Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Ampersand Hotel

Reviews of The Ampersand Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

10 Harrington Road , Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7 3ER, United Kingdom

#49 of 1,069 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1063 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    9.6
    Great location with easy access to any of the tourists sites. Very nice and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was a very pleasant stay.

    The hotel was in a great location, just a short 1 minute walk to South Kensington Metro. Gail’s Bakery just around the corner was hard to avoid every morning. Her pastries were unbelievable. The hotel staff were always very friendly and happy to help at any time.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    8.8
    A good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was very small

    Location & reasonable price for central London. We requested our room to be ready for check in at 11:00am as we had to change to go to a wedding. The room was ready for us. For a central London hotel that’s service.Full marks to them

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic location very close to South Kensington...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location very close to South Kensington underground and a few minutes walk to the V and A and the Natural History museum. The hotel is a boutique style hotel in a beautiful building. The room I had on the top floor was very quiet and big enough for me. The bathroom was lovely with a big walk in shower. The bed is a great size and also comfortable. The room and the whole hotel were clean and tidy. I found all the staff polite, friendly and efficient and were happy to accommodate any requests I had.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    8.8
    Staff were really friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were really friendly and accommodating. They tried to give us access to our room early, but as a result the room allocated was a bit dark. When we asked to change they could not have been more helpful and the alternative room was beautiful with huge windows Afternoon tea was a great experience - quite expensive but a lot of fun.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    7.1
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel took an effort to email me after booking with questions about my preferences. I asked for a quiet room but was given an interconnecting room which was noisy. Ended up changing rooms; it didn't meet my expectations.

    Location is great

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    7.5
    close proximity to tube station, great neighborhood, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    close proximity to tube station, great neighborhood, very friendly communication during booking, very comfortable beds, all in all: a very charming hotel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smaller bathroom and bedroom, typical for Central London but not quite as well finished as the photographs would have suggested.

    Good location. Conveniently situated near South Kensington tube station.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    6.3
    great location but a disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no seat in disabled shower so it was dangerous on the very slippery floor the bar had no atmosphere at all and wished we had stayed at bar at Dinner It felt very much like a hotel for business travellers

    did not have any

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    High quality individual hotel close to museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The quality of the service was exemplary. All staff were friendly, helpful and keen to give the best possible experience for visitors. The restaurant was very good quality and not too expensive. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like

    Loved this hotel great location it's right there as you come out of South Kensington tune station good for shopping national history museum science museum and royal Albert hall. Cocktails in bar amazing and although we didn't have one afternoon tea also looked lovely. Staff were super friendly will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    10
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear tHe person in the room above throughout the night walking around the room which was noisy and disturbed sleep. The hotel staff didn’t seem too bothered when I told them

    Rooms were loveky and extras such as complimentary mini bar soft drinks was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and complementary drinks, Coke a cola,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast in with room rate

    Very helpful staff and complementary drinks, Coke a cola, water still and sparking plus juices available in the mini fridge plus a plate of Chocolates and small cakes which was waiting for us in our room when we arrived which was a nice touch and surprise. :)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    10
    Location is superb;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is superb; literally right across the road from South Ken tube which is a straight right from St Pancras on the Picadilly line. Well appointed, good sized rooms (for London). Helpful staff. Wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    10
    Very good location within walking distance of many sites of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good location within walking distance of many sites of interest. Clean, professional and friendly staff going the extra mile to make your stay pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    7.5
    Great location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very cramped - we could hardly walk round the bed. No full length mirror, no shelf to put stuff in the bathroom

    Great location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price, breakfast should’ve been included. Would’ve been really lovely if there was a sauna or at least bath tubs in some rooms.

    Location close to South Kensington station was great, some good bites nearby, bus stations also close, heated bathroom floors and the awesome rain shower head were great. Very comfortable bed and beautiful hotel. If you want afternoon tea, their restaurant has one of the top rated ones.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    9.6
    A perfectly modern, luxurious and well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was too small but the bartender was very knowledgeable and entertaining with his ice tricks. The parking is a block away so don't come with a car!

    The key ingredients to an enjoyable stay is, great location and luxurious rooms and this hotel had both! Perfectly modern (not too much, not too little) with friendly staff were part of their desirable qualities.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    9.6
    Suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Request Suite room

    Location perfect for South Kensington underground. Suite room preferred as more spacious. Staff wonderful. English teas available in cozy lounge area

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.2
    Great bed, exceptionally good shower with giant shower head
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little small and would like at least some kind of alcoholic drinks in the room fridge although free soft drinks was appreciated

    Great bed, exceptionally good shower with giant shower head

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    10
    Perfect location, excellent service & amenities, we could not have been more pleased with Ampersand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was perfect! Darling neighborhood close to pubs, cafes, shops, underground.. a few minutes walk to the Natural History Museum. Ampersand staff and room amenities ( french press coffee maker !) & cleanliness exceeded our expectations! We will definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    10
    Just fabulous weekend at a luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location surrounded by eking distance to lovely restraints, Harrods, royal Albert hall - fabulous room with the most comfortable bed ever! Loved it!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    A home away from home!
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Ampersand is like a home away from home. Cosy and welcoming. The room well decorated and got everything you need. The staff highly service-minded. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Fandabbydosey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The bed was super comfy. The staff were all really friendly, but not too intrustive. Location was absolutely spot on, you are within walking distance of all the beautiful greenery of London and I'd reccommend the Science Afternoon Tea for a nice lunch with a twist! I will return.. when I'm a millionaire.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    5.0
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I was checking out the staff asked me to pay for restaurant drinks bill - I didn't even know they have a restaurant. I had only used the hotel to sleep at night, didn't consume anything in the hotel room, or any restaurant of theirs.

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    9.2
    The reception/door staff we're especially helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little awkward using the tea/coffee making in the cupboard in our room. The buffet breakfast had some of the items with crusts/mess around edges from being brought out repeatedly.

    The hotel was beautiful. Our room was well appointed and bright.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    10
    Will always recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great

    Top location for exploring London. Fantastic staff, very professional and polite. The area is relaxed with great breakfast and cafe options. Always my favorite area to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    9.2
    GREAT COMFORTABLE STAY IN SOUTH KENSINGTON
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - rooms are not that big, and storage spaces are small - we did not test the breakfast (although because the dining room did not inspire us)

    - great location : just in front of South Ken tube station - nice comfortable rooms, with great bathrooms - good service - quiet

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    6.3
    Won’t be returning
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very disappointed with a 5 star hotel which was very expensive : they have a tiny reception and the front desk staff are not trained as 5 star hotel , more like 2 star . They don’t have any disability friendly stair so you have to take your luggage by yourself , no doorman . Overall I stayed at other 5 star hotels around and this hotel just missed the mark , so I won’t be returning here . Lacks originality and friendliness .

    The location was amazing . It was nice

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.2
    *The interior decorations & details
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    *The rooms are small & toilet too * A little overpriced for room size

    *The interior decorations & details *The complementary mini bar *The location is superb *The tearoom in the hotel lobby was so nice

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    9.2
    A great hotel to stay in every time in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small but that was our fault in booking ... and next time we will try to remember to book a larger room!

    Lovely boutique hotel in a great location and we highly recommend staying here on a short break in London. Rooms are lovely, with comfy bed and great bathroom facilities. And we love the basement bar!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    10
    Wonderful location and classy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a wonderful service we received ! Our stay was really enjoyable ,we had a beautiful room and the staff at the front desk were lovely .Clean , handy for public transport and attractions, I would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    9.6
    Everything was great. I would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathtub-though I understand it is because I am a Japanese-is a bit difficult to use as there was only a transparent half door(?) which works as a partition between the bathroom floor and the bathtub. It does not prevent shower water from wetting the floor and once you are out of the bathtub, you cannot reach the soap etc. because of the partition.

    The location was great, I enjoyed even walking from and to the underground station. Very easy to locate and many museums are within a walking distance. The staff were also very friendly, and the room was very clean and comfortable. I did not expect that they would let me check in at 10:00 in the morning but they kindly did. Such a relief after a 13-hour flight from Asia!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    9.6
    Great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    Everything. The room was absolutely most comfortable and cosy. Everything has been well thought to be practical and useful to the guest. Luxury atmosphere. Friendly and welcoming personnel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    10
    Spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff were so amazing. The decor and the cleanliness was superior. The room I stayed in had a good selection of complimentary items in the mini bar. High ceilings. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    9.2
    Peaceful in a beautiful ideally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The awful view from the window, it was of a fire escape and a brick wall. The room was very dark.

    Location to rail network was excellent. The hotel was immaculately clean. The staff were very friendly. The bathroom was beautiful with lots of luxuries and underfloor heating. The room was very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    9.6
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location..50 mts from South Kensington tube...a direct line from Heathrow. Fantastic range of restaurants and coffee shops and a good collection of bars.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    Small, cozy, friendly, not stuffy, and well managed for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The use of the lobby lounge area with a fireplace was too often used as a tearoom restaurant for guests and outsiders, instead of a pleasant setting for hotel guests to relax and read and chat.

    Small, cozy, friendly, not stuffy, and well managed for a high level of professional, yet relaxed, service in a great central London location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    9.6
    I will certainly come back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect during my stay here!

    The hotel facilities and services are amongst the best ones in its cathegory I have ever been in London over more than 20 years travelling to the city for business. The staff is welcoming, service minded and really effective. The location is perfect, close to the museums and Hyde Park, shops, restaurants, and extremely well connected to the rest of the city with public transportation. The wifi works perfectly too!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    8.8
    Good choice!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some noise coming from the street, when trucks or busses were passing which was annoying at 7 o’clock in the morning...

    The hotel staff is great, professionals, very helpful and really friendly. The room and the bathroom were very spacious, fully equipped and clean. The heated floor in the bathroom adds a lot to the overall comfort.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Within walking distance to many of the London Museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Within walking distance to many of the London Museums. Ten minute walk to the Royal Albert Hall. Many very nice restaurants and cafes on the block.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, comfortable and the waters and sodas in the mini fridge were a real plus! Heated floor in the bathroom, bathrobes and slippers, so cozy.

    Steps from the tube and steps from so many great restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.2
    Lovely but expected a little more for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Much more family orientated than expected eg lots of young crying children Could hear noises above us

    Location - superb Staff - friendly helpful brilliant The bed was so comfy Shower was amazing Looked after our bags before and after check in

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.2
    It’s a fantastic hotel, very comfortable, facilities are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a challenge to park if you arrive by car. Apart from that, nothing at all .

    It’s a fantastic hotel, very comfortable, facilities are great and so are the staff. Would highly recommend, we will be back soon.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ampersand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ampersand. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. The location is excellent. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return on our next trip to London.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    7.5
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole stay was magical- staff were extremely helpful and the place was spotless. Would recommend and will stay here again. Great location but rooms were so quiet- a lovely break away while having all the perks of London.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Great hotel clean, comfy, and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great location, lots of restaurants, museums and near to public transport. Really comfortable bed and amenities. the staff were very friendly and helpful. complimentary newspaper.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.6
    Very good location next to South Kensington, Albert Hall,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for a quiet room, higher up, with shower box so the hotel kindly gave us a room on 4th floor, as desired. Be aware that rooms on floor 4 and 5 have lower ceilings. However the room was very small (just 50cm around the bed). We thought to have more space for a superior double as it is advertised as a larger room that offers a double bed... we guess this is London. So be aware. The library and game rooms for busy for events.

    Very good location next to South Kensington, Albert Hall, the museums, nice neighbourhood with lively bars and restaurants... the hotel itself is really nice with luxury settings and amenities. Staff is very kind and give a good service. The afternoon tea is very nice too, don’t forget to book it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Delux bedroom was fine apart from the very small shower room and no heated towel rail

    .Each of the staff we met were great. Very good location. Great café and shops adjacent

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Super nice staff, great position, the hall on the main floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wardrobe in the room was a little bit small. No USB charge ports directly from the wall.

    Super nice staff, great position, the hall on the main floor is really a beauty

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    6.3
    Great customer service. Rubbish at refunding money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tiny room, the fact that my refundable deposit still hasn’t been refunded from over 3 weeks ago. I find it unbelievable how slow this property is in looking after its customers and getting money back to them.

    How close it was to the tourist destinations like the Natural History Museum and the various different cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Luxurious property with thoughtful extras like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t fault it

    Luxurious property with thoughtful extras like the complimentary soft drinks, extremely comfortable bed, modern bathroom and superb staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.9
    good hotel apart from the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very noise, I didn't sleep well, because of the noise from the street and from the tube that is under the hotel

    great location very friendly staff confortable bed good shower clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    I had a very comfortable stay.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy and fast check in. The bed was comfortable and the room's windows have double glass. Very fast service and efficient. Staff are very helpful and smiley. Location is strategic.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    very clean, great location, awesome staff, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For 350 GBP a night I would expect a bathroom where I don't have to step into the shower just to be able to close the door.

    The beds were super comfortable, the floor heating in the bathroom and added bonus and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would definetly stay there again if we wanted to stay in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good until we had to check out, we had to wait over an hour for an ironing board and iron. The power points built in the desk were damaged. At a practical level the room was a tiny bit to small for out luggage.

    The bathroom was very modern and I loved the underfloor heating. The restaurant was lovely, very quirky and different. We couldn't fault that. The overall feel of the hotel stood out from most hotels. Also the location we loved, only a stone's throw from the natural history museum.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    6.3
    Would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the reception was not friendly, toilet had a flush problem when we arrived, also the telephone in the room was not working properly. We slept in a room with a terrible noise during the whole day and night; from what we thought was the ventilation system that was right next to our window. We were surprised that this hotel receives such high reviews, we did not have a good experience at all.

    The beds were comfortable and the hotel room was clean. Good location, close to public transport.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Great home base for our winter stay because it was a cozy and quiet retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a larger fridge/mini bar with a few more free and better quality items to snack on and drink would be nice. For this price I also think a nespresso machine would be nice for coffee, and a plug in the bathroom for the hairdryer. A solid door for the bathroom rather than an opaque glass door would make it more private and help with less light and noise falling into the bedroom when it’s occupied, but that was a design choice that could’ve been better in my opinion as a designer.

    Front desk staff super nice, housekeeping really good and quiet and efficient and rarely seen. Loved the location and the beds were super comfortable. Also loved how accurately we could choose and adjust the temperature of the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, easily accesible.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I generally prefer a proper shower over a bathtub.

    Had to extend my stay for business reason. Hotel responded to all my queries instantly via Email. Staff was very helpful, made sure we could stay in same room. South Ken station just across the street, brings you downtown in no time. Hotel felt pretty modern. I generally prefer a proper shower over a bathtub.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice Hotel, smart, clean & comfortable in very good location close to South Kensington tube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant location, right next to South Kensington tube station, but on a road off so it wasn't noisy. Smart, clean & in general nice Hotel in a good area, I'd happily stay there again. Ate breakfast one day only, what we had was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel. The location is brilliant, it's located right next to South Kensington tube station (about a 30 second walk away) so it's super easy to get around. You have the museums and Harrods within walking distance, and there are loads of lovely local restaurants around that area too. Bus to Soho takes about 20 mins from right outside the hotel. Gorgeous and spacious suite, the bath in the window was incredible and a lovely surprise. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was amazing (especially the shower). Free mini bar too which was nice. Oh and lovely staff! For the quality of the rooms and the location of the hotel, I'd expect to pay a lot more. Can't fault anything. We'll definitely stop again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.8
    Location, service, staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The small room IS VERY SMALL, (and its price is NOT!! )lacks storage space For one person is adequate, « two is a crowd. » But this small room ( announced in the booking!!!) is excellent for a short stay...

    Location, service, staff excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    This was a return visit for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    This was a return visit for us. The hotel is so pretty & the rooms are gorgeous with everything provided you could wish for. The staff are really wonderful (especially as we were upgraded - thank you!!)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. The services at hotel were
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Everything was excellent except the food served at breakfast. It was stale and not enjoyed. With the hotel excellent in every other way, it would be good to improve the breakfast food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money in convenient location. But a few areas for improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Design of bedroom and bathroom looked great but was not so practical. There was no space for a wash bag anywhere near the sink, even though there was lots of space around the sink to have had a counter top. No full length mirror in the room (except inside the wardrobe but the door opened to face a wall 3 ft away so there was almost no room to stand in front of it. The room was big so the mirror was just placed badly. No plug for hair dryer anywhere near the bathroom or wardrobe mirror. The other issue I had was that taxis can't pull up at the front door of the hotel. So I was left in the rain 30 ft from the hotel with lots of luggage and no-one to help me to get it into the hotel. You really need to do something about this. It must be a problem every day. You should be able to use the door on the LHS of the building to enter with luggage, or have a permanent camera watching the road to see when someone needs help. These things are all fixable so I really suggest you make the effort to do so and then you would get a 5 star review.

    Friendly staff, welcoming lobby, lively bar/lounge, cool decor

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room. Small but we knew that. However the shower didn’t work. I would expect that someone would do a regular check on all facilities in the room. Early morning is not a time when you want problems and not exactly a time when you want maintenance men in your room. !!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Second stay in a month at this hotel and love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Second stay in a month at this hotel and love it! Spacious comfortable room and a very nice breakfast. With a great location this will be pure regular hotel for London stays.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    I look forward t my next stay! I could not have chosen a better hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really!

    The hotel is most welcoming! The staff greeted me every time I entered or left the hotel always asking about my stay. The room comes with a bathrobe and slippers, a free mini fridge with juices, water, and milk and that milk is for your tea or coffee as the room also has a small French Press coffee maker and real coffee plus good quality tea bags. There is a small hot water pot! No paper cups but real mugs! The bed was super comfortable! Best of all, there is a smart phone for local and international phone calls! And there is an adapter for all you electrical products! Finally, you won't need an umbrella as there is one in the room waiting for you to use on those rainy days (we had quite a few!).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    Returning visitor to lovely hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the calibre of hotel, the toilet paper was very rough!

    Small double room but quiet and clean. However, it would have been a bit neat for two of us, in my opinion. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Shower room was clean and more than adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were amazing - great welcome and send off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been a bit more spacious.

    Staff were amazing - great welcome and send off. No complaints -great attention to detail with housekeeping, everything you needed at your fingertips. Excellent hotel and will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Fantastic, will stay again for sure when in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Hotel and bedroom was great. Food was excellent and the service was spot on although what made it for us was that the staff were so polite and helpful. Perfectly situated for the South Kensington Tube as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    4.2
    Better service expected from this price category.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double rooms had SINGLE small beds. This did not change upon request, although promised at the front desk. Receptionists gave different answers to Small Luxury Hotel member benefits. One gave the benefits, the next one took them away. Clothing disappeared with change of bedsheets.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Loved the service and it being on a rather quiet street even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No proper lighting in the bathroom for makeup and had to dry my hair in the bathroom rather than in the bathroom which was weird and inconvenient because the electric socket was exclusive for shavers

    Loved the service and it being on a rather quiet street even though it was close to so many things harrods, the Victoria and Albert museum, great restaurants, a three Michelin stars pastry chef across the street...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    Delightful Stay in Kensington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our layout provided a bit of a tricky experience when trying to close the bathroom door from the inside - it was a tight squeeze - but we figured it out. Other than that the only downside was there we didn't have more time here.

    What a delight this entire experience was! From start to finish, every team member was fantastic. We loved the design of the hotel, each area offered a little treat for our eyes - creative light installations, intricate wallpaper, unique wall art - all fun and different. The room was lovely, complete with stylish details, a cozy bed, and pillows that welcomed you to dreamland almost instantly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel but check your bill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Extras" were added to our bill - 3 amounts of service charge and extra breakfasts because we took some bread from the buffet whilst waiting for our cooked breakfast. Breakfast coffee cup was small and top-up was an additional cost. Onion jam (not mentioned on the menu) was under our poached eggs.

    Interesting decor. Good bed and good night's sleep. Great location for museums and West London in general.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and great reception staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom was quite small. Also, when we entered, the room was very cold. It took a while to warm up. The walls are not very thick so if you have noisy neighbours, it can be problematic.

    Excellent location, very close to the South Kennsington subway, close to Harrods, close to good restaurants, monuments and activities. The rooms are clean and the bathroom has a strong shower (great for long hair). The reception staff are very kind and helpful. They provide good advise for restaurants, shopping zones, etc. They can book theatre tickets for you, keep your luggage safe, etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: