Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Anchor Hotel

Church Square, Shepperton, TW17 9JZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Shepperton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 814 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Don't book a cheap room, push the boat out and spend more on a better one! Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know you get what you pay for, and I only paid £46 for my single room, but it was so tiny and run down I was quite horrified. It was too small to really have any furniture in it and the headboard, such as it was, was cheap grubby MDF. The tired, filthy old curtains hung off the rails, all the hooks had broken. The shower was also tiny and the bathroom was small and very tired, with cracked tiles and exposed dusty pipes. The shower head needed de-scaling and the control was broken so you got one temperature! It all just needs TLC and updating. Parking was impossible, their small car park filled up with ten cars in and Church Square was full (as usual) so I had to park about half a mile away up the road in a residential street and clearly that's what everybody else did. It was a cold, wet walk at 10.30pm. I'd rather they started the prices off higher and offered better rooms. I am sure the more expensive rooms are lovely.

    The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. I couldn't have asked for better service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was so comfortable . Staff (under Gareth, who was most welcoming and supportive) were polite, always with a smile and most attentive. I have 'Blue Badge' and had an alloted space for my stay. Room was cosy and bed was comfortable. Breakfast (included) was a great start to the day. Lots of choice. Ours arrived hot and all was quickly devoured! Waiter served us quickly and again was most attentive (Thankyou). Beautiful building with loads of character and lovely dark wood interior. I have not visited before but would not hesitate to return. Thankyou to one and all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    well worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower rail needed a bit of wrangling to hold shower head up but once sorted water was hot .can't blame hotel for spiders but had about 6 friends with us

    booked this hotel on the quick for a family party in the area,turned up and the hotel in a beautiful village church square .Parking for guests behind hotel a bonus,the hotel/bar a typical old village building with beams and wooden panels etc,checked in, if your disabled might be a problem with stairs.room was basic but clean apart from a host of spiders and for the price i paid fantastic value.manager pre arranged a cab to our party and after a good night the night porter gave us extra tea and milk sachets when we asked,good nights sleep in comfy bed .there was breakfast available but we didn't get up in time,asked the manager about the village to which he told us where best to go ,and shepperton lock is very nice. all in all a very good stay and would recommend

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floorboards creaked under the carpet. The car park is very small and hard to manoeuvre in. The building could use a refurbish although it is sound enough and good for the price.

    The shower controls were easy to use and worked perfectly. The TV was nicely positioned for watching from the bed. The area was quiet, even on Saturday night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice but very noisy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped and very noisy. We could not only hear everything our neighbors said but even smell their perfume!! Lots of noise on the street not helped by the fact the blind did not even cover the window.

    Convenient location, friendly staff and good parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Really noisy area and you can literally hear everything that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy area and you can literally hear everything that is happening in the rooms next to you. The hotel room was clean though and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff were great the hotel and location was great but the room being very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room, not ideal for 2 people

    The room (room 2) was extremely small and the ceilings were sloped in line with the roof in the room as well as the bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great location and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairway up to the second floor was bit awkward to climb especially with suitcases. Although assistance was offered.

    The manager was above and beyond what one would expect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dirty especially the rooms, stains on the walls, dirty toilets, carpets not hoovered. Needs a revamp.

    Location is good for the office and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be back. Premier Inn is 5star in comparison to the Anchor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was like a room time had forgotten. It was old and outdated. I booked a single room for 2 nights. The single bed was adequate for a youth, not a 6 foot person. Terrible first night sleep due to a noisy conditioning unit outside my room. I complained about this and was given a different room for my second night. Again this room was old and outdated.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good.

    we arrived around 20.30 what a lovely warm reception we had from the gentlemen behind the desk. Believe me it makes all the difference when you get a warm welcome. Also the lad in the restaurant at breakfast was exactly the same thankyou for a short but lovely stay. L. Martin

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    On the whole we had a good time spoilt only by the noise the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building we expected a few creaks etc however our room(8) was partitioned from the next room by the most flimsiest of walls. Every time some one moved about or turned over in bed was audible to us .Also the secondary glazing was not adequate to prevent us experiencing noise from passing cars,people enjoying an evening pint outside and of course the ubiquitous planes approaching nearby Heathrow! On arrival we found the TV did not have ITV,channel 4 or channel 5.Not a life threatening thing but even though we reported this 3 times nothing was done!Also when we went into the bathroom both taps inthe Wash basin were loose.again on mentioning this nothing was done!However they did clean the shower head which on arrival was filthy(and that is being kind)

    The location was very good.The man who dealt with breakfast was very friendly and attentive. The food at breakfast and in the evening was first class!The bed was comfortable.Shower was always warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Front of house were very friendly and gave out good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff a little haphazard behind the bar. Room was clean but tired. Bathroom needed redecorating.

    Front of house were very friendly and gave out good information. Breakfast also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Fairly pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual room, as above.

    Staff very friendly and food good. Bed was comfortable but room was at the very top and my elderly mother found it quite difficult to climb the stairs. I wasn't very pleased with the room as you had to mind your head on entering the bathroom as roof sloped a lot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    welcoming staff, 10/10 for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the shower which took about 15minutes to warm up!

    The breakfast was really good! Plenty of choice, great value and really good service. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and happy to help! There is free wifi as no reception in hotel. Room was clean and bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Quaint hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have hair conditioner in the bathroom only a shampoo with a conditioner in it which unfortunately does not do the job for my hair. I normally bring my own but forgot to pack it in. Also no tissues in the bathroom. My room was on the street facing side and I could hear people speaking in the street late at night when trying to go to sleep. Perhaps a room off street would have been better. The fire alarm went off randomly during the day and night. Probably some maintenance required.

    My stay was very basic and only needed a room to stay in as opposed to leisure in. The breakfast was lovely and adequate. The staff were great and very helpful. The bathroom towels were nice and big and fluffy. Loved the biscuits left with the coffee and tea facilities in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    hotel was amazing more than I expected staff were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel was amazing more than I expected staff were lovely they served a breakfast buffet that you couldnt of asked for more full English was excellent the sister hotel Warren lodge served an amazing evening meal they also had extremely friendly welcoming staff can't wait to go back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice historic hotel in lovely little town. Decent value for money. Would go back.
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small so no space for bedside tables. Breakfast a bit limited but was included in the price for not a lot of extra money.

    Lovely firm comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice view over the square, pleasant staff. Lovely wooden panelling and carving.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Friendly and historic, budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had wee stains behind seat and seal around bath was mouldy. Mattress was uncomfortable and needs changing. Out of date decor. Walks were thin, could hear the neighbours in the night and morning.

    Staff were friendly and price was fair. Room was stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits and toiletries. Mirrors were well located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and really good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Really good value and had all I needed for a one night stay. Parking was difficult though. But I didn’t arrive till after 8, so perhaps you need to get there early to find a place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Always a great stay in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is always limited as the place is always full but there is some on street parking just around the corner.

    Always a great stay in this hotel. Great staff, always there to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place, excellent food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking, my room was very nice but in an attic conversion with sloping ceilings so had to be a bit careful at 6”1! No air conditioning but fortunately the heatwave had cooled down so not an issue

    Very friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at evening dinner time owing to 80 th birthday party,ordered dinner at 7 pm had to wait until 8 pm for main course,and then desserts came quickly but wife's had cling film in it.Manager informed about problem by his staff and he apologised to us and told us he would deduct meal from our bill which he did.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Food generally very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was like a sauna. unbearably hot. dreaded going to bed each evening

    Food generally very good. Staff really very friendly.beautiful setting, very picuresque

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable hotel full of character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say, friendly staff, good location for our purposes and a comfortable room.

    This is a very old building, so expect a winding staircase or two and a few creaky floor boards but this just adds to the character of the building. Room was an attic room but clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    the staff very friendly and welcoming and even googled an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to be careful on the stairs where they spiralled round

    the staff very friendly and welcoming and even googled an address for me so I could find it easier in the morning and printed the map for me The breakfast was a full hearty and well cooked and set me up for the day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good and thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small attic room that had very small window ventilation, hence a very warm room, but in the hotels defence there were a plethora of fans in the wardrobe for ventilation and the recent high temperatures were exceptional.

    The very friendly service especially Gareth who was very helpful and informative. The character of the hotel along with its history.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the bedroom. Having said that the temperatures outside were very hot.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful. Thank you Gareth for your help with planning our trip to Hampton Court.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate accommodation, no more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed some TLC, renewal of shower head, taps, window blinds, and a general freshening up.

    Breakfast fine, quiet location, easy access to nearby town; restaurants, bars, supermarket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Dinner was good. Room a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An empty restaurant isn’t the most inviting, despite the food being good. Also, the music’s all wrong for a ‘white linen tablecloth and candles’ style restaurant. Our bedroom was stifling hot and stuffy....we were staying during a heatwave so didn’t expect it to be 100% comfortable temperature-wise...but one little table-top fan wasn’t doing the trick, and only a part of the window opened. Maybe a blind, as well as the bit of curtain at the window, would have helped. Bathroom could do with a major refurbishment. The shower was pathetic and the cold tap at the basin dropped constantly.

    Lovely old characterful property. Free parking is always a bonus. Good food, reasonably priced, we ate in the restaurant on both nights and our waitress was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Amazjng
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was super comfy. Staff were really pleasent so easy to get to twickenham via train. Breakfast was amazing. Would definatly stay again no question about it. Near a beautiful lake also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The people were so friendly, helpful and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little stuffy as there was no real window but we had a fan provided which was grand thank you

    The people were so friendly, helpful and warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Unfortunately would not stay again which is a shame because the setting was very pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny had to climb into bed via bottom they were like a sweat box shower was to small for my husband to get in I just managed and I am not large - there was a party on till 2am so did not get much sleep/ The cooked breakfast was not of a suitable standard with the eggs being solid and the bacon so hard it could not be cut with a knife

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Utterly delightful - will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is nothing they can do anything about, but the stairs up to the rooms are twisty and difficult to negogiate and I wouldn't recommend to someone with mobility problems.

    The food was delicious - both breakfast - which had both fried bread and black pudding! - and a wonderful 3-course early bird speciial, terrific value and top quality cooking. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and when no one could get the TV in our room to work they gave us another room and moved our things for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance lacking, broken ventilator (although quickly replaced by partly broken ventilator), loose shower rail, desk drawers continuously rolling out as soon as chair was removed (desk was not horizontal)

    Atmosphere, old historic building, almost rural situated, cooking, staff, tea or coffee option in room. Basically more cozy in comparison with clinical "modern" hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room, no air con in room, shower needs replacing, not a lot of parking, downstairs is quaint, upstairs needs a refurb as it’s looking a bit tired

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed with our overnight stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom small and needed updating. Shower closet small and doors awkward to shut. Bathroom needed a thorough clean. Bed could have been moved away from the window a bit to allow more room to get around bed in confined space. Carpets on stairs needed cleaning. BREAKFAST WAS AWFUL! SMOKED HADDOCK HAD GONE BAD. My husband spat his out immediately. Mine was also inedible. 3 out of the 4 soft poached eggs were served broken with yolk running on plate. Presentation of breakfast plate poor. Not a hotel we would recommend or would ever return to.

    Latvian waiter at breakfast was helpful as was young lad behind the bar. Check in at reception was friendly and chatty. Bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel manager was very friendly and chatted to us about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit noisy as the walls were paper thin. The bloke in the next room snored as if he were in bed with me. Shame really as the staff , particularly the manager are great. Meals good too

    The hotel manager was very friendly and chatted to us about the Thames Path walk which we were doing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Good food but badly let down by the bedrooms that are in dire need of a makeover.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room v small and very very dated. Faced road so was noisy, faded dirty carpet, v basic dated & dirty shower, sink cracked, bedside lamp didn't work, doors rattled, loo flashed badly, floor creaked, not enough hangers, TV minute, kettle smelt of burnt plastic....

    Breakfast was better than most and started early at 6:30. There was fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and a full English option. Staff were very attentive. Evening food was very good and inexpensive. Downstairs rooms reeked of history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Great stay near the Thames in a lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another lovely place for a stopover while we walk the thamespath. Lovely setting, good food and friendly staff. Comfy room with all comforts. and clean bathroom. 8 out of ten for a one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was peaceful and staff was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was slightly dirty but it worked fabulous! Pub across the road had the music blaring so my friend did not sleep well but that could not be helped as it was Friday after all! The staff was very helpful as we was going into London the day after and recommended what station was best! Very happy with the service I recieved!

    The room was small but comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable I had a very good night sleep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Only booked for one night but will definitely consider this accommodation again next time we are in the area. Bed very comfortable and room very clean. We intend to try the food next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heat was available even though it was quite cold at night in May. Getting the bags up and down the flight of narrow stairs is a challenge.

    Staff was friendly. Breakfast was sumptuous. Location is good, though a car is needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was tiny! I ordered eggs on toast and was brought out bacon on my eggs (I'm vegetarian), the food came out way too quickly to have had fresh eggs cooked so I can only assume they just took the bacon off. Shower head really needed replacing, it was a bit gross. Didn't feel I got my moneys worth.

    Staff were nice and tried to find a larger room for me, but it would have only been for the last night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower toilet not clean bedroom basic and tatty kitchen extractor wakes you in the morning and stays on Not really the church Square with good views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good but would go out for breakfast if we stayed there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really expensive. We came down at 8:50am, very close to the 9:00am closing and a very friendly staff member brought out cereal and fruit for us as he had already started the clean up. He assured us we could request a full cooked breakfast but we didn't want to create any further bother for them so settled for cereal fruit and toast. The charge for this was almost 9 pounds per person! This may be the most expensive breakfast of our whole trip!

    Friendly staff, received some good advice and had a great chat about the Thames Path. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Not for everyone but has its own charm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was too small. Rooms on the top floor can get very warm in hot weather.

    Old-style British pub. Quirky and a bit cramped but has a certain charm - if that’s what you’re looking for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location and great satff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the staff , bathroom was a little cramped. Also found some of the business men and visitors to be rude and arrogant towards the staff. A thank you and some courteous form them would not have gone amiss. However the staff were friendly and excellent.

    The atmosphere and friendliness of the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel nice area to be in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was not the best as the preassure was not very good.

    Everything was just as expected really nice stay there even just for one night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is the rooms can be a little dated. But, the price is good and for me the positives outweigh this negative.

    Having stayed here before I new what to expect. Perfect location for me. Good breakfast and great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    It was convenient.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains hanging from insufficient hooks, no bedside light so only a bright centre light which meant getting out of bed to turn light off, heard man in next room snoring. Felt like student digs. Used to be a nice hotel but badly needs a bit of thought and upgrading.

    Bed comfy enough and everything clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Parking was ridiculous total free for all it was more the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was ridiculous total free for all it was more the residents that were staying there weren’t considerate to others and were parking in two spaces

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Good Old England
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A typical Good Old England place. Staff is warm and friendly, meals are above average, there are different kinds of beer and drinks to choose. Walks near the river Thames are pleasant and soothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    There were some stains in the bedroom on the furniture and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some stains in the bedroom on the furniture and someone had spilt something which hadn’t been cleaned up so it had gone mouldy. The bed was a little hard and there wasn’t enough air!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous, already re-booked for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Sunday morning the water was only Luke warm so not the best shower I have ever had.

    Breakfast was excellent, the room, although a little small, was perfectly adequate and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I love the fact that we were also able to use the facilities at the Warren hotel over the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and really nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff didn't really seem to know what he was doing. Mixed up our breakfast orders and couldn't get a drink as he didn't know how to work the till correctly.

    Great location and really nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable convenient and would definitely come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection wasn’t very strong Evening meal was slightly disappointing but everything else was amazing

    Lovely warm room Staff were excellent so welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    An experience best to forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 was cheap and nasty.No light or Harrington the toilet .Main radiator control broken .Table lamp broken.The room was freezing with very cold draught s coming from Windows.Went to bed with my fleece on.Worst room I have ever had anywhere in the world.Did not get warm until driving home .Worst night I have had away .

    Did not eat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable, and the room was very cold - the radiator was not working and there was no heater in the room or blanket to throw over a rather thin duvet.

    Good location, and facilities were ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Old school hotel if you want to relive the 1940s
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room had no room in it at all and needs a good steam clear in the shower. You can hear everything next door is doing😉

    The building is an historic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely attentive staff, pleasant atmosphere and excellent breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked a little tierd and the bedroom self closing doors could do with some rubber or similar to soften the closing impact

    The age of the ground floor and the friendly nests of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    The manager was very chatty and made us feel very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was to much noise coming from out the front in the evening as there were 2 other pubs opposite.

    The manager was very chatty and made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    we had a very enjoyable stay and will definatley return
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better lights in the room but for the price every thing else all good

    the staff very helpful,we felt very comfortable just relaxing and chilling, we loved the Old world charm of the place, the food was very good and top marks to general manager Garrett who is a star we would go back to this Hotel even if it was to just to see him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely bar, staff and breakfast, but the rest was a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are on a road trip and due to overall costs are staying in 'reasonable' priced hotels/B&B's. This hotel was the most expensive but the worst so far. My very small single room had a tiny window and small shower. It was clean but tatty. The decor in the bedrooms/corridors etc is in desperate need of updating/renewing. My Dad who is 88 struggled to get up the stairs which were narrow and tricky. He had the slightly better single room (larger window) but it was up 2 flights of stairs. The hotel was in a lovely small hamlet but you couldn't sit or walk near the river.

    The staff, especially the lovely young man who served our breakfast, were lovely. The lounge/bar area was very nice and we had a really good breakfast, but it cost £10 extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Real good, will be going back one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great team of staff, excellent breakfast, very good value for money. i think people need to remember that this is a very old building dating back many years, so yes it can seem a little run down here and there, but it can't be easy to keep it really modern given the constrictions of the building, wiring and pipe work. If you look beyond this, then you'll see a charming old piece of England.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was needing some up grade as very tired no room for bed side table so only light was turned off/ on by getting out of bed. Quite noisy could here what was going on, but did not take long to fall asleep. Tight for parking

    Easy booking in at hotel thay found me straight away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.5
    The rooms do some TLC, the staff were excellent, the breakfast was very good. I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two rooms that I saw were a little tired and needed some updating.

    Breakfast was very good and plenty on offer. All the staff were excellent and were attentive. I had a problem with my room but once reported this was sorted very promptly by Gareth the Duty Manager.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Great staff, the room not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had definitely needed an upgrade to the decor, the bathroom in particular. The bed was too hard for me.

    The staff were very friendly, and the meals (breakfast and lunch) were excellent with very good food and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    I liked everything except for the shaving light in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Shavers light in the bathroom wasn't working, and wasn't attended to even after informing the management.

    I liked everything except for the shaving light in the bathroom that wasn't working

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Needed a place to rest our head for the night, the room was perfect for that, otherwise disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small, shower was unacceptable

    The building was beautiful, all the dark woodwork in the lobby and restaurant was excellent. The surrounding areas with the river was beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly service, comfortable rooms and tasty food make you wonder what alternatives are good for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You cannot pick the neighbors. If a family decides to start the day by 6 am by some shouting and singing games with the toddler, you're out of luck if your own schedule would allow for sleeping till 7 (or other guests never learned to keep their voices down in the middle of the night). If motorcycle-morons decide to use church square as a top gear test ground, relax - there will be car-morons with 4 x 4 kW of music power, earth-shattering the ground while dropping guests or picking up girls with five-inch thick makeup (no, not *that* kind, just the usual kids). Not that this goes on all night - Church Square usually seems to be a quiet place, but the walls between rooms in Anchor hotel are NOT made from concrete. If your neighbors want to ruin your night, they can.

    A quiet, spacy, clean and overall comfy room, extra friendly service (you come down the stairs in the morning, still wondering if getting out of bed really was such a good idea - and a beaming-with-joy Gunārs (I apologize if I remember your name incorrectly!) welcomes you for breakfast, making it impossible to start into a bad day, no matter the weather!) - and one of the most hospitable bar I experienced for quite some time (letting you TRY the beer before you order it - now, German bars, how's that for CUSTOMER service!) Yes, the beds are English, as a continental guy I will always have something to nitpick about English beds, but I *did* sleep well enough and *did* get out of bed without pain in the back. Good enough for me :-) What I liked, too: No overheating. Most English places I stay at get heated to a point where you can just rip off your cloth and skin and try to breathe through your bones. Here the rooms are high enough to allow air to go up and an open window to let oxygen in. I *love* a good climate at night - this alone would make me come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    one of my favourite places to stay for work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a lot of the staff seemed new and not as welcoming or friendly, missed the big irish chap who made you feel very welcome

    one of my favourite places to stay for work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    We've stayed here many times and always find it good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather - I blame Gareth ..

    We've stayed here many times and always find it good value and very friendly - Nice rooms always clean and Bar downstairs - Good food Nothing not to like!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    First and last time staying in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. I paid £12 for meal ( pulled pork burger and chunky fries ).I had half a chip and approximately 2 bites from the burger before leaving nearly a full plate. I’ve stayed in 100’s of hotels and this was by far the worst meal I’ve ever had. The price of the room was atrocious for the size. The shower was minging with limescale all over the shower head. All in all, one of the worst hotel experiences I’ve ever had.

    Checking out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    I have payed two times for the same booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have payed two times for the same booking. One automatically on my credit card and the second in the desk of the hotel because the receptionist didn't see that was already payed. i am still waiting for my refund.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: