Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The BlueBell Hotel 4 stars

The Parade, Neath, SA11 1RA, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Neath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good value, highly recommend,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and surrounding area looking a little tired,

    Beds really comfortable, room and bathroom clean, Smoked haddock and poached eggs breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking but was not a problem as road closed due to festival so were able to park! Disappointing that you have to upgrade to have a hot breakfast as the selection for the continental breakfast was minimal

    Clean, comfortable well maintained rooms. Impressed with how quickly light bulb changed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The overall appearance and facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the outside bottom of shower door cloud have done with “deep clean”

    The overall appearance and facilities in the room. The general friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our family room bed linen and duvet were missing, we had to request them. Room being on the high street was very noisy. Breakfast very basic.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good service and reasonable price close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realise breakfast included in price was continental and that we’d have to pay for full English. But was reasonable price and good quality. Also not the fault of hotel but it was incredibly noisy due to nearby Friday night revelry!

    Great service, nice enough room, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely rooms, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Room directly over outside sitting area and opposite night club. Music and very loud conversations went on till 2am...

    Lovely rooms, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    Manager could not be contacted as he was on say off and there seemed to be no one in charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom 101 most depressing room I ever stayed in.Dark furniture,poor lighting looking on to nothing except what looked like smoking area for staff

    Staff member Emily who tried to hold it together when staff did not show for work on Saturday morning for breakfast.Reminded me of a episode of Fawlty Towers.No food available and no one there to turn on the ovens for vreakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    This hotel could do with a re furb or re decoration of rooms. Parking though would still be an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked tired and could do with re furb. Not enough parking spaces. Can park on road overnight but have to move in the morning by 9am on a Saturday morning.....no lie in🙁

    Good sized room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not offered a hot breakfast but noticed others were. Staff at breakfast were not concentrating on there job.

    ideal for the night stop we had in Neath.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small very tricky to get in and out for the older person could do with doing away with the bath and put in a much bigger shower . In restaurant could do with some nice vegetables on the menu not everybody wants chips

    Very comfortable bed Nice and spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Super friendly receptionist, helped us out with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No attractions, the location is quite sad Somebody smoked in the room and it smelled strongly

    Super friendly receptionist, helped us out with the motorbike parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    not a 4 star hotel standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was an issue. Rooms are dated and need upgrading. Took 2 days to replace a missing TV remote. Only continental breakfast included in the price.

    location was very central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.5
    We should appreciate your comments regarding a booking made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We should appreciate your comments regarding a booking made with Booking.com for a two night break for 2 rooms four people 24-26 August 2018 at the Blue Bell Hotel Neath Wales. We arrived mid after noon to check in and were surprised to be asked for the full amount of monies before seeing our rooms. We are OAP, and decided to take the lift. We had not collected cases and were parked on yellow lines due to the limited parking.The lift began to move then stopped mid floor! We pressed the alarm to ask for help no one came , we shouted, and hammered on the doors of the lift which was liscienced for 8 people we were 4 and no cases so not breaking any rules regardIng weight. We were left ,abandoned, ,nobody came to our assistence a recorded message said we could not be connected. We were feeling the effects of claustrophobia and heat when a member of staff came and said they had called the lift engineer who would be with us later and then disappeared we had been in the lift a long time and no one checked on us we called and hammered again and got no answer so we called the fire brigade on a mobile phone.They were able to reassure us but took a further 20 minutes at least to rescue us The service engineer arrived during this time. We questioned him about the lift and he mentioned that he had been there a month ago when he recommended that the emergency line was needing attention ,this had not been done. On our release there was no hotel representative , no one to apologise ,ask how we were or give us refreshments. As stated we are old age pensioners. The firemen and the lift engineer were excellent but the hotel staff were apalling there were no safety procedures or lift rescue, and no duty of care to us trapped in the lift. We were shaken and wanted our money back but were told there was nothing wrong with the rooms we had booked so that was not offered. The Blue Bell hotel does not deserve 4 stars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    We left disappointed with The Bluebell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not particularly comfortable which was a shame as it looked very nice. Also on the Friday night we arrived there was a 40th Birthday celebration with Karaoke which continued until around 1am. It was so very loud you could not possibly drown the sound out by watching the TV. We did ask the staff downstairs at around 11.30 when it was due to finish and although she said soon it was well over an hour before things calmed down. There is no parking available except for 4-5 cars on an adjacent parking area which isn't that great for a 4* hotel. Other places tend to have allocated parking elsewhere off premises where you can get a pass or ticket. We had to just park on the streets. I didn't think the staff were particularly welcoming or helpful, on the number of occasions we did interact with the staff, it felt like more of an inconvenience that we were stopping the night. It appeared to me there was more focus on the bar and restaurant than hotel guests. Disappointing, given the high reviews seen before we booked.

    The room was a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Adequate, very clean hotel, just a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced particularly with only a very basic continental breakfast. Also had to pay another £10 to park on station during our stay as no space at hotel.Room very clean but one or two cosmetic things, eg rust on shampoo holder. Quite noisy outside until early hours, not sure how you would get on if an early to bed person or light sleeper

    Staff excellent. Everything else ok. Very central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice room - NO SLEEP !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst nights sleep I have ever had anywhere. (Fri night family with 3 children) 8-10pm room above us seem to find entertainment in running from one end of suite to other. . 1am large fight ensues out side in the street. Lots of shouting, screaming and wailing. 3 police vehicles needed 3:30am a glass bottle is bin emptied in street outside. Sounds like an explosion going off. (this can't wait until morning?) 5:19am catering lorry complete with reversing alarm and very noisy unloading arrives at hotel. Now I realise the hotel will say they can't control some of these events but surely better sound proofing of windows or the relocating of families to quieter section of the hotel would help if this is the situation. I also noted we were not asked how our stay was at checkout as obviously they don't want to know.

    The room was nice and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful Continental breakfast was acceptable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told at booking breakfast was included didn't specify anything else, on arrival we were told we'd have to pay extra for an upgrade to cooked breakfast, not impressed with that. 'Continental' breakfast was included but it was very basic and no variety over the 3 days we were there. For example tinned peaches to go with yogurt everyday, the tinned fruit wasn't even varied. Some very limited choice of fresh cut fruit, same everyday watermelon and melon. Very limited, uninspiring and boring. The fridges in rooms didn't work. My husband didn't like the mattress at all and didn't sleep at all first night. I slept well first 2 nights, Wednesday and Thursday were fine, come Friday night it was SO noisy outside ALL night! We couldn't sleep. We had had a busy tiring day on Friday, doing the four waterfalls walk (in the rain) and we were driving home Saturday, we needed a good night's sleep. Very frustrating. The car park is very small, so it's a bit inconvenient finding parking and constant checking on and moving your car around.

    Rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom facilities were good and clean. Nice to have a TV and Iron. Staff were pleasant, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Two nights in Neath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Stayed here lots of times. The room was large and comfortable with excellent d/glazing. The hotel restaurant was closed Sunday evening so we had to find somewhere else to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.9
    Fawlty Towers script writers take note!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything - they double booked me and left me out on the street at 1.00am. I'd driven over 2 hours to get to the Hotel, and to be told after I had booked, and paid for my room, that they were full, is not on! They even gave me a key to a room which had a couple staying in it! Luckily the door didn't open, would have been a shock a 1am to have a stranger walk in your room...! Fawlty Towers script writers take note!

    Nothing - they double booked me and left me out on the street at 1.00am. I'd driven over 2 hours to get to the Hotel, and to be told after I had booked, and paid for my room, that they were full, is not on! They even gave me a key to a room which had a couple staying in it! Luckily the door didn't open, would have been a shock a 1am to have a stranger walk in your room...! Fawlty Towers script writers take note!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.5
    We had a good room clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room was broken I.e. the door came off in your hand. The staff informed us that they had been informed previously about it. If this was the case then why had it not been fixed. Also the bedside light was not working. I informed them on our first nights stay but it still had not been fixed at the end of our third night. Whilst the hotel in general is good these small faults should have been fixed

    We had a good room clean and comfortable. There was only a shower whereas I would have preferred a bath. No doubt if you stipulate a room could have been available. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the same

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Overall we as a family did not enjoy this hotel due to loud noise and a leak dripping overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed/ mattress is not suitable for my 6 year old and definitely not for a grown adult. The hotel is situated immediately next door to a nightclub and noise can be heard up until 3am. Clattering of bottles and foul language- completely inappropriate for children -can be heard with the windows closed. I booked with breakfast included- although it stated continental. Salad not included. A Choice of cheap ham and cheese with bread, baguette or croissant.....Very basic. Cooked breakfast is at additional cost!! We had booked 2 rooms. One room had a leak and dripping could be heard overnight. .

    Staff are friendly. Clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Even though there was a miss understanding with regards to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit expensive for one night. But most places are.

    Even though there was a miss understanding with regards to using blue light discount card the staff corrected their mistake and were brilliant in resolving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me I would have liked the fridge to be a bit cooler, in this hot weather it would have helped chill our water down better. This is a very very small thing!! Also perhaps better access to parking, but given the location I can appreciate this wouldn’t be an easy fix.

    The staff were fantastic! Stayed here this weekend and my friend and I loved the whole stay. Very comfortable room with air con (which was a blessing in this current heat) nice bed and great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    An interesting historical Welsh town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the welcome, comfortable bed, clean room, good breakfast. Neath does have the remains of a castle which is open to the public subject to ongoing restoration works. The Blue Bell Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the train station. There are a few eateries close by, including a Wetherspoons pub named The David Protheroe, after the first appointed Police Officer to Neath. The pub was indeed the former Police Station for Neath and it's surrounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    In all lovely stay and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t great. Car park only fits a few cars however staff very helpful to ensure somewhere to leave car was found

    Amazing friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for Swansea. Excellent hotel, friendly staff and great breakfast in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some night time noise from bars and pubs next door. It didn't bother us as we were late in anyway from a concert in Swansea.

    Excellent rooms, very clean and comfy. Great shower. Tea and coffee facilities, TV, hairdryer, iron and safe in the rooms if you needed it. Very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Was staying for the Dragon Ride Sportive and was in a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking, had to park at the train station

    Was staying for the Dragon Ride Sportive and was in a lovely location. Plenty of places to eat near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    We just needed an overnight stop to be near family so didn't have chance to see much of Neath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't make my wish for a small cooked breakfast clear enough so got a large plateful of the 3 items I chose.

    Our room was very well equipped, quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect, will definitely return on next visit to area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a very small issue but hey ho where isn’t it ?? Plenty down the road.

    Staff are super friendly and helpful, bar area and restaurant are all great, really relaxing atmosphere. Down for a cycling event and the staff were up and ready serving continental style at 0500 hrs, fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    The bedroom was big and comfortable with a very good shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi not very good signal but it did work - so I could do essential things. Restaurant and bar very quiet, but nice enough.

    The bedroom was big and comfortable with a very good shower. It is centrally located near the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access and parking difficult but not impossible. Room very dark moody lighting. Trains close to window but air con enabled us to close the window.

    Very modern and spacious room. V good bathroom. Air con excellent. Tea making facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Lovely unique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff at lunch! We sat for quite some time while a couple who had just arrived were served promptly! I had to get up & ask for menus for myself & my sister. I found this service very strange & lacking in customer service!

    It was very close to the train station as well as to the cafe’s & restaurant’s. Also little shops in the area! The hotel itself has a lovely full hot breakfast for less than 9 British lbs. Well worth the money! What I found unique was the hidden closets on each side of the beds - one even had an ironing board in it - along with hangers for your clothes & shelving units!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Suite was massive and facilities were fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking was available nearby. Noise from nearby bars.

    Suite was massive and facilities were fine. Staff were great, especially young man on the desk who was new - went out of his way to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Didn't stay
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally couldn't park anywhere..we checked in and then checked out, only parking was on the road with traffic wardens flooding the area. Was told by the lovely receptionist that we would get a refund if we rang on the Monday when the manager was in, I did ring but wouldn't give a refund , ended up paying for 2 hotels

    Only the lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude day 2, however other staff were helpful. Room was not made up in day 2, the area was extremely noisy till 2am, the air conditioning unit rattled all night so had to turn it off. Just not good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, bar the coffee.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee - the room had the usual tea/coffee facilities. The instant coffee in packets wasn't brilliant. Hot chocolate option would be good for the evenings for those who don't want tea or coffee before bed. Breakfast was spot on, however, after the poor instant coffee in the room, we were bitterly disappointed that this was served with breakfast. Is it too hard to have a pot of fresh coffee on the go for breakfast guests? On site parking facilities not the greatest - too fewer spacers for staff/guests. Not really a fault of the hotel itself, more it's location. Staff were very helpfull in pointing us towards other parking facilities within the town, a few mins walk away.

    Comfortable, peaceful rooms. Tastefully decorated with a well designed ensuite. Heating was broken on our visit but the staff had provided electric heaters in the room which were more than satisfactory - we had to turn it off despite the snow outside!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall good. Room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to park overnight close to 200 metres from the hotel. It made me restless all night until I was back in the car the next day.

    General atmosphere of the hotel and room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sons room was at the front and very noisy not your fault but not much sleep until early hours.

    Very clean except for outside our window on flat roof loads of cigarette buts and a cushion been put out there would have thought would clean this up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Out of my expectations. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at night and waited for a few minutes until an attendant came to the concierge.

    Out of my expectations. Very nice hotel indeed! Did not expect a great hotel in Neath. Great value for money. Definitely recommend to others. Location is great, 3 mins to train station, close to tourist attractions like the Neath Castle, neighbourhood is safe with lots of fast food restaurants nearby. Great cosiness, comfortableness and cleanliness. The size of the room is spacious. Lots of amenities, really good. Carpet flooring and podium view. Great noise cancellation. The shower is hot and constant. Great wi-fi connection, can watch HD and live videos. Staff is alright. Modern hotel and very nice and stylish rooms. Great heating system in room as well. Very nice hotel indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and would want to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really; parking is very limited but we new this before booking

    Lovely staff, friendly greeting on arrival by the young lady on reception and at all times during our stay Very good restaurant We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and would recommend both

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Matre De was good,food was verey nice, however the room was a let down and the service from other
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist didn't check us in when we arrived, she went downstairs and left us there. The sheets on the bed had stains on them, the room overlooked the road opposite a pub, it was very nosiy, especially sunday morning when workmen were diging up the road. At breakfast the staff took ages to come and take our order,then the young girl dropped my toast. the staff seemed more interested in getting tables ready for the next sitting.

    The matre de in restaurant in the night was great,he was very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Nice with lovely shower/bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell (not of the room but the air in Neath) also you could hear the neighbours, luckily ours were fairly quite but if you had a rowdy bunch next door you’d be up all night

    Really nice staff lovey room and really clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, good hotel, clean, but Neath is a bit of a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As much as the hotel and staff were great, Neath does not have much for it (and I’m being very generous here).

    Booked a suite for 2 adults and a child, we were not disappointed the room was huge, very well appointed with shower and bath and even a kitchenette. Decor is mostly 90s but still very good overall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying there with my 10 year old daughter I would have preferred separate beds instead of 1 double. I did request it so assume that either they don't have the option or didn't have any available.

    Nice big super clean room which, considering where it is, is very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    I was disappointed with the room it was tucked away at the end of the building ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains dusty on very small pokey window, room was claustrophobic, banged my head on part of bulk head next to kettle etc, Bed was too firm, bedding was cheap, OTT ceiling light shade ,

    Great shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Check in process very smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains can be a small annoyance for those in rooms at the back of the hotel if you forget to shut the window! A/C works well when you remember to shut the window.

    Check in process very smooth. Good breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Remember your earplugs. Disappointing after previous stays.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Loud extractor outside window, slept with earplugs (as have had noise issues here before) but was still woken up by the noise at 4AM. Breakfast is charged extra, food was ok, but instant coffee and a hot water urn? Orange juice was empty and not refilled (this happened last time too). Parking, car park is very small so it's a scurry to find an on-street spot. I've stayed here quite a few times, and had mainly very good stays, however the last time was very noisy, (room on other side at High Street end), this stay was noisy. The cracks are starting to show in the stylish and modern decor, literally, cracked glass screen on landing, chipped paint around bathroom mirror, bubbling paint along bath, part of the shower head holder was missing, one of the bedside lights was missing, looked to have been snapped off and not replaced. Maybe time to look elsewhere.

    The rooms are stylish and modern, if not quite as slick as they used to be, the staff member (Receptionist / Breakfast server) was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better. Croissants were soft and buttery, the welsh breakfast wasn't very appetizing unfortunately.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they changed our rooms towards the back as they realised it could be a disturbance if we faced the high street. Early morning drunkeness is not the best background music to sleep to. We had pre-payed for 2 days of breakfast, but as I didn't like the breakfast for the day that much, i had asked if they could refund the next days meal (We had breakfast on the way back), and it was reimbursed without any fuss and quickly for us. The executive bedroom was large and beautiful, i have an issue with how dim the lights were, apart from that the room was extremely clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was alright, nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that it said there was parking on the Bookings.com site, but when I turned up there was space for four cars, 5 at a stretch. It wasn't secure. The room was ace, but being a Friday night there where people in Neath out and about and being a front facing room there was no respite from the sound out side of people shouting at each other, screaming (yes you read that right) and just generally being loud. It finally settled down about 2:30/3am

    The food was amazing and freshly prepared. The room was a grand size for me and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and clean, extremely comfortable, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With it being on The Parade where the Neath nightlife is it can be a little difficult to get to sleep with all the noise outside.

    Very nice and clean, extremely comfortable, staff were friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Recptionist Nia, total babe, super helpful, very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi speed was not good enough. no water in rooms ?

    Recptionist Nia, total babe, super helpful, very professional. great area, clean, quiet friendly town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel with very helpful staff and superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave!!

    Lovely big room with extremely comfortable bed and wonderful power shower. Everywhere very clean. Staff extremely helpful and friendly nothing too much trouble. Restaurant was superb ate dinner in there the first night and was so impressed booked in for son's birthday dinner the second night. Breakfast was very large and delicious set you up for the day. We would not hesitate to stay here again when visiting my son in Neath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    2.5
    Disgusted!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absaloutly disgusted with the turn out to our stay here. Room looks nice until you start to use things. Towel rack on the wall opppsite the shower head was not fitted to the wall correctly making it a hazard and upon further inspection ciggerette burns on the bath. All lamps were broken/loose. Curtain on the window was disgustingly yellow looking very unclean. Copious amounts of cigarette butts outside our window. And even the smoke detector fell off the ceiling whilst we were sitting on the bed. We were meant to have a city view but when we opened our curtains we were greeted by a rooftop, 3 extraction fans (which let out a lot of noise and smell from the kitchen) and trees. Not to mention the noise that came from constant trains going by very close to our room. One night the fire alarms went off 3 times 12:30 am 2:30am and 7:30am not once did any member of staff give an explanation or apology to anyone in the hotel nor did they come to our rooms or phone our rooms to ensure our safety. 2 days before we were scheduled to leave the maintenance women had told the desk manager that we had been smoking in our room. May I add that we do not smoke in our own home let alone someone else property the desk manager (Adam) and maintenance came to our room walked in and informed us it smelt like smoke in our room. Not once had we lit a single cigarette in the room, the desk manager himself had even seen us countless times smoking outside the hotel and in our own car, even when he left the hotel to move his vehicle and locked us outside the hotel in the cold whilst he done so. So because they apparently smelt smoke they tried to fine us £100 when we said we couldn’t afford it they then phoned the police. They even went on to accuse my partner of smoking weed inside the hotel also, which he most definitely did not!

    The room was spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a good, cosy sleep in a very comfy bed :)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaniness cold be a bit better but nothing to worry about. The ceiling is kind of noisy when the person above is moving perhaps because the building is old although it does not feel old at all.

    We had some cofee, tea, biscuits, etc waiting in the room. Adam was friendly and supportive. The room was cosy and bigger than expected. Free fast WIFI.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Good sized room, clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The alarm went off twice in the middle of the night. These things happen we understand but no explanation or apology in the morning following our disruptive sleep. :(

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Poor night sleep
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off at 04.30 in the morning and again at 07.30hrs. They took payment on entering the hotel not check out

    Dinner and breakfast are good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Lovely Hotel but not what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here many times before but the hotel is now pricing itself to high for a Hotel in Neath . I’ve stayed in many hotels in the uk as I travel a fair amount and whilst this was one of my favourites I don’t think I would stay again as it’s no longer value for money I can stay in the 5* Hilton in Cardiff for less or the nearby Towers with pool and Spa . Shame as the hotel is lovely but they seem to be pricing themselves to high now £149 a night and no breakfast on a weekend in January.

    Staff are very good and can’t fault the cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    What can i say living the dream my 8 year old said when she saw the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Excellent freindlist staff nothing to much trouble would be my first port of call breakfast was excellent lovely and fresh i carnt recommend enough with thanks to the manager and staff for making our stay welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit picky but the restaurant service could be sharper. Corrected menu first time. Drinks not left on the bar. A service buzzer on reception would be useful.

    Food and bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking facilities re poor, they have a very limited car park and if your not there early you dont get a spacee, so you have to park in a nearby car park at the railway station. Which is not too fr and only £3 for a day so its swings and roundabouts really,

    The rooms are excellent, very comfortable, and of a high standard. Great Bathrooms, Staff are excellent and very Friendly. The loction for the centre of Neath is excellent. didn't sample the food as we had other arrangements, although the resturant looks very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Close to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little parking available at the hotel and difficult to find on road overnight parking nearby. Our bathroom extractor fan was on permanently which made the bathroom very cold.

    Close to the centre of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    Probably won,t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't cleaned properly as spilt tea hadn't been cleaned up. Breakfast was not up to old standard and not enough staff

    The staff are always friendly and very helpful..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    We had high expectations of this hotel but unfortunately it did not live up to those expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at £8.95 was poor would have like more choice of fruit ect The cooked breakfast was terrible hardly anything on it and what was on it was poor quality The room we stayed in had a fire escape in with a light next to it which I understand the health and safety importance of it but when your trying to go to sleep and that light is lighting the whole room up it makes it very difficult to get a good night's sleep which is what you'd expect from staying in a hotel of this quality also the bed was not very comfortable very lumpy and very hard pilows neither me or my girlfriend had a good night's sleep which ruined the night we had stayed here

    The room was decorated lovely and it's was spotless

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is in an excellent location - it is modern and friendly and serves a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small car park was rather tricky as we had the last space and it took a lot of maneuvering.

    The staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Hotel walking distance from train station and close to shops etc. in Neath.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a meal in the restaurant with family soup could have been hotter. Also tea at breakfast water could have been hotter. I like my food hot, otherwise everything fine.

    Room & Bedding very clean. Nice Bathroom and really good shower. Sausage at breakfast was very tasty and well done. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful glad we came
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fresh fruit would have been nice rather than a fruit salad in a bowl

    The hotel was absolutely fabulous but the night life did give the entertainment of a large group of lads having a punch up but other than that it was fantastic and and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    A disappointing stay in a hotel that was all style, and no substance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 4 parking spaces, which I’m pretty sure the staff were using. Waited 10 minutes for someone to arrive to greet us and book us in. When someone finally turned up, they told us they’d send someone to sort us out, which took another 10 minutes. No plug in the bath. When I called and asked reception, they said they’d send one up and didn’t. On top of that, the shower was weak, and not very hot.

    Cheap price, and fulfilled the request of a bottle of wine in the room for our arrival. Well decorated throughout. Decent iron and board in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Hotel was very quiet and peaceful, given that it is located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Hotel was very quiet and peaceful, given that it is located in the town centre and next to a railway line - best nights sleep I’ve had for a while

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Large towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed. Bedding did not smell or feel fresh. TV is on wall to side of bed so watching from bed gives neck ache. Green emergency exit light on all night directly onto bedroom, just awful. Lighting in room very dim. Bath slippery when stepping out of shower. Definitely not 4*.

    Large towels. Toiletries provided. Spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lots of family around the area will definitely recommend and stay here again next time.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking area was very small, lucky to get a space.

    The room was much bigger than expected and spotless. Great shower. The breakfast choices were good, very nice orange juice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good all round value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearby noisy nightclubbers on Friday and Saturday still partying at 3am! In fairness the Bluebell have done their best to insulate the room which faces the street and the noise was at a level which didn't prevent me sleeping

    Very good all round value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Would be returning
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So disappointed that after a member of staff stated that our bags would be taken to our room as we had a wedding to attend to, Only to find out bags still there after arriving 12 later. Also took 15 minutes to check out as a member of staff was no where to be seen.

    Lovely look on the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    What a truly fantastic hotel , I’ve stayed in many five star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a truly fantastic hotel , I’ve stayed in many five star hotels and this hotel would give them a run for their money. Truly lovely spacious room and in excellent condition , staff friendly and very polite and the food served in the restaurant was excellent and very professional service by the restaurant/bar staff. If you are looking for a hotel in Neath / Swansea area you would do well to book here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a lovely building, with good sized room, clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to shops, banks, entertainment areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was great, bed very comfortable and high standard of furnishing, breakfast was very nice, parking was handy but the car park was small and awkward(only negative) Staff friendly and helpful, Spotlessly clean, Immaculate hotel. Unfortunately didn't try Le Mancha their restaurant as we had already made other arrangements. So impressed just booked another night for December.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: