Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bermondsey Square Hotel - A Bespoke Hotel 4 stars

Tower Bridge Road, Southwark, London, SE1 3UN, United Kingdom

#350 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1099 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space could be used better as it had a giant bathroom but a bit crammed interior. Sofa bed could also be better. Cups were not washed daily.

    Location was pretty good at a 10 mins walk from London Bridge station. Great if you’re getting in from Gatwick and taking the national rail services. Overall the room was pretty nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was small considering this was a delux foibles hwocj the website stars comes with certain amenities like dressing gowns. There is no alcohol served from the alcohol or the restaurant.

    The location was brilliant, staff were extra friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The factvthat breakfast was not included even though we thought from booking .com booking that it was

    Hotel very good and well located in a lovely part of the city, less thsn 10 minutes walk from Tower bridge and London bridge. Be careful however when booking through Booking .com as breakfast, costing 11 pounds per person was not included. Breakfast is included when you book directly with the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full English breakfast wasn't egg , bacon , sausage and fried bread but was okay with what we had , just wasn't a manual workers full English

    Quiet , friendly staff , good size room , good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked water all over bathroom floor every time we showered. The hotel clerk gave my partner an unnecessary lecture regarding the no drinking policy in the lobby. We felt this was an obvious expectation and that we were stereotyped, as no other guest was given this specific instruction. This hotel was quite far from the nearest tube.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the design of the bathroom drainage system, so prepare to see water flow into the main bathroom floor once you're done using the shower.

    What an amazing location. The atmosphere around this hotel was calm and peaceful. Everything is within reach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast let it down for me. My eggs benedict was very average. The eggs were over done and the sauce tasted salty.

    WE have stayed there before, very comfortable room - truly WONDERFUL shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small and you wake up very early in the morning because of the light. It was not possible to dinner on Saturday night because the restaurant of the hotel was closed. 150 EUR per night without breakfast is too much

    The location of the hotel is good, you can find many bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the (bath)room was a bit outdated and could benefit from an refurbishment

    Staff at the recepotion was very helpfull and friendly, the breakfast was outstanding, "a la carte" english breakfast by the very friendly chef "jon" , also very good vegetarian breakfast option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing as were the staff who seemed to be very casual about service and largely disinterested in a lack of cereal dishes, spoons, milk and coffee running out. The breakfast area itself was fine.

    The room is well designed for a business traveler, with a good desk facility behind the bed - good use of limited space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better reception at breakfast. Althoug on Sunday is was perfect( not the same staff. )

    The breakfast was very good except the coffee. The staff at the restaurant neither friendly or efficient. The staff at the reception were on the contrary EXCELLENT!! Especially the French young man ( sorry I forgot his name) and A Spanish young woman so very sweet!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea coffee and milk in the room. The furniture was all scratched and damaged the child’s pull out sofa bed squeaked all night. No WiFi code was offered (not the end of the world but it helps) I felt it was a little expensive for what it was.

    Location was good for us, parking was also good for our needs. Restaurants and bars and a Sainsbury’s very close by so again a plus friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of stains on the cushions which were on the bed

    Good choice of breakfast options. Full English breakfast did not include pork products (turkey rashers and turkey sausage as substitutes) but surprisingly good and served on hot plates which is a must.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property had a lovely welcoming modern reception and was very clean and well presented. The breakfast was just as special as the hotel offering a continental and full cooked breakfast which was of excellent quality. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion about whether we had paid through booking.com and I have since discovered the hotel and booking.com have charged me for the one night stay.

    The room was excellent and it wasn't too far from underground to get around London.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please check the pet fee with the hotel before you make a reservation. I couldn't find this information on booking.com.

    Great location near to parks, restaurants, cinema and pubs. Very pet friendly. Hotel provides bowl and a nice bed for your pet. Plus you can take them with you when you have breakfast at the hotel. There is a supermarket (open till late) opposite to the hotel which was really convenient. Clean and big rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only very minor points were it didn't sell alcohol and the toilet roll holder in the bathroom was loose but nothing major

    Excellent location, good local facilities, staff were very pleasant and helpful, we will definitely use the hotel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no idea this was a dry hotel. Some of the staff are in serious need of a customer service course. Walls are so thin. Was woken up several times in the night by neighbors.

    Nothing to note. Especially for the money you are paying, this hotel is nothing better then a travel lodge. You may as well book there and pay less money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 sets of keys did not work for my room at checkin - went out and when I got back at bedtime , assumed it would have been fixed - the 3rd set of keys didn’t work so I had to switch rooms when all I wanted to do was go to bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't draw the curtains right accross the window which meant that I couldn't shout out the street lights completely.

    The room was clean and comfortable. I had a Continental breakfast which was fine. staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly which is hard to come across, very welcoming, well mannered, polite staff, room was lovely, everything clean and well presented. enjoyed ourselves we decided to stay another 2 nights :) would 100% recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Tube was a little far away (not the hotels fault) and the way to get to the hotel was little confusing (Bus, Tube etc.). Breakfast was to pay extra. First night it seemed, that they had some construction work, which was very noisy and anoying.

    The hotel was nice for a citytrip! Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good to have the free bottle of drinking water in the fridge, however it would have been even better to be able to have/?buy another bottle on departure. This didn't seem possible although a large, heavy glass bottle may have been possible to buy, but not good to walk-about with!

    Breakfast items were all good to excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The "toilet spray" odor around reception- really overpowering each time I went past 2. The poor lighting in the bedroom - nothing overhead -only weak lamps (floor lamp difficult to access switch) 3. The air-conditioning didn't work 4. No door seals - so noise easily travelled from passage way 5. Door cards failed several times over 3 days

    The location was good for proximity to Bermondsey street, bus and underground routes. Not a large hotel so never waiting for the lift. The staff were very pleasant and helpful The shower was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really great, no complaints.

    Fantastic place in a great location. We've stayed in London many times before and it's often difficult to find a comfortable place that is well located and doesn't cost an arm and a leg. It was our first time staying in the Bermondsey area and we absolutely loved it for the food, coffee and cocktail options (Village East restaurant, FUCKOFFEE coffee shop, The Hide bar, and lots more). Although near the heart of Southwark, it still felt a comfortable distance from too much noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell in the lobby area like toilets

    Basic but did the trick for a short business stay. I would recommend to others. 10 minutes walk to London Bridge Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considerable noise in first floor rooms from water tanks/plumbing from other parts of hotel. Staff efficient on reception in dealing with process but otherwise not at all welcoming or friendly

    Good location. Rooms clean and adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, nearby buses and train station. There is a store right in front of the hotel, so very convenient when you arrive a too late for supper. The staff was very polite and friendly, made the process very easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised as 'parking' but this is a 5 minute walk away! not happy as this was not made clear when booking. No alcohol served at the hotel but a great pub just around the corner on the main road.

    Great central location with large and very comfy rooms. Great facilities and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No area to do hair and make up in room or bathroom which is really big. Full length mirror a bit awkward when sofa bed in use.

    Great staff, great location, good room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Small friendly hotel. Second visit here. On good bus route and 15 minute walk to London Bridge station. Breakfasts are always good and hot food is freshly prepared to your taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Liked the layout of the room. Good walking distance from mainline train stations. Cafe and bars locally. Friendly staff on arrival. Smooth and rapid check in and check out. Would definitely use again for a weekend away!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    early end to breakfast meaning we missed it - given relatively low booking rate for sunday nights, and propensity and likelihood for guests to enjoy a late friday/saturday night, would this be so difficult to fix?

    all else very positive however, great to be back in our old community!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant droning sound like a generator in the building or very close. In ghis instance the distance from a tube station was not the easiest and we booked to far from where we wanted though that was our fault not the hotel. 2.6 miles in London is like 30 in the rest of the uk

    Reception staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a terrible noise from a ventilator or similar going on all night on the outside of the building to the right from my room #601 which was very annoying

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked for a taxi, they called a mini cab firm who they clearly habitually use. The driver was late, didn’t know the way and did not display the charge on a meter. Much more expensive than the black cab I returned in too. I realise this isn’t something wrong with the hotel itself, but they shouldn’t use that company.

    Lovely room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food on this occasion was poor compared to my previous recent stay. Tepid soup and slightly overdone fish. The restaurant gets very little use and is in competition with restaurants within a few yards. Room noise was a little high but this is due to hotel location.

    Room was very comfortable - bed, work area and the rainfall shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very gloomy with insufficient lighting so had to ask for extra table lamp. Unpleasant fishy smell in bathroom.

    Good location within easy reach of Borough Market and daughter’s flat near London Bridge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at a public car park at an extra cost.

    Convenient location, good quality toiletries in the bathroom, comfy bed. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel had a quirky, modern feel to it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar at the hotel, although this was a not problem as you could take drinks to your room after buying them from the local Sainsbury's, it would have been nice to have a drink in the comfortable seats before getting changed to got out. Also the doors to the rooms closed with a huge bang this didn't seem to be a problem until 06:30 from when other guests were leaving their rooms thus walking the rest of the rooms up with constant bangs.

    Location is superb 10min walk from Borough or London Bridge Station with nice bars and eateries close by. The bed was very comfortable and the huge walk in shower was loverly after a day exploring London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel has great furnishings and fittings. It makes you smile. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a relaxed feel and the location is great. There are restaurants and bars in the square so you can enjoy your stay without having to travel too far.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in the price

    Convenient location for London Bridge (8mins walk) We had a fantastic view of the Shard from our room on the 5th floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park and no real directions online where to park. My sat nav with the postcode given by the hotel took me to a building with no obvious parking. I found n NCP car park 9 mins walk away so I was trailing my suitcase through the dark streets at night to then find the hotel. I parked at about 7pm and picked car up at 9.30am and it cost me £32. There is apparently a £10 one closer but for the life of me I couldn't find it.

    Staff extremely friendly. Quirky furnishings, exceptionally clean. Lovely bathroom with spacious shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit soft and downward sloping towards your head. !

    Modern hotel with everything you needed. Helpful friendly staff. First dry hotel I’ve stayed in but the bar scross the road meant that didn’t matter! Didn’t eat there so can’t rate that but the breakfast looked good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room was spacious and clean and everything was in good order and worked. Meal at the restaurant in the evening was excellent - no licensed bar though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no alcohol on premises, but lots of bars, supermarket and restaurants around

    great rooms, designer feel, good breakfast, very nice bathroom with fancy shower. Nice lobby. supermarket just opposite hotel. walking distance to London Bridge and the City.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No alcohol on premises . Internet quite slow.

    Room really excellent , set as both office and bedroom with a super comfy bed . Shower room wow . Breakfast really nice .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea bags and one bottle of water between two. Parking always an issue when staying in London although clearly stated on website.

    Great Location easy to find within walking distance of Tower and London Bridge. Clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night city break in London. The hotel was in a good location, with bus stops and tube stations within 10-15 minute walking distance. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. This is a dry hotel and had a lovely, peaceful and calm ambience. We really enjoyed the vegetarian breakfast options ! We will definitely stay here again !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the staff had very narrow limits on everything. No smile, not more service than they could get away with. They where quite informative, but did not really paying interest to if the information reached me. It seemed like they just followed a list over things they knew they where supposed to tell me. I had to pay 6-7 pound for an addapter. Ambarrassing expencive. Ok the pay, but smarter if they just charged the customer for the cost than earn money on that one. Or; what about call it a depositum? No, I will not recommend this hotel to someone else. Sorry, to many other optiones...

    The room was good though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are great and I guess that is the most important thing. Stayed here many times but not since new ownership. Seems like some changes to entrance leave it looking confused- the architecture and interior convey clean lines and no fuss but new choice in decor has it looking shabby/ vintage with watering pots, mannequins and old suitcases- weird miss match and art work is brash and cheap. Great value for money hotel in great location but could be so much better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water on the morning of our 2nd day which meant that we could not use the shower. This was highly inconvenient.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location allows easy access to most parts of London. There was no noise disturbance during the night. All staff at the hotel were happy to help with any issues/

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no alcohol served in the hotel that I was aware of. Definitely not at dinner. Also the receptionist was not very informative.

    The location of the hotel is ideal. It is only a 10 minute walk from tower bridge with a bus stop only 2 minute walk from the hotel. The bed was very comfy and we had a fabulous view of the London Skyline.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant downstairs does not serve alcohol and the food its very mediorcre and overpriced. I don't recommend anyone to buy stake there, I felt they precook it, how can stake order come back to you in 4 minutes and be barely warm?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dirty. No security on front desk. Nobody asked who we were and easy to access floors. Room door did not close properly.

    Good location but not boutique.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in and check out ALWAYS takes ages. This really does need streamlining.

    Everything you need for a nights stay in London. Staff are friendly. Breakfast was lovely with coffee on tap. Clean facilities. Everything you need toiletries wise. Great location for places to eat and close to the Shard for spectacular view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - some people might find not having a bar a problem but there was a Sainsbury's across the road and a fridge in the room, and plenty of local pubs and bars.

    Beautiful spacious room with a private terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Very well located for my business meeting and for restaurant the night before. Excellent facilities and very helpful knowledgeable staff. Great rooms. This was our second visit and really enjoyed both and applaud the great value the hotel offers. Looking forward to our next visit. Well done

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean hotel, we’d a great view of the Shard and London Eye. Would recommend it to others and would definitely stay there again. It’s very central to lots of attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to open the hotel windows

    Very clean hotel, rooms have tea/coffee making facilities which is always welcome, the showers are powerful. Excellent location close to lots of boutique Restaraunts & Pubs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got stuck in the elevator, luckily another guest was able to get help.

    Overall stay was fine, reminds me of an upgraded Ibis hotel. Basic and gets the job done for a business stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff, well designed rooms with really nice 'touches' (like a 'window' in the shower screen so that you could turn it on without being soaked. Lovely breakfast - recomend that avocado on toast with poached eggs - mmmm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like that none of the windows open. When we arrived the aircon was on high. This I really didn't appreciate. I personally hate aircon. Because you can't open the windows you can't get any fresh air. This isn't nice. It was hot and stuffy in the morning and the aircon was the only option. Not good. We were only there for one night so not too much of an issue. For a longer stay it would be a problem for me not to be able to get fresh air in the room.

    The layout I do the room is original, we like that it's not standard bed against wall and that you wake up facing the window. We were on the sixth floor so could enjoy a nice view as well. This was lovely. Bathroom is great too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady in Reception was rude and not very helpful when i explained that the vent in my room was very noisy and I couldn’t sleep well. She laughed at me when I explained the noise and said maintenance couldn’t come to fix it so I had to change rooms which was a hassle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed for my daughter was so uncomfortable that we had to ask reception to bring us a soft duvet to cover the mattress! No alcohol served in the restaurant.

    Very good food in restaurant. Kids' menu was especially good value for money. Comfortable bed and spacious, quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the lighting in the room was very dark, the room also got very hot and stuffy as there was no windows that could be opened but thankfully the aircon helped. Only downside of the location is how far the hotel is from the tube station

    Very big and spacious room. Lovely view of the square, so many luxury toiletries and the best shower I have ever had in a hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The second time we stayed the room rate had increased by 50%. We stayed on the second floor, which seemed noisier and didn't feel as comfortable as the fifth floor, where we stayed the first time. It seems the higher the better.

    We stayed at the Bermondsey Square Hotel for several days on two separate occasions in a three week period The location for us is superb. Close to the amenities we needed, restaurants, cafes, the river, Tower Bridge, and the City, if you like to walk. It is clean, comfortable, has free wifi, the staff are helpful, and the restaurant is good. Hotel is good value, as long as the rates are right. We paid under 100 pounds a night on our first stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas are nicely appointed and modern, but the bedroom and bathrooms are dated and in need of redecorating. I can imagine a few years ago it was a very fashionable hotel, but there is a faded glory about the place and parts of the bedroom I'd describe as tatty (the grouting in the shower was dirty, the shower door didn't sit properly and the office desk was badly scuffed). The temperature in the bedroom was far too hot - despite having the air-conditioning on full, the temperature got no cooler. The queue for checkout was huge.

    Nice location, surrounded by great pubs and restaurants. Good selection of papers in the room and restaurant. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was asked for a security deposit on arrival despite having paid for my room in advance which was to cover for theft/stealing of items in the room?! Toilet was broken in my room when I checked in - had to change rooms to another floor. Staff unhelpful and seemed put out to do basic things - print me an invoice at check out, refund my deposit, change my room when I told them my toilet was broken. Having stayed here around 20 times (admittedly not for 3 or 4 months now) this hotel is not the friendly welcoming hotel I used to stay at.

    Location - great independent cinema across the square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it was, the rooms look unusual on the photos but in reality all they have done is put the bed on an angle, the furniture is very minimal. It's a little tired too, chipped paint and a couple of cracked tiles.

    The breakfast area is quirky and pleasant. Great situation to visit Southwark and the Shard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't possible to cool the room down to the temp we preferred.

    Perfect location! Able to walk easily to sightsee or find restaurants/pubs on Bermondsey!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine for our needs

    The hotel staff especially night shift was so helpful. On our first stay, the accommodated our early checking request. We had needed some rest after the overnight flights. It was very much appreciated. On our second stay a week later. We arrived very late from gatwick and we're famished/tired. The staff put together a nice tray of cookies muffins and tea for us to munch on. Anything we needed, they helped provide like this tools to fix a broken piece of luggage. We enjoyed our stay and found it relaxing. We definitely choose it again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel web site suggests Tower Bridge station (quite a walk away), when Bermondsey street bus stop is right outside. When I asked for an adapter to charge my phone, they sold me an adapter which I returned as there were several UBS points in the room. They could have reminded me at check in that breakfast was not included, rather than me being confronted with it at breakfast time. The restaurant is not licensed. This is of course a positive to many!

    I really liked the style/decor of the rooms and the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was lovely! It is in a very well known part of London. It plenty to offer, and more affordable than north of the Themes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcohol not available. Only one lift working.

    Complimentary tea & coffee during the day. Night receptionist was very helpful in booking a taxi for the following morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioners in some rooms a bit noisy. Rooms could be better lit. Toilet bowls need bleaching round the bend at the bottom.

    Staff very pleasant. Liked the view over the square. Stayed here at four different times over my holiday. Check in and check out easy, location perfect for me. Very happy with my experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bermondsey Square Hotel - A Bespoke Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: