Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bay Hotel – RelaxInnz 3 stars

2-4 Eastbourne Road, Pevensey, BN24 6EJ, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Pevensey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    The hostess was very helpful, close to Pevensey train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower is not user friendly and very small the room is dated however has character and was adequate for our needs

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating the breakfast was plentiful and coffee was excellent close to a laundry and convenience store bed was comfortable. Surprised that we never heard to rambunctious pub downstairs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel provided a comfortable bed for the night, which is all I required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel felt run down, although some rooms have been modernised. The window in my room wouldn't close properly, because the woodwork in general is in need of some tlc. The only soap provided was a small bottle of shower gel/shampoo.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, and my room was clean and light with a dressing table and a modern shower. The included breakfast was good, too. The ball pool in the basement was an amazing surprise for the two-year old!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfy but little expensive for room over pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No earl grey tea, hairdryer was post war, tv only would tune to BBC1 well, had to get out of bed to turn off bedside lights, just a little tired. Could easily be improved by a few simple additions ie better drink selection in room, quality biscuits, hairdryer from modern era

    Friendly staff, good old fashioned pub

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Pleasant relaxing visit.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fine and I hope to return to the Bay. :)

    Beds comfy, Staff both friendly and kind. At this point I would like to extend a huge thank you to Lisa the lady who cleaned our rooms etc. Nothing was too much trouble for her she made every effort possible to ensure we were happy and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpet had muddy stains, tho it had been swept no soap supplied lightswitch by one side of bed not in both sides single bed crammed into room with the double bed carpark full in evening so i had to block someone in - then I didnt like to go to sleep till 23:00 in case i had to move the car no decaf coffee supplied in room

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Location excellent, local shops only fantastic if you like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside decor let’s them down

    Location excellent, local shops only fantastic if you like beach walking , outside decor could make you cancel, that would be a mistake ! Would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The staff were kind, thoughtful and their customer service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were kind, thoughtful and their customer service was just top notch! The beds were very comfy also. Had stayed someplace else the night before and there was a glaring difference in customer service between the two. Bay Inn was just fab! Will definitely use them again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Sea shore for romantic lovers and nature lovers. Lots of historical sites around, no way to be bored
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was a bit overworked. I think they do deserve some benefits or compensation for the hard work they do. They were amazing. They deserve material compensation or benefits for such hard work.

    The beach is literally 20 meters away. The room was lovely, little bit tight, but absolutely fine for the price we paid. True value for money. Clean bed, friendly staff, and stunning sea side available nearby. Free breakfast (we could not benefit a lot as we were lazy to get to the bar and order it ...) and lots of castles and historical sites around to see and visit. I was looking for a budget accommodation with excellent location and I got it over my expectations. Thank you all, hard working staff of The Bay Hotel – RelaxInnz. If I was the owner i would give them social benefits, tips or percentage of the visitor's high rate. They did work hard. Thank you all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A Brilliant Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two things. 1. The wardrobe door was kind on broken, we didn't use it because it was just one night but I like to be thorough for the sake of reviews. 2. The way the rooms are fitted out, we could hear when the guest in the next room used his bathroom because the extractor fan made clicking noises in our room and also we could hear him pee (sorry TMI!!) and we could hear him flush. Seriously people! Don't flush the loo in the night, nothing is that important!

    This is the first time ever that the room I booked with Booking.com was one of the rooms shown on the website, mostly the ones we get are the pokey little ones that aren't pictured at all. We arrived quite late, after 10pm but the lovely guy on check-in was cheerful and even upgraded us to a bigger room because in his words "some of the rooms are a bit pokey and no-ones using this one" There was free parking in the car park behind the hotel although I think that may be potluck if the place is busy. The room was fantastic (No.7 if anyone is interested), a huge bay window, a huge bed and a lovely ensuite with a shower in bath (I love baths) Everything was clean and there were tea and coffee facilities with biscuits. There were plenty of towels and also complimentary shower gel/shampoo. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom too. The bed was super comfortable and the TV was bigger than a lot we've seen in B.com rooms. There was free wi-fi that worked well. The breakfast was stupendous! I wasn't even sure that it was included, it wasn't clear on the website and although I messaged B.com I didn't get an answer so it was a surprise to offered a choice of continental (Why??) and a Full English. And it was! As much tea, coffee, juice and toast as you like and then a choice of Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Black pudding, Vege Sausage, Mushrooms, Beans, Hash browns, Tomatoes. The staff were all brilliant, I didn't get the guy's name on the late check-in but Lisa in the morning was fab, cheerful, happy to help and she even reminded me that I'd left my fleece on the chair back at breakfast. All in all a brilliant surprise for a one night stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Restless night @ Pevensey Bay Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside is very noisy main Road to Eastbourne. The bed linen was clean but stained, walls are damp, shower tray waste leaking and in general room needs updating.

    Staff were nice and the bar and restaurant friendly with great facilities TVs beer etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Décor Availability of Gluten free options as advertised Very limited parking due to vans and caravans which appear to be lived in

    The hotel was fair at best. Our double room was very cramped and tired décor. Wall paper peeling away . The whole place is in need of a refurb. On the positive side. The staff are great and very friendly , the food was good, but no availability or offer of GLUTEN FREE options, which I requested at time of booking. All in all a comfortable base for exploring the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    relaxing, ideal for a short break away great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very pleasant , the room we had was very spacious and very clean with on suite .We also had a balcony where you could sit and relax and smoke if you wanted to. Breakfast was lovely choice of full English cooked to order (yum) or continental. the beach was literally a 2 minute walk from the front door. building looks dated but full of character.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were amazing, went above and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic constant, day and night but to be expected your on a main road into Eastbourne. Stairs aren't great for elderly or disabled. (No lifts because it's an old traditional English pub)

    Staff were amazing, went above and beyond. Breakfast delicious and nice choices. 30 second walk to beach. Had a roof terrace we could sit out on when kids were tired. Ball pit for the children in the bar (amazing).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    We had good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell as you walk into bar we

    Room 2 could do with a make over towel on bedside table holes in walls beds very clean and comfortable but food and staff exelent Lisa was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was basic but comfy, we had no issues with noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window was a rattling due to high winds and the roo, hadn't been cleaned too well but was good enough

    The room was basic but comfy, we had no issues with noise despite the hotel being full when we stayed, and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Top staff, comfy bed, decent breaky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was very dated, a tad grubby and a bit shabby but for the price I expected worse so it didn't matter.

    Staff were delightful, helpful and super friendly, the bed was nice and comfy, the breaky was spot on. Great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    This is the first property with which we have been so disapointed via Booking.com, feel we.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As described above, very disapointed!

    Bedroom very cramped, hot & noisy from traffic, bedroom window almost broken, bathroom shaving mirror light not working, whole place very run down, would definitely not stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    A big disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was fooled by the title - this is NOT a hotel, it's a pub. Fine if you want a pub. Fine if you want pounding music shaking the fabric of your room until after 11pm. Fine if you weren't going to eat in anyway, because football on the huge TV screen has taken over the "dining room" (which is actually part of the bar). And fine if you don't expect a hotel to have a lift to upstairs rooms, or even an adequate stair-rail. Incidentally, if you do want an evening meal, the fish and chip shop a few doors down is great (the plaice was particularly delicious), and you can sit in there as long as you like - with no football !

    Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pub itself was "tired-looking" but our room made up for it.

    We were given a family room for just the two of us so plenty of room and certainly no complaints. Easy bus access to both Hastings and Eastbourne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff -food good - but like stepping back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bathroom fittings - no shelf - no fixed mirror and shower head held on with plastic cable clips! Hot water nearly none existent. No hooks anywhere.

    Bed was comfy, could do with an update.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to previous visits parking was bit of a problem, two spaces were taken up by caravans. Car park may have been busy due to people watching World Cup in the bar.

    Extremely good value for the price. As always my main criteria are a clean room, clean bed sheets and a clean shower. You would have to give the Bay Hotel 10 out of 10. Staff friendly and helpful. Fresh towels each morning of stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff are lovely, very friendly And helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of modernisation that is the only reason some scores are low.

    The staff are lovely, very friendly And helpful. The breakfast is excellent, hot food and hot plates

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no reception area to register when we arrived and we had to go into the bar area to do so

    Food was hot and plentiful and the bed was very comfortable. Even though we were over the pub lounge area there was little or no noise from below

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was big but in major need of refurbishment Bathroom had an awful drain smell Wi-Fi very intermittent Food only served until 6pm

    Cheap but get what you pay for

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was adequate for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel décor was a bit tired and the bed springs were not comfortable. The room was small and the rug on the floor of our room was stained.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was ok. The beach was easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Inexpensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very tired, room needed redecoration, location very noisy, noise from bar , car park too small for amount of rooms, you can select parking but nothing is guaranteed. Continental breakfast is a big disappointment.

    Cooked breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Because of the staff we really enjoyed our stay, they were so helpful in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Windows were a bit shabby and could do with replacing.

    From arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the evening meals available were a good selection. The room we had was very comfortable and clean. The locals in the bar were also very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A good base for exploring the Sussex Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel apart from the parking. The earliest I got back was 7.15pm and there were no parking spaces left. I had to park elsewhere, which was plentiful and free, but nevertheless. Also, there were 2 caravans lodged in the car park seemingly permanently which didn't help.

    Very conveniently located. Good breakfast. "No frills" but still had a kettle in the room which was useful. Friendly staff happy to make helpful suggestions and interact. Well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay at this place again too noisy!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water took a long time to heat up needs sorting as a lot of wasted water,dont ask for scrambled eggs they are running off the plate awfull,not very friendly some morning just one member of staff,

    The room was clean,towels changed daily,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast, friendly staff and lovely place to stay. place near special towns and easy to get to local transport available train and buses local shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fine. Booking.com was not. We booked for 2 rooms but on arrival only one room was booked and it was a family room!! Not happy about this as they did not have the rooms booked we had to pay more to then book another room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for a cheap B and B seaside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel badly needs a makeover. For example, our wardrobe door was broken, the toilet hard to flush and the window frames rotten. The rate was good so we would not advise against staying there, especially as the staff are so pleasant. But we were disappointed with the size and condition of the room. Sorry!

    Good welcome, caring and happy staff. Tea, coffee and biscuits in room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    My wife and I enjoyed our stay and will probably return at a future date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi reception was poor. A small point, but I would have liked to have a (working) light over the wash basin because I prefer to have a wet shave.

    Helpful and friendly staff, good full English breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    It was good as to location, disappointing as to facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very average. No available parking - the car park was full with several large vans, 2 caravans and other vehicles. No other overnight parking available, so abandoned second night and came home early ....

    It was right near beach and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, although not overpriced. Car park is also quite small so it was difficult to find space at times.

    Excellent location, and exactly what we expected from rooms above a pub - nothing too fancy, but comfortable and functional. The staff were friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were helpful and friendly, but better described as a 'Pub that has rooms' rather than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climb to top floor room had no handrail on final section. Room to room noise transfer was dreadful. Beds adequate, but room depressing and cramped, needing a serious facelift. Parking was limited. As it is a 'Public House', some of the 'locals' were very rowdy and noisy.

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses were old and thin, but not unbearable - No complaints really. Be prepared for an old classic hotel with character.

    Lovely stay in Pevensey. Friendly pub downstairs and quiet upstairs in the rooms. Good internet everywhere. Friendly staff in a great little seaside village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice place but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner been a soap addict was a little upset as there was no ITV1 . Was also a little noisy from the bar area .

    Staff were friendly ,beds compfy and it was near the Beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok but expected better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that all the windows were sealed bar one which was impossible to open so the room would be unbearable in the summer plus it made me feel that I had no escape route if a fire was to be outside my room door. Only one (1) teabag and two (2) small pots of milk. No pillow protectors which is incredibly important to me as you don't know who's dribbled on that pillow before you. Breakfast came and the hash browns were missing.

    The bathroom. Looked as if it had recently been updated and was very roomy. Shower was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décor is a bit tatty, could do with better choice of breakfast for people who don't have a cooked breakfast, more fruit.

    Good value for money, room was spacious, staff very friendly, bed was extremely comfortable, cooked breakfast was good. The bar menu included vegetarian dishes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend nor go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertised supper but when I asked the staff had left at 7 pm. Breakfast was good.

    When I arrived the hotel was packed full of drunken men, drunken women and a large number of children were also drink taken. The noise was appalling with several TV shows all blaring out their particular flavour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good. I would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hanging space for clothes would have been nice. The car park was full in the evening but luckily parking was available on the road.

    The staff were lovely, the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    perfect quick stopover for work. staff great/accommodating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only slight road noise as in middle of one way system but not enough to disturb sleep.

    leftcbefore beeakfast but staff kindly left cereal/milk for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. Would say go and stay also local shops near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome was great. The evening had live music which made it even better. The staff was great as I've been there several years ago. Would reccommed to people as family or even a getaway with someone.Has parking on site too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Met expectations. Felt relaxed and chilled out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn’t very powerful. Couple of holes in wall need filling (room 5). Full English breakfast not bad but not great either.

    Very clean. Friendly staff with good customer service. Nice room. Good decor and temperature. Decent space. Good tv reception. Good WiFi coverage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was very tired and shabby ( I don't think the room had been decorated since the late 1980's and there were holes in the wall). The room was very small with limited space to move around the bed, it was difficult to store a suitcase. The shower room light was constantly flickering. The tea making facilities provided were very limited and basic - the kettle had to be placed on the floor to boil - there was only enough milk and teabags for one cup of tea each. There was a strong smell of old grease/chip fat that seemed to be coming from the greasy spoon cafe situated next door.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room and shower room were clean. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfy room, excellent breakfast and friendly staff evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit too cold, but it was winter. Staff upon check-in was a bit stressed and therefore grumpy at first and didn't realise I had booked the room already.

    Comfy room, excellent breakfast and friendly staff evening and morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    It was a bit tired and old fashioned. More a B & B than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our twin room was a bit cramped: long and thin with a bed at each end. We had to get out of bed to turn wall lights off. Shaving light and heater in bathroom weren't working. Breakfast was between 8 and 9 on a Sunday (bit early for us).

    It was clean. And we had clean bedding and towels. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    A pleasure to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    As before, a wonderful stay! Staff very friendly and helpful. Delicious full English breakfast every morning. Clean and spacious room. Enjoyable night of karaoke.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our one night stay and will go back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fine.

    Parking outside the hotel on the south coast is a big bonus. Check out the cost of parking in Eastbourne, Brighton etc to see what I mean. Staff were very pleasant and easy going. They gave us a very large nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    I'm glad I chose the Bay Hotel and would do so again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be difficult in summer as the "overflow" carpark is the nearby pay and display carpark

    Amazing value for money, large airy room, comfortable bed. Good 4G signal, so no need for the hotel Wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    A place to sleep for the night but would not re book again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park surface poor after rain,also many old vehicles in the small carpark not enough space for customers.There was not lighting in the bathroom it was pointed out to bar manager but there was no responce and I had to shower and shave without lighting.Also no cooked meals available after 7pm....

    Location was good for the purpose of the visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    great stay. i would book it again
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shaver light didn't work, but as I had managed to take a plug with me it was of no concern .I didn't bring it to the attention of staff but if I had I'm sure it would have been taken care off

    staff were welcoming .breakfast was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Can't actually say anything in particular that was "liked" as such.....staff were friendly, location is dead easy to find, room was clean etc etc. For the money (our deal was basically £20 per person, per night....including breakfast) pretty much unbeatable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Lovely seaside hotel with friendly staff and a delicious full English every morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only slight issue is the parking - there is a private car park but it has no marked bays and it is used by pub guests as well who seem to all have vans and don't know how to park sensibly! That said, there is a big, free car park just across the road and this was more than adequate. There could be more choice for the continental breakfast.

    Lovely room, very friendly and helpful staff and the location is ideal for us as we have friends and family in Eastbourne and Hailsham. A good full English breakfast every morning. We will be making this hotel our base whenever we visit the area in future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    we needed to be close to the Moorings for a family celebration and it fitted the bill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in serious need of redecoration and we were unable to get a snack meal at five past eight on a Saturday evening. As a result we had to all to another pub in the area at which, although packed out, we were able to get a delicious snack meal at 8.25pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    A place to sleep with friendly staff. Don't have higher expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't serve breakfast before 8 am. Bed was uncomfortable. Desk was minute and not suitable for working. Medium rare steak was served medium to well done Heating wasn't very strong You could hear music from the pub downstairs TV Remote control in room wouldn't work from certain angles

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Great food, great staff, overall a fab place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived here and instantly felt welcome by the staff. The location of the hotel was amazing, right near the beach. The people were very welcoming, everybody we spoke to were friendly polite, and very helpful. Booked this hotel for such an incredible deal, great food, great breakfast, amazing staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Attitude of the two female staff i encountered poor, but male at 1st breakfast satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, after checking in and receiving key was told to find my own way to room as she had to mind the bar too. I stayed for 2 nights, but on 2nd morning was helping myself to cereal when approached by young female who said abruptly that if i was having "full english breakfast" i would have to pay extra for cereal. Notice on stairs saying not to bring takeaway food into rooms, only if purchased on premises.

    Although i was on my own i was allocated a "family room" so extra space which was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Was conveniently near to our friends we were visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom decor is somewhat jaded and needs redecorating badly.There is nowhere in the bathroom to hang the towels or dressing gown.Have to put washbags on the floor as no shelves.No chair to sit on in the bedroom either.It is very basic accommodation which is reflected in the price.Great for a weekend or short stay.

    Ample full english breakfast,or choice of what you wanted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Very close to the seaside which was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a bit unreliable. Had to wait a long time to return the key when we left as the staff was outside on a smoke break. In the end had to leave the key on the counter as we had to leave.

    Very close to the seaside which was nice. The room was good, clean and as you'd expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable bed. Hotel lovely and warm. Free Wi-fi. Hairdrier in bathroom and tea making facilities.Choice of full english or continental breakfasts. Our room had a sea view. Staff very friendly. Would recommend and use this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.5
    Been to the bay several times over the years..feel place could do with a fresh look..very tired now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room very small for double + door to room actually hitting bed could not open fully when you came in...very loud music downstairs in pub area till late...milk not enough in room..1 small pack of biscuits containing 3 digestives between both of us..no paper as stated...car parking not great lucky we brought small car..x2 holes in bedroom wall...wallpaper peeling off walls and near window frame ,,basin in bathroom cracked very disappointing ,also the view from room could have been more appealing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking at hotel,but plenty of free parking on the road

    Very nice room, comfortable bed,good shower,nice breakfast,very helpful staff, good beer,and not expensive.good menu,but fancied an Indian ,as near enough next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    It was quite basic but that was reflected in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks at breakfast were very limited - there was just enough coffee for a small cup each and no tea on offer which was disappointing. Had to request a glass for juice which was so small I had to go back for several refills - partly because I find coffee dehydrating and there was no tea! Only do breakfast 8 to 9 on a Sunday which was a shame as a bit of a lie in would have been nice as we had a very long drive the day before and a long drive home that day. The room was long and thin so the twin beds were end to end with a dressing table between. No room to push them together so we ended up sharing a bed, although they were a bit wider than a standard single so it could have been worse. But it was £59 Inc breakfast for two on a Saturday night, which was excellent value despite the above!

    It was quite basic but that was reflected in the price. Good value for money. Comfortable mattresses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, cosy, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we found was that although breakfast was good value and quality, there was VERY limited choice of EITHER 'continental' (just a very small variety of cereal/fruit/yogurt - no meats/cheeses/croissants etc) OR cooked (5 items 'given' with no choice) and toast I'm sure it would have cost only a fraction more to be offered everything, or at least to be able to choose which items to have on the 'cooked' plate. For example, if you don't like baked beans the other items all get bit 'polluted' so to speak!

    Staff were very friendly. There was access to the rooms through a door from the car park without having to walk through the bar every time. There was a good range of nice bar food at reasonable prices. The room was cosy, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfy stay for a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room perhaps on the small size. Decor dated.But to be honest for the price you really can't expect luxury. Happily stay here again as it was very clean and comfortable.

    Very clean room and bathroom. Comfy bed.staff friendly and we're helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Very good. Only there one night but it was an excellent stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strange smell as you entered the bedroom, (Room 4) but it wasn't noticeable in the room. smelt a bit like wet carpet. Maybe a water leak somewhere? The car park was rather puddley.

    The bed was the best we slept in over three different hotels that week. The room was better appointed than a certain well advertised chain - and a lot cheaper, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for the price, but its definitely a "budget" place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the mattress was very comfortable, the bedding was plasticky and very sweaty. Breakfast was an OK fry-up or limited continental choice (either, not both). The shower had an annoying fault which meant needing to hold the head at all times, it sounded like the staff had trouble getting the owners to fix these minor issues.

    Decent value for the price, cleanliness was good in all important areas. Location was perfect for where I needed to be. It was fine for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main issue was the shower which was either cold if you wanted a better flow or scalding with barely a drip and nothing in between! This may depend what rooms you had but both our rooms were the same. Also at breakfast we were asked if we wanted cooked breakfast or continental. We all said cooked but still made for the cereal as assumed that was included and wouldn't call it continental,we were stopped in our tracks and told you can only have either cooked or cereal fresh fruit and yogurt,no one else staying there took any notice and still had both saying it wasn't continental and you always get cereal etc with a full English which of course we agreed with but didn't have it because there was an extra charge,bit mean I thought and didn't enjoy breakfast as spent the time moaning to each other about it!

    The parking was good and we were quickly attended to on arrival. Beds very comfy and nice TV. Handy to the beach which is literally a couple of minutes away and also the local shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay that gave us just what we needed. Grate location for a beach walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast felt a little rushed, with the timings short. 8am till 9am

    Welcoming staff, good location. Rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay with pevensey castle visit a must easy 20 minute walk from hotel ,beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information about transport links to hotel ,we travelled by train and nearest station pevensey bay with very few trains a day and can't return at weekends from although pevensey and westham station is a 5 minute taxi journey away,my advice would be to get train to Eastbourne then 99 bus from stand e to hotel 15 minute journey with buses every 20 minutes .

    Staff very helpful and bed comfortable,entertainment in bar each night good. Location to beach easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Not a bad stay. Good value. Worth considering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for all to accommodate the furniture and all of our luggage. Tight squeeze.

    This is a quaint old English inn, and is very much a period place. The staff were welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Karen Dean No and Lisa were all very accommodating my mum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint would be that some of the other guests were rude and noisy and no They were not families with kids they were a group of pensioners who clearly werent hard up for a bob or two and spoke to the staff very badly and obviously expected the Ritz for the very affordable price paid. They were also very noisy during the evening and were banging and clattering as they returned to thier rooms keeping my mum awake

    Karen Dean No and Lisa were all very accommodating my mum and sister both have mobility problems and Dean carried all our cases up to the too. Breakfast each morning was served with a smile it was well cooked and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation is good value clean and spacious for a very good price.Thank you. for your lovely hospitality team we would deffinately come again. Pevensey is well situated and in easy drive to Eastbourne Bexhill and Hastings gorgeous pebble beaches. The very small seaside village has all you need with excellent entertainment and meals at the Bay Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Able to enjoy stay due to being with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress on single bed (tv end of room) very uncomfortable due to springs poking into flesh. Consequently poor sleep. Shower surround base very dirty. Lamp over sink did not work. Only one small towel ring provided. Sink plug chain disconnected. Wall lights not over or beside bed so difficult to read without main lights on. Peeling old fashioned grubby wallpaper not pleasing. would not use this hotel again. Breakfast very poor.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: