Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Black Bull inn 2 stars

2 High Street, Wooler, NE71 6BY, United Kingdom

#8 of 10 hotels in Wooler

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was just a shower head over a bath at about waist height so had to kneel to have a shower and it was really difficult to get the right temperature with the taps.

    Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast. We were on the second floor so couldn't hear any noise from the pub below during the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room and excellent breakfast after which we needed no lunch. The Italian restaurant on the property was excellent. The location in the centre of Wooler is ideal for exploring the surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff food was amazing and the facilities were very clean . The hotel offers a warm relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was foggy the whole trip, but they couldn't help with that :)

    Good breakfast in separate eating area, choice of drinks in the bar. Overall really good as was better than we expected - Staff really pleasant. Clean. Quiet - there es entertainment on downstairs, and we couldnt hear it in our room!! Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in the Hideaway, a self-catering apartment adjacent to the The Black Bull. Described as a studio apartment, I was delighted to find it had a separate bedroom (with an en-suite) and another loo and basin. The En-suite contained a bath and shower, but being in the eaves, the slanting roof may be tricky for taller people - especially the shower. It was spotless, well-appointed, loads of clean towels and just what we needed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but OK. Little in the way of atmosphere.

    Excellent breakfast. Nice and central to Wooler. Nice to have a bath rather than just a shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything

    the Black Bull has retained its atmosphere of an old coaching inn but with every modern convenience. The staff were very friendly and obliging and the meals especially the cooked breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was uncomfortably hot and very difficult to cool so our sleep was not restful. The shower over the bath for our room was not to the standard we usually experience elsewhere.

    The Italian restaurant next door was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small size.

    Traditional pub with comfortable guest rooms. Evening meal was good with a good choice of menu. Breakfast good quality. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi,no wifi in our room which was disappointing as nowadays we would expect the rooms to have WiFi. The parking was tight to get into but we were ok as we only have a small car. Having to order what you want for breakfast the night before was a bit annoying.But these,a part from the WiFi,are minor niggles.All in all it is a very nice place to stay.

    Loved the friendly staff,especially Maureen,and the warm welcome we received. The room was well presented,extremely clean and comfortable,the bathroom was en-suite with a great shower and lovely deep bath. The breakfast was fine if a little repetitive. The food in the restaurant/bar was nice,my OH loved the steak pie,chips,and veg he had, and also the fish and chips.There is an Italian restaurant called Milan behind the pub which was very good and the food was excellent. Our dog was made to feel welcome also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy teenagers in the car park next to the pub. Not the pubs fault though

    The rooms were lovely. The food in the pub was the highlight. Huge portions and very tasty. Would definitely stay again. Very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was too pub grubby for us so we ate out most nights. There were good places to eat nearby. The breakfast were excellent with plenty of choice. I am sure if we had special needs they would have been catered for.

    The shower was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a shower in Room 6, just a shower attachment over the bath. The water ran very slowly and took ages to fill the bath with only a couple of inches of water. I would like to see a proper shower fitted for that room.

    Room 6 was spacious and adequate for our stay, except for lack of proper shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a weird smell. Public areas were grotty to the extent that we didn't want to eat at the pub. Noisy kids playing football in the car park at night, followed by screaming motorbikes then on Saturday night it upgraded to cars with music blaring.

    Bathroom was a good standard. Breakfast was cooked fresh and was plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish it had an elevator, but not expected in an older place like this.

    Breakfast was excellent - eggs nice and fluffy, made to order and on time. The place wasn't fancy, but was fully functional with everything we needed. Staff was exactly what I would expect in a small town pub/inn location. Pub restaurant being open a bit later would have been nice, but they did direct us to a lovely Italian place next door. Would DEFINITELY stay here again, and highly recommend it. View out the window wasn't special, but the town is a lovely place for a stroll.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half eaten biscuits left on tea tray. No fresh ones been put out. Toothpaste left on sink. Sanitary bag holder was very dusty- not been cleaned in a while. Carpet and curtains dirty. Would I stay again- no.

    Large bed was nice. Staff were friendly. Cheap stay.lovely village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very friendly staff. The local people were very friendly too. Lovely town. So quiet overnight. The room had recently been refurbished and was done with excellent taste. Spacious ensuite with a huge bath and overhead shower Breakfast was delicious with good choice. Loved being able to get our own coffee, tea and toast. Evening meals were exceptional value and cooked to perfection. We had the lamb chops with homemade chips!!! And yes they were. Vegetables were firm and tasty. Very dog friendly - our Sam loved his stay. We will certainly return. Thanks to all the staff. Your hard work and long hours are much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the church bells chiming on the hour from 6am..quite loud. Also the shower is difficult to manage.,it has to be held high as the pressure is faulty.. and it’s so set so low in the bath. I think it needs updating to just a shower room. That would be perfect.

    We have stayed here before..so that is a plus. I love the cooked full breakfast which is a bonus. Lovely clean comfortable beds and rooms. I love the tea and coffee facilities.. and we like that it is next to the Milan Italian restaurant..which is a big bonus. The price is well worth the stay. Would recommend and use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub next door had a Karaoke eve the night of our stay well into the early hours which was extremely loud and kept us awake. This could have just been a ‘one off’ and unfortunate for us but the noise level non the less was massively intrusive. We would however stay again because of the staff, the location , the room and value for money. ( just check re the Karaoke)

    Great location in Wooler. Our room (14) was a superb room. Very welcoming staff. We needed an earlier breakfast than the hotel offered but the staff were really accommodating of this. Good atmospheric local pub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Traditional historic Hotel, with excellent friendly staff. A decent sized bedroom, with a bath as well as a shower. Baths are great after completing an arduous section of St Cuthbert ‘s Way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really-decor a bit tired but that's being picky.

    Bed was very comfortable,shower hot and powerful,room spotlessly clean,breakfasts very good,staff friendly and helpful.All you need for a very pleasant short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcome stop on our St Cuthbert’s Way journey. So grateful for the bath and lovely room. Staff were great, breakfast lovely. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We struggled a bit with finding the Inn car park, it was a bit hidden among the houses. Bathroom in our room was really small (but comfortable!).

    We had a really good stay in the Inn! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a splendid view on the street. The interior of the Inn is just gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious and the staff met my dietary requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was nothing we didn't like every thing was very good we will go there again

    we liked the room it was very comfortable the food was good value for the price we paid the staff were most helpful nothing to much trouble but best of all was the power shower in our bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twin Room no 8 Bathroom door wouldn't shut or lock. Shower hose damaged and a nuisance (i swapped it round to improve it) Toilet could not flush properly (wrong size flush box inside) TV small and dated. Ceiling filthy patch.

    Location was good. Food and drink was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time that we have stayed at the Black Bull. The staff were very helpful. Our dog was allowed downstairs and so we were able to have dinner and also breakfast in the hotel, both of which were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub area was rammed and getting service to sign in or book evening meal was difficult. There was nowhere to sit down stairs to eat, so we had to leave the dogs in the room and sit upstairs in the breakfast room to eat our meal. This was the only problem, maybe there could be a separate area in the bar for residents, unless i am mistaken and all the people were residents not locals !!!

    The Staff were lovely and willing to accommodate us . They were great with the dogs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very spacious but this not really a criticism. It is a well established local inn.

    Nice decor in the rooms. Comfortable beds. Good shower which was appreciated after a long days walk. Excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was difficult to manage. The Wifi was not in the room and the Wifi was very flakey in the breakfast room.

    The room was lovely, tastefully decorated and well equipped. There was an iron and an ironing board which was a bonus. There was a beautiful bath. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loo in the ensuite make appalling screeching noises when filling the cistern, so couldn't be used at night. The shower over the bath was poor. The blackout on the bay window was inadequate.

    The beer in the bar is well kept with an excellent choice of local and well known brands. The attached Italian restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived until we left. The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The hospitality tray was well stocked. The bar downstairs was busy with a nice atmosphere. Breakfast the next day was wonderful. I would definitely return and also recommend it to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the bedrooms would benefit from a refresh and whoever does the work needs to finish it off properly. The bathroom was the real let down, it didn’t look particularly clean and the shower pressure was quite pathetic. It is a cheap place to stay but you still do expect decent bathroom facilities and this really lets the place down.

    The staff were very welcoming, friendly and informative. The room was warm, clean and perfectly adequate. Good selection of tea,coffee and hot chocolate and you did have the ability to get fresh milk for the room which was a nice touch. Location is great and good to have off road parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. I can safely say our time there was excellent.

    Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Our stay could not have been better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfy room, great en suite facilities. Friendly and helpful staff, we had a particularly late check in, local restaurant was fabulous. Going back in summer with our dog, definitely recommend this place. Breakfast was great, very well cooked and lots of choice, very filling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows let out a draft so a bit chilly as the wind was hitting directly into the window rooms are a little on the small side. breakfast didn't impress me we had a full English and it wasn't very nice and the server wasn't helpful at all with me being it the first time I have stayed there she didn't explain anything about how breakfast is served she disappeared and I actually found out she had went down to the bar to sit down and have something to eat there was no juices left in the jugs and things had ran out but no one was there to talk to about it

    really comfy beds and nicely decorated amazing showers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one around at check out. Had to leave a note on my bill that I found on the bar (with some of my personal details on it) to say call me or charge the card given to Booking.com Parking is shown as an option but its a public car park used by a local bus/coach station with very limited spaces. Had to wait for a space to come up on the road (which is limited parking no return rules between 8am and 6pm).

    Very nice room, spacious. Excellent shower! Comfortable bed. Modern decor. Alarm clock, hair dryer, iron etc supplied. Good tea tray too.... Breakfast has to be pre ordered the night before, but was a decent enough cooked full English - sausages were a bit naff tho. Quiet room even tho' at front of hotel on main road, and also a busy bar but no noise. (Room 12) - and the windows open which makes a nice change at hotels!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy up until 12 midnight. It was very hard to find the right temperature of the shower....it was boiling or freezing!

    Room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and easy to serve ourselves. Liked being given suggestion of eating out. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    What’s not to like??? Clean and comfy room, breakfast delicious. Staff couldnt do enough to help, and we ate in the pub on the Saturday night and the food was amazing. Superb value for money, we will def be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff nice clean comfortable room. The bar had a real open fire the evening meal was lovely, and the morning breakfast was outstanding we will be back 😎

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a good size bed really comfy, bathroom lovely and shower amazing also has all your esentials tea coffee ect. Hairdryer and iron and all toiletries.Would defiently recommend room 10

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath has Jacuzzi jets when they were switched on they squirted muck in to the bath! Tried to clean bath and try again but it made no difference. Bedroom suite was directly over the bar so very noisy till about 1.30am. But only to be expected if you stay in a pub.

    Newly refurbished suite. plenty of space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Help yourself breakfast for cereal ideal if up and away early. Rooms are 3 star but for the price of stay its excellent overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was very basic accommodation and service. On arrival, there was no information given about breakfast times, check-out time or availability of wifi (there didn't seem to be any) - no information for guests in the room either. There was also a gas meter in my room which was incredibly noisy - thank heavens for ear plugs!

    Location was good for getting into the Cheviots, the Milan restaurant (very) nearby did a good meal. Bed was comfy. The lady who served me at breakfast was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact it was dog friendly as the people in the room next to mine let their dog run up and down the stairs at 11 at night and there was a dog staying in the room below me the owners left it in the room while they were in the bar it was barking from 8-10 . It was me and my 11 month old son staying in a room together so I'm very surprised that the noise from the dogs didn't wake him up. Apart from that the inn was pleasant

    The breakfast was lovely , rooms where clean and it was a reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The staff are excellent they went out of their way to make sure that my little blind dog was made to feel at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needs updating as there was no overhead shower just a shower head attached to the bath.

    The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the shower was practically non existent. Really could do with some decorating. Could be cleaner.

    The breakfast was good. Nice dining area. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom too small, couldn't step into shower without difficulty hand basin in way. shower cubicle very small. bed uncomfortable ridge down center. would not stay in this room again.

    beer good condition. breakfast excellent. evening food very good. service friendly and cheerful. good location.cottage accommodation very good.lots of toiletries. iron/board hairdryer.very good welcome tray.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom old and dirty. Bed very soft (room 9). Pub area..as someone else described.. like a canteen or retirement home? Not an ideal place for children due to evening clientele.

    The property was mainly clean, although very tired throughout. Breakfast was Good. Bedding and towels fresh, beds made everyday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious and bed was comfortable Decor could do with being updated very old fashioned Breakfast wasn’t nice full English was very greasy and not appetising

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was we couldn't get WiFi as the router wasn't close enough to our room to receive a strong enough signal

    I liked the location and the room itself was huge and very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food, service and staff were excellent. We were made welcome immediately and the lady who served us evening meal and breakfast was first class but unfortunately we cannot remember her. She was just lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The main drawback with this hotel is the lack of an elevator! Carrying heavy baggage up 2 flights of stairs was a challenge. I very much appreciated the assistance of the receptionist. Although there is free wifi throughout the public sections of the hotel, it is not always available in the room. This was a frustration for me because I was travelling on business mixed with leisure. On weekends, the locals hang out on the street after the pub closes and this causes some noise. If this is a problem, you might want to ask for a room along the back.

    This hotel met most of my expectations. It was conveniently located on the High street and close to several restaurants and shops. I really enjoyed the view from my room which looked out over the High street and beyond to the hills where sheep were grazing. The building has the charm of a hotel that has been in operation for hundreds of years. I had a meal at the pub (steak pie) and it was delicious. The local residents were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 beds or the sofa bed and breakfast included

    I booked for bed and breakfast 2 single beds I don't share a bed with my elderly mother. There was only one bed and no breakfast included in the price which was quite expensive. I needed access to a fridge and freezer which was available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows would not open which made it get very warm and there was a slight odour of stale tobacco smoke in the room (think it was 4).

    The room was comfortable, friendly staff and tasty breakfast. Great location for exploring and safe private car park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    very welcoming staff, good facilities in room and at the Black Bull plus a good selection of other pubs and eateries locally and a great breakfast both mornings. Excellent location for cycling in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get into the shower as the sink was so close, shower head wouldn't stay in the holder, the water went from hot to cold irratically. The windows being old, so noisy outside, the TV didn't work properly, couldn't get tuned in. The food wasn't that great, lasagne bone dry etc. The staff were nice but once we complained did nothing about it and were defensive. There was booming loud music from another venue until 1. 30am which came through loud and clear through the windows. We paid £5 more than what we were quoted.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was a little small,but was spotless and everything worked as it should

    Friendly staff,great location,clean and good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom probably needs modernising. It's a little tired, but I understand it is due to be redecorated soon anyway.

    Nice cosy comfy accommodation with very helpful staff. Good breakfast and reasonable bar meal one night. A bath was very welcome after a day's walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really no complaints at all

    Staff were very friendly , nice busy pub although we did nt try it the food looked really goid huge plate full and reasonably priced. There s a nice Italian restaurant adjacent to pub advisable to book a table as it gets very busy ! Room was nice and cosy really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked an onsite garage for our motorcycle.

    Cod and chips,huge fish and delicious batter, mushroom risotto was good. Very reasonable price too. Lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly and wecoming Went out of their way to garage our motorcycle, was just down the street at owners property. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the windows in our room would not open. Otherwise a perfect stay.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Location good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Inn had a lovely cosy, friendly atmosphere. The beds were very comfortable and the bedroom had excellent supplies of tea, coffee and hot chocolate.Our evening meal was very tasty .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it as above

    We arrived at the hotel around 5pm we understand this is late but there was no parking spaces left: when I asked at the reception well the bar as there didn't seem to be anyone available or willing to help they just stugged there shoulders. I wasn't expecting much as it is a pub hotel but saying that service to me is everything and there was lake of that from the start to the end! The room was overpriced Iv stayed in better travel lodges for £30 the staff are not very helpful and felt things are a bother the rooms are dated beds awful and the breakfast wasn't good along with the lake of friendliness from the staff there: I wouldn't reccomend to anyone . I would like some kind of refund as I feel like Iv been ripped off

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could have stayed a month

    From the first moment we stepped through the door we were treat like old friends, the staff were great, everything was there when we wanted it, we had 3 days of utter relaxation. It was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs updating (low pressure shower over bath). Rooms on 2nd floor, no lift.

    Good location; friendly staff. Good pub. Comfortable bed and good room facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ideal apart from the water pressure

    Room was comfortable and tidy . TV was nice to watch. Mobile reception was ideal considering it is a remote location in the far north of England. Water pressure a little low but that was not a big worry for myself. I also liked the furniture and the fact that they have an iron and ironing board.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness of toilet and bathroom window sill and frame.

    ,the bedroom was a little small,but adequate and the beds very comfortable.lots of teacoffee and toiletries which were replenished,as were fresh towels. Excellent full english breakfast which we purchased for £5..For a busy town pub it was very quiet.Our stay was let down by the cleanliness of the bathroom,the toilet could have been cleaner and the window and sill had not been cleaned for a long time...That said I would go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff upon arrival and during our stay, the room itself was more than adequate with tea, coffee and cappuccino which was a bonus. Plenty of hot water with both a bath and shower over the bath, shower gel,shampoo and flannel supplied. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value, traditional hotel with lots of character, really nice staff, good food and in the middle of a most interesting town with great local shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shower curtain. Had to sit in bath to have a shower. That is all.

    Friendly obliging staff, good food, lamb chops were cooked to perfection to my liking. Excellent room clean tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that could have made our short stay more enjoyable.

    The room was absolutely fabulous. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially directing us to a wonderful Italian restaurant next door as they weren't serving that night. The breakfast next moring was hot and tasty with plenty of choice too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, had a great stay.

    Staff were wonderful. Room was large and looked newly decorated and the shower was amazing! Food portion sizes were huge and we had the option of haggis for breakfast (winner!) Location was great for exploring Northumberland, 25min from Alnwick and had the Cheviot's on the doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the live music venue across the street but it was Saturday night after all and all was quiet from midnight. Lack of a shower screen and the odd cobweb but now I'm being picky 😳

    Comfortable beds in a generous twin room. Friendly staff and flexible manageress who offered to adjust her usual breakfast sittings in order to accommodate our early getaway for a local race. Adjusted room rate downwards to reflect our reduced breakfast uptake. Nice choice of hot beverages in the room too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bacon was hard at breakfast. but had so much of everything else i was full.

    lovely room, immaculate, gorgeous bed linen, the most comfortable bed i ahave ever slept in. Nice big mugs on hospitality tray. Very friendly helpful staff, ,

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: