Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bay House Lake View Guest House

Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DJ, United Kingdom

#3 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Maxine was really friendly and would help you any way she could would definitely go back there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff could not do enough for us nice touch with the cake each day. Lovely room spotless, breakfast really nice could not fault the place. Would definitely stay again. Best place we’ve stayed by far.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay , there was nothing that we didn't like apart from having to come back home

    The warm welcome we received , the Breakfasts were fantastic , everything good quality produce and cooked perfectly .The extra touches , the cake was really nice , Maxine and Graham are not only great hosts but they make that extra effort that you don't get in a lot of other Guest houses .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely nothing.

    we liked every thing about it and would recommend it to anyone.ideal location,lovely view of the lake.friendly staff.breakfast to die for. what more do you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maxine & Graham are very friendly & go the extra yard to help you, Breakfast was great , local produce, we stayed for 7 days, everything was great. very quiet location room was cleaned everyday, towels replaced , etc Great homemade cake , everyday, well my wife had it all We will be coming back again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No car parking facilities although a public car park nearby where special medium term rates were available covering car parks throughout the south lakes area

    Maxine was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single negative! They seem to work very hard to make every stay perfect!

    This was the absolute best stay we have had in all of Europe! The hosts were simply amazing in every way and the accommodations and little town were straight out of a romance novel! The room was incredibly clean, the breakfast (especially the fresh eggs) was delicious, and we were made comfortable from the very start! We hope we get a chance to visit again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !! Haha

    We had a great experience staying at 'The Bay House'. Theres no vault whatsoever. From checking in to checkin out, Graham and Maxine were great host. Hotel spot on, ideal location and very nice, clean and comfortable. Grahams superb breakfast and maxine hospitality were second to none. Was nice sittin with other guests all chatting with the host, and them informing us of the history of the bay and beatrix potter. Ideal location with nice shops, bars and views for all. Would def recommend this place and the hosts. We will be returning for a second visit. 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was ideally placed for amenities but also peaceful due to the quiet road it was on and its position facing the lake. The hosts were genuinely friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault a thing

    Arrived earlier than anticipated, no problem room available so checked in. Maxine & Graham perfect hosts. Location next to the lake and distance to all the facilities in Bowness make this a perfect B&B. comfortable beds, great breakfast choice. No complaints whatsoever, even the weather was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi wasn't great..

    Bay House owners make you feel very welcome and relax..A good way to start your holiday. the house is very neat and clean, comfortable and and you are provided with everything you need for a short stay..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not acceptable to arrive later than 8.00pm, regardless the delay of the train. So I have to pay more £15 for another train ticket and £33 for taxi fee so that I am able to meet that strict time. Also the host used a tough speech to commute. It was a very bad experience that day. However, if you can arrive at the day time, that will not be a problem.

    Best breakfast in UK ever, especially the homemade canned yellow peach and jam! The room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect for us and exceeded expectations. The room was immaculate, service impeccable. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Home cooked cakes, tips on what to do each day. We would stay again without hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Comfortable bed and very clean rooms. Some rooms have a lake view but we had a roof top view over Bowness. Still a lovely sight. Excellent Cumbrian grill breakfast. Very friendly hosts in an excellent location very close to the town centre but away from the noise and hustle. Loved the afternoon cake treat! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room spotless and comfortable. Lot of thought given to layout and comfort. Maxine and Graham very friendly did everything to make us welcome. Lovely breakfast Nice home baked cake left in room each day.. One of nicest guesthouses we have stayed in. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a little Tv in the room we stayed however it was to the extreme left and it was hard to watch. I feel it needs to be moved to the centre of the room.

    The staff were so lovely and welcoming! I really felt like it was home from home. There was a relaxing atmosphere and a nice little touch was that they leave homemade cake in each room every day. The location is ideal and only a 2 minute walk from the town centre. I would defiantly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything The little bit extra like the home made cake in the room to have with your tea and coffee Friendliness of the hosts Could not fault anything Ideal location to go to the lake every thing was within walking distance. Would recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't pick fault with anything We travelled with family but not with children under 18 there doesn't seem to be a button to press for that????

    Very friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for everyone Those delightful little cakes we received every evening The best mushrooms on toast I have ever eaten

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maxine and Graham were the perfect hosts, very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Location is excellent for Bowness centre and is quietly tucked away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was a tad short.

    Very close to the Bowness water front and restaurants. The proprietors were very professional and helpful with local information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners made visit very personal & nothing was too much trouble x very good with local information & recommendations where applicable x would definitely visit again & recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Everything was more than adequate for our stay.

    Good quiet location near all amenities, shops and restaurants. Very good value for money. Maxine and Graham were excellent hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Maxine and Grayham were amazing from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome.The breakfast was amazing the little touches like the home made cake left in the room daily made the holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    The yummy homemade slices of cake left in our room each day..And the breakfast choice. Whatever you wanted was no problem for the kitchen. Fantastic service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to improve on there perfection!

    Absolutely fantastic stay, friendly, helpful and overall lovely people. Food was mouth watering and the room was homely and comfortable. Would recommend 110%, little touches like a homemade piece of cake everyday in the room make this that little bit extra special. The owners are some of the nicest people we've ever met. 5*****'s all round!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow time band for breakfast 8.15 - 9.00.

    Lovely, clean room.Comfy bed. Friendly landlady, good breakfast and near to pubs, restaurants and the lake. Good bus service to Keswick via Ambleside and Grasmere with amazing scenery on the way

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    I am so glad I stumbled across this guest house, everything here was just perfect. The day before Maxine text me to make sure everything was ok and to let us know when we could check in. On arrival I already knew that there was no parking but wasn't a problem as the public car park is literally a minute away and 3 days parking is only £15. On arrival at the property we were early and we were met by the owners Maxine and Graham. Our room was ready to go straight in which was nice. Again I already knew that the room was a small double when I booked and everything is perfectly placed and had everything we needed. There were also perfect views of the lake. Everyday we had some home made cake made by Graham and some lovely biscuits which was a lovely touch. Not expecting it at all but our bed was perfectly made everyday and fresh towels in our room. The bed was also really comfy. The breakfast was lovely, from cereal to yogurts, fresh fruit, orange juice, full cooked breakfast made fresh or other options of bacon sandwich, poached eggs on toast etc. The sausages are huge and from a local butcher. The guest house is literally a stones throw from the town but located down a little road so you didn't get any noise from pubs etc. It was so peaceful and was not disturbed at all. Both Maxine and Graham are really lovely and it felt like staying with family. They are the font of knowledge and give you recommendations on local walks, restaurants, bars etc and are genuinely interested on what you have done in your day. If I came back to Windermere I would not stay anywhere else but here and I definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving !!!!!

    Everything to like, Beautiful Bowness, Maxine and Graham, lovely hosts, homemade cake, jam, marmalade, very friendly, efficiently, professionally run.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing spoilt our holiday

    The warm welcome and friendly contact with Maxine was lovely. Her knowledge of the area really helped our short stay. Our view from room was gorgeous as we were also blessed with fab weather. Lovely window to soak up the rays and enjoy Lake Windermere. Just far enough from the busy town to avoid the crowds but near enough to walk to the numerous pubs etc and shops

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location,with fabulous hosts. Represents great value for money, delicious breakfasts with locally sourced produce. Spotlessly clean,comfortable beds and hosts who can give you advice on anything from the best walks to the best restaurants. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now . This has been our third stay in 3 years and won't be our last.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was made special by Graham and Maxine, who went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay there even with good information and accurate weather forecast so we could do a lake cruise when it wasn't going to rain. They are truly wonderful people. Maxine waited on us like a mother would

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the parking but there was a car park close by at £5 a day.

    Homemade cake daily was a lovely touch. Owners first rate. Could not have been more helpful. Breakfast choice and execution excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was far too small.The view out of our room 4 over the rooftops was nice if you didn't look down & see all the rubbish below.Also it was overpriced at £90 a night with no parking.

    Location was great .The room was very clean.The breakfast was nice.The lady that owned it was very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Graham and Maxine are very friendly and looked after us well. It was my partners birthday while we were there, Maxine left a little gift of chocolates on the bedside table, a lovely touch. The room was spotlessly clean and the room facilities were comparable to a much larger establishment. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order. The bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed for a weekend break. The location is excellent, minutes from the lake, restaurants and shops. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Lovely hosts, excellent breakfast, clean room with tea and coffee making facilities and Graham's chocolate cake is immense. Slept like babies in the comfortable beds and felt very much at home. Perfect location right near the lake which we had a view of from our bedroom window and although right in the centre of things it was very quiet. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay made more perfect by the hospitality of Maxine and Graham. Room was lovely and clean, serviced everyday with an extra treat of a slice of homemade cake everyday. We would highly recommend staying here and would like to think we would visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Graham and Maxine were great hosts. We stayed at The Bay House seven years ago when visiting The Lake District and were amazed how much it had been modernised. Lovely clean room with a view of the lake with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice with homemade jam and marmalade. A piece of homemade cake baked by Graham every afternoon was scrumpious. We stayed for five nights and had a different one every day. Perfect location for shops, restaurants, buses and the ferry boats. It was lovely to sit on the front and watch the sun go down. Hope to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just lack of car parking at the b&b site itself.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The owners went over and above to make your stay exceptional - eg home baked cake on your tea tray, home made jams at breakfast. All lovely touches. Great quality linen, towels, hand and shower wash products.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The owners of the guest house were very friendly and helpful. Thought it was a lovely touch being left home made cake for the two days we stayed ginger cake my favourite was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was amazing, set you up for the day. the sausage were enormous and very tasty. home made raspberry jam was delicious. service at breakfast was spot on, very friendly and attentive. home made cakes in the room after a day out were a special touch. so nice, very delicious. close to the lake, a lovely view of the lake from our room. we didn't have to walk far to shops, pubs and restaurants, spot on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great guest house in the heart of Bowness. Rooms are very clean and equipped, hosts are super, breakfast amazing, and the homemade cakes were to die for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windermere extremely busy and we found it difficult to find initially as the streets are very narrow. But once found it was in a nice quiet little spot with easy access to everything.

    The owners were very friendly and couldnt be more helpful, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of anything.

    I have to mention how warm and friendly Maxine and Graham were. We felt at home straight away. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked and presented in an excellent manner. Our room had a beautiful Lake view. The bed was extremely comfortable so had a good nights sleep.The ensuite facilities were very good. We also enjoyed the homemade cakes that were provided to our room daily. These little extras make the holiday break even more memorable. We were fortunate with the weather in the high 20s. But I would definitely go back and maybe experience the Lake District when it's not so hot. I have already started praising and recommending. Well done Maxine and Graham. Look forward to seeing you again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maxine and Graham were both very friendly and welcoming. Location is perfect, very close to the lake and restaurants. Fantastic breakfast and homemade cakes! Room kept lovely and clean. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing to not like about the very nice accommodation.

    Very homely feel at this accommodation as Graham and Maxine make you immediately comfortable and they are like long lost friends. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and a good night sleep was very welcome after long days spent travelling around the beautiful Lake District. Breakfasts were most enjoyable and always more than enough to eat. The bonus was the fresh cake that was always placed in your room to enjoy with a nice cup of tea after a long day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault a thing These Guys are the best.

    We booked a small room with a view and we were quoted the room size. The room was lovely light and bright with a view of lake Windermere and the yacht club, bed was really comfy. Our hosts Maxine and Graham were absolutely wonderful, breakfast was great, they were so friendly and helpful. We had freshly baked cake every day. They made our stay very enjoyable and memorable. We loved staying and would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small but adiquite for our needs, the bed was a little short for us, we are not tall people.

    The location was just great for visiting the lakes using the local boats. The cooked breakfast was good and well presented, with the addition of fruit and Yoghurt, cereals and toast with home-made preserve. Complementary homemade cake in the room for an afternoon snack was a welcome treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything!

    Perfect location and really friendly couple who showed outstanding hospitality and service. Would definitely stay there again. Nice view of Lake Windermere too! Even the public car park was just 2 minute's walk away. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, not a single thing!

    The owners of Bay House were excellent hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them to help you with. Breakfast was varied and the cooked breakfast was first class. Little touches like slices of homemade cake each day when we came back was so appreiciated. Best of all was the friendliness of Maxine & Graham.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Stayed 14 nights, Maxine and Graham fantastic hosts. Stay couldn't have been better. Great breakfast in the morning cooked by chef Graham lovely. Maxine and Graham have very good local information of the area including bars and restaurants which was most helpful. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to all. 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the start Maxine was very welcoming and friendly... Both her and Graham couldn't do enough for my husband and myself.. Our room was beautiful, very clean, beautifully decorated and had an amazing view of Lake Windermere. There was a variety to choose from at breakfast but we would definitely recommend the Cumberland Grill.... We can not recommend this Guest house enough we will definitely be going back and would advise anyone to do the same..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just getting a room with a view but as it only has 5 bedrooms you would need to book this early.

    The location was perfect for us and although there is no parking at the property there is a public car park for £5 per day nearby. The hosts were amazingly friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and had everything you need. Would have liked to have been able to get a room with a view but had this every morning at breakfast. The room was serviced daily and homemade cake left every day which is a bit of a bonus. You would be hard pressed to find a better breakfast. Plenty of choice and the sausage, bacon and egg were of really good quality. Would highly recommend this B & B.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not too like, Maxine & Graham are the perfect hosts, breakfasts are to die for & set you up for the day, little cake treats in room everyday & an easter egg, just perfect thats why we have returned 3 times now.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and modern.Location was great for the price we paid.The breakfast was great and Maxine was very friendly and helpful even making us a lunch to take with us as we had an early flight.We would stay there anytime.John and Cathy,Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were lovely and friendly. Really warm welcome. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Beautifully clean rooms. Ideal location and view. Excellent for any solo travellers as such a comfortable and homely place to stay. Will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really lovely, fantastic hosts and a great place to stay, perfect location,situated right in the heart of Bowness. Would highly recommend staying hereand will definately revisit soon. Thankyou bayview guest house for a wonderful stay !! .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was slightly uncomfortable, and room was a little small-fine for us for the weekend but the wardrobe space may not be enough if staying for longer than a few days

    The hosts were so lovely, they couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was delicious and very filling, with a great choice. Rooms were perfectly clean and very nicely decorated. The centre of Bowness is a few minutes walk away, with plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    A very friendly welcome. Made feel at home. Lovely breakfast, always attentive asked if needed for tea or toast. This property excellence comes as standard. Fabulous stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think that the heating in the room need to be improved. Although a central heater is provided in the room, we find it a little bit cold in the winter night. But once our concern reached the hosts, they provided us an extra blanket which solve our issue immediately.

    My wife and I went to Lake District for a vacation and chose to stay at this place for four nights. The room was really clean and comfortable. New sheets were changed everyday. The hosts, Maxine and Graham, are very nice. They offer a hotel grade service of hospitality with the price of guest house. The breakfast taste great and freshly cooked upon order. I would recommend the Cumbrian Grill to boost your energy for a long day of stunning walks. The location of the house is conveniently accessible to public transport and in the heart of Bowness, the best town in the Lake District. Overall, apart from the nice weather for a pleasant walk along the lakes, staying in this guest house has enriched our pleasure for a perfect trip in the Lake District.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its location there is no on site parking so a small walk is required from the council run car park but as most people are in the lakes to walk it shouldn't pose any problems.

    The owners we're really attentive and you could sense they really wanted you to have an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was cooked fresh and I had 3 different things each day and it was all excellent. The home made cakes in your room every day were a nice touch and the whole place was spotless.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners are lovely people - very welcoming, friendly and obliging. The breakfast was good - cereals, bio yogurts, tinned fruit, toast, jam, marmalade, fruit juice, tea, coffee, full cumbrian grill etc. & more if you need a top up. Close to all amenities. Our room overlooked Lake Windermere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything!

    The friendly, welcoming atmosphere and warm, comfortable bedroom. Good choice and beautifully cooked breakfast. Tea-tray in room with home-made cake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fresh milk in room as opposed to cartons although recognise this could be difficult.

    Small double room was great with good view of the lake. Breakfasts excellent and owners were very welcoming and friendly (great carrot cake :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking arrangements are not ideal but nor are they much of an inconvenience.

    The Cumberland Grill for breakfast was very good. Seems to be a house speciality and is a very good way to start the day after a good night's sleep in a comfy bed in a clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults at all!!!!!!!!

    Maxine and Graham are the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble. This was our second stay and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bowness. Ideal location,right in the centre of Bowness with everything on the doorstep. Beautiful,comfy,clean rooms with stunning views of the lake. Breakfast was perfect every morning. Will definitely be back for a third visit!!!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift to carry the luggage will be better.

    very good location with lake view, very nice staff who cook the breakfast all by herself. Good service and very comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maxine & Graham were so warm & welcoming & very friendly nothing was to much trouble, room was lovely the homemade cake in the room was a lovely touch, would highly recommend this place & will definitely visit again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little guest house a stone throw from everything you need. Staff even left a card and chocolate for my partners birthday and homemade cake left fresh each morning 😁

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very warmest of welcomes from the hosts who showed a genuine interest throughout our stay. The property is situated in the heart of Bowness giving easy access to town centre shops, pubs, restaurants, ferries, etc. The freshly cooked breakfasts were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing that could be made better.

    Maxine and Graham were great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable, breakfast was super and the rooms are very clean. Homemade cake in the room each day was a lovely touch and yummy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bigger shower 😐 & shelf over the sink would be useful. Leaving to go home.

    Maxine is a super hostess and nothing is too much trouble. Graham is more behind the scene cooking gorgeous cakes, jam & breakfasts. Location to the lakes is a two minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graham and Maxine are very friendly and we was made to feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and all the little extras was well thought out. Thank you Graham for a lovely well cooked breakfast, it set us up for the morning. See you in the spring.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and friendly and were ok with is arriving late which was great! The location is perfect only a few minute walk into town and the breakfast was really nice. The room was also lovely and clean with homemade cake everyday which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner's Maxine and Graham were fantastic host's very warm and friendly they made us feel right at home. breakfast was fantastic as was the homemade cake waiting for us each day.Will be booking a return visit very soon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we'd been able to stay longer than 2 nights!

    Maxine and Graham were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good too. Nicely located with just a short walk to some great restaurants and bars in Bowness. We'll be back!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: