Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4 stars

Bath Road, Reading, RG10 9UP, United Kingdom

#3 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great room terrible food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was some of the worst food we have ever tasted. It came out in less than 5 minutes leading us to believe it had been zapped in the microwave. It was well below average. The staff were extremely minimal and did just the bare minimum.

    The room was lovely. Very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. They also provided a fan which was great as it was very hot. Excellent location for Windsor, Marlow and Henley-on-Thames

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable , we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggested taxi firm we used , not the best! Not able to pick us up from the regatta ? Lost in translation!

    Excellent , staff very friendly, restaurant and ambiance fantastic! Much better than we thought! Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The Bird in Hand Knowl Hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from road not ideal in front bedrooms but everything else very good.

    Very pleasant & attentive managers/owners comfortable & well appointed bed room & bath/ shower room. Good location ideal for Henley, Reading & Ascot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Big car park .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt we were a nuisance For turning up, Terrible breakfast, untrained uninterested staff members , room smells quite strongly of mildew , uncomfortable beds

    Big car park . Room furnishings are mostly new. Some of the staff were reasonable pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a stop in the Henley area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was the most elaborate thing I've seen, need a degree in engineering to work out how to convert it from bath to shower mode.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cannot fault this place

    very welcoming nothing was to much trouble, service good and room very comfortable,will stay again ,excellent place to visit Windsor,Henley on Thames,Reading and you must visit Marlow.Resturant food to die for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Characterful building which has been tastefully modernised. Great room and great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room ("Wren") with a comfortable bed and good quality sheets. Bathroom was modern and clean, though the shower could do with more pressure. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming, a blissful sleep and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only advice would be a light over bathroom mirror as light not great for putting make up on.

    bed was huge and extremely comfortable, food great property done out lovely and when in the area again will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor and unhelpful service. The 4 rooms smelt, nothing we can do they said its due to new varnish The room temperature, cold downstairs, stuffy upstairs Worst of all the food service, dirty plates left on tables, wrong/missing meal orders, incomplete table settings, unreasonable delays in serving beverages and what can only be described as a rude and unhelpful response Would any of us go back, NO An attempt to engage the manager in conversation was not well received as if the lack of staff and service was the customers fault

    Convenient location for a friends reunion. Nicely refurbished and overall the food was good.BUT.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Would come again, a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush after all!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meals not great value. If was being picky, there's not enough accessible power sockets in room, and new wooden furniture in room smells awful. Noise insulation room-to-room could be better

    Lovely well decorated room, very comfortable bed, decent TV, lots of free car parking, fresh milk available (on request) for tea and coffee, lots of storage, USB points in the power outlets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Plenty of parking, room was spacious with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are so many establishments with the same name its difficult to pin point the correct one, we unded up in The Bird in the Hand in Oxford before finding the correct property after numerous calls.

    Plenty of parking, room was spacious with good facilities. We had dinner here at the restaurant which was reasonably priced and good quality with a good selection. The breakfast was good with some flexibility for your requirements. We would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean comfy rooms with good bar menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little slow on service. Couldn’t get breakfast before 8am on a weekend. Despite saying arrangements could be made in welcome pack but nothing offered up when challenged

    Easy to find. Good location Evening meals good value and quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd smell in room that was to do with revarnishing of wooden furniture. Trust it will fade in time. We got used to it anyway!

    Staff, dinner, breakfast, comfortable king bed, shower pressure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    good value for an overnight stay if the smell can be got rid of
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't rate any higher due to the odour from the furniture. I had to open both windows wide and left the door open to air the room for more than half an hour. It was explained that the wardrobe had been sanitised and all the rooms had the same problem. There were no other rooms available. It would if the windows had not been shut when the rooms serviced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and very convenient for us.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new furniture smelt of varnish.

    This is a pub hotel, our rooms were at the back, upstairs, in a very pretty flower filled courtyard. The rooms were very nicely furnished with the most comfortable beds. We ate in the restaurant and the menu and food was very good. The staff were all excellent would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking asked for dinner reservation to be confirmed but had to chase this to get a response.

    Very welcoming staff and good food. Windsor suite very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant B&B pub/hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Just minor maintenance bits in the bathroom (ceiling paint looked a little "tired" and bathtub moulding cracked) but rest of room was great. The breakfast was generally good. Full English was hmm OK (sausage not the best, bacon dry), but...scrambled eggs really good.

    Surprisingly quiet considering the location. Gorgeous, secluded courtyard with plenty of tables. A very nicely done dining room and lounge bar. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Bed was enormous and very comfy. Rooms cleaned and restocked daily. Nice touch, having cabin-type rooms in off the courtyard. Although there are a dozen or more rooms, I didn't hear any sound from the others above or to either side. The first evening there I had a meal from the kitchen and it was absolutely gorgeous. The chef is obviously excellent. I'd have no hesitation staying again another time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit quiet and you do need a car

    Room excellent Staff very pleasant and helpful Good menu for breakfast Meals in restaurant a little overpriced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Cosy rooms, friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, bread wasn’t toasted or buttered, therefore became soggy with the undercooked poached egg.

    Really friendly staff when checking in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay in a pub atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms are a bit spartan. Could use more shelving and towel rails.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Kudos to Kerry and Lewis particularly. Bed was very comfortable, room was fine, bathroom a bit basic but OK. Food in the restaurant was very good (try the afternoon cream tea), and service quick and efficient. Only glitch was that our room was not made up one day. Other than that - Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from courtyard due to wedding, bathroom although clean was a bit tired and needed updating in places

    Friendliness of staff, food very good, comfortable bar area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Staff were lovely and friendly and happy to assist however...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were lovely and friendly and happy to assist however they could. Room was even better than it looks in the pictures. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I was in the area - really loved it! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    What a beautiful little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a beautiful little gem! The rooms were lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We couldn’t make breakfast due to our early start but a take away coffee was provided and they even had cereals and light breakfast choices to take away outside of serving times. I will be returning again in the future and cannot thank the staff enough. Only 15 minutes from tough mudder so perfect location for us :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little country lodge, but eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the road so could hear the traffic through the night with the window open. Evening food was a bit of a let down - seemed like it was all pre-made and reheated - pie was particularly bad. Our sticky toffee dessert arrived cold as they had forgotten to microwave it, but when it came back 2 mins later heated was actually tasty.

    Really nicely decorated place, definitely worth the money. Great location. Breakfast was especially nice, all cooked to order including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay, good location for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable rooms, ours was a little small but very clean and comfortable bed. The bathroom looks newly refurbished and we liked the toiletries. There was free water, tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits in the room. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We had a meal in the restaurant one evening and all enjoyed the pub food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Looking for an excuse to revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we stayed longer

    Stunning rooms, helpful staff, clean throughout, the best pub toilets I have seen ever! Tasty menu tried for lunch, dinner & breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Very good, excellent location for our visit
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything about accommodation or location that did not meet with approval. Just one thing morning coffee, at breakfast, was a bit weak for our taste.

    Room was perfect for me, ground floor, easy access, great shower room . Comfortable bed , good lighting. Could not ask for more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Sue and Steve and their staff are perfect hosts felt very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing place was perfect

    Had everything you could possibly want started with fresh fruit and yogurt then smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast was lovely and plenty of coffee x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely, quality breakfast in a bright breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of chemicals from new furniture/furnishings. It’s great to have nice new furnishings but the rooms need to be aired out. The bathroom could do with a little updating, our bath tub was cracked and had a whole on the outer rim.

    Lovely, quality breakfast in a bright breakfast room. Overall, a nice place to stay and hood value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Great room with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. A guest ale from a small micro-brewery in the bar would be good.

    Room was warm, newly furbished and very clean. Breakfast was perfectly cooked; with a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit juice, jams etc. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Excellent day
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t find anything I don’t like

    It was close to m4 for us to go charring cross hospital and to Wokingham visit family room was comfortable and very clean and warm food was excellent and staff wear very help full and polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    I really like this place. Comfortable rooms & good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was busy the night I stayed as it was Valentine's Day, so they could have done with another staff member to help bar/serving/hotel check-in, but this is a minor point & not really a complaint. The guy serving did very well.

    My room was very comfortable, and for a pub-type place the food is very good. I think the experience at The Bird In Hand is much better than you might expect from what I assumed was a busy pub at the side of the A4.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend a stay here. We only came to relax and had a really wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside (very minor!) was the emptying of glass bottle bins at 6:30am on the Friday morning but doesn't help that I'm a light sleeper.

    We were so impressed with everything! Cleanliness, staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Checking in was the simplest/fastest I've ever experienced. My partner is a massive critic of anything and he was so impressed! Breakfast was fab and we had dinner downstairs both nights as we were just so impressed with the food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Great night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was very slow. We arrived for dinner at 7:30, main didn’t arrive till gone 9:30. We weren’t in a hurry, so not a real problem. but other customers were complaining a lot. They really needed more staff in the kitchen and bar.

    Comfortable rooms, quiet bar, good food, clean, polite staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location for Henley & Marlow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the Windsor suite ... the memory foam pillowcases were a tad hard - depends what you preference is.

    Great staff , relaxed and attentive- good selection for breakfast too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    If the en-suite was private then this is would have been very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom suite was large, however the entrance to the en-suite was through two glass doors which meant the bathroom was not private from the bedroom, I understand this is a very modern approach however I am not keen on watching my partner on the Loo or having a bath. I would suggest two full length curtains or replace the doors.

    Good location, excellent car park, breakfast was very good. Only stayed briefly in the hotel for one night, the bar and restaurant were very modern the room/suite was big and had been kept in the fashion of the original Coaching Inn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    A good end to a long day !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all superb.

    Great place to stay, business or leisure. Food in the restaurant was very good, as was the breakfast. Service both at dinner and breakfast was excellent and in all it was great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly odd that the plug sockets for the lamps are non-UK ones. it would be good to have an adaptor so that UK plugs can be used, particularly by the bed for charging a phone etc.

    The bed was amazing - I slept brilliantly. I also had a good meal in the pub restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fair amount of noise from the bar, I think our room was above it, so a room a little further away would have been nice!

    Room very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bar and restaurant areas also decorated very nicely, a good mix of old and not so old. Breakfast was delicious and served by really friendly efficient staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable beds, great food, but smelly rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still a funky smell in the rooms. Not sure what this is, but it is the same across multiple rooms. Surely there is something that can be done here as this spoils the place a little.

    Great dinners in a the well laid out pub. The food was always well cooked and presented, although I would like to see a bit more variety. Generally nice rooms with comfortable beds and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities and very helpful friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we enjoyed the facilities very much.

    Excellent facilities and very helpful friendly staff. Good food in the restaurant. My average score for the view was irrelevant as we arrived after dark and had to leave early in the morning. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice room, nicely decorated, pleasant enough to stay in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one normal plug socket in the room, all others were round holes, three pin style. Need normal ones by bedside for phone chargers etc

    Nice room, nicely decorated, pleasant enough to stay in. Would recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice inn on outskirts of Reading, plenty of parking,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pitch roof to the bedroom was a pain, literally. The bathroom was nicely decorated although the shower lacked strength. The worse thing is the Wi-Fi usage conditions. Rather than just providing a id/password as is common, you have to sign up and provide personal information and you have to agree to terms that they can monitor your web usage and use the data for marketing, both by them and other parties. Really? I stuck to using my roaming data allowance.

    Nice inn on outskirts of Reading, plenty of parking, Had a very nice meal in the restaurant on the Friday night. Good selection of beers. Good breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant experience that I wouldn't mind repeating.
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Relative quietness despite the proximity of the busy A4 so slept better than I expected. Breakfast was excellant though would have liked to have been told that cereals and fruit juices were available as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast but cereals bar very low on stocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night was disturbed by an large extractor/cold store fan cutting on & off all night, Also an after party party in the room adjacent to us at stupid o clock.

    Good breakfast but cereals bar very low on stocks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Lovely old building, refurbished to a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift to the first floor would have been handy but everything elsr fine.

    Lovely old building, refurbished to a good standard. Rooms comfortable and clean and food and service excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Fab stay, great food. Excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Super staff, great little room which was comfy and a very short walk from the dining area. Nice and quiet in the room even though we stayed on a Friday night. Lovely menu during the evening and breakfast with many gluten free options. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as good as expected and service very very slow. No fresh milk in room, Only one milk sachet each. One tea bag each. Needs more.

    The room was amazing especially bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    The bird in hand is a lovely very warm and friendly inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked it said it was Ensuite with a bath There was no bath it was a shower and the water was only luke warm. So it was a bit disappointing.

    The bird in hand is a lovely very warm and friendly inn The food was fresh and cooked nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great little hotel with luxury rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious some lighter options might be an option - there are a few mini packets of cereal to choose from but other than that it is a cooked breakfast choice. Some more fruit/porridge options would have been great but this is just the finer details as overall the stay was perfect.

    The room was lovely, very comfortable with everything you could need plus the lovely little extras (Sparkling water, biscuits!). the bathroom was spacious and the shower was amazing. Staff were incredibly helpful when we needed anything ( Iron, hot chocolates to satisfy pregnancy cravings!) and even though our room was above the pub area we couldn't hear anything at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Great for visiting Windsor and Henley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy super king size bed and delicious food , both the breakfasts and our evening meals were really good , An extremely good refurbishment,excellent house keeping staff and fantastic chefs have made this a good choice for a short break !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Luxury Comfort at an everyday price
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the Full English Breakfast was superb, the continental breakfast selection was disappointing. The duvet on the bed was a very heavy one, so too hot with it on, and too cold with it off.

    Superb evening meal and full English Breakfast. Staff were excellent, they couldn't have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet, despite being on the main A4.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Christmas Eve stay, to be with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms well equipped and beautifully decorated. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast cooked to order with plenty of choice. We had Christmas Eve lunch here. We couldn't fault the food and service throughout the afternoon. Very reasonably priced as well. Lovely thought from staff when we returned to our room. Christmas card and chocolates😀. Will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Lovely place for family get together, very welcoming, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a very small complaint....the room was a little dimly lit.No problem really but hard to see when doing hair and make up. i think they also could have done with more restaurant staff on Saturday as service was a bit slow, it was Christmastime, and very busy though

    The rooms were decorated really nicely and fitted out with lovely quality furnishing. We had a family room, which was spacious and with a full double sofa bed, very comfortable. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were all very nice, polite, professional. Included breakfast really nice and served beautifully, with good quality crockery etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfy, but run for the good of the corporation that owns it, rather than the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very “ corporate” owned, no feeling of personal attention. Shower difficult to operate with no instructions. TERRIBLE internet, not secure, only worked if you agree to marketing etc. I didn’t bother, so didn’t complete my internet work. This is an old fashioned way to operate internet in a hotel. Other places I stay give a password, and it’s still free and unlimited. Typical big business owned, We had our company Christmas meal here. Bar was closed just as we finished, so those of us who wanted to stay on and chat over a drink were very disappointed, even though we were residents. Would never stay here again.

    Comfy clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Good all round. Easy to find location and excellent value for money.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was quite adequate: Clean, comfortable, warm etc, but from reading other reviews, I was expecting it to be exceptional. It wasn't exceptional, but was none the less still good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    A lovely room and a comfortable stay made all the better by a great breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hard to open the velux style window. I am pretty tall and I had a stretch to reach the opener to let in some cool air

    The bed room was a good size and the decor was lovely. The bed although advertised as a double was actually a king sized and was very comfortable The room had good tea and coffee making facilities with a number of extra options such as hot chocolate and fruit tea bags. The bath room was very clean and warm and had white fluffy towels on the heated towel rail. There were supplies of shampoo, conditioner ,soap etc to use and a hair dryer in the bed room My husband appreciated having a desk to set his computer up on and there was access to WiFi We only stayed one night as it was a weekend visiting relatives so did not eat an evening meal there ,but we can recommend the breakfast, I enjoyed a great tasting bowl of fresh berries with yogurt and muesli, although the cooked options also looked very good We would be very happy to stay there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    good first impressions ...quickly lost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The central heating was on full blast with thermostat not working - had to sleep with the dormer window fully open (in November) ...until the rain started!!...so if you like sleeping in a sauna !! On the second night heating not fixed and no water (although latter was no fault of the hotel) Tried food the first night - awful, thai curry was a microwaved mush.

    newly decorated rooms - looked nice on arrival but...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable country pub and B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite a mild week in November when I visited, but the heating was on full blast. My room was upstairs under the eaves and I had to have the velux window open all the time in order to get the room temperature to a comfortable sleeping temperature. I tried turning the radiator off etc, but it didn't make any difference. When I asked the staff they said it couldn't be turned off in my room. I also thought the Gin and Tonics were a little bit expensive! I normally pay about £4.50 in Bristol and they were £6.50 at the Bird in Hand. All other wine / alcohol seemed to be around what I would expect though!

    The rooms have been recently refurbished - everything is new, with new furniture and carpet smell still! The bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was really good and totally flexible to what you want, as well as evening meals - great selection and top quality. I also hosted a work Christmas party here - the xmas menu was great. A lot of selection, a gluten free option for one of my colleagues who enjoyed it very much and good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    A very pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very impressed with the quality of the food from the restaurant, especially as we initially didn't have very high expectations as the pub seems a little 'generic' / chainy in appearance. However the staff were excellent, very attentive and very friendly and the food was great. To our pleasant surprise they also followed up with an excellent hot breakfast. Having said that the continental options were a little sparse and I would say it would be nice to have more fresh (cut) fruit options, together with regular (not low fat) yogurts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    What a gem! Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Super place to stay , recently renovated , everywhere is spotless .Super breakfast and staff really helpful. Relaxed atmosphere, well stocked bar. Absolutely nothing I could fault .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Excellent - could not have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it is very very cold it is nice not to access the room from the outside but that's not a real problem

    We have dinner which was absolutely excellent - fresh, hot and flavourful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    It would of been excellent except for the lack of water which was the fault of the water board.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room (2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no running water until the morning and there was no offer of any compensation, not even a drink.

    The food was fantastic - you must try the pork medallions with pepper sauce you will never eat better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, with a nice room, but slightly shortened sleep due to the road noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was at the front, and although set back from the busy road by some distance, the Velux windows at the front didn't seem to close as well as they could have and so it was still noisy through the night.

    The pub is stylish & the food was excellent. My room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Cosy and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm just sad I didn't have a chance to use the lovely looking bath!

    We stayed in the Windsor Suite which was absolutely beautiful and good value for a Saturday night. Bathroom was literally sparkling clean and huge, and the hotel is easy to find right on the main road. Great choice for breakfast and the smoked salmon was super tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location for Ruscombe Business Park although a bit expensive for a B&B.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bit of a funny smell in the room. Not sure what I was entirely, perhaps just strong cleaning products, but this was in at least two rooms. There are no facilities to speak of, so this is quite expensive for a B&B.

    The staff were very friendly and the location (for us) was pretty good - close to Ruscombe Business Park, a £6/7 taxi drive away). The food was also very good, with a great atmosphere and warmth to the pub. Rooms were functional and comfortable although the eves are low in the extension.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Far too expensive for an old public house. Avoid George 3rd room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where to start; The room which was one of the most expensive at £145 per night was very noisy due to the close proximity of the main road and also the room being in the eaves of a very old building. Breakfast was a fiasco from beginning to end no one to seat anyone, people hovering waiting to be seated. A table of 8 were not staying at the Bird in Hand and as only two staff were serving a full compliment paying guests there not enough staff to go round. I ordered poached eggs which were not very warm and one was inedible due to being rock hard. When I told the young lady clearing the plates my breakfast was not very nice she asked what was wrong with it, to which I replied I felt it was self explanatory as I had left a whole egg. We were brought coffee which was cold and one cup was barely half full. The cleaner was mopping floors around the bar area where customers were waiting to pay their bill. Lastly my husband tripped over the hoover wire which was placed right across the hallway close to the door into the bar/breakfast area, another guest managed to stop him falling over completely.

    The food in the pub was very nice, but not reflected at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    7/10 but potential was there for higher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room TV buffered constantly even on the main channels Not enough breakfast cereal selection and would prefer coffee in a pot at the table/ self serve as the only waitress was overworked and not able to cover everyone

    Lovely rooms and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Average breakfast. Some road noise from A4

    Warm welcome, good service, enjoyable food in the restaurant, attractive, pleasant public rooms. A wonderful display of flowers and greenery in the courtyard. Would recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was excellent. No complaints.

    Lovely hotel, nicely decorated, extremely clean. Excellent location to access many locations including Windsor, Legoland, Henley on Thames and Reading. Easy access to Heathrow and London. Helpful and friendly staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Happy overall is it was a breakaway from home, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival by the room there were empty bottles, cigarette packet and rubbish left by the door, it was taken way as it was not there the next day, but not a nice visual invitation to the room, the problem of being a ground floor to a outside bar area. The room only had one towel, the bin in the room was not emptied, the drink station for tea and coffee was not restocked. Room situated outside of the main building having to walk past tables and chairs in view of people having breakfast, while not an issue it was a motel feel not 4 star feel. The view from the window was horrible a skip and and a gravel yard detracted from the new well appointed rooms decor.

    The room was well decorated and shower and bath very good. Wifi easy to use, TV etc. The staff were very good, coffee at breakfast and the breakfast were very good, staff offered to take our bags and show us to our room as were looked lost from instructions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely refurbished pub/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked out over the back- to a skip. We stayed on a Sunday and restaurant last orders was at 8 due to pub quiz.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel looked recently refurbished-really nice pub/restaurant area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem Close to Many Vacation Destinations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this is the first review I have ever given where I cannot find fault!

    The Bird In Hand is one of those little hidden gems which have not been fully discovered. The location is convenient to many places, Maidenhead, Henley-on-Thames, Reading, Windsor , really just a great location to base from. The staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient. The charming restaurant had wonderful food, reasonably priced. There is a well stocked bar with excellent beer selections. It was quite rainy when we stayed there but I did go out to the patio eating area to see the most glorious selections of hanging flower baskets which surround the courtyard. This looks like a lovely place to sit and enjoy a meal or a pint. The room was probably the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The decor was fresh and the furnishings would easily accommodate a long term vacation stay. They are fitted with home style cabinets and cupboards with loads of convenient storage. The bathroom was modern and new and the amenities were very nice. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Wi fi reception was good. I would look forward to staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Convenient reasonably priced accommodation based around an old English pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room was ground floor and looked straight onto the carpark and no net curtains so you were either public or in the dark.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and papers. Very convenient location just outside Reading and Sonning on the A4. About 30 minutes from Heathrow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mugs of coffee at breakfast and dinner, cup and saucer much nicer. Too much coffee in a mug. But that's just my personal ( fussy) opinion.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: