Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Wiltshire hotel reviews
  4. Devizes hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Bear Hotel

Reviews of The Bear Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Market Place, Devizes, SN10 1HS, United Kingdom

#10 of 16 hotels in Devizes

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 686 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.6
    A very comfortable night stop in a lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The Bear is a traditional market town hotel. It's an old building which has been tastefully updated without losing it's style. It's easy to find, being in the market square, with good private parking facilities behind the hotel. Our room was a generous size, with a sofa, and a large and very comfortable bed. The ensuite was a more than adequate size, and well equipped, having a bath with a shower. We had a nice meal in the evening and an equally good breakfast the next morning. The service at both was very good. By current UK hotel standards it was very good value.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    10
    Wedding day renewal
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all good

    The staff were very helpful as it was a wedding day, staff arranged what was asked for to be in the room flowers, chocolates, champagne, Breakfast was very good, good food hot and plenty

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    7.5
    Central and with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a problem with the fire alarm which went off twice the first night.

    Central and with parking. Lovely staff serving in the bistro and at breakfast. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    7.5
    Old historic jotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a bit lumpy, and the fire alarm went off twice in the night—we didn’t sleep very well.

    The bathroom was large, and the tub was nice if you had small children.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    8.3
    We had a pleasant and enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in returning if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room decor was very tired and the furniture in our room was in poor condition. The meal prices were on the high side although I had no quibble with the quality and service. I found it odd that you could order and eat in the bar or sit in the restaurant with waitress service with exactly the same menu and prices.

    Breakfast was cooked to order with a wide choice and extremely good and pleasant service. The hotel is quaint with sloping floors and exposed beams. The parking arrangements are excellent for a hotel situated in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    10
    Easy going, relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful building, right in the centre of town, if you like walking, Caen Hill Locks is a lovely walk. Food was delicious, room have comfy beds, brilliant shower. Very relaxing atmosphere in the hotel bar, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks everyone!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    8.3
    One of the best Country Inns of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are due a freshen up. The back board on the bed was positively grubby.

    I've been staying and attending family events in this hotel for decades. The best part of it is that it's unchanging. The Public rooms are some of the best in any hotel/pub in England. Staff very friendly. A very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff and an excellent chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were having problems with the hot water system but they gave us another room where it worked. They did their very best to make us comfortable without extra charge. Thank you to everyone on the staff.

    We do not eat cooked breakfast but were fairly satisfied with cereals and toast. A self service bowl of banana free muesli would have been good to have and some sultanas and nuts to add an an extra. The chef's cooking for dinner was excellent - really very good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I did not like.

    I travel a great deal and stay in a variety of hotels. It was refreshing to find a first class hotel and staff. The place is incredible friendly, food lovely and the room immaculate.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    6.3
    Give it a miss unless you are over 80 years old
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed too early, not enough shampoo, shower gel only one for three people. The cooked English breakfast was terrible, sausage hard as nail,s bacon too salty, hash browns terrible, poached eggs under done. The hotel needs a face lift, it felt like an OAPs home and I'm 65.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    8.3
    Location was great, with a wonderful bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room and the whole part of the hotel I stayed in smelled like cigarette smoke. Probably lingering still from when smoking was allowed in the building.

    Location was great, with a wonderful bar.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    4.4
    I was very pleased that I was only going to spend one night in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room No1 .There was not a wardrobe to hang my suit there was no drawers in which to place underwear etc. The one chair in the room was very threadbare.the weather was very hot and the quilt on the bed was much too heavy.By chanc I found a fan on a stand that worked and this helped, When I checked in there was no member of the staff who came to check that all was well. You charge first class rates for a room that is below the standard one expects.

    The b?reafast was quite good . it would help if the staff met guests and explained what exras were available such as fruit juices and cereals

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    5.4
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful pillows and bed, terrible breakfast food, additional charge to check in early but room rate alone was insanely overpriced

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    7.9
    Great hotel location let down by standard of bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs refurbishment - black and yellow hazard tape holding aerial socket to wall not acceptable (Room 32). Full length mirror not placed in suitable position far too low. Room small for a double room more like a single size. Awful room for price paid.

    Restaurant Bar area Friendly staff Parking facility

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    8.3
    Lovely old building, comfortable and clean. Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side and looked out over a flat roof. But we were the last to check in, so ....

    Lovely central location. Neat old building. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was in need of a bit of a refurb. Curtains and seat covers were a bit faded.

    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was the best we’ve had.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    7.5
    Lovely old hotel, great location and breakfast. Some staff were lovely, some not .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view at all from my window, just the roof. Booked a double room a year ago but was told they’d put me in a family room as I was on my own - made no sense to me and I felt like I’d been given that room as I was travelling alone.

    Great breakfast and location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    8.8
    Helpful staff looked after our bikes in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit cramped......if I had known would have booked either of the 4 poster bed rooms ....worth the upgrade

    Helpful staff looked after our bikes in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect for an evening event in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains in my East facing room didn't block enough light.

    Very good breakfast. Excellent staff. Perfectly clean room. Amazing old building in a perfect location, now with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful historic hotel providing very comfortable accommodation and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. We found the quality, choice and quantity of the food for breakfast and dinner in the bistro excellent during our two night stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable and whilst it overlooked a road and the market place in the centre of Devizes, the secondary double glazing worked well to prevent any significant noise problems. In our view, The Bear is a wonderful old historic building which provides a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very efficient, helpful and polite. Beds very comfortable! So well situated for a stop over for a cycle along the Kennet & Avon towpath

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    6.7
    The rooms were reasonably clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately we were put in a disabled room which we did not request. The shower was not as clean and fresh looking as the other rooms. I know this because the shower did not get hot. When I went down to discuss this problem with staff they told me I needed to run the shower for 15mins to let it warm up! I did this but it still didn’t work. The staff told me that there had been problems with the plumbing in this room but had been told that it was fixed. The hotel did offer me another room but could not give me another twin room. I was staying with my younger daughter who did not want to stay in a single room by herself especially as the hotel couldn’t offer me two single rooms near or next to each other. The hotel did give us another room to shower in but unfortunately it was on the floor above!

    The rooms were reasonably clean. And well equipped with plenty of tea and coffee, clean towels and toiletries.The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    7.9
    Croissant delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot shower room, no obvious way to change this. Pillow harder and larger than I’m used to.

    Croissant delicious! Friendly staff. Good shower. Good TV.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.2
    We love this hotel and always come home relaxed and ready to carry on with life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is exceptional in the way the staff respond to their guests. They are efficient, helpful, very friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile. The food is of a good quality and cleanliness is to a high standard. Communal areas are comfortable and the rooms are quiet by night. The car park is a bonus. It's location in the heart of the town also gives it the edge on other hotels. This is my husbands favourite hotel in the whole of the U.K.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    7.9
    This is clearly a wok in progress but my wife will definitely come back to stay soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wake up call in the morning The breakfast format needs to be updated to allow people to organise their own toast and ladle cereals onto their plate rather than open individual portions.

    The choice of meals on the menu

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    9.6
    It was great - glad we chose the Bear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening menu was a little uninspiring but the food was delicious nevertheless

    There was a decent and interesting choice for breaksfast. The food was very good quality and nicely cooked

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    10
    Weekend walking the Caen Hill locks with overnight stay at The Bear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All excellent so nothing to comment.

    A very enjoyable stay! All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection with vegetarian and gluten free options. Dinner in the Bistro was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation, with good facilities, in an attractive market town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were attending a wedding, a few miles away from the hotel and would have liked to pick up the keys to our rooms, to drop off our gear beforehand, around noon (11am being kick out time), but this needed to be pre-arranged, understandably and would have cost us an extra £20! We were not particularly impressed by the quality of the cooked breakfast either.

    We liked the interesting, quirky, interior of the old hotel, although there were narrow, twisting, stairs to negotiate with our luggage. We parked behind the hotel and entered through the rear doors, which was very convenient - you could make use of this private facility until 2pm on the day of departure which was also handy. The rooms were warm, the beds were attractively presented and very comfortable. We booked a triple and an executive single room which were a good size for adult use. The bathrooms were tiled throughout, with bath/shower combinations which were extremely clean. There was ample provision for tea, coffee and biscuits. It was also good to be able to open the windows, overnight, without child friendly restrictions. The staff were very friendly and amenable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    10
    Breakfast was one of the best selections and service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was one of the best selections and service I've experienced. Bed in room was mega comfy. All staff were extremely helpful and professional. Beautiful dinner in the private room on the Friday night for my father's Birthday. High quality food. Warm, friendly hotel nicely decorated & run extremely well

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful historic hotel in excellent town centre location, exellent high tea, and very good bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not running out of prunes at breakfast, and having windows that opened properly in our otherwise excellent room.

    Full English was great - location really good - right in the middle of this lovely town. Excellent room right at the front so we could enjoy Devizes market place. Really helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    10
    Really wonderful stay at The Bear with wonderful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The staff went above and beyond to ensure I had the best stay possible. The room was really lovely and everything was clean. The bed was also very comfy!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    6.3
    Good location and lockable store for cycles but overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The interior is very tired Bedroom clean but cold, poorly insulated from weather and street noise and poorly appointed - only one bedside lamp. Receptionist very helpful but no visible food hygiene score at either of main entrances. Very poor choice at breakfast buffet. Overall overpriced and extremely poor value for money.

    Good location and lockable store for cycles but overall cannot recommend.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    6.7
    Food in hotel bistro good felt let down by having a poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 9 which was in need of a refurbishment curtains are ripped stains on the walls dirty carpets. The rooms on the website give the hotel a false impression.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    The bed itself (just the right firmness comfort/lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The bed itself (just the right firmness comfort/lovely pillows), the room (perfect size, lovely appearance, clean), the service (staff amazing, very attentive, always friendly) and the food (very tasty, good portions) were all amazing.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    10
    breakfast was lovely, rooms are beautiful and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast was lovely, rooms are beautiful and the staff were amazing, very personable and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. the manageress and receptionist were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The gentleman on reception was polite, helpful and efficient infact everyone I came across was super helpful. One waiter at breakfast provided excellent customer service to man who was distressed that Julia was missing as he was keen to have fried bread rather than toast. He apologised saying the chef was new and unlikely to know how to make it. The man became more forceful in his approach offering to give a lesson on the complicated cooking of bread and oil. I was impressed when the waiter reappeared as he had gone out of his way to ensure the man had fried bread. This to me was excellent customer service and I was only watching!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    8.8
    Served its purpose for a long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only problem we encountered was the state of the carpets in the room they had massive stains on them and where very old.

    Staff very helpfull, service good, room was clean and all you required.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    7.5
    Reception and breakfast staff really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar staff were rude. Had a list of cocktails but no one was 'trained to make them. Poor night sleep as someone was playing very loud music. However once reported it was quickly sorted.

    Reception and breakfast staff really helpful. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    7.9
    Great location with wonderful staff, doing a great job at a tired venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facility is tired. Heating in bedroom always on and too hot, no option to limit heating. Shower temperature tepid at best. Kitchen Extract fan adjacent to bedroom, on between 9am and 9 pm made quite use of the bedroom impossible, difficult to relax due to ongoing drone of extract

    Excellent staff, very helpful. Ideal position. Easy car parking. Magnificent breakfast selection.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    10
    Staff were amazing, always smiling, food was Brilliant. bed and room very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is quite old and would benefit from a refurb.

    The breakfast was in the restaurant. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The food was brilliant and offered a wide choice. Perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    9.2
    Exactly how I imagined it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing. All was good

    Lovely old property, querky rooms. Lovely comfy bed, Food was lovely. Staff went over the top to be helpful and pleasant - nothing was too much trouble. Car park was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    I really love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a lovely room, just one minor quibble, that the shower could have been hotter.

    I really love this hotel. Very nice, independent old-fashioned hotel with a good bar that is at the heart of the town.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    7.5
    We made the best of bed sharing and enjoyed our stay immensely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a three bedded room and were given a two bedded room. There is no lift and the room was up two flights of stairs

    The overall package was good value in a good hotel with good facilities. The staff were smart and attentive. The car park had adequate spaces.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    6.7
    Location great, right in the middle of the town centre and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really suited to the business traveler minimal room facilities for working i.e. very small desk area with no lighting. Cramped bathroom. Breakfast OK if you like cooked, otherwise very lacking in choice.

    Location great, right in the middle of the town centre and within easy walk to all facilities.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One thing I found out this morning, something that the staff can sort out. Some of my friends want out last night and on there return they could not get in the front door. Guest should get two keys when they book in, one for the room and one for the front door to get back in when they return late at night.

    Perfect location to get to and stay, my room was faultless and lovely. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were lovely too. I would definitely come back and would also highly recommend here to friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    Enjoyed stay, good food, friendly staff, good base for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the cellar bar could be heard loudly in our room on the 1st floor. Although it stopped at closing time, maybe some soundproofing in the cellar would be a positive move. I imagine this could be a bigger problem in the summer with open windows. It did not spoil our stay but for some this would be a big problem.

    We liked the room, plenty of space and comfy bed. It was quirky too with the floors that sloped. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Welsh lady at breakfast was fabulous. Breakfast was tasty as was the bar menu. We worked our way through the desserts very happily. Easy free parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    I really had an enjoyable 8 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NTR

    For me I wanted to go back to my home town to see friends and ex work colleagues. I also wanted to return home for personal reasons and had always planned a stay in the Bear Hotel as this was part of my childhood!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    9.6
    Absolutely excellent. We shall be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's really nothing I should want to say here.

    We've stayed at The Bear many times, and if we didn't like just about everything about it we wouldn't keep coming back. In particular i would pick out the staff, who without exception were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    The warmth, the charm of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The warmth, the charm of the property. A beautiful building with furnishings to match. Perfectly suits the area. My father stayed here after my mum had passed away. The staff went above and beyond in their service and support for him. They made him feel at home and the personal service and care that they gave him was beyond any expectations that we may have had as a customer staying in a very high class establishment. I simply cannot express my thanks to all of the staff. Jackie and her beautiful family treated my father as a member of their family, and he felt very cared for. They listened to him and provided a much needed ear, where their time could have been spent in other duties, they clearly put their customers needs first. The food was exemplary, from the breakfast to lunch and evening meals. Every single member of staff were professional, kind and incredibly caring. If you are visiting Devizes and surrounding area, this is the hotel that you must stay in. Perfect in every single way. Much credit goes to Jackie and her family for providing such an amazing warm environment for their customers. Shalom Jackie

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    7.9
    Location is good, food is good quality locally produced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast time we were only couple left to eat not 1 table had been cleared from when we arrived.

    Location is good, food is good quality locally produced.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Wonderful staff, location and great historic and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing I did not like about my stay.

    The staff were exceptionally nice. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome for our visit and accommodate me. The Hotel was great and fitted nicely into the town architecture and was very comfortable, clean and was good value for money. The location could not have been better as I was attending an event at the Corn exchange right next door. The breakfast was good and plentiful and car park at no cost was the icing on the cake, great stay hope to come again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over all it was a really lovely stay, there were two things however, on early on the Saturday evening in the Bar, the staff were very nice but not very well trained it was a bit of a struggle and I don't understand why I was one of the first people in our general party to book but was put and the very top of the hotel .... away from our friends.

    The staff were so lovely and the breakfast was excellent. We will be using it again for our annual ball at the Corn Exchange

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    6.7
    it was ok, but nothing special !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like staying in what felt like a room in an elderly persons home and did not manage a shower during my stay, as no hot water !!!

    the staff were all lovely and very helpful !!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    7.9
    Good Devizes town centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water when we arrived - new boiler wasn’t working. Solved the evening thankfully. The whole place is olde world but very tired.

    Location in town centre, excellent breakfast, parking and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Very clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No porridge at breakfast so had cooked breakfast-sausages very over cooked. I requested very soft scrambled egg but was almost like an omelette!

    Very clean & comfortable. Lovely hotel with character. Staff very friendly. Great bar at the front of the hotel with open fire. Can’t comment on dinner as didn’t eat there in the evening. Good location with some good local restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.9
    I was only there for the one night and it did what i needed it to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bath room was not the best, the grouting needs replacing as if was a little mouldy looking.

    The staff were very helpful, the location worked well for the reason that i needed a room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.7
    The breakfast and service at breakfast was good, and staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was clean but decor was 'tired' - room was furnished with old bed and furniture. Shower operation was a mystery - waited 5 minutes one morning for some luke-warm water to come out. Bed not very comfy.

    The breakfast and service at breakfast was good, and staff generally very pleasant

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fabulous location for family NYE getogether with cosy open log fires in the bar areas. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotles. We ate one evening and the food was fast and so delicious.The building is full of character throughout. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable of local history especially the bar staff Charlie, Luke and Jack. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Breakfast experience was abysmal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast experience was abysmal. I watched others being served whilst I was seemingly ignored it took 15 mins to get coffee ( I had to attract attention) toast was offered to others but not to me,I finally had to ask for it . Poached eggs not drained properly so toast was sodden with water . An exceptionally poor experience. Room over looked small court yard with bins and staff smoking area. Noisey with bins and bottles being emptied. I’ve stayed on a number of occasions which has been fine but this was the worst experience to date.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.1
    A convenient and comfortable stay. A quiet dining room would be a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from room above us. Someone (staff?) went very late to bed, got up at about 4 and went back to bed. Don't recommend room 11

    Large bath with lots of hot water. Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.9
    Looking forward to our next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our fourth visit which says something about our opinion of The Bear. It is a traditional hotel, far removed from the bog standard of the modern hotel, and having used 4 different bedrooms we can say that they have all been charming. We realise they are a little 'tired' but there is a refurbishment going ahead and we hope they don't change too much. Staff always 'over and above'.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    An external door key along with the room key would have been...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An external door key along with the room key would have been welcome. It would have prevented me from walking all around the outside of the hotel at 2am trying to get in !!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant and comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little too warm overnight, even though we had tried to adjust the radiator control.

    I have coeliac disease and was very impressed with the provision made for gluten free diets. There is even a gluten-free version of the full English breakfast offered on the menu! Much easier than having to negotiate to order what I require. The hotel was very comfortable and has a very pleasant ambience. I grew up in Devizes and was always aware of the Bear Hotel from the outside so it was lovely to experience it from the inside.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location with a great restaurant and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint, really, is that we waited a long time for breakfast, although the dining room was not particularly crowded. We ordered at 9am and food arrived at 25 past, meaning we couldn't finish before we had to leave for our event. Having said this, the waiter was helpful and friendly and I suspect the problem was in the kitchen other than with him. One other small issue was that we couldn't work out how to turn off the radiator in our rom, so it was a bit warm!

    The room was much bigger than we expected and very luxurious and comfortable. The hotel is opposite the market square and well placed for anything you might want to do in Devises. (We were attending an event at the museum). Staff were friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of bar staff at the function we were attending, the bar was. Packed with only one person serving. So when we. Went into our meal there were still people who hadn't been able to purchase a drink.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough members of staff behind the bar which caused long delays in getting a pre-meal drink. Our room was fine, but a little 'tired'.

    We were there for a function and the food was extremely good and the waiting staff, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Nice market town hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly hotel with good food and rooms. The food in the bar and reatuarant breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay here again if I come to Devizes.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Yes the rooms are a little tired as previously mentioned by several reviewers but hey it’s an old quirky hotel so part of the charm of the place I’d say.

    The meals whether it were breakfast, lunch or dinner were top notch and good value for money. Must give Charlie a mention for looking after us in the bar, a real character.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Delightful, relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have appreciated a rubber bath mat. Whilst not needed when taking a bath, it would be useful when showering and washing my hair. Perhaps a sign in the room that we could request one from reception would be a good idea. Us girls do use a lot of lotions and potions that can make the bath slippery when standing. Also, somewhere such as a cupboard in the bathroom would be useful, instead of having to put toiletries on the floor.

    From the moment I entered, the atmosphere and appearance of the hotel was so pleasant, warm and welcoming. The receptionist was so helpful, and the room we stayed in was so comfortable and relaxing. I loved the view of the Market place, and I should love to come again, particularly when the Christmas parade is happening. All in all, a most delightful stay,in a beautiful, characterful coaching inn, with super staff. Well done.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old Inn in town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the top of the building with 2 flights of stairs and was compact. The bed was not comfortable and the heating in the room (electric) was not easily adjustable.

    Lovely character old inn right in the centre of town. Friendly efficient staff. WiFi throughout the premises.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.5
    Great central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stains on chair in bedroom.

    Bed super comfortable, lush pillows. Good selection for breakfast, nice breakfast room, Had an evening meal very nice, and snack at lunch, lovely. Parking good. Central hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for our stay in Devizes, with very helpful friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dislikes.

    Good location within Devizes. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Very good meals served throughout the day and evening. Hotel as plenty of character yet the facilities are modern.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Just right.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the right place, hotel was the venue for a wake the following day that was very well done by all involved; the family in partnership with the staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    A fantastic time we had
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We're can't say anything bad because there is nothing to say

    The staff and how helpful they all were would be booking again to stay there for a wedding, the breakfast was fantastic and if you need extra stuff they would get it for you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the room too hot and I struggled to work out how to open the window in the night(sash window). Probably my fault for not checking before going to bed. One bed was very squeaky.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Room clean and nice size.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: