Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Blue Boar 3 stars

Temple Grafton, Alcester, B49 6NR, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Alcester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 370 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great

    Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Fabulous breakfast, lovely lunch on the terrace, lovely setting and great ambiance Will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Apart from dislikes quoted above, a delightful short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 - Noisy Extractor fan just beneath window, but more importantly, and even louder, a central boiler(?)) in a locked cupboard within the room.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I was just a lovely 3 night stay,in a lovely friendly hotel with good food i would recommend it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike i thought it was great.i have recommended it to friends and family ,i really enjoyed it ,it was a lovely break and the people are lovely and friendly and make you feel welcome.

    We loved every minute of our 3 night stay ,the room was lovely ,staff very friendly ,and the food was beautiful and not expensive ,there are lots of places to go and see their are some stunning buildings ,i went with my husband this time but im looking forward to going back with my daughter and her partner i know they will love it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall a great place with a good friend atmosphere and excellent food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dusty surfaces in bedroom and my pet hate, water left in the kettle from previous use???

    Very friendly staff, good food and a lovely traditional english pub

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great village hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet strength and speed poor (room 15, but also in the bar), creaky floors a little noisy

    Village location, good bed, very clean, nice big room, breakfast basic but adequate. We enjoyed our stay and would use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable and pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was cereal, yogurt, full English. A choice of cooked breakfasts would have been nice ie eggs benedict, omelette etc

    Lovely staff, lovely accommodation, lovely evening meal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location, very pretty place and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I was with a female friend, it was presumed we were partners. I booked a twin room specifically We were asked if we were going on a date and given a double room!!! This was quickly rectified and we were placed in the easy access bedroom which was not as nice as the original room we were offered but did have twin beds. Whilst we were amused rather than offended it is poor form to presume! Breakfast was booked for 9 am and at 9:15 we had to ask to be served. I was also told the butter is bad for my cholesterol and my toast only needed jam. As a paying guest I was somewhat perplexed by that comment. There was no table ready for us and staff were chatting rather than serving their guests There were no glasses for the juice and very little choice of cereal. The owners need to develop some finesse in dealing with their guests

    Lovely location, very pretty place and comfortable. Food was nice at lunch - scampi for my friend and chilli burger for me. Breakfast was adequate Beds and pillows v comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were lovely, food was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, food was fab. It's a beautiful part of the world. The Blue Boar is a fabulous old building with slightly wonky floors and goldfish in the well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here many times but this experience was not a good one. Staff were almost rude, food was not good at all and in the morning the man that was serving breakfast was rude and belligerent.

    The member of staff that was the only one even remotely helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Location, beautiful setting and nice bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet and tv went outt on 2nd night, after swapping out tv, still no service.

    Location, beautiful setting and nice bar. Staff had a dry sense of humor and was fun once you realised. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice friendly staff,would use the place again. Perhaps it needs a bit of "tidying up" in places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not have Windows,only a sky light. We arrived back after a busy full day to find there was no hot water!! Staff had it working within one hour.

    Good old fashioned pub,nice lively atmosphere,good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given room 1 when we arrive - no window, impossibly high sky lights which we could not open. Not very clean. Moved to a better room but as soon as we closed curtain the rail fell off. Just about summed up the place.

    Nothing. Very disappointing. Would not recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    overhall good but a special note to the staff who were so helpful and pleasant they made the stay w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was lumpy, the room, as it was the last room available there were no windows only skylights in roof very disappointing.

    The staff, the breakfast, the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the pub, in the countryside 10 minutes drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really Some of the beds were quite hard. I really don’t mind this but for some it may be an issue.

    I really liked the pub, in the countryside 10 minutes drive from Stratford. When we arrived the staff were very friendly. The room it’s self was big, almost like two rooms, one part had a double and another section had 3 singles. We were comfortable and at night it was quiet even above a pub. The room and bathroom were clean. The room was simple and basic but perfectly comfortable. Nice cooked breakfast. If you are looking for a family room at a reasonable price near Stratford this is a nice place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we've just stayed on this hotel and everything was just perfect! good food, quaiet location, good size parking and very tasty breakfast. staff was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    It is a beautiful old pub with historical significance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked via internet at around 1700 and arrived at around 1900. Arrived to a very busy dinner service and bar with one staff person at bar and one person serving. The staff person at the bar was responsible for our room check in, all meals which were to be ordered at the bar,all drink orders and all payment. She could not find our reservation and really tried . There was always a long line at the bar and while everyone was patient she was overwhelmed and in tears. Other staff did arrive and one hit a deer with her car. No one ever apologized, or reassured us or even explained What was happening. I gave bar lady a big tip and have no problem with her. Apparently someone had hit a pole and the internet was down too. My complaint is with the man who asked me if I wanted to pay in cash,American dollars or gold because he was having trouble processing our credit card. Someone else came in and got it right away. A simple apology for the inconvenience is all I needed ... not a rich American joke. We can not recommend this place.

    It is a beautiful old pub with historical significance to the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was excellent jst didn't like getting 2 taxis to property one there one bk into Stratford all other hotels were overpriced or fully booked in Stratford had a lovely stay

    Everything was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing as the small, hard, double bed was not what we reserved through Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and breakfast as indicated above.

    We booked a twin room but when we arrived were told they were unaware of our requirement and we were given a small double bedded room. Consequently neither of us slept much at all. There was no choice for the cooked breakfast - it consisted of a fried egg ( we really would have liked scrambled) black pudding (which we hate) tomato too hard to cut, and the remaining items were just luke warm - seemed to us to be a microwave job as it was ready in just a few minutes. Evening meal was fine, wine rather expensive for a pub but service was good. Overall we felt let down by Booking.com as the Blue Boar had no record of our request for a twin room and they had all been allocated when we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Probably not again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking shower Lack of choice for breakfast - you can have anything you like as long as it is fried bacon, sausage, black pudding, egg, beans No fruit - couldn't even find a banana or an orange

    Good room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room and nice pub downstairs. Parking was easy. Good menu including light meals and breakfast was tasty and not too huge. Nice local stroll to another nearby pub through the village. Not far from Stratford. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again, but would request a room further towards the front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room 12 was right above the main boiler and it was very noisy. Also doors were being banged underneath us for whatever reason !!!!!?????

    We liked the food, it was very good, also plenty of it. The staff were very obliging, Steve was a bit of a character. It was easy to get a taxi to Stratford so we didn't have the headache of trying to park, in a very very busy town. It was a pity we couldn't walk anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Food was very good and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception on booking in was rather unwelcoming. Attention appeared to be focused on racing events on the bar TV. Room overpriced considering size and facilities.

    Food was very good and well presented. Ease of access to and from town. Room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Good but could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty crockery at breakfast, staff had to search for cereal bowls ended up with soup bowls, TV in room poor hardly any channels even on freeview, took an age to draw hot water through for shower

    Room clean comfortable, evening food very good, beers very good, location very good, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third time at the blue boar and we are looking forward to our next visit. The staff are welcoming and friendly. It is an inn with character, clean comfortable rooms and good food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very cold day on our booking, around 2 degrees and for some odd reason the Inn had decided to leave the window in our room open....so it was absolutly freezing. We didnt check in until around 5pm so who knows how long the window had been open for. The radiator in the room wasn't at all adequite to heat the room so me and my partner literally sat in our coat and scarf waiting for the room to warm up before I could have a shower. Not really acceptable. Also my dad came round in the morning to drop my car off and the bar manager pretty much had an argument with him informing him that we had left that morning...to which my dad pointed out that we couldn't have left with out the car...to which the manager was still adiment that we had already left...very odd. I dont think the room has been updated since the 60's, in gerneral it was clean however there was black mould in the shower.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant and bar worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit weird as there was no menu, so you had to basically ask for what you would like and see if they had it. Food when served was okay.

    The bar, bar staff and regular customers were very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings drinks. Our evening meal was also very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.3
    Not worth £204 Don't bother booking this hotel its like Faulty Towers.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were dirty , bed wasn't at all comfortable YOU COULD FEEL THE SPRINGS, we had a total off 3 different rooms in the end everyone we looked at had a problem with it , the final room we choose , had a big lump of hair in the corner of the bathroom and the toilet was dirty with excrement we had to clean it our selves ,( DON'T MENTION THE TOILET BRUSH) we had no heating for the first night, we had to seal the window vent up with toilet paper to keep the cold out . The duvet cover had a hole init , behind the bedside table was rubbish and the glass that was on top of it was broken. we also didn't get our room turned over as we were staying for 2 nights, when we inquired about this, we were told that the cleaner had mention that we said we didn't want it done but we never saw the cleaner, so basically the staff were calling us lairs. We spoke to the Manager who didn't want to know all he said he didn't believe it.SO DON'T HERE.

    The food was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was damp, cold and smelt of mildew. Requested room change and this did not happen. Room not cleaned ie bins not emptied, cups not washed, bed not made on 2nd day Booking.com rate higher than advertised rate.

    The location was good for my purposes, plenty of parking, staff friendly, bar nice and warm and food good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good overall and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean but needed a little update.

    The staff were brilliant, they were very busy as there was a party going on but the staff kept asking if we were OK and if we needed anything very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice people, nice atmosphere, nice building, little details that could be improved upon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise easy to hear in rooms and the scampi and fish could have been left in the hot oil a little longer - the inside was undercooked.

    The atmosphere and pub

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    A great Pub Restaurant with Rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic Pub / Restaurant with Rooms. Got a great rate for the room and had intended eating out until I saw the extensive choice of the in-house restaurant menu. Had a fabulous meal, a perfectly cooked T-Bone steak. Room was clean and tidy with complimentary toiletries. A great breakfast the next morning rounded off my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The In was very nice, it had a good breakfast and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could complain about would be that the shower didn't get very hot, our friend in another room didn't have the same problem though.

    The In was very nice, it had a good breakfast and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay at The Blue Boar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem came when we were checking out, we had pre-paid via booking.com but the staff didn't think that rooms could be paid this way. They weren't rude about it but it was a bit awkward. Other than that I would really recommend this place.

    We really enjoyed our stay at The Blue Boar. It's a really nice little inn, and the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    This will not disappoint, so atmospheric and all you could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could fault nothing.

    This will not disappoint, so atmospheric and all you could expect from a cosy English country pub, just full of charm. An ideal location to explore.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice pub atmosphere and friendly staff - bit slow as only...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night - clanging of beer barrels and banging and this was at around 10pm

    Nice pub atmosphere and friendly staff - bit slow as only one person serving drinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Not as enjoyable as the last time we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were not as great as last time we stayed. Room was not cleaned the next morning and refreshments not replaced. No hairdryer in the room.

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    Its the second time we have stayed here and Absolutely love this hotel. Full of English charm. The staff are welcoming the pub is charming, The rooms are clean & Tidy. The food is of high standard - negatives - I cant think of any

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Check your room before checking-in.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise, no late night radiator heat, hallway floors very noisy. Security seemed lacking and pre-prepared breakfast was microwaved.

    Lighthearted, friendly staff. Easy parking. Staff allowed us to change rooms for working TV.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly B@B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no hot water in the morning for a shower.

    The complimentary breakfast good choice of cereal and jucie fresh coffee and tea and a good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, cosy & comfortable accommodation offering good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine for a one night stay

    All round comfortable accommodation with nice bar and restaurant, hosted by very friendly staff. For a one night stopover and evening meal this was everything we desired. Recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous break, thouroughly enjoyed our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing every thing was excellent

    Bedroom was really nice, roomy and comfortable, Staff were friendly and location excellent. We were attending a Golden Wedding Party nearby and it was a great choice to stay, having been recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Lovely French waiter at breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very loud water heater in a cupboard in our room (#11) woke us up at 5am. Not so great. The bathroom was a little grubby.

    Lovely French waiter at breakfast. Big breakfast 😊 Good location near Stratford Upon Avon and other towns.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Ideal for a day in Stratford with an onward journey to Cheltenham racecourse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late down to breakfast and were reminded of the times. Staff made us feel slightly that we were a nuisance as they wanted to finish serving breakfast.

    Lovely old inn in a beautiful location near to Stratford-upon-Avon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good stop over accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to turn lights off in bedroom without getting out of bed(needs bedside lamps) very poor lighting in bathroom.

    For an old property it was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    would definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very cold when we arrived. the heating did come on a bit later. the cooked breakfast was not great. no breakfast menu and the food was obviously prepared a bit in advance. bit greasy.

    Very comfortable bed. evening meal in the restaurant was superb - good value and top quality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Glad we booked one night and not two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room1, no windows, bed very uncomfortable, had to put kettle on a stool to reach the plug. Floor boards very creeky, but it is an old building. The seal had gone on the skylight causing a draft . Also not able to sleep due to the noise downstairs. Three way switches didn't work, you either had all lights on or off

    The restaurant and food very good, staff helpful but slow. Excellent breakfast and friendly breakfast staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better had the toast been ' done ' a little more,the bacon was a little too dry.

    Very satisfied with the room,the service from the friendly staff.They were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value and warm, freindly welcome with grteat food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom would benefit from a freshening - some of the finishes looked a little tired, but very clean and more than adequate. The character of the place makes up for any deficiency!

    Food and beer was great and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    We enjoyed our stay but it could have been a lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower leaked more water down the hose than came out of the shower head, so was very slow. Extremely creaky floorboards, neighbouring room got up early sunday morning - sounded like they were in the room with us.

    Food was excellent, room was adequate for the price paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant one nighter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service. Very brusque. Bathroom not thoroughly clean - toothpaste marks on shelf above sink. Hairs in bath. No bath mat.

    Excellent evening meal and cocktails.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, good food & great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that it was quite hot. There were no radiators turned on & no other extra heating. We decided it was the actual layout of the building,so cannot do much about that.

    Staff very helpful,room v spacious & clean. Lovely atmosphere & food very good. Great to see that both locals as well as staying guests use the bar,always a good sign.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant and comfortable in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more of the English breakfast in local bacon sausages and bacon etc. It was a standard hotel fair.

    The restaurant food and beer was excellent and the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable stay in a lovely Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stair case to the bedrooms a little steep.

    The staff were friendly, the food was lovely in the restaurant. The rooms are comfortable, and the location of the Blue Boar is idealic although a car is essential. My only concern is the photo on booking.com does not show the Blue Boar but a country house which is misleading.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. My recommendation is stay somewhere else.

    Nothing. Everything was poor from the attitude of the staff to the breakfast. The room was dirty and very shabby as was the bathroom. Couldn't see out of the window in our room as the glass in between was shot. Bedding was threadbare. We paid for two nights but checked out after just one. No one bothered to ask us if everything was alright. We didn't complain as we were so tired and just wanted to go home. It was a sad end to our week away having stayed in two other places which were very good. Apart from a full refund if we had complained, it still would not have made up for the last two nights of our holiday. Avoid Avoid Avoid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    The Food was good, Breakfast was nice and we had a meal in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Luxury Double Room with Extra Size Double Bed, what we got was Room 17, Small Room, Small 1/4 Size Bed not good for me I'm 6' 3" the Furniture was broken, the bathroom was dirty and had a smell about it, staff were most unpleasant to point of being rude.

    The Food was good, Breakfast was nice and we had a meal in the restaurant which was fair but not worth what you paid for it, we had a small bottle of champagne in our room which was warm, not cold and well over the top price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Good stay at this B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If l was being picky there was too many creaking floor boards.

    The room was ok, the breakfast was good. The staff were welcoming, and you could relax with a quiet drink in the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    2.5
    Very very bad service with rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service, not helpfull at all, Not polite , worst place I have ever been, Toilett did not work in our room , it was so smelly we could not sleep and we had to wait till the morning to find help and go to the toilett... they do not have 24 hours reception. even in the morning nobody helped us or show any attention for us or for the problem. Had to use downstairs the pub toilett 6:00 em in morning felt very uncomfortable. Nobody cared about what is going on just ignore us and very rude. I do not recommend to anybody this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't tell us there would be no way to enter the property after the pub had shut (that we could find anyway, and we HUNTED!). Luckily for us, we knew someone staying there who hadn't gone to the wedding, AND picked up the phone, so was able to let us in. If that hadn't have happened, we would have had to sleep outside!

    It was dated, but it was fairly clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely pub and a nice airy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a little frosty to start with. We didn't particularly feel welcome at first - but things did improve. When we first arrived the lady serving us was also serving someone else and was talking to her colleague and not paying any attention to us. Seemed a bit odd.

    Lovely room - very clean and airy and bed was comfortable. Pub is also lovely and the food was good. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    We would not hesitate to return to this accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only booked a standard room, next time i would try and upgrade.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent, a good location close to Strafford Upon Avon. Our room was on the small side but the food was so good we would stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay,very central location for sightseeing,lovely setting in beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes far too early(0830) for holidaymakers. Cobwebs in the bedroom,cleaner needs a feather duster and to use it daily.

    Great location, half way meeting point from the south to the north of uk.easy to find off the M40.lovely staff,typical country pub,good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    great place in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one small thing room 4 is a little noisy as its close to the bar but once closing time all very quiet x

    this was booked for my mum and dad as part of a Christmas present they said that the hotel was fantastic and all the staff were great and friendly, my mum and dad would recommend this hotel to other people also its very close to Ragley hall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay and will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the room

    Set up of the bedroom. We had a family room, with separate bedroom but had to walk through the double room to go to the bathroom, so waking people up in the night if we had to use the loo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Fab wend with friends. Even though we had an issue we did not ler it spoil our weekend they need to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with no cold water in our hand basin and this wasnt resolved. We did not get an aooligy or anything as a result.

    Food was very good. Nice atmosphere. Comfy beds. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of rooms were expensive for quality compared to other places we stayed on this trip. The male staff member who was organising the rooms and food was extremely rude and unhelpful

    The location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Time to chill at the Blue Boar
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed made a lot of noise

    The best thing was the staff they were friendly attentive made you feel at home. The food was excellent and reasonably priced all areas were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.2
    Lovely old pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor. No windows. Two skylights that you couldn't darken. Meant that room was very bright at 5am. Staff tried to be helpful but couldn't fix. Wardrobe scratched & full of "junk". Spider web behind door. Seemed dusty in the room - had to take a hay fever pill.

    Lovely old pub. Food good. Staff tried.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent for our stay.

    Great hidden gem of a hotel. The owner and all the staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful. The room we were in was clean and comfortable. The Guinness served in the bar was as well cared for and tasted as good as it gets. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and very well presented. Next time we're any where anywhere near we'll make a point of revisiting..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions, VERY difficult to find. The directions on Booking.com not clear at all. Nos signposts etc and the address is OUTSIDE Alcester, a few miles away in fact! We had to telephone the Blue Boar for directions.

    Fabulous people, Fabulous accomodation, Fabulous breakfast, Fabulous place!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay at the Blue Boar Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were clean and comfortable, but it was the attention to detail that was lacking. The Bathroom light did not work, once the bulb was changed it broke again, soon realized that a tap on the light fitting fixed the problem. The shower tray was blocked so the next person had to wait for the tray to drain before it could be used. Toilet one color toilet set another ! -

    Very nice Bar and restaurant situated in the countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    we booked a room with 2 single beds but they gave us abouble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we booked a room with 2 single beds but they gave us abouble bed which we did not want as this is not what we booked as i think this was not very good that is what we did not like other than that the food was good staff good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    Could recommend the food but not the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On My booking confirmation it said the room had wooden beams stone walls and a private bathroom. Our room was small with no beams or stone walls and the smallest shower room only just big enough!!!! the water didn't drain away from the shower tray so you had to wait 30/40 mins before the next person could shower.

    Food was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service, our breakfast server was keen to tell us what he had for breakfast ( coffee and cigarettes). We were offered a choice of cooked breakfast or not. There was no hot water on either morning, had to shower in cool. When asked if it was cheaper to have a glass or buy a bottle of Prosecco the barman suggested we buy champagne!

    Location, some of the period features, flagstones and well/pond

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Maybe it's all about the location ...?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small + muggy double room with no air-conditioning. Located next to A road = results in loads of road noise. Shower did not drain - so tray filled up. Adequate rather than splendid English breakfast. A little overpriced for what you receive, unless it's all about location.

    Lovely Cotsworld setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Good comfortable rural pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of the Blue Boar, but I would suggest not using the postcode to GPS navigate here! We ended up in the middle of a cornfield, and the farmer told us that another car load of prospective Blue Boar guests had done the same the day before!! The GPS worked fine if searching by street address. The photo which pops up on Booking.com is not that of the pub, but a nearby stately home, in case you are expecting something more imposing after your booking.com search!

    Comfortable beds in a reasonably spacious room. Good shower pressure, though hard not to end up with a puddle on the floor! Large English breakfast. Good ales. We didn't eat here, but the food looked tasty as we walked through.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: