definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location with free parking available on street. We had a cosy room overlooking a very pretty garden with seating. Staff were excellent and a good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. Close to the town centre with shops and restaurants. Well kept garden with tables and chairs which could be accessed. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was an excellent choice. St Andrews is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Over-priced and cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double room and en suite were cramped with very inadequate storage for clothes. Just room for a standard double bed, a desk and one chair. No sitting area apart from small cramped bar lounge. Extremely expensive and very poor value for money.

    Staff welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Quaint and well-located but a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would avoid the higher floor rooms as the seagulls on the roof are very loud. Also, don't rely on the wake-up call if you have a flight or important meeting - we didn't receive ours and as we were jet lagged we were late to an important appointment.

    Friendly staff, great location, cosy room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Bad Night's Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    experienced a sleepless night - allocated room 1 on top floor and our nights sleep was interrupted by a constant noise from above our ceiling ( attic area ). possibly a faulty pump or pipework issue - Additional problem with toilet - which would not flush correctly - an issue which may be connected to our initial complaint On advising hotel manager I have been advised no issue could be found ?? Strange as this noise was stop / start all night until around 9.00am

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Lovely staff
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not very good and the toilet does not flush very easily

    Lovely two bedroom room with balcony. The pictures on line do not do it justice. Lovely staff. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi connection from our room on the ground floor.

    Friendly staff and very clean room. There was a small bar in the lounge area where you can get better wifi. Easy walking distance to shops and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Albany St Andrews traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: