Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Angel Inn

North Street, Midhurst, GU29 9DN, United Kingdom

#13 of 14 hotels in Midhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming design hotel in Midhurst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were welcomed very warmly by the staff, the room was overlooking the courtyard and was very comfortable and clean. As we had a heatwave the staff provided us with additional fan which made the room cooler We stayed for 6 nights so we had a chance to try all the breakfast choices and sample the bar We also met the owner, David, who was very charming and attentive. Overall our experience was very positive, we enjoyed our stay tremendously and we are already thinking of going back, time permitting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water glasses had lipstick and smudges on them 😩

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast very tasty, catering for my dietary needs as someone who suffers from coeliac disease It was lovely to have complimentary water in our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little to firm for me for a comfortable nights sleep, but everyone is different, others may enjoy a firm sleep.

    Amazing surroundings, staff very helpful, lovely place and the room was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Midhurst is an excellent point for a rendezvous with friends who are coming on the French ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The Angel is an old coaching inn, full of character and individuality. The staff were friendly and cheerful, the rooms comfortable, and staying there was altogether an enjoyable experience. I would happily go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in the centre of a charming small sussex town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room marginally on the small side but this is a quaint old inn so it was as we expected.

    Excellent location, very quiet comfortable room, very good dinner in the restaurant and an excellent English breakfast. Very convenient for visiting Petworth, Arundel and the south downs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Just an ok stay nothing to shout about except great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very uncomfortable bed and no water pressure in the shower. Breakfasts were poor which put me off eating there in the evening.

    A typical pub with rooms. Great location and good sized room with plenty of character. Good off road parking. Friendly staff and clean throughout. A nice cosy beer garden in rear

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay. Give it a go!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Superb entrance and bar/restaurant area. All staff friendly, helpful and quick to answer questions. Room was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    The room was excellent, Breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of noise!!

    The room was excellent, Breakfast very good. But we found that we were able to hear very loud noise from the bar below until 11:30 at night. Very irritating!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a very comfortable stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road front room in the main building (Room 3) was a little noisy, as the main window wouldn't close, leaving only the secondary glazing, which wasn't very effective at reducing the High Street traffic noise.

    Character building, with great food and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Good venue for a short break and exploring West Sussex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant expensive compared to others in the town, we didn't eat there so unable to comment on quality/VFM. Attention to small details would make a big difference eg; replace broken light bulb in the room, clear up drinks glasses in the communal areas before breakfast.

    Good location in a nice town, old world charm, easy access to the car park, friendly helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, 2 quiet guest lounges away from the bar, cosy room, very comfortable bed, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Room upgraded on arrival as others had asked to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was great.

    Room upgraded on arrival as others had asked to stay longer. Breakfast very good do not eat full English but continental very good selection. No problem parking. Midhurst very nice town folk very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    So much wrong - the hotel is being ignored to cater to the pubby bar
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the hardest and most uncomfortable mattress I have had to sleep on in a long while. No attempt to help with luggage even though room was up two flights of stairs. Pot luck parking in the hotel's own courtyard: as other reviewers have remarked, the hotel shows no interest in controlling who parks. The plumbing is no doubt ancient but there are ways of providing decent shower water pressure: how long can it take to get decently wet - come to The Angel and allow yourself an extra quarter of an hour in the morning to get washed and dresssed!

    The barman was pleasant and on the ball. The Restaurant Manager at breakfast was pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Only there for a night - would stay again but not in room 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 10 has an extraction unit (maybe for the kitchen) just outside the window it is very noisy early in the morning. The bed was a bit harder than I am used to.

    The Staff were very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    It was okay some staff clearly cared that they did a good job - others let them down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was slightly disappointed when we came down to breakfast at 9.50am to be told that the kitchen was now closed and only continetal breakfast was available. I had to point out that breakfast was until 10am! Luckily the kitchen provided 4 breakfast for our party - but it was all rushed. Bearing in mind the clocks had gone back the night before the kitchen should have been open for a longer time not a shorter time, people were on holiday for heaven's sake and if you were a guest from overseas you may not have known about the clocks changing!

    We were greeted by a very nice chap on reception who showed us to our very nice room. The receptionist was very helpful and loaned my husband some cuflinks which he had forgottten to pack - a life saver we were off to a wedding locally. The bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again as the location was good and the room very nice inded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was efficient and the choice was good, but the cooked food was just a bit bland.

    Really nice standard room with better than average facilities for the price. All the staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for the purpose of our visit.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet a little disappointing, although the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was delicious. Our bedroom faced the main road which was noisy with traffic in the morning.

    The location was perfect with plenty of parking. Really liked the decor. We were upgraded and our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    We travelled with our 3 year old and booked a room for 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled with our 3 year old and booked a room for 3 people when we got there there was no cot or bed for her to sleep in and I had to ask for it. When it arrived it did’t have a pillow or a duvet or a blanket so I had to call again and someone brought up a duvet without a cover and a blanket for her... if you are paying more than £200 a night you expect a little more attention to detail... a third towel would have also been nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Was a nostalgic ‘revisit’ from 40 years ago!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress uncomfortable. Restaurant closed (Monday night). Wasn’t offered the welcome drink that Genius customers are promised.

    Quaint building. Nice cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    We had hoped that a large screen TV would be available in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had hoped that a large screen TV would be available in the bar area, where we could watch the rugby. We were delighted to be shown a cinema where we could watch the games and be served from the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had asked for a ground floor room if possible as I am disabled. We were given a self-contained 'flat' which is part of the hotel, so not only did we have a bedroom, but a sitting room/kitchenette, separate shower room and a front door key! Bliss!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable lovely little market town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the first room we where given as it was tattie and not what I was expecting. The room number 11 had a poorly working shower and small holes in the wall mixing handles on furniture and carpet that was not fixed down. The staff member I spoke to was very helpful and moved us to a much nicer room no. 9 pines.

    I loved the décor and the bar/restaurant area is lovely. Breakfast was great nice to have a comfy sitting area. The staff are so friendly and very helpful nothing was to much trouble. The problem we did have was solved at once and I was offered complementary drinks. nice to see dogs in the hotel this gives a lovely homely atmosphere. Great service from lovely staff and fantastic location in a lovely little market town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed won’t be going back. To be fair the hotel was really nice just poor service/communicati
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service and was told to leave the hotel at one stage because they said I didn’t book a twin room which I had. And that was after I had a shower in the twin room. Very poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Attractive hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fan of food served on wooden platters and boards (lunch time) (although the food itself was delicious!). The bedroom was very hot.

    Hotel is very nicely decorated and clean, bedroom a good size, very comfy bed. Lunch and breakfast were very yummy! Great location to go and explore the town and local walks. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    A very disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby and tired: stained carpets, dirty shower surround. The TV volume didn’t work and it took ages for hot water to come through the shower. Our room was above reception so not at all peaceful or relaxing. Very disappointed overall.

    The breakfast was the only redeeming factor of our stay. Great full English!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Bed was comfy and big
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could of been presented better average presentation, but above average prices. Bit disappointed on the steak fries and poor salad displayed, pity because the steak was nice.

    Bed was comfy and big

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable and pleasant couple of nights away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant facilities for the evening; reception cover weak on arrival (but it was a Sunday/Monday evening off-season in February).

    Comfortable suite with nice bed and sitting area. Lounge and bar areas comfortable and cosy; lovely log fire in bar. Good breakfast, freshly made to order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Convenient position but hope they finish renovations soon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy being on the front of the hotel on the Main Street. Renovations meant no bar and a very basic breakfast as kitchen out of action. Would have been good to have known this before booking.

    Attractive room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was cold, the heating system couldn't cope with the size of the room (supplementary heating was supplied on request). The housekeeping needs a review - toilet rolls not replenished one day despite there being only a few sheets left on the single roll available, no bath mat for 3 out of the 5 nights, milk not replaced on the night tray - all things quickly corrected on request. Just needs management to draw up a checklist for the housekeeper to use.

    The building is full of charm as befits its age. The staff - all the staff we met were lovely, professional and helpful. The room was a good size, breakfast freshly prepared and cooked with a good selection for the continental choice. The room was clean and well appointed, the en-suite was clean and a good size. The sitting room was well laid out though the corner unit was difficult to stand up from (an age thing I guess!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Great room very poor service. A definite NO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 9:20 we came down for breakfast and no one showed us to a table so we had to find one, wipe it clean, ask a waitress to come over so we could ask for coffee. Despite trying to catch someones eye and us clearly having no food, no one came back to take our order. Then we had to be quite abrupt to get some one to come over. By this time it was 9:45 we were told the kithcens were closed, but they advertised breakfast until 10:00. Asking to see the manager we were told no one was available. Then we demanded to see who ever was in charge and we were not going to pay for anything, they finally gave us breakfast. Whoever was in charge had sent out a young waitress to tell us all this rather than come and face us. Not impressed

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    A lovely weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little crititism is that the water could have been a little hotter.

    It was very welcoming and the main receptionist who greeted us was also on duty in the evening behind the bar and at breakfast the following morning. The atmosphere was very homely, clean, relaxed but also well-run and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    I have known the Hotel all my life but never stayed there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have known the Hotel all my life but never stayed there before and it exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and comfortable with excellent facilities and the staff could not have been more helpful. Next time I need to see family in the area I will definitely return to the Angel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Not what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance and upkeep of rooms. Noise from the bar. Smoking area outside the rooms - noise and smell.

    When we requested a change of room the manager facilitated this for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    For £93 B&B poor value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom lighting inadequate. WiFi signal poor to non-existent. No draws or desk. Poorly appointed bathroom with ancient shower. No hot water at times and then only luke warm. No phone. Noisy.

    General ambinence and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful mix of a beautiful historic location with modern day service & great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently refurbished grade II listed property, beautifully done and extremely clean. Everything felt new but not modern and clinical, was decorated sympathetically to the original property. And loved that despite being in the centre of town that it was still really quiet. The staff couldn't have been more helpful despite being busy with christmas parties. Parking was onsite and easy. Very friendly atmosphere. Would like to stay there again. Recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were expensive. White wine at £25 a bottle for an unrecognisable brand was a bit steep.

    The hotel is delightful. Warm and cosy with log fires. Beautiful decor. Bedroom was quite lovely and made us want to stay longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Expensive, noisy and not really value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rubbish,buckets and mops in the passage to the breakfast bar. Double glazed windows would not close so noise from the road, the room was at the front , was bad.

    clean room and easy access to parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    The room itself was comfortable although one of the bedside...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly under the bar,the music and noise lasted till 2 30 am so we got little sleep as the journey had taken over 6 hours this was not good.

    The room itself was comfortable although one of the bedside lights did not work.This was put right the next day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm/ hard and whilst the shower was hot the pressure was weak.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Its in a good location and we had no trouble parking. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    A great midweek break despite hotel's shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy refurbishment being carried out. Room was surrounded on two sides by patio used by smokers. Lighting very poor in room and bathroom; unable to read. No shelf in bathroom for wash bag. Heard every footstep and flush of toilet from room above. Room generally grubby/shabby. Wooden blinds dirty; unable to close curtains.

    We were immediately offered disabled room when the receptionist saw I was using a walking stick; rather than the original room allocated on 2nd floor. Good sized room and bathroom. Easy parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    it was OK but not for the money. Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel tatty throughout. Breakfast was in the bar as the breakfast room was being decorated. Food was OK but service was not good. Had to get up and ask for everything including toast then a knife then a plate! Main problem was dirty, loads of "ornaments" around all dirty. Better not having decorations than having dirty ones. Everything felt neglected.

    The room was nice, bed was good and fresh, decor tatty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Delightful old English inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good but extremely DIY which would have been OK if everything was there and available to do it yourself. Butter, milk and juice had all run out at different times meaning we constantly had to request those items at different times. Quite annoying really particularly as the server seemed irritated that we had asked.

    The room was great. Large, warm and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location but oh dear the place was awlful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room Loo did not flush Shower useless The place not clean filthy carpet everywhere Bath had no handles to get out of Head banging music all evening that nobody asked for Not a good place

    The staff were good considering what they had be moaned about

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely staff, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Made me a coffee early morning before breakfast. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Genuine old Inn
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs to sort out the heated towel rail in the bathroom, which is (we think) a part of the heating system and not independent.

    Quirky old Inn, with not a single floor that isn't sloping in one direction or another. Very convenient for weddings at The Cowdray ruins and the rugby club, which is why we were there. An excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was very nice, looking a bit tired in places but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely hard, even my husband who enjoys camping struggled to sleep on it. Could do with a lick of paint & smarting up in parts.

    The hotel was very nice, looking a bit tired in places but had a nice atmosphere in the bar/dining area.Breakfast was good & the staff we friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was radio below our room which was a little loud. I think restoration work was going on & it was the workers radio

    No complaints. Greeted by a very friendly young girl on arrival. The place had a nice ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    The room (2) was huge and nicely decked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (2) was huge and nicely decked out. Great big windows with deep windows seats. Good toiletries, towels clean and fluffy and good quality bedlinen. And a lot of comments about noise in previews reviews, I did not find anything particularly noisy. Yes it is an old coaching inn, it has some creaky floorboards which presumably could be screwed down to stop their squeaking, but that it hardly the end of the world in a characterful property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toast with breakfast.

    The full English breakfast was very good quality esp. he bacon, but had to ask for toast. Staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was huge and the bed. We only slept and had breakfast there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable Beds, Awful Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was truly awful, prompting me to go next door for breakfast on the second morning, shunning the hotel freebie. Nothing about the breakfast was acceptable, from the location, comfort, to the food offered.

    Came with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Room was comfortable if dark and the most important thing, the mattress, was very comfortable (a hypnos brand as it turns out). Bar has excellent choice and food good (although not as good as the restaurant next door). Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Very sub standard for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value was barely treated at the front desk with a non reception staff person sat with virtually having feet up on desk. We asked to check on and with a look of yeah I not bothered he shouted 8nto the adjacent room to the girl who came out. Attempted basic pleasantries which she clearly wasn't interested in. Told us what time breakfast was but didn't tell us anything else. Where the bar was restaurant check out time etc was given room at back if hotel facing a wall with the sound of a generator going 24/7. Lighting very poor no plug near mirrors one mirror but not in helpful place bathroom felt run down. Breakfast was appalling no where near enough staff on. This one guy was doing a good job on his own considering but there was no juice left no hot water left no glasses no cups etc we had to repeatedly catch his attention to ask for everything and felt awful. The food was ok but with everything else it just all felt sub standard. We booked a premier standard to for £149 I would have paid £89

    Location was nice very central and parking on site was very handy as there was very little in the village

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Town centre location with own parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt the place would benefit from a little more care and attention by the staff. Room was a good size but couldn't open the windows as they had been sealed to keep down traffic noise. Bathroom water pressure wasn't great so shower and loo lacked power. Alex Polizzi should visit to buck up their ideas!

    Town centre location with own parking. Shops and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our daughters rooms were not so good. The bathroom in one of the rooms was not very clean and the beds were not very comfortable.

    We travelled with our family who had two other rooms. Our apartment was good, the only exception was that the carpet needs cleaning. Table in restaurant was nice and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    The location for me was perfect.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was immediately above the bar ....the music started at 10am and went in all day and until well after midnight. The voices of the people in the bar were also very loud... Everybody is advised to avoid room no 4.

    The location for me was perfect...good atmosphere in the hotel...staff helpful and polite. The food was very good although they finished serving early 21.00h.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location, friendly atmosphere but hotel needs to pay more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait one hour for a steak in the restaurant. Filthy looking carpets in the hotel, particularly in the reception area. Shower grouting was very discoloured. The actual shower head only delivered a light spray of water. This place has great potential sadly unfulfilled at present. More attention to detail needed.

    Good location, friendly reception and bar staff. Good size room on the front of the hotel which was surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Weekend
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my daughter's wedding weekend, and we had booked a number of rooms for family and friends The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble, and they all helped to make it a perfect weekend. Particular thanks to Georgie and to the incredibly patient barman. The hotel is situated in a perfect part of the town - ideal for exploring. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and able to accommodate our need to check in early due to going to a wedding. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it did not disappoint.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfort right in the centre of Midhurst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning unit outside our bedroom window.

    This is a comfortable place to stay right in the centre of Midhurst. We were welcomed on arrival and well looked after. The hotel has a lively bar and a good restaurant - try the bouillabaisse for an unforgettable feast of local seafood. We liked the outside courtyard for an evening drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice Hotel that could easily do a little bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room at the very top of the building. As the Hotel wasn't particularly busy it would have been nice to have been offered an upgrade, especially as the room was unpleasantly hot.

    Decent breakfast and pleasant barman in the evening

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Recommended for stay in the Sourh Downs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When wifi was not working on 2nd evening called from room and was advised would be reset in 5mins but had to go to find someone as this had not happened . No one came whenI pressed bell for assistance in reception so went to bar from where someone did then come to reset the wifi.

    Very comfortable bed and good sized room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    It was good value for money these days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for a quiet room away from traffic and kitchens. The room we were first given the key for was on the road - but they then put us in a room away from the traffic. Presumably hadn't looked at the 'special requests' part of the booking.

    It was good value for money these days. Midhurst is lovely with lots of quaint parts to explore

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Good English Inn in attractive Midhurst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a proper coffee maker in the room (I'm not a fan of instant coffee!) and having stayed in so many hotels in the USA I suppose I have come to expect it. Apparently the bar/restaurant and the hotel are run as separate businesses so the bar does not stay open late for the hotel guests - which we would have appreciated. The bed was very soft

    We had a very comfortable stay at the Angel Inn. Staff were extremely helpful and the room was large and very comfortable, if a little old-fashioned. Everything was delightful. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were available in the room. Breakfast was very good - cooked to order plus a good selection of cold items to serve yourself. We did not eat in the restaurant but the young bar staff were very good and even helped us with booking a taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loo was somewhat antiquated and hard to flush! !

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was really good and freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Middling in Midhurst
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An odd set-up; the bar and restaurant were a separate business to the accommodation so we could not put drinks etc on our room bill, and the bar shut at 10.30 pm even though it was a bank holiday weekend. breakfast was fine, but we did not appreciate the vacuum cleaner noise with our breakfast coming through from the hallway - a pet hate of mine and common on Sundays! Also the whole place seemed a little old-fashioned - and we are no spring chickens!

    very helpful bar staff, very spacious room. early check in at no extra cost, cheerfully provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice location but falls short in some areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception generally unmanned. Room had been refurbished but with lack of care in some areas. New curtain rails fitted but old fittings still in place. Curtains clearly were for a indow very much longer, as they piled up on the floor (trip hazard as not much room between the bed and the window). Previous shower fitting holes still in shower tiles, unfilled. We were in the in the annexe and lots of building rubbish left on the roof opposite. Not a great view.

    Location and parking were perfect. Comfortable bed and lots of hot water. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel. Excellent location. Attention to detail needs addressing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom bin was not cleaned out from the previous customer ~ it was filled to the top with their dirty personal items. Horrid

    Size if room however I did book a suite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    Outrageous profiteering for Goodwood Members meeting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outrageous predatory pricing for the Goodwood Members meeting. Mediocre room with poor and very dated bathroom facilities. Charged a 5 star deluxe hotel price for a 3 star place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    Good price for what was offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi didn't work in room. The noise from the traffic on main road outside was loud as double glazed window was stuck open.

    Bed was comfortable and duvet great. The receptionist tried to help with wi fi but admitted it was a big problem

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.0
    Wish I had done a bit more research. Other delegates had better stays for less.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit dated and smelly. Over bath shower was impossible to turn on without a cold soaking as the shower screen prevented me reaching the taps. Ring marks & sticky patches on mismatched outdated furniture. On-site parking was full (only a few guests in the hotel though!). The road outside is quite noisy (its motorbike country) so having windows open is a bit tricky.

    Staff were friendly. Sheets/bedding were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    A lovely birthday surprise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had asked for bulb for the light in the lounge twice but in the end we moved 1 from another light.

    it was a stay to celebrate my husbands birthday, stayed in the Tinkerbell suite, very nice lots of room. Food both evenings very good and breakfasts also good. Hotel very central, good parking,loved Midhurst. We also met up with a very old friend of my husbands (a surprise for him) all in all a great break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just very noisy, we could hear the outside traffic including the beeping of the pedestrian crossing but also our room was over the bar and although they turned the music down at midnight upon request, we could hear people talking. Which not wanting to spoil anyone else fun was just a little annoying for us!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Rather expensive for the standard of room that you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom (a "junior suite") was looking / feeling a little tired and in need of refurbishment. Including: the sofa in particular in need of replacement, and the mattress felt uneven in it's support. The shower is over the bath and there was insufficient clearance for even a person of average height to stand up. That should have been made clear to us before we booked.

    The hotel and room had some character to them. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.0
    A little frustrating as the potential is there for it to be an excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating in the room wasn't working properly. It took until the following morning the get to a comfortable temperature. TV didn't work either.

    The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable bed lovely clean room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on ground floor in annex overlooking smoking yard noisy late at night people chatting and one stage arguing I had requested a quiet room on booking breakfast no fruit salad or grapefruit segments sausage was a small sausage slightly larger than cocktail!!

    Comfortable bed lovely clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    Housekeeping not up to scratch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping not done properly. Toiletries were not replenished. Done quite late in the afternoon so when we came back we had to wait.

    Cooked full English breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little hot at night but it was freezing outside so understandable they had ramped up the heating

    Lots of choice well cooked full english breakfast and help yourself cereals and pastries yoghurts etc coffee bit thin on flavour but thats personal preference Rooms very old and quirky with sloping floors did have to prop my water up to stonit sliding off the bedside table but that adds to the ambiance abd history of the place

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: