Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Aviator Hotel 3 stars

Sywell Aerodrome, Sywell, Sywell, NN6 0BN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Sywell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 751 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    7.1
    A different quirky hotel that retained its character and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit off the beaten track. A slight misunderstanding with the final bill, although quickly corrected.

    A different quirky hotel that retained its character and charm.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    Comfy beds great bar staff we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having my card pre-authed is a terrible idea. I did say that at reception all i wanted was to pay for the room which i did insist on when i arrived. I work as a Receptionist at a city centre hotel and we do not pre-auth cards there is always the pdq machine to pay for any extras.

    The Hotel is well devorated and maintained . The young male waiter in the restaurant was a delight we ate a luvly meal and even had a pudding. We spent a bit of time in the bar area which was busy. The owner was also in the bar we were informe.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    2.5
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and restaurant staff were very good . Unfortunately our stay was spoiled by a very rude and argumentative member of the barstaff. When I ordered my drinks I asked if she had any Mexican beer and she said no. I noticed bottles of Corona on display and I said I'll have one. To which she stared at me and said !that's not Mexican! I did not argue the point with her .I did tell the women at reception when we left and she told Me that that particular member of barstaff has fallen out with a lot of customers. All I can say is that considering she has been there at least two years She must either have shares in the company or blackmailing the boss

    Everyone else .The hotel and the restaurant staff were fine. The Hotel room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    7.1
    ok nice warm rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI.. looked for an iron at reception after calling on phone 3 times no answer and was told it was in a room somewhere on LH side

    Bed on casters but main concern was the Wifi was awful and its like water in a bathroom you just need it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    9.2
    A lovely evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was adjacent to the road and it was very noisy.

    Beautiful art-deco rooms, comfortable and clean. Restaurant very nice but not a huge variety on the Menu and the daily specials had run out. Reception staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend for a one-night stay. We were meeting up with friends for breakfast so cannot comment. We did notice that regular staff are more friendly when you are staying there than if you are just popping in for a drink - which we often do.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.1
    Will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good!

    Breakfast was lovely, the staff were cheerful and helpful and the location is superb (if you like aviation). The hotel is wonderfully art deco and we were treated to a bi-/triplane dogfight rehearsal over breakfast. Couldn't really be better!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    The place was just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an amazing place art deco and modern comfort combined. Helpful and friendly staff and the food was amazing. I would really recommend a stay at the aviator.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable but not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was awful and very hard. Slept poorly as a result. Wines not as on list and delivered to table incorrectly twice. Gave up the second time and drank it before all the food went cold.

    General ambiance and cleanliness. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.5
    I've stayed here many times before and always found the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think possibly there should be a change of menu in the bar - specials are good but the main menu hasn't changed for some time.

    I've stayed here many times before and always found the rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Different, comfy and good choices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and on my older device, I was unable to connect, as with my work secure network

    good bar choices and excellent food. Room comfy and clean and shower excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Staying in style near Northampton.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The decor of the whole hotel is wonderful - that beautiful art-deco style associated with early commercial airports. It really is a little gem. Everything about the hotel worked just as it should.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    General décor and excellent evening meal in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - tea provided in large vacuum flask often cold. Why not individual teapots? Croissants a bit 'bready'

    General décor and excellent evening meal in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    4.6
    Soft towels, parking.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room really dusty, bathroom dirty. Bar mats over pumps and only instant coffee at bar at 9.45pm. Receptionist not present either time we presented.

    Soft towels, parking. Great decoration.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait quite a while to check in as no staff member on as was 10 pm Sink fairly low and small so water falling all over the floor

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    This place is a little gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing much

    This place is a little gem. Clean, tidy, good food and friendly staff what more could you want oh an air field in the beer garden with a spitfire flying

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Quirky and retro for enthusiasts - not for the business traveller - middle no-where
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions on arrival are - wow interesting and impressive. Then you go to the room. Very sparse, smells like my grandmothers house as a child. Superbly clean but cold - damp smell. Bed is lots of sheets no duvet or modern comforts. Tiny TV where hard to see if in bed - needed sit on end of bed to see it (21 inch possibly and cheap brand) Was cold room and no way to turn on heating - thermostat not working - staff said shut windows and it will keep warmish - so again retro of - this is what its like in the 1950s .... ran a hot bath and this actually made the room warmer. In middle of nowhere 30-40 minute drive to Northampton - bad traffic in morning - not good for business traveller should have stayed at the IBIS in northampton would have been better for £10.00 more which i wasted in fuel travelling to / fro. Looked good and quirky in the photos - but a mistake for business stay.

    Its very retro, genuine and will appeal to a certain type of clientele - if on business this is not for you you. Plane enthusiast, retro / art deco addict - or mature in nature wanting to relive the 40, 50,s - perfect you will love it. Staff are fantastic, responsive and in uniform of the era - very authentic. Nice deep bath and very hot water

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Arrived late and needed a bed for the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I experienced!

    Arrived late and needed a bed for the night. Didn't use the bar or eat as left before breakfast but they looked good. Staff were fantastic and helpful. Room well appointed and had a good night's rest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Aviator Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got overcharged twice for my room due to a technical fault. So can’t take anything away from hotel. These things happen.

    Everything was good. Facilities. Where it’s based. Numerous areas to book if you need functions rooms etc. Rooms are clean nice sized and comfortable. Polite helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel , generally great staff in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of gripes; Check in was not great, receptionist fairly dismissive and putting her coat on to leave even though she had asked if it was our first visit and I was trying to ask a few questions. The shower gel dispenser was empty and I failed to locate a hair dryer. Breakfast was average, unimaginative and a bit bland.

    The location was perfect for the activity we were undertaking. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fit out of the hotel, very authentic. Room was pleasant. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Dinner was fairly good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    unique, quirky and area surrounding very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only disappointment was NO lift - I was on 2nd floor due to last minute booking - there were several events on the weekend I stayed, which meant hotel full up. bit of a struggle using the stairs with luggage.

    loved the location ( part of Aerodrome) _ Receptionist was absolutely lovely - very friendly welcome. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel. Loved all of the art deco and aeroplane memorabilia.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only just warm (we were 1st in at 8am) and even worse there were only cold plates available. The attitude of one a the girls behind the bar in the evening left a lot to be desired, very abrupt. Generally not very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.5
    Excellent quirky hotel with its 30s art deco and feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent quirky hotel with its 30s art deco and feel. Always appreciate veggie sausages as sourced and cooked for breakfast. All around the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Retro Hotel with fantastic views and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt it was a bit expensive vs other hotels in the area and the road noise wasnt ideal but bearable.

    Its a retro hotel but tastefully done, the evening meal was excellent and service good. The location overlooking the airfield was fantastic and even better as a Spitfire was on the airfield ready for the open day this weekend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentleman on reception when we arrived was a bit abrupt and offhand - this was mentioned by my friends as well

    Bar staff and the lady on reception on Sunday morning were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel- service let it down somewhat....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant wasn’t brilliant. When we ordered a bottle of proseco, the waitress dumped it on our table with a “there you go”. No pouring out or niceties with this at all. Just a comment would have done- here is the bottle you ordered- enjoy! Or even offer to pour out the first glass each? It was busy- there was a wedding on but as far as we could see it didn’t affect the restaurant. When my meal was bought the waitress nearly tipped it on to the table and nearly knocked over the bottle when putting the pudding down. Just needed to take a bit more time. One of the bath towels had a black plastic of some sort stuck to it. Only discovered when my husband went to use it. A bit disappointing really. As we had stayed before and it was lovely.

    We love this hotel. The Art Deco is fabulous. Staff very nice and polite. Room comfy. We had a very nice meal BUT

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are clean & comfortable.Bar has a relaxing ambience.Fairly remote location but very Interesting watching planes & visiting the on site Museum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a querky hotel very nice art deco and right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't write a negative because there isn't one.

    It was a querky hotel very nice art deco and right on the edge of an airfield. No flying at night so not a problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved Art decor -really nice to sit outside -all clean -We...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu -there is a cheaper menu than the overpriced one that is on the website but £8.50 for most starters (nothing special) A lot of the main al a cart meals were about £25 with sides -too much .There is a cheaper menu (fish n chips and burgers which we plumped for but feel a more reasonable priced mid range would suit the Aviator

    Loved Art decor -really nice to sit outside -all clean -We were returning for the first time in 20years as got married there 20years ago -Thought it still v enchanting and better than I remembered

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Will be back. Right up my street. It's not many Hotels that have a real Spitfire Fifteen fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above re meal

    If you are into Aviation this is the Hotel to stay at . My Indian meal at the bar was excellent but they had run out of nans., I think the staff should have noted this and reflected this either on the bill or with an extra instead. It's a very minor point.. I do think the staff in the bar perhaps could be a little more in the spirit of the Hotels unusual atmosphere and made a bit of an effort with guests. If you go to the trouble to have a themed Hotel. Might be worth the staff making an effort as many guest are there because of the theme.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent two night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel is delightful and has the history of its past. The Food was excellent and I can not fault anything. The Highlight for our stay was the chance of wrapping a WW2 Spitfire up for the night when one dropped in for an Over NIGHT stop. There can not be any other hotel that you get that chance!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Just brilliant
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really we were really pleased with everything and thank you to all your staff they helped to make our the weekend fantastic just brilliant

    Lovely comfortable bed everything clean and lovely staff very pleasant and only happy to help Otho g

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    A querky and super relaxing venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee is now self service but it had run out - much nicer to have a Cafetiere on the table so you know it is fresh.

    If you like Art Deco then you will love the Aviator. The whole place just has a comfy relaxed feel. We sat outside and enjoyed a gin and tonic looking across the aerodrome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect.😀

    We booked this for our daughter and her partner, it is a fantastic place, it's situated next to Sywell aerodrome so you can spend a pleasant hour or so watching the planes land and take off. Hotel is themed in twenties thirties style. We had Sunday lunch, which was fantastic, service was excellent. Daughter said breakfast was a buffet so you helped yourself to as much as you wanted, that went down a storm with her partner as he is a bottomless pit. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Always a pleasure to stay at the Aviator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always a pleasure to stay at the Aviator.Location is a bit out of the way but you can spend a pleasant evening in the bar & watch the planes from the garden next day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent short stay at Sywell to witness friends birthday treat flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were a little curt and the service generally on the slow side but manageable. Our room was next to a road that turned out to be surprisingly busy. Try and get a room in a different location if possible.

    The location is perfect given that we were attending a birthday celebration part of which was a flight from Sywell airfield. All amenities that we wanted were on site and it was great to be on an active airfield on a lovely summer's day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    I love the art deco, it's fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here 3 time snow on business, unfortunately this time the mattress on my bed was very uncomfortable. I mentioned it the next day when I checked out and although the lady was sympathetic, she did not offer to compensate me, I thought maybe a discounted rate for my next visit may have been nice.

    I love the art deco, it's fabulous

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    A very interesting stay for a Spitfire Experience package - recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift up to the 1st and second floor bedrooms. There are however ground floor rooms if you need them. The restaurant staff were a little grumpy in the morning!

    Quiet, comfortable bedrooms. Relaxed bar and restaurant. The hotel is next to the airfield, so ideal for Spitfire Experience packages. Lots of interesting World war 11 memorabilia.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and I have already recommended it to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only think of minor complaint was the extremely small television

    Fantastic hotel and I have already recommended it to colleagues and friends. From the moment of checking in to checking out I was impressed and will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.0
    Good value hotel on an Aerodrome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only gripe is that they did not offer me snacks/sandwich type food in bar in the evening (only at lunchtimes). On a hot day or not as the case maybe a large meal is not always required - missing a trick here. I was OK, but if light sleeper then ask for a room away from the perimeter and road

    Good value for money and great location between Northampton and Wellingborough - being on an aerodrome it was great sitting outside in the garden enjoying a beer and watching the planes. Room was good size and clean; in a separate block and secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    An interesting and most enjoyable stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The booking arrangements were not helpful. I had to book via Booking.com and found that I had been allocated a room on the first floor. There are no lifts and I have a serious leg problem. Fortunately the hotel staff kindly changed me to a room on the ground floor.

    The location for access to the airfield was ideal. The hotel staff were most helpful and considerate. The restaurant, bar and meeting facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    A good overnight stop - better than the chain hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a disappointment, but very cheap so can't really complain.

    The art deco theme was wonderful. We really enjoyed the evening meal in the restaurant, the quality of the food was excellent..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely ambience, shame about the bar staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service - or lack of it. We dined in the hotel restaurant on a Saturday night. They only had one waitress on duty. She was a lovely young lass who did her absolute best. However, she had 23 covers while we were in the restaurant, PLUS the bar area which also served food. At one point she was so overwhelmed she asked us if we wanted the dessert menu before our main courses had even arrived! Whilst we have no criticism of her at all, there were staff behind the bar with nothing better to do than polishing glasses. Surely one of them could have helped her out. The result of all this was that it took ages to get served and a long wait for our food. The white wine we ordered was warm, although the waitress did get us a cooler. The food was good. We visited the bar twice during our stay, both times the staff were slow and seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves and cleaning shelves than serving us.

    The entire hotel is in the Art Deco period style. The attention to detail to get an authentic look is really good. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Parking is good. Check in was friendly and efficient, as was check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Could have been so good except for the food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I visited this hotel 3 years ago and the evening meal was dreadful. 3 years later the food was just as bad and expensive for the quality of food presented..

    We liked the iconic style of the hotel, one of the best we have visited. The closeness to the airport from which I was flying. The quality of the hotel had been upgraded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    room very clean, plenty of tea, milk etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closed Saturday evening without any warning. Noise from function being held on Saturday evening

    room very clean, plenty of tea, milk etc. food in restaurant very good (Friday evening) Lovely terrace to sit outside over looking the airfield

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Loved the music switch in the bathroom and the chips at dinner were Devine!! And the bonus of the spitfire taking off and while having a beer just made the stay even better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The decor of hotel was amazing Rooms We’re Lovely and the bed was so comfortable. Me and my partner will deffo be back at some point xx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out is set for 12 and yet at 9,30 we got a knock at the door from the cleaning staff. I do think that is way too early, especially if someone wants to sleep in a bit more.

    I did enjoy the hotel, it looks amazing, it has a great view towards the Aerodrome, very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We were a family of 5 including a toddler and everyone really enjoyed the day at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are great. Not just a touch of art deco but carried on throughout the hotel. Really comfortable hotel and very good value for both food and drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Location and the facilities were excellent. The food and service in the restaurant and bar were poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food! The menu was extensive, however very expensive for the quality. Breakfast was very poor. The rooms were not very clean.

    Food & service at the restaurant was very poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stop if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102 is a little near the entrance and can be noisy. Shower curtain is an issue as it sticks to you whilst showering due to the extractor fan being over the bath.

    Very friendly and helpful waitresses and bar staff. Great showers and comfortable bed. Good breakfast available at an extra charge. Great to watch the planes, and a hot air balloon, on the airfield.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    A pleasurable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad

    The decor was excellent, the staff very helpful. Could not do enough. Bed was comfy and the garden overlooking the airfield was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely but floorboards very noisy/squeaky especially as above other rooms, apart from that everything was top class.

    Beautiful hotel, exceptionally clean. Bar area very comfortable and food was excellent. Sat outside for a while as weather was very good and watched the helicopter and planes taking off and landing, very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Amazing, something I will never forget but mainly due to the fact I got engaged during our stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in my opinion the hotel is a bit dated but I think this added to the whole character/theme of the hotel

    Everything simply couldn’t find fault if I tried

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.0
    very convenient for place of work.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Company has been using the Aviator for 7 years but there NO DOG POLICY has caused considerable problems over the last two years for a couple of the key staff. A couple of dog friendly rooms would make all the difference. Sadly, with our expected requirements increasing to 45+ nights next year, we will have to look for an alternative.

    very convenient for place of work. Great staff and fine selection in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable afternoon, evning and I slept well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very poor to non existant in 207 service was very slow in the bar/restaurant areas. Lack of staff probably the reason.

    The general ambiance of the place and being on the aerodrome was a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Does the job, but don’t go when it’s busy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flashing smoke detector like a beacon in the night. Poor service at breakfast - couldn’t cope with demand

    In the location we needed it to be in! Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    The location is interesting - not easy to find though - my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was warm rather than hot - I was there at 7.30. Single glazing in the rooms allowed a lot of road noise and without airco you needed the window open on a warm night.

    The location is interesting - not easy to find though - my navigator couldn't do it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Just as it always is - a relaxing stay that I appreciate every time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location at the aerodrome watching planes take off and land whilst enjoying a lovely breakfast (fab sausages) is so calming. Been here a few times. Never disappointed. Fantastic shower too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Great venue, but a few more smiles would have been nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff were miserable and very slow. Coffee machine was out of order and I couldn't get a snack, sandwich or small meal mid-pm. In the evening two bars were charging different prices!

    The art deco style is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    The hotel could be lovely but is a bit tired and staff don’t seem very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room should have been cleaner. Shower handle came off in my hand. One particularly hectic member of breakfast staff brought an unnecessarily chaotic atmosphere to breakfast which I really didn’t appreciate.

    Nice Art Deco decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at dinner was flaky. When standing waiting to be seated three staff just stood and looked at me from across the dining room, perhaps wondering at the reason for my excessive eye contact. Had to ask for a steak knife and for someone to take my order for dessert. Was not offered any condiments.Staff friendly enough, perhaps a training issue.

    Exceptionally clean, basic but very comfortable. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    We were there for a specific reason, if you don’t love aviation then consider somewhere more modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are quite dated, think 1980’s with Art Deco ornaments. Bar and waiting staff can hardly be bothered and need training in customer service. At night bar prices fluctuated

    The receptionist was lovely, warm and friendly welcome. The Aviator overlooks the airfield with a lovely front lawn , so the view is fantastic especially if you like vintage aircraft. Rooms are quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place for shooting ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitung Staff in restaurant were shocking.stood around talking to eachother and felt like were interupting their conversation.overcharged for food. Reception on arrival were not welcoming. Nice lady on reception on departure. Really helpful.

    Ideal place to stay for our meeting. Great food but too slow from ordering to serving.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    This place is excellent value for money, the room had just...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is excellent value for money, the room had just been fully refurbished and was great. The bar and restaurant are old school, but as the place is original art deco it all works well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    been before - same high standard and excellent value for money
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    wide range of meals on menu - I had game - not normally on menus in many restaurants - excellent. Service was very well maintained throughout our meal. Waitress knew the different type of ale on tap - 3 on that night - an excellent spitfire and a fine sea fury!!! Front desk at reception was very efficient and her manner was an excellent advert for the Aviator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    For the event we were attending it was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. No AC.

    Good breakfast that was reasonably priced. Late bar opening and friendliness of the late barman. Drinks reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    A nice change.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar and restaurant staff need some training.

    Great retro 'art deco' style, very interesting, hotel. Rooms comfortable. Food good. Good selection of beers and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Really cool retro decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit in the middle of nowhere but under 5 mins onto main roads.

    Really cool retro decor. For a fairly standard service hotel, it really made me smile. Nice staff nice bar and great breakfast. Really good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant: Not many food choices on the menu and has not changed much since I last stayed at the hotel over 2 years ago. The food I did order did not taste nice and I did not finish my main meal of dessert. Staff: The waitress in the restaurant appeared disinterested in her job and therefore came across as abrupt and rude. On check out, I needed the receipt splitting but was unable to convey this to the receptionist as she was talking to a colleague while at the same time dealing with my hotel check out. Overall this was not a pleasant stay and I will not be staying here again, either for business or leisure.

    The location is a novel idea, especially for a pilot such as myself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in great surroundings, good food and wine, if a little pricy for one of the menus.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows for bed too thin. Lack of 13 amp sockets in room, near bed.

    The style of the hotel and restaurant. The Art Deco theme. The friendly helpful staff and the location. Shower really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant enough stay. Convenient if you fly in, enjoy a drink in the bar and decide to stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in restaurant not as offered in room details. Disappointed with this as we were looking forward to something a little more special than ham,egg and chips or beef bourguinon. (Shallot stew!) Bed rather firm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Great apart form being very cold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my stay was marred by the lack of heating from 9PM to 7 AM Absolutely freezing on a very cold night

    lovely hotel with great facilities and style, great food in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Great experience, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in the room was way too small (19"), mattress was too hard (personal preference), staff need more training for bar and restaurant.

    A fine art deco building with authentic fittings throughout. The whole hotel is retro-modern so everything was in excellent condition, clean and functional. Excellent restaurant food though not cheap. Great choice of whisky and gin at the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location, atmospheric bar area and art Nuevo décor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, atmospheric bar area and art Nuevo décor big bedrooms very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Would happily stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Exactly what was wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a tea-o-holic, so perhaps more tea bags and milk capsules in the rooms would have been good, but that really is nit picking.

    The attention to detail was superb. As an Art Deco officionado it was the little things that made the difference.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Aviator Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: