Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Angel Inn 5 stars

Polestead Street, Stoke by Nayland, CO6 4SA, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Stoke by Nayland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    over all very pleasant just marred by an unpleasant incident
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After leaving i discovered i had left my i phone charger behind it was left plugged in near the tea tray in our room, i phoned the hotel and too cut a long story short i spoke to the Assistant Manager who checked the room and spoke to one of the cleaners he phoned back to update me that there was no sign of the charger, he asked if i was sure i had brought it to the hotel - I was sure. I really fail to see how the cleaner could miss this item in the room. there is no doubt that someone took my charger, the Assistant Manager although polite could not help further and did not show any concerns regarding the integrity of his staff. whichever way you look at this there is dishonesty , I found this situation hard to accept i have had no updates since, the charger remains un accounted for, sometimes a nice stay is overshadowed by an unpleasant incident sorry to say but my fault i left the charger behind, but its the hotels fault it was not recovered as i left the room locked behind me !

    We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a nice meal, in cosy comfortable surroundings, the breakfast was good quality and very good, the room was pleasant, bathroom a little tired but not a problem, overall a high standard with friendly young staff who were attentive

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but gin & cocktails were very expensive

    Breakfast was delicious with excellent choice and extremely friendly staff in beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    A disappointing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was really poor value for money. For a hundred pounds a night there must be better. Room was poorly furnished and the bathroom was awful. The water was scorching and shower tiny. Also steep stairs to access the rooms. No staff around. We were disappointed.

    Breakfast was reasonable but food sparse especially the fruit. We were moved to the bar on the second day because of a wedding. We felt we were an inconvenience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    A warm welcome and cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Genuinely friendly and welcoming staff. Cosy atmosphere, in a beautiful period building. Comfortable and spacious room with lovely bedding. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Would consider again and recommend IF they catered for vegans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited vegan options on the menu. No alternative milks available when I was there.

    Nice room, clean. Bar was nice too. Nice 'Well' feature. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A very relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Could not fault anything

    We liked everything! The hotel was beautiful, a typical, old country place but with all mod cons! The food was absolutely delicious & beautifully presented. The staff were all very friendly & helpful & informative about the property. Can thoroughly recommend the hotel & the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife being elderly could not get in the bath/shower. We were changed from a superior room to a standard room but still paid for the superior room. She was unable to eat the main course at the evening meal the smell from the sardines was overpowering and made her feel ill. The stairs to the bedrooms were very narrow and steep, we were shown the fire exit stairs which were better but did not give direct access to the dining room without exiting the hotel, crossing the garden and re-entering through another door.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful area, characterful pub with lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right on the road so keeping the window open for air meant village traffic noise, manageable but best to be aware.

    It was Saturday night and there was obviously a party having dinner downstairs-they weren't too rowdy but you can still hear the pub noise, not music just people having a good time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful place to stay in a beautiful county
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very small

    This place is a little Gem! The rooms are lovely. The restaurant food is excellent and the staff are very good. The breakfast here is superb there is a lot to choose from. The hotel decor is beautiful and we would definately stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a very enjoyable stay, and would return if coming to the area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New potatoes were not cooked fresh so tasted stale, samphire was a bit woody. Tables were rather sticky.

    Food was good, excellent breakfast. Bed was comfy, loved the antique furniture and characterful rooms and toiletries of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    supreme comfort in a beautifully relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from outside generator, but guess this couldn't be helped.

    fabulous staff, lovely food, gorgeously historic old building. wonderful for Constable Country

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great Inn for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for an overnight stay. The food for dinner and breakfast was excellent. Staff very pleasant and helpful We would return to this Inn in the future

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a one or two night stay in Constable Country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room 1 the loo was right behind the bathroom door in an alcove - not really enough room to sit down!

    Great staff. Wonderful atmosphere in this old coaching inn. Rooms are clearly old due to age of the inn but Room 1 was large and well appointed. Comfy beds. Quality coffee in the room. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to a powercut we were unable to take sandwiches with us for an early breakfast.

    Beautiful weather: we twice had a nice dinner outside, one time with with friends whom we had invited.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Was just lovely,would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft.

    The staff were very attentive,I’d messaged to ask for a bottle of procecco in the room as it was our wedding anniversary and when we were shown to our room,they had covered our bed in rose petals...it the little details!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in beautiful Constable countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building so one staircase to bedrooms was quite steep though the other was fine. There is no lift and the bedrooms are quite small as was our ensuite. This might mean those with disabilities could find it a little challenging.

    Nice hotel. Lovely shaded outdoor seating area. Good parking. Nice village , well located. The building is old and has some quaint aspects but has been modernised . Food was good and the staff delightful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little thought had been given to hot weather at the time. E.g. arrived in dining room. For breakfast,v.stuffy as no windows had been opened

    Food excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    With a slightly bigger room and better shower would be excellent; recommended nonetheless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with tiny shower and poor water pressure. Regular changes of good quality towels though.

    Location, restaurant, friendly staff, adequate off road parking, ambience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb pub with rooms and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything ...

    Everything about our visit was superb from the cheerful, helpful welcome to the excellent breakfast in the morning. Our dinner was excellent with a good choice on the menu - difficult to decide!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely old traditional pub deserving of its excellent reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have eaten my birthday meal in the lovely breakfast room but it is only used when the restaurant is busy apparently!

    Super comfy bed! Lovely peaceful setting and good food. Loved the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely relaxing stay in a friendly environment and beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor point and it didn’t ruin my stay, but the shower cubicle is too small for a larger person and the water pressure wasn’t great. The windows are in dire need of refurbishment as the one in my room was rotten and the glass didn’t look safe and the noise from the road was loud. The secondary glazing obviously helps. I know this isn’t easy to fix with it being a grade II listed building but some urgent repairs are needed. Again would not put me off from staying as the road noise is not an issue later in the evening.

    A very friendly welcome for a lone traveller, beautiful surroundings, lovely property, excellent food and service. The bar/restaurant manager made time to come and talk to me in the evening with me being on my own and asked about my day and made me feel very welcome. All the staff were lovely. The bed was comfortable thankfully as I had been driving all day. I had everything I needed in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    A great find (please don't tell too many people, otherwise I might struggle to book in next time!!)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the third time I have stayed here and each time I have never been disappointed. In fact, I mentioned it to my colleagues and they stayed too. This is a great place to stay, warm, welcoming, comfortable, relaxing, clean and the food is great too. Particularly love the selection of Gins!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very proffessional but not stuffy with it. They were keen to accomodate your every need. Excellent breakfast served in a very relaxed atmosphere. Jade was very attentive. Very comfortable rooms. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel.lovely staff and management.evening meal fabulous.room clean and bed lovely and comfortable .. english breakfast was delicious. Will be back soon for another stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely coaching inn in a really quiet village, perfect. Amazed the WiFi worked in the garden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought my room had a queer odour?

    The staff were super friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful. My room was what I expected from an old coaching inn. All the food was exquisite, a good choice that was delicious. The dinner was tasty but the breakfast was lovely. The wifi was superb, even worked in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Looking forward to our next stay at the Angel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I returned to the Angel Inn because of its friendly and welcoming staff and unbelievable food. The gin menu is an added bonus and commend its management team for getting the balance just right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Period Inn
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a day that was very warm, 27 Celsius. Our rooms were like ovens. I asked for and received a small fan, but my client didn’t get one. I think for the price of about 30 pounds per room (there are only 6 rooms) the owners would be making a smart investment. The reality is, it’s not getting colder.

    Gorgeous old inn with atmosphere of the 1600s but with of course all modern amenities. Superior food, creative menu, super breakfast. I loved the eggs Benedict! Picturesque village in a very pretty part of England.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful place with lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very warm weather and the sash windows didn't open very well so that was a bit uncomfortable with the very thick duvets.

    The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely village. Great hotel. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was showing its age. Could have done with a clean. There was no lounge. Nowhere to sit other than outside.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great garden in which to enjoy the range of gins!! Good linens and pillows. Good selection of teas and coffee in the room. An excellent breakfast. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely quaint inn and room with friendly staff, comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite was a little small with just a shower which might not suite everyone.

    Lovely quaint inn and room with friendly staff, comfy bed/pillows, good facilities and a fabulous breakfast. Excellent value and great evening menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A sad occasion brightened by the Angel!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we thought was not quite right was the rather cold breakfast coffee. However, we should have asked for it to be heated, but didn't.

    We really couldn't fault this hotel. We had an excellent dinner, comfortable beds and first class breakfast. The staff all gave us the feeling they would do anything to make our stay a really lovely experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect place to stay Super fantastic stay, staff are brilliant and very polite food excellent and Jade is a star stopped with a colleague had a really good laugh with Jade last night in the bar superb all round cannot fault hope to see you again soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.0
    Staff make the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was mediocre at dinner, steak a bit tough and chips just 'frozen'. Breakfast ingredients were good but not cooked well.

    The staff made the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, friendly hotel with history in abundance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side but quite acceptable. Maybe not the best choice for disabled people or those challenged by steep stairs.

    Old traditional pub/hotel in the centre of quiet Stoke by Nayland. The room was fairly small but perfectly OK. The evening meal and breakfast were both highly enjoyable, the latter served in the ancient, half-timbered section of the establishment. Staff were friendly throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Really nice traditional village hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was not too reliable

    Very fine food, friendly and professional staff, traditional historic building in good condition. I was on business trip but would gladly return on a holiday visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A friendly atmosphere with lovely food in a very nice setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road noise was a little annoying and we couldnt connect to the wifi

    The Restaurant was very cosy and ideal for a couple wanting to get away for the weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    An excellent small hotel with a good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor road noise and better secondary glazing would help.

    Lovely old building kept spotlessly clean. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had everything needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing, couldn’t of been more polite or professional, always smiling and happy to help with anything. Food and location perfect, incredibly comfortable beds / rooms. Well worth a stay traveling business or as a couple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great stay, very convenient to visit beauty spots in Suffolk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow staircase to first floor Unable to open bedroom window so now weather becoming hotter could be rather stuffy in room!

    Lovely comfy bed. Super breakfasts Enjoyable evening meal Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent relaxing night away with superb fiid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything, only negative was lack of shower pressure, wasn’t great and it was a bit too hot in room but all the good far outweighed these small problems

    Fabulous old Inn with wonderful friendly helpful staff, room was beautiful, bar had great choice of ales and a Gin menu and food was superb, chef even cooked my pork belly to my requirements and it was delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    I can see why it is 5 Star AA Inn. It was lovely. I am looking for an excuse to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little small; it was quirky and well designed, but small. The phone did not work - and it buzzed in the night. They have thought of lots of little details which make this a very pleasurable place to stay, but due to small size other things are small too - eg the bottles of water are very small.

    Lovely customer service. The staff are professional, well trained, friendly, engaging, superbly well presented and attentive. The food is excellent. The coffee is delicious. There was always room in the car park and it was easy to get in and out each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Food was wonderful/bed very comfortable/ staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing the shower was very tiny .

    Food was wonderful/bed very comfortable/ staff were very friendly and efficient / very enjoyable stay .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed the peace and quiet - it was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little more choice from the restaurant menu.

    The room was so charming, decorated in vintage style, very comfortable beds, tea making facilities were spot on and I asked for a bath and got one! My daughter particularly liked the furniture. A quiet room and very peaceful setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    The food was excellent with a varied menu and sensible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds comfy but let down by tired pillows.

    The food was excellent with a varied menu and sensible portions. The staff are fantastic and we were very well looked after. Wonderful selection of Gin in the bar, making it very difficult to know what to choose!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A seating area for residents - we had our morning coffee at a table set for lunch which made us feel slightly uncomfortable. That was our only criticism.

    Very comfortable hotel, friendly staff and excellent food. Hard to beat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great value, location and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a few issues, no WiFi ( old buildings often struggle with this), the main light didn't work and the shower-over-bath was so tight that you had to shower standing still and sideways. Our room had a beam running across the room at head hight and I walked into it 3 time's, beware booking room 5.

    The Angel was a quintessential English Inn, dripping with history and charm. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. The restaurant was also very good, great menu and well executed. Location was perfect for exploring the Stour valley and neighbouring Colchester.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Character property close to Colchester, with great staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvet and sheets were not as good as the rest of the facilities, nothing wrong with them but could do with upgrading.

    Character property close to Colchester, with great staff, food and accommodation. Good value, will stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Great weekend escape in lovely part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Very comfy bed. Lovely linens. Also appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities and lovely bathroom toiletries. All staff very friendly. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable but shame about the lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday lunch. Very paltry amount of meat served. When we asked for more we were told it was quality not quantity. I would automatically expect quality but it was sliced as thin as salami and I believe unacceptable.

    Enjoyable breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to complain about

    The breakfast was ample and delicious, The evening meal was first class I particularly enjoyed the real ale variety

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely short break and would return for one night stay for the food alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot change location but not much to do in vicinity. Booked 3 rooms. Window in one room could not open but they do supply a fan

    Food and staff excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Made us want to plan our next stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite, the deluxe room was excellent, the food outstanding and the gin menu was one of the most extensive I have seen!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Overall an excellent venue
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave before breakfast and used the exit to the rear of the building. It was very dark and not possible to see the steps in the paved area to the car park, would be good for the area to be lit.

    Always a pleasure to stay here. Room very comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Excellent traditional country Inn, great accommodation, food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Lovely old traditional Inn, with log fire, which at the time was traditionally decorated for Christmas, excellent food and service. Bedroom typical of an old property, beamed, (you have to duck under beam to get to en-suite bathroom). Very friendly staff. Recommend the breakfast muffin!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A top place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Angel was fantastic. The room was of a very high standard with all modern facilities. The bar and restaurant served a good selection of meals and it felt very welcoming. The staff were great; friendly, helpful, courteous, nothing was too much trouble. I hope to stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful. Beautiful country pub, fabulous rooms and bathrooms, fabulous food, and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything...rooms, food, staff, the building, the village!. The Christmas wreath on all of the bedroom doors highlights their attention to detail

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    First stay and very satisfied. Will use again when I'm in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in my room was a little lacking in power; just needed to shower a little longer!

    Very comfortable room; friendly and efficient staff; excellent food, well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Charming hotel, lovely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was a bit too hot for me - I sleep cool. Didn't stay for breakfast which is why I didn't comment as heavy snow was forecast for the area and I wanted to get home.

    As an older woman on her own I couldn't have been treated better. My room was absolutely charming with lovely antique furniture and a really comfy bed. Thank you Angel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect relaxing getaway amidst beautiful surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small niggle was that the hotel was having its boilers replaced and our room on arrival was freezing. After a quick call to reception we were given a heater and the heating returned that night.

    The hotel was lovely and quaint, Our room was lovely and spacious and contained everything we could have needed or wanted. Loved the original beams! The food was lovely and the Staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Excellent find! Beautiful with a great atmosphere and log fires!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of decent lighting around the dressing table area

    Staff very welcoming, polite and efficient. Room very clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities which is a must for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous overall
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t seem to be accessible in the room so had to work in the bar for a while.

    An absolutely excellent stay. Room, food and staff all outstanding. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall, good location with good food and service. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower particularly small and bathroom overall quite small but functional.

    Lovely pub with comfy bijou rooms. Food good and breakfast cooked to order which was excellent. Good location for exploring and Colchester. Nice extras with toiletries and bottles of water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    An excellent venue for a meet up with old friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The batheproom was rather cramped but tolerable

    The dinner was excellent with a good choice of different options, service too was first rate. Similarly breakfast was served promptly and the full English was piping hot..divine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better as not a lot of pressure

    The antique theme. All up to date but with a period twist. Lovely staff really happy and friendly genuinely enjoyed their jobs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Our stay at The Angel Inn could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at The Angel Inn could not have been better. The staff were friendly and accommodating, going over and above to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Breakfast was delicious and we would recommend the hotel to anyonelooking to stay in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.5
    Wonderful relaxing stay in historic building.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tourist information.

    The inn is steeped in history. Lovely comfortable atmosphere, log fire. Food was very good , staff very pleasant, room was quaint , bed extremely comfortable. We could hear voices from the bar below for a short time but to be expected in an old inn with some low ceilings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, superb food, great ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the bar area is somewhat loud. we could hear people talking until at least mid-night-I realise though that this is an old building and maybe that cannot be helped. We had a classic double and we found this good value for money although the bathroom is somewhat on the small side, the bed was an excellent size.

    The thing we found most helpful was that we could access the room via a back door rather than having to go through public areas, this also helped when bringing cases up and going backwards and forwards to the car. The restaurant has been very well restored and is a very pleasant place to eat and watch the world go by. The food is excellent-I had the steak which was perfect and the service was very quick. Breakfast is excellent also, food is sourced from local producers and it is always helpful to know where everything is coming from.A nice touch is the milk bottles rather than a jug for the milk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    So glad we stayed here, would highly recommend if you want somewhere with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a lovely big bedroom, very comfy bed, wifi worked well throughout. Breakfast and evening meal were very good. Inn is full of charm and the surrounding countryside just delightful with lots of lovely walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Angel Inn overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meat was not cooked properly and we heard other people complaining as well. We complained but they did not seem to care really, was ashame because everything else was ok.

    Nice old fashioned building and nice styled rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. Although the young man that I had to report my coat left in the closet to was just a tiny bit exasperated.

    Out of town, mid range hotels are sometimes strangely furnished/decorated. The Angel, however, was lovely, even to the critical metropolitan eye. A room-service burger was spectacular, ordered with minutes to go before kitchen closed. The breakfast was extremely generous and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Lovely pub with good food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room on the road side was little noisy but not so much as to be tiresome.

    Well trained and cheerful staff who were attentive without being obtrusive. Good food and beer and, although we didn't sample it, the wine list looked very inviting and comprehensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in a beautiful boutique inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room, well equipped. Delicious breakfast, one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had! Wonderful 17th century pub in lovely village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful 16th century inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful & well maintained 16th century Inn. Lovely big bedroom with comfortable bed. Evening Dining was good and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful rooms, food and first class staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Food at the Hotel was excellent, both dinner and Breakfast were first class. The surrounding and Hotel were also first class and definitely go back there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff were lovely, couldn't be more helpful. Setting was just as lovely. Lots of choice on the dinner menu and the standard of food was excellent. Lovely comfortable bed, slept like a log. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: