Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bank House Hotel 3 stars

Church Street, Uttoxeter, ST14 8AG, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 hotels in Uttoxeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Very old and in desperate need of an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t reach the bedroom. Drinks were extremely expensive in the hotel bar. Minimal parking within hotel which meant I had to park in an unsecured car park away from the hotel.

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Had its own parking round the back and location was perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had its own parking round the back and location was perfect for Alton Towers. We didn’t use the bar or restaurant but it looked great as it was part of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells but not the hotel’s fault

    Room was beautiful with a lovely 4 poster bed, nice view of the church which unfortunately chimed every 1/4 hour throughout the day & night. Would definitely stay here again but would request a room at the back away from the church.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer No biscuits in tea tray Time of breakfast ending brought forward half an hour because starting early for someone. 9am is way too early at the weekend.. . Even 9.30 would be too early. One price breakfast , cereal juice and cooked breakfast...... £9 not buffet style Could not connect to Wifi. Over priced for 1 night stay, paid extra for four poster but room was very basic..... not lush £79

    Location 4 poster bed Free Parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    One of the worst B and B's I have stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall impression from the staff was that they were not bothered about giving a great service. The rooms were shabby and basic, the breakfast was very poor standard and not worth the extra cost.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Poor, and wouldn't go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired and very run down - all the furniture needs replacing. The whole place felt and smelt grubby. I'm not sure that the duvet cover under the sheet was clean - it certainly hadn't been ironed. Didn't have breakfast - thankfully! No toiletries other than an almost empty bottle of hand wash

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location for Alton Towers, walking distance to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs a re-vamp. Old fixtures and fittings. But that is just our taste.

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable we have slept in, we were both bitten whilst sleeping in the bed. Not sure by what! It was a reasonable price for two nights, we looked into staying in a Premier Inn, which is what we would always do when going away for a short break, but the Premier Inn In Uttoxeter was more expensive. It served its purpose, but my preference would be a Premier Inn. For us, just too old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    The location to the race course was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were extremely thin, I could hear talking and even snoring from the room next door. The church opposite chimes every half hour; the pillows were also lumpy.

    The location to the race course was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church opposite that had their bells ringing every half hour for on 5am. The room had signs of age and could off done with modernising although comfy. The bathroom ceiling could have done with a good clean and paint due to what appeared to be mould spots caused by the shower

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.5
    It had a great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets are dirty and in places thread bare . The room itself was thick with dust on the furniture and even worse on the window ledges . The top of the furniture looked clean but every other part was dusty . I dropped my earring on the floor to discover old rice and dried up peas from a previous occupants Chinese. The bed creaked so bad that even turning over made a noise. The carpet thread bare in parts with and obvious hole in the floor boards covers by carpet that I kept tripping on. The staircase up to the room was tricky .. worse trying to carry a suitcase as the tread of the stairs was slipping down so you felt you were falling backwards as you. Limbed the stair.. so no quirky. On returning the next day from our day out our room had been cleaned and hoovered . We didn’t have breakfast £9 so we cannot coment on the food. We won’t recommend this hotel .

    It had a great shower. The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    This place needs LOVE,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs LOVE, I Booked 2 nights through booking.com, i would normally rough it but we left the next morning. To say the pictures online do it justice is a understatement. In short worst night in a bed ever! The bed squeaked and creaked simply just moving a pillow let alone tossing and turning, so I looked at the hotel images again to realise the bed had been altered... when my partner lifted the mattress the base of the bed was slats of ply screwed to a broken frame with a sheet of plywood laid on top, we’ve had better sleeps in a tent. The toilet had had a chunk missing and was simply masticked back on, the water in the loo was brown so I put the complimentary shower gel down and flushed it, It’s such a shame as this potentially lovely hotel just passes for barely clean but is tired, grubby and disorganised, someone with a bit of passion, some customer service skills and a few quid to invest could have a little gem on their hands. The fella running the place seemed to be a little Manwell, in the same clothes the next morning from the night before running from the one fella in the bar, leaving the reception unattended to cook in the kitchen..... the bar was closed at 10:15 on Friday night and he was cashing up at the reception desk. We complained the next morning about the bed and the fella said as we didn’t come and wake him up during the night he couldn’t see what our problem was, my partner was passed onto a phone call with the manager who said there is a sign to say if there’s an emergency or you need assistance go knock at room 10.... (who does this during the night????, ) and further to say what did we expect the hotel was 300 years old and not a premier inn!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice one night stay, good value for money but room could have been cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four poster bed was very unsturdy and room could have been cleaner. Pictures on the walls everywhere are very depressing. They need some ‘happy’ art!

    Hotel well located for town. Bedroom fine for one night and was quiet. Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Excellent Location For Race Course and local Bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location For Race Course and local Bars. Nice spacious and Clean room. Well stocked Bar with plenty of Seating. Every member of staff we dealt with was helpful and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Ideal central location great price a short walk to racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sliding sash window wouldn’t lock only a minor winge

    Very central Old Hotel with lots of character, creaking floorboards to add to the charm . Everything clean great bed. Lots of hot water and good pressure on shower. Everything we needed for overnight stay and 10min walk to attend the racing at uttoxeter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little dated now, even though it is in a listed building there would appear to be significant room for improvement in terms of the décor and bedroom furniture.

    The hotel was central to Uttoxeter and excellent for my business needs. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.3
    A joke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog running around and tripped over it. And the another customers Staffordshire dog was sniffing while we were eating our food at the table! The dog had no lead! And the hotel accepted this!!! It’s not good for buisness and good job I like dogs

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.9
    My stay was awful and I would never, ever stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a room in the top floor. It was awful. The carpet had weird, disgusting stains and the furniture was really old and worn. The bathroom smelled terrible, especially when the shower cubicle was opened. The stairs up to the room were terrifying. The carpet was worn, the stairs were uneven and the handrail was shaky. I asked for an alternative room and was told this wasn't possible, as one room had no electricity and another had no water. I felt unsafe as my door didn't lock properly. It can't explain enough how terrible this hotel really is.

    I did not like anything about this hotel. It really was awful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Ho close it as to the racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    How tired the room looked, a little TLC wouldnt go a miss. Replacing lamp shades that dont f it, chanigng worn out and treaded carpet in the bathroom, cheap thin curtains. A few quid could just inprove it so much.

    Ho close it as to the racecourse

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    We are planning our next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a meal for Saturday night and were delayed in getting back from Northwich, Cheshire. I phoned to apologize and say we would be late. The chef Roland was most understanding and produced a magnificent meal when we eventually arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    The stay was uncomfortable and the stairs were scary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The venue is way past its sell by date. The stairs were steep and dangerous especially for elderly people like my wife and I. The whole place smelt musty. There were warning signs about the sloping floors. The room and bed were spotlessly clean, but the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. We will not use it again. A fair price for that sort of accommodation would be £35 to £40 pounds, not the £71 that we paid.

    The staff were ultra friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    You can bank on Bank House!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the television didn't work but this was a problem being felt throughout the hotel and was probably due to the bad weather.

    A comfortable room and the full English breakfast was terrific. Opposite the Church which suited me for Sunday morning. Although my room was cold the proprietor kept the heating on all night which was wonderful especially when the snow arrived in the night!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    We would not recommend this hotel. We will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, staff arguing amongst themselves, very loudly. No wine list. Asked for a vase to put some flowers in I had been given which was promised, but it never arrived.

    Breakfast was very good but not a lot of variety. We asked for Earl Grey tea which they finally brought having raided somewhere else!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slightly little thing I'd have preferred an earlier breakfast as we needed to leave by 8am

    The room was beautiful, stunning 4 poster bed. Lovely furnishings Very clean Plenty of tea and coffee facilities available and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was fantastic, really lovely and the staff very welcoming and helpful. Ideal location for Alton towers as all signposted from close by and easy to find the hotel too. Very clean and had all we needed in the room. Nice little out door area outside the hotel. Very central and opposite a big church were I took the children to explore. Had a really lovely meal in the restaurant and the staff very helpful which was great as I had children with me. Really good vegetarian options on the menu and I had a fantastic vegan option too which was great. Fantastic place and will definitely stay again if we get to Alton towers again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly, relaxing 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright lights outside that lit the room at night through thin beige curtains. I live a mile from any Street lights so probably just not use to a light bedroom at night

    Old, quirky, lots of character, warm, comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy. In major need of refurb and a good clean....everywhere.Our 'city view' was the car park which was full on our second night so we risked the pay and display overnight. Expensive for what it was and breakfast was extra.

    Although the staff were run off their feet. They were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Was very happy to leav e!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The décor and the bed and b edclothes

    The bed was not comfy. The room was very small, no bath mat, not enough light. Did not smell fresh all through the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    Convenient for the racecourse but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just a bit grotty and in need of updating.

    All a bit tired and dated. Breakfast ridiculously expensive when there's a wetherspoons just around the corner at half the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean. Loads of thick dust on the skirting boards, backs of doors dirty, walls had dirty marks on them. The bedding was clean but the pillows smelled bad through the pillow case.

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    Worst 1st wedding Anniversary Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) I have stayed in 1 star to 5 stars hotels, Bedsits to Hostals And never have I stayed any place where they have not cleaned the room everyday. Well this hotel that happened We checked into our hotel on Saturday 26th August and hit the town, on Sunday 27th Our Anniversary we left the room and went off for the day with our friends When we returned around 7pm the rooms were still untidy and the bed was not made in our room and in there's too. I spoke to staff and was told that the cleaner was unavailable and was off for a few days looking after her husband As he was sick. Now you would think they would of got staff to cover her cleaning shifts. If the person in charge of the bar did not turn up would you then close the bar or hotel porter then close the hotel. It's not rocket science. 2) The four poster bed was poor it was mine and the wife's wedding Anniversary and the slightest movement we were scared the poster bed would fall on top of us. 3) The water pressure in the shower was poor and temperature was warm at most. 4)Too many signs in the room saying No Smoking We counted 4 .

    N/A

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    Book somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very dated, not particularly clean, door didn't lock properly and the parking was a pain.

    It was low cost and very close to where we needed to be

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenient Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom are a little tired but then again I wasn't expecting 5 star. The bed was horribly squeaky! The rooms are not sound proof and we could hear people talking downstairs very early in the morning which woke us up.

    Very quaint and old building. Excellent location, just around the corner from all the bars and restaurants in the town centre. There's a very large Waitrose about a 5-10 minute walk down the hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely four poster en-suite room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I assumed breakfast was included in the price (£90 for one night) but it was not. Breakfast was charged at £9pp, and was adequate but very hot.

    Booked a four-poster bed room, was absolutely lovely. The restaurant food in the evening was brilliant and really tasty, reasonably priced and hot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    would like the price of my breakfast back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel was fine - the miss leading information supplied by booking.com was and is appalling. breakfast not supplied in the price and not pointed out or made clear before purchase. Could stay in better accommodation for the same price with breakfast.

    hotel was fine - the miss leading information supplied by booking.com was and is appalling. breakfast not supplied in the price and not pointed out or made clear before purchase. Could stay in better accommodation for the same price with breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Was adequate for what we wanted but was no where near worth what we paid for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, rooms were very old, mould in the shower and hairs in the shower door, cracks in the walls and we couldn't lock the room door.

    The bar was cheap and the cooked breakfast in the morning was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    I would not return to this B&B unless there was nothing else in the area.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was REALLY uncomfortable. There were no bath mats and only one towel. The breakfast was £9 which I thought was a lot of money for a full English. There was only one man on duty and he was doing the cooking, booking people in and out. Very rushed and hence not very friendly. Couldn't get wifi to work. Noisy with outside disturbances from local kids in cars racing around car park.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Lovely old hotel full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Nothing!

    Excellent location. The lady on reception/ bar was really friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and fitted out 'in keeping' Had everything we needed. We didn't take breakfast here as meeting up with others staying elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Doesn't try hard enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated and not particularly clean. Really needs a major refurbishment especially the bathrooms which were something out of the 60's. The whole place smelt musty and we couldn't open our window at all. No hot water evening and morning in our bathroom so had to use the shower in kids room next door which was grubby and mouldy. We suspect that they get most of their customers through the races therefore don't have to try very hard.

    The curry house up the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable if modest country hotel well located for the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I didn't like for which the hotel could be blamed. It is very modest and not what I am used to but it is small country hotel in a small town with little industry. There is a limit to what any visitor can expect in these circumstances.

    This is a small friendly country hotel in an area not known for its glossy business hotels. It is modest and simple but perfectly acceptable. The staff are very helpful and friendly - characteristic of the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    awesome place loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could only stay one night... Will be back soon tho

    the family feel to the hotel and the amazing staff were great. it was so comfy and accomadating love every second of it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.8
    just about adequate for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was tiny and too low down. The water was tepid, not hot (not there long enough to complain). Room was dark (due to small window). Booked in a hurry and did not know that breakfast was not included in the price until we booked in, so had to pay an extra £10 each (not really worth it as it was just cereal, english breakfast and toast). Room really needed updating. Car park was not as big as the description suggested and we only just managed to find a space.

    The bed was very comfy, but creaky and the room was clean. It was handy for the shops and town centre. Local taxi service very good. Staff were friendly enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Very convenient and adequate for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby furniture ,window difficult to open. No bedside lamp on one side . There was no evening meal or cooked breakfast due to failure of kitchen equipment

    The convenience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    solid nights stay in Uttoxeter
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal cut out a couple of times in my room, minor issue for one night, wouldn't put me off staying agani.

    Central location in Uttoxeter, good sixed rooms. Comfortable and clean. friendly staff. The bank House Hotel pitches itself in the right place of the market, priced fairly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    Poor bedroom set up
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the room on the photo. The room was up alot of stairs, no bedside tables,to put a glass of water, no shelf in bathroom to put toiletries, very poorly set up, shower leaked all over bathroom floor, nearly reaching bedroom carpet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.0
    4 poster fail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage for any problems badly displayed. Paid £10 extra for the four poster bed which was so uncomfortable we slept on the floor as The pillows were old and dirty have posted pictures and mattress had seen better days, was quite sunk in the middle. Overall the breakfast selection was poor and not value for money.

    The Convenient parking, we arrived late which was accommodated happily and the bacon was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No faults at all, was perfectly fine for an overnight stay. Stairs to accommodation a tad steep, but nothing can be done about that, so this is only a hint for those that have difficulties with steep stairs.

    Staff were very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was to die for (I had the sea bass with risotto and hubby had the steak) and the chefs were very attentive. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked with unlimited coffee, juice and toast. Good to see black pudding on the menu. We had to park in the public car park as the onsite car park was full, but it was only £5.50 for all day and overnight. The hotel is in easy walking distance for the racecourse (our reason for staying) and the town centre. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    2.9
    Don't bother !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets on the bed were grubby. The staff were rude. 45 minute wait for poached eggs on toast at breakfast, which were burnt. How do you burn a poched egg ?!?!?! Won't be back !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, no pillows, furnishings out dated and shabby. Bathroom a little basic. Carpets need cleaning, floor sloped and creaked. Very early check out and small window for breakfast, finished at 9.30 on bank holiday Sunday.

    Quite convenient for the station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who worked here was lovely and very friendly , the chef was also very polite and friendly . Made you feel very relaxed and welcomed would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.8
    Good hotel, red hot room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators dial was broken so although we turned it to the snowflake (which we hoped would turn it off completely) it stayed on full blast the whole night. The room was so uncomfortably hot we couldnt sleep at all. I have never been in such a stiflingly hot room where there was no way of controlling the heating. With only a tiny window to open that didnt relieve the heat it got to a point where we had to leave early in the morning to go home to get some sleep in a cool room.

    The hotel was in a good place and the rooms were fair sized. The staff were really friendly when we checked in and when we had to wake the night porter up to leave early morning he was friendly too and checked us out quickly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.1
    Acceptable, get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in my room was poor, and the WiFi was poor, given my work is dependent predominantly on internet access this was frustrating.

    The hotel has been maintained well given its age.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    the bed was comfortable and the location is central to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was disappointing, very dated décor, no hairdryer, no desk or chair. no towel rail or place to put toiletries in the shower room.

    the bed was comfortable and the location is central to Uttoxeter.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    Good drop in spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit neglected. Windows did not open. Bit hot. With a little money & time spent on it could be really nice place to go.

    Good spot parking good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some TLC - carpet,heated towel rail and the shower all needed looking at. We would stay again, but would check the room out first.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. It was a lovely building. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.4
    Hotel is comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and the lighting was poor particularly in the bathroom. The car park is too small. The dinning area is too small and crowded with tables with very little space to walk.

    The location close to all amenities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing to say the least
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put right at the top and there were way too many stairs for me to tackle, especially with luggage (I have a disability). Stairs are very steep and badly worn and dip in places. Room was extremely small. Had to squeeze between a cabinet and the wall to get to the wardrobe. TV was on the cabinet to the side of the bed so only one person could watch TV in bed. (No chairs) Bed was lumpy and squeaky. Pillows had been tucked under the bottom sheet?? The shower had an 18 inch high step to get in with no hand rail. Extremely dangerous, nearly slipped getting out. Bar downstairs was full of old men who went quiet and stared as we checked in and walked by. We didn't have breakfast as it would gave been an extra £16

    Location is great and there's parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a door connecting to the adjoining room, and you could hear everything that was said in that room and visa versa. Our bed was a four poster bed, which looked lovely but was the most noisiest thing to sleep on.

    The location was ideal. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.8
    Served a purpose but not fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't working and when we mentioned it we were told nothing can be done now! Then we were woken up early in the morning with noise of the staff banging and shouting at eachother about why the heating wasn't working.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.0
    Shabby but certainly NOT chic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs a major refurb. The walls are shabby, poor quality bedding & although clean, the bathroom needs updating. Breakfast £9 extra on top of the £70!! I would not recommend this hotel, there are others in the area that offer much better quality for a similar price and include breakfast.

    Location is great Good wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location, adequate room - great bar service from Mary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was dated and overpriced for what you got. If breakfast was thrown in for the price it would on a par with many others in the area but £8 extra. Although I can't fault the cleanliness, the furniture needs updating and decorating is required. It had rained for most of the day and fairly cool but the heating wasn't turned on.

    The hotel is in an excellent position, just a stones throw from the centre of town if you walk through the car park at the rear of the building. The bar on the ground floor is very homely and old fashioned (which is nice in this day & age). Bar service from Mary excellent, she brought drinks to your table, and is really friendly and helpful. Food good, large portions and reasonably priced. Got a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, very quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.4
    Bank House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows on bed were like wafers - shower in bathroom very weak and due to where it was on the wall you could knot stand under it - the chef was off and receptionist could not give us a time for availability of evening meal - she said cook might come in around 5.30 - meaning then that dinner would not be available until at least 7!!!! breakfast was not included and we thought given the price of the room and lack of evening meal it should have been

    when we got there receptionist was friendly enough - bedding and room were clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the surfaces were sticky .There was no heating on .the pillows were flat and need replacing the window sills were dirty , you had to put the kettle on the floor to bolil it and the television was too small for the room. Not worth £90 per night without breakfast, The bathroom was clean but there was nowhere to put your tolietbag

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.4
    Very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booed this hotel last minute via booking.com at over £80 a night excluding breakfast which I thought was a bit expensive but it was in the area I needed to be. Upon arrival we were given directions to our room the Admiral Gardner room. Apparently the honeymoon suite with a 4 poster bed. First appearance the room looked ok. Reasonable level of cleanliness however on further inspection round the windows and all surfaces were filthy, stuff stuck to the surfaces they were that bad. Please don't attempt to sleep in the bed in this room its more comfortable and quieter on the floor or the chair. Simply moving your head on the 1/2 inch pillows was enough to ensure that the whole bed creaked and moving your sleeping position was enough to wake the dead from their slumber. I can't comment on the breakfast as we decided to eat breakfast elsewhere same goes for the bistro. Upon checkout we were presented with the bill even though the information when booking stated that payment would be taken prior to arrival so this info was also incorrect. All in all a hotel I wouldn't visit again.

    Location was great for our plans and extremely close to the market town centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.3
    Handy for the town centre - pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -bedroom (ancient) sash window would not close and the church bells chimed all night. -seal on shower screen was badly mildewed. -the bed seemed to be extra-short - feet hanging over the edge, and I'm NOT tall. -carpets appeared to be sticky -breakfast (at extra cost) was unremarkable. burnt sausage and 1 slice of toast per person!

    -The bed linen was crisp and pleasant. -The bath, washhandbasin & lavatory were fairly new fixtures. -The staff were cordial.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.4
    Location excellent early morning wake up call not appreciated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was at 10.30 but cleaning staff woke you up at 7.30ish chatting away outside rooms, so was up early rather than hopefully having a lie in. Also on site was told payment be taken day before, but arrived at hotel to be told they don't do that because booking.com take too long to pay them. That's fine as had money to pay, but if its says taking payment day before that should be the case, could have arrived with not enough money to pay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    I was super impressed with the room as it had a four poster...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were invaded by the biggest spider we had ever seen, we eventually managed to trap it but lost valuable sleeping and relaxation time due to the trauma!

    I was super impressed with the room as it had a four poster bed and the building was beautiful. So close to everything in town and yet quiet enough to be able to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    4.2
    Bed rocking weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that the bed was more noisey than we was during r weekend stay. I laughted so much. It sounded as if it was going to fall apart. The mattress was well worn and killed my bk and knees each morning. The wall r so thin u could hear next door in the bath and upon emptying the bath the smell that came up through r bath was well no more than utter S**t. However the staff was lovely. Keep up the bed rocking ppl xx

    The Room was big and within the city centre which was nice. The free parking was fab unlike other places we have stayed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    So much more potential....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could of been much better, radiator not been properly cleaned in years, shower head disgusting, needed new shower door as the bottom strip was mouldy plus hairs found in/around bathroom area! The bed was awful in room 5, so hard not comfortable with a moving headboard & a damaged side light. Asked for more pillows & even with 3 it felt like a brick. Beautiful place with so much more potential, shame.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    In centre of a pleasant market town with shops,pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In centre of a pleasant market town with shops,pubs and restaurants within a few minutes ago walking distance. Near A50. Railway station near. Cosy,old fashioned feeling.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.9
    Great food, cosy atmosphere but a bit dated
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated rooms which could do with a make-over, wasn't sure if the ivy growing through the bathroom window was a floral feature or not! The window in the bedroom didn't lock but no-one could have got in due to the pile of old matresses piled up outside of it. Church bells peel every 15 minutes which can be annoying overnight but can't blame the hotel for that.

    Stayed last year and returned again this year so that says something for the hotel. It has an oldie worldie charm and is a bit of a rabbit warren, the bar is cosy and comfortable with very friendly staff and locals. The hotel is dog friendly and they are allowed in the bar which is v important for me.The food was great and very reasonably priced. The room was basic but had all of the required facilities, unfortunately there was no shower - only a bath but the water was piping hot. A cheap (ish) and chearful place which does what it says on the tin..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable but dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet very thin and floorboards could be seen through it. Very creaky floor in room and bathroom.

    The room was clean TV worked kettle for hot drinks available. Decor was in need of refurbishment. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    OVERNIGHT RACETRIP
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed with a few friends overnight after going to Uttoxeter racecourse. Free parking at the hotel a great breakfast and friendly staff an enjoyable comfy stay. Only a fifteen minute walk to the racecourse.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities and chef who responded to individual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great facilities and chef who responded to individual requests from our reunion group

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Refreshing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with traffic and car park noisy at the back of the hotel

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Typical pub type hotel, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: