Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bay Horse Inn

West End, Winteringham, DN15 9NS, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Winteringham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. A cold shower is not what I need in the morning. Let it run for a long time and the temperature up, but just got colder.

    Comfortable and good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is pretty much a couple of rooms above the pub/restaurant. The Landlords and young family also stay on the same floor next to the guest rooms. A typical 90's style B&B type room with en-suite. You know... Floorspace really tight, tired decor and a really noisy toilet fan running for 15mins after the light is switched off.

    The room was clean & warm. The bar area was nice and plenty to choose from the menu Staff were all friendly and attentive. The food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin room was fine for one but might be a little cramped for two. Perfectly OK for my needs.

    Comfortable night, good food & beer. Very spacious car park - perfect as I had a small sailing boat in tow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, noisy extractor fan which continued all night, we were told it was the fan which is used in the cellar. Room a bit tired

    Close to family who are unable to put us up. The room served its purpose.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone do's not require a full breakfast, a small option would have been appreciated " tea and two toast.

    Only stayed the night, friendly staff, a bit isolated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sunday carvery was lovely and good value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely small village surrounding inn. Drinks were reasonably priced. Can't fault it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very tight for space in the room, which was overheated for May. However, opening the window wide and turning off the radiator did cool it down eventually. The shower was a very weak fine spray and the bathroom fittings were old and looked grubby even though they probably weren't.

    The property was conveniently located near Winteringham Fields where we were dining that evening. The man at the bar was friendly and carried my bag upstairs. The cooked breakfast was nice, although brown bread was not available for toast. The man offered to go and buy some, but we felt awkward saying yes as they weren't in the habit of offering it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels need replacement - they exfoliate your skin!

    The people are lovely, we were warmly welcomed and it was convenient for where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no breakfast provided on bank holiday Mondays. Brown bedding and single duvets with tiny beds.

    Close to our intended activity, cheap to stay & lots of parking available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little on the small side. Pub has an outside drinking area and the noise continued until after 1 am which, in a quiet village, made it difficult to sleep.

    Generally comfortable with a good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Clean comfy rooms, good food, great value and the best breakfast I've had in a long time. All staff were very friendly and helpful and all great value too!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ok but could of been much more welcoming. Only just arrived and wanted to know immediately what time we wanted breakfast. Land lord did not even speak to us !

    Freshly cooked to order so was nice and hot.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to the rooms needs new carpet. Thats it!

    Really friendly staff, nice laid back atmosphere and decent jukebox!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff I did have a burger and it tasted fab, room was basic but clean tea and coffee facilities in the room great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff and great food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly met my requirements

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and helpful, Excellent breakfast and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nowt not like

    this my kind of pub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no room to put our case.

    Bed comfy and warm.Room a little cramped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for what we needed Very clean and plenty of coffee and tea for the morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean and excellent bathroom. Could have done with a couple of pegs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the pub restaurant wasn't very good

    Very quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely village and views. Friendly staff and excellent full English breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colour scheme was a little dour. Brown carpet and bedding.

    Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to climb

    Room was v small

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but the beds were the most comfortable. Catering was to a high standard, very good atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely food and friendly staff. Very clean room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suited our needs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's upstairs in a pub so expect music in the evening. I didn't mind but some would - if so, bring earplugs.

    Staff friendly. Comfy private room. Nice atmosphere overall.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't book room 5! Tiny, tiny! The smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in!

    Comfortable surroundings. Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast expensive. Only half a slice of toast but maybe because my mother had some free of charge. Breakfast chef had no banter at all. Water never really got hot in the shower and toilet had a sluggish flush. Room small no space for a bedside table between the twin beds.

    Cosy bar and restaurant. View of Humber Bridge. New tiling in bathroom. System of leaving back keys.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise of the people talking in the pub kept me awake, on the one evening. I could here every question to the quiz on the other night, which didn't start till 9pm. TV next door from 6 ish in the morning very loud. I was doing exams that week. So moved elsewhere. They were understanding about this.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedrooms could do with being redone as the furniture was rather worn. A large wardrobe but no bedside cabinet which would have been useful. The bathroom was far to big,making the bedroom very tight for space. The bedrooms were right above the Bar so noise could be heard late in the evening.

    The staff were all great, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, individually cooked and plenty to eat. Plenty of Tea and Coffee provided in the room.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No sleep. Not the noise from the bar downstairs but from the bloke in the room next door who snored continually all night. Couldn't even get the tv to drown him out. All I can say is I'm glad I'm not his wife.....

    Staff friendly and helpful Room compact but clean

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    constant noise until the early hours from the bar and outside and a generator constantly going off outside my window so id bring ear plugs! boiling hot heating on all night and again in the morning it made the night very uncomfortable!

    friendly staff nice rooms free wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff clean tidy rooms tea n coffee making facilities in the room freeview tv wifi easy to connect to free to come and go as you please as your given a key will defintly stay again

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great friendly service

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic landlord "Simon" great bunch Great stay 😀

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Payment was taken for breakfast on the understanding it was early. Then told couldnt do it as it was too early - not refunded.

    Comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was far too small for a double, no hot water from tao, despite running water for 1/4 hour as instructed.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    perfect location for where we were going

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    price of breakfast, size of room, very loud banging door next door.

    cooked breakfast, price of room, area.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly locals with special thanks to Carol for taking us and bringing us back from All borough Cricket Club

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was really good. Kind staff who made my brief stay with them a pleasure.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: