Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Imperial Hotel 3 stars

Fraser Square, Fort William, PH336DW, United Kingdom

#11 of 14 hotels in Fort William

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1827 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired, dirty, and smelly. First given a single room for 2 people. Then offered one which stank. No apologies, just handed yet another key for one of their 'superior' rooms. No where to put luggage, poor quality windows, 'four poster' which was on the verge of collapse. Horrible place, and a shame Fort William can't do better. The saddest thing was that of our 5 stays walking the West Highland Way, this was the most expensive, and absolutely the worst.

    only the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two twin rooms and both rooms were very tired looking and the bathrooms were tatty. In one of the rooms the plumbing was so noisy that we could hear it down the corridor. Pillows were really cheap, hard and flat as biscuits (why do hotels do that when decent pillows cost comparatively little?) and there was only one on each bed. The room was stuffy and noisy. Staff were slow and very reactive - didn't seem bothered and struggled to summon a smile. Breakfast was average with cheap sausages but we were given two eggs. Thought it was expensive for the standard.

    The hotel is very convenient for the centre of Fort William - walking distance of the shops and overlooking the Loch. The evening meal was nice and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Scottish staff at all. Breakfast staff had no smile at all and difficulty understanding us re tea request for Earl Grey tea. Brought green tea!!

    Good central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lots are limited and the bathroom is small, there are no room slippers provided. The drawer & wardrobe are very old. It is not a place to stay if you have big luggage as there are no lifts in the property.

    The location of the hotel is good and the food at the restaurant was not bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every floorboard and every door made a noise. The walls are so thin they hide nothing. As I had to be up at 4am I was in bed by 9pm. That was a waste of time as I could hear everyone as they eventually made there way to bed.

    Convenient for my excursion to tackle Ben Nevis. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Rooms are very small 2. No facility for people with special needs (like lifts etc). Extremely difficult for people to go to 1st or 2nd floor 3. Room carpets needs to be changed as they are extremely dull 4. Shower does not work

    Friendliness of the staff and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor poor value for money. Stayed with partner expecting double beds.. only single bed. No fridge or amenities. Breakfast was poor! A lot a money spent to stay for one night. Hotel very dated. Toilet/bathroom was horrible!

    It was neat to the waterside & town centre, which was very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive almost London prices without the service. Rooms were basic. Sink did not drain and was told the maintainable man would fix it in two days as he did not work weekends. Ran the shower but could not turn off the bath taps so the pressure not good. Breakfast was pre cooked so eggs dry. Some staff weren’t helpful and some were very good especially the bar staff who were great. Not a hotel I would rush back to

    The location was very good for central town and Ben Nevis

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no power socket/bedside table next to the bed. The room was quite outdated in style but it did not really bother me.

    Location in the city center, good breakfast, spacious room. It was also handy to be able to control the heating in the room as it was a bit chilly outside in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, the view advertised is false! If you lean out the window, you catch a side glimpse of the sea. There are condo's right smack in front of the Inn blocking the sea view. Shame on Booking.com for advertising a sea view. Also, no elevator, had to schlepp our suitcases up 2 floors. The restaurant closes at 9pm so we had to drive into town for dinner. Inconvenient as we were tired. Much nicer places to stay right on the Sea

    Reception was lovely, rooms & bathroom were clean. Breakfast was also great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is tired, shabby and grimy. Fan in windowless bathroom did not work. Bedside lamp broken. Very limited parking facilities.

    Staff very helpful and reasonable - no cancellation cgarge when we cancelled a second night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit dated and no lift (which wasn't a problem for us but might be for those less abled). The shower was broken

    super well located and perfect for a night in fort william

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a little love to freshen up

    The female concierge was extremely friendly and really went out of her way to make sure our car was parked in an area we wouldn’t get a fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is obviously a budget hotel so you can’t expect too much but I can’t say I warmed to the staff a whole lot. They were efficient and what not but it was as though no one really cared.

    The hotel is in a good location, the room was fine, and the food was good. We had dinner and breakfast and both were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise but that is to be expected given the location.

    Location is really central. Room was small but had everything you need. Comfortable bed but in need of a bit of upgrading. Bathroom was very modern and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to move room, boiler for entire floor in my room too noisy - moved to another room facing the road and next to entrance, also loud, too hot in room, facilities not great, staff not helpful, was meant to get company invoice but, they refused to allow this and had to pay on arrival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed felt as if it could do with a new mattress and the bathroom needs a lick of paint as well as a heater other than the small towel rail.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast was enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift (I knew that) some of the stairs are steep and in places there are no hand rails!

    Location is right in the centre of town Within 10 walk to the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was tired looking, rooms were basic but clean and was very overpriced.

    The location was fantastic, right next to the main street. Had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant on the premises where the waitress that served us was brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very noisy, for example the ventilation system in the bathroom. So you will wake up early when someone in the hotel takes a shower. The location is great, but since Fort William is very small, it is not necessary to be in the city centre.

    The hotel was right in the city centre and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AVOID ROOM 16 at all costs if you want to get any sleep!! Terrible room!! The noise from the sports pub across the road til 2am was HORRENDOUS !! And then there was the added noise from all the clearly old pipes in hotel..... The room is very shabby and worn, hole in wall, flaking paint in bathroom and damp across bedroom ceiling. I saw other room that family were in at front of hotel which was better quality, with loch view for same price as this awful room we got facing pubs!! Very, very disappointed. Feel irritated paying £110 for this for a night. 😡😡😡 DEFINATELY WILL NOT BE BACK.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room looked a bit tired. Painting the walls white instead of yellow would already improve things a lot.

    The Imperial Hotel is right in the heart of Fort William. My room had a nice view of Loch Linnhe. The room was spacious and fairly comfortable. In the morning I enjoyed the cooked breakfast and was impressed by the efficient staff. The hotel is a bit of a maze with lots of stairs and corridors. But it gives the place character and reminded me of an M.C. Escher drawing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not a problem for me, but there is no lift- which could be a problem for persons of limited mobility. There is an insatiable desire to change the towels every day. The hotel needs to adopt a more environmentally friendly policy. I could use the same towel for two days (at least).

    The location is very central, just 1 minute from the high street, 10 minutes from the rail/bus station and just across the road for a waterfront stroll. The staff were very friendly, food and drink prices were very reasonable. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Checking in and out was so simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was far too hot in the room which made it too hot to sleep ,and the photo of the car park didn't really show how small the car park was. Would be nice to have the option for spouse on this review instead of partner as I am sure some people still prefer the title husband or wife.

    The breakfast was tasty and the room comfortable. The views were gorgeous from the breakfast room and the meals in the restaurant was lovely and all the staff were very available to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY small for double room. We couldn’t actually pass each other and we are not big. A bigger person would not have been able to use the tiny shower. No atmosphere in hotel. Limited bar and my partners lager had a musty smell and taste. No place to put my case unless I was tripping over it. Open the door to shower room and had to step back to get in. Hair dryer had a hole and I could see element

    Beds were comfy. Room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls of bedroom very thin so disturbed by tv and conversation from next door. Information in room states daily papers are available in lounge but receptionist said no they are not. Very soggy croissants put out under heat lamp. Did not feel inclined to try!

    Convenient for station and town amenities. Lovely view from my room over the Loch and mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of a hand rail on the short flight of stairs by the glass window. All the other flights had good hand rails. Why this one is missing is very odd.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    need to advertise no lift, had to carry heavy cases up two floors of awkward stair case. Floor in attic type room uneven, bed uncomfortable. Skylight in bathroom overlooked by two other windows. Lost TV signal on small old TV by pressing Prev Ch on remote , known by staff. Worst hotel out of the 10 stayed in so far

    Lovely staff, great breakfast, Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent for train station, and the hotel allowed us to leave our car in their car park while we went on the Harry Potter steam train. They also looked after our bicycles for us. We were also pleased to be given a free room upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be great to have a small fridge in the room and more flexible times for breakfast.

    Location is perfect. The bedroom was comfortable as well. The restaurant has several options and enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our windown just opened to the fire exist stair and the water in the bathroom doesn't function well

    The location itself is great but the room is too small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude, didn’t understand English very well and we was only provided 9 beds when I clearly showed an email showing a booking for 11 people!! Didn’t want to do anything to help us out and didn’t want to give any extra beds or rooms. Defo wouldn’t recommend for family or if you have kids!!

    Breakfast was good and so was the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel that needs a lot of updating!!!!!! No elevator so be aware! There are many flights of stairs you have to climb! There was no parking available after it stated we would have parking when we booked..... the girl upfront suggested we park in the lot in front where it clearly stated no overnight parking! Worst hotel on our 2 week vacation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was amazing! The staff were super helpful and went above and beyond to help us when we left my sons blanket in the room and they mailed it to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast nice but no tattie scones. Parking was limited so had to pay to park in nearby car park.

    Campbell Room was excellent. Comfortable bed and excellent jacuzzi bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasnt nice, rooms were decaddent and cold, pipes making a lot of noise all night making it impossible to sleep, raining inside the rooms. Food wasnt good..

    View of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor if you don’t go for the fried eggs option. The room was dirty and the shower didn’t work unless you turned on the sink! We were alocated in a room that wad far from being close to the images published in booking and had to complain. Fortunately the staff understood the situation and tried to accomodate us in an adequate double bed. The corridor smelled quite bad, as id there was a lot of dust in the carpet. Cold air entered through the window all night. In the end didn’t care so much cause scotland needs to be seen outside any hotel anyway! But will not repeat stay and wouldn’t recommend this hotel as it is today.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt get cold water in shower unless pressure was really low so took too long, if pressure turned up showering was impossible as it was too hot

    Location was excellent, breakfast was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking around the hotel is very limited, finding a parking space was quite difficult.

    Imperial Hotel is conveniently located in Fort William town centre, just a few minute walk to the high street, rail station etc. Also, it is situated next to the Loch with very nice views. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had no lift and ample stairs.

    We booked the hotel for a one night stay while in the highlands. One must note that this hotel has no lift and lots of stairs if one has difficulties to climb stairs. We were a group of 5 (3 youth and 2 elderly). We booked a triple room and a twin room. The rooms were clean and warm. The twin room was large enough with ample space to spare. The triple room was a bit cramped however comfortable enough. It was a bit of a hassle to carry the luggage for 2 storeys. There were tea/coffee making facilities. Staff throughout the stay were very helpful and polite. It is near amenities which is convenient. When we arrived it was too early to check in but we had parked in the public car park next to the hotel. We then went to Glencoe and after returning we were able to park the van in one of the few spaces right outside the hotel free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a blind or something in the bathroom. Anyone could see in the window no problem at all. Had to leave light off at night and use the light shining in from outside for some privacy as the street behind was a little busy.

    Clean and spacious. Staff were very welcoming. Great location. Right at the Main Street and the seafront. We did have a room at the back of the hotel but we were out all day so not a problem for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shower water was always on super hot temperature and could not be regulated even though there was a sign next to it on how to fix it on our own. Walls are not isolated and we could hear other rooms and their running water. Breakfast was minimalistic and did not serve enough coffee. Parking spots were very limited.

    Great location. Right at the water and close to many restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally the hotel, seemed dated and there was a problem with the water pressure in the shower. There was a note on the shower wall providing information on how to "fix" the water pressure problem but this didn't seem to work. I also heard another couple upon check-out saying they had no hot water in the morning. The hairdryer in the room was also temperamental. The staff were ok - no frills stay.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was a good size and the location was only a short walk to the local pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 5 which needs to be avoided! The kitchen extractor runs up the wall just outside our room, emitting a continuous drone, had we been informed of this we would have payed extra for a room the other side overlooking the loch.

    The breakfast was very good, the hotel was nicely situated, everything was supplied in bathroom with nice clean towels, over all not a bad choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking facility Small bedroom and small bathroom Difficulty in understanding the staff Breakfast was average

    Large comfortable bed Position of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had expected better interior for a Best Western hotel (my single room was quite different to photos on website) Bed was VERY soft

    Location was great & central Staff was very helpful and flexible (sent breakfast to room, as I had to leave before 7am)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking facilities. Just about managed to get a space but tight. Would struggle to get a space if the hotel was fully booked.

    Beds reasonably comfortable, though the pillows were rather hard. Fresh towels each day. Excellent. Restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Disappointing but plenty of places in the high street. Lots of external noise into the early hours from night clubbers shouting. (03:00) Excellent breakfast and breakfast room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very dated and felt a unclean, it also smelled greasy from food and like paint fumes, which gave me a headache. The pipe work was absolutely ridiculous, every time we flushed the toilet it sounded like something from War of the Worlds. Too noisy.

    Enjoyed my breakfast :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses need toppers, new water pump for the toilet, service excellence training!

    I appreciate your initiative to refurb the seemingly old building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit sad looking on the outside but you don’t go away for the weekend to stand and look at the hotel from the outside so it didn’t really matter

    The bed was comfy, the room was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts at 08:00 on Sunday a bit late. We were given a breakfast to go bag instead though

    Nice hotel in the town center with bar and food available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgrading (though aware they are doing some work) Furnishings in room faux leather and very worn in places No signs on the shower to explain hot or cold (hot was actually scalding so could be dangerous) Food average

    Location Food Decor No lift and no indication guest rooms all upstairs - my husband has mobility problems and struggled Door to bathroom very difficult to open from inside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room 41 there was a constant sound like dripping water or something blowing about in the wind which made getting any decent amount of sleep virtually impossible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area and staircase smelt of old fried food (bedroom smelt fine). Bathroom looked a bit worn, e.g our shower slider rail was held together with parcel tape. The cooked breakfast was not good at all, the bacon was rubbery/slimy, the tomato was bone dry etc. Everything had been under a heat lamp for way too long.

    Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was warm and comfortable with plenty of space for suitcases. Bathroom is clean and spacious with a shower over a bath. Really convenient location to town - loads of great pubs and restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members smoking right outside the main entrance doors. Then wearing a hoodie behind the welcome desk the next day. Very unprofessional and made me feel very uncomfortable.

    Large towels, tea and coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was fairly comfortable if a little dated. bathroom was nice and recently refubished. Hotel was very comfortable overall and bar area / food both very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time we've stayed at this hotel. Although the decor is rather dated inside, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff are extremely friendly. Would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Imperial Hotel is in a great location for all the amenities.

    The Imperial Hotel is a great place to stay, my wife and I were due to arrive 4 hours early before our booking in time so when i emailed the Reception Tina offered for the hotel to store the bags behind Reception until our room was ready. We were offered and up grade for an Executive room with a spar bath which we made good use of after our walk to the whiskey distillery. The room we stayed in was well maintained very clean and warm, there was loads of space with comfortable chairs to sit in. There were tea/coffee making facilities which were topped up daily very happy with the room. Staff throughout the stay were very helpful and polite. Food was at a high standard and very tasty. The Imperial Hotel helped finish off our stay in Fort William and made this a place we will return. Kind regards Dean Rushby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior decor and bathroom are old fashioned. Floorboards creek as other guests walk through the corridors

    The location on the loch shore was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be great if there was a lift:)but at least were was a guy to help with the luggage.

    The room was spotless and quite(as requested on arrival), reception staff were very helpful and friendly. No faults at all!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The room was a decent size with a four poster bed which was ultra comfortable. The ensuite bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath plus a shower, All in all a very decent room. The proximity of the hotel is excellent as it is in the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room was poor. Room was next to very noisy sports bar outside could also hear bottles clanking into a bin outside. We also had noisy guest in the next room who were drunk and apparently had locked themselves out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dependant on your room, you would get noise from a sports bar across the road until late at night.

    Good options with the breakfast, and central location in fort William

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the fixtures were new, the building was old and creaky. You could hear guests going up and down the stairs.

    The bed was comfy and the bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was going well except my sausage was not cooked and very cold inside. Did tell staff member who apologised

    Staff always friendly and very helpful cannot fault their eagerness to make everything is okay for your stay. Also had another upgrade as we always stay at your hotel. Although the jacuzzi is very difficult to use still haven’t managed it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub didn't have any hot water, which is really kinda a 1st world problem to be honest.

    We got upgraded to a really nice suite for free yay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room awful. Ended up extending our stay, so no shower for 2 days. We did not want to be disturbed ! Have reported to reception on booking out

    Staff friendly and helpful and not invasive, comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motion sensor skirting board lights kept coming on due to light under the room door but we blocked it with a towel. Also I was not tall enough to activate it. But since it was a novelty I couldn't really complain about it.

    It's location, the price and the jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange unnecessary objects in the room! Sad dried flowers...A garden ornament(fairy)...Horrible picture on the wall(You must have some nice pictures of Scotland). And the mirror should be hung inside wardrobe door. The curtains on the bed(really!) block the light from the wall lamps. It could be a beautiful room. Get rid of the clutter!!

    Staff were welcoming and hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off late in the evening when we were in bed. Although it quickly stopped an hour later someone opened the door without introduction. This turned out to be the fire service checking the dector. Hotel staff could have escorted the fire service to advise that they would be coming in before opening the door, especially as it was late at night.

    Clean and presentable room with friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was an icebox. Even with the heated towel rail on continuously. There was a fire alarm at about 11:30PM, after Reception had closed. The staff member who attended didn't seem to know what to do. His initial response was to just silence the alarm and send us all back to our rooms. The guests however were having none of that and persuaded him to investigate further. He disappeared upstairs, and came back after a while, and the upshot was that we all went back to our rooms. I didn't hear what he'd found (if anything), but people near him seemed satisfied. About an hour later, the fire brigade arrived and went round checking all the rooms and smoke detectors. Two things strike me. Staff need to be trained in what to do in the event of a fire alarm. Also, at no stage that I'm aware of was any attempt made to check if everyone ad evacuated safely.

    The food was good, with a wide variety of choice. The room was comfortable, so I slept pretty well. Staff were friendly and helpful for the most part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, very old and tired. Dirty curtains, intermittent hot water in the shower. Fire alarm went off last night, guests evacuated, it took forever for the hotel staff to surface. The guy in charge silenced the alarm and order guests to go back to their rooms without checking what has triggered the alarm! We all insisted on getting a fire brigade to check as we didn’t feel safe. General manager was no why to be seen, guy in charge kept lying to us saying that GM is on his way etc. Fire brigade arrived, checked every single room. We were told the fire alarm should not be silenced and re- set, fire brigade should have been called in first instance.Electrical appliances not tested since 2013! Same with fire extinguishers. No fire procedures in place whatsoever. Not safe place to stay at all, I didn’t sleep last night worrying that something will go wrong. Will not recommend this place, even if it was free of charge.

    Location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and our room 27 on 2nd floor so not easy access when you have a lot of damp ski clothing which needs hung up to dry out and luggage for a whole family. I also had to complain twice as shower cut out due to no hot water. Was offered a twin room which could be made into a double but I had to point we were a family in a family room so this wasn’t suitable !!! Had no hot water in sink or shower from 4pm when we arrived until 7am next morning (we checked out at 9.30am). Hot water in shower next morning came on but was scolding and you couldn’t lower temperature otherwise shower would cut off. My 8 yr old son went in first and discovered this by which time he had burned himself !!!

    Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NOTHING we never like IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND ANY FAULTS

    I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL IT WAS FANTASTIC SPOTLESS FRIENDLY NO WORDS CAN EXPRESS HOW MUCH WE LOVED OUR STAY WE STAYED IN LOTS HOTELS IN FORTWILLIAM AND THIS ONE EXCEEDS ALL OFF THE OTHER ONES 100% CANT FAULT IT IN ANYWAY X

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts . Some areas need decorating & some carpets need replacing , not a nice view from our room . Pricey menu .

    Location good , clean though could do with redecorating in parts , good breakfast , parking close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Imperial Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: