Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bell Inn Hotel 4 stars

Brook, Lyndhurst, SO43 7HE, United Kingdom

#10 of 21 hotels in Lyndhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite cosy, which at first was a suprise, but it was completely perfect for our needs while we stayed.

    The food was incredible and the staff were all helpful and nice. The garden is great and we were lucky to have great weather when we stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which we was given (room 5) was right at the end of the hotel next to the cattle grid in the entrance to the hotel. So everytime a car entered the hotel car park it rumbled very loudly in our room. Due to there being a golf course at the hotel alot of cars came in and out of the car park.

    The rooms where very clean and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a snug room, we are not particularly tall people but smacked our heads on the beams a number of times! Also the blind in the bathroom was useless so felt a little on display when showering. Felt the room rate was a bit expensive for what it was.

    Loved the location, staff were great and really enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurant - had two delicious meals there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very clean and the bed was comfy. The staff at the bar and restaurant were very lovely. We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing, i would recommended the steak and the roast dinner. I would definitely recommended this hotel to others :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room and bathroom were dated and overlooked the main road. There was also a dirty towel hanging up behind the bathroom door when we checked in. Hotel is also outside Lyndhurst being a 10 minute drive away from the centre ( traffic permitting).

    Superb evening meal in the restaurant which has been updated. The lounge area is comfortable if a little lacking in atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay anouther night as we had to go home!!

    We had come from a horrible hotel and this was a last minute stay and we where made to feel so welcome and it made our stay 10x better!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in our room was somewhat bland and the colour scheme a bit dated.

    Very well cooked restaurant food - particularly at dinner - good choices, attractively presented and efficiently served. Reception staff (Georgia) very helpful about checking room was ready. Location is great for visiting the New Forest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Manor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a manor room. This was the most expensive room in the property, one of three , and the pictures made it seem like a bed and breakfast style cosy room in the lovely pub building. unfortunately the room was across the car park in the golf club section. There was no view, except for some isocontainers that acted as offices for the club, and the car park. The room was comfy but had the feel of a chain hotel which was not how the pictures made it look.

    The bar and restaurant are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was locally sourced and super tasty. All staff were very friendly and attentive and up engaging. They seemed to be happy to work there, which comes across in their attitude. Great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Estate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the radiator being on, the room could be chilly. There is though an extra portable room heater available in the room.

    Location was superb... lovely countryside around the hotel and quiet too. Decor was fabulous and rooms were of a really good size. Bed was extremely comfortable and huge ! Food was very good !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both of our rooms were noisy - there seemed to be some machinery at the hotel that made a noise for much of the night.

    The staff were extremely helpful both on reception and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited 6 wks ago and the Peroni didn't taste very nice This time it wasn't much better and at £5.40 a pop you would expect better quality

    Stayed here many times.before always been a pleasure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room window was small but didn't matter as view was only of other side of the street. Could have been more vegetables with my evening meal as it was one of the dearer choices. However, my partner's cheaper meal had more!

    The standard of everything was very high. The lounge/bar was very welcoming. The staff were friendly & helpful. There was plenty of information about what to do in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very hot , as the windows are traditional small Tudor not a lot of air , and the weather very hot . Would have been nice to get complimentary water every night , not just on the first , and for the price we paid , breakfast should have been included .

    Al la carte food excellent . Staff really friendly , lots places to sit , garden gorgeous , right outside green sightseeing bus stop . Green dragon pub right across the road , loads of horses and donkies and pigs roaming wild . Just lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Snug Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room on the top floor was very warm, I didn't notice the fan in the wardrobe until I was packing up to leave. Appreciate that was my fault.

    Pretty, cosy hotel. Good for a romantic trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Fantastic staff at breakfast who were polite and went the extra mile which was very much appreciated. Decent accommodation v good breakfast in bright comfortable room. V happy with the stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service within the restaurant was lack lustre and out of keeping with how great everything else was.

    Reception and Bar staff were brilliant. The room was advertised as a snug room but was still a very good size. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service, really beautiful place, lovely room/facilities, stunning food and hospitality. Overall, excellent. Can't fault this and would come back again. 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room advertised as the Forest Room, only to find this is a generic name for most of the rooms and nothing special, and looking 'tired & in need of re-decorating. Full breakfast good (but expensive for what it is), but continental breakfast not at all as advertised - no ham & cheese available, only cereals and dried fruit. The advertised 'fresh fruit' was a bowl with a few apples. Yoghurt bowls empty every day. Staff & management appeared totally disinterested with the exception of one breakfast waitress who was friendly & attentive. At no stage did anyone ask if we were satisfied or enjoyed our stay, even when checking out - it was just 'here's your bill & goodbye'.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    could stay longer

    arrived late.restraunt was.but severely staff rallied round and brought me a lovley supper just what a weary traveler wants.lovley and clean .breackfast fantastic.would recommend to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is advertised as being available in all rooms. It wasn't in room 18, and I had to work from the bar area later that evening, which is not ideal for a business stay. The room is also very small for £79 a night, and when I questioned it with the desk staff. I was politely informed if I wanted a larger room, it would be £50 extra, to which I declined. My stay was also during the recent heatwave and there was no fan in the room. However room 18 has a lovely view of the extractor system for the hotel (and nothing else) so having to keep the windows open all night, I did have a big noisy fan for most of my stay. Having stayed at another large hotel nearby in the past, I think I will be staying there next time, as The Bell Inn does not seem to cater for business customers? Breakfast is also not included and ridiculously overpriced.

    Location was good for me, and nice to relax after a long and busy day. Bar and food both excellent, and a lot cooler than my room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Manor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for what it was. Noisy plant next door. Unimpressive bathroom. Breakfast not included. Very uncomfortable pillows.

    Large bed and good sized room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggested the pillows in our room not the most comfortable. Lumpy. Have had better.

    Ideal location for walking or golf, cycling in the New Forest. Close to Lyndhurst.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was at the Bell Inn for my Brothers wedding. Not only was it a perfect and beautiful setting, the staff were so welcoming, polite,friendly, knowledgeable and nothing was too much of an effort for them even when they were run off of their feet. The room was lovely, unique, very clean and comfortable. The food, amazing!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to be a bit shorter for the attic room!

    The staff were really good. We needed breakfast before the restaurant was open, and yet they went out of their way to get us something rather than go without. I really appreciated that.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at dinner on saturday night could have been better/quicker, but the restaurant was busy so we understood why service was so slow

    Beautiful big and clean room and en - suite. The double bed was also bigger than expected and was extremely comfortable. A amazing stay all round, highly recommend The Bell inn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren't great, the hairdryer was something from the 1970s and the restaurant, whilst being pretty good food, took forever to serve (breakfast & dinner) so it felt like we were always waiting around.

    The rooms were nicely furnished and clearly recently renovated. Parking was great, as was the surrounding area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cycling hire centre was 20 minutes drive from the hotel. All nice trails were also closer to Burley. Even though a hotel was located in a nice village, we were a bit disappointed when we could not find proper trails near the hotel.

    Service, food, and comfort.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast though good had run out of beans and fried bread. No rolls with the ham and cheese only croissants.

    The ambience and friendly staff made it a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Estate Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a liqueur coffee and it was disgusting as it was made with squirty cream which curdled when it melted. I complained when paying bill but money was not refunded or even an apology which was a shame as everything else was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this particular night there was a problem with water pumps apparently causing clonking pipes which kept me awake until I had to change rooms at 3am to another room where I could still vaguely here it but managed to get over. Was lead to believe there was no charge when checking out but my card still was charged.

    Normally a really comfortable place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attic room was very cosy but the low beams were a bit of a hazard for us tall guests!

    It was cosy and warm, very welcoming. The staff were all very efficient and friendly. We will definitely go back. Dinner was deliceous in pleasant warm dining room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a poor selection, dirty plates given twice and the continental part was lacking. Could have done with some baked beans / croissants / crash muesli - it's had all run out by 10am on a Sunday. Rooms smelt musty on arrival and thin walls - could hear neighbours / people in corridor. No mini bar or fridge and no water in the room. Staff seemed very young and not in control.

    Staff were very friendly when we asked for anything to be changed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 vegetarian option on the dinner menu, bed was far too soft for me, very noises from the road outside, breakfast was ok but not great.

    The bar was very nice, bar staff were very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the room coffee.Nespresso type machines are very reasonably priced and would read well on your (what we offer)

    The bed was amazing,had brilliant sleep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a small fridge in the room as travelled from another accommodation with a few cold bits. Didn't ask staff if possible to get one though so can't complain.

    Loved the cosy room with very comfy bed, nice bathroom and lovely English breakfast. Friendly staff and nice and christmassy decoration downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The height of the ceiling in my room

    Didn't have crossaints but the bed was comfortable except I was in the loft and the ceiling/beams were too low for me at 6ft 2 inches so I hit my head a few times

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs to provide free WIFI in all the rooms, most guests have smart phones ,these days which require a good WiFi signal to work properly,

    Staff professional , attentive & friendly, Restaurant food was very good,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food could have been better. The scotch egg starter came out raw, which unfortunately coloured our view of the rest of the food.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little 'tagged' and chaotic, empty yoghurt containers and fruit, etc. not refilled, even after several requests.

    Room was spacious and bed comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, a bit hit and miss

    The fact we could walk out straight into the New Forest without getting into the car . Staff very accommodating and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service was excellent, reception staff helpful, we took bikes so they gave us key to there storage unit for security, this was much appreciated. Waiters were fantastic very attentive to detail. We had attic room that was very cosy, comfortable and quaint, I've read reviews that have complained about head height, im over 6 foot and there was plenty of room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is very poor in the rooms and phone signal also patchy. The website is misleading as mentions wifi but should stipulate only available in some areas

    Staff v friendly and helpful Food v good A lovely place to stay Bed v comfortable although the room was quite small but didn't really matter

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be asked if I would like a newspaper which I assumed would be in with the room price. Was not told it was additional and charged 3x face price of the newspaper on check out. Petty I guess but £125 a night and no complimentary paper or warning there was a charge?

    Modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had to be picky we had to wait 45 minutes for our starters. Breakfast a little skimp. Perhaps addition of yogurt and fresh fruit would be good. Keeping crockery stocked up seemed to be a problem. No one checking and guests had to keep asking for glasses, plates etc.

    Location excellent for walking. Plenty of parking spaces. Professional staff, helpful and good service. Although we did not play on this occasion, golf course on doorstep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having dinner sometimes turned into a bit of a marathon,on one occasion over 3 hours. That said meals were always excellent.

    Friendly relaxed atmosphere,good food,nice location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiting staff in the dining room found dealing with a private party at the same time a challenge. Longish wait between main course and dessert,

    The room was comfortable, we had a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How the dinner, bed and breakfast worked, it was not explained until after we had our meal on the first night.

    Food was excellent, comfortable surroundings, bedrooms were very warm but having the fan was brilliant. Would of been nice to just have a sheet for warm nights so ended up just sleeping with a towel over me.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was a little fancy us A simpler menu option would be more suitable for quests who have plainer taste buds.

    Friendly helpful staff. Welcoming atmosphere. Hotel comfortable and central location to area for visiting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view! Room 18 is a single occupancy room on the first floor. The windows overlook the kitchen roof with all its attached ventilation systems. When the windows are open for ventilation the noise is quite obtrusive with a faint oil aroma. When closed There was a fan provided for moving the air if you want a slightly cooler air.

    The room (# 18) appeared to have been freshly decorated and was very pleasant with all the usual tea and coffee supplied. A jug of fresh milk was available if required from reception. A pleasant surprise was the small jar of Jelly Beans :) Overall a very pleasant stay will use again. I did not use the restaurant facilities for dinner but used the Green Dragon Pub just across the road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike !! Eye for detail & comfort for guest is superb .

    Absolutely wonderful location & extremely tasteful & comfortable throughout.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room allocated was above machinery and as I wanted to have window open they were happy to give me another - a delightful attic room overlooking the garden.

    The lovely 'comfortable' feel of the place. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The food was fantastic, so we ate in the hotel every night. We would love to go back to the Bell Inn.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For some reason my room no. 19 was very hot even with both windows open and a fan was needed to sleep. The mattress was too soft for my liking.

    The bathroom was good sized and didn't feel cramped. Good car park space. Good location as close to dual carriage way.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service for dinner we waited approx 50 minutes for our meal. No explanation was given. We stayed 2 nights and on the first evening one of our party had the lobster. On the second night two members of our party had lobster and the had a very different plate with all the claws which were missing from the meal on the first night. I slept in one of the attic rooms and there was no hot water in the basin tap and on out second morning the shower didn't work.

    Food delicious

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called prior to arrival to have a bottle of wine put in the room as a surprise for my partner. Unfortunately this wasn't there

    Gorgeous location and so easy to get too. We booked a two night stay - comfortable rooms and great restaurant, food was reasonable and really tasty, and a great choice of wines too

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception could have been more knowledgeable about local area: not knowing where the village store or Rufus Stone was disappointing

    Large comfy bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When it was windy the windows rattled and the pillows were a bit too firm.

    It was great to be able to order a newspaper delivered to our door early morning and the scrambled eggs at breakfast on Friday were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the top floor and the water pressure was inadequate. Its also a bit of a climb after a days cycling.

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Laid back atmosphere. Room comfortable & clean. Food of a good standard and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The catering is appalling unopened mussels. Poor quality breakfast. It took 15 minutes to try and get hot toast that had seen a toaster then we gave up

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange stale odour when opening chest of drawers. Ground floor room was fairly noisy very early in the morning, could have been vehicles rumbling over cattle grid.

    Staff were very attentive. Problem with bath was seen to straight away. Food was very good & the bar tender was very pleasant. Try the spiced mojito. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was kept extremely clean & tidy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we found that needed attention was the two twin beds that we were given in the room. They were really quite uncomfortable and neither of us slept- overdue for replacement?

    The room and the lounge areas were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The bar had a good range of local real ales and the service from all staff was really good. Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults at all, wish could have stayed longer than the 1 night.

    Charming hotel in heart of New Forest, very welcoming and friendly staff, lovely full English breakfast & morning paper included, especially loved having to persuade the local donkeys to move out of the road so we could drive into the car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in the restaurant on the first two nights was slow. The last night was an improvement.

    The presentation and quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Snug Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very slow service at the bar , stood there for about 10-15 mins waiting to be served on a few occasions I stayed for 4 nights overall nice place

    Area was fantastic, garden an d food amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was first to breakfast but close to 30 minutes after starting service and the options were not all out ready so I'm choosing based on what's there not what would have been there had it all be put out. There was nothing that couldn't have been put out at opening so this was a little disappointing. Oh and I don't want my cooked brought to me until you've seen I've finished my first course. I never like to be told I'm being squeezed in for a table reservation like you're doing me a favour. Sell me your restaurant - I ate at the lovely pub opposite, would've happily eaten at the hotel! Power showers very noisy!

    Location superb. A real heart of the forest location. Quirky and brimming with wildlife. Well spec'd room, very clean, very modern. Friendly efficient check-in

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Snug Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the snug double rooms, the only problem for us was the low ceilings as we kept banging our heads.Can't complain about anything else.

    The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was fantastic!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fact that I did not know it was on top of the golf course - had time to play around if I had my clubs!

    B&B for two days - breakfasts were well cooked and sufficient. 1 dinner taken which was well presented and food good. Large wedding group celebrating birthday pre wedding and a bit noisy - but then Wales were winning their match! Room adequate for our purposes of attending wedding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Forest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the more expensive Forest Room and were allocated room 21. The room was a little dated, but comfortable enough. However, it was on the first floor just above the kitchen and even though it was 16C outside, the room felt very hot throughout the day and night. We have reported it to the reception staff and the senior staff, but they were not interested. The service at the restaurant in the evening was very poor. The plentiful staff, was visibly not sure how to attend to the guests. Food, even though well cooked, lacked presentation and portions were very small - far from the culinary experience we were promised on the hotel's website!

    Great quiet location. Nice Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was probably one of the poorest we have ever had. There was no fresh fruit, the bread was of appalling quality and the scrambled eggs were scrambled but not cooked. Impossible to eat. For evening dinner, there appeared to be no senior staff member supervising.

    Location was convenient. The bedroom and en suite were adequate. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the restaurant was somewhat shambolic with nobody seeming to know what was going on and the guy in charge had difficulty coordinating himself and his staff. We had to wait to order despite having been given menu's in the bar before taking seats in the restaurant and then had to wait an hour for main courses that had clearly been kept warm for some time. We also had to ask for ice to chill a bottle of white whine that had clearly not been in a fridge.

    The food was good and the bar excellent. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait a long time for our mains and when they did come they weren't as fresh as they should have been. However, the manager spoke to us the following day and apologised profusely and gave us a voucher for a further stay including an evening meal for two.

    Location and food are great. Management take dissatisfaction very seriously!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice rooms Awesome breakfast Directly opposite a really great looking golf course Right in the middle of the incredible new forest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Forest Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went above and beyond

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Estate Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t fault it

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: