Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Angel at Bourne 3 stars

Market Place, North Street, Bourne, PE10 9AE, United Kingdom

#8 of 8 hotels in Bourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Angel at Bourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame that breakfast finishes at 9, considering the hotel doubles as a high street cafe. Our room was an executive room, it was large and comfortable but colour scheme drab and brown. Apart from those, a lovely hotel in a pleasant town...definitely recommended.

    Cosy bed, plenty of space, nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall, friendly, tidy, clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - On arrival, it wasn't obvious where to park, so we ended up in a free car park behind the post-office (a couple of minutes walk). - No shower facilities in the room, just a bath (which although had a shower head fitted to the taps, it was obvious to be used for hair-washing only). - Not that it concerned me, but wheelchair access wasn't that obvious, and unless there were rooms on the ground floor (which I didn't see), the tricky stairs could be an issue for those less mobile (something to consider if your party includes such individuals).

    - Staff always comes first on my watch list, as this can make or break a stay. The staff here are extremely friendly and welcoming. - First impressions was that of a classic old style hotel, and the rooms match that, with a high ceiling and well decorated. Very clean! The room was spotless. - The bed itself was very, VERY soft which, although for one evening was fine, I could have imagined a few nights would have resulted in a stiff back for me. - It's bang in the centre of Bourne., Shopping is not fantastic (being a small town), but a surprisingly good and thriving night-life! - The breakfast area was well partitioned, with plenty of room. A reasonable choice of breakfasts available (I chose the full-english) and the amount was sufficient and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.2
    I would not stay there again if it was half the price. Basically a B&B not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a run-down dump which was probably once a very nice coaching Inn. No bar, no food after 4.00pm No table in room Impossible to turn down radiators Bathroom basic with shower adapter in bath, no shelf to put toiletries etc on. Loo lid wouldn't stay up on its own

    Good breakfast and friendly service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for our purpose but wouldn't stay for longer period of time.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at all times!! Noisy water running and pipes banging all night. Thought there was a tsunami coming up the hall outside room. Didn't get any sleep.

    Convenient for visiting relatives closeby

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Room very good but breakfast varied one day ok the next almost inedibl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available. No one in attendance in reception pm Sat or Sunday had to let ourselves Into. the building felt that we had no one to relate to in an emergency.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location , comfortable stay , staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, would suggest turn music down at breakfast as Suzi Quattro first thing a bit much and could see other older guests didn’t like

    It was a comfortable room, staff nice and enabled me to check in early as I was attending a wedding so I had chance to get ready Room was a bit cold but heater was supplied

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little mixup when we first arrived

    The profesional and friendly way the mixup was dealt with. The staff were excellent and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best I've have had in a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    I was glad to return to this conveniently located haven.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the original fitness for purpose of this old coaching house, I think the present management have installed adequate comforts to satisfy the needs of contemporary guests who seek a central location. I particularly liked the very comfortable bed in a large room with adjacent en suite. The staff were welcoming and politely attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean basic hotel In the middle of Bourne with great access to other eateries
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more exciting inspiring and loved breakfast experience & a warmer welcome would have been nicer The most horrendous smell of drains from the bedroom side of the hotel too.

    It ticked all the boxes but didn't excel in an areas an average experience with nothing wrong but didn't win any awards for charisma either!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Ideal as a base for days out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv wasn’t working correctly due to aerial issues. Pipes knocking in the middle of night. Ok if you’re a heavy sleeper !

    Comfortable bed Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Location was good for finding somewhere to eat as it was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make it clearer as to where to park,was not easy to find, plus did not realise that we could not eat there.

    Location was good for finding somewhere to eat as it was in the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.0
    Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a horrible smell on the landing which they tried to muffle with a strong air freshener. Our Room was a little cold and the water temperature of the shower was warm enough but not hot Only a net curtain in the bathroom was a little off putting.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Disapponted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really dirty bathroom, like really dirty! Hadn't been cleaned properly and not just one nights worth of grime. Very disappointed as at first glance room seemed very nice.

    Bed was clean and comfy and breakfast very good quality. Upon complaining to manager about bathroom, they were very apologetic and gave a partial refund which was very fair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    very clean very welcoming but let down by the above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little things mean the difference between good and excellent, plastic toilet seat that was not screwed down properly tolet cistern lever not working properly and the biggest negative is the parking,although you can park for free it is a council car park plus a walled car park neither secure in the evening and the walled car park is just rough ground with many potholes and pitch black with no lighting

    very clean good breakfast good staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel it’s a B&B, standard of room was poor for £95.

    Convenient location, breakfast quality was good. Staff where polite but not overly welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.5
    Old coaching inn in town centre . No onsite parking. Check-in and breakfast in cafe onsite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to access the wi-fi at all during my visit this has stopped me booking this again. Tired decor

    City centre location, great cooked breakfast, free parking 2 minutes from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Rather stay in a tent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the Breakfast was a let down no pastries no fruit salad, we had to ask for more coffee and toast. This took for ever to arrive. Staff were pleasant but inattentive. The room was tired, a nice touch at £95.00 a night would have been a biscuit. Sadly there were no nice little touches that make you feel valued. Never again once bitten twice shy.

    The pub across the road had a good pint at a good price. The shower was hot and powerful. The full English part of breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    The friendly Angel
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived for breakfast at 7, didn’t get it until 7.45. Was a lovely breakfast but we had to rush because of an appointment at 8am.

    Extremely thankful to have a fan in the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.5
    Total dispointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on shower curtain, dirty every where poor service, there was a label in milk jug dirty crockery low budget breakfast which wasn't eaten.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    A very enjoyable stay. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasnt really good it was loose on the wall and it took a while for it to get warm. With no presure. Could do to be replaced with an electric. Modern shower

    The Breakfast was very good. It was served hot and plenty of it. The bed was really comfortable. And the staff were very good. The room was very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    OK, much better than camping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom and upstairs of the hotel really needs an upgrade, tired dark, cheap décor. Bathroom a bit grubby looking, not much even a good clean could do, it is in need of a revamp. For £95 per night I think it all should look a bit better. Also in the morning there was a loud noise, perhaps weird plumbing, but super loud every few minutes. Other reviews mentioned a smell in the hall way and they were right! It is the countryside so muck spreading perhaps?

    All staff were lovely, really friendly & helpful, the young staff on breakfast duty especially good. The cooked breakfast was good, not much other stuff on offer, but nice coffee, so really happy with that part of our stay. . But for us it was a last minute booking, the bed was comfortable, breakfast good, staff great, so not bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security catches on the windows would have enabled us to have the windows open at night and to feel secure.

    The hotel was comfortable, clean, in a good location and the staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Back after 10yrs and will continue to keep coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never enough tea/coffee/milk/sugar in your room and nowhere to get extras from.

    We got married here 10yrs ago and so coming back just brought back all the memories of a happy day, in a beautiful place x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant one night stay for a friend's wedding, booked last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the centre of Bourne so is near bars making it noisy at night. The breakfast was a bit stingy too, just one rasher of bacon and one sausage, although it was quite nice.

    Pleasant staff and reasonably clean and confortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is pretty good.

    Everything was very well organised. We arrived by bike - there was somewhere secure to store the bikes. Breakfast is in the coffee shop and very good. You can have really nice coffee with your breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Hot water a real issue, not suitable for the infirm, lovely building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with hot water in two rooms. In one room there was virtually no water for a shower, in the other lukewarm. The 3rd room did have hot water. The staff wee mildly aggressive when we mentioned the total lack of water for a shower in one room, blaming the guest for not using the taps properly and saying he was the first person to complain. I find that difficult to believe, two rooms out of 3 having water problems. In the deluxe room we booked, although the room was bigger the bed was no bigger than that in the standard room. Stairs to the bedrooms are steep and twist, very difficult to negotiate luggage. Also parking is a problem, especially during the day. The deluxe room st the front faced the High Street which has traffic noise. The double glazing stops the noise but makes the room very stuffy in the summer.

    Very nice building our deluxe room was spacious Good breakfast. We were allowed to check in early, however Booking.com had two of the names back to front so initially only one room appeared to be booked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and obviously had had leaks. Bar was not open at 9pm so we could not sit with friends and have a drink.

    Good choice of breakfast, well cooked and good produce. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould in the bathroom. There was mould in the corridors. The mattress was uncomfortable. There was a smell of stale toilets in the corridor.

    It wasn't too noisy. It was in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Was working locally but did not know how many nights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water a bit slow but not an issue.

    Was working locally but did not know how many nights. Each night they were flexible and gave me the same room and welcome. The hotel location is in town with pubs and restaurants but quiet. The room was comfortable, people friendly and food lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Easy to get to and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were well laid out, it can be difficult to find a nice family room but this was lovely. The breakfast the next morning was also brilliant. The staff were smiley and more than willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing. Badly needs an upgrade, over-priced. Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too expensive. It's a B&B, not a hotel and it's falling apart. When someone flushes the toilet there's a huge noise everyone can hear, the bannisters nearly fell off on the stairs when I held on to them and floor is creaky outside the room. If was cheaper I wouldn't mind but it's expensive. Probably because they are the only place in town. Disappointing.

    Breakfast was nice Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable experience and we shall return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, light and airy front bedroom. Large well heated bathroom with copious supplies of hot water. Comfortable bed. Extra supplementary heating available. Excellent full English breakfast and very hospitable staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Quite happy overall, a bit pricey but it is right in the centre of the town so that's a bonus.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was very difficult to get at right temperature and when I finally managed it I think someone else started using water in another room because it went very slow, so I gave up and had a bath - the plug didn't have a chain so difficult to remove afterwards.

    Bed and pillows comfortable, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Not woth writing about all said above. Bad Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, Food ........

    Room freezing, Did not know you could not get an evening meal BUT considering the poor breakfast maybe a good idea. Staff very nice. I stay in many hotels but this is one of the worst definitely not worth £75.00 more like a £35.00 B & B. Would NOT recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Good. The bed was comfy and the room adequate for our needs.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit small and there were many steps to get to our room

    It was central to where we needed to be. It was in the town centre. It was nice and warm with little traffic noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Value for Money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay longer because I had to go home :)

    The staff were really friendly, the room was massive with everything in that I needed for my stay. The room was clean and the bed was soooo comfy. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water when we arrived, the lovely lady from reception explained it's an old building so it takes a little while, 2 hours later and one reset of the boiler we still had no hot water. This seemed to be a building wide issue as we were offered another room which also has no hot water. I know these things can't be helped but still expected to pay £85 for one night with no hot water is shocking. Also, we were going out that night so I had to brave a cold shower, the side of the shower head was cracked which I cut my thumb on. Overall not impressed and won't be staying again.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable , comfy and great location in town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No actual bar, just a corner of the dining room which was closed on return at 9-45 pm but several pubs nearby so not a problem . Some noise from youngsters along passageway but we were warned this could be a minor irritation late evening and that was all it was.

    Comfy beds ,good shower ,fluffy towels and a great English Breakfast for the onward journey. Staff cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing for the whole building seemed to go through our bathroom. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every sound and full conversations from neighbouring guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money. Room was large, clean and Good Value. Would use again without hesitating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure for the shower was poor.

    Great location in the centre of Bourne. Staff excellent and rooms comfortable. Breakfast was good value and just the right amount.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable room with satisfactory breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roomsl was small and a little outdated The doors were heavy and banged Breakfast was ok. Mixture of self service and table service Restaurant was open to the public Staff could have been a bit more attentive.

    The staff on arrival were cheery The location suited us Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Poor, I booked this hotel for my sister and I am very disappointed, the staff have offered a better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and cold. Luckily there was a panel heater which warmed the bathroom in the morning. The bed was extremely uncomfortable.

    The staff were great and the room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Will return when in area again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not powerfull but this is just a petty thing

    The welcome was first class and a great breafast. The lady that booked us in asked what we were here for and we explaned that it was an annaversery. She made time at breakfast to ask how our party went and if we had a good nights stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff good value for money, in excellent location on the high street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy in the early hrs from people leaving pubs etc

    Lovely staff, especially Anthony who guided me and my 4x4 through the tiny cobbled alley way 🙈🙈 he was generally very hospitable. Great breakfast and comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    the staff couldn't have been more helpful, giving us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff couldn't have been more helpful, giving us advice on where best to park, some suggestions on potential eating venues (we weren't local). The room was clean, the beds were clean and super comfortable and the breakfast was spot on ! all in all a great stay and thoroughly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    I am biased as I used to frequent the Angel in my teens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am biased as I used to frequent the Angel in my teens and early twenties but it has been nicely refurbished and updated and for a small town hotel it is pretty good and a credit to the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Good break nice and clean.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking at the hotel and no information on booking.com as to where to park. It is hit and miss waiting for a space.

    The hotel was ideally situated for our needs. Breakfast was more than adequate. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Very comfortable double bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable double bed.sheets and towels immaculate. Breakfast exceedingly good and plentiful. Maxine was most helpful and adorable. She worked extremely hard for our group of 70 at the Coach House opp. The Hotel, and within it. Many thanks Maxine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    The Angel is a welcome haven in the centre of Bourne, with good standard facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Telephone contact on arrival was in two stages, from details displayed at the entrance via an initial call announcing a second number, in a form not easily memorized for the second call. I prefer the rhythmic pattern of five digits *****, followed by the remaining six in two halves *** ***. My limited knowledge of mobile phone technique wonders if there might be a way of "texting" in the required number.

    Notice of late afternoon arrival, during Sunday hours of closure, was announced via a couple of phone calls, followed by a prompt response by the off site proprietor to open up, register, explain facilities and hand over keys. This was a polite and efficient arrangement to gain unlimited access for the rest of the day. The Angel, I believe a onetime coaching inn, has been well developed to contemporary standards and is a comfortable haven within the very center of the town. Freshly cooked breakfast ( not my usual habit ) was a tasty welcome to start the day, with easy accommodation to my departure plans.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    good base to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    plug socket for kettle was too far away from cupboard so had to put kettle on floor when plugged in!

    very central location but not at all noisy. car parking is not a problem, there is a free car park just behind property. staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in room for drinks, but plenty of tea and coffee! So we couldn't have a drink,shower cubicle nearly overflowed.

    Bed comfy, nice full English breakfast, nice high ceilings in bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Night away with my sister which was comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower unit needed fixing so you can stand under it. Need an updated website that explains where parking is. Friendly postie helped me out!

    Comfy bed. Space in room. Friendly staff. Not noisy even with window open. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant hotel for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly better sign posting for the car park would be helpful.

    This is a pleasant town centre hotel with moderate bar and lite bite facilities. All the staff were friendly and helpful, this hotel is an ideal place to stay for perhaps one night so long as you have no great aspirations for luxury.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Simple hotel in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the parking location is a crime; the hotel should send a description up front. Breakfast is only an English Breakfast, but when you ask for more you will get this. Staff at breakfast are young and have not a lot experience. Hotel is in a historic building and therefor needs more attention for maintenance. Toilet and hot water should have an instruction manual of how to operate.

    Location in the center was great. Quality of the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Location fine breakfast good parking okay staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, the room a bit noisy but it is an old place so should be expected.You couldn't stay more than a couple of nights.

    Location fine breakfast good parking okay staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, clean & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms are accessed via steep stairs - unsuitable for anyone elderly and young children would definitely need to be supervised on them. Unfortunately, there are no public rooms available after 10pm on a Saturday night - you can't sit in the bar or 'lounge' area because they are locked up & no staff on site. Very disappointing and odd for a hotel on a Saturday night - apparently this is the same each night. All you can do is go to your room which makes this less of a hotel....

    Staff friendly, excellent location, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    A very historic building right in the heart of Bourne but shown little evidance of its, and past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested and paid for an upgrade. In reality it was still a basic. But was clean. Finding the car park was quite a challenge.

    Restaurant/café area was very pleasant. Good breakfast to set you on your way. All staff very pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower didn't work, I discovered it when I woke in the morning. Everything else worked fine. The staff were very apologetic when reported.

    The hotel was very quirky in a excellent location. It is quaint with only a small number of rooms. I didn't have breakfast but the restaurant looked clean and tidy and the staff were all helpful and friendly. Free parking!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.3
    Over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Angel is really a B&B which wasn't a problem as it was reflected in the price. However it meant no evening facilities so you have to go out for the evening meal

    Room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Nice cooked breakfast. Suited our needs so would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    4.2
    Poor mattress, no hot shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very lumpy & hard I could feel the springs. No hot water in the shower, when I told a member of staff I was told it was my fault for not letting the shower run for long enough as the building is very old, so all that time spent at charm school was clearly a waste.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from an adjoining room, sounded like the staffs children. Part of the floor in the room was extremely uneven. repairs in the bathroom had been fixed but not painted over, just looked scruffy.

    friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    4.2
    a bit of a let down ☹
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plug sockets not located in relevant areas eg by mirror no shelves in bathroom to put toiletries and scruffy bath mat. Also paid for double executive room which I queried after seeing room and was told that it was correct but when I checked out it said classic double on my bill!!!

    Nice bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    comfortable convenient and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sorry to see the excellent dining room gone with the change of ownership, but good eating establishments close by to compensate

    excellent range of cereals for breakfast, prompt friendly service, town centre location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Loved my stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less beans and would be good to add second rasher of bacon on breakfast.

    The bed was so comfortable and the young ladies who served me breakfast were super! Big thumbs up!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    good stay in accommodation where we wanted to be, but would think again where in future no bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper bar facilities. We stayed at the Angel a few years ago and assumed would be the same.

    Location is just where we needed to be comfortable stay all professional staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find room, and loads of doors to find the room, with no clear signage

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Work being undertaken at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work being undertaken at hotel. Hammering at 7.00am woke us up. Painting in dining room whilst serving food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    No parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    excellent, will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Made to feel very welcome. Lovely staff and a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean,welcoming and location convenient for our purpose of visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot weather, fan supply was impressive. Breakfast very good. Convenient location for our purpos

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    The room was exceptionally comfy, although a little hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was exceptionally comfy, although a little hot. Thank goodness for the fan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Our sta ay The angel Bourne
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was clean and the staff are so happy and friendly and so very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff nice clean room central to some lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff nice clean room central to some lovely places very nice breakfast well worth a visit !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    good sized rooms, clean and tidy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was above the main road so was noisy in the morning

    good sized rooms, clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    B and B not proper hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find vacant parking space. More like B and B than hotel facilities. Lots of stairs and corridors. No bar.

    Handy for town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: