Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citrus Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality (Formerly Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne) 3 stars

King Edward Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 4EB, United Kingdom

#18 of 36 hotels in Eastbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1981 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor complaint on the freshness of the bread at breakfast. Little green spots on the crusts. They dealt with this promptly once it was mentioned quietly to a member of staff.

    Great location with a great view from our window. This was a visit for a family funeral & a trip down memory lane. The staff were very helpful & sympathetic. We were impressed with how often the hot breakfast items were checked & if necessary were replaced. When we arrived we realised there wasn’t an official car park but the hotel provide you with a parking permit for just £1 per day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pipes noisy so woken up during the night due to this noise.

    Clean room and great location for local restaurants. Parking is on the street and reasonably price (£1 a day between 8am and 6pm and free during other times)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was some dust and dirt in my room and design could be a bit more modern or cozy.

    It was nice and simple. The location was amazing and it covered my basic needs perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wornout mattress ,wallpaper hanging off walls ,windows were filthy,cobwebs hanging from ceilings,dust&dirt on skirting boards& window frame, (clean)teamugs in dining room full of tea stains, glasses full of water stains, overall very shabby.

    staff were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poached eggs were not available on the Breakfast menu. The standard room comprising 2 x single beds: the sides of both beds were covered with a woolly/fleece like fabric which looked worn.

    The professionalism and helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't really anything I disliked. As a vegan perhaps soya milk could have been on offer at breakfast, or porridge rather than sugary cereals but this is only a very minor niggle.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, clean rooms with all basics provided plus a sea view. The location is very good, only a 10 minute walk to the town centre and even less to the pier. The railway station and bus stops are also within easy reach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and the heater was close to the bed, which is a problem during the warm months. They were happy to offer a portable heater anyhow.

    It was conveniently located. Seafront and just opposite the Wish Tower park where you can start your leisurely walk along the coast. Good for solo backpackers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, so clean the room and the staff was professional. The unique problem was the breakfast because there weren’t a variety of fresh fruit, and a variety of bread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at Midnight and two ofo ur rooms were disgusting, and had not been cleaned. The man on reception was not helpful at all and ended up shouting at a colleague down the phone.

    The bar area was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed very uncomfortable. The bed squeaked with the slightest movement. There was a dead spider in our room. There was mould on the windows and in the bathroom. I didn't have a proper sleep for the duration of my stay as the beds were so bad. We would not recommend staying here.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really is nothing to dislike.

    The Hotel is just perfect,we have used it many times it was The Big Sleep before and now included in you B and B is a full English breakfast which is very good.The Hotel is situated at the quieter end of Eastbourne and again this is perfect for a wonderful walk from the hotel along the sea front to the pier .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a Mirror by dressing table. Shower instead of bath or lower bath. Cooked breakfast limited and bland and not particularly good quality. No lift up to reception Bed very umcomfortablle Pillows need replacing with plumper better quality

    Reasonable value for money. Location good. Good continental breakfast. Good to see furry curtains have disappeared

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to rethink about placement of desk in room, this makes it difficult to shut the curtain fully across the window. Also only one hard chair in a double room!!

    This is potentially a good hotel however still in need of some work to bring it up to a better standard. It is clean, fresh just little bits let it down. It would still be our 1st choice when visiting Eastbourne as it is in a good position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm, but windows did not open more than a couple of inches. Wet room shower area just filled with water and flooded room spreading to the bedroom. Using bathroom afterwards meant sloshing through an inch or two of water.

    Location was useful for beer festival at winter gardens. Parking permit was good to allow parking close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair on the cup in the bathroom was a let down. Seems they do not follow the trend and wrap the plastic cups in plastic. I decided that I would not use them. The sink plug worked on a lever system that was not functioning.

    The breakfast was good. Room was pretty much what I expected for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water took an age to come through to the bathroom. We would turn the shower and sink hot water taps on for a good 10 mins before the water warmed up sufficiently to bathe. The hotel has an obvious plumbing problem, not only in the delivery of hot water but also with ‘pipe hammering’. We were woken every morning by the noise, which was really loud and sounded like an industrial drill. The worse night was being woken at 4.45 am. I complained to the night receptionist and was told that the hotel’s plumber could do nothing about the problem but recommended the guests turn on one of their taps or flush the toilet to stop the noise. I suggested that this was an unacceptable solution and maybe the installation of a water pipe actuator might work better. I did not get the impression my suggestion was well received! As it was, turning on the taps did not work and we were kept awake until 6.00 am by the noise. With the exception of one member of staff, the rest seemed oblivious and unconcerned that waking guests in the middle of the night is completely unacceptable. The priority for any hotel is to provide a safe, comfortable and good nights sleep to their guests. This clearly is not the primary aim for this hotel.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful during check-in. The location on the sea front was very nice and despite the bank holiday weekend, we always managed to get a car park nearby. The room was okay and the beds reasonably comfortable. The wifi was free, easy to access and pretty fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet needs more vacuuming as we saw hairs on closer inspection.

    Our suite is spacious,the carpet is soft to the feet which we really loved. We liked that there is tea making facility and there is even an iron and board!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t particularly dislike anything although the option of fried eggs with breakfast would have been nice.

    Public lounge was a nice comfortable place to sit. Bedroom was basic but perfectly clean and adequate. The games room was very handy on the day that it poured with rain. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more selection of breakfast items. For myself and my partner a cooked breakfast is a once or twice yearly treat and didn't feel there was a great choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double + Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little disappointing and served on small side plates, which made it difficult to keep your food on the plate.

    We were very pleased to have a room with a sea view, which was an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress a bit too firm for my taste. Rather a lot of light pollution especially from bathroom -no door - which made room airier but meant a lot of light cam through venetian blind - an additional black out blind would help.

    One of best single rooms I have stayed in. Well designed room, bright fresh and airy. Well thought out use of space. Full sized bath added bonus. Good choice of breakfast foods at all you can eat buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy dirty reception, dripping shower in the night, decor like an abandoned set from 'Changing Rooms', dingy lighting in the room. A grim but mercifully brief stay.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were quite lumpy Got a phone call just as we all fell asleep after 10pm to ask if we'd ordered food! Woke us all up Walls were thin so heard someone next door to us snoring - woke us all at 5am!

    The breakfast was really nice Very clean place Right opposite the beach Brilliant that you could buy drinks and snacks in the reception - including alcohol Staff were really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and friendly. Always available to help out when needed. Stayed at the hotel to attend a family funeral and the staff were very sympathetic. Room clean and tidy and the breakfast available was lovely. Had a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, continental and full English at a very good price. Excellent location right on the sea front. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and staff, awful breakfast no fried egg and beans looked 10 days old. The play area had very old pool table broken table tennis rackets. It was all old and the hotel needs a proper update

    Very uncomfortable beds and very miserable staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. Hot food left too long on hot plate. Bacon chewy and scrambled egg hard. Better to cook as ordered. For that reason if I stayed at hotel again I would opt out of breakfast as this is a add on.

    Clean basic room good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not easy, had to circle round ages to find a space, even with a parking permit. The breakfast is terrible. They order the cheapest food possible. I stayed for two nights and tried to cancel the second breakfast (that I paid extra for), but some rude guy on the desk with a hole in his ear could not care less and had no interest in his job. The other young man was nice though. The standard double room is incredibly underwhelming. I was embarassed when I walked through the door with my partner. It was run down. I go on a lot of weekend trips and this is the first time I’ve felt like I’ve completely wasted my money. Do not stay here. There’s even a sign in the bathroom that says if you remove a small bottle of shampoo (the ones that typically come with the room) they charge you £5! The hotel is not value for money in the slightest.

    The only thing I liked was that it was in Eastbourne.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Rooms were a bit run down but adequate. We were very surprised to be charged £10 a night for the dog at the end of our stay. At no point did we know that this charge would be made. We come to Eastbourne often and would use hotel again as good value but not with £20 on top of room rate - so will be sadly looking for other dog friendly accommodation.

    Good location especially as we had a dog. Given good room as requested, on ground floor to make dog walking easier. Shower and towels good Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fleece around bed not healthy. Walk in shower floor stained not very inviting. Breakfast very overpriced for what was available, silly little plates. One draught beer, people will drink elsewhere.

    Snack machine a bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling customer service. My 8 year old accidentally booked a room for the day before we actually arrived when she was playing around with the computer. Hotel would not refund or offer another date we could transfer to. While accepting the hotel is within its rights to stand by the terms and conditions, if this is the way the hotel treats its customers I'd advise to avoid at all costs.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift from street entrance to reception area, just a flight of stairs, which I had to climb using a crutch. The sound from the TV in the lounge/ bar area was very poor. Perhaps it wasn't intended to be watch.

    Breakfast was not generous. But it was in a nice sunny room facing the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been softer found them a bit hard

    It was within walking distance of the sea,the theatre and the local shops and It was very clean.Loved the lounge are with comfortable settees'

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a flashing bulb in the bathroom in room 205.

    Locality was good, it is now much more pleasant than when it was the Big Sleep. Rooms have been nicely refurbished and decorated furniture basic but for somewhere to sleep and get ready to go out it was okay. Staff are much more customer service focussed. Breakfast was better also. I liked having a room with a sea view. As a Hotel guest parking near the hotel and seafront is £1 per day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double + Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot and the only way to cool it was by using a desk fan. Although some of the windows can be opened, the hotel has installed latches that prevents them from being opened more than a few centimetres. The water pressure in the shower was quite weak.

    Big comfortable room with a great view of the beach and pier. Excellent location directly across the street from the beach and only a short walk from the train station. Numerous tasty options for the unlimited self-service breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that They gave us first , the Window didnt open , there was No handle. When i went to Tell to the Recepționist the lady Said if there is No handle means you cant open. At the end She gave us another room wich was nice and more clean Then the other and we could open the window.

    Recepționist was verry nice and polite At the check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the Bar could have been better stocked Although the breakfast was very good value I felt it was very limited

    We had a triple Room which was very comfortable for 3 people Good space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tea and coffee was not great. Breakfast good. No tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Fab location, nice to eat breakfast in a bright spacious room with view of the ocean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had two settings boiling or freezing. Breakfast to go was an absolute embarrassment. Room was boiling with just a noisy fan to help

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we didn't like. Everything was perfect.

    Perfect location, right across from the beach. We had a wonderful view from our room. Room was very spacious. We didn't feel cramped like you sometimes do in similar hotels for the same price. The hotel and the room were very, very clean. And the hotel staff were great; very friendly, helpful and polite. They made our stay even more perfect. We would highly recommend the Citrus Hotel to anyone who wants to have a stress-free holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of food was very low budget Poor lighting especially in the bathroom at night if you put the light on everyone can see straight in! rough people hanging around outside of the building made us feel uneasy, need to control who comes in to stay.

    I have stayed here before when it was the Big Sleep nd it is now looking shabby. The breakfast was ok but definitely made on the tightest of budgets and when we requested a fried egg instead of scrambled the answer was no, despite the restaurant being empty. Also not very nice people hanging around outside at night, drug addicts, didn't feel very safe and a couple of the guests didn't make us feel very safe either - coming in drugged up with beer cans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge apartment could have done with separation from living room area. No toaster. Kitchen was literally a cupboard (open doors to sink and hob) had to boil kettle on living room floor. More noise from other occupants than traffic outside. Breakfast overpriced for children.

    Great location. Short walk to pier. Huge apartment. Ok for small kids but not teens who want privacy. Bathroom large inc bath/shower. Entertainments rooms with pool table and table tennis. WiFi inc. kids had a fantastic time. Lots of parking with parking permit £1 per day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eastbourne railway station is a fairly long walk from the seafront. There are rather steep steps leading up to reception.

    I had stayed here under the previous management and thought it much improved. The staff were most courteous and friendly and the meal that I had was first class. I was also pleased to find a vegetarian option. Would visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, as was the entire hotel. Room was too bright at night. Coffee cups hadn’t been washed up. Toilet area was rusty. Hairdryer hadn’t been serviced since 2016 and was blowing cold air. Window seemed broken. Dreadful condition throughout

    £1 parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night and couldn't have asked for anything more based on our needs.

    The family suite is comfortable and functional with it's own workstation catering perfectly for spontaneous needs of families with hungry kids and pets. Everything done to make our stay easy, comfortable and enjoyable. Friendly staff, breakfast was great and just across the road from the seafront! Couldn't have asked for more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no shampoo in the room Pressure of water for shower was horrible... No safty box No fridge

    The Location is great Near to national rail station Near to beachy head Near to pier And supermarket Friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property seemed not finished and bathroom floor was badly stained .

    Friendly staff and large modern room . Very reasonable price in good location....a real bonus £1 for parking .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not have muxh power and the temperature was a bit weird. The savoury breakfast could have been better. But still very good stay ! We woukd go again !

    The view was amazing ! And the room beautiful !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly unfortunate the hotel had had a new boiler or part fitted on Friday and in the middle of the night a knocking sound started. When I shut the bathroom door I was able to go back to sleep but I mentioned it at reception and they told us about the new boiler. So we realised it was probably an air lock in the system and it had stopped by morning. The next night it happened again and I went out into the corridor, it was directly in our bathroom although 309 and 311 at the end of the corridor could probably hear it too. I went back in and flushed the toilet three times and ran the tap and that cleared the noise and we didn't hear it again the next two nights. Just one of those things!

    Receptionists were extremely helpful and interested in what we had done, also knew the town well and could direct us to places. Very efficient with payment and storing our luggage for the day at the end of the break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall paper in the room was pealing off suggesting its old as dick and could do with a light touch up but thats it

    It was spacious lovely sea view staff where helpful also the parking for a quid was a right touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first day breakfast was good, the second day there were a lot more guests and I had to keep asking for things to be replenished, e.g juice, bread

    Staff were great and easy access to drinks at reception was good. Really enjoyed the games room with the table tennis and pool table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been using this hotel for the last 4 years was astonished to find they were charging £20 per night for pet since changing breakfast to buffet I didn’t like I preferd to be waited on liked the new carpet and curtains but furniture a bit shabby and bed mattress were well worn . The reception staff are excellent

    To be able to take dog

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was too old and the shower was not working properly (it was impossible to have a shower without burning yourself or freezing to death). Everywhere (and specially on the breakfast tables) we found human hair. They, initially, rejected to accept my parrot, although they stated in the site that they are pet-friendly. Finally they accepted to have him but with 20 extra pounds per night (the same rate as a big, stinky and barking dog, that by accident we show as we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were a bit hard for our taste, the bathroom sliding door would not close completely (by design) and there were some weird noises (plumbing maybe) throughout the night

    Bed was great, staff was really friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got an extremely good rate here and it is across the road from the sea, near the Towner gallery and the pier and walk to Beachy Head and the downs are at the ends of the road. Great break. I recommend the Belgian café too, great beer made on the premises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishing too early @ 9.30.

    Breakfast,top mark.Space,top mark. Lounge,bed,pillows,top mark. The constant warmth was the very ,very,very best thing. We had spent Thursday at the Hilton in Brighton for a spa and afternoon tea...corridors,seating area waiting for spa, tearoom?? Freezing cold. Bliss checking in citrus.. thank you sooooo much.😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only criticism was that the shower pressure was very weak, hardly worth mentioning!

    very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was bright and clean and had a sea view which was a bonus. Considering a full english breakfast is included this hotel is amazing value. Recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift needs attention as it wasn't working for several days though there was a service lift.

    Great view of the pier. Food was ok staff extremely helpful. Warm on some very cold days

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think the family rooms would benefit from having a dust pan and brush to clean up after the messy little ones

    Everything was perfect for our family of 9 in the studio room. Staff were polite and welcoming, breakfast was delicious-everybody found something they liked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had emailed in advance to ask if it was necessary to book the restaurant for a meal on the day we arrived. I received a rather vague reply that did not reveal there was no evening meal service - when we arrived we were told the receptionist could "heat up a curry or a pizza". The bar does not serve any draught beers. The breakfast buffet was good and hot but the same every day. It would have been nice to have a little variety when staying for several days.

    It was in a very good position. Room was a good size. Bed was very comfortable. Very clean. Staff very friendly. The voucher for all day on street parking outside the hotel was good value at £1 a day and I had no problem finding a parking place, but would not like to try it at the height of the season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being more central, close to the Seafront and ease of getting there.

    This was our first stay of many to come. Although undergoing refurbishment it did not impact on our stay. We travel to Eastbourne at least once a month to visit family and normal stay in Travel Lodge but it will now be Citrus Hotel as it was pleasant and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a bit cold and slightly archaic. Walls were pretty thin so I could hear the louder quests down the hall. Food was a tad bland.

    Room was a good size for a single. TV was well positioned on the wall with an adjustable angle. Table was comfortable enough to work. 24h reception + bar was really useful, lounge comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasn't very powerful and temperature difficult to manage. I also couldn't find anywhere to plug in the kettle in the kitchen area so had to plug it in on the floor - not very safe! It's a shame there wasn't any fresh milk provided - the UHT milk didn't go down well in our tea.

    The room was much larger than expected (with an extra set of bunks) with a kitchenette and dining area which I wasn't aware of - the kids thought it was the best hotel ever!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was better under the previous management . Choice of eggs whereas now it is simply what is laid out.

    Reception staff were particularly helpful in moving us to a much better room which was light,spacious and had a view. Original room allocation despite booking a month ahead was small, dark and with one curtained window overlooking a fire escape.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm going off at midnight because of someone smoking once again

    Stayed in the Suite this time and was brilliant nice and peaceful and large room clean as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant banging and crashing of doors all through the night and people having a party above and having loud sex until 6:30am not what you want let’s face it, but not really the hotels fault just bad clients

    New Carpets and room had a bit of a refurb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double + Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door of hotel would Not stay closed, it made reception and dining hall cold and droughty, showers in room 215 had no real pressure, the lift always felt as though it was about to break down.

    Great room, spacious and warm, with great views of the sea front, breakfast, was good with lovely sausages, staff were polite and helpful. Hotel was near to local shops and amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls have obviously suffered from damp at some point as the paint had bubbled near the windows and more worrying by one of the plug sockets. Due to the obvious change to the weather you would expect the heating to be on longer but it went off early and by 9pm the room was extremely cold. This was not helped by the draught coming from the windows. The potable heater didn't work and there was no replacement.

    The location and view from the suite we stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being refurbished and smelled of old carpets in the whole building. My bathroom was dirty and my shower was not producing hot water. This was complained about to reception upon check out and the receptionist took my details and said a manager would be in contact. Weeks went by and nothing happened. So I emailed the hotel myself to complain again and demand a refund for the poor service. I have still not heard any reply. I’m very disappointed that out of the many hotels Eastbourne has to offer, I chose this one and they let me down. I would still like a refund.

    Good parking and close to seafront.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small looked out on an internal set of stairs rooms was too hot lumpy bed too small pillows were hard Also when I checked in lovely girl on reception but the guys in reception never spoke no greeting when we came in thought that was awful when I asked for an iron the guy said oh i don't know I look for it hmmm

    Close to the seafront

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no mechanical ventilation in bathroom/toilet. (or at least it did not work) This combined with lack of window in toilet has unpleasant consequences. Building is very "acoustic". One can hear every conversation in the room next door.

    Nice clean room, Polite but not overzealous stuff. Liked breakfast too. I could see beach from my room's window. Plenty of parking space (at least off season). Very convenient check in and check out times (Check in after 15.00 check out 11.00)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could have been better, breakfast had been sat out for too long. Broken shower head in room. View over into a courtyard wasn't very appealing. Good value for money

    Room sizs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not operate the television try as I did but that was quickly rectified when I called reception as someone came up to help.

    The room was clean and spacious. I wasn’t expecting cooked breakfast so it was a nice surprise. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My children loved their stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Was straight forward no messaging about . But staff very friendly and happy . Enjoyed our first night wish we could had longer . We will use be hotel again soon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only place i have ever been too that did not have any plug sockets near bed for medical Cpap machine. Needed a reasonable extension to do so! Also difficult to place kettle. Had to carry across the room! Bathroom was chilly with no radiator. First day breakfast was a little naff. 5 option hot food but there was never enough to have a plate with all items. Needed to be kept a bit more ready. 2nd morning was better.

    Great location and a room for family of 6. Friendly staff. Basic room but good enough. Little kitchen area with microwave and small hob. Games room with free table tennis, darts and paid for pool table. Warm enough considering the very cold weather. Close to town and beach. Parking vouchers were £1 per day and ran out at 11am. Seemed clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit shabby, could do with a little tlc.

    A decent hotel for the price. Breakfast was basic but filling. Beds comfy. Requested a seaview but was slightly disappointed that you could only see it if you stood in the corner of the room or sat at the desk which was only for one person. Perhaps my fault for expecting a full on seaview. Staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: