Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Argyll Hotel 3 stars

54 Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, United Kingdom

#4 of 7 hotels in Dunoon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the most horrendous noise for hours from about 12.30am until 3.30am from the main street our room overlooked the street on the first floor - I think the noise was young people shouting and screaming to each other from one end of the street to another and queuing at fast food outlets it was awful - I thought the world was ending!

    location very good with free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Barman wanted to shut the bar early so he could catch the Karaoke in a pub up the road. There was plenty of people who wanted to have a few more drinks. His excuse it was a sunday. It was only 10.30!!!! Apart from this a great Hotel.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was quite quiet I tried to engage her in conversation to no avail. Bar lunch I had a ceaser wrap. The chicken was dry and tough I didn't want to complain.

    The breakfast was great..The bed was very comfortable and the view brilliant. 66 stairs up to my room helped make up for me over eating.😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Night porter would not respond at night and left us standing at the door for over half an hour until a guest was awakened and complained about the banging. Their entry system dosn't work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaraunt let the side down with having no Italian wines . Food was good and service was ok

    Bed was comfy and ensuite bathroom big enough . Overall staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception desk was built for people above average height. I'm 5' 4", and had to stand on tiptoe to see what I was doing - really uncomfortable! At night there was a party going on downstairs and the thump thump of the music kept me awake for a while - but not for too long.

    The lady who checked me in was friendly and welcoming. My room (a single) was small but very comfortable and the decor very much to my taste. The bathroom was clean and very modern, though I did wonder why they hadn't managed to find a lavatory seat that fitted. But everything worked well, and the hot water was hot. A very, very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the beautiful room overlooking the sea, on a bright sunny morning, was a pleasure, with the most delicious stewed prunes, first class scrambled eggs and a generous pot of coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little tired could do with refresh in some areas.

    Staff all helpful & friendly. We ate in the hotels italian restaurant & had a great meal. Hearty breakfast next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in the en-suite bathroom was so powerful and the shower screen was so inadequate that every time we had a shower we had to mop up the bathroom floor.

    Staff were friendly throughout our visit. Nice big room with plenty of storage space and a good view. Italian restaurant in hotel served tasty food (even though I didn't get what I ordered)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear other guests come in during the night. The floorboards were creaky and the bathroom was very small. It was also difficult to heat the room.

    The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. The location was convenient, although the works outside the hotel were not so good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice on fruits , breads, crereals etc could have been better and cooked breakfast portion sizes were quite small

    superb italian restaurant and cocktails. Perfect location with amazing views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of pub next door. Breakfast was ok but not great. Asked for two rooms together. One was on 3rd floor and other was on 1st. Not exactly close!!

    Nice hotel and views (if you get a room with views). Clean and comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was the carpet in the room and on the staircase.

    This hotel is very dated but staff are very friendly. The first room we were allocated was very small and one side of the bed was stuck against the wall which meant crawling over one another to get in and out. We asked if it could be changed and it was with no hesitation. Again it was small with coombed ceilings but was very clean. to be fair the only thing letting the room down were the badly marked carpets. The breakfast was very good and all in All for what we paid..£64.80 it was more than adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have done without the Union flag flying from the building. Businesses need to learn that, to an increasing number of people in Scotland, this symbol of British Nationalism is very offensive.

    I can forgive just about anything else if the staff are as friendly and efficient as those at Argyll Hotel. But there was nothing much to forgive as the facilities and location suited me fine and it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairwell and bathrooms need update.

    We had upgraded room, very good value, very comfortable bed, ensuite shower room a little ‘tired looking’ but lots of hot water and powerful flow. Good central location, excellent sandwich shop just opposite (Bites). Ate in restaurant bar a couple of nights, basic but good food and good value. A beautiful old building with sea views, a little tired in parts but would stay again. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was a fire alarm on the Sunday morning , the hotel had no fire marshal , the owner stood crying , no one took control, speaking to other guests I was informed that this had happened the week before , as a consequence of this , we had no breakfast and no refund from the management

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for breakfast and a fire broke out in the kitchen. Luckily no one was hurt but staff were not prepared for an evacuation. They had to get an extinguisher from reception and started to leave the building before guests realised there was a fire. It was a good few minutes before the alarm went off. It was pandemonium. We will NEVER use this hotel group again

    An old hotel with wobbly uneven floors . Nice views good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairway stinks of sweat and smoke. First room we had the mattress felt like it was filled with dead cats. Second room we got was a little better but the wallpaper was hanging off in the bathroom. Curtains were hanging off. Serious lack of plug sockets. Place needs a serious deep clean and update.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night could not get to sleep as there was a taxi rank and a night club outside our window. We complained at reception about this but they did not take any notice .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that the hotel can control that I would change

    This was my 4th stay at this hotel in recent years and I could tell that the hotel had changed hands. It was obvious when I walked through the door of my room that efforts were being made to upgrade the hotel and this was more than welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast order was wrong but apologies made. Inexplicably, my TV turned itself on in the middle of the night so that was a bit spooky ( room 107 ). Check for ghosts!!

    comfortable room and reasonably quiet. staff friendly and willing to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold draughty room. Small cramped no hot water for three days. Staff rude at breakfast. Fire Almaty constantly going off. Phone in room didn’t work Miserable experience for what was an emotional day personally

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was short changed at the bar by one of the female bar staff on my first evening at the hotel. On arrival my allocated room door would not lock, however this was quickly sorted out and I was able to change to a room with a lockable bedroom door.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help. The accommodation was very nice and comfortable. The hotel was very quiet at night making for a restful sleep. I ate in the Rio Italian restaurant during my stay and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the beef lasagne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was nearly full and this must have put pressure on the hot water system - water was cold in thee evening and while it was hot later it was cold again in the morning.

    the view, bed comfy, good meal in restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft and very uncomfortable. There was a constant hum from a generator as our room was above the dinning area.

    The property was in a central location within short walks from any pub/ restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way smaller than we expected, the toilet didn't flush properly and we couldn't get the shower to work. We definitely don't feel this room (130) was worth what we paid for it

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred my omelette a little more runny, but chacun a son gout... Food generally very good.

    Warm and friendly reception on arrival, including very helpful advice on parking. Specail weekend rate very good value for a Sunday night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of renovation in places particularly stairwell, strange smell, poor carpet and decor. No hot water in the morning, cold shower at 9.30am. Breakfast disappointing, not a Scottish breakfast, budget sausages. Superior room paid for as we wanted the sea view but bed was standard double only and mattress not comfortable, furniture dated and worn.

    Great location and sea view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    What a Wonderful Hotel with Truly Wonderful Staff, Who were Very Efficient, Polite, Helpful and Attentive to our Needs. All Their Service to us Was Excellent. Hotel Also Has a Lift. Our Room 103 was Lovely and Big. Good Size Bathroom With Heated Towel Rail, Soap, Shower Gel, Shampoo, Toilet Rolls and Plenty Of Clean Towels, Deep Bath with Shower, incl. anti Slip Mat. The Sea View was Just Great From The Bathroom But Not Much Sea View from the Actual Bedroom, could see more of The Roof But The Room Was Still Lovely. The Room Was a Bit Dusty But Nothing Major, Lovely Thick Curtains, Its Own Heater And a Great, Great Big Double Bed with Lots of Pillows and Clean Bedding. This Hotel is very old but it is Very, Very Comfortable to have a 6 Night stay in. Double Wardrobe with Hangers, 2 Draw Cupboard Enclosed Plus Ironing Board and Iron. A Comfy Chair, Table and Chair The Food In The Hotel is Mouth Watering and The Atmosphere Is So Laid Back and Relaxed You Feel Right At Home. This Hotel Is Well Worth A Stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Ate in the hotels Rio's Italian restaurant and had a really nice meal, no complaints at all. Booked a double room, received a twin room but this was resolved straight away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most uncomfortable beds, springs sticking into you. Bright orange light shining into the room all night even with blinds and thick curtains, shower either scorching hot or freezing cold.. dirty carpets and other peoples hairs over sink and pee on the toilet.. moved to another room better beds but poo marks still in toilet and overall cleanliness not great.. breakfast was cheap food, poached eggs tasted of vinegar, fried eggs like bouncy balls.. cheap Morrisons bread still in bags at toaster. certainly not 3* as rated

    Nothing, apart from the friendly reception lady who help make sure that our second nights sleep was better than the first by moving us to another room, slight improvement in mattress, still poor cleanliness but lovely view of the water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cracked and dirty saucer in the bedroom nor the carpet.

    The Italian restaurant. Peace and quiet bedroom and very comfortable. Four poster bed nice and big king.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating not functioning properly in the room, and very cold location being on the seafront. Tripping over cables of electric heaters. Family rooms located under function hall, the overspill of loud noise, and music from a function (we were not in attendance of) kept children awake to 11.45pm.

    Location for the town and shops in Dunoon. Staff were very helpful with our enquiries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is NOT available and likely will not be available in the future; however, that is my only negative comment.

    Friendliness of all the staff and the location of the hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is across the road in the ferry car park. A part of this public car park is free. Seemingly there is subsidence in the Argyll car park and the council wont allow people to park there despite the hotel asking them to. Part of the hotel is built on reclaimed land and the car parks. You can park anywhere on the esplanade anyway.

    We really liked this hotel. It is the best we've found yet in Dunoon. The staff especially reception were really lovely and helpful. We especially liked the Italian restaurant very good food and choice. Budget wise very reasonable. FREE bottle of wine on first night appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get temperature of shower right. Either frozen or too hot.

    The helpfulness of ALL members of staff. Their local knowledge regarding ferries was invaluable especially as service was disrupted due to bad weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinning room and bar area were absolutely freezing - there was a radiator on in the bar area Bt it didn't heat much at all - there was NO heating in the dinning room at all. All guest sat with their coats on throughout dinner - myself included. Some guests left. Also we had 2 different rooms and BOTH mattresses were awful - hard and lumpy, up all night tossing & turning. Dinner was a let dwn for me - I ordered gammon steak & pineapple and they were both cooked on a grill plate that hadn't been cleaned from previous food - so gammon steak & the pineapple were brown all over..

    The staff were lovely - Joanna the manager got onto our complaint straight away.. Very efficient in sorting it out - but alas the 2nd mattress was JST as bad as the 1st.The AMAZING central location! Fabulous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to sleep with my feet sticking out of the bottom of the bed. I think the bed was shorter than normal to fit in the room. This was a standard double room

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in need of an update - very dated however was extremely clean. Staff were extremely helful as we had trouble getting our room door open. Staff at breakfast very helpful and friendly.

    Area is in a lovely setting.! staff very helpful - and food was good in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortage of staff in the evening in the restaurant which meant we sat with plates on the table for twenty minutes.

    Good view from windows and Central to the town Parking was okay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing not much on offer of cereals and yougarts or fruit for the price of our stay very basic

    Hotel was nice in a good location for bars and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rooms dirty, mould, unclean. Rooms very small beds very small. Rooms very cold. Stair well and rooms smell of damp. Had to ask for different rooms. Staff not very responsive at all.

    Nothing at all. Poor all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the toast should be brought to table .There was no croisssants or pastries . There was also a surcharge for some breakfast items.

    We all had a full Scotttish breakfast which was fine.The bacon was a bit dry but everything else was cooked well. Coffee was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    N/A

    The staff was very accommodating, they waited on us constantly and a very good source of information( were to and not to go and general advice). Especially Corina and Darryl.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time it was fine - last time we had to contend with a bus tour, whose passengers organised bingo while we were trying to have dinner in the bar. This time we checked, and my advie is to do that because otherwise you may find the dining room booked out.

    Central location ' my wife cannot walk far. We stay here twice a year to visit my wife´s son and grandson. Facilities fine for a *** hotel, and dinner was very good, of a bar supper type. Dunoon itself is a bit tired but the sunrise over the Firth of Clyde was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not that comfy mattresses could feel springs

    Staff very friendly nothing too much bother breakfast excellent great views of water and town very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather.

    We were visiting friends so only used the hotel mostly for sleeping but at breakfast felt that the choice on the menu was very good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was not up to standard.

    Plain ordinary breakfast fare. Nothing fancy at all. Staff very pleasant and helpful The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the area and has splendid views over the Firth of Clyde.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a towel underneath the sink as water just gushed through tap making it awkward to wash hands/brush teeth. Bedside lamp was not working and although we advised of this the lightbulb remained unchanged.Pipes made loud noises and three times the shower came on of its own accord.

    I enjoyed the breakfast and staff attentive to our order

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 10.15pm batman friendly enough but did not mention anything about closing the bar down. Also reception was closed and front door locked at same time. Well before the 11pm time stated on the hotels details.

    Comfortable Room, reception staff extremely helpful. Italian restaurant attached was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room 123 was disappointing in comparison, dirty mark on wall near headboard, toilet very close to door, floor tiles cracked and shower tiles very dated. Not a fault of hotel but street noise went on until 4.30am.

    Staff were friendly and attentive.telephoned me to correct bill discrepancy which was much appreciated My relatives single room 107 was excellent,spacious, modern bathroom, warm and clean. My room was warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception took a long time to serve me upon checking in and out. Breakfast servers were a bit slow and unattatentive. Stairway smelt musty.No pastries/black pudding or haggis with breakfast. Could feel and hear springs on right side of bed.

    Location and price. Room quality was appropriate for price and star rating. Temperature comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was a wee bit outdated, squeky floor, rugs a bit smelly. bed not bad.

    location is right the center of town. the view from my room was excellent. see the firth of clyde from my window. the staffs were very polite from the receptionist to the restaurant servers. the handyman was very attentive. very convenient to the ferry landing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was non existent and the front steps to reception are not very good for my disabled parents. The entrance is old and needs a wee bit of a freshen up.

    The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about the staff or the position of hotel it was

    The bed was very comfortable and I booked a single room but was given a double for the same price . It was a good size and the bathroom shower was the best I have ever seen in a hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath & bar clising early

    Was gutted there was no bath. Leather Furniture was worn away. Hotel needs decoration. Also was a little annoyed the bar was closed when we got in at 10.45pm as we came back for a nightcap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable, I could feel and hear every spring. Some sockets and lights didn't work. The hot and cold water were incorrectly labelled and the toilet seat was loose. My room faced the Main Street which was very noisy when the pubs closed, so I was awake half the night between the creaky bed and the shouting and singing outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is in serious need of an update/remodel. It's old and dirty.

    The woman working at the front desk was great. The restaurant staff left a lot to be desired.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Location was great right on the water in the old downtown area. Historical building. Price was great for a one and two person room. Also the embedded pub with a balcony view of the water and a very nice restaurant set up. Close to the ferry for the morning departure (or arrival).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows quite dirty ( I was on the first floor). The phone and 2 of the lights in the room did not seem to work, although I did not need to use them. Did not have some of the wines on the menu by the glass as offered. Also, no espresso coffee available at lunchtime.

    Beds were nice and clean. Bathroom also very clean and quite modern. Fish pakora was excellent. Room rates very reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant at dinner time, as the menu was varied and the prices were reasonable. Steak pie with a crunchy pastry was the choice for the two of us. I was suprised when I saw the waitress bringing it to our table, as there seemed to be no evidence of the pastry! However when it arrived, it was obvious that the pastry was there, although flat as a pancake and smothered in gravy. The pastry was really soggy too. In my opinion, it had been microwaved instead of being baked in the oven. As we were both really hungry, we did eat it, and the meat was tender and very tasty, but the meal was spoiled by the pastry, the whole point of having a pie, surely? We did mention it to the waitress, but the people at the next table who ordered the same meal after us were given their pie in the same condition!! It was a shame, as we visit Dunoon often and have stayed in the Argyll before, and will do so again, but we will definitely eat somewhere else next time.

    Our room was comfortable and clean and we had free toiletries in the bathroom. The location of the hotel was great, only steps from the pier where the ferry comes in, and on the main street in Dunoon, so next to shops, pubs etc. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities a little tired Shower had very little power CookedBreakfast on Sunday morning not great, food had obviously been cooked for a while and not very hot - restaurant was extremely busy at this time. Breakfast other days was good.

    Great location with superb views Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rain

    Hotel was nice bit dated, but good clean and in centre of the town easy access from car ferry room were good but again dated although beds were excellent very good sleep one of the best in any hotel I have stayed on my world travels, staff were very good and very helpful I would recommend if staying in Dunoon although it does rain a lot but excellent hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of confusion upon check in as I reserved 2 rooms through booking.com but the hotel only had one room reserved. The Manager, I believe Joanna Black was her name, was very helpful and luckily they had one room left to accommodate my group. Our family room was nice and spacious. I loved the ambiance of this hotel. Really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning that was included in our stay too. Just wish we had more time in Dunoon to stay another night. Another bonus: I lost my phone which was recovered at the hotel and I was contacted by the IT manager to report that it had been found and they are taking care of sending back to me. Thank you to Janos Zsapka (IT Manager at the hotel ) for contacting me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no bath which was a real blow as we had been camping for a few days. The hotel room details said it had a bath. I asked if we could swap to a room with a bath but was told there weren't any. About half an hour later the receptionist rang and said they now had a room. After I had said we would move she said it would be an extra £15. I declined!' The room was very small, dark and gloomy!! Not a bit like the photos we had seen. When we arrived the guy on reception ignored us for ages as he was sorting out a problem with the phone. He didn't offer any info such as that the room included breakfast and the location and times of breakfast. We didn't think it included breakfast as it didn't say anything on our paperwork from the email we got. It would ha be been very helpful if he had told us. Been a long time since I have complained about a hotel. Real shame as it spoiled the last day of our holiday.

    Close to ferry. Italian restaurant attached which was ok. Convenient as was pouring with rain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At mealtimes service became a bit chaotic, no real organisation. reception staff/ barman seemed to be helping in the kitchen to the detriment of the other duties.

    Comfortable room with plenty of space, booked a single but allocated a double. Food ok, pleasant bar area with good views. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated

    Friendly staff and service. Although it appears dated when you enter the hotel the rooms were nicely presented. Evening meal and breakfast very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole Hotel has a slightly dated feel to it, but I knew that it was an old victorian building and a landmark for the town of Dunoon, so it did not deter me from booking.

    We paid and extra £4 for the Superior View room, which was worth it, plenty of room and we had a double aspect room, facing the sea in both directions. There was lots of period features in the Lounge and Dining areas, ornate cornice work and large feature arched windows, with stunning views over the Pier and River Clyde. Very reasonably priced restaurant, with plenty of options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some updating, to bring back, to its former glory.

    Central to town, pier front. Promenade. Friendly Staff. Good food, excellent breakfast, porridge yummy. Well done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from nightclub spilling across the road was unbelievable and when spoke to the manager about it she states it is not a regular occurrence. I used to live in Dunoon and know it is a regular occurrence so suggested they don't put families on that side of the hotel on a Saturday night. Breakfast was poor with grubby menus we had to hunt for and a very small selection of cereal or tinned fruit or yoghurt. Very disappointed in the decor and cleanliness. We won't be returning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room , very noisy until 3-30 in morning and the cleanliness wasn't great, carpet was not very clean, also there was dust all over the lights for a family room not impressed at all, have stayed here before and was very pleased with our stay, but first time with children.

    The staff are really friendly x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't as hot as it could've been. Waiting staff forgot our tea x 2 requests and had to ask again and toast wasn't really toasted, more like warmed bread. Porage was thin and milky. Also menu was unlamenated and a little grubby.

    Central location good bar food menu and friendly helpful staff. breakfast was filling.room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room i was giving was a single room and it was small your lucky if you could turn in it properly the carpet was very dirty and if you ran your finger across it the dirt came with it. Only one main light worked too and the tv was so high up on the wall when you were in bed you could see the screen properly. But i would come back again id just order a bigger room

    The overall atmosphere was great id say great for couples and families

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Clan 4-Poster Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to enter by side exit door, but it was always open for me when necessary. Lift was a little small, but was adequate. As I had a four wheeler walker and would be difficult to use steps and stairs.

    Clean and quiet, good view. Staff very professional and caring . I was here for a family funeral. Food good and room service. Comfortable bed. Thick lovely towels. Heated towel rail. Walk in shower. Complimentary toiletries. Wall heater to regulate yourself. Blackout curtains. Hairdryer. Good TV and radio. WiFi. Excellent choice at breakfast. Lounge and bar throughout the day. Italian restaurant adjoining to the hotel. Just five minutes walk from the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Only one handle on the window which made it very difficult to push up.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very close to ferry and bus terminal. Room clean, bed very comfortable, bathroom had bath and shower with toiletries. Choice of breakfast e.g. Full English etc. We ate dinner at the hotel very good, large variety of choice. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: