Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Alexander

3 Sketty Road Uplands, Swansea, SA2 0EU, United Kingdom

#2 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Swansea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 796 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has changed hands recently and all individual touches have been removed. There is no-one to greet you when you arrive or check out. The nice things in the rooms such as cafetiere, cotton buds, hot chocolate have gone. There is no breakfast served now (which I was not informed about and no-one replied to my text querying it) and no information on where to get breakfast. There are currently building works going on inside the hotel -I was woken up by drilling at 7am. When I went to have a shower there was no hot water despite running it for ages (and not from the tap in the basin either). I had to wash in cold water -not pleasant. When I phoned the contact number at 09.20 to try and check out, and to check that my payment had gone through - I told them about the water, and was just told that they would send someone up and no-one else has complained! Not even an apology! Since then I have written to them and they have said there were subsequently lots of calls, and the problem has now been rectified. Hotel website is still showing the reviews of people that stayed here when run by the previous owners. I have stayed here several times in the last couple of years, but unfortunately will now be looking for an alternative hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking ( this was not clear when booking ) No window - it was like being in a cell No hot water in the bath - had to use shower to fill it No tv - tried retuning it - no result The place smelt of sewerage ! Messsge of welcome wouldn’t send our concerns back . Left a pair of trousers in the room - still awaiting a Reply ! Will never stay there again ! Maybe upstairs rooms are better ?

    Comfy bed - WiFi connection was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds decor cleanliness entry system , blocked entrance hall , residents screaming at each other over bathroom use

    Not a lot to recommend here. Tired hotel , needing renovation. Beds poor and feels unkemp

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere to sit, extra spare single bed in room which we didn't need. Awkward parking. Ended up parking car too far away which meant when leaving had to come up to hotel to load suitcase etc, couldn't get anywhere to wait nearby so was hooted by motorists as I paused half in the road! Promised gift for using supplied link for booking.com but never received anything on either booking, just another statement about a reward if I referred a friend!.

    Nice touches in the room, plenty of coffee, tea and biscuits provided. Helpful staff at booking.com helped me arrange change to other room I booked for my sons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean apart from no bin liner in the bathroom bins and hair left if one of them, all the mirrors were not really clean like someone had sprayed something on it without wiping it.

    Nice spacious bedroom, The beds and the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i arrived there was renovating work going on and it was a bit noisy. No prescence of staff around but given a phone number. Shared bathroom floor was uneven, tv only worked on certain channels (not good if you're a love island fan!), found the bed bit uncomfortable, noisy but good location with lots of nice places to eat and drink in Uplands. When i returned from eating out the fire alarm had gone off but no fire, staff were then on hand. Overall - cheap and cheerful!

    Location was good! Room was clean and tidy with a nice little note from the room attendant. Received a text to ask if everything was ok with my stay but there was no optiom to reply to the text. I found a nice place to eat in Uplands and good for cocktails- Verve 37!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was there to greet us at 6pm. We had to walk 5mins to collect our key at another location. We were then moved to a flat 10mins drive away and also had to collect our key from another location. By 8.30pm we got the key but there were no details for what apartment number we were in. We borrowed a strangers phone and eventually were told the rm number. The apartment was nice but there was no hot water. The bed was only a sheet and quilt and The bed was poorly made.

    Apartments facilities were nice and had a nice marina view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got there and walked through the front door. It was open. Tried to open the box with my room key in but it was the wrong number I’d been given and the cleaner had to open it. Before I saw the cleaner I rang the mobile number given to me to say about the key but no reply! I rang the landline but no reply! Cleaner opens the key box and clearly the wrong code was given to me. I haven’t a clue what I’d have done had she not been there as there was no response when I rang the numbers provided. The thing that was the worst thing was the smell!! It stank like something was rotting somewhere. By 10pm I was feeling so sick with the smell I nearly left. I slept very very little and now extremely tired. The smell was horrendous and the noises from the pipes in the bathroom were awful. I will not be returning again and perusing a full refund.

    The room was clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room. The locks on the bedroom door were not very secure.

    The self check-in was easy, and the hotel was in a very nice location. The staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was extremely overpriced. For a one night stay in a tiny room with a single bed, shared bathroom and no food, the price was far too much. Despite the cleanliness of my room and the bathroom, I thought the decor was a bit tired and the shower had absolutely no pressure with the water dribbling out. It is a shame that what could have been a very comfortable visit was spoiled by an extortionate price.

    The room and shared bathroom were absolutely spotless and very well presented with some nice personal touches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room too small First thing seen on house was window in front room hanging off Very dated inside. Needs a complete redecoration Water from shower just a trickle Struggle to find somewhere to park in walking distance

    Uplands Tavern a minute walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Damp smell in this basement room. Steep narrow stairs, difficult with suitcases for older travellers. No breakfast, no staff. Long walk to the beach.

    Pleasant, clean room. Nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure poor in the shower and took a long time to get a reasonable temperature Unusual not to have even a continental breakfast offered

    Very clean and comfortable-self check in worked well-enjoyed a quiet night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the bedrooms there are no other facilities. Check-in is by codes. For food there is a 25% discount at the Brew House but would be inconvenient in wet weather. Only staff seen were cleaners.

    Decent sized room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciate that the hotel was undergoing renovations but it felt more like a hostel.

    The self check in and out system makes coming and going a lot easier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suffer a lot of my phone and mobile charger. So i couldn't charger anything this reason i didn't use wifi

    I like the location of hotel and room as well. And it was neat and clean and all facilities in small area. Thanks for this

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights on in hallway all night, which intruded into room.. Comfortable room, but definitely not 4 Star..no staff on site, stairs that did not fase me, but no lift that would not be too happy for some people..smallest shower that I have ever seen in uk, too small even for soap products, which is a big no no for Australians..

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a horrible smell in the entrance all the time and the key wasn't where we were told it would be so we had to wait till it was delivered

    It was handy to where we wanted to go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a sewage like smell on entering the property as a whole. Our room was one of the basement rooms which was where the smell seemed strongest and highlighted by the fact it was like sleeping in an oven, only equipped with a small yet loud desk fan. The floor was uneven, which made the bed tilt, so your feet were higher than your head. The sheets and walls were dirty with questionable marks and the shower wasn’t great. All in all very disappointed as has great potential.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is centrally located in a nice street. There are lots of shops and other amenities in the local area within walking distance and a nice bustling atmosphere, without it being over the top. The hotel is a nice clean converted victorian townhouse. very pleasant and in the process of being renovated, so likely to be even better in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had low water pressure just about usable

    Really nice room very clean and well decorated would stay again and probably will . Good location with various takeaway in short walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key safe was a bit awkward to access

    Very functional. No staff present, just key pads and key safes to gain access. Very high standard of room cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot shower not very good

    Hotel had a self check in via key safe. Didn’t see any staff only communication was through email. Room was adequate for 1 night although was too warm and needed repair. Hole in wall stuffed with toilet paper

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was very odd. The accommodation seems to have recently shifted to a staff-less system where you just let yourself in/out with a few codes. But we did not receive ours before arriving (late booking) so it was very confusing and did not create a great first impression as we were stuck outside! Breakfast is also no longer offered here, although the 25% discount at the restaurant nearby is decent.

    The room was clean and pretty quiet, despite being on a main road. We got a decent night's sleep. The hotel offers a voucher (25% off) for a nice nearby restaurant which we took advantage of for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place used to be run by an extremely lovely and efficient couple, Heino and Linda. It has since been taken over by the owners of the White House B&B down the road and is now offered on a room only basis. This is a shame as the personal touch of this place has gone.

    Comfortable, fantastic value and clean with hired in housekeeping but it's not the same as it used to be! I'd still recommend it as we had help with the WiFi from friendly staff and had a nice room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was in basement with no window so somewhat claustrophobic. Ceiling low so could not stand comfortably in bath. There was a shower but no screen or curtain and you would have to kneel to use it. No plug in hand basin.

    Good location close to local shops and only a few minutes from town centre. On street parking easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning the hot water for the shower did not come out and the heater was not on.

    The rooms are comfortable and clean. We love staying here. The first experience of operating a self check in system. Around the hotel there are many restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No windows, basement room, felt claustrophobic, No persons there. It was solely a "do it yourself" experience" from letting myself in with a number to leaving. I never saw another soul apart from two young girls who were around upstairs when I arrived. I think they too were guests. It was akin to posting myself into the accommodation, and walking out when I left. There was no human element to it. The tea & coffee was the only comfort available. Plus TV if you wanted it. Very lonely experience, made worse because there were no windows to see out, and no connection to the rest of the house or anyone else. A comfortable dungeon would describe it. No air down there. or sitting room to meet others. apart from those two girls when I arrived I never saw another soul. Oh yes there was a weird looking scruffy young fellow leaving the next morning and one wondered what his purpose there had been.

    A nice quiet room, but too quiet. A claustrophobic lonely experience. I would never recommend it to anyone. I never saw any staff at all. It was a complete DIY job , and worst part was the claustrophobic basement with no windows. It felt like an airless prison.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coded entry system, the lack of any human welcome, and no warning that there were no longer any breakfast facilites! The contrast with the splendid warm welcome and magnificent breakfasts provided by theprevious owners was pretty extreme. It is now a soulless lock-up type hotel. Will not stay there again.

    Room was adequate and perectly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really low ceiling- it’s ok for me but any taller than 5’8’’ you’d have to duck. It’s currently under renovation so workers drilling starting 8am. Find for me but some may not like it.

    Good communication, easy to find, next to a Tesco, have food options at the door available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky flooboards & doors which were very noisy. Parking was available 2 streets away. Not the hotels fault but information should be more accurate when booking as very limited/residents only parking outside on street.

    Good functional clean hotel. Fine to use as base to explore Mumbles. Supermarkets, cafe and a restaurant nearby so fine to get breakfast yourselves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paint on the wall were coming off and on the stairway, you could smell dampness.

    It was a spacious room and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was in the basement and had no windows or ventilation. The room was quite small, and the ensuite facilities although clean did not have a shower that was able to be used by anyone slightly tall. The bed and pillows were quite uncomfortable too. The room itself was clean and tidy and the rest of the hotel looked nice, but I wouldn't recommend booking the basement room, maybe look into booking some of the other rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had trouble finding a parking space anywhere near the property on any of my 3 days stay. I had to clean the shower out myself as there were pubic hairs in there. (totally not acceptable) The very small shower although modern was broken in places but worked well enough to shower in. The TV didn't work most of the time as the signal was so poor. (I did make sure the connections were secure.) The coffee and tea making facilities were very good but not topped up during my stay so I had to buy coffee. I didn't see any staff to ask and felt it was not worth phoning to ask. The room was either very warm when the heating was on or cold when the heating was off. As a guest I had no control. Because the window was open due to the heating up I was awakened at 6a.m. by the screeching seagulls. Not nice. There was a well worn and washed towelling dressing gown in the wardrobe which I did not care to use!!

    The room was clean and recently carpeted and painted. The bedding was very clean and comfortable. The tea and coffee making facilities were very good. There are a lot of bars and eateries within 2 minutes walk from the Guest house and Cwmdonkin park is really worth the 5min walk. Very good wifi. There were many contact numbers to contact if I needed or wished to. I never tried any. Complaining would have spoiled my stay more than improving it. The towels were very good. You pay for what you get. Adequate but definitely not 4 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Adjacent Private Bathroom - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above. Plus paper thin walls.

    Bed was clean linen and comfortable. Holes in settee, no coffee and tea in hospitality tray. Hotel a building site,- filthy stairs. Safety door not working. bathroom adjacent small but OK. Hotel manager agreed with these comments, and refunded 50% of our room bill, via Booking. com, ( yet to be received by us)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not as advertised well at least the room I had. very poor quality 2 star rating at best. Parking on road nearby was for just 1 hour so not much use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lot closer to town than I realised meaning that at 3.30am a group of drunk guys came in and smashed about for 40 minutes and as there are no staff on site to shut them up I had poor nights sleep and as I had to be up at 6.30 for a course it wasn’t the best place to stay!! Maybe my fault for not researching the area!?

    Room was fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property has no onsite reception and the numbers given to ring were not answered. I had trouble getting in with the codes but could raise no assistance. Too hands off. Where was the service?

    The room was fine, newly decorated, nicely arranged and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no reception, no human contact. Key codes are given via email to access door and further to access room. When leaving it states to call local number on phone in the entrance, got 999 only.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of back lane, water in the distance. A bit of a walk to get to downtown, directions folder would be helpful.

    Great wifi, very clean room, good shower and bath! No bar or restaurant in hotel. Great staff, very friendly,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not clean and shower unusable. Basement bedroom - not a bedroom, considering price, more of a cupboard Floor not level, so bed was facing head first downhill Hotel was a building site everywhere but my room No parking, despite being advertised as having free parking If if it hadn’t been a non-refundable room, I would’ve cancelled on sight and gone elsewhere.

    WiFi was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    New management taken over recently and the place has really gone downhill. Shoebox of a room, dodgy WiFi, no iron available and thoroughly unhelpful staff. Not worth the money!

    Clean comfy bed, that was about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was problem with door lock when i arrived but fixed in an hour . Bathroom fan needs to be checked.

    Staff attentive,great view of Swansea Bay from room 3. Quiet room. Clean tidy with even filter coffee and welcome card. Would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap for a reason(?!). No idea how this can be 4 star as no staff present, (it is self check in) no bar area and only one toilet/shower! Probably fine if you’re a couple or solo male traveller but as a female travelling alone for an interview I would definitely not recommend as felt a bit afraid to go to bathroom in middle of night as absolutely no security and I had no idea who the other guests were. They should be more upfront with this on their website.

    Good location and very cheap. Also clean and presentable lobby, bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shelf for hanging clothes is too near the door, it made it difficult to get access to the room even without luggage as you can't fully open the door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Room 10 in the basement, terrible smell, waste is disposed of through a macerator which was noisy. Bed was broken, floor slopes, no teaspoons. Builders were working in the hotel and bathroom was covered in fine dust, told the hotel when they called to check we had arrived ok and they came and cleaned it. Room was nicely decorated. But was only £53 so you get what you pay for.

    Great location, next to bars, restaurants shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was boiling, even with radiator turned right down. Rather noisy by the road but not too bad.

    It was very comfortable and cosy. Lovely bath and the room was suitable for the price paid. I liked the self-check in system too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you advertise as a bed & breakfast, you should provide both bed and breakfast, it was just a room to rent! Nobody to greet you and check you in, disappointed, not what I was expecting at all, going by the reviews I read.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Adjacent Private Bathroom - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite cold in the room due to an open vent thing, and it was still clearly under construction.

    Clean and spacious room, nice extras (like tea, coffee and sewing kit etc), and a decent location near lots of food places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv screen did not work but audio did. The door lock needed an upgrade.

    A single room so i got good value. The stayover in winter with heating on all night suited the purpose. A good welcome and coffee tea provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had was that there was no one to go to if there was a problem.

    Lovely clean room. It was a case of getting your key from a locked box and putting it back when you left..so no contact with anyone..which was Ok, but a little impersonal. But the stay was comfortable and clean. I'd recommend to anyone. And would stay again myself. A lot of places to eat near by too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, heating was broken so the whole building was boiling hot from the hallway all the way into the rooms with no means of making things cooler as the windows were broken and could not be opened. Lounge and dining room were in a state of disrepair as they were being re-fitted. The two rooms were not locked to the public and no signs were up to say do not enter as I did for “breakfast “ which did not exist. No staff on site. Other guests complaining how the place is terrible compared to how it used to be with the old owner. WiFi did not work properly- not funny when staying for business and needing email access 24-7. Water pressure to the shower was non existent and was woken in the early hours by a man dragging a washing machine out of the garage at the end of the garden to then drag it across the street to a trailer! In desperate need of redecoration and intensive cleaning to the point where rooms should not be let out until works completed.

    Correspondence from the owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had to complaint about mildew in corners of shower unit .. stains on carpet .. lack of breakfast facilities

    good value for money....room quite nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 10 in cellar with no window or other means of alternative fire escape. Toilet and water discharge through noisy pump. Toilet smell despite intensely fragranced air freshener.

    Bedroom 10 and bathroom well equipped and clean. Accommodation within few minute walking distance of several cafees and restaurant. Twenty minute walk to centre of Swansea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of booking it was not specifically mentioned that breakfast was not included. We had breakfast on our previous stay there. The reviews still had mention of breakfast quality. We felt let down and misled and will not be returning. I would encourage Booking Com to be more clear about the booking type and what it includes rather than being silent on it, which is sneaky.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They did not have very much local information, a local map would have been very helpful on the first day. When I asked for one they did find one and lend it to me on the second day. The decor was dated and it could use some renovations and updates.

    The breakfast and women working the area were fantastic. Breakfast was a made to order and was enough to keep you going all day. The women were kind, helpful and informative, they made you feel very comfortable and welcome. We loved that they had coffee, tea and cookies in the room. The new owners were very helpful as well, if there was anything you needed they were there to help. The location was very convenient for us, we went from center city to Swansea University and it was an easy walk to both.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It depends what you are expecting. I thought that I had booked a bed and breakfast - but the place no longer does breakfast - which was obviously a significant disappointment. In addition to this, they no longer have any staff on site. They email you a code to get into the building the night before. When I arrived, after a 7 hour journey, I couldn't get the door open (the code was correct, but the lock was sticking). I telephoned both of the mobile phone numbers provided, but no one answered. Eventually after about 20 attempts, the door opened. Once inside, there were no directions to rooms - I was in room 5, which turned out to be on the 3rd floor, but had to wander around the building with my case to find it. The owners did eventually ring me back, after I had managed to go to sleep. I did not see another member of staff during my stay. Other issues that I had, were that the wifi signal was not strong enough to load even a simple webpage (BBC news), so it was not possible for me to work from the building in the evenings. Also I was unable to watch BBC 1 or BBC 2 in the room, as the channel signal was poor, which meant that I missed much of the olympics coverage. Finally, on the day I was leaving, I went downstairs to find that the front door (and inner door) had been left wide open. Although I had a lock on my bedroom door, this did not make me feel very secure as a lone female traveler.

    The room was clean and comfortable. It was cleaned every day, with fresh towels, which were unexpected. There was free bottled water and a good supply of tea/coffee/UHT milk. It is a 30 minute walk to the University, which was a very pleasant walk. I stayed in the triple room, which was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with En-Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought when I booked there was breakfast provided but I had to pay extra for this at a shop down the road from the premises - the food was excellent however and there was a discount

    Beds were comfy,good communication with regards to arrival instructions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no one around was strange at first but fine really. You could hear people moving about in the rooms above. The location was convenient for us.

    The beds and bedding were comfy . The tea and coffee-making facilities were good. We had a bath and a shower ( as did a different room I had last time).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The new management should have notified guests and those booking online that the hotel no longer provides breakfast and no longer has a host. The change was sudden (as of 2018), and for long-standing clients a real let-down.

    I have stayed at The Alexander regularly over the last two years (most recently in December 2017). The host was wonderful, the rooms spotless and breakfast excellent. But it appears that the hotel is under new management: the host is gone, as is breakfast. While it remains clean, it is soulless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ventilation in the basement room booked and it was Difficult to stay and the staff was friendly and polite and offered me an other room to stay and it was a small room with shared bathroom and the stay was ok but not comfortable.

    Staffs were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    they put us in the basement no windows the floor was on a slant it was clean, in the bathroom I had to kneel in the bath to have a shower we had to stay some were we was at a funeral would I stay there again the answer is no

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out of the city centre, not central as indicated on booking.com. Building was an old house and quite mundane, not a hotel at all. Room was okay, but no basin in the tiny shower room, this was separate in the room. Mostly clean, but all old and basic.

    Pleasant and helpful lady showed me to my room and gave me directions to the bus stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No physical reception, sometimes cold at night, the heater wasn't even warm in the middle of a February night. Bathroom was extremely small by any standards, clogged sink in the bathroom.

    The room was big enough, excellent breakfast and staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was not like the room I requested online, and when we got to the room it smelt like toilets (way too much bleach), and hair on the bed. Another shame is parking, plenty of street parking but awkward to fine.

    The staff there were incredible, was greeted by a very friendly woman who helped us get to our room. However we needed to change the room because it wasn’t to the standard advertised on the website. Fortunately the woman working managed to upgrade us to a much nicer room, was larger in space and height and included a window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No friendly welcome- because no staff. Self-service check-in- an unwelcome surprise. I expected 4 breakfasts, I got 2 and then vouchers for money off down the road. Why? Because the hotel has got rid of its cooks. Why?? They were lovely, and the only contact I had with staff at this property in 4 days. This is a hotel without hospitality because it's sacrificed the personal touch (i.e. staff), and as a result has had all the heart and soul sucked out of it. Not much in common with the great reviews of its past.

    The hotel was pleasantly furnished, clean and in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing about the access code system beforehand To be fair after the big usssues in accessing the building I found a text in my phone with the codes Problem was whilst driving for over 3 hours to get there, i didn’t notice the text and certainly had no idea who the sender Comfy lets are Coupled with that I rang several times for help but got no response Ryan and Victoria were very helpful when I managed to contact them The establishment needs to be clearer about the system and need to hunt for parking in the area as both issues are selling themselves short

    Spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed. Booking.com didn’t inform under new management which invalidates many of the comments and, had we known, we would have chosen somewhere else (and cheaper). We weren’t expected, and only by luck did they still have a room, though it was very unsuitable with four beds (we were told it was a big room but actually almost no space because of the beds), and very noisy at the front of the house.

    It was where we thought it was.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, extremely friendly staff and warm clean hotel. I was upgraded without asking due to availability and every care was taken to generally make my stay as pleasant as possible. Although there is no allocated parking, there was lots on the street immediately outside the hotel and my previous concerns that this would be an issue were totally unfounded. Would highly recommend this charming little centrally based hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New management had taken over the whole hotel the day before - so there was a bit of chaos going on while we were there. Also, we didn't like the position of the hotel, which is on a corner so you can't draw up outside - and there is no car park so you have to park on one of the hilly roads surrounding the hotel. There are several other hotels/good class B&Bs in the area which are more 'car-friendly'.

    Looking at the reviews, I had expected something a little less parochial - but it was very pleasant, very clean, the bedroom was nice and the breakfast room/breakfasts run by two ladies who come in from the town to cook and serve them were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were sooo friendly! Super homely vibe! Breakfast was yummy! Room was lovely and cosy, bed was comfortable! Couldn’t fault this hotel, definitely worth the price and more!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we had a great stay.

    Very welcoming host and one of the best-cooked breakfasts ever! Free wifi and the room was great and if we venture back to Swansea we will definitely stay at the Alexander again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very good, nothing to dislike. Obviously, this isn't a full service hotel but for a short stay this guest house was excellent value for money.

    The owner/staff were friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom. I liked some of the little extras - a mint on the towel stack on arrival, a hot water bottle being available in the wardrobe (not that it was needed, as the heating was good) and there being a teapot with the tea and coffee tray. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man was really friendly who welcomed us in. Lovely rooms too. We slept late for the cooked breakfast which was unlucky, but it smelt gorgeous. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with En-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here for two nights and was impressed with my double ensuite room which was spacious and comfortable and clean. I was welcomed by the friendly owner on arrival and the breakfast was very tasty (especially the bacon)! The price was great for the amenities on offer...I can’t fault anything!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: