Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Beach Hotel 2 stars

1-2-3-4 Regency Square, Brighton & Hove, BN1 2FG, United Kingdom

#40 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1517 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets need cleaning, the rooms need updating and refreshing,

    There was bodily fluids all over the pillow, we made a coffee and the milk was off, the staff at breakfast is intimidating as there are so many staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lift very small & not always working due to gate not closing automatically.Could have been a little better selection for breakfast.eg;rolls, ham, tomatoes.

    lovely position,large comfy room,friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom stunk of sewage. Booked double room which turned out to be two single beds pushed together with a double sheet over them. Could hear reception all night. Woken up every morning by cleaner hoovering in the room above. Overall the hotel was unclean and smelt of cooking oil. DO NOT STAY HERE

    The towels were clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first class staff and management we had the basement room as it was the only one left for our 3 nights rather noisy fri & sat night but in all fairness we were warned about this . it did not spoil our weekend stay at this hotel . also breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didn’t pull across very easily and I caught my toe on the step into the bathroom

    The beach hotel is a very friedly hotel all the staff are lovely we stayed for one night on the first floor lovely big comfy bed and huge window with a fantastic view tv and tea and coffee facilities very clean will stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the room could be improved. The rest of the hotel (foyer/reception/restaurant) was excellent. The size of the bathroom was disappointing, but again considering the price it was okay.

    The room was rather small but sufficient at this time of year. The bed and bedding was exceptionally good for its surroundings. Excellent shower. ALL the staff were friendly, chatty and most pleasant. The situation of the hotel was a bonus, being on the seafront and very near Churchill Square. When talking value for money, The Beach Hotel is probably unbeatable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, tidy, comfortable bed. Central location, great view from our room, handy for parking. Staff was very helpful and polite, couldn't fault our stay. Will definitely go back The Beach Hotel again, for longer next time!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a very unclean feel....wish I had not look under my bed sheet when I went to tuck it in....so disgusting nearly threw up as I saw the soiled under sheet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were dirty .the stairs needed cleaning and had a strong smell .the door into the bathroom was a struggle to shut and the curtains needed repairing

    The staff were friendly and helpful good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt Room was unclean Window filthy Curtains filthy Furniture in poor condition Booked a double room but had two single beds pushed together with a sheet over them Food was gross and

    Bed was comfortable Bathroom was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very comfy beds. Great view of the sea. Very good full breakfast. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obsessive about checking a credit card which was stolen last year. No gluten free products at breakfast

    A seaside hotel break following a sponsored walk done by the girls. Chips were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the bedroom furniture is a bit tired but the shower room and bed were great.

    Great location, handy secure parking, friendly staff. Very lucky with the room, with a view. A nice reasonable hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom stank of bad drains. The bed was very hard and uneven. People trampled about directly above our heads all night. The toaster didn't work.

    The shower was hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and hotel overall could do with some updating. Breakfast was cold and quality of bacon and sausages not brilliant

    Location was excellent and staff friendly. Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just really dated decor.

    The whole place needs a refresh, but if you don't mind 80s decor, the beds were comfy, the place clean, and it's a cracking location. would have been nice to have access to the room for a whole 24 hours (you can get in the room at 2pm and have to be out by 11am) and the breakfast was basic, but overall, perfect place to get your head down for a night. But by god, it needs a revamp!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room basically clean although very dated and worn. Did have some dusty areas like on the trouser press which I doubt is used often. Handing in room to reception is a real nuisance especially if you're in and out a lot ! This must be a risk as I would ask my room key and the staff would hand over who had never seen me before so I could be anyone walking in asking for a room key ?! Not sure why they continue this old fashioned way which matches the outdated worn looking rooms.

    Good value, spacious room with bay window. Staff pleasant except at check in when there was no smile at all but following that welcome all staff were pleasant. Breakfast room is nice and bright and with helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thing very old and dirty bedding didn’t fit the beds l got put in another room but that era not much better it was meant for disabled but you had a step up to your bedroom door the door was so narrow you couldn’t of got a wheelchair in and in the bathroom there was no grab rails

    Not a lot only it on the see front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. Breakfast room has been nicely renovated but bedroom needs it now.

    Excellent location. Comfy bed. Friendly receptionist and breakfast staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't bother me but some might find the hotel old fashioned.

    Fantastic location. Really friendly & helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .This hotel is very old and run down it has been painted that many times it is only th paint holding it together.There is No bar or daily food available only on street parking is available at ridiculous high prices although free over night 8 pm till 9 am.

    The Receptionist Amber was very good.and helpful in every way possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired and one of the beds was a little creaky but apart from that no complaints.

    Location was excellent right opposite the beach and the BAi360 tower. Great value for money as privet included a good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel make me sign a paper informing that they're not responsible about the valour things keeps in the room. I was obligated stayed all the time whit my backpack and my wife whit the bag in our journeys day. They don't offer the minimum security for the guests and is very uncomfortable leave the bags in the reception with our personal things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BOOKED A GROUND LEVEL ROOM FOR MY MUM AND MYSELF, MUM IS 88, AND IM REGISTERED DISABLED. WHAT WAS WE GIVEN A BASEMENT ROOM WITH VERY TRICKY STAIRS AND A HEAVY FIRE DOOR TO TRY AND KEEP OPEN WHILE ONE OF US WENT DOWN THESE HORRIBLE STAIRS, DID COMPLAINT BUT HOTEL WAS FULL, BUT DID GET OFFERED ANOTHER ROOM ON OUR LAST NIGHT WHICH WE DID NOT TAKE, KNOWING THAT OUR MONEY WOULD NOT BE REFUNDED WE VERY RELUCTANTLY TOOK THE ROOM, SOME KIND OF DISCOUNT WOULD HAVE BEEN COURTEOUS

    not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "Free Wifi" was only available in the lobby & breakfast room. Nothing in the bedrooms. "Oh, you can come and sit in the lobby and use it" was what I was told. Hotel not suitable for business trips. Breakfast only starts being served at 8am, which is when the free on-street parking ends.

    Comfy room, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. I said I wasn’t happy and they didn’t care. Poor quality breakfast- stewed coffee, poor quality sausages and eggs. Room facilities were broken and rusty.

    Central Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very shabby, walls very thin so heard everything, windows not double glazed. Caters for stag and hen do's so screaming and arguments early morning were heard through the walls.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was always so hot. When we arrived we was given the wrong room. There was a lot of dirt and dust in the room, the carpet looked as if it hadn’t been hoovered in ages. At breakfast the food was a 4/10, the cutlery was very dirty.

    The window view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some corridors currently a bit messy due to some renovations - but no impact on actual rooms.

    Excellent value for money hotel in a great location with very nice, spacious, clean rooms (I was in a recently renovated room)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showerhead was very hard to work with. The water would waterfall down and spill out of the tub. Had to hold the shower head while showering.

    So much better than expected. Having four beds was amazing. We were expecting only three.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really a biscuit to go with the tea and coffee in room. Breakfast was good but sausages were cheap. But plenty of other breakfast options brilliant value for money

    Lovely room beautiful views great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi isnt available in bedrooms, only in the lobby, which isn't great when traveling for work.

    The breakfast was nice - some veggie options available - friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room was smaller than expected

    Breakfast was great, lots to choose from and included in the price. The staff were lovely. The location was brill

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking and if you use the street near the hotel its £3 per hr or £20 per day. The hotel does not have a bar , and all decoration apart from breakfast area is old .

    the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains in bathroom. Perhaps that could be resolved? However, this may not be the owners entire fault. Bathroom super-clean nonetheless.

    FANTASTIC PRICE! For a budget hotel, it ticks all the boxes! Clean bedding, clean towels and clean loo. Despite low maintanance, it is a safe and pleasant property. Welcoming, attentive staff. Nothing is a problem for them. Even a sea view and room service that I wasn't expecting, for basic accomodation. Breakfast is even included in the price, basic nevertheless, but relatively adequate. If you want luxury, go and pay luxury prices elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need new curtains as ours were torn, needs a better choice of teas....the bed was nice and large BUT very hard..

    Nice and clean...toiletries and lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not cleaned , sheet was just thrown over , not neat Uncomfortable bed — so old😱 Needs upgrade Noisy neighbours

    Staff friendly Walking distance to all amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms might benefit from being re-numbered and there should be more signs for the rooms. Rooms 15 & 16 were so hard to find from the lift we had to go back to reception. Due to all the steps it was a bit tricky with heavy luggage. It was ok for us but an elderly couple may have struggled

    The restaurant was nice and the food was delicious. The restaurant staff there were friendly and good fun. Great location and spacious room. We had a whirlpool bath which we weren’t expecting so it was a great extra for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not so clean. Bed was uncomfortanle. Friends and family have restricted visitation access to guests at the hotel...not good for someone visiting Brighton for the first time.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance lobby is a little shabby, but I am being picky! Everything else was excellent value

    The hotel was excellent value for money, it exceeded our expectations especially the room with an amazing view. We shall certainly return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could do with a lick of paint! The windows don't seem very secure. The beds are very soft. The room has the standard kettle, hairdryer, etc but they're not the best (though suitable for the price). The breakfast is the same every day.

    The staff are friendly and the location is excellent for anyone attending conferences or events at the Brighton Centre. The hotel is what I'd call a quaint English b&b. The shower is hot & powerful. You can get food delivered to your room from the famous Regency Restaurant next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the basement room (No.2 I think)directly under the reception - so it felt like the cast of Riverdance were above us when all the stag/hen parties came home in the evening - very noisy.

    Great location, staff friendly, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated decoration, in need of an update. Bed was 2 singles pushed together which kept separating so uncomfortable. Room wasn't cleaned at all and stayed for 3 nights. Cleaner was supposed to return when we went out but didn't. However it was cheap for Brighton, and our stay was fairly enjoyable because if the wonderful location.

    Excellent location, right on the seafront and very close to shops. The room was large and could see the sea from the huge windows. Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two singles put together and kept breaking apart throughout the night.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was a very good size. The breakfast was lovely, tasted amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaking floorboards, lotsa noise from other rooms. Partner couldn’t sleep it was so loud. I was ok but she struggled with the noise

    Clean room big comfortable bed. Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a little worn, which is a shame. They were way to soft which was not the best comfort. The bathroom/shower room quite chilly as the windows were not fully isolated.

    The room was spacious, clean and had a good view. The hotel is well located, right at the bottom of the British Airways i360 Tower. It was easy access, and the underground parking at only £18 per day was 1min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture dated. Paint decoration was poor. Cracked tile on the bathroom floor.

    I liked how close it was to the seafront and the club's. Would only go here again if I was going to club and wanted hotel, wouldn't stay for a long weekend away. The reception and waiting staff were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second floor,we had 3 very noisy couples, up and down the corridors, shouting till 4am in the morning,which we reported,No FEEDBACK !!.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room and we got a twin room with two single beds. When we pushed the beds together there was dirt/ food on the floor The first morning we was there we got woken up by the cleaners which they new we was still in as you have to hand the key over every time you leave. We then spoke about this to the staff on checkout asking to speak with a manager was told sorry nobody here at moment he will contact you so left details as they did not want a bad review left but still have not heard from them. Such a shame i have stayed before is lovely place and this problem could of been resolved with ease.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cups in coffee/tea making facility in room. No herbal teas or decaf coffee choices. No vegan food options breakfast eg. Plant milks, and soy yoghurts, or other plant based alternatives.

    Mattress good. Very warm room. Water pressure from shower head good. Extra bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else... room and beds were dirty and in a state of disrepair. The bed was broken and the duvet did not even span the bed sufficiently. There were mismatching light shades and one of which was broken and dangerous considering it was next to the children’s bed! Broken mirror in the bathroom. Mouldy blinds in the bathroom And further to this the chef refused to make my 5yo daughter some scrambled eggs without milk to cater for allergies with no other reason than its’ is not what we do here... I had a show down in the reception lobby which resulted in a full refund

    Nothing to be honest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great value for money is excellent good breakfast. We stat with children they provide babycot for free. Our rooms with sea view. More than expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little in fact, if I wanted to get picky, the en suite was quite small and would have been nice if the establishment had a bar of it's own.

    Very well located for the town, staff very polite and friendly, room clean and beds very comfy. Added bonus of a sea view. Great full English breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was meant to be a double bed but it was two singles tied together so had a very uncomfortable ridge in the middle where you sunk into it. The heating didn’t work in the room although they supplied an electric oil filled radiator as a back up, so it was a little cold at night especially as it was snowing outside and very windy and cold. The hotel itself was under renovation in parts so main reception and restaurant were in good decorative order but the rest of the hotel was a bit tired looking with woodchip wallpaper everywhere and our room needed attention ie bathroom was tired as it needed painting and the bath panels were broken and hanging off

    The location was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some small details need refurbishment - don't go there if you're really picky about things.

    The charm of the place, feels like a time capsule, which is great. Really enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit haphazard, food was cold by the time we found someone to ask for toast, hot breakfast items not replenished in a timely fashion.

    Room was comfortable, staff welcoming, good view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third time staying at this Hotel, perfect for central Brighton, close enough, yet far enough away to get a peaceful nights sleep. Staff are lovely, they cannot do enough for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding didn’t really fit the 2 double beds put together. Headboard smaller than bed and no bedside table either side, may have been better choice to put smaller bed in room. Boiled tap water notice in bathroom was an unwelcome surprise. Very poor door lock just on handle and not very secure.

    It’s all about location here, excellent. Huge bay window to the park and beach made up for any lacking in bedroom. Staff, very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very outdated and the rooms certainly look sorry for themselves. Even if a massive overhaul can't be done, instead just fix simple things like the curtains hanging off the rail!

    We emailed the hotel and asked for a double bed as we'd read about rooms with two singles pushed together. They replied straight away and we were happy to find they'd stuck to their word. The staff on reception were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was not told beforehand that refurb was going on if known i would not have booked,the hotel is quoted as 4 star but it is well below that it states all rooms are reached by a lift but the lift is very old and very small as i am disabled i found it very very difficult to use and my room was down a long corridor with 3 heavy fire doors and 3 flights of stairs to negotiate the room was dirty and the toilet had not been cleaned it had faeces under the seat i will not stay here again

    nothing the hotel was under refurbishment and was noisy and smelt of paint fumes the restaurant was not open and breakfast was served in the fish restaurant next door and was very poor we did not eat it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking in . My husband had booked in for me and my son using his credit card . We were made to feel like thieves or con men as we didn’t have the card . This tainted our whole stay.

    Room packed too much stuff, rips in the curtains. I was worried we’d be blamed as an excuse to not give us our deposit back .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating wasn't working - the boiler had broken down. It wasn't the hotel's fault that there was a very noisy guest who woke us at 1.30 am playing music and when asked to quieten down set off the fire alarms which meant that a member of staff had to stay with their finger on the button for the rest of the night.

    The location was excellent, the room was large and had 4 beds to accommodate 2 adults and a child

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part was the amount of doors you have to open to access the elevator or the room. They are super heavy and small. Difficult and painful to open and pass though your luggage. I cannot imagine how old people do it. The carpet it's so thick that the weeks of the luggage doesn't work so it make super difficult to carry it with you. In the same corridor they are stairs with doors? In the same level? Why? To difficult to access the room, I was exhausted every time I had to do this walk. And the staff didn't even ask for helping you out Very tiresome and any intention for helping you, at least to open the elevator for you.

    The room was ok, better than expected but to expensive for being than old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from both inside and outside the hotel. The room was looking a bit tired. It could do with a refurbishment. It wasn't luxurious but for the price it was fine.

    The beds were comfortable and a good selection of tea and coffee making facilities. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general lobby, halls, landing, doors etc needs refreshing but room was nice, nice view of the sea, as a lower price hotel suffers with people coming in late from a night out-

    Great location, comfortable beds, clean & modern bathroom, good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, we were woken up several times during the early hours of the morning because of noisy guests entering the hotel. We did not use the tea and coffee facilities in the room because they had the previous night's guest's teabag and lip marks on the cups. Did not use the shower because my partner said it was too slippery and there was no slip mat provided - waited till i got back home in london to take a shower. Breakfast next door was poor. We had no choice of how we wanted eggs, they came scrambled and were sloppy. We were disappointed to see how paying customers from outside the hotel received an amazing breakfast at the table next to us in comparison to ours.

    Perfect location on the sea front. Beautiful view from room 10, balcony was a nice touch too. Parking was reasonable at only £9.50 overnight. Would definitely stay again if the room rate doesn't change, but would certainly opt for breakfast in town and not at the hotel. The lady who checked us in at reception was very nice :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was fantastic excellent service with a smile, this hotel is in one of the best locations,and for the British Airways eye. This hotel is still going through a refurb ( ie upgrade) if I go back this time next year i would think the breakfast -dinning room would be done. thanks to all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold we had to ask for a heater the water was freezing we had 4 cold showers

    Location was ideal for where I was spending the evening

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was that my room had a shower cubicle instead of a bath with shower. I prefer showers to baths but on this occasion it would have been nice to have a bath. The view of the sea from a bay window more than made up for this.

    The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Brighton.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was broken and we were olly provided with small insufficient heaters when we asked. The spare quilt was single for a double bed and the fire alarms sounded twice during the night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I brought this as a present for my parents to come for a weekend. It was my dads birthday weekend. They came home and have subsequently told me how awful it was. No heating, remote in tv did not work, bath did not work, heated towel rail did not work, bedroom freezing. They were not told about the heating not working until they asked for it to be put on and then was just given a little heater!!! Place needs redecorating. Not happy and would like a refund!

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the chip shop in the pics . is terable high prices and frozen chips do not go there.

    very nice stay . blue badge holders. can park as long as you want on the pay and desplay parking for free. then use taxis good prices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the prides of being referred not before time but did not spoil our weekend away

    Staff and restaurant were very good.our room.lookrd write across the road to i360

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if there was a drinks machine downstairs so we could pick up a cold drink if needed

    Breakfast, there were 4 of us and we could all stay in the same room, comfortable beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed not two single that were different heights pushed together. Broken matteress on both beds. The noise level from the room above at 4:30am was not acceptable. Could not call up to the front desk as the phone in the room hand no lead from the hand set to the phone. Didn't want to touch the curtain incase they fell down. Bathroom not as expected from the pictures on booking.com. was a last minute choice to stay here. Would not stay again far better value for money 100 yards up road in a nation chain.

    The TV in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: