Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bath Arms 4 stars

Longleat, Warminster, BA12 7LY, United Kingdom

#10 of 12 hotels in Warminster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting. Rounded off a great day at the Safari park. Superb quality food in the restaurant. Comfortable room. We normally go at least once a year to Longleat and usually go straight home but we'll definitely be staying at the Bath Arms every time we go from now on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With just a little more care and attention it would have been great. There was paint flaking off the ceiling in our bedroom and in the bar where we had dinner there was a damp patch on the wall. The television was on a side wall with trailing wires so it was difficult to watch it at an angle. The water pressure in the bathroom was so high that the shower attachment came shooting out of our hands and sprayed all over the bathroom.

    Comfy bed. Great location next to Longleat House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say there was anything I disliked about the property.

    The property was well renovated, comfortable and friendly. I stayed there with my girlfriend due to its close proximity to Longleat Safari Park. The property is very quiet as it’s hidden away in the country side. That made for a peaceful nights sleep and feeling refreshed in the morning. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, they were easy to approach and were always warm and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom really needed updating. Manager says this is in hand so should be really good.

    Food at restaurant was way above our expectations. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for one night, but had everything that we needed. A warm cosy room with very comfortable beds. Peaceful location in the heart of the countryside. Breakfast was 5*. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are nice enough just in need of some TLC. From our room you could hear noise from the pub/restaurant at times which was a bit disruptive for sleep. Not sure it was value for money.

    Good location, really close to longleat safari park. Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two lights didn’t work. Room was back of building which meant walking in the dark down steps and through garden. They gave me a torch. Room blinds difficult to get to.

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Comfy bed. Warm room. Interesting old lights.. chandeliers and peacocks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a couple of very cold nights and there does not appear to be any heating in the bath room. To use the additional electric heaters in the room I had to disconnect the lighting lamps, there were no free sockets at all. But strange , but I did like the place and I bet it must be gorgeous there in the summer

    Lovely little place ,but far out from everything but food rooms and nice bar and food, food was somewhat expensive for pub grub

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😊

    Loved it here, cosy, warm, and we felt like we actually belonged. Had the largest room and it was lovely....can't see us visiting the area again but would be more than happy to stay there...brilliant!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu looked good for someone who liked the food we did not they explained that were going to put a simpler menu too

    Staff lovely room and bed comfortable but very dilapidated wardrobe colllapsing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were quite disappointed by the food and level of service at the pub. There were a large group of locals in the bar playing very loud kareoke which could be heard in all areas of the restaurant. The waiting staff were uninterested in the food they were serving and the needs of customers and there were clear tensions between some of the staff. Very poor choice of meals for vegetarians with one mushroom based meal and a mushroom soup on offer. I'd have liked a little more variety. When we had finished our mains we had a very long wait before eventually asking for puddings. Overall, the room was nice but the experience left a lot to be desired.

    The room was nice and good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall cleanliness was not good and runny boiled eggs

    The staff were happy and friendly, and ordering food for the room was easy and got delivered to our room very quickly. Oh, and the cat was cute

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. The ‘chef’ didn’t know how to cook fried bread! The coffee & tea were almost tasteless; as though the tea bags/coffee grounds had been sat on the shelf for months. Also, the staff member on duty at breakfast was far from brilliant... but my guess is that he hasn’t been trained properly. The cups and saucers were so tacky; which made no sense in such a beautiful building. Oh, and the shower wasn’t terribly hot. It’s clearly a hotel with a great past, but the present management need to pull their finger out pretty fast if there’s to be a bright future.

    The setting and building is beautiful. The staff member who welcomed us was excellent. It was warm and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room wasn't soundproof, I was woken by a loud noise that sounded like a hoover! Also the people in next room were arguing and we could hear every word

    room nice and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The annexe rooms are a bit tired and were not well serviced - but the management did recognise this and tried to deal with it. The smaller room lacked a chair or anywhere to put things down in the bathroom. The downside of the "shooting lodge" atmosphere was that the menu is very gamey in content, not enough light dishes to choose from.

    The staff in the reception and restaurant were very friendly and responsive. The location is excellent for visiting Longleat. In the rooms, bedlinen and towels were very fresh and clean. We had dogs and they were made welcome and the annexe rooms have immediate access to the outside. The heating was very good, even though it was the coldest night of the year. The ambience is of a shooting lodge with the furnishings and restaurant menu fitting with this. The freshly cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating. Mouldy blinds in the bathroom and rotten windows. Service very disorganised at breakfast (although food great!)

    Excellent food and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty,skirting boards all around and behind the bed were very dirty and dusty there was a fan in the room that needed taking apart and cleaning as it was really layered in dust. The bathroom's raidiator was rusty and paint peeling off it,the whole room needed repainting the window didn't have a catch on it to allow the window to stay open and its paint was peeling off and dirty.The floor tiles cracked. The light above the sink didn't work so needs replacing!!! The whole room needed some maintenance and a deep clean and felt unloved and uncared for.(It wouldn't take much to put this room back to its best it's a shame to let standards drop as there is competition around this beautiful area).

    It's a beautiful building and so close to Longleat it's should be the perfect place to stay.The food was beautiful we had a lovely evening meal and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it was exceptionally cold weather, it would have been nice if the room had been warmed up a little ahead of arrival (or offered a hot water bottle) Breakfast was average, e.g., poached eggs were overlooked (not asked how we wanted them), no yogurt, bread was basic sliced loaves.

    Staff made a lot of effort to engage with us, and assist with our local trips. Rooms were comfortable (but a little cool on arrival) with adequate facilities Evening food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door frame between the bedroom was only about 5 foot high, it could be an idea to have some type of padding at the top of the door frame.

    The bedroom and the en suite was nice and large

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description said there would be a desk in the room-there was not The lady who showed me the room turned on a radiator but it never came on No hot water from tap in the morning Just luke warm water from the shower Eggs Benedict ruined by to much lemon-incredible acidic Rot at the bottom of the shower room door

    The bed Location Staff Eggs Benedict choice for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was NOT so available as said on the website. I arrived in the dark and had to park in the street! More signage to the car park would have been useful. It was NOT clear whether I could park in a gap by a path.

    The croissants were SO flakey I dropped a lot of crumbs onto the floor! The cooked breakfast arrived JUST as I finished my cereal, so perfect timing, especially as there was a large group in at the same time!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was old with pokey springs, pillows were paper thin and lumpy. Bathroom was old and tired and choice of ice water or boiling water to brush teeth. TV remote would only work 3 inches from set and no volume control, no BBC1! I would have told all this to staff in the morning rather than reviewing like this but no one asked how my stay was they just asked for payment.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely welcome and the room was great. We stayed in the Peacock room with a 4 poster bed and roll top bath. The food was excellent and the eggs Benedict at breakfast was 1st class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer , the place is beautifully located

    Food was of excellent quality , and when we asked if we could change room it wasn't a problem , my wife likes to soak in a bath for hours 😄

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing , I have never felt so relaxed in a hotel before .

    the staff were so welcoming and made you feel so comfortable and relaxed , the bed was comfortable the food was good , wifi was good , board games in the bar was excellent . the surroundings were so quiet and so peaceful. As a tourist though you definitely need a car for the area .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was good but could do with a couple of touches i.e. Cables hidden and wallpaper damage on ceiling

    Perfect breakfast, friendly staff and lovely location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom floor leading to the bathroom was a bit uneven which caused draft, wasn't advised that a discount was available if longleat tickets were shown only found out on second day when saw sign travelling back from Longleat queried this when paying and was allowed discount for food for both nights but not for the drinks as we had paid cash for these on the first night we had 7 rounds of drinks costing for the 2 of us £7.50 per round so would have liked to see signs promoting the discount

    The bed was comfortable staff were very friendly food was very good it was lovely to sit outside and relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts very poorly cooked. Original room total rubbish hotel has ideas and prices way above its station. Restaurant menu very pretentious, not worth the prices charged.

    Not very much at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous pub/hotel. Room was perfect. Food was amazing, both dinner and breakfast (I have no idea how they make eggs and mushrooms so tasty!) really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, £280 for 2 nights B & B is steep, especially for a smallish room. Maintenance. Many of the light fittings did not work and neither did the bathroom fan, The doors fell off the shower and it dripped when turned off. There was a shelf missing from the bathroom. Photo below boasts all day dining but is misleading. Twice we were refused food out of normal dining hours during the day.

    Location, quality of bed, facilities in room. Breakfast. Shower (power and temperature).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The bed was comfy but wooden surround bruised both my legs and my sister also bruised her legs. Furniture in room appalling, the 50 channels they indicate were actually BBC 1, BBC 2 and BBC 4. There was no other channels and when we mentioned this we were told it was the area so why offer 50 channels? There was no telephone reception either. There was no place near a mirror to do your hair with the drier. The plug sockets were all low down and due to my back problems I was unable to reach them. The lighting both in the room and the bar and restaurant was very poor and after trying to put on makeup gave up after first evening. The nets at the door were dirty and the full length curtains were 12" of dampness wet stains from the bottom. The windowsill in the bathroom was flaking away and the blind at the window was damp and stained. The light shades in the bar and restaurants were dusty. First days breakfast was poor with dried up beans and bacon that was dried up. 2nd days breakfast was lovely but 3rd day was better than first but not as good as 2nd. Parking was fine. The window in the bedroom was behind the old dresser and we could not reach it to close the blind so we had to get changed on one side of the room as people kept passing the bedroom and bathroom windows. The bathroom window was plain glass so we had to climb in the bath to close the blind so we could use the loo. We were in the twin room and others did seem to look better. We did mention this after arriving and was told that they would pass onto the management but no one came to speak with us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant was really posh only 1 vegetarian option and we ended up eating from the children's menu which was very nice but obviously a small portion.

    Beds were extremely comfortable, beautiful view from the room and staff were really helpful and friendly really lovely place to stay and so close to longleat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bed set up or towels available until we asked for our child. It's not hotels fault but after 4 nights my back was aching from the low roof in the room as we had an attic room, we knew about this beforehand. I'm 6ft1.the hotel said they are having a major overhaul to raise roof. Only window in room was a small skylight and small window at floor level again it's an old building so it's a novelty but not for everybody. It was fine for me but beware the stairs are steep especially carrying suitcase up and two flights up to rooms on top floor.

    Lovely location, nice gardens close to longleat safari park, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive £240 for one night is Hilton price, and qualty is much less. Worth less than £100 a night Wall paper broken. Bad Maintenance of the buildings and rooms. Quality if dinner is poor. A lot if noise coming from the terrace of the oublic pub just below out room. Noise up to 2:30 am

    Nithing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was cold but soon warmed up when I turned on the radiators. At our evening meal food was good but let down by one waitress who brought our bottle of wine in an ice bucket just left in on the table and walked off leaving the with the top still on let alone pouring any. It's the little things that count

    Food was good breakfast good selection staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisey. I was woken early in the morning by what sounded like the larger barrels being changed. Lots of clanging etc. Did not sleep enirely well.

    Food was amazing and the rooms were very nicely decorated and the staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was ok but the bathroom needed a deep clean.

    The hotel is set in a lovely location and has an old fashioned charm. Breakfast is ok. The staff were all pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were very thin and we could hear our neighbours quite clearly - thankfully, they were a quiet couple. I guess that as this is a stable conversion, partition walls only were inserted with minimal insulation. In the summer, the rooms would benefit from aircon.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. Shower room small but adequate. All the staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. We had a very good meal in the evening, although we felt a little over-priced compared to similar restaurants. Excellent bar area in which to relax. We would recommend highly and hope to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan didnt work in the bathroom, no window in bathroom so very damp and musty. Room rather small. Bed not particular supportive or comfortable. No light above the mirror for shaving, make-up etc. Shelf under mirror missing, but parts of brackets still there causing potential danger with sharp and protruding edges. Certainly did not match up to price being charged. Dinner was average, lamp overcooked, whitebait soggy, side portion of vegetables microwaved to within an inch of their lives.

    Not a lot, except for the location. Breakfast quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightening all wrong , couldn't get a shave or do makeup as the light was very dim , no shaving socket in bathroom ,shelf in bathroom missing , Tv didn't work needed new lead , handle on door in wrong place , jammed hand on numerous occasions , breakfast, eggs too runny , weekend breakfast microwaved ,hit and miss with Parking .

    The room was a little Chalet type , with ceiling beams ,bed was more comfortable than we first thought on arrival as when we sat on it ,it sank as it was very soft , Location was brilliant for what we needed , went to Longleat Safari Park , Heavens Gate and then Stonehenge .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't enjoy our dinner. Dinner menu was very limited in variety. The pudding menu was worst. Because we were so hungry, We had to pick something from the menu,even though nothing appealed to us. The food was ok in quality but we felt it was over priced.

    The hotel has beautiful gardens to enjoy a drink in. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    TRADITIONAL PUB B&B. ROOM IN A CONVERTED OUTBUILDING. A VERY OLD BUILDING, TASTEFULLY CONVERTED, KEEPING THE CHARM OF AN OLD BUILDING.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were delighted to discover that, as we visited Longleat on one of the days of our visit, we were eligible to have a 10% discount on food and drink at the Bath Arms that day. However, when we went to pay the bill on the last morning of our stay, we were told that they were not able to give us the discount as, even though our waiters knew we had been to Longleat that day, we had not specifically asked for the discount that evening! We did ask when we went to pay the bill in the morning, but apprently that was too late...

    Tasty food at the pub and was reasonably priced. Great local beers too! Staff were very friendly and made our two year old daughter very welcome. Beds were comfortable and rooms were neat and tidy. Parking in the road outside was easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Painting a room purple, putting up some suggestive wallpaper and calling said room 'Karma sutra' does not give an establishment the right to charge excessively for accommodation. Spending money on the bathroom (distinctly average, 2* at best) would be recommended. Bargain basement loo paper is a definite no no. A large damp area on the a wall in the main dining room (caused by a blocked external gutter) was most off putting and demonstrated a lack of care/interest in presentation. If the Bath Arms wishes to charge at the current rates it needs to identify a budget and upgrade its facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    awesome the team were amazing great stay got mixed up with another hotel so if this is the second review this is the right one sorry wonderful stay and the staff were truly amazing too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit of tlc to repairs of the room, no non dairy substitute for allergy, a little dated on room decor, breakfast underwhelming given how great dinner was.

    Dinner was brilliant, very pretty grounds, brilliant staff. very large room with full size bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very over priced. It was very dusty, there were items from a previous guest left in the room, empty toilet roll in the toilet toothpaste all up behind and beside the sink on the tiles but and the scatter cushion was dirty. Also the door into the bathroom was only about 5 foot tall which was a bit inconvenient.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the location is beautiful and the food is brilliant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above, breakfast and the attendance at the bar for guests was not as I would have expected for £150 per night! It should be noted that I gave a £5.00 note for a pint of Amstel and received no change! An oversight I assume?

    Breakfast was what I consider limited and continental and would benefit from a more traditional english one as it is marketed as this type of hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the attic. The breakfast wasn't delivered as per the menu. The full English came without an egg and the poached eggs on toast came without the toast!

    The proximity to Longleat was the major like. The bedroom and bed were comfortable. The staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful village. Bar serving a selection of real ales and very friendly locals to chat to. I only had breakfast, but that was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a basic room which was nice, but with a very old squeaky mattress, hence not a good nights sleep. Also kettle filter broken so unable to make drinks in room.

    Great country pub in good location for Longleat. Very good restaurant food and staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I wasn't too keen on was the shower sprays water all over the bathroom floor, other than that it was perfect!

    The location was perfect, outside was beautiful. Very nicely decorated with flower pots. Very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really much parking. I personally had no issues, but if the hotel is full, others may struggle to find a practical place to park.

    Very friendly staff and situated in a fantastic, tranquil location. Reminds me of the village in Postman Pat!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadfully uncomfortable bed - hardly slept at all - the mattress needs replacing asap. (Previous reviews on this site and tripadvisor have said the same and obviously nothing has been done.) Very hot room and windows not suitable to be opened as anyone could break in. (Provided with a fan though when I asked for one.) No bedside tables! Lamps has just been put on the shelf behind bed. Totally insufficient - nowhere to put a glass of water, book, glasses, etc. Never stayed anywhere without bedside tables before - not up to a four star standard ! Slight space each side of bed to manoeuvre along to get in and out of bed - you needed to be a contortionist. We are in our sixties and this was totally unacceptable. I booked and paid for two rooms. We were first to check in before our daughter arrived to take up the other room. It would have been lovely to have been shown the other room, (I had wrongly presumed they would be identical), as the room she was given was the same price and she had bedside tables and space at each side of the bed, and a decent mattress. She also had a far better bathroom. She had a shower rather than a shower over the bath. I had great trouble getting in and out of the shower in our ensuite as I had to clamber over the edge of the bath, and there was nothing to hold on to. Again, if we had been shown the two rooms my daughter's room would have been so much better for my husband and I. Very limited off road parking places. Poor value for money. Not four star standard in my opinion.

    Fantastic location, especially if you have a dog with you. Very warm welcome and very helpful staff. Very dog friendly, although it is £20 per night per dog.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast turned off the toast machine before we had a chance to use it and cleared away before 10.00am Light in bathroom over mirror didn't work.

    Ambience of the Pub and the location of it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A smell of what seemed like air freshener which affected my wife's chest in our room Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Bath Arms again.

    Peaceful, quiet location. Excellent food, nice, relaxed atmosphere Close to Longleat and Bath. Great for exploring West Wiltshire and Somerset

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is if you have noisy people staying in the next room, you can hear everything they get up to. would recommend ear plugs.

    Lovely boutique feel about the room with amazing views of the natural surroundings. Staff were very kind and attentive. Breakfast was lovely with the best sausages.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom could have been bigger as not much room either side of the bed.great

    the location was great as visiting longleat it was quirky just like lord bath dinner was excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was not good the evening we arrived. Although we received a free meal for the mix ups but this would not encourage me to eat there next time. Bathroom in the room could have been cleaner but not worth complaining as we were staying only one night.

    Beds we're very comfortable, room was adequate and tea and coffee provided. For price it was good. Also very close to centreparcs and longleat safari park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say. Only thing was no teaspoons in the room for tea and coffee provided.

    Friendly helpful staff. Food very good and reasonably priced.comfortable quiet room despite being fully booked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom didn't have the mixer tap.

    The views, the peace and the quite, delicious breakfast, cosy and comfortable Close to Longleat safari park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly! It's so close to the longleat zoo, after a long day in the zoo, it only took 15 minutes back resting in the hotel. Great surroundings, if your fancy break away from the city and enjoy a country life, it's definitely for you. Food was fresh and great too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed as we were expecting a 4 star experience and got 2 star as far as accommodation was concerned. Room was in a converted outhouse detached from the main building and overlooking a pig sty. Access was straight from the courtyard. Interior of room was average.

    Staff, food and ambience were excellent. Location was perfect for Longleat House and Safari Park

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late and the staff could not have been more accommodating good beer, good wine, excellent food all supported with outstanding and very friendly staff And very good Espresso Coffee!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing slow, long time to run a bath, I was at the top of house which can't have helped (room called Flashman). The whole hot tap on the sink rotated as you turned it. Mentioned this last point to reception on departure, they apologised and said they'd fix it. TV channel choice severely restricted by poor reception. None of the above particularly upset me or made my stay less enjoyable but worthy of mention.

    Food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Location was wonderfully peaceful and quite rural. Small village/hamlet so only pub. Minor roads to access and I imagine not particularly well served by public transport. I arrived on a motorcycle which wasn't an issue. Off street parking available. The room wasn't at all cramped, bathroom was huge. Very low doors that came to my chest (I'm 6'), more quirky than a problem. The accommodation was immaculately clean, well appointed/designed with a large v. comfy bed. I had a great night's sleep. The included breakfast was extensive, tasty and all I needed for the day. I will certainly return in the future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the room was disappointing in reality and did not look as good as the images we had seen in guidebooks and on websites. There was no dressing table, handles missing from drawers, broken light switch, no bed throw or cushions. The bathroom was clean but tired and not of a modern standard. Not really a deluxe room as advertised.

    Menu choices and quality of food in the restaurant were good. Drinks in the bar were enjoyable too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The food was very good, lots of breakfast options. We had a lovely room (peacock) and really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given an annex room without prior knowledge. There was no room around bed and it was very awkward to get in and out of bed. Poor lighting between main building and annex.

    Friendly staff Very clean bedroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were warm and friendly. Dinner was really good and the atmosphere homely and what you'd expect in a rural English location. However contrary to the name it's not in Bath so Google Maps saved the day. The only criticism was that I was surprised the couple next to me had a large dog with them at dinner which snuggled up to me several times wanting a handout or a dropped morsel. Apparently the no pet area was the large empty adjacent dining room and I'd already taken my seat at a cosy table near the bar and the fireplace. I'm a dog person but staff didn't check if I minded and I presume the couple were locals and staff didn't want to offend. I think some other guests would not enjoy that at all. Otherwise a pleasant one night stay in a lovely location on the way to Stonehenge and Gatwick airport. Oh and you'd need a car to get there I'm thinking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a tapping/dripping sound... kept me awake most of the night. Tv didnt work and was in a bad place to see it. Room was very cold. No wifi....well there was but it didnt reAch my room.

    Bed was great! Bath was great! Water was HOT!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hard to use as sprayed everywhere could do with bathroom being redecorated food was good but not excellent for cost £12.00 for fish and chips chips were undercooked fish not crispy same with ploughman's not good value for money

    Liked the pub and the rooms very good for the money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room layout a little quirky with TV a right angles to the bed for no obvious reason. Access to bedrooms is across a courtyard, wonderful in summer but not so great in winter!

    Excellent breakfast, good evening meal, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fish wasn't cooked properly but as they were so busy I didn't like to complain.

    The eggs benedict were very good, rarely available on menus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tatty cramped room with curtains falling off the rail and poorly lit which at least meant we didn't spot the massive cobwebs hanging from the ceiling until the morning. Reception staff seemed to blame on line booking for poor quality room and offered a small refund but no real apologies just an email list of rectification work which seamed to suggest the faults were minor and fixed. When you charge that much for a room the faults are not minor and they ruined our stay so saying you have fixed them is no good to me

    very little

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult but plenty on the green outside the hotel.

    The service and food were excellent. The rooms were quirky and the stay was made better by being greeted by a sow and her piglets in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: