Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador Guest House 4 stars

Sands Road, Paignton, TQ4 6EG, United Kingdom

#30 of 75 hotels in Paignton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay as everything was done for our comfort. I strongly recommend The Ambassador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    To be greeted with a cup of tea after a long journey was rely nice. I had to wash some clothes due to a spillage and they volunteered to dry the clothes for me in their tumble dryer which was nice of them. They also went out of their way ( Newton Abbott)to provide me with my preferred brand of Gluten free bread. The breakfasts were top class as well. Everything possible was done for our happiness and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Such a wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO negatives here!

    The bed was so comfortable like sleeping at home!, the extra toiletries in the Bathroom were FAB! thanks. We arrived quite late and the owner Graham greeted us and made us feel welcome and gave good advice about where to go for dinner etc. Such a wonderful couple running this hotel I would definitely advise anyone to stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    A warm welcome on arrival, lovely clean room and comfortable bed. Breakfasts were amazing and filled us up until the evening. Will definitely return 😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    A lovely 4 night stay . Will rebook again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were very friendly . Breakfast was excellent with choices. Rooms were clean and modern with tiny touch's ie shower gel, face wipes etc . Condiments in the room were restocked every day .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    What a wonderful welcome when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful welcome when we arrived. Lesley and Graham are such a lovely couple and very family orientated, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will definitely be returning. I would recommend this Guest House to anyone...great place xxx Thank you for your hospitality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great couple, great location, great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely nothing to not like

    The Ambassador Guest House is lovely clean and comfortable, Lesley and Graham are excellent hosts warm and friendly throughout our stay always a smile and friendly conversations. Breakfast was great Graham certainly knows his eggs and lots of choice even have gluten free options. Our room was excellent bed was comfortable, linens were fresh and new, and the over sized bath towels were a real treat after a refreshing shower. The location was perfect a few minutes walk to the harbour and beach, close enough for convenience but far enough to be private. While away it was my partners birthday, on coming back from a day out our room was decorated with birthday banners and balloons thank you both for this lovely surprise. A lovely guest house in a great location, it's going to be a firm favourite of ours and will certainly return again. And the worthers originals were a great treat on our walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    I liked it all and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were lovely. Very helpful and accommodating. Tea/coffee on arrival after a 4 hour drive was greatly received. Walking distance of beach,water park,restraunts,pier, train station incl.steam train.

    I liked it all and would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    An exceptional place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Graham and Lesley were so friendly and helpful from the second we arrived to the second we left. The room we had was a twin room at the back of the property which was incredibly comfortable with more amenities than you would expect. The breakfasts were second to none in quality and quantity and were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything not to like.

    I had a short break in Paignton to visit friends. I had stayed at The Ambassador a few years ago but it has new owners. The room was clean and comfortable, great breakfast every morning and car park on front. Will definitely be staying there again as it had everything I needed and was a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Friendly good value, will not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good value, very clean, owners lovely supplied us with tea & coffee on arrival, breakfast very good would satisfy the biggest appetite, minutes from the seafront, parking for 5 cars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great owners, great location, great breakfast!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners of The Ambassador Guest house went out of their way to make sure I had everything that I needed and more. Lesley and Graham are lovely people who put their hearts into their business. The full English breakfast was very nice indeed but the star of the show, for me, was the cheese & ham omelette. Absolutely brilliant. Thank you very much. Lauren.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant 3 days for me and my hubby,weather was great, lovely place, slept great, breakfast lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing was there was no drawers to put clothes but would not stop me going back.

    Arrived early, but the hosts let us in and room was ready couldn't have been more friendly was offered a cup of tea as we arrived. the room was lovely and clean ,bed very comfortable, they had put a fan in the room as the weather was so warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Great short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our two night stay at The Ambassador Guest House. Our hosts, Graham and Lesley, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The breakfast was lovely with loads of choice. The room was well equipped with everything that we needed and the bed was really comfy. Will definitely be returning!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Excellent 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Lesley & Graham we’re very friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. The rooms were very clean and fresh decor .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Ambassador Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I disliked about the Ambassador.

    The breakfast in the morning was varied and of great quality. The staff were very helpful. Looking forward to staying here next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay nothing was to much trouble so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres nothing i didnt like

    I really enjoyed my stay nothing was to much trouble so friendly room was clean tidy nice size ☺ the owners were great could ask them anything an they would help you so i would like to thank them for making my stay comfortable an enjoyable we will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely people, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and well presented. The wi-fi is fast and reliable. Cooked breakfast was really good and the owners of the hotel are so friendly and helpful. Also the hotel being close to the beach and transport links is a bonus. Really enjoyed my stay at the Ambassador and I'll definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely spotless B&B, great location and 5* Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is in a great location 3 minute walk to Paignton Beach and about a 10 minute walk to Goodrington Sands. Very homely, clean and comfortable and rooms have lovely finishing touches. Family room Is great with a double bed and two singles.

    Exceptionally clean bedrooms and ensuites, bath linen was lovely big thick soft towels and Lesley and Graham had done added touches - cotton buds, Shower Gels, facial Wipes, etc. In the bathrooms. Both Lesley and Graham were extremely accommodating and nothing was too much trouble - allowed us to eat take away in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable 3 day break made better by great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners went far beyond expectations & couldn’t do enough for you . Lovely couple . Bathroom towels were amazing big fluffy white towels . Would definitely go again .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    enjoyable and we would return again for future holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were clean and spacious, breakfast was superb and the location is ideal being 5 mins from the town and 5 mins from the beach!! we were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and the owners made our stay a real pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely quiet night just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite big, but will be nicer to have a coffee table.

    The location is the main reason I have chosen this guest house, it comes with parking facility which is quite convenience, saving sometime to find parking as it could be time wasting. Graham and Lesley are really helpful and really friendly, it was a shame that we didn’t talk more as we were in a rush. Will definitely visit again if we are around. Breakfast is really delicious and fresh made to your choices, always making sure we had enough to eat. thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The owners were very welcoming on arrival also served with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were very welcoming on arrival also served with coffee that was most appreciated , our room was spotless and the bed very comfy , not forgetting the wonderful breakfast cooked by Graham,.......definitely “home from home “.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    It was a welcoming place to return to after a busy day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing.

    Graham and Leslie were very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was excellent and there was also a choice of pancakes, continental or omelettes, if you preferred.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming couple, nice and relaxed, even decorated our room for our wedding anniversary which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was lovely and just a short walk from everything you need in paignton. Defo recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for only 4 cars to park. No great issue there's street parking 30 seconds walk away.

    Recently refurbished with an eye for detail. Absolutely amazing breakfasts!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excerllent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The room was a bit on the small side but good enough for me it had everything in it tea coffee a very nice TV and the bathroom was very nice clean and modern. The breakfast was fantastic lots of choice and everything cooked to perfection I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and this was the best breakfast I have ever had. And on top of that the couple made you feel so welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    I absolutely loved the hospitality that we got from Graham and Lesley! They were welcoming,helpful accommodating and extremely friendly! Nothing waa to much trouble for them and they would go that extra step!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    One word sums up the Ambassador Guest House in Paignton - EXCELLENT !!! I was stuck in the blizzard on Sunday 18th March at Paignton station. No taxis, no buses. Graham, the owner, came out specially to collect me at the station. AND gave me a cup of tea on arrival at the Guest House. The room and service were excellent !!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. A small fold up table in the room is a very good idea.

    On arrival Lesley offered me a much needed coffee as I checked in. I had a spacious single room on the first floor. Wifi was excellent throughout, breakfast was superbly cooked by Graham with an early start if required. The bed was comfortable and I didn't hear any traffic at night, despite having a room at the front.. A problem with the bathroom light was sorted immediately. The Ambassador is situated close to the town facilites and the bus and train station with the Steam Railway situated next to the mainline station. Unfortunately I had to cut my stay by a day as I was unwell. Graham most kindly drove me to the train station. I couldn't find. I can only congratulate Lesley and Graham for running such an efficient business. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Ambassador and will be returning again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    This was our second visit and it was as good as the first,we will be returning soon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all !!

    Very friendly people,couldn’t be more welcoming or helpful. The whole place is spotless,the facilities are excellent and a very good breakfast 👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay, the hosts are delightful and very thoughtful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What lovely, lovely hosts. A little gem of a b & b. Could not do enough for us! Even took our bored 2 year old off to meet their dogs whilst we finished breakfast! Would definitely recommend this place and we will stay here again when next in the area. Breakfast is great, rooms are comfortable and location is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Excellent service, food and room Will definitely be staying again and will recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could not fault anything about our stay.

    From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the owners who were very pleasant and helpful offered us a cuppa then showed us to our room .which was very clean ,comfortable and well equipped for our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    clean rooms, excellent breakfast and good location near sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very clean. Kettle in room with tea, coffee and nice biscuits. Towels were soft and on-suit bathroom clean. Good breakfast menu which select from the night before.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Great price great hosts fabulous breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived I was meet by the owners and offered a cup of tea or coffee which was great after a busy day. The room was clean with a nice ensuite, and a nice comfortable bed. Breakfast was very great I was able to pick what I wanted for breakfast when I arrived, and it cooked fresh for me at the time I wanted, and always a bonus fresh brewed coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely little b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit small but served it’s purpose

    It was a very cosy warm b&b. It smelt and was clean. The owners were brilliant and nothing was too much of a problem for them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Nice short time to spend with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t compare 5 star hotel with guest house but for that money you can’t find better place so I recommended to anyone,really happy

    Nice place,friendly service,fabulous breakfast no expensive I will do again anytime Andrel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    The owners were very nice, the food was great and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very nice, the food was great and the accommodation was clean. The location was great, close too sea,the shops and the bus station.. I will definitely come again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    I particularly appreciated our host getting up incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, but this was understandable given it was a single room.

    I particularly appreciated our host getting up incredibly early, just to cook breakfast before my return trip to London! The friendliness, care and attention to detail made me feel very much at home. The location is a good springboard for seaside walks, close to the railway station and near some very good restaurants. I would particularly recommend TJ’s Restaurant by the Harbour. Nearby Wellswood in Torquay is also well worth a visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Very personal welcoming, the house was clean & tidy, our room was suited to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we slept well, we did find the mattress and pillows hard, we woke up quite stiff, but after a shower and getting mobile we soon loosened up.We understand everyone is different and you cannot accommodate mattresses to suit everyone. We will visit again.

    Very welcoming, very friendly, very clean & tidy. breakfast was perfect, you get a menu when booking in for your breakfast preference and you tell them what time. We requested 8.30am. We went down to the Dinning Room a few minutes early and sat down, coffee was brought out and within minutes our freshly cooked breakfast, to perfection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Best bed and breakfast in the south west
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad points all excellent

    The couple both welcomed me with a hot drink. Lovely room and very clean.the decoration of the place was smashing and fantastic food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Looking forward to our next stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We loved how it felt like home from home, it's really nice to stay at, if you fancy a quick get away with your loved one! And as we really enjoy paignton it was a perfect find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.2
    Dog hair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast. My two daughters found dog hair in their food. They ended up starving. Very disappointed and disgusted.

    Property was pleasant and room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Part or the Family
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As always, you have to remember you are at the mercy of other guests for noise etc. our fellow guests were fine - but that is the luck of the draw. This is a far above average budget guest house - not a 5 star hotel.

    The owners who greeted us were brilliant! Super friendly, helpful and gave us a fresh pot of coffee. Parking is a bit cramped - but we had a mid sized SUV and there were three others of similar size on the off road hard standing at the front of the guest house. Big rooms, very soft beds, small bathrooms (but how much room do you need in there?), great breakfast, helpful, welcoming owners, great price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The perfect B&B
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t know where to begin. The whole stay was brilliant, the staff were welcoming,rooms were clean and tidy every day and the bed was soooo comfy. Choices of times for breakfast and a lovely menu that was cooked perfectly. Needed advise and directions whilst there and the staff helped brilliantly. A great help when I needed a few items I forgot to bring on my journey so with no hesitation one of the staff was more than happy to find or get. Perfect. Can’t wait to stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place. Great owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was awful one of the connections wouldn’t work at all the other was very slow. The room was cold.

    Owners were great very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Great breakfast. Lovely big shower. Comfy bed. Nice and quiet thanks to double glazing and free parking very close to the beach too. Highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a friendly welcoming couple. Such a handy location near my brothers house and by the sea. Such a lovely little room with a clean little bathroom. Such a delicious breakfast. I had a peaceful stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant & excellent food, - but room only suitable for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Twin room - VERY small, & limited storage space, Shower room - NOT suitable for large people ! Fortunately - we are not oversized !! As a couple, we managed - with our one case,but -- for 2 friends - ( 2 cases ) it would be difficult !

    Very welcoming owners, EXCELLENT breakfasts, & helpful with town directions. Very close to all amenities, shops, railway, restaurants, beach, cinema. Quiet location, yet -- central & good beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent - very enjoyable at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Clean and tidy accommodation. The breakfast was excellent & staff friendly and very helpful. Ideally located for the town and transport facilities as well as close to the sea front. Would certainly use again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    lovely hosts, rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited parking on site but that cant be helped. shower wasn't particularly powerful

    lovely hosts, rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were excellent. very good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.5
    Visiting friends in paignton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point but the building had quite a dark entrance hall, so it would have felt more welcoming if the light was left on.

    Good location, pleasant room and very clean. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't really recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, tiny washbasin no bath mat until day before we left, no real toiletries except for shower gel. Small wardrobe and drawers not really enough room for two and no table to sit at and write.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic seaside holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. It was all great.

    Mark and Yvonne were exceptional hosts. The breakfast was perfect and the hosts were kind and attentive. The guest house is a few minutes walk from the Paignton beach. My family had a fantastic holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Ideal guest house for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fortunate to have a parking space as these are limited.

    Friendly hosts. Appreciated cuppa on arrival. Refreshment tray and shower room toiletries a bonus. Very clean. Breakfast freshly cooked. We would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Excellent and superb!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! 😃

    I was blown away by the high standards of this property, they clearly have invested a lot of time, money and love into this place and takes care of it very very well. The bed is comfy and bathroom was immaculately clean. Hair dryer was a bonus as was having shower gel in the bathroom....although I did bring my own. They treat all their guests like friends/family and although I travelled alone for work, I will definitely come back with the family to stay here. They are knowledgeable about the area and the location is fantastic....a short walk (literally 2minutes) to the sea front and shops and restaurants. Not a lot in regards to the availability of restaurants and places to eat and quite repetitive for choices but what an amazing family. The breakfast choices were fantastic and they cook it to order depending what time you sitpulate you would like your breakfast. Spoilt for choice! An excellent choice and highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    Good breekie down hill with the family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were aweful..need throwing out..worse beds ever..travelling many times but never found booking.com beds ever ever too be like these.,.carpet shabby were and dirty needs replacing ....pillows need dumping and sheets also...want too say so...all so thirty min delay too take money on.check out...never ever had that...said too busy doing breekie...put are trip home back for that 30 mins...the people were nice..but need too up grade the family room we stayed in only give it one star

    Breekie 10 out of 10..all great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast, smashing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How the woman come across, soon as she met us at the door. You could tell she was having a bad day!! Just asking a simple question about were to park, talk about attitude. Then the key to door of bedroom ( brother went off with keys) we were just making conversation. Very short and abrupt. Not just us, next day lovely lady at breakfast was just talking to her, rude to her. Not got much people skills at all. Her partner seems a lovely man. Stay with my two friends at the guest house, we all work with the general public and know it's stressful at times. It's a lovely place, but she just made us feel uncomfortable. When we left in morning, we didn't think they mind us parking in the front until we left in afternoon. How wrong was I, she didn't like not being asked and got very snotty on the phone. Her husband was painting the front of guest house, should of said we wanted to leave car( which was fair enough) didn't think it was a big deal. Kept going on, in the end I put the phone down on her!! Can't believe I done that, never had any reason to do anything like that before. Just got sick of listening to her!! Sorry to say this, but I've never complained about anywhere I've stay before. But she really put me off going again.

    Lovely breakfast, smashing room. Beds was so comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Mark and Yvonne made our stay a very pleasant one and room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the High Street in Paignton as it reminded us of Southend with lots of Amusement arcades and cheap touristy shops. The surrounding areas are very scenic.

    owners were very helpful and friendly and a warm welcome when we arrived. I had had a shoulder op and Yvonne allowed us to have a ground floor room. A good selection of food at breakfast--Marks pancakes are delightful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Most welcoming family , extremely comfortable Clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Most welcoming family , extremely comfortable Clean accomdation and excellent cooked full English breakfast. Will defiantly recommend to family and friends and return sometime ourselves ..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    A restful bank holiday in Paignton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather ................ but not even Yvonne can control that !

    Room was bright & airy with a big comfortable bed. Morning brought an excellent choice of breakfast & high quality food, made better by our host Yvonne's informed commentary of what to do & where to go .... a real home from home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Best bnb by far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast is delicious! The hosts are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and beautifully laid out. I also loved the sitting room downstairs where we could meet people or relax outside the bedroom. What a lovely stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Definitely coming back !! Give the Ambassador a try !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yvonne & Mark were very welcoming. The Ambassador was excellent value for money and the best B&B we have stayed in around Paignton, we will definitely be back and recommend to our friends & family. The Twin/Double with extra large double bed was a lovely room and the bathroom facilities were perfect, clean and refreshing. Added bonus of on-site parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    couldn't rate the WiFi or breakfast as we didn't use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't rate the WiFi or breakfast as we didn't use them but the owners were very helpful and friendly and had no issues with our quite late arrival phone call before hand to arrange key collection and all nessercary details for when we arrived couldn't complain the room etc was adzactly what you need and in a nice easy to find location next to the sea front 😊

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    We had a very happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to dislike.

    The breakfast was great. Very friendly atmosphere. And very relaxing would definitely stay there again.Bed very comfy and lovely room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    we will certainly book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent service from owners, property close to all that paignton has to offer. property very clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. owners were extremely helpful and friendly. in my opinion the property should be rated at least 8.5,based on other properties we have visited!!. Try visiting Dartmouth on th steam train ,5 minutes,flat walk, from the Ambassador.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful little room, wonderful location, lovely shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple should make it more clear what time check in is and highlight their expectations. My partner & I had driven from London, had a hard evening and ended up being 30 mins late from check in time. We didn't realise this would cause the owner to be so angry and upset. I appreciate we were in the wrong for being late, we should have read the website more clearly! I just wish they would have communicated their expectations a bit more clearly over the phone earlier that evening. We felt very unwanted that evening, and after apologising 3 times, we thought she would have left it, but she continued to be very upset with us, which was an awful experience to have after just paying for the two nights and wanting to enjoy our mini break.

    Beautiful little room, wonderful location, lovely shower and kept so clean! Comfy duvet and a very welcoming little room. I can see why they have such good reviews!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Great value
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly staff who allowed us to book in early as room was ready. Parking on site a great help. Comfortable room, good breakfast and close to the seafront and shops.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Quiet, friendly, and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only quibble was that I arrived by bike and there was nowhere under cover to put it. I was able to put it out of sight behind an outside door next to the dustbins on some decking, but ,unfortunately, heavy rain overnight made the decking very slippery. I discovered this when I stepped on it to reach the bike, wearing cleat shoes, my feet went completely from under me and down I crashed, fortunately without any damage.

    Quiet, friendly, and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.6
    A great overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi signal was not strong, adequate but kept cutting out.

    A warm welcome, comfortable and spacious room and excellent breakfast. Ideal location...easy to walk to restaurants and along the seafront. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....thank you!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    a guest house that treats you like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    liked every thing

    immaculate ,comfort ,breakfast so fresh and tasty, better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in. mark and Yvonne are the most polite and friendly proprietors and I would most heartily recommend the ambassador guest house

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Happy camper!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic sized room for the price. Plenty of power sockets for charging/laptops etc. The owner was great, called me before arriving to let me know which room I was in and also made us a sausage butty in the morning as we were up and out before breakfast. Great location. Massive thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    A Great Family B&B Who Know About Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served at 8am, we spoke to Mark as we needed to leave early one morning. It was no trouble for him to get up early and cook for all of the guests. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Recommend 100%
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived later than specified check in Not a problem Late back to room Not a problem Later than expected check out Not a problem Overall very understanding lovely homely place to stay Would definitely stay again👍🏻

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    A gem - very reasonable and excellent value for money. Thanks for a hassle free stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all great.

    Very warm welcome on arrival. Also sorted out a take-away breakfast for me without any fuss. Comfortable room with great wi-fi and complementary toiletries which was a nice surprise. Great location only 5 mins from the train and bus station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Great price, room, breakfast & value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Nothing bad to say about this Hotel/B&B,greeted when we turned up after work, very clean & comfortable bed & bathroom. A great nights sleep led up to the best cooked breakfast I think I've ever had !!! Seriously 5***** Will stay here again : )

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: