Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Black Lion 5 stars

Church Walk,The Green,, Long Melford, CO10 9DN, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Enjoyable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not say there was anything to dislike and I’m sure if there was a problem it would of been rectified.

    The large bedroom and very comfy bed with a beautiful view. The staff were all courteous and very efficient. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Friendly staff in beautiful country pub with comfortable and individual rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good, nothing to complain about.

    Beautiful bedroom with individual flair and lovely views. Bar and dining areas pleasantly decorated as well as the residents lounge. Very comfortable and very welcoming to us and to our dog, smiley helpful professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.0
    Ok for one night, won’t return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be a problem with flies, they were in the bar area and the dining room. Not pleasant when eating at all. They were also in the bread basket at breakfast!

    Cosy drawing room, bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel - shame about the neglect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty toilet bowl and seat - clearly not been cleaned after previous occupant. One towel and bath mat dirty. Only 2 teabags and no white sugar. Used sugar sachets still in dirty bowl on dressing table. Extractor fan very noisy. Generally lazy cleaning. Overly long wait for cooked breakfast. No fruit on breakfast buffet. We've had better breakfasts in budget hotels. We cannot comment on the standard of evening meals as we were loathe to eat there in view of the hygiene issue. Looking at the cost of the steaks, we would have to assume they're good! Overall, we were disappointed as it is a lovely hotel, but sadly neglected in some areas.

    Nice room, comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A nice mix of country pub and boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a shame the outside area is not prettier, although it was pleasant enough especially as the very warm weather meant it was nice to feel the breeze.

    Delightful location and characterful property. The staff were friendly and efficient and the bar, lounge and dining rooms very nice. Long Melford and nearby Lavenham are lovely places to explore particularly if you like antiques and vintage goods.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere and lovely staff

    Stylish and elegant, nice room and lounge area to sit and relax in. Our evening meal was excellent too. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very relaxed after my stay many thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    From the time I checked in the lady at reception was fantastic in explaining about the hotel and showing me to my room,the staff in the restaurant and bar were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice bed, forget the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was dreadful. We were hungry and looking forward to an English beakfast . Well, streaky bacon???? Sausages over done, miniature amounts of tomatoe,black pudding and mushroom and eggs not well cooked. No sign of any croissants or fruits. We ate in the resturant two nights before which was a disaster. No Sauvignon blanc, no greens, no fish and chips. To add insult to injury the lady on duty was abrupt and and unhelpful. In all the hotel and front of house was good. The dining side has a long way to go.

    We were happy with our room except a dressing table for makeup would help and my husband was too tall to stand under the shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    perfect location , ideal chill out .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice atmosphere , very high standard finish through out , great rooms , food and place to meet up for a evening. Staff were very accommodating , nice place if you have a dog , plenty of walks just outside. would go back for another stop over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant, friendly staff, drinks extremely overpriced. Had better breakfasts in much cheaper hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was unbearably hot , and there was no fan available, so we had little sleep, also traffic quite noisy. At £ 15 the Breakfast was very disappointing .

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t open window. Shower didn’t work. Water glass in Bedroom were dirty. Nowhere to put down anything in bathroom or bedroom. More three star than five star.

    The location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in beautiful Long Melford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very friendly welcome and were delighted to be upgraded to a suite. The room was extremely comfortable although there is some traffic noise. Service at breakfast was very efficient and courteous, and the food was well cooked and presented. We would return without hesitation.A lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful.Easy staying. No hassle.Felt homely. Good breakfast, especially good value if staying B&B. Evening meals were also very good but perhaps not very adventurous (maybe a safer option for the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in stylish surroundings, just a small question mark about the cost of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast routine was a little odd. No mention of breakfast included when I booked, so I assumed we had to pay extra. Some bits of breakfast seemed to be free, some incurred a hefty upcharge - not good from a clarity/customer satisfaction point of view!

    Tastefully decorated rooms and restaurant, excellent corner location on Long Melford green just below the church.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    A clean , comfortable and stylish hotel with attentive and polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had (on the top floor) had no chair where to lay/hang clothes on other than a smallish cupboard. Breakfast a little pricey .

    Location good with stylish rooms with modern decor and fittings. Food quality very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    very relaxing, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast but could do with a slightly larger dinner selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have now stayed twice. My breakfast arrived in good time the first time but took rather longer than expected during my second visit. I advised the staff as I needed to get to an appointment but still waited some time. Not a big issue but just took the edge of a lovely stay and won't stop me coming again.

    beautiful loose leaf tea, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thoroughly relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff in evening could have been a little more attentive but certainly not a bad experience

    Lovely sitting room to have coffee in after dinner and to enjoy afternoon tea . Food delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu's were devoid of any 'healthy' options. No fruit available or low fat options given. My wife's evening meal in her view was disappointing.

    Staff were excellent as was the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    We only stayed one night but everything lovely and clean would stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If being very picky asked for a fan as room very warm . The two young men I asked did not get one for when we returned. Also really picky biscuits in room not wrapped like I said very picky .

    Room was lovely very clean , great shower , coffee machine in room .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Well done Black Lion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm during the night, a fan would have helped, although it didn't spoil our trip not having one it would have really been nice.

    Nicely refurbished with the odd little 'old' touch, such as the wardrobe and the floor levels. Food was amazing, especially dinner. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, relaxing, even had good weather! Just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We managed to park ok but not too many spaces available though I expect you can park in a nearby road if necessary

    The bed was exceptional! SO comfortable and lovely clean crisp white sheets. The breakfast was great too, good selection of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy. Nothing we didn’t like.

    When I booked I didn’t realise it was the same chain as The Northgate in Bury (which I love). Very pleased with the hotel. A little warm in the top snug room & no air con but an open window cooled it down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay,the the few minor issues never detracted from our wishes to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff inexperienced, restaurant service failed with order requests on several occasions during dinner.

    A very relaxed Hotel,with pleasant staff. An excellent breakfast,cooked fresh and served piping hot on a hot plate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    The Black Lion is the perfect place for a mid week break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the suit, which was very nice, but you cant open the windows to let air in, and the bathroom window didn't open and there is no extractor fan. The evening meal , we had the Beef rib for sharing, although nice not worth the £75.

    The Black Lion is the perfect place for a mid week break. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Great value and a very pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast doesn't start until 8am. If staying for leisure this is be fine but when staying for business reasons I think its a little too late. Would have worked better for us if it started at 7:30am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Having stayed at the hotel in the past we knew what to expect and it met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in the bedroom were difficult to open and close.

    The room which was very comfortable. The food which was excellent and the staff who were very friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was great from the moment we stepped through the door. Hotel was clean throughout, but lots of original features. Food and service were very good. Great location for a peaceful break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    The place itself was delightful and full of character and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is certainly in need of TLC...and our loo didn't flush properly!

    The place itself was delightful and full of character and charm though rather tired .The food was excellent and staff were efficient,friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent comfortable hotel in a superb situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive

    Excellent staff, pleasant and efficient. Food very good indeed. Rooms comfortable and not too hot with the added bonus that the windows opened properly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.0
    Convenient and friendly but very expensive and needs urgent update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As soon as we arrived I noticed the potholed, uneven entrance to the hotel which is looking shabby from outside. There is a faded charm as you enter the hotel but on a very hot day, all the wintery, heavy looking fabrics and shabby furniture were a bit daunting. As soon as we were shown our bedroom, my heart sank. The four poster bed had faded, dusty fabric hanging all around, the carpet was threadbare, windows dirty and some panes cracked. The bathroom however was very clean. I pulled down the bed drapes which were attached by Velcro that was hanging off. This then revealed dust around the bed valance. When I pulled back the bedcover, under the crisp sheet was an old blanket that my Mother had thrown out 50 years ago. When we went downstairs and Nikki asked if all was okay, I told her about the room and she immediately offered to upgrade us to a suite. This room had a dual aspect and was bright but had lots of heavy window fabrics that really needed cleaning, broken window panes and cracked sanitary ware. Again the bed had a stained heavy bedspread and another old blanket and a very stained rug. This hotel desperately needs updating and freshening up. Fabrics that can easily and regularly cleaned should be used and the old blankets thrown away.

    We were warmly welcomed by Nikki the deputy manager and shown to our room. Once I told her that I was unhappy with the room , she offered us an immediate upgrade. The location and aspect of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stairs a bit of a nightmare

    staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    A great stay, highly recommend the Black Lion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast could have been a set price, not priced individually.

    Large bedroom and bathroom, very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    2 day break for a family wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to dislike about this place.

    excellent food staff very helpful and rooms spotless couldn't ask for more

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more tea bags in the room and some coffee pods for the machine .

    Pleasant and helpful staff, made the visit very special

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    The bar area when not over crowded had atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and very steep stairs

    The bar area when not over crowded had atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    cannot fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    excellent food comfy bed attentive staff will return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Lovely location, great food, lovely staff and highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, great food, lovely staff and highly recommend !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The food was fresh and delicious, the staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fresh and delicious, the staff were friendly and helpful and the decor was beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff,and excellent food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Difficult to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was to our satisfaction.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, very comfortable beds, rooms were nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not come with breakfast

    Good location, very comfortable beds, rooms were nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure the top of the wardrobe or under the bed had been dusted recently but a minor point

    Gorgeous breakfast, lovely staff and comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Polite staff good food cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a larger room but was only for a night so was fine

    Walking distance to long Melford food was fantadtic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place. Lovely village. Worth a second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows were painted tight shut so there was no ventilation. Couldn't open them. Very small bath towels.

    Loved the big room and big bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Loved our stay..would definately recommend your hotel to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decir and surroundings..staff excellant...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing ennoyable weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent sevice very friendly staff and very good food.Nothing to much trouble.Plenty of free parking nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough choice for dinner menu

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Stop searching for accomodation in Long Melford and just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stop searching for accomodation in Long Melford and just book....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    A fantastic bit of luxery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal attention was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.5
    Would visit again but it might not be my frst choice of restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were both disappointed in a dish we chose but the fish was excellent

    décor, the bar, the restaurant area, the setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Charming old building in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cramped for the price paid.

    Charming old building in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road a little noisy with window open

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location with a breakfast match. Staff excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with shower had to move rooms. Sorted very quickly.

    Breakfast superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    It was absolutely perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was absolutely perfect in every way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited vegetarian food

    Beautiful comfy room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Lovely ambience, good food, beautiful room and excellent staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Friendly, polite and welcoming staff ! V comfortable beds and the whole coziness !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel and staff will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of bath mat and no hand rail in bath

    Comfort good staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We felt comfortable and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, food, bar, room, decor; everything was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. Will be going back there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little pricey, but worth it !

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Shower power problem
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower power problem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Really comfortable bed, great shower, very good local fresh...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room a little on the small side.

    Really comfortable bed, great shower, very good local fresh food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Room was very comfortable and the staff lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very comfortable and the staff lovely. Overall very happy with our stay. The snow added to the atmosphere for the weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    I was staying with work but I will do a detour and stay there next month instead of Colchester
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I tv should have been bigger

    It was more like a 4 star hotel and all the staff we brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great in all aspects
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great in all aspects

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic.Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.staff fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent stay, large rooms, very good food both evening & breakfast, friendly staff, fast WI-FI, Ticks all the boxes for me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Exceptionally, Exquisite property/location with divine/gourmet Breakfast included = Amazing :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommended can’t fault it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful room - fantastic view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower a bit slow

    Lovely furniture large room comfy and no busy traffic route

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Food was excellent staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Great place nice food
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place nice food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    a lovely night away worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing that we did not like.

    lovely food very comfortable bed and room. It was my partners birthday and they made our night quite special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Long melford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ambience, quality & comfort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    very good,will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated.

    We were upgraded to a four poster room, free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: