Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Beacon & Railway Hotel

Haresfield, Stonehouse, GL10 3DX, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Stonehouse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my family stayed at this lovely hotel one night last weekend. The location is beautiful and surounded by nature, the owners are very kind and welcoming and the food is lovely. It's a really beautiful place for a weekend break, I would go back again there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the decor was tired. It is also positioned next to a railway line.

    The staff were friendly. And a good selection of types of gin in the bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, value stay to enjoy a lovely part of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock was a bit tricky but was soon sorted out by staff. The bed was a bit lumpy, there wassome stains on the carpet and a bit of marking in the bathroom. Other guests were a bit noisy when coming up to their rooms and using the outside door which was right next to our room. Nothing awful though and I would stop again if I was in the area.

    Staff on arrival were friendly and informative. Breakfast was offered. We had a meal in the bar and all staff were friendly and made us feel very comfortable. All meals were good value and enjoyed by all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Homely and lovely welcome. Comfy clean and in a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but not great if you do not eat meat. Coffee nice, yoghurt available but no muesli or healthy alternative to cereal. such a lovely welcoming place could do with a slightly better breakfast... But as I said, it was probably pretty damn fine for meat eater.

    Easy going owner, attentive and kind. Easy late night access, comfy clean bed, hot shower and nice towels. Good Sunday lunch too served until 7pm! it's a dog friendly restaurant, and the meal was good and desert menu amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful & Friendly Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful friendly place to stay in beautiful rural setting. We had a great night's sleep in our comfortable room and the owners couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay near M5 with lovely staff .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted somewhere to stay on my way to Bristol . This is perfect , less than 5 minutes from the M5 .The lovely owner contacted me with exact instructions on how to get there from the motorway . I arrived late due to traffic and horrid weather . The welcome was great , a really friendly lady dealt with my payment and showed me my room . The bar was buzzing with a Young Farmers gathering , but you couldnt hear any noise from my room . The room was clean and nicely decorated with all biscuits and tea things and nice bathroom potions . The breakfast was the best I have ever had , a full english as well as cereals and yoghurt if you had any room left . The lady who gave me breakfast couldnt have been more helpful . This is a really nice place to stay with lovely staff .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception. No service. Room was very tired. And we were given a family room which was very cramped when we had booked a superior room. No apologies given.

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and welcoming despite late arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and welcoming despite late arrival. Quiet too. Travelled 10 hours to get here, stopping on the way going south. It was a very welcome stop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included. That was down to booking.com not the beacon inn they did supplyou a lovely breakfast at additional cost

    Staff were lovely and welcoming. Food was good and plentiful. Wide selection of drinks. Gins were great 😀 nice quiet location. Trains passing regularly but didn't disturb us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Stayed in the family suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the family suite. 2 big bedrooms together with a big bathroom. Plenty of room for us all to get ready. The double shower was powerful and spacious. Free view tv in both our section and where the kids were. Would stay again 👍🏾

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were so friendly and helpful at the Beacon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is a pub be mindful that there will be some noise late into the evening.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful at the Beacon. We were staying for a nearby festival so the location was perfect for us. The room was basic but clean and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Repeat customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony outside room 6 was the place where a lot of people went to smoke. We had to close the windows just to try and block out the smoke.

    This was our 2nd visit in about 2 months. The beds are comfy, showers are great, pub & food are spectacular... plus the owners are lovely, pleasant folks. Will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfort in the Country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have more variety of cereals, since we don't eat a hot breakfast, we like interesting breads and granola. As a suggestion, some of these could be added. Also, the older rooms need some more refurbishing.

    The staff are all very friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with our first room, staff gladly moved us to a better room which was lovely and very comfortable. The country is very quiet at night, and it is very easy to sleep. This family-run business is developing a very important community role, as well as catering to tourists, all in a very welcoming way. The Beacon and the Railway are both very near, but add to the interest, and the trains do not disturb the quiet nights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Very Happy to recommend to anyone wanting to stay in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Comfortable rooms with all the extra's touches that are usually in a larger hotel really large rooms with lovely decor and very comfy beds. Excellent breakfast worth every penny.Very friendly staff, felt at home straight away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait quite a while when we arrived before a key could be given to us. The bathroom bin had not been emptied and contained soiled sanitary waste. There was an open packet with half - eaten biscuit in a mug on the tray. One of the mugs was dirty. We had to wait quite a while for breakfast.

    The room was a good size for a family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were really friendly, the meals were excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little tired, but it is good value and clearly well run, and clean, so it didn’t affect our stay.

    Staff were really friendly, the meals were excellent value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for our family get together. Everyone enjoyed their stay and felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing -to- dislike. We were very satisfied with everything. Food, rooms and service all good.

    Seven of us stayed overnight and The Beacon was perfect in every way. The owners and staff were welcoming, friendly and accommodating to our needs. We asked to choose our dinner in advance and to be served early so that we could be out by 6pm for our visit to the circus and this was no problem whatsoever. The bed in our double room was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. There was plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits on the tray in our rooms and toiletries were provided. The family room for 6 was spacious and ideal for my daughter's family. The children loved having their own room within a room with its very own TV. Those of us who wanted it had a hearty breakfast and after feeding the rabbits and chickens we all went and enjoyed the views from Haresfield Beacon as recommended by our hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    For the price though it should have included breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had bath towel in are room no hand towel, shower was to hot could not adjust, shelf in the bath room about the sink made it difficult to clean teeth and wash, are room was spacious but my parents had a small room and a blocked sink, and black mould in windows

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It fit the bill for a overnight stay when visiting friends, wouldn't eat here again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was really not good, poor quality ingredients and very dated. We'd seen great reviews for the food - but apparently that was referencing previous owners. Not a lot of other choice locally to eat... We booked a superior room (paid extra) but it was given to someone else. We were however satisfied with the room we were given in the end (no idea if still superior but it was comfortable).

    The room was a recently refurbished one and was pleasant. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for 1 night...wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were too cramped. The noise from other guests was very bad up until 12.30 at night slamming of doors talking loudly outside our bedroom door. The meal was very disappointing everything on the plate was overcooked to the point where the potatoes and salmon were shrivelled up.

    The location was excellent the staff very accomodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good !!

    We had a wedding at 12:30pm and check in was 2pm , was very happy that they managed to sort out our room earlier , thank you for your customer service 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    The departure from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room Very noisy - trains within metres,rookery nearby noisy clientele, dirty bathroom and very dusty room inc headboard & skirtings

    The departure from there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location away from the hustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains going past may bother some. It didn’t bother us however, as they were few and far between. The views more than make up for it!

    Beautiful location away from the hustle. Lovely room, great evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly & helpful, they could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly & helpful, they could not do enough for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We also had a lovely meal on the second night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Really nice friendly place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice friendly place. Great food and beer in the pub and staff really nice. Cooked breakfast was £5 extra but was really worth it and cooked exactly as requested. The decor was a little tired in the room but overall great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly place, slightly quirky. Ideal base for walking and exploring the area. Good value decent pub food. Breakfast paid for separately but excellent value at £5 each.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    I stayed here a few weeks ago to attend a wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here a few weeks ago to attend a wedding. Lovely hotel with a nice community feel. All staff very welcoming and friendly! I would recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A Great Place to Stay with Lovley Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Our second visit and once again we had a lovely stay. Everyone is so friendly the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. There is a large car park and there is also a restaurant. It is easy to find when leaving the M5 motorway you just follow the signs for Stonehouse then take the first left after you have excited the roundabout(there is a brown signpost for The Beacon hotel) follow the road for about a mile until you come to a junction where you turn right. Follow the road for abou 1/4 of a mile and immediately you cross the bridge turn right at the school. The Beacon is at the end of the road. Excellent base for visiting the Cotswolds we will be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    Suited our purpose as we could not get booked into our usual hotel but would not repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather shabby room, very small for the price £75. Meals were large but rather tasteless.Lack of staff was evident in the morning at breakfast time.lacked any refinement eg toast came ready buttered, coffee from a machine .Rather a basic environment compared with other similar places we have stayed.

    It was quiet at night despite being next to the railway.Bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly people and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly people and excellent location. I think there may have been a slight stain in the bedsheets (partner noticed it, not me), but otherwise couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Trainspotting
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very hard. Biggest drawback was that the room was right beside the railway line and above the bar where there was live music. Double glazed but window damaged and wouldn't close. After stuffing it with half a loo-roll the room was too hot to keep the window closed. So roasted or deafened. Air-con and mended window essential! Other rooms may have been better.

    Good food, varied menu, food for people who want a main meal after travelling, not just 'social food'. Good breakfast but extra - and no indication on booking.com of cost (£5) Owner's very receptive to suggestions for improvement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    A friendly place for locals and tourists alike, and with excellent real ale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Between the Booking.com website and google maps there was some confusion between the names Beacon & Railway Hotel and The Beacon Inn. My conclusion was that they were two enteties, some 100-200 metres apart, but it turned out to be one place.

    Really friendly service, and excellent real ale! Well on par with many of the pubs in the area that are listed in the Good Beer Giude. A perfect stop along the Cotswold Way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay with all the traditional atmosphere that you would expect. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel. Thoroughly recommend for all.

    The accommodation was brilliant for what we required, clean and modern. The hotel / pub had all the feeling of a family run business with the customer being focused on. On this occasion there was some external work occurring and at last minute notice the 3rd party informed the hotel, we was updated at their earliest time and was offered help to find other accommodation which we declined and decided to stay regardless, we was offered a cheaper rate due to this. It had the traditional atmosphere that most pub/ hotels miss. Locals were very friendly and extremely helpful providing their local knowledge of the area. I would thoroughly recommend and I will be going back in the summer. 10/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Warm Welcoming and would like to stay again , Thank you .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were forwarned about work on the railway on the Saturday night and given the opportunity to cancell our booking or recieve a reduction on the room rate , we chose the later , but the noise was very intrusive meaning that little sleep was had . I will be contacting Network Rail to formally make a complaint as a lot of the noise from vehicles reversing could have been prevented and I am sure that Network Rail could locate the equipement elsewhere that is not in a residential location , the impact that they are having on a very good local business must be quite devestating ie loss of revenue due to cancellations or room rate reductions and apparently offer nothing by way of compensation .

    Where do I start ? We received a warm welcome all the staff and locals were friendly and chatty , that was especially nice for us two older ladies , big bonus being able to access our room from a rear entrance , easier for luggage and my Mum who has a little difficulty with stairs , our room was very nice , Room 4 double and a single bed for me , I need to kidnap that bed soooo comfy . We had 2 evening meals and 2 breakfast's all meals very nice , plentiful and good value . At the time of booking we were not aware that a mainline railway was so close to the Hotel but in no way did we find the noise from the trains intrusive . We wish our stay could have been longer and really enjoyed our much needed break , and we did arrive as guests but felt we were staying with and then leaving family . Thank you so much Wendy , Steve and Staff .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extra and we had to park down the road as the car park was full, but otherwise nothing really - a very a nice place for rooms above a pub.

    Very friendly staff. Nice room with good shower (take your own toiletries) and tea and coffee making with biscuits. Breakfast at the time you choose. Convenient location for lots of places. Restaurant looked good though we didn't have time to try it out. Will definitely go back and try it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.7
    Okay for one night stay, but you need to actually clean the bahrooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room toilet and sink had not been cleaned. I could see clearly that the toilet and sink were not wiped, I could see paw marks from previous guest all over the porcelain and then hair, hair on the back of the toilet, hair on the shelf in the bathroom and hair in the sink - Hair is not acceptable at all. The light fitting was coated in duct - room 3. No one around in the morning to check out with.

    The location is very nice, plenty of parking, wifi is good and the chap in the bar was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    A lovely family friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Our six year old kids had lots of fun. We chose this location as it is near to Slimbridge WWT, but there are many other places to visit nearby. The hotel is also very near to the Cotswald Way and we did a short walk along it. The family room was ideal and the bunk bed for the kids was large and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    A Decent Pub Mini Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really comes to mind but bear in mind there's a railway line next to it, but it really doesn't spoil things- much rather an odd train go past than a succession of boy-racers.

    Quiet location and although only booked on a b& b basis, the pub food was available in the evening too.and was excellent. Breakfast was great too with something for everyone..Ample free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    Excellent for long or short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We booked this hotel as we were visiting a friend nearby. It is very comfortable with clean warm bedrooms and lovely staff. The breakfast is excellent value for money. We did not get to sample the other meals but willl do when we return for a longer stay as this lovely hotel is an perfect base for exploring the lovely countryside and also the cities of Gloucester & Worcester. Thank you for a lovley stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Ok place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced at £75 per night but as a solo traveller that's the norm I guess. £5 for breakfast was good enough value.

    Location near to M5. Independent hostilely. Good choice of real ales. Comfortable room which was clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Good typical pub stay . Too short a visit to try the food this time, but will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with a mirror and a chair

    Nice, clean shower room. Great breakfast. And for the enthusiast, a good view of the railway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Value for money stay.. simple and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The singing floor

    Excellent view!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    If you like quant and don’t mind if it’s a little dated then you’ll love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated but very charming.

    Friendly staff. Great food. Great bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Just the job and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like, it was all good

    Staff were very friendly and chatty, made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    It was fine, taking into account what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some chocolate filled croissants were out of date.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    We'd good back again and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked the fact that it was near the railway, but otherwise quiet. Good range of real ale, food good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly. Good food available for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfied. Value for money. Food was nice (not included). Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get wifi reception. Possibly too far away from router.

    Bathroom was clean. Looks like refurbished recently.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff who genuinely wanted to ensure you had a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff who genuinely wanted to ensure you had a good stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Superb value, excellent food, brilliant staff, friendly ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb value, excellent food, brilliant staff, friendly , can’t fault it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Lovely pls e to stay, very warm welcome and the owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Headboard loose in room

    Lovely pls e to stay, very warm welcome and the owners couldn’t do any more for you. Food great too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Proper English Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Food was awesome.

    Comfortable? We were looking for a pub stay and weren’t disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    A good one nighter and OK for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night and there was nothing we did not like

    Plenty of parking, space attentive and hard working staff and good menu Excellent food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Peaceful Cotswold retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing if only every hotel was like this

    big friendly welcome, fantastic room and food. Ideal location to travel around, excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Felt most welcome to one of the Cotswolds most beautiful locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have done with small table/chair

    Friendly and professional staff Clean and comfortable venue Superb Food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    A flying visit en route from Devon to Yorkshire and we arrived late and very tired.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grotty bar & clientele (workmen) in overalls at 9pm

    The cheerful and friendly lady who dealt with us on arrival and the beer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    One night stay here to break up our journey to Devon. Loved the place. Made to feel really welcome .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Excellent and friendly atmosphere. The owners were very friendly Food and beer good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated and dusty

    The pub and restaurant were great to have onsite!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Only slept there, but very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and quiet, despite being over a pub. Slept really well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Top Room, top food, top value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    5.30am train !

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent will recommend and return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overstretched at times

    Good menu reasonable prices well cooked good car parking excellent location friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The food was well cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was well cooked. The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a place to sleep, but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small, cheap old furniture, bathroom could do with a good clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The location was picturesque and the room comfy with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was picturesque and the room comfy with a great view. The bar was relaxed with a lovely outdoor area for enjoying the local ciders!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay with relaxed natural people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay with lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely stay with lovely people. Would definitely go again. Excellent cider.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    It's a village pub.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a village pub. You couldn't ask for better. It should be kept secret lest it be overrun,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. we will be going back

    Lovely setting. Excellent hosts. Very clean. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk up the back stairs to our room

    The Staff were Amazing,and Wonderful Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Super staff and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff and great food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    A slice of authentic Cotswolds life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a charming historic pub, complete with local residents and their dogs. Steve and Wendy are lovely hosts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Good food, service and cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms

    Good value for money and service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. We enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

    Friendly staff and comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Food good, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food good, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: