Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Barnstaple Hotel 3 stars

Braunton Road, Barnstaple, EX31 1LE, United Kingdom

#14 of 17 hotels in Barnstaple

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 644 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful bresk for us 84 year olds .staff so Thoughtful and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NoThing perfect holiday except my poor partner getyjng poorly..fust great

    Nk complaints at all my partner was taken ill eith a mini s,troke. The staff were wonderful from yhe manager to the nightwatchman who helped us up the stairs when we returned from hospital at oo.30. Hrs.food was great .nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel on Devons north coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel,clean modern rooms,lovely overlooking the pool Food delicious,especially the roast sirloin of beef! Would recommend and definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner found the bed a little uncomfortable, bit to hard.

    The staff were really polite and lovely to my 3 year old son, and the food was excellent, especially the omelette at morning service 😁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have a jacuzzi too.

    The relaxation room and outdoor pool were lovely and made the stay very enjoyable. The decor was very fresh and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Stopped for my cousins wedding- was a beaitiful weekend made more special by the Barnstaple!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer issues, rooms were a bit dusty and issues with the sink- not draining properly.

    The swimming pool and delicious afternoon tea. Fast customer service with any issues. Beautiful refurbishment. Pleasantly surprised!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great place and value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second stay here, still great! Heated outdoor swimming pool is fantastic. Excellent location and convenient for walking into Barnstaple and for bike hire and the Tarka Trail. Restaurant good, recommend booking as it's very popular. If you want quick access to both pools and restaurant book a garden room, they're ground floor. Will be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music being played in the outdoor pool area with also facilities to retrieve beverages rather than walk all the way to other end of hotel.

    Amazing stay with delicious food! Facilities such as the pool was amazing and the room was spacious and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air con (and it was very hot when we stayed!), and while it was nice to have a balcony, it was enclosed by glass with only one glass panel being an opening window, which was on a latch and wouldn't open very far. A desk fan was provided in the room however.

    Rooms were fresh, clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. USB sockets in the plugs were useful for charging phones and the bed was comfortable. Plenty of parking, and the room was a good size overall. Good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits provided in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit on the small side although comfy.

    Only used as a stopover but would recommend to others. Pool and garden are to relax in ....loungers in both places. Had continental breakfast and a lovely dinner. Pleasant bar area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay, nice staff, good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the all day long disco type music with a pulsing beat - not too loud, but definitely there, in public areas. It didn’t spoil our stay!

    I liked the room, good sized TV, big comfortable bed, all very clean. The outdoor pool was a bonus. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay, we've used Brend Hotels before & trust them on comfort & quality
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room didn't have enough seating, however it was Sunday morning and I think all the guests arrived as late as they could ! Staff soon made up tables in next room to help the situation.

    We stayed overnight due to a family function, The dinner (carvery) was the best we've had anywhere, comfortable & clean room & tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Central for sightseeing. Staff very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel appeared to have upgraded to suit conferencing and outside attendees (health club and pool ) rather than hotel guests. Bathroom small and no space to place toiletries

    Comfortable bed. Close to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.0
    Good food, courteous, hard working staff. Swimming pools indoor and out. Can't be bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room window was disappointing. But I can see the best has been made with the location .

    The staff were excellent. The dinner and breakfast were excellent. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Mid week getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was over priced. Apart from that overall it was a brilliant stay.

    Facilities indoor outdoor pool. Easy walk into Barnstaple. Ample parking. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous, comfortable quiet room, wonderful pool, perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    our toilet took a long time to refill but the hotel is now aware of this and have said they will fix it

    Cannot recommend it enough! We spent one night and two full days here, using the pool and sauna, relaxing in the lounge and grounds. Our room was very comfortable and quiet at night. Staff went out of their way to get us checked in early when we arrived much earlier than planned, and breakfast was wonderful even though we came in only 5 minutes before the end of service. Please be aware of the warning the hotel gives, because it is a wedding venue and can be noisy. There was a wedding there this weekend but it was all over by midnight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall very enjoyable and the facilities at the hotel were just what we anticipated. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels were inadequate, tea and coffee facilities could have been better and our room on the ground floor overlooking the pool was a little noisy at times

    Staff were very pleasant, the food was good and the environment in both the brasserie and bar were excellent. Both the pools were clean facilities good. Great location for visiting Devon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Poor value for money with very poor customer care!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms appear tired and one side of the hotel Is hot and the other that has a balcony has light on until midnight with no blackout blinds or curtains. Reception staff are rude and abrasive and when we complained to the manager we were told they were having a bad day (that will be every day then!!). Considering we had 4 members of staff staying for 5 months and spending over £30000 the service and level of customer care was extremely poor! Don’t ask for an omelette as you will get runny raw egg and a very mediocre cooked breakfast!

    Location was perfect for work but that’s the only positive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and a good base for exploring North Devon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not great. - not convenient to walk to local pubs or restaurants.

    The staff were professional and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The bar and food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok and the location was perfect for what I wanted to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the hotel from my arrival on the fri till midday on the Sat. The bathrooms were old and needed updating I was on the ground floor next to the outside pool which got very noisy. Plus there was no iron or ironing board in my room which let’s be honest in this day and age is pretty unacceptable.

    The communal areas are quite modern as are the leisure facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately our room was overlooking the Car Park which was being re=surfaced so some noise and dust. Another time I shall request a room overlooking the Pool.

    Room was very comfortable, and well fitted. Lovely area for relaxing by the outdoor swimming pool. Well within reach of the Town Centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Restful, leisurely stay in a very pleasant hotel, central to all I wanted to see. Do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been nice since I have knee problem and the stairs were a bit of a problem, even though short.

    View from window and balcony were of central garden and pool, which was lovely - huge flowering chestnut in the centre. Window to balcony was locked at a secure opening distance to enable fresh air, light responsive lamp on balcony made it pleasant to sit out at night. Very little background noise and a pleasant undisturbed nights rest. Desk staff excellent and had no problem getting a porter to fetch bags and carry them to my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Suited our needs, but would look elsewhere next time because of price not including breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like it that breakfast was not included in the price, quite pricey to not include breakfast. Quite a late check in time (3.00pm), no time to use all the facilities on offer. Room wasn't ready until 10 past!! Also, our friends stayed in Room 1. Very noisy as it is right next too the hotel access door. Banging all night from inconsiderate guests.

    Ideal location for our needs. Quite spacious. Comfy bed. Nice to have a bath!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Being woken up at 3am with water pouring through the ceiling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 3am with water pouring through the ceiling due to guests leaving the water running was completely unexpected. Little sleep with only one member of staff apologising and checking we were ok was very disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, clean and simple check-in procedure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift to our floor and the corridor was oppressively hot and airless. Kept awake by the reversing beep on a vehicle under our window.

    Well appointed room, high standard of fittings and fixtures. Excellent powerful shower. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay in a good quality 3 star hotel with good facilities and in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom whilst clean was tired and in need of a refurb

    The ambience of the reception, pool facilities and restaurant were very good reflecting recent refurbishment, the room was a good size as was the bathroom.Bed was comfortable and the food we had was of a good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for business stay over with colleagues in the area. Great food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Business trip with colleagues, one of the rooms TV worked for 30 mins, then the picture failed. Only negative.

    Restaurant ; evening meal quality & menu selection ; well above standard for the area. Service from the 2 waitress was top class. Same for waiter & waitress at breakfast. Could not fault - very attentive. Reception very helpful with any requests made.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Not enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disabled and there was no lift to the first floor which I would have expected. Reception kindly changed the room to no 3 but was very dark and not nice, I imagine all the ground floor rooms share this problem. I had expected the hotel to be in a nice location but it shared a site with a Burger King and Bowling Alley; it was on a main road with no rural view and was some way out of Barnstaple. The hotel name does not seem apt

    Breakfasts were great as was service and light meal one evening was also very good. The swimming pool looks great but unfortunately My wife could not use it as she had a recent cataract operation, occurred after booking the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Hotel has been refurbished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real dislikes. Hairdryer a bit cheap but otherwise really good

    Hotel has been refurbished. It's clean with good facilities in the room. I always stay here when I'm in North Devon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Being woken at 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken at 4.30am by people arguing and knocking on doors by person who could not find their room really not acceptable......do you have night security??

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant & comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Set price menu in restaurant, at £18.00 for one course, is overpriced.

    Staff, as always at Brend Hotels, were excellent - attentive without being "in your face", friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Cosy break away in a modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being made to feel very welcome when walking through the door. Staff were so friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us. The pool was nice and the room was super comfy, the balcony was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Stylish, clean, comfortable and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent balcony room with view of the pool. Large comfy bed with all required amenities. Very clean. Breakfast very enjoyable and good choice of buffet style English and continental choices. Very friendly and staff. Hotel decorated to a high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable. Apart from the absence of a lift I would rate it as 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point as there is only one floor above the ground floor but there is no lift.

    The Brasserie and bar had good ambiance and good service. Gym surprisingly good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Rubbish bed awful nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 51 had sunk right down the middle completely ruined our night sleep. The bathroom didn't have a extractor fan it did have a small window which didn't really do the job. Because we booked with booking.com the chap at reception was a bit snooty. He said although you have booked with booking.com you are welcome to join us for breakfast if you would like to. We got the feeling we were given a rubbish room because we didn't pay full price and book directly with them which I have never experienced before with any other hotels.

    The carvery is absolutely excellent the best I have ever eaten.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    clean but basic room. the use of pool etc made it more value for money. Staff very freindly and help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could hear conversation from next room through connecting door. should be sound proofed.do not understand why these hotels do not include b/fast in rate, as extortionate rate for b/fast is unwarrented

    room comfortable but small use of pool leisure facilities made it more value for money did not have breakfast as not included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed for two nights, in order to cycle the Tarka Trail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights, in order to cycle the Tarka Trail. The trail passes right in front of the hotel and the staff kindly put our bikes in a garage overnight so we didn't have to leave them on the car. On returning from our ride, we were able to take advantage of the outdoor heated swimming pool, which we had to ourselves. The hotel is also convenient for the town centre, which is a 15-20 minute walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Everyone went that 'step further' to make the overall experience an outstanding one - well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went onto the balcony outside the room (First Floor). We appreciated all the refurbishment - but the woodwork on the balcony requires urgent attention, as I got a splinter in my hand (!) - but fortunately managed to get it out. (Some rough edges in the woodwork on the outside of the balcony - so hopefully attention to this might pay off in time for the 'holiday season' proper. Although it made no difference to the two of us at all, we nevertheless wondered whether the 'out of town' location was maybe a possible deterrent to some potential clients, but we loved the hotel.

    The welcome! The bed was very comfortable - and all staff very helpful. Enjoyed the evening dinner - and breakfast the next day. Kitchen staff and serving staff very polite & helpful. Lovely warm inside pool for swimming & relaxing. It was Jan's birthday - and she loved our choice. Well done to everyone! We loved the decor!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall a comfortable stay , very friendly helpful staff . Food delicious and swimming pool great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a function at the hotel which meant loud music till 1am in the morning so didn’t get much sleep .

    Very comfy beds. Clean room and lovely breakfast . Swimming pool water was nice and warm and changing rooms very smart and clean .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Excellent would recomend to anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    everything was fine the refurbishment is excellent on par with the Saunton Sands and better value for money

    The beds were extra comfy staff were very friendly and the Sunday carvery best in the area by far

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    My partner is diabetic and had a hypo not long before we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner is diabetic and had a hypo not long before we were due to check out. The staff were very understanding about us needing to check out a little bit later than 11 and very kindly offered to help. The room was extremely comfortable and we very much enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    comfortable but noisey
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the walls are paper thin you can hear the alarm from next door, doors slamming in the room. The doors in general slamming, the fire exit/stairs being used to pop out for smokers and or as just an exit - noisey.

    decent sized room and bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dirty with biscuit, looks like someone watched TV and had a few biscuits during the break. I paid £75 and for half the price I have stayed in cleaner places. The room was small and the location felt it was on a motorway. Iifracombe just 10milrs down the road, cheaper and nicer places to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Will not visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is being renovated but the bathroom layout is shocking (towel rail is behind WC and so is toilet roll holder - towels make the toilet roll wet, neither can you reach it). You have to step over the WC to get into bath/shower. First place I have ever visited where there are separate male/female saunas. I went with my wife, we enjoy chilling and chatting in the sauna - it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. External appearance needs updating also - not just the rooms.

    Good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Other rooms were being upgraded and our room was due an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else was superb abut the hotel, could do with mixed sauna rooms so we could go in together

    Other rooms were being upgraded and our room was due an upgrade. A little bit on the small side

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very clean and the spec of the refurb is to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better is there was a bottle of water in the room and if breakfast was included £24 for two for breakfast is a bit excessive

    The hotel is very clean and the spec of the refurb is to a high standard, wish we had stayed longer to use the facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit dull and could do with an update which im sure is going to be happening in the near future. The other thing i didnt like was no mixed sauna as my wife and i always like to go in together, as do alot of other couples.

    I thought the hotel was very modern looking and the decor inside was amazing very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    A one off business trip, would be happy to stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in the middle of renovations, the signage was not very good for finding the dining room or our room but staff were very helpful!

    Very Comfortable bed, excellent food. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming and central for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (No. 5) had a connecting door, through which we could here everything that was being said and done next door, (No. 4)

    The whole experience - the staff were welcoming and attentive, especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    After a hard days work, relaxing, with all the facilities required, available for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although there was a part refurbishment in progress (mainly during the working hours) it did not interfere with my stay at all. The food was vey tasty and well presented both in the restaurant and in the Bar. Bedrooms were spacious and beds large. The outdoor pool was naturally closed this time of year, but the indoor pool was hot, very stylish and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    everything good apart from wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pathetic Wifi and I personally struggled with vegetarian food

    Great room, awesome parking, comfort bed, sumptuous breakfast, ambient bar, cool facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.5
    Really comfy and quiet great food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of continental breakfast was a flat rate for a small eater not really cost effective

    The cooked breakfast was outstanding and the continental breakfast was very fresh

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    renovations in progress.May host partys and close facilities at short notice to residents
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed soft room noisy rattles, exposure to wind, near industrial factory.renovations ongoing. There was a large party at the hotel on one night.luckily it did not particularly affect us! However the Hotel did not let us know in time to book alternatives within the same budget. Bar and restaurant pool etc shut due to party.The possibilty of noise etc caused some distress before our visit as we were visiting the area following a bereavement

    location parking facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    4.6
    We would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to bathe or shower, for two nights.

    Could not use taps,too near the wall to get your fingers round the bath/ shower taps. I assumed that breakfast would have been included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Practical base for what we wanted: stop-off for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer. Coffee/tea supplies were sparse - if we both had coffee on arrival or later, there was only decaf, tea or chocolate in the morning. A dimmer switch on the ceiling or wall lights would have been welcome.

    Comfortable bed in a good-sized room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant - would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room I stayed in was a little tired/ dated in terms of furniture it didn't detract from my stay

    Brilliant value for money. The soft furnishings were superb and the bed was amazingly comfortable!! Ample power points for re-charging things, vast array of TV channels, excellent room service and all of the staff were so friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    comfortable and well fitted room, but thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go outside to reach rooms with the room door opening outside. The worst thing I disliked was the thinness of the walls and adjoining door of the room next door through which we could hear everything as if they were in the room with us.

    Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    The beds were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The shower operation was by no means straightforward. Why no guide? 2. About time the hotel invested in a lift or two - carrying our cases up narrow stairs was nigh impossible, though it was solved by using a young member of the hotel's staff. One of us is semi-disabled, and both are in our late seventies.

    The beds were superb. The free upgrade ensured an extremely peaceful night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    It was absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We went for a wedding. The whole atmosphere was lovely, the staff were fantastic and the food great. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Would definitely visit again. Leisure facilities were great as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.3
    Avoid the Barnstaple Hotel at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location- it's in an industrial estate with night work. We were a family of 4 stuffed into a small room. We had the worst night sleep due to commercial machinery next door which was noisy and smelly. The hotel is really dated. We booked for 2 nights and left after 1. Quite simply awful.

    The hotel had a nice pool and we had a nice meal inn the brasserie. But that's it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    The gym staff were friendly and it was conveniently located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire alarm went off for 10 seconds at 2am. Room was hot and stuffy. No sleep unfortunately and no apologies in the morning.

    The gym staff were friendly and it was conveniently located

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside in the night as there seemed to have a night shift working on the industrial estate next to the hotel

    It was nice to have a pool although I did not use it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Adequate but not memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long walk to room and no lift on site. Bed was very soft making it rather uncomfortable. Room was drab and shows its age. Overpriced in comparison to similar establishments.

    Food and service in restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    enjoyable stay would stay again if in barnstable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location not ideal as quite industrial

    sunday calvery excellent . the staff were all helpful and friendly. room overlooking outdoor pool with balcony was very comfortable . the indoor and out door pools looked inviting but did not use during short stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The staff were so helpful with my partner just coming out of...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful with my partner just coming out of hospital after having major surgery, prepared the room before check in time. room service was very quick and just lovely place to stay children loved the pools.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall a very nice place with very friendly staff and the option to use the health centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication of booking the restaurant as unable to use on our 3rd and final night due to a seperate party taking it over.

    Rooms were very spacious with comfortable beds,swimming pool on site which was good to use.all food was very good with minimum wait

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Unfriendly, unhelpful, very poor value for money. Need modernising & better staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionists were too busy gossiping to offer any information & were very unfriendly verging on being rude. Also the hotel is extremely dated & has very strange lay out. We've had more enjoyable stays in Premier Inns for half the price.

    Not much I'm afraid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant didn't open until 7 pm

    The room was changed, as the original room was too far from the stairs for my partner to manage, without any problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    friendly and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some areas looking abit tired i.e. corriders and some rooms

    room comfortable with balcony overlooking garden and pool - breakfast good with lots of choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    We stayed for two nights in a room overlooking the pool. Private verander.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Having travelled the world & experienced many luxury hotels, we found the staff to be very friendly, helpful & professional. Food was excellent in taste, presentation & variety with several different vegetables served each day. Beds were very comfortable & the hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable and provided a good base for visiting this area of Devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts are a bit 70s with dark wood furnishings but it is obviously being slowly refurbished. Did not detract from the stay.

    The food / breakfast was excellent. The staff were great. The sports facilities pool etc were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was very pleasant visiting old haunts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Website should state that there is no lift available, also there was only one staircase to reach the bedrooms which were situated in a very long corridor, plus the carpet needed to be replaced.

    Staff were friendly, food was very good and all areas were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.9
    Won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were upset that we interrupted their private conversation upon arrival and gave a very cold impression. The bed was ridiculously soft and my partner and I rolled together. The cleanliness of the hotel was poor, the toilets in the main area had "something" smeared on the doors/walls. There was the beetroot purée still caked onto the floor as we came down to breakfast 30 minutes into service. The staining on the pool seats was disgusting to the point no one was using the reclining seats. For the money and a family run hotel, the atmosphere was very low

    The staff in the restaurant were very good, shame about reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely relaxing stay to finish off the summer holidays on a high!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked onto the back of a bowling alley. The room was a little small when the 2 fold up beds were out.

    The outdoor pool was really warm, and great to have towels provided. The kids loved the free drinks & ice-cream. We also enjoyed a delicious meal in the bar where the kids ate for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleased overall with the hotel, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in the hotel, and had to ask a member of staff to carry my case up the stairs.

    Yes, very pleased with the cleanliness of the room, and the fact that coffee sachets and milk were in the room for us to make a drink every day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous relaxing hotel for any sort of stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything! No complaints

    We had a ground floor room looking out onto the garden. Everything was fabulous, well run, pleasant staff, great outdoor and indoor pool, lovely room, easy parking, easy access to the coast and the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: