Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ayrshire and Galloway 3 stars

1 Killoch Place, Ayr, KA72EA, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in Ayr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 706 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. Couldn't do enough for us. Our room was clean, bed was super comfy and the bathroom was spotless. We will defo be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay close to everything and doesn't break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely quaint room,spotless and excellent shower.Great location close to railway ,shops and restaurants and not far from beach.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a long black hair in the bed that didn't be long to us. There was no shower facilities Noisy room on main road with bars nearby. This wasn't suitable for us as an older couple

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise early morning.

    large twin room with large en suite.Very central location.Early check in so we could attend races on time.Staff very helpful and friendly.This was our fourth time staying here and will use again as the train station is only 3 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, functional and in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above a pub so live bands can be loud. Not too bad in my room though. Functionally comfortable for work but not exactly a romantic getaway.

    Cheap, functional and in a good location. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Good for a place to stay when travelling for work. Shower was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay all in all... would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor thing..but the beds were on casters which meant they moved when you sat on them! More funny than annoying though.

    The receptionist was so welcoming and friendly, she really made us feel relaxed. The room was perfect... clean with a good view overlooking Burns Statue Square .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice Character property close to Railway station and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scotland is not geared for hot weather. A large room overlooking the street means that with Windows open the traffic noise wakes you very early. The future in the room was just starting to show signs of wear and tear. Although a large bathroom there was no wall fitting for the shower head. So had to shower with one hand .. No a criticism so much as a warning that the stairs were a little uneven. Care should be taken.

    It was very convenient for the railway station and town centre. The room was very large and large bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable weekend for a long time, could not believe how glorious the weather was as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I was never stuck for a parking space, a larger carpark would be better. I appreciate that would be extremely difficult given your location.

    The food was excellent as was the choice of dishes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff in the Meridian next door were very efficient and hard-working and the ambience in there was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely homely place to stay, food in the hotel and the Meridian next door was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff were very helpful. The decor in the room we stayed in was a little dated but we were happy with it and the room was very clean as was the bathroom, all very comfortable. The bar was very welcoming with comfortable seating. We picked this hotel mainly for location as we wanted to be able to park the car then walk, it suited us very well and we would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Was great to get away at a price I could afford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wishing was pet friendly as I hate leaving my two yorkies Who go most places with us

    Right next to train station and not far from the bus station too 2nd time been clean and tidy good for chilling out and a sleep Staff really nice too Heading back in August

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy and lovely hotel set in a great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer is very old and so doesn't work very well. It may need replacing.

    The staff were super helpful and lovely to deal with. The room was amazing and really comfy, also the hotel is in a fantastic location and good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    would not stay there again buyer beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were hard and uncomfortable ,cleaning staff could do with some instructions (used sachel of shampoo sat for 2 days before it was disposed of and behind the bedside cabinet had not being cleaned for months.The hotel has 30 rooms but only 12 parking spaces and no other parking was offered other than 3 spaces some 150 metres away and unsecured, reception area was manned part time.

    The bar staff and reception staff were fine . I did not answer the question above as the style that would describe it did not appear (grotty and in need of refurbishment)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    The rooms were great, and it was nice that we were given the...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater was on and we only noticed the next day but when turning it down was unsure if it changed, however the window was open to let air flow so the room was not too hot, in end it didn't effect us too much to be a problem

    The rooms were great, and it was nice that we were given the option available for the gluten free breakfast even though we didn't end up using it, it is still great to know it was there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money and right in middle of town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    personal choice - but poor lager choices in bar. One way system makes getting to this hotel a little difficult. ( 3 attempts)

    Took money off credit card, where as we wanted to pay cash on day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable we would use it again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s was nothing we didn’t like.

    Everything in the room was spotless, good level of decor. We have family in the area who insisted feeding us while visiting so did not have the chance to use the restaurant and bar, we have used them previously and it was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Good, but way to warm in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too warm and we could not adjust the temperature of the radiator when i spoke to staff they did not seem to be able to do anything about it.

    Location was great and staff friendly. Lovely wee bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Central location - great restaurant - lovely staff !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was lovely, so nice, we ate there both nights. We had tapas. But what really made the restaurant so special were the waitresses. Both nights, the girls were lovely ..... second night was Rebecca, and I am so sorry to admit that I can't remember the other ladies name ... but they were both fabulous ! Friendly and efficient ! We stayed at the hotel, with bonus parking out the back !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.0
    Sorry to say but disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated and cold . The bed was rather lumpy a motor was on the whole night outside was rather noisy . Boss of building blocked our car in car park even though there was spaces . We were booked for 2 nights for a wedding . We stayed one night and had to book else where

    Liked that it was close to shops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Easter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean hotel and extremely friendly and helpful staff - Kirsty on reception was fab! Our room was a good size and was really comfortable. Value for money was great! The location was good and we’d definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs but to be fair we didn't ask for lower floor. Still managed though.

    Central location staff very helpful and extremely friendly. Everywhere very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay but over to quick
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant say anything everything was to a good standard.

    The friendliness of the staff especially Chris who organised my taxi to my son's wedding in Maybole at Dalduff farm on the Saturday morning once again thanks very much Chris.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Birthday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been a few times and always made welcome, staff very friendly, had problems with our room as well couldn't turn down the radiator and the room was boiling. We asked for someone to have a look and as it couldn't be fixed we were moved to another room,no bother at at all,thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break and will be back again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    the hotel is in a great location and i would go again as plenty of restraunts around to eat in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No help to carry bags. You had to next door for breakfast as the restaurant doesn't open until 11 am,

    I had to change rooms three times !! no help to carry bags. you had to go next door for breakfast as the restaurant doesn't open until 11 am, I think it was called Meridian the breakfast was cold and felt like it had been heated up in the microwave, the toast hard, but a polite waitress. great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    we will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lifts

    all the staff outstanding, food good ,drink good, right in the centre of town. what more can more can anybody want i should say reception staff did go that extra mile for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My grandmother did struggle with stairs so a lift would have been a bonus but it’s an old building

    The hotel room it’s self is dated, but was a lovely room with beautiful bathroom, had room 18, which was very large and toilet was beautiful Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Fairly early bar closure (10 pm).

    The room and attached shower room were of excellent quality. The staff (bar, reception, dining room and room cleaning) were friendly and efficient. The price of food was a little steep, though excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    It was very good staff are all brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn't like it was manageable was the stairs as myself and my sister in law as bad legs I would ask for first floor next time.

    The room was a bit dated but was very comfortable and the food was excellent good choice and we got a 20 % voucher of the food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    we had a lovely time ..and would definately go back ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only issue was window in room would not close properly due to the latch been broken off. simple easy fix......so we were quite cold during the night ...

    staff were excellent..went there for our anniversary..through emails with my daughter they put flowers and chocolates in our room. lovely surprise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed our stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were a bit high. £4 a pint is too dear. The special of 2 burgers and a bottle of red was also on the high side.

    The room was cosy and warm and the bar and bistro were very nicely fitted out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    One night stay only, great staff, comfortable and clean, definately stay again when in Ayr.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture was a bit dated but everything worked, clean and comfortable. Excellent value.

    Very friendly staff, excellent value for money hotel. Extremely comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poorly decorated and requires to be updated and refurbished / modernised.

    The location of the hotel is very central and staff appeared run off their feet!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Lovely place!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was totally perfect. Truly! Right close to the train station. Lovely bar and restaurant associated with the place. Moneygram, if needed, is across the way. Shops of all kinds are just down the street. The people were outstanding! Very kind, thoughtful and hospitable. Clean room. Comfy bed. Quick WiFi. Even a trouser press in the room, if needed. I imagine, if you needed anything else, the staff would do their best to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Loved it and very central and will return for another stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a built in shower instead of the handheld hose in the bath

    Staff were so helpful, room was very comfy, and the whole place was really clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    I was able to do everything I intended and found the staff helpful and informative,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were pleasant and friendly. The hotel is located in Ayr Town Centre close to everything I wanted. Although the hotel is quite old the staff keep it clean and tidy and is a pleasure to stay in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value for a simple stopover.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 10pm. Shower didn't have a raised holster nor a shower curtain, so had to hold the showerhead throughout.

    Warm welcome. Shower temperature easy to get right.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Great location when traveling by bus or train food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather and not winning at the races

    Great location when traveling by bus or train food was excellent at evening meal nice relaxed atmosphere in the bar.staff very attentive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Best place we’ve stayed in Ayr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bigger tv for such a big room. The stairs are a bit of a hike to second floor, especially with cases or bags! Ok for us but some people would struggle.

    We love this place! The staff are lovely, the beds are so comfy, great shower, and the location is ideal for everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Th hotel is close to town centre and a 5 min walk from the station, ideal location. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival . The rooms were spacious ,clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent and very good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good quality food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting was dim in the room. In the bathroom/shower the curtain did not fully close. My room although very spacious was at the front of the hotel which made it noisy as the location is at the top of the High St

    Friendly staff, good quality food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant and handy for town centre and station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was lucky to fit my little car into the last space but fortunately most of the cars may have belonged to diners at adjacent restaurant and evening visitors to bar and had gone later. Can not see how that can be improved but if you have much luggage to unload may be OK to wait in street if you have a passenger to guard car? But staff very helpful and let me leave car until 11am while I went to find breakfast.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant and room very clean and tidy and Rachel helped me with directions and advice on a tasty meal when arrived about 7pm on a Sunday evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Pretty average with no frills,however it was clean and a handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel was what I expected for the price. The ensuite was excellent. The bed was soft and quite spongy, and uncomfortable.

    The lighting was a little stark

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was what is was for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was inadequate for the size of the hotel. A minor thing but annoying was the entrance to the hotel was a walk round the corner in the rain with cases etc. The room was dated and cleanliness could have been better. The hotel bar prices were high too

    The hotel location was very good, close to the shops and some bars. The receptionist was lovely and greeted us with a cheery smile. She was able to give us information regarding places to eat etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for the money and excellent food. Charlie behind the bar was particularly helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned above the parking facilities are pretty restricted and bedroom furniture could do with being replaced/ upgraded.

    Staff were very friendly and the food and menu choice were both excellent. Room was clean and ok but furniture is showing it’s age. Very good location in the heart of Ayr. Only one minor point is that that the parking facilities are not great and can be difficult to manoeuvre the car if you can find a space. All in all great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    I ENJOYED A SHORT STAY, BUT PITY ABOUT CURFEW AT 10.30PM-11PM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DON'T WANT TO CAUSE TROUBLE BUT I HAD TO RING BELL AT ABOUT HALF TEN TO GET BACK IN. SECURITY CONCIERGE ASKED IF I WOULD BE GOING BACK OUT AGAIN BECAUSE HE WAS GOING FOR A SLEEP. INSTEAD OF BEING RUDE I JUST PACKED MY SUITCASE

    Nice food. Quick check in.. Nice friendly girl doing reception and making sure we enjoyed your food. Rebecca I think her name was. Good decent size bedroom/bathroom in double 2nd floor with main street view. Amazing for closeness to shops etc and train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Lots of high points, only slight issue was the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a bit thin so could hear my neighbours TV all night and snoring. Central heating was loud and came on very early (6am). Central location means noise from the street (not the hotels fault). Recommend earplugs.

    The location was excellent and the staff were faultless. The bathroom in particular was spotlessly clean. Nice breakfast in the Meridian next door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    Noice place with poor beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The bed was bad; mattress very poor and the bed on wheels - making it impossible to lean on to the wall or the head-board. The water in toilet came in separate cranes - cold and the hot. There were no mixer tab.

    I liked the location, being short distance from train station and the university.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Business trip but stay made pleasant by the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The service from the staff was the best attribute of the hotel. It is a budget hotel and great value for money. The staff are a real asset. Food more than satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Good location and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service on Saturday night was the complete opposite of Friday as the girls that were on just could not cope they did not have enough wine glasses on hand and as it was busy they just did not seem to handle it at all we were even told last orders was at 10:30 which we felt was wrong??

    Charlie who was working Friday night and Sunday morning is a really good host his attention to detail and working under pressure was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    good hosts but interupted sleep
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise seemed to travel very easilly, and the door to the bathroom is far too heavy. i wasnt keen on having to go outside and que for breakfast or that ot wasnt available till 8

    staff were very friendly and food was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.5
    Depressing place, couldnt wait to get out of it, not the fault of the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible music in the dining room area, the room was not clean and the carpet needs to be replaced. The furniture is outdated.

    The bed was atrocious, it should be dumped in a skip. It was also filthy dirty. I just made the best of it as it is useless complaining these days. The staff were the only redeeming aspect of this hotel. It was the most depressing place I have ever stayed in anywhere. The mad pop music in the dining room was dreadful too. I arrived at the hotel at 11:45 and I was told I could not check in until 14:00. Some of the menu items were above average but other items were well below hotel standard. I would definitely not be in a hurry to return to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    very pleasant enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stafff very good help full bed room clean bed comfy plenty room shower very good. the windows needed a good clean out side. heating was very good. so really only thing i say bad about the room the windows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central hotel,staff all very friendly and pleasant,had breakfast in sister bar value for money and served from 8am everyday.within easy walking distance from the centre and the shops

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, relaxing and fun!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only being picky but the TV was on top of the wardrobe, just a bit far away from the bed, maybe a touch bigger or a little closer, but as I said minor point and did not detract from our enjoyment!!

    All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the establishment was very clean and tidy, the location was great for eating out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing,chilling place....close to pubs, cafes and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything great,no complaints.

    We were booked room only.Comfy spacious room,warm and facing the main street. Handy for shopping and pubs. Stayed here lots of times....£50 an overnight for 2,great value for money. Tea coffee and shortbread in room lovely. Will go back soon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.2
    Top floor room, dusty stained room. Unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being given my bill before even seeing our room. The room was a throw back from the 70's and not very clean. Stained under sheets, dust all over, noise from the road outside. No good if you ate disabled. Car parking on site if yr quick enough to get on otherwise you have to pay for parking on street. £50 a night and no breakfast. An extra £9 if you require this. We tried cancelling our second night and they would not refund our money. Will never stay or recommend here

    The bathroom was the only bonus. Clean towels and a nice shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Ideal location lovely and helpful staff good food and drink.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy but it was facing the main road so could do with better sound proofing i.e double glazing.

    Location was ideal for us, good variety of drinks if a bit expensive we had a beer, cider,lager and a gin and tonic which came to £22

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall it served its purpose . Food was good as was the very pleasant staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As reiterated above the room could have done with a freshen up as it was quite dated .

    Hotel food was very good and they offer a pensioners two course mel with a choice of menu for a very reasonable £7.95. However, breakfast is served next door to the hotel in The Meridian which I believe is part of the same company. Breakfast menu was very good with a good choice and reasonably priced. Of course breakfast in my case was not included in the price so paid up front at the Meriddian. Staff there were very good too. I had a single room and it served its purpose for a two night stay at the reasonable price of £70 however the room was clean as was the bathroom and shower however the room was "tired" and quite dated and could have done with a freshen up decor wise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, location and close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The restaurant at the hotel is good. the food was lovely and the staff very friendly. this is my second stay here and it has not disappointed. We will be going back in Feb 2018. Hotel is situated in a central location, and all bars, restaurants and shops are walking distance. Or if you fancy get a train through to Prestwick. there are plenty of bars to choose from there too. all in all a good night out and a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    All you could want
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although delicious, the food and drink was a tad pricey.

    Very comfortable and good value for money. Enjoyed the bath! The staff were very friendly and the bed was very comfy. In these kinds of hotels it is sometimes difficult to find one's way about the place, so it was great to be able to follow a well sign-posted layout to my room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night and didn't eat in the hotel, so we can't give a very detailed assessment, but we were not impressed with the standard of housekeeping, particularly in the bathroom. The shower and bath were dirty and the toilet had a very serious plumbing problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Very simple hotel but very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be slightly better.

    Very simple hotel but very nice. Shower in room was one of the best showers I have ever had! Breakfast next door in Meridan restuarant was great. Stayed before and will use again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, great location, shame no breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds are not that comfy....mattress not great. Biggest downfall is that there is no breakfast included, for the same price that some others include a good hearty breakfast for...shame.

    Staff are WONDERFUL!....so friendly and helpful...even remembered us from before. Location is really great for railway and shops. Room is clean and lots of space

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise overnight was a small problem and the noise from room above.

    Great central location with excellent friendly staff. Loved the bar area and the food was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    ENJOYED OUR STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE NOISE FROM OTHER GUESTS COMING HOME IN THE EARLY HOURS, BUT THIS WASNT THE HOTELS FAULT. THE NOISE FROM THE PIPE WORK EVERY TIME YOU USED THE LOO!

    THE STAFF WERE 1ST CLASS, NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH BOTHER TO THEM

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    My overnight stay was very satisfying and I would return.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfy mattress. More pillows.

    Good value and good location. Everything you need inc free wifi, food, shops, nice staff. Love the mini toilletries bottles of sea kelp. Amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Booking.com mucked-up by not informing hotel I was booked to come, reason for double room given
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedroom no character and decoration looked tired, giving room a lifeless appearance ie only a mirror & lonely tv on walls. floor stains around en-suite door frame bottom, wc hard too flush sometimes

    bed comfortable, bedroom large for a double, en-suite was clean & fresh with nice towels, hotel entrance & accommodation stairway & corridors nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Good after we changed rooms, food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room no 1, I couldn't breath, it was closing my air ways, I could smell the room before i opened the door. We opened a window and went back 40 mins later it was still bad.

    Room 27, it was a great size, girl on reception was fantastic, boys in the bar were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good clean place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise outside on the Friday night (stayed on Friday and Saturday night) was very loud as the location of the property was right in the town.

    The room was huge and very clean - nice to have a bath as well. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Great Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from our room weren't to inviting but I would say this was because if the location of the property it was central so everything you needed or wanted to do was very close.

    The room was very dated and small but clean,the shower was amazing. The staff were lovely very helpful and attentive the food was lovely and if you were a resident you got 20% off the menu which was good because some of the food was a bit pricey. If I planned another few days away it would be possible I would book this again only asking for a different room maybe a front facing room as we were at the back of the property overall I would recommend this place if it's just somewhere to sleep it was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The staff were great and the hotel was very clean and the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave to come home .

    The staff were great and the hotel was very clean and the bar , bistro ans restaurant were all well looked after. I loved it and look forward to going back .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was perhaps a little on the small side for a double and there was only one chair, although an additional one would probably have had to be stored in the bathroom, which did have plenty of space. Given the price though this is not a complaint, more of a suggestion. There was no lift so stairs were a bit of a trek to the 2nd floor with luggage.

    In the centre of Ayr so handy for shops and close to beach. All of the staff we spoke with were extremely pleasant, the accommodation was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were booked for room only so can't comment on the restaurant although we did have a lovely cooked breakfast in The Meridian next door, which is also owned by the same people. The staff there were equally pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Think owners are working hard to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I didn't like it but room was very. Wry basic, tired and dated Good quality of sleep though

    Friendly pleasant staff, nice relaxed atmosphere in the place Bathroom lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    had a lovely stay staff were really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    smell of smoking in room when we arrived had to open window as far as we could to try and get rid of smell but the room was clean enough

    location and nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Would zdefinatley visit the restaurant again but probably not use the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a nightclub/bar that had live bands playing until midnight. Absolutely no chance of getting any sleep.

    Staff were friendly and professional. Bar and restaurant were very nice and food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Central for visiting in the area but lots of adverse problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud music played in the next door building until midnight which prevented any idea of an early night; also although the rooms were non-smoking my room overlooked the car park which the staff used for smoking in so if I left my window open all I could smell on return and for several hours after was cigarette smoke from below.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: