Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Berkshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Reading B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Reviews of The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4 stars

Bath Road, Reading, RG10 9UP, United Kingdom

#4 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 853 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.0

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.0

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2020

    9.0
    Great location, comfy bed and excellent food. Will return soon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been cleaner and mildew build up on the grout could easily be resolved to make this first class accommodation.

    The location was perfect, with direct access to link roads and plenty of free car parking which is always welcome after a long journey. The hotel was welcoming and room was very quaint. The facilities were great and allowed me to work for a few hours in the evening, quietly away from the restaurant and other guests. The breakfast was perfect and the menu choice is not to be underestimated...a real gem!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2020

    10
    Perfect Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of it is really old, the staff are friendly, a huge bed and a fab shower. We had a drink and a meal in the evening which was nice. The bed must have been about 8ft wide. The shower was hot and a power shower, could have stayed in it for ages. Breakfast was very nice and it filled us up for the day. Would we stay again, absolutely. Totally enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    8.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed in 3 rooms here and this one was quite small although a very reasonable price.

    Staff and food were great.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    10
    We’ll definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have stayed here. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room was really nice and comfy and the food is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2020

    10
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was sluggish

    Well kept and clean. Staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2020

    8.0
    The experience was hassle free, easy and friendly and offered everything we required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good sized room and comfortable beds. Plenty of free parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as tucked away in the country as I had imagined from the photos but that's not really anyone's fault!

    It was spotlessly clean and very cosy. Very good value for money and the food was great.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 Adults 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly staff, clean

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at the pub bar, which was not really a problem but as our arrival with our cases was not acknowledged by staff walking by, we thought we were in the wrong place. Also room was accessed on an outside balcony.Again not really a problem but having to put a coat on to go from room to have dinner or breakfast was a inconvenience. Bed although clean and large was uncomfortable needs matress topper.

    Design features in the room - some nice touches

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel! Staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2020

    8.0
    Paticularly enjoyed the beer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More vegetables with main course

    Good selection of choices

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2020

    9.2
    Lovely Country pub accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding breakfast, comfortable bed and decent price for the location.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2020

    9.2
    Good quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this is a great hotel 👍

    The hotel is in a good location not too far from motorway links. Lovely refurnished rooms with comfy beds and a top quality breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2020

    10
    Lovely place to stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I would thoroughly recommend a visit to The Bird in the Hand for a meal and/or stay over. Loved it!

    The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any queries. The dinner and breakfast were amazing. Very good quality and tasted delicious. Lovely restaurant and bar with a nice atmosphere. Location was excellent. Room facilities were of a high standard and beds were very comfortable. Plenty of car parking space available.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay, our second visit and didn't disappoint!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2020

    10
    Just what I needed, will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very good and friendly all staff very good, room very nice, food was just enough for me

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2020

    10
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    A lovely place to say. Excellent at all levels, food, staff, acommodation all first class. The breakfast was exceptional. All really good quality food.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious, comfortable and very friendly staff. Worth every penny and then some. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control the radiator in the bathroom. Rather too warm

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely and friendly. Nice property.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    9.0
    Second stay. Very pleased and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time we've stayed here and another great night. Room was great, bed very comfortable. Breakfast delicious. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    10
    Amazing place to stay, food is lovely, staff are friendly and we will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Steve and Sue who run the Bird In Hand are exceptional hosts. Friendly, efficient, organised and helpful making the whole stay lovely from beginning to end. Everywhere from the Bar to the Restaurant to the Hotel rooms is spotlessly clean and polished and the effort that has gone into the interior design of the hotel has made it full of character, charm and comfort and gives a very warm, relaxed and calm feel. The food is exemplary, freshly cooked to order and plenty of choice. I would highly recommend staying here, eating here or just visiting for a drink! Congratulations to all the team there for making it such a great place!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    10
    Excellent room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors to the bathroom are glass without curtains - this could cause some couples discomfort as no privacy

    Lovely room, great staff, breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2020

    8.0
    A change from a chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the rooms chilly on arrival & the breakfast room also chilly. We wore fleeces for most of our two day stay but everything else was fine.

    Fab breakfast

    Stayed in January 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: