Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. South Yorkshire hotel reviews
  4. Penistone hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Blacksmiths Arms

Reviews of The Blacksmiths Arms

Manchester Road, MIllhouse Green, Penistone, S36 9NQ, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Penistone

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Dennis from Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a really lovely comfortable location. The host Yvonne was just fantastic along with her staff nothing was too much trouble " 5 Star "

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    Welcomed, fed well would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't get the shower to work and the programmes I wanted on the television - minor compared to the welcome and help from the staff.

    The food was delicious

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Friendliest pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No menu seen, but the landlord will cook an evening meal for guests on request. The pub is closed till 4 pm each day.

    Everyone is so friendly. Customer got us drinks because the landlord was busy, also put more wood on the fire on behalf of the landlord for us.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Very lovely people who work very hard but I think they need to think about there rooms a little more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms upstairs were very tired and needed updating and I think they need to think about the aroma of having two large dogs upstairs.

    Yvonne and her partner were very welcoming, nothing was to much for them .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    staff were excellent, Yvonne is a wonderful hostess nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    staff were excellent, Yvonne is a wonderful hostess nothing is too much trouble, rooms are clean and very comfortable, breakfast in the morning was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    5.8
    Very clean, spacious family room, good size bathroom &...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was kind enough to let me know they hold karaoke on Saturdays night but it was much louder than I expected especially because the family room is directly above it. So the children were awake until midnight when it finished. No food after 19h on Saturdays because of karaoke but the helpful staff recommended a local takeaway which was good enough. No toiletries in the bathroom so bring your own.

    Very clean, spacious family room, good size bathroom & shower room. Car park at the rear of the property. Super yummy breakfast and very helpful staff. Beautiful features around the pub / restaurant area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very comfortable plenty wardrobe space food excellent we had evening meal and full English breakfast landlady was really nice and helpful definitely be going back 👏

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Exerlent! Can’t wait to stay again 👌😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The owner Yvonne made us feel welcome and completely at home from the moment we set foot in the property, she was very thoughtful, and did everything she could to make our stay as enjoyfull and relaxing as possible. It was very clean, with good sized rooms & a lovely breakfast . We stayed over for a wedding, but I’m hoping we get an excuse to come and stay again some time soon! 😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.2
    Well presented, comfortable B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The main road outside with a rattling drain cover was a bit noisy at night.

    Lovely breakfast, comfortable beds and a friendly welcome. Good location for visiting the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a huge issue but the wifi in the single room drifted in and out. Still useful though. Elsewhere in the pub seemed perfect

    The owner landlady Yvonne was an exceptional hostess and immediately made me feel at home. Price paid was exceptional value and the breakfast was exactly what you needed to start the day. As a lone traveller it is sometimes daunting as you are never sure how the locals will be. I am pleased to say that within an hour of drinking in the evening i was chatting with a couple of regulars and sharing many humorous stories. The location is ideal as you are right on the border of the northern Peak District. The surrounding area was very tranquil. I enjoyed the walk along the river prior to my breakfast each morning. I enjoyed my stay so much at the Blacksmith Arms that i have booked again for a family trip next time. I am thoroughly looking forward to the karaoke!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.5
    Beautifully clean, nice bed and shower, but embarrassing reception and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The landlady greeted us in the bar by saying loudly that she had tried to email me a couple of days before to say my card was declined, which was embarrassing as the bar was full of locals who stared at us, some even were laughing. I explained that I transfer money to my account as I need it and always pay on the day I check in through booking.com but she said her policy was different due to having a lot of no shows. I paid using the card and she asked if it was the same card and I told her yes and explained again that I transfer money as I need it. After showing us to our room she said there was karaoke that night and it might get noisy. We went out but it was still going when we got back after midnight and our floor was vibrating and the noise was horrendous. It didn't last long after, but I think they should warn in advance if there is going to be a lot of noise. There are no toiletries, so bring your own and there is a bright green light in the room which can't be switched off and my husband found it difficult to sleep as he likes a dark room.

    The accommodation and the bar were spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was lovely and big with plenty of hot water. We were given our own key to let ourselves in the back way, rather than through the bar. The breakfast was fine and came quickly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Lovely atmosphere, the landlady was really friendly and we had the best breakfast. The location is perfect, half an hour driving to Ladybower Reservoir; a bonus would also be the view we had from our room. We'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Yvonne, the landlady was very professional and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will say that you should be prepared or plan ahead for any bands playing. Luckily my family slept through it but I struggled a bit. Great music though, we went down to see them earlier in the evening and they were great. I wouldn't expect much of a menu for dinner if you plan to eat there outside of breakfast. although Yvonne made us up some food and it was much appreciated.

    Yvonne, the landlady was very professional and friendly. We brought our kids and she went out of her way to chat with them and make them feel special. The included traditional English breakfast was delicious. The room was warm and cozy and seemed very clean. Overall it was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    The accommodation and service were great value for money and I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe some yogurt or fruit as an alternative to cereal before the cooked breakfast, but it was no issue, just personal preference.

    The bed was comfy, the shower was good, the whole place was lovely and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff could not do enough to accommodate us. They even looked after the dog while we ate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    A stress free stay with very hospitable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We used the Blacksmith Arms as it was in a perfect location from the Trans Pennine Cycle route (62) being just 2 minutes away. It was a great stay and great for cyclists or walkers using the route. The pub had a secure location for us to store our bikes overnight which was reassuring and it was extremely flexible in meeting our meal requirements. The pub had a limited evening service, but we contacted the host beforehand, who was extremely helpful in suggesting we pre-booked what we wanted so they could prepare the food for us specially. We all enjoyed a delicious evening meal. The full English was also lovely. The pub was ideal for what we wanted and all of us enjoyed our 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff but could have thought a bit more about b&b guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived and because they have a live artist performing they werent serving food and we had selected this pub becuase we knew we were arriving late and didnt want to have to find somewhere else to eat. In the end we had to go out and ended up eating late. Came back around 10.45 and the artist carried on until midnight - right below us so no sleep until he had finished. Think they were more concerned about entertaining regulars than thinking about b&b paying guests. Overpriced for the quality of accommodation and service.

    Location and breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.7
    Great location and a good basic accommodations. No hot water in the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water in my shower and no hot water in the shower next door. When pointed out, the landlady tried very hard to look surprised. I get that things can break, but would they break in 2 rooms (out of 4) at the same time and unnoticed? I doubt it.

    The landlady was friendly, cooked breakfast was a nice surprise :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    5.8
    Clean room and private path
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy saturday nights karioki. Breakfast is not open bufet and limited variety.

    Clean room and private path

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely welcoming pub, comfy room and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cosy bedroom, freshly cooked breakfast, very friendly staff 😀.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Good all round value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Yvonne and Steve were very welcoming

    How friendly people were

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good value for money. Manageress very good and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    The owner was very helpful .
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was very helpful . Very clean and comfy we will stay here again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the short stay,in a 'proper' country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Possibly some evening food

    Comfortable bed,excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window in the room let a lot of noise through from the main road outside.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Top place to stay, warm welcome, excellent food, wonderful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Top place to stay, warm welcome, excellent food, wonderful breakfast, well kept beer!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    It was perfect, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent all round. Landlady was lovely and welcoming. Made it all very easy and home from home. Great stay. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Great location for people travelling the Transpennine Trail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Warm welcome from landlady and the offer to tumble dry some of my soaked clothes! Breakfast cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Very friendly, made to feel very welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Will definatley stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place, would stay again if I’m in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely dog friendly pub

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    WE ENJOYED OUR STAY SO MUCH WE STAYED A FURTHER NIGHT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE

    BREAKFAST WAS THE ONLY MEAL WE HAD, AND IT WAS PERFECTLY COOKED AND SERVED.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location Service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.3
    A very welcoming establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren't warned that food wouldn't be available that weekend.

    A very welcoming establishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly landlady, in a lovely pub with a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner was very friendly and helpful, and the full English was spot on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant overnight stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly pub facilites

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    6.3
    staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    late night music till 12 midnight

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Just what we needed when we needed it
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great cooked breakfasts, served really quickly, beds really comfy, landlady Yvonne really helpful, storing our bikes securely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Loved it had a great time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Very friendly well presented hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.3
    lovely landlady and great location close to the peak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no breakfast before 9:30 was a big problem for us! above a pub, thus quite loud.

    lovely landlady and great location close to the peak district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Real pub with real people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives at all

    A genuine "real local pub with proper landlord and landlady who made me the customer the focus of their attention.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay,will return and also recomend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean & Tidy accommodation Yvonne & Steve very welcome & friendly Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfy bed, nice room with everything we needed, lovely pub, good food, off street car park, nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    The owner 😉
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The owner 😉

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    The staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff very friendly and I felt at home at no time at all :-) Food absolutely delicious In no doubt be visiting again:-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Top place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great

    Excellent breakfast, friendly landlady and all round good place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.3
    Room was good, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Room was good, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!