Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Leicestershire hotel reviews
  4. Market Harborough hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Angel Hotel

Reviews of Angel Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

High Street, Market Harborough, LE16 7AF, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Market Harborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    5.8
    Adequate for a night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rubbish from the previous guests had been left in room by the door and not taken away. There were no teabags. The most important point was that we specifically asked for three rooms together and we were all on different floors and different sized rooms and the price was the same for each room. A little disappointing

    The hotel is in a good location in the centre of town with parking at the rear. The room was very quiet

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Stay was enjoyable in the Coach House, and recomend for a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can’t turn the lights off from the bed as the switch was by the main door.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room 11 has a massive bath and the beds are great. There was no noise from the road and the room was a great size.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.8
    disapointed with the hotel will return to market harborough but unforunately not to the angel hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    receptionist not overly friendly evening meal sounded better than it actully was waited almost one hour for meal after order was taken requested mint sauce with the lamb this was brought to table in a jar towards the end of meal seemed the ladies group were catered for first before guests

    breafast good serving staff very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay at the hotel - good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key kept sticking in the lock and had to tussel with it - I only stayed one night but on leaving I had to tell the staff that I couldn't get the key out of the lock to hand it in. I assume they will have sorted this out.

    The bed was comfortable - the choice of breakfast was good and the meal itself first rate.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.5
    Small but comfortable room. Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small. Had everything I needed but didn't expect it to struggle to get into the room with my luggage.

    Had everything I needed. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stay every month, that staff have always got time for you, a real personal touch as well a guests it is also use by a lot of local people which gives it a great atmosphere. Really well done

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.2
    I will stay again if I need to stay over and ask for the same room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind

    The bed was very comfortable; I feel the cold and huge bonus to have an extra heater in the room. Two lovely big chairs and a decent size TV was also welcome.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    8.3
    Room was tidy and clean, but all a bit dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at breakfast was awful. It took them 25 minutes to ask what we wanted to drink. Food was not great either.

    Room was tidy and clean, but all a bit dated. The night porter was also very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    5.4
    Renovations and improvements needed to make it good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mould on the ceiling in bathroom and the plug was hanging off. The decor was also very dated. The bedding was comfortable and clean

    Location and check in girl was friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    Location and evening meal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My initial room had an inside window jammed open and no heating. It was very cold and drafty.

    Location and evening meal. Prompt room swap when requested, but by the hotels admission to a room that looks like the cieling is falling in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.5
    Clean, comfortable, close to my family and easy to walk to the shops. I would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in my room didn’t appear to work. It was cold at night and 1st thing the morning. I mentioned it to the staff but it didn’t seem to work during my 2 day stay.

    The location was very central and great having a car park. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk, in the rain, from the stable cottage to the main hotel for breakfast, BUT you can't have everything !

    We had a room in the converted stables, No 38 nearest the car park, only feet away from the car and on the ground floor. Which, for an elderly couple is absolutely excellent. The room was spacious with a couple of easy chairs. Altogether magnificent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.9
    Everything else from my stay was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could over hear another shower in neighbouring room. Was far from loud but was noticeable when I was going to sleep

    Everything else from my stay was great

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.3
    The location is good and there's a reasonable car park...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Squeaky floors and a radiator that wouldn't go off so the room was blisteringly hot.

    The location is good and there's a reasonable car park though only if you're not afraid of driving through narrow gaps. Staff were friendly. The shower in the room was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is adequate for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Squeaky floors were really bad on first floor. No hand rail in bath/shower; badth was high up so I struggled to get in and out. Mattress felt like a million people had slept on it, definitely needs investment as I’ve stayed in other rooms before and equally had a bad mattress.

    Availability of bar food and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money - Great breakfast and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the u bend of the sink, was suctioned out by the fall of water in the main fall pipe, and I got a wiff of the drains. Would recommend the install of an air inlet / anti syphon valve in the fall pipe to prevent reoccurrence. (Ex - plumber).

    The bed was extremely comfy, The breakfast staff were extremely helpful, and went out of their way to ensure you had everything. The cooked breakfast was one of the best I've ever tasted, it was local produce and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff make this place good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms although very clean are a bit dated now Bed a bit uncomfy

    Friendly and welcoming stafff - very helpful Great location in the town centre Rooms very clean Loads of hot water Off road parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.3
    Unusual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was almost in the car park at the rear of the building and cars passed right in front of the door. A recent boiler change meant we had a really annoying high pitched noise from around 8.00 am. The room above had squeaky floorboards and we were woken earlier than we wanted to be. The bathroom whilst adequate was nothing like the pictures online and was quite dated although functional.

    The room was a good size and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    A comfortable stay at a reasonable price in the centre of Market Harborough. It was a little noisy as our room was facing the High Street but it's the price you pay for being so central.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.4
    'Quaint' can easily become shabby if a place isn't kept maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room smaller and stuffy than would have liked. Previous occupants underwear left in drawers yet housekeeping threw away my toothbrush on day 1! Bathroom fittings well worn. Due for some serious TLC.

    Very good location. Free parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    4.2
    A third rate disappointing hotel. Expensive for the poor quality. A shabby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dirty. Carpets needed a good clean. The paintwork on the doors of the bedroom and bathroom were dirty and needed cleaning. The window frames were dirty and paint was flaking off. The towels were thin and one of the towels was actually ripped at both ends. The bathroom was not heated and cold. The guests were noisy and disrupted my sleep at 3 am. The curtains on the landing was hanging off the rails. The cost was expensive and did not include breakfast. This should have been mentioned on the site that breakfast was not included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.3
    Very poor value for £75 per night, the room was very grubby and needs a lot work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small for 2 people especially as nowhere to put bits and pieces when unpacking. wallpaper and paintwork very grubby, blinds were filthy in bathroom, when shower was used although hot there was more water running from the hose than the shower head,the radiator in bedroom would not heat up.All in all not a very good experience.

    The bed was comfortable,shower was hot.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    We asked for a quiet room, preferably a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the bed were ours we would be investing in a new mattress. It was fine to sleep on for 2 nights, but of lesser quality than we usually find in the places we stay.

    We asked for a quiet room, preferably a good size. We were allocated a lovely large room with attractive older furniture, plenty of space etc. at the back of the property, so it was quiet. We were thrilled. The shower was great, the bathroom a good size, the towels good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great romantic stay in Market Harborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the refrigerators could be heard in the bedroom throughout the night. The loo roll holder in room 35 was faulty and frequently fell to the floor. The dented pedal bin lid proved that we weren't the first guests to have this issue.

    The Attic room number 35 is a fabulous bedroom. Fabulous oak beams. Good sturdy and comfortable bed. Great facilities and modern, well layed out bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception attitude on arrival. Rude and although we paid the same through booking.com as direct we were told we would get no breakfast.

    Room stunning if noisy being on front of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    ok for an overnight stay nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smelt a bit musty when entering no telephone in room in case we needed to contact reception for any reason we felt breakfast was rushed by staff realize its a busy time but toast was cold when brought to the table and the coffee was actually brought before our English breakfast was served hence it went cold quite quickly the staff did not bother to ask us if everything was satisfactory we would have mentioned it if they had done so

    the bed was very comfortable linen and towels were very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    4.6
    It was like staying in student accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small and damp. Shower leaked and caused a flood in the bathroom. Reported the shower but nothing was done. Also room not clean. Mildew all over the bathroom walls. No ventilation.

    Food was fine. Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs a major upgrade and clean is is very expensive for what it is. If they spent money on decor and made the bar more welcoming rather than putting the tv on load for one local to watch the football .. the hotel could become 4* / sadly mismanaged and needs investment. And the receptionist does everything ... poor love .. which means you don’t get a very personal or friendly service from her because she is dealing with cleaning, checking in and out and breakfast orders and phone calls ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    The bathroom was very nice, looked recently renovated with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no power sockets near the beds, with the only sets a few metres away. So using your phone as an alarm is a bit risky. I didn't eat breakfast in the hotel in the end, as the price was quite high for the place (£8 for continental and £11 for full English) and the hours set were quite limited, so I went elsewhere.

    The bathroom was very nice, looked recently renovated with everything clean and in it's proper place. Everything else I'd say is standard fare, clean enough (through not spotless), and staff nice enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    Disturbed night - very little sleep
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for a 'quiet' room but was given one on the front of the hotel. I did not think this would be a problem as my stay was on Saturday night, and indeed traffic was light. However the street was extremely noisy, with rowdy drunken behaviour throughout the night until after 0330. The hotel clearly recognised that this might be an issue as they state that they supply earplugs for rooms on the front - there were none in the room and when I asked for some at Reception I was told that they were out of stock.

    The room and bed were comfortable, quality of bed linen and towels good, with ensuite bathroom (bath with shower attachment) and flat-screen tv. The building had 'character'

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.1
    Well located, comfy bed but some staff need training around breakfast service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ends at 9am but no-one tells you that on arrival or even when you enter the dining room, before 9am!! We came down for breakfast and sat thinking one of the waitresses would direct us to drinks and food, we waited until after 9am and then staff who'd ignored us refused us a hot breakfast, the continental breakfast is on the bar (croissants in plastic etc.) but you couldn't access hot drinks yourself. They did get the chef to do us poached eggs in the end, but only because I made it clear I was not happy about how we'd be dealt with.

    The hotel is well located, the rooms are clean and the bed is comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A handrail in the shower would have been helpful. Breakfast was nice, but over-priced.

    Super-helpful staff, central location. Plenty of parking. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    3.8
    Adequate for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was adequate as we asked for an extra bed for my son. But the room was a bit dowdy and not in the best of conditions.

    Breakfast was ok , room was clean and Market Harborough is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.8
    Fairly comfortable stay but not what I was expecting from the trip advisor advert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we got was not like the ones shown on the booking.com pictures. The decour was clean but starting to fade with age and bathroom was cramped. It reminded me of staying with my elderly grandparents.

    The location was great with excellent parking facilities. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    6.3
    OK- good size room - value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smartness of reception -

    Hotel a little 'tired'. Needs investment - excellent location - good restaurants within easy walking distance. Good parking at rear of hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    Really good hotel in very nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could only get a single room - I usually book a double for extra space and bigger bed. Room was quite big enough and single bed was more like a small double. Well sign-posted, plenty of room in car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel and very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    Staff very friendly and informative. Hotel showing its age but very comfortable. Room exceeded expectations and shower was excellent. This was a budget option just for one night and The Angel represented extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.5
    Overall really enjoyed our stay a great location within Market Harborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly hot, we were on the second floor which was stuffy, the heat literally hit you once you passed the first floor. The stand alone fan was unfortunately only blowing hot air around the room, we therefore had to stay out until late in the evening waiting for the temperature to drop however it was still too hot in the room, even with the window open. We were of course experiencing particularly hot weather during our stay. The shower screen was mouldy looking as was the shower hose, the cleaner needs to up their game.

    Brilliant location within the heart of Market Harborough, traditional property with lots of character. Very helpful friendly staff. Lovely courtyard where we sat to have a late night drink, good selection of non - alcoholic and alcoholic drinks at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Hotel was lovely and the receptionist think her name is...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was lovely and the receptionist think her name is Laura was fantastic. Suggested where to go to eat gave us cold bottles of water as it was very hot. The room was very clean and nice bath. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom extractor didn't seem to be working so room was very stuffy. Hotel decor needs a tidy up but that wouldn't stop me re-booking

    Great location on the main road. Off road parking. Outside patio area (hubby's a smoker) Not the usual bland sanitary accomodation. Beds lovely and clean - a bit too soft for me but everyone's different. Brilliant shower with copious hot water and plenty clean towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    It was in a very good place for we're we needed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was in a very good place for we're we needed to be for the car show that was on over the weekend brilliant little town would stay again thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable room , good breakfast and fantastic staff. Thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had dinner which was ok but just typical pub grub.

    Staff are fantastic so friendly and welcoming. Hotel is quite dated but the room was very big as was the bed which was also very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and the bedlinen crisp and clean. We had our grandson (18 months old) with us and a travel cot was made up and placed in the room for our arrival. Must emphasise again how lovely the staff are at this hotel !!! The breakfast was also very nice, well cooked and hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.2
    Dirty rooms, i was upgraded but the room was still dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness. The first room i checked into had unmentioable marks on the bathroom walls above the toilet cistern and by the toilet roll holder UCK!! There was a very strong unclean toilet smell through the room. Bed valance was dirty and the decorative throw at the foot of the bed was only fit for the bin. Dust was ridiculous on the desk, skirtings and picture rail. Light switches were dirty. I was upgraded, but the room was the same, units and cupboards had layers of dirt the chair i was expected to sit on to do my makeup i had to cover with a towel. Carpets were dirty and i was pleased to have socks to wear. Attitude of the cleaner to reception staff in the morning was rude when i was checking out...seemed i wasnt the only one looking to change rooms and she was saying the gentlemen had to wait for another room as she was too busy. Confetti from a wedding was still all over the bathroom and there were no dial on the shower explaining how to use it (who knows when that fell off) All singing and dancing Krubbs pod machine in the room but with no option to have just a cup of boiling water, no hair drier in room. Would never return. You will also see layers of dust on the stairs.

    The reception staff were friendly. Plenty of free parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was grand for what we needed, but very warm in the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air con

    The room was basic but clean, the bathroom was dated. The room was roasting but we did stay during the heatwave. The bedroom window could not be opened enough to let air circulate. We were given an electric fan for the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed and good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy as on the high street and a very old building.

    Comfortable bed and good shower. Smallish room but well equipped and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.5
    Extremely convenient hotel with attentive staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wardrobe space was inadequate. The rail hanger only allows space for 1 outfit. The rest of the wardrobe was full with heater , fan , breakfast table , iron etc . Although all these may be necessary there needs to be a relook to problem solve this issue.

    The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were extremely attentive. Great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast finished at 9 - no one told me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all of the above

    Breakfast finished at 9 - no one told me room next to car park cock handed refurb attempt very shoddy and misleading pics on web site Would not stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Great staff let down by dated building and poor systems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is a little dated. Needs some renovation to bring up to modern standards. Staff were welcoming but appeared restrained by the lack of systems. Breakfast somewhat chaotic.

    Staff attitude was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.8
    It was functional, we didn't eat at the hotel so I can't say anything about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we got there the staff were quite rude. There was a football match on in the bar and I felt like we were intruding. We stayed 2 nights and although the bed was made the bathroom wasn't cleaned. There was no menu in the room for the restaurant and no information about breakfast either.

    The bed was small but comfortable. It is situated in the middle of town with ample parking. The night porter was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tough one - any dislike would be nit-picking! I found the pillows a bit uncomfortable and both the same - maybe one softer would have helped, but it wasn't a problem.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the location brilliant. We'll definitely go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    I keep coming back for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wonderful staff who always spoil me. The room allocated was clean and comfortable with good facilities. I always stay here when visiting market harborough

    Excellent lighting. Usually abismal in 90% of hotel rooms. Comfortable bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.0
    It was ideal for our use for a single night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ideal for our use for a single night stay. Staff very helpful - didn't smile a lot but very efficient. Would definitely stay again if I needed to stay in Market Harborough again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Memorable and highly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room faced onto the High Street. Traffic noise started quite early and over the Bank Holiday the revellers were quite "lively" in the early hours. Having said that it didn`t spoil our 3 days stay. We will have future reunions, (Royal Air Force 100 Years), at Market Harborough and I will staying at the Angel.

    The Staff are brilliant. The Angel exceeded my expectations on all levels. Very clean, very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Great location, staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, staff were friendly and very helpful. We booked a room for 2 adults and a child which was standard size however the staff immediately offered to upgrade us to a larger room at no extra cost which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    6.3
    It was a very large room which was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interior of the hotel.

    It was a very large room which was a bonus. The hotel rooms do need a refurbishment though, they are very dated and this made the room look dirty even though it wasn’t. The area where my room was situated was extremely smelly. The smell was that bad I was heaving. It was a very strong body odour smell and just seemed to hit you once I opened the fire door leading to my room. Staff were lovely and helpful and the exterior looked the part it was just a shame the interior let the place down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.2
    It was truly lovely - staff were always on hand to help in anyway , our room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quirky and quaint old style coach Inn - Lovely comfortable room with all mod cons , Staff were very friendly and helpful , food was good - very good value for money and great location - lovely little village and located so close to any store you required

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Me and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The general bar was very friendly and great atmosphere.

    Linen was of the highest quality. The room was spacious, clean. Central position to the town centre. Wounderful staff who couldn't do enough to please the customers. Great breakfast what more could anyone ask for in fact even the night staff was very accommodating with a jug of milk for late night hot drink.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    5.8
    A bit of a let down in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea/coffee making in the room No water in the room And some of the main corridors and bar very dated / shabby

    Check in was good The room was clean and warm They are in the process of some redecorating Comfortable bed with clean bed linen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Overall great value stay with a comfortable room and all facilities one needs including wifi.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room although upgrade is a little weary although lots of refurbishment currently being undertaken. Creaky floors and traffic noise from rooms at front of hotel.

    Excellent value good food and helpful friendly staff. Room was upgraded for us .Parking availability good. Great access to the town and loads of restaurants in area of all types if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.9
    Thought was little expensive as did not include breakfast which was an extra £11.00 each .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom floor slopes, the sink blocked in bathroom and wardrobe doors came of runners. The hotel needs a refurbishment, looks very tatty and tired.

    The location of the hotel was great and it was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    4.2
    Not great, dated .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old fashioned, dated, musky, terrible priced continental breakfast 11.50 per person seriously? Tiny shower cubicle uncomfortable pillows and bed . Over looking high street therefore noisy .arrived early had to wait 2 hours to get our room despite the hotel being quiet .

    Not a lot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.0
    Good location, friendly staff, but in need of some tlc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a smell of warm sick throughout and the 2nd floor stank of cigarettes. I think the sick smell was some sort of air freshener, but not a very good one! Also, the bedrooms and building as a whole could do with a returb as it looked tired.

    The staff were nice, nice breakfast and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    3.3
    Nice location, good price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grumpy bar staff , who almost didn’t serve us a late drink ( it was only 11pm ) .

    Bed was huge and comfortable. Extra touch on tea tray , squash and sweets were a nice little touch .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    10
    I just did
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free beer haha! excellent time.

    The staff were great, plus the craic in the bar with the six nations openers was brilliant. The beer beer was very good. Just one thing .....a bit of paint and maintenance wouldn't go amiss.I speak as a former hotel maintenance man in the Lakes. As a Tigers supporter I was even happier to see the Tigers jersey at the entrance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    6.3
    The food was not good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was not good. I suspect it was a reheated microwave roast dinner. The stable room I was allocated had a flat above and the occupants were very noisy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    7.1
    I like the location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included and this not clear on Booking.com reservation details, was not offered breakfast as an optional extra when booking, so assumed it was included. Also annoyed that the price went up £6 when I changed the date by 1 day, whereas my colleague did it by phone direct with the hotel and the price did not increase on his room I don't blame the hotel for this - but it will discourage me from using Booking.com in future

    I like the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    4.6
    The location was excellent, very convenient for centre of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if tea/coffee making facilities could have been provided in the room. It would also have been useful if there had been information on the hotel in the room, particularly the wifi code as it would have saved extra trips back to reception. The room was also very hot - the radiator thermostat in the bathroom didn't appear to adjust. Extremely noisy pipes when other occupants were showering/running water etc.

    The location was excellent, very convenient for centre of Market Harborough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    Good stay for NYE - standard room, good and clean, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to Covent Garden so location is great. Covent Garden and the Strand were so pretty decorated for NYE. I booked a standard room which was fine but next time I would book the superior rooms as these have been updated. My friend stayed in one of these and its worth the extra money. We didn't have the Breakfast but it looked good. It's a big hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.7
    good apart from the above criticisms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of help for my 85year old mother with no heating and non cleaning of her room on xnmas eve night

    very helpul receptionist Dawn upgraded my 85 year old mother as someone had taken her specifically requested ground floor room with a walk in shower on arrival. IST EVENING We went to her room for coffee the perculator fused the lights DAWN WAS very helpful resolved the problem ASAP. CHRISTMASS EVE NIGHT MY MOTHERS HEATING FAILED SHE CALLED RECEPTION AN INCOMPETENT SECURITY MAN TOLD HER TO GET THE FAN HEATER OUT DIDNT BOTHER TO CALL US OR SPEAK TO A MANAGER OR ATTEND HER ROOM SHE WAS FREEZING COLD ALL NIGHT ON ADDING TOTHE FACT ON CHRISTMAS EVE NIGHTHER ROOM HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED SHE WAS OUT OF THE ROOM FROM 8.30AM TIL 8.00 THAT EVENING WITH THE KEYS LEFT AT RECEPTION Christmas day afternoon we came back to sort the problem out which was dealt with by a helpful receptionist.You appear to have a mix of extremely good staff eg Dawn and the other receptionist on Xmas day afternoon together with inexperienced staff eg the security man perfectly good on the door not able to deal with an elderly person should be supervised by a management grade coupled with your inability to check electrical appliances before putting them into customer rooms on a regular basis which im sure is an insurance condition.None of these problems were our fault Best wishes Simon Briant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable. It enabled me to meet up with old friends and is very central .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps a lift??? Also less bleach to be used in the cleaning of the bathroom. It was over powering!

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the hotel although not modern. Has a lovely atmosphere. There are lots of small touches like a fan and a heater in the bedrooms to name but two and the food is excellent value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    4.2
    Friends stayed in a nearby hotel which was considerably better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff didn't offer to help with my case which I had to take up theee flights of stairs. Service in bar was extremely slow.

    Didn't use the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    6.3
    Could try harder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom shower difficult to operate. Weird Fold out bed! This was an Executive room! Asked for towels three times as only one bath towel and one hand towel provided and eventually they arrived. Went down to breakfast on Sunday morning a fraction after 9.30 (the designated time for the end of cooked food) and were told it was no longer available. Bearing in mind this was the day of huge snow falls throughout the Midlands and we had been trying to organise our journey by researching the AA and various news feeds for information about our journey back to Shropshire we felt this was extremely arbitrary. We had a very spartan breakfast which ill prepared us for a very long and hazardous trip which took us over twice as long as usual. Very poor customer service. We were surprised as we have been to this hotel on several occasions for lunch and found the staff most helpful.

    Clean accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    Our stay at the Angel hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is old and a little dated with a lot of uneven floors but to be honest we found the hotel very good.

    The Staff where really helpful and the room we had was large with a king size bed the bar had a lovely log fire roaring and the food we had was good all in all we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    7.9
    God vale for money in an ideal location in the centre of Market Harborough
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room offered good value for money with a very comfortable king size bed the hotel itself is slightly shabby compared to other hotels within Market Harborough. Dining facilities are very limited but there are excellent restaurants within the town.

    Very comfortable room with an excellent shower. Good value for money in an ideal location within the centre of Market Harborough. Good private car parking facilities essential within if visitors intend to stay in the centre of the town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointed, compared with previous visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Very little, a definite lack of staff interest in their customers. The bed was very uncomfortable , no heating in either the bedroom or bathroom. Had to sit in restaurant for 20 minutes to have dinner order taken.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: