Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexandra Court Hotel 3 stars

7 Newcastle Road, Congleton, CW12 4HN, United Kingdom

#4 of 9 hotels in Congleton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 353 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden statues, not to everyone,s taste, garden night lighting, a very weird green. The planting needs to be softer, fuller and prettier. Limited evening menu, food and menu could be improved.

    Room, I was upgraded to the beautiful Room 9, luxurious, contemporary, comfortable, sunny and quiet. The garden is a quiet place to relax. Helpful staff took my suitcases upstairs. Great place to stay if visiting Biddulph Gardens and Little Moreton Hall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only Downside to our room was the how warm with it. Also being at the front, near the road we didn't want to open the window incase we could hear the noise from the road.

    Everything else! The room was amazing and spacious, and the bed was so comfortable! The breakfast was worth paying for, as it was freshly cooked with the best scrambled eggs I've ever had!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic outside was a little noisy and woke us up in the morning. the room didn't have air con so it was a little warm in the summer.

    very nicely decorated - lovely warm welcome. room was functional and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The Hotel was tastefully decorated. Our room was spotless. Staff could not do enough for you. Beautiful garden and outdoor seating area. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down side was there was no evening meals on Friday and at weekends but the are several alternative .

    We were away for just over 2 weeks and this hotel was by far the BEST hotel we stayed. Service was Excellent. Room was excellent. The rear patio and garden were excellent. The bar, dinning room and lounge area were all excellent. To the point that we may go back for a longer stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived rather late and tired after a long day. We would have liked to have been ablr to have dinner at the hotel

    Staff friendly and relaxed. Much enjoyed sitting in the garden in the sun on the following morning, and not being hurried off.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Superb staff. Lisa showed us to our room. Minutes later she confirmed our dinner reservations at a great local restaurant. Top notch. Before our arrival, Mark established that we could leave our bags at the hotel after we checked out so that we could visit Little Morton Hall without having to worry about our luggage. He also served a tasty English breakfast. The room was well appointed and felt luxurious. Wonderful bed. Ample parking right on the property. Highly recommend a stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soon as we entered we was so unexpectedly overwhelmed how beautiful the property was. The rooms were well finished and you could tell there was so much effort and love went into the design and up keeping of the establishment. They was helpful with booking a taxi for the wedding we was attending, which was great and we felt so at ease as soon as we arrived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely upgraded room loved the decor. Very clean. Bed super comfy! Staff at hotel very friendly. We were staying for a wedding near by and had a long car journey there. We were very grateful we were allowed into our room to get changed even though it wasn’t quite ready yet. Would definitely recommend to anyone attending a wedding at Sandhole Oak Barn as a taxi only cost £6-7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were comfortable and clean but only downfall was the paper thin walls and electric shower unit. Person next door caused me to have a very restless sleep, usual banging of doors and chatting to fellow guests in the landing. Such a shame it spoiled it. Would love to stay again but room allocation would have to be broached directly.

    Lovely building and decor, super facilities like bar small restaurant and lounge. Lovely staff especially the lady who was on reception and served my friend and I drinks in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was only adequate - the shower was feeble. I thought breakfast was included but we were charged for it. I didn't argue!

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault. Think the hotel should be awarded another star!

    Very welcoming. Love the attention to detail. The hotel and the room were very clean and full of character. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was all great.

    The staff here were all very lovely and friendly. The check in was thorough and was shown everywhere, and round my room. I only had the breakfast here, but it was lovely. Bedroom very well presented and decorated. OMG the bed.... nearly stripped it to find out the make of the mattress as it was soooo comfy. If my pal was not getting married, I would have stayed in it all day. Parking right outside hotel. Will use this hotel when next down with work or visiting friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    The property was excellent. Clean, well presented and with good facilities. Beautifully decorated throughout, large comfortable bed and a powerful hot shower. The cooked breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and my husband and I were given the bridal suite on arrival and room was lovely and spacious.The food was very nice and a good English breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The welcome..smart decor and christmas decorations were lovely very comfortable beds spotlessly clean wonderful breakfast freshly cooked friendly staff easy parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that the website said 'almost all bedrooms had king sized or super king beds' but we just had a double bed and a bijou room. The room was quite cold, but they gave us a fan heater to warm it up, the shower was cold as well.

    It was a quiet room, the breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious and the staff were lovely. When I mentioned the shower to the receptionist as I left, she did write it down in a book, so I am guessing it would have been looked at after I left.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Indulgent bedding, sumptuous and thick duvets and pillows - just what you want when it's cold and snowing outside! There is a nice lounge to relax in (shame the fireplace is boarded up though - would have been lovely to sit around a fire) so you're not just stuck in your room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute so obviously got one of the last rooms available. Would have preferred to be on the 1st floor. Ground floor, room no 3, little bit noisy in the evening due to NYE party. Someone tried door handle in the night. (Probably searching for toilet down the hall) Fire alarm was set off too. Parking very limited but we got a space. Otherwise, perfect stay! Very nice hotel. Would recommend.

    Lovely hotel, room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was really delicious, staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    It was clean welcoming and decorated to a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We have already rebooked as we enjoyed our stay so much. Could not it in any way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chatter and general noise from the kitchen while we were having breakfast. No fresh fruit offered.

    The cosy homely atmosphere and candlelit welcome in the lobby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newspapers, magazines around to read in bar area

    I was very impressed with the staff at the hotel, couldn't do enough for you - efficient and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble, felt welcome and would return if in area again. Food excellent too - had an evening meal, not much choice, but for me a good enough choice. Very well cooked, substantial meal - breakfast excellent, I'd recommend the sausage (and I'm very fussy!!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the hotel, love the staff, love the atmosphere. Our No.1 target whenever we travel to the area. Staff are always first class and really friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast was fantastic

    The present owners have taken a lot of care and attention to renovate this wonderful building to provide lovely accommodation. At the rear of the hotel is a lovely garden where you can take afternoon tea , unfortunately for us we had heavy snow fall during our stay . Certainly worth a stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was somewhat limited. I would have preferred a bath to a shower.

    Warm, friendly staff in a warm friendly and very comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast - absolutely delighted with my one nights stay and would make this hotel my top preference for staying again in this area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel might want to make the car park at the rear of the hotel clearer to guests driving in as it wasnt that clear and unfortunately someone blocked the access as they didn't realise it was a driveway to the rear car park.

    Bed was awesome. Breakfast was good and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some better directions to find it.

    The menu was limited,which was disappointing, but because the food was so good, I treated some friends to have dinner with me. and on the second night we all came back for an other meal !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dressing table had a wooden curved area where knees go so was unable to sit with legs under to write or read. It looked beautiful.

    Friendly staff. Fantastic relaxing music at breakfast and evening meal. Food beautifully displayed and tasted excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very clean and cosy, and very warm! Lovely to come in to the hotel after being outside in the cold. The man who welcomed us was lovely, very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't really fault it.

    Had an excellent stay in a very comfortable hotel. The room was very well appointed, the bed extremely comfy, the breakfast very good and the staff helpful and friendly. It was only a few minutes walk into town which had some good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the new bar area. Have stayed here three times now and each time they have updated a little more of the hotel. I love the decor and the owners are very friendly and attentive. Lovely sized rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all could not fault anything

    Friendly helpful staff very clean excellent breakfasts lovely place to stay for any reason would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise from the road but that's improved with new double glazing

    We've stayed before, it's lovely - facilities, food, team. Huge room with everything in the right place. Flexible when an early breakfast required. Afternoon tea was excellent too. It gets better every time we visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in the bedroom wasn't switched on when we arrived and we'd been out walking (in the rain!) and we were a bit cold. They tried to sort it for us though and we didn't feel cold during the night.

    Loved the décor - very stylish. The hotel was very peaceful and we enjoyed the breakfast - for which we were quite late, although they were still happy to accommodate us. We were in the area for a get together with friends and we would definitely stay again. Lovely garden too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect and nothing could be done any better.

    Beautiful hotel which is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Always stay here when visiting Congleton. The owners and staff are all very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only minor issue was that the glasses at breakfast were very small and we therefore needed to keep getting up to get more water/orange juice (not a masssive issue though!!).

    I personally loved the decor, the room was very clean and tidy and was always very quiet and relaxed. The breakfast was good, with a good selection of foods available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel planning for a wedding the next day so seemed very busy and staff preoccupied. Unable to eat at hotel in the evening as kitchen appliances being "serviced". Room very stuffy - windows were not able to be opened. Had to eat at a local pub - truly the worst meal we have ever had. Hotel situated on main road near roundabout. Not very pleasant.

    Nothing much - we had a bed for the night but felt we paid a lot for not much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent staff,excellent room, room was spotless, what a pleasant change from other hotels in the area. Nothing was to much trouble and staff were able to answer any questions we had about the local area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accommodating, as we needed to check in early for a wedding and they managed to get a room ready for us in time to change before going to thr venue. Very friendly and relaxed feeling. Homely but luxury. The breakfast was yummy!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold tap produced hot or warm water, not cold. Access not the easiest, steep stairs, and sometimes had to park at the back. Not easy to exit onto busy road. Traffic noise.

    Friendly welcome and offer to help with luggage. Very comfortable room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, we asked for fresh fruit and gluten free bread and they produced it . The dining room was beautifully decorated looking out over the magnificent gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of one thing..

    Lovely hotel, very welcoming. Real attention to detail and relaxed. We had an evening meal and breakfast both were excellent. Thinking hard I can find a fault at all. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did have to wait a long time to find someone to check me out.

    The gardens are amazing and the house itself is very beautiful. Breakfast was cooked to order which is always nice. My room was spacious and I received a warm welcome even though I arrived so late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't the best - it dipped in the middle and the tv in the room was far too small.

    Exceptionally clean, stunning building and decor, beautiful gardens and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners and staff are all very friendly and welcoming. We arrived in need of exercise after a couple of days of bad weather, and were pointed in the direction of a really lovely walk around a lake just around the corner from the hotel. It would be perfect for an early morning walk too. The hotel has a small restaurant and we had a lovely meal in the evening. It was so nice not to have to go out on a wet and chilly evening. We were given a lovely large and comfortable room, which was very quiet, despite being at the front of the hotel. The hotel is decorated and furnished very tastefully and comfortably. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything you couldn't better it !!!

    Beautiful throughout a lot of attention to detail. We were staying because we had a wedding to go to and I asked if we could get into our rooms prior to the normal time to change. They were very accommodating our room was ready. The hosts and staff were very kind and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to book in this area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guests kept us awake,from 3am,talking loud,the owners off the hotel,said they also set off an alarm in the hotel,also when we booked on your sight breakfast was included, when we booked in we informed breakfast we would have to pay,extra,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We really enjoy staying at Alexandra hotel, we stay there at least twice a year with friends, its beautifully decorated and the owners and staff are lovely and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the shower unit was placed extremely high in the tiny cubicle which meant at 5"3' it was impossible to avoid banging my head on the door to stay out of the water jet directly in my face. Decor is a little shabby and could do with a spruce up, especially considering the cost is high for the local area.

    Lovely cooked breakfast, made to order by an experienced chef, bar on site is cosy with amazing fragrance diffusers scattered around the public areas. Friendly receptionist and owners who make you feel welcome and valued as a guest. Beds are lovely and big - proper doubles not twins where you fall down between the two matresses, sheets are fresh and clean, heating was nice and warm which considering the time of year was very welcome indeed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was really very good Bed was comfy Breakfast tasty All Staff very friendly and helpful Afternoon tea a delight Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mirror in the bedroom could have been nearer a plug , would have been easier to style hair

    friendly welcome felt good knew you could ask anything and every effort would be made to accommodate any requests

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had selected the option to pay on confirmation of booking, but instead I had to pay an leaving the hotel, I hadnt budgeted for this and my partner had to pay. This wasn't a good service. Also I realised that if I had booked directly with the hotel we got free afternoon tea. We asked if they could do this but didn't because we. Poked through booking.com. This again was a little disappointing.

    Staff were lovely, location was ideal for our trip too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't aware rate was room only so was surprised to be charged for breakfast

    Lovely friendly atmosphere. Big spacious room and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was slightly small - due to me being 6 foot 5, but other than that was great.

    Excellent in all respects - staff were very helpful and would stay there again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room

    Very very small room, much smaller than a budget chain, I chose this hotel as I prefer to avoid chain hotels but I was really disappointed with the size of the room and bathroom. Staff were really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason I marked down facilities was because the bar area was temporary and lacked any ambience, however work was taking place to develop a new bar and should be ready very soon.

    Rooms were really well maintained and the beds extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding was crisp Egyptian cotton, the towels white fresh and fluffy. The decor was very tastefully done and Andy and Mark were great hosts. The garden, even on a winters day looked amazing, I can imagine sitting out there on a sunny day having afternoon tea.. which by the way, they provide... Andy is an award winning pastry chef.. delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom / Shower small and basic Cooked breakfast average Took several attempts to get staff to reception on arrival which was a little disconcerting

    cleanliness and good quality fixtures and fittings comfy bed great bedlinen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have controlled the room temperature as it was quite cool at night very warm by morning.

    Friendly staff, immaculately clean, good WIFI. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the whole place is very evident from the moment you walk in. We had a ground floor room at the front of the hotel and being on a busy road, wondered if it would be noisy. We need not have worried! Very quiet. Breakfast excellent and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights here. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfasts were excellent and our group of 8 were given a private dining room, beautifully decorated for Christmas. The hotel is a lovely property with tasteful decor throughout and a pretty garden. We chose to stay there because it was close to a Wedding venue (St James and St Paul. Church, Marton) and Reception at Sandhole Oak Barn. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay there again if we were coming to the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that if I had wanted breakfast it wasn't included in the price of the room.

    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Room was great, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alexandra Court is a lovely hotel which has been beautifully decorated and furnished. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable and had all the facilities we needed. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They only serve evening meals Monday to Thursday. Would have been better if served 7 days a week, however, there were other eating places.

    Attentive staff who were very helpful. We were attending a funeral and they gave us directions to church cemetery etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd booked a deluxe room and paid for the privalage, however my room was far from deluxe, mouldy shower, small room, nothing like the one I'd been offered in the ad, and rude staff! Questioning everything! Me and my girlfriend both travel the world for a living and sometimes it's hard to see one another, between trips and flights we managed to meet for a night and this hotel wa the best situated between our different destinations, however we were made to feel like we'd committed a crime and were being sentenced as soon as we arrived! Terrible! And then to be told breakfast would be £10:50 extra per head!! We even got charged for our welcome cup of tea!! AVOID!!!!!!

    Lovely building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Brilliant staff, first rate service, wonderful atmosphere, good food at good price, nicely appointed room and bathroom with disabled access

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Absolutely immaculate and impressive Hotel. Lovely clean accommodation, fantastic breakfast and the evening meal was excellent. Good location and easy parking. Staff and owners were all friendly, charming and helpful. Hard to think how it could be bettered and we will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two wobbly tables in dining room. Very minor really, if you go looking for faults you will find them anywhere.

    The whole experience from checking in to checking out was excellent. Food was v.good and room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were wonderful you felt you were visiting friends or family. Hotel is beautiful the attention to detail is unique. Mark and Andy take so much pride in the hotel and gardens and it shows. Customer service is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Sue was so helpful organising taxis for us for our wedding venue which really helped as we did not know the area. Thank you to everyone we had a wonderful stay😀

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely room overlooking the rear gardens. We had a problem with the TV in our called reception who then immediately moved us to a superior room at no extra cost. Delicious breakfast also. Lily the spaniel was too cute.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room and this proved to be very small with very disappointing decor and furnishing. There was a party on our second night which took place on the patio under our bedroom window with very loud live music.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking area is right below the rooms at the back of the hotel, so a constant smell of smoke drifting into the rooms. Also noisy smokers there until 11 pm .

    Comfortable rooms, good food, receptionist very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Peaceful, delightful single room with view over pretty garden, oh so comfy large single bed, sparkly clean shower and WC room with fluffy towels and neroli-scented toiletries. The white bath-robe was an unexpected treat. Perfect place for me to stay as a solo traveller to attend an evening show at nearby Gawsworth Hall in Macclesfield. I wished I could stay longer! I also appreciated being able to choose not have breakfast and pay less, as I never want much first thing. Mark and staff I met there were most helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to see fish on breakfast menu as I don't eat any meat etc but I had a lovely breakfast anyway, thank you.

    Staff and owners very friendly, hotel and gardens immaculate. Breakfast good. Lilly the dog very friendly and cute. Would like to try out their dinner menu next time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but nothing the hotel could do about that !

    Friendly atmosphere, comfortable rooms, great breakfast selection, soothing piped music in bar and dining room !

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alexandra Court Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: