Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Loopy Shrew 4 stars

Bellstone, Shrewsbury, SY1 1HU, United Kingdom

#11 of 15 hotels in Shrewsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopped with a small child for a wedding in a venue next door it was difficult accessing rooms with push chair and baggage due to no lift.

    Excellent hotel would recommend to friends. Good central location close to shops and amenities. Excellent restaurant/bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking is a bit difficult.

    Very helpful staff especially with the car parking. The breakfast was really good - freshly coked to order. The room had a good selection of toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL-GOOD, NO NEGATIVE POINTS.

    Loopy Shrew! The best & only place to stay in Shrewsbury. FAB Location,staff,owner,food,drinks, breakfast & so easy relaxing in there, the time just passes quickly! Rooms perfect & really comfy beds! 10/10 guys & we will see you soon. THANKS, KEV & LISA.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironing board being a small table one. My only hate, they explained it all!

    Everything. Lovely staff Fantastic location Beautiful rooms Bar was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite up to our expectations. Minor details but toilet seat loose asked manager to see to it but it wasn't done . Had to ask for toast with breakfast & no tea or coffee served had to help our selves . A nice pot at the table when having breakfast makes a difference, instead we had to go back & for to the buffet table

    Nice food nice atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing throughout the night. Bathroom needs maintenance . Towel rails , toilet roll holders ,only wall fixings . Blind broken . Cracked window pane in bedroom . Missing light bulb in wall lights

    Great food , central location , great Friday night live music. Bedroom was newly fitted , but needs attention .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggested to the owners that they install a ceiling fan for the upper rooms. The room heated up during the day and, though there was a small fan in the room, it was pretty warm for sleeping (late May).

    Staff was very willing to help. Great location. Pleasant room and restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not open windows (sealed) and radiator in bathroom would not turn off, very hot in room but fan was available which was good don't think we'd of coped without it, still uncomfortable at times. Breakfast service was slow waited over 30 minutes but was good when it came.

    Super King bed and decor was lovely we stayed in room 205, very clean too. Complementary water and treats from chef were very nice. Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some basic maintenance needed - chipped paintwork, cracked door, bracket sticking out at ankle height. Nothing major but took the shine off a beautiful room

    Great location. Lovely friendly helpful staff. Beautiful room. Smashing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a light switch next to the bed. I hate getting up to turn the light off?

    Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. The perfect stopover in a delightful town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of breads at breakfast and the fact that the milk for the breakfast ceral was warm

    Room was lovely especially the extra little touches like bottles of water, chocolate brownies and choice of reading books in room. Very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent, facilities excellent. Lovely individual touches in the room including little treats from the Chef. Breakfast was fantastic aswell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some lights in the rooms didn't work which was a little annoying. Lights on the mirror in the room and the light above the mirror in the bathroom

    The place as a whole is very nice and welcoming. The room was Clean everywhere and had a certain bit of quirkiness to it. Decor made the room stand out to any other room i have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic check in. On arrival had to stand at the bar and looked a right like a pair of lemons. Trying to catch someones attention to check in. The staff were too busy serving drinks and food. The breakfast was disappointing. Veggie sausages shocking. Had a drink in the bar and asked if we wanted to pay cash or put on acc. We paid cash and then found on our acc in the morning. Whilst no problem sorting. Shows the unorgainsed way staff deal with things.

    The hotel is in a good position in Shrewsbury. The bar is very nice as is the dinning area. Bedrooms are very nice. Touch od extra detail great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISY ++++, bedroom tiny with low ceilings. More suitable for 1 person. 3 hangers! NO air conditioning or fan

    Breakfast ok, bed quite comfy, pretty street scene

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location means there is a lot of noise however earplugs are provided. Also toilet system is rather nosy.

    Friendly staff, great atmosphere and lovely food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated room 101 which is a disjointed collection of spaces at varying levels , a nightmare to negotiate to and from the bathroom at night. The area for coffe / tea making was a dismally small joke . The bed was very uncomfortable . Negotiating the stairs and various levels with luggage was difficult to say the least . A price of GBP 96 is outrageous for this hovel , especially compared to the Dickens Suite at the Lion Hotel for the SAME price! Small wonder we chose to check out 2 days early and stay at the Lion , an excellent hotel . The Loopy Shrew was probably the worst place we have stayed at any where in the world in 11 years of travel . How AA ever awarded 4 stars to this dump is beyond my belief . One star would be overly generous !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (101) was on the first floor, facing the main road at the front. As a result we had to endure the music in the bar until after 12.30 am. A coach parked outside to wait for a wedding party and left its engine running for over an hour, producing noise and fumes as well as drunken revellers climbing on and off enjoying themselves. It was a hot night and not being able to open the windows because of the noise was & diesel fumes was an issue. The price of the room did not reflect the disturbance you had to endure. We should have realised noise was a problem as ear plugs were actually provided on the bedside tables.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hall, stairs and landings were a bit grubby. Not good when you first arrive and the stairs and landing were tatty! Bed was a small double and cramped for us who are use to a king size. Bathroom didn't match the classy decore of the bedroom, very plain!

    We loved the quirky layout of the restaurant/cafe/bar. Food was brill!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!

    Lovely boutique luxury feel with excellent food choices for dinner and 5star cooked to order breakfast. Staff were very courteous and attentive in ensuring everything was ok. Nice touch with Molton Brown bathroom accessories-you don’t even get these in 5 star Dubai!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant for breakfast was not as expected, not particularly late at around 9.15 seeing they served till 10 but tables half laid, no one to greet and seat you, no pastries left...when asked for cups and side plates was like we'd asked for the world! No choice of eggs on cooked breakfast yet when another diners order was took was asked how he liked them??? Have had better elsewhere.

    Decor in property very nice, upto date and modern but lacked the finishing touches expected, guy who checked us in extremely helpful and later on in evening made me a special cocktail for my birthday!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean bathroom bed was good stayed two nights arriving back to my room after it was cleaned was disappointing We had found that one of the dressing gowns Which should have been clean had poo on do on leaving our room we put this in the bath to be taken to be laundered only to find on our return that night it had been folded up and put back on the shelf also someone had left a kitkat wrapper on my night table all this really was very gross and it did spoil our stay at the loopy shrew I did inform the checkout guy

    The room was pleasant clean and comfortable bathroom was clean and functional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the king room. Bathroom substandard and the only one not shown on the website . Tiny, grubby and very dated. Light not working, no hooks, shower curtain too long for the bath , no where to put anything including toothbrush!. Bedroom itself was ok looked nice but blind did not open, no plugs near the bed, and had to ask for an extension cable as Tv and kettle shared the same plug. Have emailed and messaged hotel for their comments but have not heard back from them. Did not feel value for money and clearly disappointed in their lack of customer service.

    The location was good, walking distance to everything. Bar very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken early by noises. We spoke to staff who advised the noises were outside. However, it did sound like it was inside the building.

    The food was lovely. The room was very comfortable & the hotel was in a very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size

    The blind in bedroom didn't work right,the room was very small would not stop there again,breakfast and staff lovely.Noise outside bedroom window apart from that ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    croissants were soft / the building had some problems with the water pipe system in the rooms, making noises as if something was wrong with the pressure or airing. stuff mentioned that some renewal of boiler etc had taken place, will take it up, no others had complaint

    great location, very friendly stuff, excellent breakfast, nice environment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a comfortable bed due to the quality of mattress and a rather awkward window blind to operate.s

    Great breakfast nicely presented staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    London blind on window broken so no way of letting light in to the room. Couldn’t stand up in the shower fully because of ceiling height

    Bar very nice and staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy at the front of the property, we booked several rooms and they were of variable quality. people who book direct get better rooms. cleanliness was poor, one of our friends complained the w/c was not flushed

    breakfast good and bar had atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would recommend a stay here but not in a room at the front due to the noise.

    Room was a good size and comfortable, the only down side was the noise at night due to there being no double glazing. Traffic and pedestrians were very noisy up until 2.00am. Cafe bar and restaurant were excellent, quality of meals and service was very good. Location was central, overall good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly,helpful.Comfortable,cosy ,modern hotel.Perfect location.Good vibes which were perfect for me,felt at ease very relaxed.Thank you all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is very noisy, quite late. You can definitely hear the noise in your room! The rooms were great, though perhaps need a little refresh to smarten them up.

    Funky, boutique hotel. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have appreciated a lift. But that's because we are old. It was also very inconvenient that there was not a car park nearby. However, I was delighted to discover that the long term parking suggested was absolutely free of charge

    The bed was super comfy. We loved the décor - very different, in a nice way. Atmosphere was really good. Extremely relaxing. Food: Very, very good. A high quality of drinks was on offer.All this at a very good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I quite enjoyed my stay at this somewhat unusual hotel. Staff here are helpful and welcoming. A good bar is kept and food here is good and varied. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disaappointed with the standard of the room, online the rooms looked really nice but that wasn’t the case. Dirty furniture, broken blind, furniture in the restaurant was all stained.

    Furniture was stained in the restaurant. Walls in the bedroom were stained, one of the blinds was broken in the hotel room, there was paint chipped in the room, missing light bulb from vanity light in the bathrroom. The pictures online make the hotel room look a lot nicer than what the room is like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and efficient . The food was excellent . All freshly cooked . Fab breakfast was included in the price . Good gluten free options available .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had mechanical issue with first allocated room due to frozen pipes. Ally (one of the Managers) was superb, she completed turned the situation around and gave us another room without question and made us feel valued. Could not have asked for a better response/service. Both rooms however lack finishing touches. Bulbs out, holes in back of doors, peeling wallpaper, broken disused light fittings, broken window blinds. A shame really because it's a lovely pub/restaurant, in a brilliant location with fabulous staff.

    The staff were all amazing. So friendly and welcoming. Couldn't be more helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing, the very small heater provided made no difference there were no plug sockets by the bed or anywhere in the room, the bed was very uncomfortable and there was no hot water. The radiators in the room gave off no heat

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water, central heating was not working, mobile heater was supplied but it would only just heat on room. No apology was made, just to quote "we can't call out a plumber now". No discount on final bill was offered either very poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor with poor service. Staff spent more time messing about than service. I asked for a second coffee twice which on both occasions never came. The food was bland with no toast making facilities however there was jam out? No ketchups and I was diapointed witb the giant tomato parked in the middle of my plate.

    the Room was comfortable and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A boutique hotel at 3 star prices. I particularly liked that there was real coffee making facilities in the room., I would ban instant coffee if I could. Nice attention to detail in the room and a pleasant bar and restaurant which is obviously popular with locals too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy while I can’t entirley blame the loopy shrew for this there were some very loud guests who were up and down the stairs arguing in the corridor and generally being inconsiderate to other guests and this went on until 5am. The music from downstairs in the bar was very loud and I appreciate you must expect that staying above a bar so if you want a good nights sleep this isn’t the place to stay. Alongside this there was extra noise from the plumbing everytime anyone in the neighbouring rooms used the water there was a terrible banging of the pipes which is extremely loud. There was also no hot water at 6.30pm. We booked 2 rooms and neither room had hot water. There was slightly warmer water in the morning but I would only describe it as luke warm. We paid over £100 per room to stay here and we did not get value for money we could have got much better for that price and to be honest probably much better for less!

    Good location And nice bar for a drink.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    It was very welcoming the room was very nice a very comfy bed and the breakfast was delicious. Great location too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside is if you get a room at the front if the building its very noisy from 5am! Rooms could do with a little refresh they look a little tired. King rooms are not king size bed! I do feel that the price of drinks are overpriced.

    Ive stayed many times here, its a favourite of mine. Conveniently in the middle of town. Everything you need within walking distance. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is nice. I love the look and feel of the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small cramped and noisy. Door to bathroom didn't open fully. Sink made an awful noise. We paid for a king room but we're given a box room with small bed.

    Location and bar down stairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any hot water, only tepid warm water. The staff were very helpful and brought hot water up to the room. The pipes sounded haunted and it was hard to sleep due to banshee noises.

    The staff couldn't be more accommodating; polite, courteous and very helpful! The bed was comfortable and there were ample tea and coffee facilities in the room. Great location for our city break!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room didn’t meet out expections. The bed, when sat on moved back and forth to the point where the cushions fell on the floor. It made horrendous noises when turning I’ve. The toilet seat wasn’t secure and moved over about 2 inch’s when sat on. There was a large stain on the armchair that ran over the edge and when we returned to the room at 21.15pm there wasn’t any hot water and it wasn’t even warm enough to remove makeup with a face cloth. There was also a metal rod in the lock of the bathroom door which proved hard to turn to exit and a large stain running round the left side of the toilet on the floor. There’s was no heating and my husband and I spent the night shivering as turning the radiator up made no difference. Room 205

    The building was beautiful with a fantastic breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was a bit shabby not like the photos. Plus bathroom had not been cleaned and dirty towels left in the bath so had to move rooms

    The restaurant bar etc really nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was " tired" needed a refurb and a lick of paint. The T V had very poor reception. Things weren't attached properly so we were in fear of breaking something and being charged for it. One window had a crack right across it.They provided ear plugs but nothing could stop the noise of other guests returning to their rooms in the early hours and making a terrific noise. The bed was as hard as a board and both of us got very little sleep. For the price of £85 room only I expected a higher standard than this - and would therefore not stay there again.

    We loved the restaurant and the staff were excellent. Food was excellent and the service was excellent. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating in the bedroom was poor Water was not hot for a bath or a shower Wallpaper was peeling above the radiator in the bedroom Hallway and stairs leading to the bedrooms was cold and uninviting Breakfast meal was extra to the price of the room All in all what should have been a lovely visit to Shrewsbury started on the wrong note but was rescued by a staff member who called the sister hotel [The Darwins Townhouse ] and secured an excellent room in a super hotel with an excellent breakfast within the total cost which was the same as we as we would have paid at the Loopy Shrew.

    Staff were very helpful especially Ali

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit chilly and only one plug socket which was hidden behind a mirror so difficult to get to especially when having to unplug and swap plugs around. Décor was lovely but does need a little bit more attention. Would definitely stay again.

    Friendly staff, quaint place, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in our room for a bath or shower as this was a shower head mixer tap from over the bath. Put in a bedroom directly at the front of the building and ended up with a live band underneath us until well past 12 o'clock. Was awoken just after 12.30 am by staff knocking on the door as there was an apparently water leak they were trying to trace. ( pipes had been knocking about our room on and off all night) So finally got to sleep about 2 to be awoken by the road sweeper outside the building at 7am. Complained in the morning and mentioned that they should have put us in a room at the back if they were having a live band as well as the numerous other disturbances and lack of any hot water but was offered no discount or refund. Shocking. Appart from the food being good, would not stay again.

    The food and bedroom deco was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hot water for a bath or heating not working in the room shloud cheek room be for guest come to stay & have heating on in the room so guest are wame it was cold in the room we were given a hetter to keep wame still cold thay only knocked off £8 off the price off the stay it should have ben free after the problems we had mrs rowson

    the room was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating. Had to ask for convector heater. Shower water only Luke warm. Poor lighting, things were just thrown together. As if to make it look like a £90 charge per night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold tap in the bathroom was very noisy as was another somewhere else in the building.....we knew when people were cleaning their teeth!!

    Shower looked a little old fashioned but it was a really good hot strong flow! Delighted with it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to sleep do not stay here. The music blasted through the room until one in the morning, and then the screaming and shouting outside continued endlessly afterwards. The plumbing sounded like there was a brass band with us in the room. Great hotel for insomniacs.

    The property had a good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Temperature of the 'hot' water could have been higher to ensure a hot bath or shower. Live music on Friday night was intrusive, not conducive to instructions to consider other residents with volume of noise.

    Room was at a sensible temperature and the windows could be opened. General ambience of Loopy Shrew reflected the character of Shrewsbury. Great central location with great staff. Excellent well presented food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the standard of the room. It was tired and rather shabby with a very pokey rusting bathroom - and that was a ‘King’ room. Walls are pretty thin so you can hear neighbours etc and no lamps - either really bright lights or nothing!

    The location is right in the centre of town which is very handy but not too loud of an evening. Bar/restaurant downstairs was great for evening drinks and food looked pretty good. Parking opposite or just over the river which is a short walk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food and ambience absolutely lovely. The room was okay - a little tired and the bathroom was small, but we didn't mind initially. There was also a broken blind in the bedroom (I notice this has been commented upon by a previous reviewer..) whcih could not be opened, but again this wasn't a major issue, until.....we were in the room above the bar, unfortunately - read on... The noise from the bar is TERRIBLE - until midnight on the Friday and 1am on the Saturday night - and back on again, albeit quieter at 8am on the Sunday morning. The Loopy Shrew cannot be all things to all men - not a boutique hotel and excellent restaurant and a late night bar too. The base noise from the sound system was all pervading - you couldn't even hear the TV. If it's going to continue in this regard, it MUST warn potential guests up front about the noise from the bar. I don't know whether it's just the one room we were in - and younger clientele might be up for this if they want a night drinking in the bar, in which case make sure they are put in this room, but not older guests who actually want to relax and sleep - especially at approximately £100 a night. Such a shame.

    The food was excellent and the location very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sleep at all really noisy all night long loud music and people shouting outside, traffic, Wasn't even asked how our stay was the next day just asked to pay

    Bed was comfortable clean and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were quite disappointed with the first room we were shown especially for the money we were paying. Room itself was very small and tired with wallpaper hanging off the walls and bed was squeaking just by sitting on it, all needed a bit of tlc. We were moved to another room but still I feel price we paid didn’t reflect the room.

    Bar and restaurant downstairs were lovely and the situation was great right in the centre. Love Shrewsbury had a great weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water not very hot. No working curtain on window, only a shower curtain in bathroom, room not very warm, noisy plumbing, towel rail broke, lack of shelving.

    Products in bathroom were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom- shower curtain and grouting was mouldy. No hot water for a shower on the evening that we stayed. Bathroom not like website photos at all

    Restaurant and food. Clean bedding. Able to leave bag prior to and after checking in and out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy because of great location. Breakfast for those who don’t eat full English not that good and not value for money.

    Comfortable room, nicely appointed. Good tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water all evening, so couldn’t have a bath. Had a quick cold wash before going out. Management couldn’t do anything about it blamed it on a lot of washing up!!! Not acceptable. We were given money off the room but we had booked it as a treat and left feeling disappointed. Noise of the bar was very loud also and room rather small

    Location. Busy bar downstairs. Modern decor in rooms. Iron an hair dryer supplied. Dressing gowns

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with the hot water so we couldn't bath properly as it was running cold. Apparently, the system is being updated as we speak so I'm sure this will be remedied soon. The only blemish on an otherwise great stay!

    Excellent friendly staff, could not do enough for us! The bar downstairs was amazing, with a huge array of quality wines and cocktails. The location of the Loopy Shrew was perfect, very central and easily in reach of amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window was broken in the room, bathroom window couldn't be shut, so it was very cold. Also very loud from the noise from the bar and outside. One of the main bedroom light bulbs was broken. Toilet tricky to flush.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water or heating in our room They forgot toast with our breakfast Room was a bit shabby

    Beautiful decorated. Amazing food and drinks Excellent Service No parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park a bit out of the way. Weren't able to park across the road as it wasn't an overnight stay

    Beautiful place, Lovely rooms, friendly staff, food to die for. In a superb location. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both windows in the room were sealed shut, not bad for a cold winter but when you want a bit of air circulation it's not ideal! A very funny smell in the bathroom that we noticed from check in until we left - add that to no windows and you're in for a treat! Awful placement of plug sockets - however I feel it may have been due to the old building so they may not have had a choice. The bed frame seemed very cheap - however the mattress was not bad at all. We did not have breakfast as we went I to the town to eat so cannot review the restaurant/food. Although it looked fantastic! We stayed on a Saturday night, and our room was right at the back and we were so surprised we could not hear a thing, so that was a bonus! I just feel it was a little too pricey for what we actually got, the room decor was a tad tacky for our taste but that is personal preference.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in wasn't very clean and their was no hairdryer in the room, hardly any tea or coffee, no biscuits and the bed was very uncomfortable, had no sleep whatsoever because it was the room right at the front so was very loud.

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the location was excellent for Shrewsbury town centre, the noise from the pub below was horrendous and, if you were a light sleeper, would certainly keep you awake at night. Whilst the rooms were clean and visually looked good, the quality of the facilities was poor. As an example, the shower pressure was little more than a dribble and, after both myself and my husband took a shower, the hot water ran out to the extent I had to boil a kettle to fill the sink! Food in the morning was of an excellent quality however, no toast was offered and, the plate was relatively minimal in quantity. All in all, having paid £142 for one nights accommodation, my husband and I were both disappointed with the stay and, would not be staying there again. For the price level, we would've expected far more.

    The central location was good and, the rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast in the morning was of a good standard but, not nearly enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little shoddy with a broken picture frame, broken shower rail and the blind didn't work so we were woken at the crack of dawn! It didn't spoil our stay but the hotel would benefit from keeping a closer eye on the detail!

    The staff were vert attentive, professional and helpful! The furniture in the room is lovely, and the Molton Brown toiletries were a great touch. We ate at the restaurant which has a lovely ambience and the food was delicious - plus the cocktails were divine!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a little frustrating. Actually put us off having an evening meal there. Entrance to rooms was awkward, especially with a bad back!

    Good breakfast, nice standard of room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. My room was very confined only one small window which was frosted glass (to do with it being a preservation area I believe so no modern double glazing) so more like a cell than a room. Distinct lack of power sockets so bring your own multi socket extension cable. Room definitely not worth £130 quoted but as I got it at half that it was OK

    Superb breakfast. Excellent selection of teas & coffees in room. Separate bar, cafe & restaurant areas all very good. Serves local real ale!!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Loopy Shrew traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: