Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ashton 5 stars

Wyresdale Road, Lancaster, LA1 3JJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 44 B&B reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    10

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave

    Great staff who are so helpful and friendly without being overbearing and the breakfasts were fantastic. The room was so perfect, from the view to the designer flask of fresh milk. It was comfortable with everything you needed just to hand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all perfect

    The whole experience was wonderful and romantic Very luxurious and catered for me being gluten free too The decor was exceptional quality and nothing was too much trouble for the staff WE loved the bed and the underfloor heating in the bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If walking into town, there are a couple of hills so maybe get a taxi instead of walking in heels! But otherwise nice quiet location.

    Lovely period property with modern facilities & stylish decor. Huge double bed and room. Bathroom had a double shower which was fab. Nice touches of complimentary water & jellybeans. Staff were lovely: gave recommendations for dinner, day trip, plus printed out a map of Lancaster for us. Breakfast was delicious - lots of options to choose from. Definitely a 5* B&B.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cant think what i didnt liked in The Ashton..

    Bed room and Breakfast... its really nice house and James makes us a delicious breakfast and cakes for afternoon tea.... And there is a dog and cat.. they are so friendly.. Love the pet..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was perfect!

    Where do I start? James was warm and hospitable. He made me a pot of tea, offered me cake. Room was large and well put together. Bath tub and toiletries were lovely. Bed was blissfully comfortable. Breakfast was AMAZING. The living room and dining room were beautiful and welcoming, with treats everywhere. I've stayed in 5-star hotels all over the world and this beats all of them hands down! I can't wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would highly recommend this place if your staying in Lancaster. Close enough to everything you need, taxi ride is only 5 minutes away. James is lovely and very welcoming. The room is spotless, homely and cosy.. amazing shower too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault the place but the directions were a little confusing. The signage is low down on the wall and easily missed.

    Beautiful decor, superb breakfast - local produce perfectly cooked - and an excellent host.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi connection in the room.

    Very spacious room with complimentary tea. Hot chocolate. Cookies and lots more. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast a total delight. Love the decor of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I came to Lancaster for work and wish I could have stayed longer after spending time at The Ashton. The grounds are beautiful and serene. James is an excellent host and also makes a fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless

    Such a friendly, beautiful place to stay. No hesitation in recommending.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The proprietor was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast Well decorated room Beautiful country location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Friendliness cleanliness decor location breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, warm & had everything we needed including a very comfortable bath. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is lovely- very accomodating, thoughtful and a great chef. Very comfortable stay- extremely relaxing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food, decor, pure luxury

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfasts! Raspberry friands and Eggs Benedict amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one single thing!

    Everything was awesome! Meticulous attention to detail.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Prosecco on arrival. Fresh milk in the fridge

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A touch of class with lots of choice and everything made to order. Lots of little extras all through the hotel .Delicious 😋

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic room Great hoste

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    light bulbs need replacing to desk;renew port;clean velux rooflights;

    breakfast best ever; so friendly; highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Brilliant hosting, lots of little extras, comfy bed and great breakfast - cake and wine on tap - thoroughly enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    James gave us a master room even though we had only booked a standard. Beautiful house, v comfy bed and delicious breakfast. We would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Lovely decor. Quiet location. Well appointed room at front of house.Friendly welcome from owner with delicious Victoria Sponge cake and coffee. Superb breakfast lots of choice cooked by owner.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was the best we have ever had and we have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world. Very comfy room and bed. Lovely bathrooms. Lots of lovely extras.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Couple

    The shower was slightly narrow.

    Beautifully pointed and tastefully decorated, Greeted on arrival by the host and made to feel like a vid=siting friend.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An amazing stay on our wedding night. James went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed, including a bottle of prosecco! The breakfast was incredible and we were extremely happy with the service.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I am delighted that I chose The Ashton for our 2 night stay in Lancaster. Everything that I had read about The Ashton re location, décor, quality of furnishings and fittings, room standard, the personal service by James and the splendid fresh cooked breakfasts was 100% correct. Would without doubt book The Ashton again.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff couldn't do enough for us during our stay, maps, taxis, early check in, and early breakfast with check out. Everything done with a smile, we both loved our visit and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry, we can't think of anything.

    The Ashton scored highly on all the essentials but the friendly & hospitable welcome was particularly nice (inc. wine and delicious cake!). The full English breakfast was by far the best we've ever had anywhere; perfectly cooked and beautifully presented on the plate.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The accommodation, facilities and staff were wonderful. Everything had been thought through from the warm welcome with delicious home made cake, the extra touches in the bedroom ( fresh milk in the fridge, jelly beans, fresh flowers) the range of breakfast on offer to the well chosen furnishings and decor. This gave the kind of service that every hotel should aim for. We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The hotel, service. Everything was excellent from arrival to departure. Next time we come to the Lancaster area we will definitely stay at the Ashton.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location,away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet within easy reach of all Lancaster had to offer. Friendly and courteous staff,especially the owner ( James ) Superb breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    James is a perfect host and breakfast was excellent. Can't fault anything.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Couple

    Warm welcome and lovely room.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Attention to detail - outstanding!!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were great spacious and a lovely setting.

    Lovely place but absolutely freezing in the rooms through night. That is my only fault.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Warm welcome, gorgeous room, wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel was lovely, James was very helpful & breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything perfect James a great host

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    the nicest welcome we have ever had anywhere in the world

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The perfect guesthouse

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pimms on arrival was a real treat. Nothing too much trouble. Peaceful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best breakfast in uk

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful house and gardens and friendly staff. Perfect for the wedding we were attending at the Ashton Memorial and Lancaster Brewery.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotel, beautifully decorated to a high standard, 5* breakfast, relaxing and peaceful, would definitely stay again, thanks!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location a great host. An excellent breakfast set up the day.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor, comfort of the bed, room, breakfast, welcome was relaxed and informal, High quality.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad!

    All aspects were excellent: Room, food, friendly welcom.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner managed hotel providing the personal touch which is missing in most hotels these days

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, luxurious surroundings and a comfortable bed.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: