Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Atlantic 3 stars

St Ives Road, St Ives, TR26 2SB, United Kingdom

#33 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in St Ives

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Superb breakfast at the sister hotel Gannet Inn while...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb breakfast at the sister hotel Gannet Inn while Atlantic's main kitchen was being renovated. Overall, friendly and attentive staff and above average quality of fixtures and fittings. We're likely to return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice bed, lovely bathroom..! No staff in sight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t find a member of staff at all during my stay. They said that the kitchen was to refurbished and I had to eat breakfast at the hotel next door. Looking back at reviews from last year, they also say that the kitchen was being refurbished....

    The room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    More a room over a pub than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is merely an annexe of the nearby Gannet Hotel it has no apparent facilities other than a Sports Bar the clients of which sat chatting outside until midnight. Breakfast is supposedly served at the Gannet 'a short distance away'. On a wet and windy morning it's not a journey we wish to make. For a £320 2 night stay that it not good enough. The Hotel web site has reviews from 2017 stating that this is due to 'modernisation work to update the restaurant', If so by October 2018 this should surely be complete? We were disturbed by guests arriving at 2am, and by the fire alarm at 9 30. It took 10 minutes subsequently for a staff member [presumably from the Gannet] to arrive. Fortunately a false alarm. We won't be back.

    The gentleman who checked us in was both pleasant and helpful. The room itself was very clean and well decorated. The view from the window was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stop. Definitely going back n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is at the sister hotel (The Gannet) about 50yds away. Not an issue to us but something others may want to think about.

    Bed was super comfy, sea views to wake up to. Lovely staff, free off road parking & WiFi. Bus stop outside hotel to St.Ives (about £4 ea return).Just been tastefully modernised inside. Extensive breakfast menu-full Cornish breakfast, continental, meats, pastries etc. Tv & snooker table in bar downstairs. Nice seating area outside with sea views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location for me with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could provide a 4 drawer chest of drawers in the bedroom. Provide a holder in the shower for soap etc. The room was quite cold. Heating was not on.

    Room and en-suite were large and view from window was also good. Bar snacks were good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling needed painting after a repair. No surface to put things on in the bathroom Wardrobe but no drawer space. No communal areas except noisy sports bar. Breakfast in sister hotel, but it was excellent

    Comfortable bed, great shower. Room was clean. Great breakfast at the Gannet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    Helen the duty manager was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty and dated. Wires visable from the ceiling. A sign stating not open until 3.00pm. certainly not value for the price of the accommodation and I don't really moan or want to see somebody.

    Helen the duty manager was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent. Both continental and cooked breakfast included in the price. Also included was use of spa facilities at the nearby Carbis Bay Hotel. Room was spacious and comfortable. Fresh bottles of water provided daily. Good car parking facilities. Bed was ultra comfortable. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Value for money friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information in the room. Apparently some rooms come with iPad like devices with everything you need to know even ordering food and places to visit . Our room did not have such device told reception at the sister hotel 2 doors down the gannet and she informed us there had been technical issues with a few of them . As I had already read previous reviews I knew about certain things, for instance the reception at the gannet isn't always manned you need to go to the bar if know one is there . Also you can order food at the Atlantic it is brought over from the gannet same food menu and cheaper just for information. We decided to eat in the Atlantic on the second night as we were tired and just wanted a quick bite and retire to our room. Was not impressed with an hour and 15 minutes wait for bar food! After bringing this to the attention of the sister hotel the gannet where the food came from we were given a full refund and complementary lunch without any hesitation and sincere apologies as this was not acceptable. With the problem rectified we had an amazing lunch. My only other critisism about the food is the chef insisting on putting pea shoots on every meal as a garnish seriously really on porridge! Did you get a job lot. quite over the top and so unnecessary. Will I come back yes absolutely.value for money and friendly.

    Bed very comfortable pillows like sleeping on clouds. Plenty of tea and coffee in room and delicious biscuits. Love that there was an iron and ironing board in the room and added bonus a hairdryer. Bathroom amazing although toiletries only enough for one .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel. Breakfast let it down at The Gannet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to go next door to another Hotel The Gannet for our breakfast The waitress was unfriendly and we didn’t get offered any extra coffee or even asked if we had enjoyed our breakfast Also outside of St Ives, we had to have a taxi in on the evening to go for food and drinks as partner couldn’t drive in

    Our room was beautifully decorated, a gorgeous bathroom and nice comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.3
    no welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    most of it

    no welcome. room 7, the Hop was very noisy, could hear snoring and talking of nextdoor as if in the room, the smoke alarm flashed like a lighthouse and they charged 2.30 for a coffee at breakfast. it was so unrestful, we went to Pedn Olva for second night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good Location, good facilities available for use, lovely restaurant. We were able to use the facilities of the nearby Carbis Bay Hotel and Spa (£1000 a night) for a lesser priced room in this hotel. I have no doubts this room was at the same standard as the more expensive hotel also. It was extremely good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Clean and comfy but overpriced and lacking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dining room or reception as such. Had to go out to the hotel three doors down. No soundproofing so could hear man next door yawning! Shower only over bath which was so deep it was hard to get in and out of. Feels like an overflow bedroom space for the Gannet. Viewed in that context and priced accordingly this would be acceptable. Plumbing extremely noisy.

    Room was clean and bed very comfy. Bathroom was very nice and clean. Breakfast in the gannet was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    View over Carbis Bay
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, a sign directed us to check in at the ground-floor bar. The bar tender was busy serving customers but eventually called over the receptionist from the sister establishment next door. She was very professional, but the first impression, with the wait in the bar, was poor. It would have been better to have directed us to the Gannet to start with. We had booked the junior suite. The pictures of this room type on Booking.com show a bathroom with a bath tub, but the hotel emailed in advance to tell us that this room type in fact only comes with a walk-in shower. It was good of them to warn us, but the advertising seems a bit misleading.

    The room was comfortable, spacious and well appointed, with a view over the bay. There is free parking just across the road. Breakfast at the Gannet Inn, two doors down, was tasty and cooked to order. The free wifi worked well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast very tasty, Host helpful :-))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very nice, but NO shelves to place toilet bags on !! NO table for writing or using the Laptop. Buses to beach ( not TATE end) stopped, a 20 min walk away .from Tate. Buses run every 20....25 mins from hotel. Walk down hill to beachfront took 55 mins!!! Used taxi to return... 10 GBP

    Parking across the street. Large bedroom. Bar facilities downstairs. Breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    nice area, nice staff, nice food (in another hotel!) We should have been told about the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinning room was closed for renovation and we had not been told this in advance. This ment that in our opinion the price we paid for the room was way too much!

    very comfortable room and close to where we wanted to be

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Would recommend for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go next door for breakfast but not a real issue - breakfast was lovely. The parking was a bit random - pot holes and uneven surface - again not really an issue just an observation.

    The staff were lovely. Ben showed us to our room and was very polite and professional. The room was super clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was immense and the drench shower was an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were lovely at the Gannet and the lovely Happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were lovely at the Gannet and the lovely Happy Anniversary Message as we arrived. We also loved the aspect of the room - very special. We also appreciated being a bit away from St Ives - so we could come away from the business...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny flickering light in ceiling is the only fault to find- reported to reception and not thier fault, they had had a pipe burst recently.fair play!

    Beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. Comfortable bed, welcoming staff, lovely breakfast. Expensive like all of st Ives but the utmost of quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great room (we had the junior suite) and the breakfast was amazing!!! It definitely lives up to the reviews. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were very clean and classily arranged, staff prompt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk beds were two floor mattresses, no big deal but disappointment for the kids

    Rooms were very clean and classily arranged, staff prompt and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff at the gannet were second to none

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room under the bar very noisy. Not very clean & muck all on inside of windows. Needs decoration as very tired. Not worth the money. Not as good as a Travel lodge which was much cheaper.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed and bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were hardly ever any staff at reception. During checkout I searched the hotel for someone and ended up having to just leave the keys at the desk. The room was far too hot.

    Comfortable bed and bedroom. Only negative was the temperature of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and great bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke alarm has periodically flashing green lights and it is positioned directly above the bed so bit distracting when lights are off. We were a bit disturbed by our neighbours snoring!

    Clean and comfortable room, great bathroom. Lovely and big bed. Breakfast next door in the Gannet was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A must to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely spotless.. food excellent. Plenty of choice for breakfasts.. bus stop right outside to get to st ives.. parking...lovely friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    We had three rooms and all had been refurbished to an...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three rooms and all had been refurbished to an excellent standard. In fact the whole hotel was excellent. Breakfast is next door in the gannet sister hotel and was great with a variety of choices. Staff were excellent, and Jason couldn’t be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Overall a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the view from our window consisted of the small back yard which was dirty and over looked by tall building next door which appeared to be very run down

    Beautifully clean, comfortable room and bathroom. Pleasant friendly and helpful staff would definitely consider returning in the future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Easy booking. Bedroom was newly refurbished, tastefully decorated, great quality beds, linen, towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No prior warning that the property was being refurbished hence facilities were limited and we were met with locked doors and note to say staff would only be available from 4pm. Breakfast was served at sister property a couple of doors away.

    The receptionist at sister property The Gannet Inn, Dawn, was very professional and helpful and explained the situation regarding the refurb at The Atlantic and showed us where breakfast would be served. We could also use the lounge area at the Gannet if we wanted to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful stay for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived to the hotel, nobody was at the from desk, there was a sign on the desk saying that they had gone to help in the bar and to go and look for them, we had all of our cases so I stayed behind whilst my partner searched for him, it wasn’t a great first impression and was a little uncomfortable as the bar was full. Eventually we were greeted and shown to our room. However as he was leaving he told us how it was going to be a really busy and loud night due to the football which was a little bit of a shock as we were not told this before booking. Later in the evening the noise began and it was extremely loud as I am pretty sure our room was directly above the bar, we had large windows with sea views however we felt as though the curtains had to be constantly closed as people using the bar were outside on the benches looking up which left us feeling like we had no privacy. This specific room was not cheap for two nights and it was disappointing.

    The highlight of the property was the room, it was spacious and extremely beautiful. The room was spotless on arrival and had everything that was needed eg; hairdryer, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee station and shampoo/conditioner etc. The bed in the room was amazing, very large and comfortable leaving me and my partner getting a great nights sleep. Breakfast in the mornings was lovely, we had such a selection to choose from and a menu with many different breakfast choices, I had the Kernow Sausage and my partner had the pancake stack, on both days it was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. We had vouchers given to us on arrival for the local restaurants which was a nice added touch, we ate in The Gannet for dinner on the first night, which is the same place for breakfast in the mornings (around 2 doors down from the hotel) and that was just divine, the atmosphere was lovely and the food was outstanding, I had the sirloin and was not left disappointed. The service which we received was amazing, we were served by a young lady unfortunately I didn’t manage to get her name but every time me and my partner went for food she seemed to be working (mornings and evenings) she made us feel so welcome and was always more than happy to stop and have a chat with us. The evening after we ate in the Beach Club, this was my birthday and we both wanted it to be a special one. The food again was amazing, big portions and beautiful desserts however the service was a little slow as it was quite busy, we had ordered two cocktails that took a long time to get to us however the waitress I previously mentioned took them from the bill which was appreciated and put our evening back on track. Again we left feeling extremely happy with the service all thanks to the same waitress, she is a credit to the restaurant, thank you to her for giving us such lovely dining experiences.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was perfect! Staff were beyond helpful and friendly. very welcoming. Food was amazing and room was beautiful!

    Room was spotless and decorated to an excellent standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had more of a bar concept which made it quite rowdy. The receptionist was busy serving at the bar! The blinds are not black out which is terrible when sun rises at 5-6ish. One of the staff was not very helpful. We wanted more bedding or towels to pad our baby cot for a more comfortable sleep but was told we couldn’t get more.

    Rooms were new and clean. Breakfast (at the neighboring and nicer feel sister hotel) was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A brilliant choice for a getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed until the junior suite which had a wonderful view, a huge bed, immaculate bathroom and separate dressing room. We were given vouchers for neighbouring restaurants. The car park was directly opposite the hotel and we received a very warm welcome from Steve. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    This hotel far exceeded our expectations, all new decor and fittings, exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been handy as both my wife and I currently have minor mobility issues, and some guests returning to their rooms late at night were rather noisy.

    The breakfast was especially high quality, 5* standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, will definitely stay again!

    Bedrooms have been decorated to a wonderful standard. Breakfast served at the Gannet Inn while the hotel refurbishment continues but it’s only two doors up and lovely. Free parking in the private car park across the road is a great bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Just fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not that I didn’t like it, but the outside does not sell the quality of this hotel.

    This hotel was amazing, rooms newly decorated to a very high standard and the restaurant was amazing, food was exceptional. Staff couldn’t be more helpful. Bar and lounge were relaxing and a joy to sit in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    I had a great short break and would definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor thing, was that there was no bath. That would have made it even more relaxing. But the shower was very spacious and powerful.

    We arrived early around 12pm before a 3pm check in. Although there was no one available, we went to the sister hotel the gannet inn, where we were informed that we would be upgraded to a sea view room. Martina, the receptionist, was very welcoming and friendly. Martina gave us a delightful tour of the building and guided us to our room. We were informed of different walks, restaurants and events we could attend. When going to our room, the view was beautiful, the room smelt fresh and clean. The bathroom was very smart with under floor heating and relaxing lighting. The food was very lovely and their was a choice of a continental breakfast alongside a hot English breakfast. We also had an evening meal, which was very delicious, which we paid for at the end of our stay. During the evening we also had room service, which was efficient and catered to our needs. All staff were so friendly and endearing. The Gannet inn has a lovely personality and exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very big, with a long slippery shower tray but had no hand rails to hold on to. May be good to have a non slip mat available.

    Hotel presently being refurbished. My room was newly decorated. Very comfortable bed, clean with big bathroom. Breakfast very good with wide choice; had to be eaten in another hotel short walk away, until refurbishment finished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Short weekend getaway, close to St. Ives and Lands end. Fantastic friendly staff, great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Freshly renovated, spotlessly clean, really friendly and helpful staff, amazing sea view, easy to find, huge comfy bed, great bar, and all for a great price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Amazing and fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    The room was beautiful and clean , the bed was amazingly comfortable! , the breakfast was great , we ate in the Ganet pub in the evening and the food was amazing ! Steve who was on reception and breakfast was an absolute gem and is a credit to the hotel , nothing was too much trouble .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Clean friendly and improving !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was having to go to a sister hotel for breakfast , but it was easily accessible and breakfast was delicious .

    Clean , tidy and friendly , although the hotel is under renovation it didn’t effect the comfort of our stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Lovely couple of days, in a lovely part of Cornwall; we definitely would like to go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As i said earlier, just a little shelf in the bathroom, for our toiletries

    Our room was superb, with a sea view. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, the only thing we would suggest, is a shelf in the bathroom, to keep our toiletries. We were in a junior suite room, which was so lovely, with lovely views, although we did have to go to the Gannet hotel for breakfast, because of refurbishment going on at the Atlantic; it was a couple of doors away up the road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Mixed feelings, this hotel has much to offer if they can only sort out who their target audience is.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under renovation - It seems to have been in this manner for about a year now based on tripadvisor reviews which we sadly hadn't checked before booking. The downstairs bar is a sports bar which seems to be a complete juxtaposition to the rooms upstairs which ooze class and luxury whilst the bar is bland and uninviting. The bedroom was incredibly cold as well as the heating had not been turned on, the bathroom never fully warmed up either. Breakfast is not served on site and you have to go to the sister hotel (The Gannet Inn) 2 doors down, Fortunately this hotel is actually really nice inside. There is never anyone on the front desk and no signage to advise of the fact there's only one person working, you have to go to the bar and if you're lucky enough you won't have to wait long to get someone's attention (providing they're not on their phone). The parking area is not clearly sign posted, its directly across the road but due to the grey signage and lack of lighting, if its dark you simply don't see it.

    The bedroom décor was really up to date and stylish, it gave it a very luxurious feel. The bed was a good size (Super King) which was really comfy as well. The view from room 5 was good as well because you could see out into Carbis Bay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Amazing room amazing sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn’t open in the hotel but was using next door for our breakfast

    Room was stunning amazingly decor newly decorated and stunning sea view, bed was so comfortable and free shortbread

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    peacefull, relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was a nightmare, no room in carpark opposite and had to park down the road in an housing estate. very wet windy night to be walking with luggage from there. hotel was having a remodelling to dinning and kitchen area which I was not told before arriving so had to go to hotel next door for breakfast (which was lovely and we were looked after) but was a bit of a nightmare when it came to an evening meal as there was limited places at hotel next door so had to go down into St Ives.

    lovely room with an amazing room. staff really friendly and helpful. very comfortable and quiet. overall we had a lovely stay and would like to come again and sample the new kitchen and dinning areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place to visit for a short break, coast line miles long. Enjoyed our time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work was on going Had to eat breakfast at the sister hotel 2 buildings away from the actual hotel we stayed in.

    Massive double bed was really comfy. Bathroom was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Spoiled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were served in The Gannett due to refurb.breakfast and dinner cooked and presented very well but temperatures left a lot to be desired being barely warm due to length of time to bring plates to the table after the chef called service.

    Room very clean and comfortable,bed very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Spoiled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were served in The Gannett due to refurb.breakfast and dinner cooked and presented very well but temperatures left a lot to be desired being barely warm due to length of time to bring plates to the table after the chef called service.

    Room very clean and comfortable,bed very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight niggle we had was that the Double Bed was tiny (we are used to a king sized, so whilst on a romantic night away - I ended up sleeping in one of the (very comfy) bunk beds! So would just recommend they put in 2 x 3ft zip and link beds so have the option to offer twin to those wanting that setup or a king sized bed for couples. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was ideal as I was aware of a very noisy sports bar next door (but was closed by the time we returned from our meal out so that was fine) we were overlooking a back street and directly into other flats / houses, with only a black-out blind to use for privacy - so would be ideal if the windows had either white blinds (to offer total privacy, yet allowing the natural sun light in for day time) aswell as the blackout blind for nighttime.

    Good value for money accommodation, clean with no frills

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Elegant, great service & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't reach top floor, but view more than made up for it. No elevator so call ahead to discuss room selection if you have mobility problems.

    In Carbiss Bay above town. Sister hotel Gannett serves excellent meals round the clock - be sure to book Sunday lunch, a traditional English roast beef and Yorkshire putting fest. Steve and Jason on front desk and in The Atlantic's pub really made the stay comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location and amazing Room 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant at the Atlantic is undergoing renovation at the moment, so we had to eat at the Gannet Inn two doors along. The food was good but it would've been nice to have breakfast on the property.

    The room was excellent and the view over Carbis Bay was lovely once the weather cleared. We also had access to the Spa at the Carbis Bay Hotel which was awesome. With an outdoor hot tub overlooking the bay. Even though it rained while we were in the hot tub, it was pretty amazing with the warmth of the tub and the coolness of the rain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Lovely room but would have liked to have known that it was not fully up and running
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to be told on website at time of booking that hotel was under refurb and had to go next door but one for breakfast

    Decor of room and en suite excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in a beautiful hotel in a lovely location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free-standing bath very attractive but difficult to get in and out of due to height of sides.

    Beautifully refurbished room. Very comfortable bed. Super seaview as we received an unexpected upgrade. Outstanding breakfast in sister hotel next door! Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    A relaxing break in Carbis bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had been newly refurbished and in excellent style however the only openable windows were at a height that meant if you were under 6'6" you had little chance, other than climbing on the windowsill, of opening or closing the window. My wife was critical at the lack of drawer space. The TV was poorly located, although it swivelled, you couldn't both watch TV on the settee which was the only seating other than on the bed. These criticism's are meant to be constructive as the overall stay was very pleasant.

    The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and there are no restaurant facilities available however there are, at their Sister hotel, two doors along the road on the same side where the Breakfast and evening meals were excellent. If the refurbishment follows the same design as the Sister Hotel then I am sure this venue will be excellent when completed. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Big comfy bed, fluffy pillows, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit disconcerting to have to go to the sister hotel for breakfast but understandable as the dining room is having a refit, only a minute away. A safe in the room would have been helpful especially with all the modern gadgets we seem to carry these days.

    Big comfy bed, fluffy pillows, nice and clean. Good choice at breakfast, efficient staff. About half an hour walk to St. Ives quayside using the main road, a little longer using coastal path but some lovely views of Carbis Bay, Porthminster Beach and St. Ives on your approach, a little hilly in places but we like to walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    great views, fantastic room, lovely food and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location, the room were of the highest quality, the owners and staff were all very helpful. and they made you feel welcome. i would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable. Good location, brilliant beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't realise that The Atlantic was being re-furbished. There was no one there to check us in and we had to go next door. Also had to go there for breakfast. The bar at Atlantic felt more like a local pub for locals so we went next door which was fine. Although the breakfast was really nice you could only have one thing off the hot menu - i.e if you chose to have porridge instead of a very limited choice of cereal you could then not have a cooked breakfast. A cup of oats does not really equate to a full English!! I'm sure Atlantic will be wonderful once the take over/refurb is complete but clients should be made aware that it is not really a fully functioning hotel in it's own right.

    Room was recently refurbished and was very nice. Lovely bathroom although door VERY stiff to close and handle very close to edge so kept catching fingers!! Facilities at neighbouring hotel - The Ganet very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Too short unfortunately but great non the less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the same location would have been better. Fridge in room would have been good.

    Loved the room, nice decor, clean, comfortable and good design. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great food, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was undergoing renovation, but this didn't really bother me. Maybe a discount could have been offered?

    The breakfast was excellent! The staff were helpful, and the waiting staff at breakfast were fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The part of the building we were in is under renovation and I think originally poorly built as you could hear the pipes rattle, creaky floors, cupboards close in other rooms, etc. Also the windows were sweating from the inside? Perhaps once renos are complete it will be much better.

    Staff were very friendly. The breakfast included was fantastic. Location was good and the price we paid was ok for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Would not choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived to find that major refurbishment was taking place and the restaurant was out of use. It was necessary to take breakfast and other meals at a sister hotel two doors away. It would have been nice to know this in advance. The food was good.

    The Lounge area and Bedroom both had excellent views over Carbis Bay. Comfortable bed and furniture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, but out priced its self for 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we didn't like, nothing really apart from the price increase for the same weekend next July 2018 sorry to say we won't be back 😕

    Was very clean, fresh referb was going on when we got to the Atlantic, we stayed on the top floor, our room was beautiful. It was very comfortable.we couldn't rate the coffee as we used the Hotel next door for breakfast if the coffee is like that, then yes delicious 😋

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was held in the sister hotel The Gannet due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty on the surfaces of bedside tables, window sills and inside wardrobes and drawers. The finishing touches were shabby such as wallpaper, wall paint and flooring. Floor felt damp. The room due to being on the ground floor was very noisy as there was an occupied room above us which sounded like they were coming through the ceiling at times.

    Breakfast was held in the sister hotel The Gannet due to building works in the Atlantic. It was exceptional! Price was very good for a family room with two children and it included breakfast in the price. Fresh towels daily was really useful as we stayed for 4 nights and had nowhere to dry them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful space to begin our holiday of rest and recuperation. Within walking distance of beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight confusion on arrival as name used at booking.com was The Atlantic and hotel signage from road was Atlantic Bay Hotel. Car park fine but surface not so good for wheeled luggage - a minor point.

    Spacious comfortable room. Friendly staff. Well presented and adequate breakfast included in the price, a short stroll away in sister hotel - umbrella provided!.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Appalling state. Not fit for occupancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergoing refurbishment no lounge or dining. Appalling bathroom sliding door with no runner broken toilet seat very old shower flooded bathroom. Bedroom poor with dreadful outlook builders yard!

    Location good bus service to st ives

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Uncomfortable bed,more like lieing on springs & cracked basin. Also number of room changed on the last day & restaurant not I'm use!

    Friendly staff at The Gannet we had to go to as Atlantic having renervations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.0
    Great breakfast, but the view was rubbish and room very overpriced for what it was. Cannot recommend
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic and the view was towards some cluttered courtyard and emergency stairs. Not good at all. Staff was hard to find as there was mostly nobody around. The room was quite overpriced as well, for what it was.

    Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Good Room, poor service, over priced drinks and not worth the £135.00 per night paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not informed prior to arrival that the property was undergoing restoration. We were not informed prior to arrival, that meals were served at their sister hotel "The Gannet", where we felt like we were being treated like second class citizens. The bar area of the Atlantic was being used as a local pub by the local residents, lowering the tone of the property. A pint of real ale purchased, was warm and undrinkable, and all drinks were greatly over priced. When we arrived at the property just before mid day, there was a pile of dirty towels at the bottom of the stairs right outside our room. They were still there when we checked out the next morning.

    The room and the bed were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great how the hotel took onboard my dialysis medical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great how the hotel took onboard my dialysis medical equipment treatment for kidney failure without any if.s or but.s which ment i didnt lose 3 days of my holiday by having to go to hospital for my treatment i was able to do it within the hotel so amazing thankyou x

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice room with a sea view, good helpfull staff, breakfast ok could improve on that but overall good
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast not great could improve on that and shower did not work I had to have a bath instead.

    Nice room with sea view, good bed, staff very helpfull good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Location great, hotel needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much bleach used, it wasn't clear when booking that the restaurant was at a neighbouring hotel, lots of noise from the upstairs and outside as on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Decent sized, modern clean room with very large, incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was in middle of refurbishment - no dining room available so meals were taken at partner hotel next door but one (The Gannet). This was actually a bonus as this was a far more luxurious hotel with first class dining and service. The Atlantic seemed shockingly understaffed - mostly there seemed to be just one person on duty doing all tasks, none of whom seemed particularly chatty or interested in guests. For a super deluxe room (at super deluxe prices!), I would say the value for money was poor, as the prices suggest a luxury accommodation, when really it's basically a modern sports bar with rooms. Might be better once it's actually finished!

    Decent sized, modern clean room with very large, incredibly comfortable bed. Nice spotless bathroom & shower. Carparking opposite hotel was always accessible, never had to fight over a carparking space during stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in room as very hot otherwise very good

    Stage kitchen was being refurbished so we ate at thir other property the Gannet. That was beautiful and food (breakfast) was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a few teething problems with the boiler. Breakfast service could have been better displayed.

    Our room was well-appointed and beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired and needing an upgrade. In fairness this is in progress.

    Good location, easy to find and close to St Ives.Breakfast at adjacent reataurant was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was provided at the nearby partner hotel and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little basic and is currently being upgraded.In the future this should be a great hotel

    Breakfast was provided at the nearby partner hotel and was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: