Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Angus Hotel 3 stars

14-16 Scotland Road, Carlisle, CA3 9DG, United Kingdom

#10 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Carlisle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 370 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    expected much more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was anniversary and I asked for a nice room on the special request part when I booked. Nobody mentioned that whatsoever and e were put the coldest furthest way room even though the hotel was empty .No room upgrade but never mind.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly place...warm and welcoming. Personalised service...and very flexible. One of our company needed an earlier breakfast than normal...and was easily accommodated. The only very minor drawback was the walk into town...a bit longer than anticipated, but that had more to do with our collective limited mobility (!) than the location of the hotel itself which is a 15 min walk from Carlisle's centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Quiet even though there were a lot of other guests. Staff very attentive to our needs and neatness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facilities were not private to the hotel. However, I was lucky to get the free parking included in my stay so it was not a major problem.

    Comfortable, clean, breakfast was delicious. Staff were lovely and very helpful when my daughter lost her Teddy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly landlady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy rd.

    Very friendly landlady. Great breakfasts and very kindly let us eat a take away curry in the dining room and she provided plates for us. The bed was very large and comfy and the shower was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Good value for money - clean and comfortable, and friendly staff - definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was amazingly kind and friendly. Room was cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - also variety of things to choose from. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean comfortable well-appointed room.Good breakfast.Walkable to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not surprisingly cannot park on main road outside hotel.Nearby car park and street parking ok though.Permit obtainable from hotel for free parking.

    10 mins walk to river and 15mins to town shops and good choice of restaurants. Bed comfortable and room quiet despite being on main road.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    The staff were great, the place is very clean and I would stay there again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were great, the place is very clean and comfortable, the price is fantastic, with good food for breakfast. I was very pleased with my stay and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, central stay while in Carlisle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was great.

    Was very impressed with the size of the hotel. The room was really comfy, very central and had a lovely breakfast in the morning. Wouyld definitely stay here again if in Carlisle. A short walk to the centre of Carlisle and some lovely restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to the main road meant we couldn't open the window for ventilation but it was okay.

    Nicely appointed bedroom with en-suit facilities. The breakfast was excellent with a very good selection of cereals and the meal was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not a hotel, it is a basic B&B and should not be advertised as a hotel. The ability to contact reception and ask for a drink to your room does not equate to having a bar. There is no evening meal offering. There was a very high smell of polish throughout and the bathroom floor could be lethal. The location of the hotel is on a very busy main road, parking is at a small corner plot away from the hotel (50 - 60 yards) and a permit is provided by the hotel. Carlisle itself is not a great place, center of town is grim and uninviting with very little options for an evening meal or drink. In hindsight we should have done more research on the location as it is not a suitable base for a Lake District/Cumbria holiday.

    The breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant. The Crown Pub over the road was a nice surprise and does good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night as a break on our way from S Wales to Scotland- can't fault anything and it was SO convenient as it was just 2 miles off the M6. Free parking too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay in Carlisle - comfortable & a short walk into town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside were the churchbells if you are a light sleeper and the parking is slightly inconvenient but well managed by the hotel.

    We had a very comfortable & spacious room towards the back of the hotel so it was quiet - the only disturbance was the local church clock chiming regularly. The en suite bathroom looked newly installed and was very clean. Location was about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and there were local eateries to choose from too. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking facilities...although there is a permit system, we still had to hunt for a place in the local streets ( it was a Saturday night)

    The bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Martin and Rachel the owners went out of their way to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a longer stay

    Martin and Rachel the owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was excellent and we had the use of a lovely lounge. Drinks were available from the bar. Very welcome after being out all day. We had a lovely time. Stayed 4 days

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bit of confusion with the room booking, which had been put into the wrong day. Thankfully they were able to find us a room for the correct date, but it was smaller. "Hotel" is a bit of a stretch as it didn't have a bar or restaurant; it was more of a B&B.

    The room was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. There was lots of parking nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant friendly small hotel with good facilties and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms at the front of course suffer from some road noise as might be expected , but the double glazing is effective so it does deaden it quite effectively.

    This is a lovely and friendly small hotel ideally situated close to the city centre. Rooms were very comfortable and all the facilities were clean and efficient. Breakfast was very good with quality produce. its location is ideal for those going to the Sands Centre ( as we were) which is just a 10 minute walk away. There is also a very comfortable residents lounge with tea and coffee readily available and overall we would not hesitate to stay here again. A bonus is a good pub across the road which is a lively local with a good selection of imaginative and well cooked food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A comfortable and relaxed stay with some good staff to make it feel even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly reception. Good clear instructions regarding car parking, very nearby, and assistance with luggage. Room had a very clean and comfortable atmosphere, all facilities catered for at a very reasonable cost. Well done, would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing all was good

    Great location close to the city centre Carlisle local pub opposite The Crown, car parking was less than 50 metres permit supplied by The Angus Hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything just great thanks

    Everything, very nice hotel. Everything was very clean tidy, beautiful building, great breakfast, great parking, walking distance to town. Would definately stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Easy B&B right near Carlisle Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfy and they made me a room service version of breakfast as I had to leave early. The woman behind the counter was very friendly even though I only booked with an hours notice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A little gem. Immaculately clean, excellent breakfast and extremely helpful management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Immaculately clean, all facilities available, good blinds to hide out the sun (very rarely used in the UK!), the greeting and, particularly, the excellent breakfast including facilitating an unexpected guest (our daughter). Could not praise this hotel highly enough. Will definitely come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    very clean and tidy accommodation in an excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the double bed was quite small and as such did not get a completely good night sleep -there was room in the room for a larger bed .

    very clean and well organised accommodation with excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and well appointed with everything you need for a...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rather soft and en suite very small but neither were too big an issue

    Very clean and well appointed with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Definitely stay there again as it was like home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking at the premises, but a car park very close. Normally okay but we had some very expensive classic bikes and were a little concerned about leaving them away from the hotel, however the host let us put our bikes out the back in a safe location. All credit to her.

    Lovely place and friendly staff. Bar and lounge available. Lovely garden out back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    A great start to our tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lounge was available for our group to relax in and eat a late evening picnic/pizza/glass of wine from the Sainsbury's local/Takeaway nearby. Exactly what was required.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in a public car park very nearby. Not a big problem for most but having a van that has been broken into in the past i would have prefered off-street

    Excellent eggs at breakfast. Very clean. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Quite area with good local restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much larger on the inside than it looks on the outside. Very clean and quite. Good facilities and staff very friendly and helpful even to the point a table at the local restaurant was booked for us. Excellent breakfast .

    Quite area with good local restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Very Pleasant ,certainly would use it again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really,if I wanted to be picky the extractor fan in ensuite was noisy.

    Breakfast was excellent,Hotel was spotless .Comforable lounge for a cup of coffee on return from trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great off road parking. Hotel was really clean. Bed was comfortable. Good WiFi. Excellent breakfast. Host could not have been better. Would recommend to my friends and family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay. Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: Lots of street noise. Two pubs across the road. Student housing flats two doors down. Parking is hit or miss and you need to get a parking permit from the hotel for the car park around the corner.

    Pros:Lovely hotel. Clean room and ensuite. All the amenities you could want. Very friendly owners. Good breakfast. Located close to Carlisle city center. Good wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, friendly small hotel, ideally located for a break en route to the Highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor downside at The Angus is parking is a hundred yards or so away in a small public parking area but the hotel provides a parking permit and we've never found any difficulty.

    What makes The Angus exceptional is Martin and Rachel's friendliness and absolute commitment to their guests' comfort. The freshly cooked breakfast is as good as you'll get anywhere (and much better than many four star hotel chains) and while the evening meal choice is simple the food is again excellent. The rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter but all are impeccably clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Love them come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our bed was not stable, unfortunately we did find a hole in the middle under the mattress.when we went to sleep, we took this problem. We were too tired and too late a room to change. If we asked They definitely helped and solved this problem.

    We visit them couple of years ago and was 5* and now we booked again in last minute.They so clean,flexible room is modern have everything what you need.Plenty choice good quality food .Our boys suffering from gluten intolerance but they look after him very well.Special thanks for that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Carlisle
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds comfy, room nice and big, very clean everywhere, bonus of a fridge in the room . Lovely big lounge to relax in where you could make yourself a hot drink , owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely set you up for the day. Handy bus stop near hotel if you don't drive .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Average - will probably look to stay elsewhere in future.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed (I have never had this problem before) Only 1 hand towel supplied for 2 persons - this should be checked by house staff. Bathroom heater did not work - again this should be checked by house staff before arrival to make sure it operates when the cord is pulled, and not left to a customer to search for a switch which might or might not exist somewhere. Usually complimentary biscuits are supplied to go with teas and coffee - none on this occasion.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay and when next in Carlisle would definitely book this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Proprietors really helpful & friendly! The room/common areas have fresh decor/floor coverings. All nice & clean & tidy. Full English Breakfast included (plus veggie option) was lovely & there's a wide choice of extras. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    Food OK rest will pass next time . Not 2 star Def not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had 3 spiders webs on the window wall . The bed was very very soft (worn) there was a electric fridge on the carpet in the bed room . The car park is round the corner you do get a parking permit but you can't get a parking space if busy . .

    Carisle is nice .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly hospitable place, very clean with helpful owners Freshly cooked, plentiful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little cramped, but adequate and very clean.

    Owners were friendly and helpful. It was quiet, peaceful. Breakfast was plentiful, good choices. freshly cooked. Car park less than a minute's walk away, free with permit from the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Property well located, excellent breakfast lovely people the rest just satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature not consistent,noise of traffic so couldn’t have windows open at night, didn’t service room ie change bins and didn’t replace tea coffee and milk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Stay thank you
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower rate was a little slow. This is the only thing wrong with it but thats just me being picky.

    The cleaniness, the warmth from staff and the breakfast. The bedrooms were spacious and exceptally clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, very clean, breakfast was good and staff were helpful. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were chairs to sit on in room, but we're they were positioned you couldn't see tv. Therefore we had to sit on bed. There was a communal lounge were you could get coffee and biscuits but we didn't see a tv in this room

    Very Clean breakfast good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Great place, lovely food, nice comfy beds, very clean.. good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Lovely place Martin made us feel very welcome ,extremely helpful with directions and best parking areas.... Lovely breakfast, lovely hotel .. made our stay most enjoyable love visiting carlisle. Thanks to both of you we be definately returning truly recommend staying

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    very enjoyable and relaxing. very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my teenage son couldn't get wifi in his room but a small thing really

    very clean rooms, including the bathrooms. The owners were approachable and friendly. the breakfast varied and served to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean, family run, easy to find hotel. Breakfast excellent. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, quite happy with stay.

    Had been refurbished. Very friendly family hotel. Clean, Breakfast was very good. Parking was in small car park round the corner, but pass was given for windscreen. Would go there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Welcome nights stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside i could see are the steps and stairs which may not suite anyone with mobility difficulties.

    Very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast served on a lovely hot plate. Location was a pleasant 20 min walk from castle, Cathedral and shopping centre. Had a good peaceful night's sleep. Very lovely and helpful landlady.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Not what we thought we had booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was a let down and was all frozen food. The parking was not on sight but was up the road in a public car park away from the hotel. It was not close to the town centre and the historical sites..

    The Breakfast was very good and set us up fr the day. The room was very nice and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The ratings part of this survey not working. The Angus was great, good breakfast, rooms, staff great and not too far from the city center and attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like

    We found the hotel owners very friendly .The bedroom was very clean and of a good size , plenty of teas and coffees . And the breakfast was fantastic .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady (sorry can't remember her name) was lovely, very welcoming, flexible ( I arrived late) and attentive, lovely room and the breakfast was perfect, will be back the next time I'm in Carlisle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Rachael was very helpful and made us feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rachael was very helpful and made us feel at home. Special touches made this place rate highly for us. Our host was exceptional. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    A very comfortable night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been helpful if we had been told the parking was in a public parking place a few yards from the hotel as we drove round the block once trying to find hotel only parking.

    Nice large light room. Bed very comfortable. Perfect for a one night stay. We were able to walk into Carlisle across the river which was very beautiful. Although we were by a busy road there was little noise in the room although we kept the windows closed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was ordered the night before, great selection and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could have been better

    Breakfast was ordered the night before, great selection and it tasted even better! One of the best cooked breakfasts I have had for a while. Would definitely recommend just for the breakfast but location was great and staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on main road. Bathroom & shower very small. No fridge so asked owner to place medication in fridge and ice blocks for medication in freezer, however when picked up next morning - the ice blocks were not frozen. Breakfast lady offered ice blocks but were not suitable. Stairs can be a problem with luggage.

    Was clean & bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Only stayed one night and if we return to Carlisle we would got back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was on the small size and we are not big people WiFi in the bedroom was poor

    Breakfast was excellent. Very friendly people Room was very clean and comfortable Location near the park which was nice to walk around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean and excellent value for money!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners couldn't not have been more helpful. We stayed here twice, once on the way to Scotland and then for a longer stay on the way back. The room was clean and comfortable. We were at the back of the BandB so it was also quiet. The breakfast was great and we ordered packed lunches which were delicious and excellent value for money. We had drinks from the on site bar and ate our own food in the dining room on one of the evenings, which we were also given plates and cutlery for. The sitting room was comfortable and light and although we didn't sit in it we thought it looked cosy and inviting. The city was a ten minute walk down the hill and we thought this was just about the right distance for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Host Rachel was really nice , she upgraded my room which was very nice of her. The hotel is good. lots of info, the breakfast was good and there is a good pub opposite also a good curry house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good bench mark is if the shower/toilet area is clean. The Angus Hotel's standard was excellent in this area. The room was spotless the bed was comfy and the breakfast was excellent. The owners were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 35 hours travelling time, it was so lovely, welcoming and bed was so comfortable, we slept for 12 hours and woke up jetlag free! We were blown away by the history of Carlisle and the fact this hotel is actually built on the foundations of Hadrians Wall was breathtaking! The hosts Martin & Rachel are delightful and Martins knowledge of the local history is fabulous! Highly recommend! Oh and the full English breakfast was so good!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Very welcoming staff and a nice room, fairly priced. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated on a very busy main road and it was a bit noisy but I was not surprised as I had looked on the map and was fully aware when I booked it

    .The room and hotel in general were spotlessly clean.I booked a single room which was entirely satisfactory and although the building is not purpose built the bathroom was very modern and the room had everything I needed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Plugs with usb slot - my son was very impressed
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a main road -easy to find but some noise at the front

    Plugs with usb slot - my son was very impressed Friendly welcome /service Very prompt breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    All in all a really comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was having trouble with the WiFi. It kept dropping in and out of connection which was a little frustrating. I did mention this to the owner. She had the router re boosted for a better signal but didn't fix the problem. Unfortunately this was the only issue.

    Room was very comfortable. Not too small. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Good stay @ the Angus Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was fine however check out is too early if you want to satisfy and see the return of guests an 11am checkout would help play in to this.

    Good room and shower, nice and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked it all.

    Calm and efficient staff. Immaculate. 10 mins walk into town centre. Directions on noticeboard was a bonus. I hadn't realised there was an underpass.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming hotel, comfortable stay, great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we could not eat a cooked breakfast on the morning, however, we totally understood this as we had to be up at 5am to prep for the run and were out of the hotel by 6am.

    The couple who run this hotel are fantastic. We had to be up and out early doors the following morning as we were taking part in an ultra marathon. This meant we could not tuck into a cooked breakfast!..The staff did not disappoint though. I great breakfast selection was dropped off at out room on the evening. This included porridge, x2 cereal bars, apple, yoghurts, and tea and coffee. Brilliant service. The hotel is only around half a mile from the town/city centre too, just over the bridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Angus Hotel lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very easy to find,just off m6

    Lovely and welcoming hotel, bed and pillows very comfy, good choice for breakfast,hotel spotlessly clean,would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Jess Glynne stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis organisation after jess glynne concert at Carlisle racecourse, had to walk back

    The lady was lovely and very helpful , the Crown Inn across the road served delicious food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Great old town, with history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    We enjoyed our brief stay. Host suggested several place dine that evening. Good suggestion of the Italian place. Attended church at the cathedral in that a.m. Great experience to just drive, walk through the town. Breakfast was very good. Hosts were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Clean, effective, cheap - My future autobiography title.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Making clearer how to replenish the tea and coffee. Which is available in the communal front room. Not a massive issue and most likely me not remembering having been told.

    The staff were very flexible when dealing with requests. Thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    When business turns to pleasure!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in a single room which was very well appointed and comfortable, unfortunately had to check out before cooked breakfast was served but my hosts provided a continental breakfast tray in my room which was greatly appreciated, I will hopefully be returning soon as have business commitments in Workington.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Have recommended to family walkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked another chair so one of us didn't have to sit on the bed, rooms on small side though.

    Helpful staff/owners. Immaculate bathroom and masses of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Good for city centre visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't that good, mushrooms chopped into tiny bits to make them go further and sloppy scrambled eggs. Hotel lacks atmosphere and decor is dated

    Close to city centre and public transport. Rooms are basic but clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Excellent nights rest, great owners, clean room, good price, what's not to like!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were great, very helpful, the room was clean, quiet and I had a good night's sleep with a great breakfast to follow. Their car park is very close to the hotel, (though I missed it first time round) a council run facility, for which the hotel provides a free pass to use for the duration of your stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent privately run Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not Applicable

    Most helpful and friendly Staff throughout the hotel. We had difficulty with a delay in our Ferry Journey and had to contact the Owner to say that we would be late arriving, she was extremely helpful in assisting us with our very late arrival to ensure that we were able to access the Hotel. Our Room Key and Breakfast information was to hand on arrival and the following morning breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, good value for money, nice bed, excellent b.fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not close to property, had to carry cases 50 yards or so.

    About a twenty minute walk to Carlisle city centre, but a nice riverside walk. Excellent breakfast. Good facilities along with history in the town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Stay at the Angus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the beds, nowadays people do have bigger beds and zipable twins would be worth having and serve two purposes

    Athough expected two beds in the room, one was actually a bed setee and was very hard. Thereforewe slept in one not ideal as we are used to a 6ft bed and this was a double

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: