Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Avala Guesthouse 3 stars

156 Newport Road, Cardiff, CF24 1DJ, United Kingdom

#21 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 496 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Could change the room easily, 2nd was better, but still far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could change the room easily, 2nd was better, but still far from expectations Service friendly

    Could change the room easily, 2nd was better, but still far from expectations Service friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Budget
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not greeted with a friendly face, never shown to my room , was not offered a fan, due to room being hot due to hot weather, so uncomfortable sleep, breakfast was ment to be fresh fruit I assumed it would be like a fruit salad instead I was offered an apple or orange only. No croissants offered only toast

    Shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Visit Cardiff in July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room is a little too small. Wi Fi at my room is weak in signal and is slow, which caused inconvenience for an foreign visitor.

    Great location with walking distance to a street with many restaurant. On-site parking is very convenient. Room and beds are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Simple not plush, could of done with a better shower as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No contact with staff. They kept out of sight so if we did have problems, would have to search out staff to resolve.

    Simple not plush, could of done with a better shower as the electric one installed was either very hot or cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    I recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the street,the house it's situated near to the main road.

    The house it's close to the city centre15-20 min walk or you can take the bus( no 30,44,45,X45) and the bus stop is just in front of the house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff and easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a trickle. Took ages to actually shower properly and the WiFi was awful. But luckily we weren’t there to use it.

    Most things were as we expected. Staff were lovely x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Overnight for concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cardiff was full so the price was a little iinflated for our stay.

    We had a fantastic greeting, the room was excellent, very quiet considering where it's located. It was an easy walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms was absolutely awful. Polystyrene ceiling tiles yellow in colour and falling down. Carpet had holes in. Headboard wonky. TV so small you needed binoculars to see it and red in colour. Entrance to part of guest house we stayed in was not good with perfume sticks everywhere to hide odours. Lampshades should have been replaced years ago. All in all very bad experience. Would not recommend to anyone. We booked 2 nights but only stayed 1 night it was so bad.

    Girls on reception were friendly - nothing else to like. Booked 2 nights only stayed 1 night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was specious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tired could do with some updating.

    Room was specious. Staff were excellent. Couldn't do enough for you. Restaurant and food excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    A bit of a dive but close to CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold on the walls, which looked like a leak from the room above. People showering and using the WC in adjourning rooms is also loud. The guesthouse is also old, so noise from people entering/exiting their rooms, which is not great late into the evening.

    The guesthouse is no frills and that is why they are so much cheaper than other hotels in Cardiff. It is walking distance from the CBD, and City Road for food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and great staff; location so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit high for the location, which is a ways out from the Centre, though a straight shot, and I think s bus stop is close by. I got ripped off by a taxi driver on price from Central Station. The hotel is closer to Queens St. station, but both would be manageable if you’re a walker. Breakfast was not included; including it would make up for the location a bit.

    Staff was great - went out of the way to help me find directions, etc. Nice that it was ensuite even for such a small single. Comfortable, and included tea/coffee, TV, and free WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but they need to sort the curtains out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no curtains, only very thin blinds with huge gaps so the light shone in the room incredibly early. The WiFi didn’t reach the rooms

    Location, comfy beds. Clean. Good sized rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Spacious and clean room and bathroom, really good position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dryer missing, and tha main lamp in the room stopped to work the first day, we told them but for the whole holiday it hasn't been fixed

    Spacious and clean room and bathroom, really good position to walk in cardiff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Would never, ever go here again. En Suite freezing cold. Badly needs decorating. POOR VALUE!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were all marked with scuffs and scrapes so badly needed decorating as didn't look pleasant. En suite very cold after a shower as no heating in there. No where to hang/put wet towels after shower as only one hook in en suite plus even if we used the one hook the towels would just stay damp because there was no heating in the en suite so had to dry towels on radiator in the bedroom which was not ideal because none of the windows opened AT ALL so we then had condensation on them during the night. Milk left in the room was old and tasted off so had to throw the tiny cartons in the bin. Were kept awake to after 3.30am as noisy guests from the other rooms gathered in the bedroom next door. Landlord not present overnight so the noise just continued with the fire doors being banged every so often with the other guests moving about the building. Hot and sticky room as couldn't open any windows in our room AT ALL. No dressing table but just a shelf that had the kettle, mugs etc. on. No space for toiletries or anywhere to dry hair. No chair or stool to sit on so had to sit on the bed. WOULD NEVER EVER GO HERE AGAIN. TERRIBLE PLACE AND WAS VERY OVERPRICED FOR A SHABBY ROOM.

    Room was light. parking at rear ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for what I needed on this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room, which although en suite, felt like it was design after thought.

    I really like the how convenient it was. Close to the city centre on foot. Staff were very friendly and could not fault the place for cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Really helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful and friendly staff. Room was clean and tidy and comfortable. Free parking always a bonus. Close to the Globe music venue and the reason for my visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    I had a pleasant stay at the Avala, really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the TV to work, but this was not a big issue for me.

    Everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. Bed was very comfortable, and coffee making facility in the bedroom was very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Accommodating but wouldn't stay there again at £100 per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable, could only fill kettle with cups of water, dated decor, mouldy ceilings, the price

    The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, plenty of parking facilities at the rear, location was perfect, away from city centre but close enough to get there either by bus or walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Other than it was bit noisy, all excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise coming from the adjacent room at 4.00 am. Kept me awake also could hear the noise of the vehicles in the road even after I close all the windows.

    Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Not a success
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room smelt of fresh paint and there was only blinds at the window so light came through in the morning and light came through the badly fitted door

    It was clean and well placed for what we wanted

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were good size, the bed's were comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work,the kitchen tap was to hot to wash dishes the signals of TV was not good in the kitchen.And the TVs in the room was to small.when you have a shawer the water will come out on the bottom.

    The rooms were good size, the bed's were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely little basic guest house that was perfect for my requirements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative I found was payment was taken prior to arrival, despite the website clearly stating that payment was taken on clearly. But this would not put me off a future stay.

    Immaculately clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The, room was clean and the bed was comfy. The towel rail was broken in the bathroom. On our first night our toilet broke we couldn't use the commmunial bathroom as this was being decorated. Our toilet was fixed the following day. Both nights we were disturbed by the occupants in the room above and had to call the night porter.

    It was within walking distance of the city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    What I expected from a B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could always have been better !!!! BUT its a GOOD PLACE TO STAY.

    How good & helpful the staff are. Location ok too. Its a no nonsense reasonably priced place to stay. Its the 4th time I stay at the Avala :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    £75 a night.They Do not clean Bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't bother making the beds ..nor empty bins or change towels. AT £75 a night beds should be made.

    Bus stop outside Could also walk into Centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location, Good & clean room, poor heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating inside the room is poor. Felt cold at night with heating controls apparently is controlled by the management. No easy access to manager/supervisor for the Guest House immediately available. The alarm sounded early morning on Sunday (09:45), and took a while to reset?! No lounge or reception area?! At the property.

    The member of the staff at the check-in was very helpful. The environment and the room were very nice and comfortable. Cleanliness is at high standards, Towels are fresh, clean, crisp and new (Excellent). Everything needed is in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Really conveniet for the city centre with good public transport links, spotlessly clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably could do with some shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom. Maybe one of the dispenser type units in the shower. No bar or cooked breakfast.

    Really clean room, quiet and warm! Car parking is included. Great for public transport into Cardiff and down to the bay area. Would def stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Liked it lots; good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price & location. We stayed for a match at the Principality stadium; most hotels double their prices, so we thought we paid a reasonable price. Quiet out of town location, but the city centre is walkable & there is a bus stop right outside the front. We arrived at 9.15pm, but as pre arranged the night porter was very helpful. Room was large and clean - comfortable bed & good quality loo paper!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shampoo in the rooms and the only breakfast was described as continental, which is available as an extra. I chose not to have it, but checked it out in the morning. Cheap processed ham and cereal is not a continental breakfast.

    Great location in easy walking distance of the shops, bars, restaurants and the rugby stadium. Also very easy to get to from the motorway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall good value for money and I would stay again probably if we were doing it on the cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite in room was very compact and kept hitting my head on the shelf when I washed my face in the morning at the tiny sink (I’m 5’2 so not exactly tall) shower pressure not great, room also had mould in the top left hand side of the room. Also could hear people in the hallway every morning so a little noisy at times.

    Good location , near city centre and bed was very comfortable , room was clean on arrival and staff friendly. Didn’t have the breakfast so can’t comment on that but good value for the money we paid. Room cleaned every day but sheets not changed or towels while we were their for three nights , dosent bother me but I guess it would for some people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Staff not very friendly - no smile or nothing (like robot). 2. Stayed two nights. No room service. 3. Heater was off between 1:30 am to 6:00 am for both nights. So you would wake up in the morning because of cold. 4. Not good insulation - lots of noise from other rooms and outside.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and practical - everything I needed was there -...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a leaky washbasin, everything else was lovely.

    Very clean and practical - everything I needed was there - and a good price for an unexpected one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Ideal for the purpose of my trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a touch too basic and nowhere to check out. I just left the key on the ‘reception desk’ - which anyone could then pick up.

    Soft sheets and comfy bed. Free Wi-fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    overall good adequate accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    damaged window, bathroom towel ring falling off, no english breakfast, people smoking outside our window and looking in, fuse went had to get staff to fix

    Size of room, comfy beds, location, parking, decent sized bathroom, heating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever in a bed and breakfast very very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean dust on lampshades over beds.bathrooms were not nice and clean. Mould down back wall.the bed was very uncomfortable. Will never recconend or go there again.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room - spacious and comfortable. Shower was very good as well! Great location - central, most things a small walk away. Staff were friendly and helpful and check in was simple. Will defiantly be staying here again when we are next in Cardiff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing in a clean & comfy setting, thank you for a lovely stay. Xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if breakfast was earlier as we missed out. The tv in the room was a little distant & therefore difficult to see. Wouldn't recommend walking out late, especially with children. X

    Room very clean, en suite shower, beds comfy, well lit, able to open window, free parking, no disturbances, very relaxing. Xx

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Just right for what we needed.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some kind of hot meal

    This Guesthouse is just perfect for what we wanted, the only problem was that at Breakfast they only offered continental & not a hot meal, apart from toast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    This accommodation was just acceptable and we moved elsewhere in Cardiff for the rest of our break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although this was a Bed & Breakfast style accommodation the cold continental breakfast was charged extra which then made the basic price seem a bit of a 'come on'. The beds were too hard for us and there was the impression that everything was done to minimise expenditure, 1 small bar of soap between two; no shampoo and towels only changed every four days. No cooked breakfast available and lights out of order in the lounge.

    The room was clean and the residents lounge was comfortable. The off-road parking was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Basic, clean freshly decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Basic, clean freshly decorated room. Excellent value for an over night stay, within walking distance of centre (if you are fit) We parked our car in the morning of our arrival and checked in later.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Well worth the money. Would use again. Loved Cardiff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots of noise from road outside including numerous sirens every night. Bring earplugs. Wouldn't stop us staying again.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Not far from city by bus. Nice, good value breakfast. Large, clean room. Comfortable beds. Bus stop was just outside with buses very frequent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    The room was quite comfortable, the staff was kind, in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was there for business and the breakfast started only at 8 a.m. a little bit to late.

    The room was quite comfortable, the staff was kind, in general nothing bad nothing special, very excellent quality/price ratio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Amanda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price it is what we expected

    The room was very clean and the bed comfy. The room was a good size but a little old fashioned. Breakfast was not included in our deal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Not too close and not too far from the city. Cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was intermittent, not a huge issue and could be due to our position in the house. It would simply disconnect and reconnect every 10 minutes or so. Other than that, this place was flawless :)

    Property is super clean, owner very friendly. Room was quite modern with the shower room separate to the toilet. The bus stop is right outside for both directions. The X11 will take you into the city, right near the cardiff castle and down to the bay. £3.60 for an all day travel ticket is well worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall very impressed
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance 🙃

    One young girl works there she was very friendly place was well looked after even thought it was cheap to rent they took pride in the room doing extra little details only downfall is walking distance to city centre bit far but there is a bus stop out side to take you right there in no time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Took daughter to visit her friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hairdryer in the room would have been good. There was a black damp patch on one wall. No cooked breakfast on offer .

    Friendly welcome although we only made it with 10 minutes to spare on late check-in. Room was comfortable and clean. There were good restaurants nearby and the walk into the town was only about 15 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Simply great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    washbasin couldve been bigger, tv aswell. Thats it

    Cheap for a last minute booking, close to city centre, comfortable, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    I had a good night's sleep at the hotel and it was fairly quiet inside the hotel when we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how the room looked different to the pictures that we saw on the Internet. I also did not like how far of a walk it was from the hotel to the centre and when i phoned the hotel to ask directions they wasn't very helpful. Our room was also quite small and the shower was very slow. Lastly, our door did not seem safe when we locked it, it looked like it was open even though it was locked and it looked quite easy for someone to break into.

    The staff gave us a brand new hair dryer to use and there was an iron available for us to use which was handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little contact with any staff. We were put in the wrong room to begin with. Girl wasn't very sociable, she wasn't rude - just not very friendly.

    The room was clean, except the bin! Very spacious, airy room. Car parking was great and off the road. Close to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The room was clean and tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room in the third floor. No air conditioning / fan. I had to keep the window opened which was leading to the fire escape steps. No breakfast provided.

    The room was clean and tidy. Staff friendly when around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable quiet and lovely place to stay with helpful professional night porter and staff overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited vegan options on the food menu for breakfast and no vegan milk option by the complementary tea and milk. However I had not requested this before booking so this may have been provided :) The toilet flushes very loudly with mechanical type notices and the shower made squeaking noises when used this may have been due to the room being on the top most floor of the guesthouse so the plumbing may have had to work harder on the top floor.

    Option to open the windows in the room, lovely warm and clean through out the guest house and a lounge area by the entrance was a nice homely touch with leaflets and books to read too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel near the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who greeted us was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Despite being on a busy road we were at the back of the block with no noise. A good vale stay in Cardiff within walking distance of a number of restaurants, or bus at the front door into the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fried breakfast

    It was welcoming and very clean. We were given a key and left to come and go as we pleased . Busses were right outside and very regular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband could hear the people in the room above.

    The room, shower, bed linen and towels were absolutely spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The tea and coffee facilities were very welcome. I liked the fact I could see my car parked safely in the car park below. The location was brilliant. We could walk back from our meal out in Cardiff and the bus stop close by meant that we could catch the bus into Cardiff when we were running late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Avala guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet roll in one of the rooms. TV not working in same room. Took whole payment seconds after reservation despite website saying it wouldn't. Breakfast was woeful - not worth the price. Eat elsewhere.

    The location was good and we arrived late but the night porter was helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Awesome guesthouse. Very nice, clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the staff could be a little more friendly and warm? However she wasn't rude, just not friendly.

    The guesthouse is very cosy and has awesome lightings and garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We intended to take the bus to the guesthouse but couldn't find it from the train station! We walked for a bit and then it started to rain so we stopped at another hotel and had them call us a taxi. I know that's not the problem of the Avala but it just wasn't as easy to get to as I had anticipated.

    This was a 2 bedroom apartment that was fantastic. The "kitchen" area is not fully equipped -- just a sink and counter -- but we had two bedrooms, full bath with tub, and a sitting room. Breakfast was additional and continental but we really enjoyed it and it started our day off easily. The staff were really good at helping us figure things out and there's a bus stop almost directly in front of the guesthouse to give you easy access to the downtown area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    rooms clean and tidy and other areas pity about breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not serving a UK breakfast, nothing else on offer only continental

    did not try, when booking it said bed and breakfast and this was extra in price and they served only continental breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    nice hotel....... shame about booking .com...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booking.com should tell you when your booking that the hotel will take the full booking price out of your bank after i had ticked the pay at the hotel box ..

    it was good value for money a good nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Ruined break, not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very narrow hallway and stairway, very claustrophobic, my husbands sholders were touching both walls and his head was touching stair ceiling and he's not 6ft. The accommodation was up 4 flights of stairs which we were not informed about and we have a child with cerebral palsy and this really caused us to have a miserable time. One of the bed over covers was dirty, and when we went to leave there had been some kind of assault outside and the police wouldn't let us leave as we would have to drive through their crime scene. The area is very rough with graffiti on buildings across street and loud noise from traffic and parties. Toilet seat loose and pull string was very dirty. Ceiling tiles cracked and some didn't fit at all.

    Close to centre of Cardiff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great little place to stay would reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt have anyproblems and the same 2 years ago

    Close enough to cardiff but far enough that youdont get disturbed at from the late night party people. Public transport for those who need ut outside and parking if need be. Room was spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on the hottest day and were given the option of having a fan. Given it was that hot it should have been in the room as we were at the top of the Guest House. We had to open the fire escape window wide to get air in the room. Given it was that hot why was the radiator in the hallway on? At breakfast it was continental, we were not given the choice of toast or croissant just given toast. basically I could have gone to Lidl and brought the items on offer for breakfast. We also felt at £145 (including breakfast) the price was far too high. I have checked and for the same days of arrival/departure (wednesday/Thursday) the price at beginning of July is £53. Clearly the price was hiked up because of Robbie Williams!!!!

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Convenient hotel for city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed one night for the Robbie Williams concert. The Avala was excellent value for money and we paid £4.95 per person for continental breakfast which was more than adequate. Location was good being about a 20 minute walk from the centre. Parking on site was also a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    We had the best ro upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one small piece of soap from say one and no more over the 3 day stay. Did not get fresh towels day 2 and had to use wet and soiled towels day 3.

    We had the best ro upstairs. Very nice ensuite. Very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Basic but suited a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to cart lagguage to second building and up so many flights of stairs.

    Suited,our needs for 2 days. We're out most of the day other to sleep at night.Discovered a wonderful Chinese Restraurant hereby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the room was cleaned a new bathmat was provided but our towels were too wet to use. Hand towel removed and not replaced. Couldn't advise anyone as after 8 pm and nobody there

    It was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money ! Nice stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really noisy when in use which wasn't a big problem and the toilet made funny sounds now and again but nothing you couldn't cope with.

    Clean and tidy. Great value for money. Great location near the city centre and near lots of places for food ! Staff really friendly and bed was comfy ! Enjoyed the stay overall ! Would come back again :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and smelt good, free TV and tea/coffee/hot choc facilities (topped up daily), free WiFi. Room cleaned and bed made daily, staff friendly and didn't bother us uneccessarily, came and went freely whenever we wanted.useful folder of Cardiff info in room. Easy access into town, very cheap for the price, not bothered by other guests noise. Although, the Room was right next to emersion heater which would come on every 20min or so which was very loud, also loud dripping sound, in room 15. didn't complain to staff though so unsure how they would respond to complaint, I slept fine but it kept my partner awake. No free toiletries but took own anyway. No back access to car park so have to walk around corner to bring luggage in.

    Free WiFi, room cleaned daily, staff didn't bother us unnecessarily, very clean, cheap, easy access to town, tv, tea and coffee replenished daily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovly large room, no distribabnce from other guests, plenty of room to park your car in the private free car park, perfect location and friendly staff. Couldn't of asked for anything more

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensuite very small, dusty behind chest of drawers, car park run down. Location not as nice as north west of the city centre.

    A friendly welcome and clean, comfortable accommodation. Location handy for city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great Room at a Great Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was all good.

    The room was a very good price for a single room. It was lovely and clean and comfortable and contained everything I could have needed for a night's stay. The TV had all the Freeview channels too, which is a nice bonus. The shower worked fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is very central to Cardiff city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is very central to Cardiff city center. Taxi's are cheap to get in and around the city. And a comfortable room to come back to after a hard party. Definitely will use again and recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    2.9
    Not the best stay I've had
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor service room wasn't cleaned or bed made the entire stay of 3 nights. Coffee or tea facilities not replaced daily so had to buy from local shop . Continental breakfast poor for £4.95 a day you got little choice Hotel located on busy Road 24/7 so very noisy got not much sleep

    Shower bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Clean and basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were late leaving but thought our room would still have been cleaned. The shower was blocking but it wasn't a major factor. It probably wasn't reported by anyone.

    Clean and comfortable. Good price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Clean and tidy Cardiff stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing was musical with the macerator WC and singing shower pipes. Didn't detract from the fact it was clean and tidy, but being in the plumbing industry I would have designed the ensuite differently, as space being at a premium, the loo was "awkward" should I say.

    The place was really tidy, it was a continental breakfast that was ok. The place was clean and tidy. I can't emphasise that too much. It was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: