Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Norfolk hotel reviews
  4. Swaffham hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Bedingfeld Arms

Reviews of The Bedingfeld Arms

Oxborough, Swaffham, PE33 9PS, United Kingdom

#2 of 11 hotels in Swaffham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2019

    5.4
    Overall an average experience. Would probably not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for four nights. Mattress was worn out and not comfortable. Suite was a good size but dated decor and furnishings. Breakfasts were inconsistent. Prepaid breakfasts worked out expensive when i often just had eggs on toast. Full English missing sausages and hash browns. Not always full selection at breakfast. Could have been cleaner in certain areas.

    Evening meal was good. Beer selection was also good if a little over priced. Oxbrough Hall just over the road. Decent size beer garden and in a quiet location. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2019

    6.7
    The beds were comfortable and the hotel is situated in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok but the breakfast was very bad. The room was also full of flies.

    The beds were comfortable and the hotel is situated in a nice quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2019

    9.2
    Quiet pub with better than average food offering comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small to have a comfy chair in it. They had a bizarre plague of flies while we were there. Can't blame them though!

    The rooms are in a separate block from the pub. The pub is remote from a town. Good for quiet, bad for services. Quiet suited us. Able to stroll to Oxburgh Hall. Good food and young friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2019

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were converted from outbuildings and doors didn't fit frames properly. As it was warm it wasn't too much of an issue but the rooms did have a slightly musty smell. The shower had black mould on the tile grouting from the damp atmosphere. It was not covered in it but it needed sorting.

    Comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2019

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing stay; just what we were after.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of flies - although we realise this is through no fault of the Bedingfeld Arms, just the time of year and it’s rural location.

    Lovely location, food was great and staff very friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and the Bedingfeld Arms was very dog friendly, even had dog treats behind the bar!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2019

    7.9
    Very nice pub and rooms, very good food, a little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast was a bit limited, and the items weren't readily re-stocked. It would have been nice to have had a light on both sides of the bed.

    The evening meal was very good, the cooked breakfast was just right, my wife and I really enjoyed the food. The room was comfy and absolutely right for us.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2019

    9.2
    Perfect location for visiting Oxburgh Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower need the 'black removing' & there was a problem with flies in the room

    Perfect location for visiting Oxburgh Hall. Good breakfast served by a very pleasant young man.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2019

    10
    Location was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight problem with flies in restaurant probably due to hot weather

    Location was wonderful. Very peaceful picturesque spot. Great having Oxborough Hall just across the road. Lovely big garden to enjoy summer evenings. We stayed in one of the coach house rooms which was quite spaceous and had a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2019

    10
    Happy, helpful staff with good food in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a great selection of drinks at the bar.

    Friendly staff, room was lovely and big and comfortable. Food was lovely. Last minute booking that was totally worth it.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2019

    7.9
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sealant on the bottom of the shower had come away so flooded the bathroom when used and required rather a few towels to clean up

    Comfy bed, clean room, lovely food and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2019

    6.7
    Pleasant but possibly overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very odd with so many random chairs dotted around, and quite shabby. The amount of flies around put us off staying for breakfast, even though the dinner the night before was lovely. Also when we went to make coffee in our room, the cafetière had old coffee in it which makes you question the cleanliness of other things.

    Food was delicious (if you ignore the flies), staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2019

    6.9
    We took in a play during our stay and this place is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor at this place is very tired. We stayed in the main part of hotel, hall way carpets and stair carpets very dirty and scruffy, as was our bedroom carpet. It was very warm and flies were a problem and some things we not covered at breakfast, croissants which flies were resting on, then unsuspecting people coming in for breakfast and eating food which flies had been on. Butter and milk on the table in advance uncovered not good practice. No side plates on tables some people buttered their toast on the table!!!! Sorry but the whole place looks like it needs a good clean, and a bit of cash spending on it, it’s a beautiful setting come on guys you can do better.

    Settings of this hotel are lovely with a great National Trust property in a two minute walking distance. Stayed here last year and found the staff very friendly and helpful both times. Food on the whole good. Breakfasts made to order so hot and tasty

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2019

    7.5
    Delightful gardens and bar but rooms in need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit run down and tired looking, linen and towels very clean but carpets and walls less so. Restaurant table a bit cramped for two adults and two children

    The bar and gardens were lovely, staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2019

    8.3
    very peaceful next to National Trust mansion, and nice mix...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    we'd booked a coach house room but no double was available so were upgraded to a double in the house. We were assured we would only pay the agreed rate but the person on duty when we left didnt seem to know what had been agreed.

    very peaceful next to National Trust mansion, and nice mix of old inn with some modern twists. Excellent food and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2019

    4.6
    the flies are a problem, several improvements needed to room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many flies around during breakfast time which were very distracting and did not feel very comfortable the thought of flies spreading germs on the cups, cutlery and butter which was not covered up. When asked if they had jam for my toast they had run out! On arrival my room had not seen a duster for weeks, dust on the bedside tables. Expensive room so expected more but room required a lot of maintenance. Window did not lock so security is an issue and did not feel comfortable leaving valuables in the room during the day. Could open window but flies would come in only one or two not the amount at breakfast where I counted ten one morning! No drawers in the room to put your clothes in and only about four/five hangers to hang my clothes. Stained carpets in bedroom. Food expensive in restaurant.

    Staff were pleasant and professional Bed comfortable Shower

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2019

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to say.

    The booking was for my elderly father who enjoyed his stay. The rooms are excellent for people with mobility problems as they are on the ground floor in a courtyard. The facilities were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2019

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay very much and the negatives would not put us off going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt room was a little tired looking , not really luxurious. Bathroom had nowhere to put bits and bobs and no shelf to put shampoo and shower stuff in shower.

    Location was lovely, young girl at breakfast was polite and very smart. Breakfast was more than adequate. Had meal on the Saturday and food was excellent, could not fault this at all and very nice young lady served us.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    10
    Beautiful setting with a lovely garden, and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower rush hour in the morning meant my shower lost a little pressure but understandable as I was in the penthouse at the top of building. Beautiful room btw :)

    Beautiful setting with a lovely garden, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The Bar staff were really helpful and welcoming. Food excellent! Definitely would stay again thank you

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    6.7
    We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a lot of noise just outside the room from 7am onwards each morning from delivery lorries etc.

    We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings. On both occasions the food was of a high standard and the service very good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    7.9
    Peaceful & interesting location for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling mould in the shower recess & a rug on the floor that was a potential trip hazard.

    The food, service, location, spacious room & comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    9.6
    Best hotel and pub in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very warm welcome from Catkin and all the staff who provided extra help and support for our local event. I have stayed here before, and it will always be our first choice when visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    8.8
    Will definitely go back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down side was that our two room faced the kitchens and staff was smoking out back and was talking loud for two of the nights.

    Lovely little hotel, great location , great food , staff friendly., loved the homemade biscuits left in our rooms but on our last night neither of our rooms was left any :(.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    7.1
    The accommodation was ideal for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was sloping to the middle, covers not wide enough for two people unless they were close together in middle.

    The accommodation was ideal for short stay. Food was great too.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    5.8
    To be fair, this was a honeymoon night and so of course it was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't sleep in the top bedroom as the smoke from the chimney was making the bathroom smell and the rest of the room as well. When we first arrived the room was very cold as the heater hadn't been put on. This was not good as I have a serious renal condition that makes me very cold and we had travelled from Bath When we got there early evening we realised that we had forgotten the toothpaste and rang downstairs to see if they could help. They couldn't! Being a remote area there was no where to go to buy some. Apart from being smoky the bathroom was also very cold. With the room being cold, we were hoping that they would be extra bedding but the duvet looked to be a summer one

    The room was spacious and nicely decorated. When we complained in the morning, they did not charge us for the room

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2019

    9.6
    A perfect weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location across the road from historic Oxburgh Hall. Good combination of real pub, boutique hotel and restaurant. Very helpful staff - when we arrived late on Sunday evening and the kitchen was closed, they cooked us something anyway. Our room was spacious, elegant and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every staff member we spoke to was lovely. Got us into our room early without us asking. Bar staff were polite and everyone made conversation with us asking what we were doing where we were going etc. Breakfast was nice. Evening food we had was really good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2019

    10
    cannot wait to go back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was not anything I didn't like

    cooked breakfast was awesome lovely and fresh the staff were friendly and efficient ,even water and treats for the dog nothing was too much trouble, couple of extra pillows ,vegetarian breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    10
    Gem of a place to get away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming.... the food and drink is excellant. ..and in such a gorgeous setting....the beds are really comfy

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    10
    Excellent service and great location. Can’t fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room was clean with superb bed linen. Warm welcome from ALL members of staff. Delicious cooked breakfast, including a vegetarian option. The staff organised a taxi for us at short notice, to attend a family event. The taxi firm recommended was courteous and good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable room with a lovely view. Staff were professional, food was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For breakfast we would have liked marmalade and a pot (rather than a cup) of coffee. Missing hanging space in the bedroom and a shelf for toiletries in the bathroom.

    Cosy bar area, fantastic food, lovely location. We both felt special and well looked after.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2019

    3.8
    breakfast was the only good thing about our stay, the rest was very dissapointing
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room could have been much better, staff knowledge. when we arrived we was put in a dog friendly room, as I have an allergy to dog hair and asthma, I was disappointed that they gave us this room as it had dog hairs at the entrance as we went in and inside the room. I went to the reception and credit to them they moved us straight away. I was told that it was the luxury family room, I beg to differ, there was nothing luxurious about it, the carpet was dirty. the window lock was broken and banged all night , this resulted in me not having much sleep. The shower had mould on the ceiling and around the base of the shower. The door did not fit properly and let in all the light from the hallway, the blinds let in all the light from outside as they were just roller blinds, so this contributed to my lack of sleep also. I did ask about another room but told it would cost me another £80, which would have resulted in a one night stay been £150, which based on the first two rooms I would not have paid that, I got the feeling it was shut up and put up. I loved the location so it was sad that the hotel was not up to scratch and would not advise going there, would be ok to go and have a meal or breakfast as that was the only good thing about this hotel. I must admit that when I was asked how I slept and I told them about the lock on the window, he said he would get it repaired, I wish I had gone through the other problems, but I was very tired and really could not be bothered. just a note the staff need to know the prices of the rooms as I was told it was more expensive then actually advertised in the hotel brochure. I wish I had complained more because I feel for how the room was we was overcharged, I have received better treatment and better rooms in the Ibis hotels at half the price.

    the breakfast was food value with a great choice. I think that the staff that was on duty need to improve there knowledge. When been told the price of a different room I was told it was more expensive than advertised.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2019

    9.2
    Dinner was very good and the bathroom was wonderful as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the breakfast was poor value and not cooked very well. The room was nice although starting to look in need of a good clean and redecorating.

    Dinner was very good and the bathroom was wonderful as was the four poster bed!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2019

    7.5
    Very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good

    This was a beautiful location the staff went way out of their way to help as we booked a twin but on arrival it was a double as it was their mistake they gave us an extra room free of charge amazing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    10
    Everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the amount I paid for the room. They could have replaced the carpet. Room decor is excellent.

    Everything. Old fashioned pub which has been refurbished. Always a great stay! Thanks.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    10
    Nice hotel with loads of character and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Nice hotel with loads of character and cosy. All staff were very friendly and helpful especially Ben who looked after us from check in to check out. Food was excellent will definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    Excellent, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside bathroom was cold, towel radiator was not big enough to heat bathroom, and what appeared to be underfloor heating didn’t work.

    Staff very pleasant, accommodation clean, food excellent, friendly atmosphere, cosy by the fireplace. Excellent proximity to Oxborough hall. Met what we wanted from the stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    8.3
    Great location, great for dogs and history buffs, but not great for vegetarians!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The vegetarian options. There were only two meals available on the Sunday for vegetarians and they were poor, The bean cassoulet I had contained hardly any beans and it was not as described on the menu, plus it was lukewarm. The other option was a curry. Who wants a curry for Sunday lunch (especially as I'd eaten it the previous night!) Also our bed was two singles shoved together and it was really uncomfortable.

    Our dogs loved it and they were made to feel welcome. It was a lovely location for walking the dogs. My husband thought the beer was excellent. Customer service was good and complaints (see below) were dealt with sympathetically.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    8.3
    Exactly what we wanted , warm friendly B&B with bags of personality.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows in room

    Food was very good overall, but some items were not quite good as expected such as , hash brows at breakfast were not cooked through and a starter of lamb pancakes, lamb was overlooked. Sunday lunch was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    Wonderful Xmas break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Location. Atmosphere We came over on Xmas day afternoon and had an exceptionally warm welcome from staff and customers. We had a drink in the bar and chatted to everyone. When we were about to leave to go to our room we were then given a bottle of fizz. The coach house room was beautiful. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant the next day. This is one of the nicest places we have stayed. Very dog friendly too and the location is lovely. We will be back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    7.9
    Relly helpful and kind staff - good with the dog and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relly helpful and kind staff - good with the dog and my complex dietary requirements. They went the extra mile to help. Beds in the coach House could do with being a bit comfier as I found them a bit hard. Noises from the pub and next door set the dog off barking (more a problem with the dog than the hotel I suspect). Lovely location we had everything we needed and the breakfast was good with lots of gluten free options.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    9.6
    Excellent dinner menu and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself was a little on the cold side.

    Excellent dinner menu and breakfast. Fantastic open fire in the bar area. Good selection of beers. Overall a really nice hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    10
    An Hotel to return to, definately!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Wonderful welcome, really comfy suite with four poster. beautifully cooked and tasty dinner and fresh very tasty breakfast. Well stocked bar that stayed open until we went to bed. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    So friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So friendly and comfortable. We had Eight rooms for one night with breakfast and dinner. They gave us a private dining area in the conservatory and served a superb dinner. Breakfast was also in the conservatory and again was fresh and delicious. The sun was shining in through the window so the staff produced sun glasses for those who were facing the sun. A very welcome and unusual touch and much appreciated. The rooms are really spacious and great value for Monet ranging fro £69 to £125 per night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.6
    A great find tucked away , but easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was a lovely find, an old coach house lovingly restored with excellent attention to customer service. Would definately stay there again and would recommend with confidence.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    We always feel satisfied after being at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My parents need disabled facilities and your hotel is near to my daughter for them to visit. Plus we like your restaurant, very nice food and very nice surrounding areas.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    6.3
    very disappointing and would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the meal we had at 8pm was supposed to be a sunday roast. The worst roast I have ever been given. The plate was piled high with red cabbage/courgette. the roast potatoes/carrot/parsnip were rock hard and cold and the gravy a thick brown mess. Complained and only ate the yorkshire pudding and some meat that I could find. no sign of apple sauce or fresh vegetables. The breakfast was ordered as egg/bacon/tomato - no tomato. breakfast [2] egg/bacon/half a mushroom!!!! After this and the experience of the toilet overflowing and flooding the bathroom we decided to cancel our second night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    A very pleasant, second stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Post (from bed) in the way of TV but not sure how that could be resolved.

    Room 8 four poster was lovely. Comfy bed, nice crisp clean sheets, had a great night's sleep. Nice outlook. Made to feel welcome. Meal was very good and prices reasonable. The breakfast was excellent with lot's of choice. The breakfast room was very nice overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Comfy country inn with an upmarket feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good, no negatives at all.

    Booked for my elderly and slightly infirm father who stayed in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was very clean and comfortable. Especially suitable as it was all on one level on the ground floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Polite and well mannered staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full English was undercooked and cold. Absent staff at times. The sound of footsteps and doors closing at 2 in the morning.

    Polite and well mannered staff. Cleaned well. Cosy country atmosphere. Suite room very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful ! Shabby chic elegant ..
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As mentioned above ..

    Overall this is a beautiful place to stay. We had a couple of problems on our first evening but after that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The building, as is the village itself is particularly beautiful and if you enjoy shabby chic and elegance put together this is it.The food was not 100% on our first evening but I noted that there was a large party in the adjoining dining room so perhaps the junior staff took some focus off the guest dining room on that occasion, but the second and third night was super with amazing food and attention to detail, The 2nd in charge manager was particularly helpful, friendly and over all efficient. We would definitely stay again in this lovely place ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable, hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small let-down was defective door curtain which was detached from the curtain rings. Quite obvious fault which should have been rectified.

    Pleasant room, great pub, friendly attentive staff, excellent food at dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    First stay at the Bedingfield Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast,cereals and milk---no fruit or croissants,half done toast and marmalade.Would be nice to have a pot of tea/or coffee at the table and no loose sugar for cereal if needed,there was cubed sugar but this is no good for cereal if required.

    Food very good, for meals in the restaurant,staff attentive.Quirky inn,very peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Warm in all ways - lovely place - easy throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not keen on the door lock - needing a key form the inside rather than latch

    The young lady that showed us in quite frankly was lovely - and amazing hair :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Lovely accommodation set in a beautiful area, rooms are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation set in a beautiful area, rooms are very modern, clean and beds are comfy and huge, would highly recommend it and will be staying here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great location, really helful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff using the area outside the room as a smoking area. As there was no other air conditioning in the room, we needed to open the window for ventilation - which was very unpleasant when smokers were outside. On mentioning this to the reception staff it was immediately corrected, with the smokers going behind a high gate instead. Restaurant menu a little strange - beware that the crab salad includes half a plateful of chips!!! I ordered this thinking it would be a "lighter option", as I had also ordered a starter. Bit of a shock when the salad part was more of a garnish, the dish I was served would be better described as "crab and chips"!

    Comfortable beds, room very clean and pleasant. Outdoor table and chairs outside the room was really nice. Staff friendly and helpful, particularly the chef, Giles, who was happy to share his recipes with us. Our one complaint (staff smoking outside our room, see "dislikes" below) was promptly dealt with and corrected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Venue suited me and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more eco friendly. Breakfast was poor value for money compared to similar places. No chair to sit on in my room, had to use the bed. Signs that the owners were being very careful how they spent their money, old flowers in vases, very basic tea and coffee in room. A crab salad with only geen salad leaves! In my book, that is not a salad.

    The bedroom was large and neutrally decorated, fresh towels every day. The dining rooms were well appointed. Liked where it was situated. Able to park easily. Staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Friendly efficient staff, great selection of beers and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly efficient staff, great selection of beers and the food was amazing! All of that on top a great setting and a stunning room I really cannot fault my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready at 5pm even though check in was 3pm. I understand there was a problem with the cleaning staff, not a major issue. Missing curtains that didn't get rectified the next day as promised but as it was only a short stay it was too late.

    Lovely location in a small village. Helpful friendly staff, lovely food, great atmosphere and charm. Fab cooked English breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Quiet little corner of Norfolk
    • Family with young children
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very picky but confusion with booking and instead of twin beds we had a double. Soon sorted out by staff.

    Lovely setting and very peaceful. We stayed in the stables which were very comfortable. Dad had the room designated for guests with limited mobility as I had requested. Well thought out. Good wet room set up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay!! Cathryn the owner left us a bottle of Preseco in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight problem with curtains. However Cathryn the owner left us a bottle of Preseco in our room to say sorry. Wasn't a major issue. We were ready for bed by the time we arrived back from a Wedding! Also, we had breakfast delivered by hand to our room. Thank you.xx

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall we were happy to our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very willing but very young and didn’t appear to have a lot of experience in working within the industry. Breakfast time the yoghurt and fruit were left uncovered and there were flies around and settling in both.

    Very welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff very helpful and friendly, food very good, room service very good - every day handing over fresh towels etc, good amenities and very interesting location - all round very impressed and would not hesitate to come again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never had breakfast as was too expensive although I’m sure it would have been very nice. Deliveries to pub via large van and lorry made at 715am on both mornings right outside room window not ideal.

    Comfy room, ideal for a couple of nights. Nice bar and restaurant with sizeable garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - Everything was great!

    Vegan options for food - delicious and good value. Staff were attentive and polite The room was amazing and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all honesty the room we stayed in (it was v cheap) could benefit from a deep clean and a bit of love in the shower so it matches the standard of the rest of the pub. We were in the coach house which is directly opposite the new kitchen - which does have an impact on noise and felt a bit weird opening the door and looking directly into the kitchen across the courtyard. This didn’t spoil our stay but some people might not like it.

    Staff really helpful. Food very good (had two evening meals - both excellent ) pub garden good. Bed v comfy. Inside dinjng areas of pub very nice also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for the National trust property opposite...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin room with Disability Access - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to repeatedly find a member of staff as they could not always be found and the bar would be unmanned. Vegan/vegetarian breakfast no where near as advertised.

    Perfect location for the National trust property opposite that we were visiting. Lovely and clean, super comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely dining pub, terrific stables-style annex with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of choice of salads on the menu- but who'd care about that apart from me?! I'm fixated on having a salad & chips everywhere I go 💁🏽

    Lovely dining pub, terrific stables-style annex with bedrooms in, stylish modern decor, gorgeous village location opposite a big shell of a church, large garden to sit out in for food or drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    We had a lovely weekend meeting family but the accommodation was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a table for evening dinner and it was so crowded we had to eat in the bar Also we stayed 2 nights and there was cleaning and tea and milk was not replenished and when we asked for some supplies it seemed like too much trouble for the member of staff

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    A bit disappointed ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coach house rooms opposite kitchen deliveries came from 6.40am noisy vehicles turning. Room 1 is the worst no WiFi in there and if you are not on Vodafone you can virtually forget any phone signal. Shower in room1 very sad and shabby making it look like it needed a good clean. Breakfast took long time and only just warm and burnt toast when it arrived!!

    Comfy bed staff pleasant nice rural spot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    A great place from which to explore Norfolk family haunts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food and service were excellent. Nice crisp white tablecloths and serviettes too. The Bedingfeld Arms is in a beautiful location, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.5
    We would definitely go back to The Bedingfeld Arms and I fancy a late season/winter stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had one of the courtyard rooms - beautifully done out and a good shower. Sadly, no air-conditioning (would have loved this given how very hot the day was) and it took a while for sleep to come! However, we did escape the room to the cool garden mentioned above, which was bliss.

    The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of charm and location. The garden (and the shade and peace it provided) were particularly welcome on an extremely hot day! The staff were all very friendly and we found the prices of the wine list and the menu to be very attractive. My husband's salmon with seafood chowder was a particular winner and my steak was very tasty. Sadly it was too hot to entertain a pudding! Breakfast was also very nicely done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable as usual - cannot fault it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stay here with our dog to come back to visit old neighbours/friends. A delightful place, easy for the dog, and a fabulous welcome with a pot of tea. A little gem in this part of Norfolk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Just a few changes and it would take this inn up a notch to 5 star but not quite there yet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiiFi did not work in coach house 1. Could hear milkman? Or delivery man? Arrive 6.30am ish. The damp towels from previous day were rolled up and put back on the bed. Quite happy to reuse towels no problem with that but putting them back on the bed damp? Hessian ceiling in oak room falling off - just take it off an repaint it would look much better. Staff did not see us arrive for breakfast in the oak room so I had to look for someone in the kitchen. I should think it’s difficult for them to know who is in the oak room as you can walk in round the front or through the bar. Perhaps a small camera would help to know who is where. Old black plastic gardening bits left down by gate onto terrace could be removed.

    Restaurant food was lovely. Nice outside seating area for drinks. Fresh milk for in room tea & coffee. Room tidy and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Dreadful absolutely dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything other than the comfy bed. The lack of fire safety precautions, the room security the lack of a wardrobe, lack of clothes storage facilities (drawers), leaking shower etc. Etc The breakfast. Continental breakfast should at least include a croissant, not just toast & marmalade! The price of £125 per night excluding breakfast

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Room No 1 was in dire need of a deep clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room No 1 was in dire need of a deep clean. All the essentials were clean (Toilet, washbasin, shower linen but the rest of the room was tired shabby and covered in the dust of ages (curtains, wainscoting, lampshades and all paintwork.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: