Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bonham 4 stars

35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh, EH3 7RN, United Kingdom

#57 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 818 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    I keep returning to this excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that caused me any stress at all throughout my whole stay.

    Delightful, cosy, quiet room with great views. Windows that opened so that I could let in the fresh, crisp air. Impeccably clean, good WiFi, firm mattress, soft bedding. Freshly cooked breakfast. Parking. Bottles of water in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with minor issues over the dining room decor looking tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was a little tatty, especially the tables and chairs. Not really in keeping with the rest of the decor.

    Lovely room and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel with lovely staff - can’t wait to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage to car park from the road could be better - we almost missed it.

    Great staff - so friendly. Gorgeous spacious room, even with two extra beds in for the children. Great breakfast and the restaurant was lovely for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a bit hit & miss. Reception staff excellent. Bar & breakfast staff less so. They were clearing tables rather than serving customers. And then made mistakes with a simple order. A bit of training required perhaps.

    Great location in the New Town. Near city centre but quiet. Lovely comfortable room & excellent bathroom - both recently refurbished. Car park available (£15 overnight). Easier than having to find somewhere to park on street. Good breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Our second visit here and will use again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices very expensive. We ordered 1 single Highland Park malt and 1 double Balvenie malt whisky and they were going to charge us £27.90! So we did not accept them especially since there was no price list to justify the amount.

    The breakfast was fabulous. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room decor lovely and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Buffet breakfast wasn't on par for the level of hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast wasn't on par for the level of hotel, water bottle was open and half full in the mini fridge but it was quickly ammended. Room was beautiful and views were stunning. Overall good experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The Bonham is a beautiful hotel in a great location, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The Bonham is a beautiful hotel in a great location, close enough to lots of shops, restaurants and attractions to allow you to walk to them yet in a lovely quiet street that felt miles away from the noise and bustle of the city We loved our stay and would definitely come back and recommend to friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend, splendid experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent elegant location. Warm and professional staff. The private garden is a gem not only if you travel with your dog, like we did, but also for humans to relax Food and breakfast buffet excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The Bonham - A stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    Fabulous location, beautiful hotel with stunning views. Spotlessly clean, very comfy bed, charming bar, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Fab location and gem of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of building work in area at present but o my to be expected in a beautiful location and doesn’t really impact at weekend ... only weekdays which makes parking a little trickier but not too bad

    Stayed here frequently in June and just love this hotel ... staff can’t do enough and rooms are lovely especially the junior suites Will be perfect when exterior construction work complete

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hot

    The beds were comfortable. the bathroom lovely and the situation of the hotel fantasticfor both walking and going into the main area of Edinburgh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Still fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise but will be perfect when finished.. whole area having improvements so no real issue

    The staff are wonderful and the location perfect Newly decorated rooms light and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    A welcome break in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was still being refurbished and had lots of wet paint signs. There was no air conditioning in the room and it was very warm , fans were available but we only found out on departure.

    It was a lovely bedroom , and large bathroom which had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The hotel location was ideal for shopping and sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable beds, quick, friendly check-in and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning. Room was too hot and stuffy and despite the other comforts and facilities, we were unable to sleep for the heat.

    Comfortable beds, quick, friendly check-in and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The charge for parking should be shown on the website. I telephoned in advance so I was aware of the cost but it might surprise some people. £15 for an overnight stay is, however, not unreasonable in the centre of the city.

    We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite which was a lovely surprise. Even more so when we went into the room which had a magnificent view over the Dean Bridge and beyond to Fife. Spacious, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. There was an ironing board and iron, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee tray. The bathroom was excellent, too, with both bath and shower. Little treats had been left to welcome us and we were given fizz vouchers - all of which was much appreciated. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening but breakfast was very nice. Staff pleasant and helpful. Excellent quiet location within 10 minutes walk to Princes Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for a very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations ongoing. Construction noise began at 8 am although management’s letter about the issue said 9 am. On complaining hiwever we were moved to an even better room, with no noise. Breakfast expensive, I suggest a lighter continental option.

    Stylish and civilized, as befits its area. Large comfortable bed and room. Parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel which will be fantastic when the refurbishment is complete and settled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the refurbishment is still underway the rear of the building has scaffolding and work being carried out although I was assured we wouldn't be disturbed over the week end and that was the case. The cleaners do an excellent job with the extra dust from the building work. The hotel bar area is small for a city hotel.

    Super location in the West End of the city. Had a Junior Suite at the back of hotel overlooking the Firth of Forth. The suites are very comfortable and well furnished and surprisingly quiet for a city center hotel. Staff are very welcoming and responsive. We had a couple of minor issues which were sorted out very quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and room quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scaffolding

    Did not use the restaurant but the key decorated room was gorgeous. Pity about the scaffolding and the Man there when I opened the curtains!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A great get-away place for a long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The friendliness of staff, the ambiance of the hotel as well as the location to Princes street. The room was big, clean and had all of the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Time travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in the process of a rehabilitation so, by now, there are some inconvinience.

    The hotel has a look at the past that enhances its charms. It's quite far from the city centre but not much as to be a problem with the advantage to be in a quiet neighbourhood. Breakfast is really great and the people working there are professional and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    The rooms had just gone through a refurb so all looking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking I was not informed about building works taking place and the scaffolding at the rear of the hotel. I was unhappy as my room was at the back. However, the staff were excellent (ladies at reception) they were happy to offer another room at the front. Happy Days!

    The rooms had just gone through a refurb so all looking immaculate. The ladies on reception were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and hotel; we would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay, the elevator to our floor wasn’t available. Also, the bathroom needed more towel rails. Lastly, as we stayed for 6 nights, we could have done with more storage space for our clothes, for instance a chest of drawers.

    Breakfast was excellent, and our room was lovely and spacious. Staff were terrific. Our room had a great view, amd we were very comfortable there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Just heaven. Perfect example of absolutely brilliant Scottish hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find any fault. Everything was perfect, even the way in which the exterior renovation activities were being carried out.

    Extremely Comfortable bed and facilities. Relaxing atmosphere. Excellent food, but what made this trip (apart from the absolute luxury) was the staff. Courteous, kind, efficient and friendly. Added bonus? Arrangements that were made for my pick up. Absolutely wonderful experience for this (much) older lady.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Fab location and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was scaffolding outside our room and workmen all day from 9am which wasn’t great as we only found out when we reached our room and saw a note. Would have preferred to have known in advance or at check-in

    The staff were friendly and rooms recently renovated with a fab location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    A stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is being restaured. Means no lift and scaffolding on the rear side.

    Convenient location not far from Rutland square, in a quiet and nice area. Great view from the rooms on the rear side. Great comfort. Excellent breakfast, good restaurant with a good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Good central location and a fine historic town house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a little impersonal as though most of the guests are just passing through. We only had one dinner in the hotel which was fine but the menu is a little pretentious (I am always put off by 'foam'). Not the hotel's fault as building work has to be done, but it was slightly unnerving to see workmen going back and forth across our window and the presence of scaffolding and ladders meant that we felt it was unsafe to leave the window open which made the room stuffy on a warm night.

    A very handsome building in a well-located part of Edinburgh with easy walking access to the New Town. Large comfortable room. Staff were helpful with our cases and with travel arrangements (printing boarding passes, ordering taxi).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    We were not informed by Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not informed by Booking.com that the hotel was being refurbished, Our room had scaffolding outside the window and lift was only partly working, on asking the hotel to exchange room this was not possible and they said they had informed everybody of the ongoing works.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The rooms have just been refurbished and they are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms have just been refurbished and they are great! It's a lovely area of town, very quiet within walking distance of the centre. very comfortable classy hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved my room, the location was perfect and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just think charging a solo traveller (who doesn’t want to eat alone, in public) a £5 tray charge for breakfast or dinner in their room is unfair. The breakfast price alone was pretty steep, but adding the £5 extra put it out of my corporate budget - so I left without eating breakfast, which was a shame.

    Loved my room, the location was perfect and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Its a lovely hotel and will be great when the work has been completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because refurbishment is still going on, I had workmen outside my window on the scaffolding from 8.00am. For the moment there is no lift to the third floor. The lift goes up to the fourth floor and I then had to come down through the partially completed building works to the third. Alternatively I had to go up the stairs. Because of the height of the ceilings each floor is the equivalent of two floors in a modern hotel. This makes for a significant climb!

    The room was one of the recently refurbished rooms and was tasteful, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Good Location, Clean, tidy and good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi terrible, Parking difficult and expensive, was told of building work going on but not that workmen will be walking past my window on the third floor !!

    Good Location, Clean, tidy and good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    We would like to return next year when the ongoing changes are completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking we were not given to understand that major work was going on outside the back of the hotel, so we were disappointed to find scaffolding outside our window and workmen arriving at 8am. This meant that access for the elderly was difficult as the lifts were not working to our floor. There was also a lack of drawer space in the room. Otherwise the staff and the food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel in great location. Staff were amazing too, a very personal service from all staff. The food at both dinner and breakfast was just delicious. I had ordered packed lunches on both days of my stay...never had such a great lunch selection,absolutely First Class! Room was fantastic with everything you could possibly need. Fresh decor and extremely comfortable. I'll definitely be back. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is cute and tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have said that they are redecorating the hotel so the room and corridor actually smell the building material. Had to open window all night as worried it might be damaging to body. When asked the staff was offered to park on their own car park overnight for £15. After checked in and went for a walk actually it is free to park outside on the street after 6pm which the staff didn't mention. Wanted to move the car to outside as we arrived 10pm and wanted to leave the next morning for highlands and was told have to pay an hour using for their car park for the time we checked in and dropped staff in the room. Couldn't be bothered so end up paying for a night which we didn't have to.

    The hotel is cute and tradition. Very good view from the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Historically I’ve loved The Bonham, but this time arrived to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told building work would not start until 9am, but it commenced at 8am, and we returned from Breakfast to find no less than 3 workers at our bedroom window! Shocking! See photo..

    Historically I’ve loved The Bonham, but this time arrived to find the place being refurbished, with the rear of the building clad in scaffolding! Really disappointed and the work will continue until July’18.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Met expectations and enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. We could not be accommodated for dinner in the restaurant. We were offered and accepted dinner in our room with no tray charge but would have preferred the restaurant. 2. The refurbishment is good but the corporate decor is not a patch on the exciting decor which it replaces.

    New bed in refurbished room was an improvement on previous stays

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel will be exceptional once refurbishment fully complete
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sending a request ahead via booking.com link and it being not read / ignored. Not being warned ahead of refurbishment going on. Being placed in room right next to refurbishment works. Ordering newspapers and not getting them. "Butter" at breakfast. Missed The White Company products!

    Newly refurbished room was lovely. Very clean. Relaxing lounge. Very good breakfast (apart from "butter"). Excellent location for where we were going. Able to park all day (albeit at a fee).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, lovely room, We would have rated the hotel better but for the work ongoing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work and scaffold towards the rear of the property which spoiled our view, plus work men were working right outside the window so we felt we had to shut the curtains for privacy. The parking at the rear is great but not the £15 charge for it, considering what we paid for the room, bit of a cheek really.

    The room has been recently upgraded and newly decorated so it was finished to a high standard and very nice. We were in the junior suite, very nice room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Different to other times we stayed, not bad but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was good, but at dinner we had to keep asking for things that we had ordered and not received, for instance, my pudding was finished before my partner's arrived, the server hadn't noted his order. Also on the night we were there (Thursday) it was a set menu and we couldn't order from the main menu, we weren't told of this at the time of booking.

    good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    First class and well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities. Room was beautifully decorated and clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent quality and the hotel is situated on an elegant side street. Will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous place, but check about the scaffolding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovations meant scaffolding right outside the window and the smell of paint Lift wasn't working

    Beautiful breakfast Location Great staff - friendly and professional Relaxed atmosphere Lovely restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works in progress including scaffolding outside window. Because of building works, there was no direct lift access to the floor on which room was situated which was inconvenient.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    fair value
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were allocated was in the basement where the window looked out onto a dingy enclosed space with steps up to street level. The room was a long passage with chairs placed where the tv was hardly visible.

    Standards are generally good and the hotel is convenient for the city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great quality and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    The room had just been refurbished and had the biggest bay window in any bedroom that I have ever stayed in! The Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fresh. Great Location, close to good coffee shops, cafes and restaurants. As well as the Georgian House Museum which is well worth a visit. The room was so lovely, that I didn't mind the tradies working away sympathetically to guests. Will definitely stay here again on my future Edinburgh stays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet area to stay, with lovely architectural buildings all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift did not go to all floors due to renovations on-going. So we had to go up two levels by the stairs.

    Rooms well presented & a very good breakfast with a good choice on the menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    We didn't have long enough this stay to really appreciate the hotel character and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downstairs/lower ground rooms have a different atmosphere to the main hotel upstairs but are not cheap rooms. The hotel needs to offer proper quality fresh coffee, a variety of coffee types should be standard along with freshly squeezed (orange) juice.

    The character of the hotel. The way the staff tried hard to accommodate all requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable beds and a good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is currently being redecorated - I'd recommend getting quieter mini-bar fridges and a card-access system for the room doors which doesn't make a noise (too much beeping).

    Very comfortable beds and a good sized room. Excellent breakfast and room-service food. Friendly staff and a fantastic location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately as it was new refurbished there was a strong smell of paint but it did not spoil our stay

    We were lucky to have an upgrade to a junior suite, as we were on honeymoon ,which had just been renovated - it was a wonderful room and a very nice treat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay apart form the parking fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect could not fault anything with the Bonham the only thing I was disappointed with was the parking when I phoned the hotel to see if there was parking I was told there was parking around the back and it was free to staying guest. when I come to check out they tried to charge me £45 for parking for three nights I explained what I was told when I phoned the hotel when I booked it about the free parking and what it said on the web site the receptionist told myself and my wife it was not the same hotel. when we got back on the website it was the same hotel she give us a reduction to £30 which I thought was still out of order. when we got back home and got on the web site again they had removed the advertisement we booked it with which I thought was bad this was the only fault with the Bonham they should give free parking to guest and admit when they are wrong. sorry this should be in what didn't you like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Quality small hotel in nice area of town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good stay, they are having work done which isn’t ideal, but didn’t impact stay.

    Nice property in a good area, a good walk to town, staff were welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.2
    Very Disappointing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay a ridiculous charge of £30 for our dog which was not clear in the hotel policies. Poor attitude from Duty Manager. Room very tired and run down, stains on carpet, holes in bathrobes and broken glass on table. Noisy renovation work being carried out which again was not passed on to guests. Breakfast very poor choice and quality. Used to be a nice hotel but sadly no longer.

    The location and size of room was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    staff make this place a nice place to stay; hopefully the refurb will make it even nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room & bathroom was "tired" and somewhat tatty - however, the hotel is undergoing refurb; no safe in room; cleaning staff noisy - played radio in nearby rooms, and calling out to each other while working.

    lovely breakfast; our room was large & comfortable; staff friendly & helpful; public areas comfortable and nice looking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.3
    Do not pay more £150 per night or you will be throwing your money away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shoddy - tired and cramped.

    Nothing. Paid £275 for one night and room was shoddy. Appreciate the City was busy with the rugby and half term but I do not consider I received value for money. There are much better places to stay in Edinburgh and I certainly would not book The Bonham again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent hotel. Great staff. Unfortunate generator problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very loud generator noise in the bedroom. We called the staff at 1am as couldn’t sleep. No rooms free for us to move. Very apologetic and we were refunded some of the cost the next day.

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. Staff were helpful when we had an problem with the room. Food delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Hotel good, restaurant poor.. ( Oh the food was just fine! just crazy staff)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff in Restaurant.... Too many CONSTANTLY walking around to very little purpose indeed... Breakfast tables being made up at 8.45 pm, during our meal ... The least peaceful meal we have had out for a very long time - Also it was clear that some staff did not get along with others.. Also the Gentlemen behind the bar seemed missable and we thought really did not to want to be there... Not great.

    Staff in the Hotel were great - smiled and were interested and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stay in centre of Edinburgh
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the kitchen at the hotel was under refurbishment when we visited, and we were disappointed to discover we could not order the room-service food which we wanted in the evening, and had to go out for something to eat which was not our intention after a long day. The bedroom was also a bit chilly, despite the radiator being on full, and we needed a second duvet for the bed, which we was also very soft and not as comfortable as we'd hoped for.

    The staff were very polite and welcoming, and helpful when required. The room we had was a nice size, and had a lovely view from the front of the property. The location is excellent for the centre of Edinburgh, and it's easy to walk into town with shops etc nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel experience I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room was a joke. Bedding was basic and the bed was dressed with a spare blanket normally reserved for the cupboard if extra bedding required. Lighting was very limited and stark. Furniture did not match - chairs looked like they had been borrowed from another hotel - nothing was colour co-ordinated - nothing matched. Room was dirty and there was a massive cobweb on the ceiling/wall. Plates and cutlery were dirty and scratched on the surface due to heavy use. The noise from the lift shaft was very disturbing which woke me up at 7am and the clunking noise could be heard every 1-2 minutes.

    Nothing was positive about this experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Ruined by a stolen phone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having my phone lifted by someone after I left it in the room on checkout. I found out an hour later and called it. It was switched off. It was fully charged and switched on before I went to the shower. It was also located by find my phone to the hotel and also by o2 themselves who also tracked it there. So disappointing!

    I liked the location and the ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel in the centre of Edinburgh which we will be returning to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having any parking in the centre of Edinburgh is a bonus but the entrance to the car park is a little difficult if you have a wide car. The shower in our room wasn't wonderful but the water pressure for filling the bath was excellent. This was our 4th visit to this hotel, the staff are always friendly and helpful and the hotel facilities very good. The breakfasts are excellent and the evening meal in the restaurant very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Overall Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thermostatic shower controls were faulty and allowed scalding and cold water to come through the shower, this was mentioned to reception. No mention was made of parking charges when we arrived, it was on a public holiday so there was no need to use the car park, so that was a bit disappointing.

    The room was very comfortable as always, breakfast was superb and the little bar had a great ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel but could be even better with just a bit more customer care
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some small missing touches which you might expect from a luxury hotel e.g. tissues or body lotion in rooms; tea and coffee not replenished until we asked etc

    Great breakfasts including full.vegetarian option,good food,lovely atmosphere in a beautiful building and generally very attentive staff The hotel is also well situated in a quiet area but near the City Centre and tram stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Internet was fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast you are only allowed to choose one thing from the A la carte menu. The buffet was small and didn't appeal to me much. This was a BIG let down for me. If I would stay here again, I would choose to eat breakfast at a restaurant, as there are plenty of them within walking distance. However the one thing you could have from the A la carte was good... The breakfast staff was very grumpy. Overall I think the hotel was kind of ungenerous when it comes to the small things, which always are the ones that matter.. Also there wasn't a fan installed in the bathroom, which clearly affected the room with a moist smell.

    Internet was fast. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had problems with the internet... which of course, we know must be very challenging in a big old victorian house... and the shower changed from hot to cold in a rather annoying way. These however, were both very minor things and we have no problems would recommending this hotel to friends

    Lovely old house hotel, with very nice staff... an excellent choice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Good and quiet location , close to public transportation. Staff is very nice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was the same every day .

    The service is excellent, the foof is good. The staff is very helpful. I was travelling with my family and my dog , and the people did their best to please us . Surprisingly the manager was not there as we spent New year's Eve there and we came back to stay longer as we really did appreciate the service. there is a private square in the front of the hotel where we could walk the dog , perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Payment was requested prior to stay which is not a problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment was requested prior to stay which is not a problem but I phoned the hotel 3 times and left 2 messages before I was able to give card details. No concierge service offered on arrival, room comfortable but certainly not worth over £400 for 1 night. No dressing gowns in room. No parking offered except on street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place , great location , lovely helpful staff , fantastic breakfast , well done Bonham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish they looked after us all the way , they put Proseco Chocolates flowers in Our as requested , helpful staff , fantastic breakfast , made our little mideeek break lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Happy, Joyful, Comfortable and pleasant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor Internet connection. Couldn't send pictures over Christmas period. Room could do with a little more attention, Towels are a bit scratchy, could be softer. Water expensive and I think should always be complimentary. Dogs are welcome but a bit of expense and £30 per night. Basement room, a bit odd and close to the back door to the entrance of car park, a bit of noise from early residents and this would alert our dog and he would bark, but useful for letting your dog out. Not their best room I think. I did feel I was in the doggy room.

    The whole time we were there the internet would not connect to my computer. It said I was on and full bars but no connectivity the whole 5 days. However the hotel is a lovely old building in the centre of the Westend. Close to everything. Skelton staff over Christmas to be expected, slight disappointment not able to get Christmas Day dinner, however Christmas Eve lunch was very good. Mix up over cleaning and wrong Billing at the end would not deter me from staying here again, nobody is perfect but overall a very pleasant stay. Breakfast spread is excellent and we enjoyed a great Scottish version. Be aware dogs are charged a stonking £30 a night, a bit steep. Also Edinburgh is not particularly dog friendly so this hotel is a bonus allowing doggie guests and they for one get my vote as being very pet friendly. and hope this never changes. Staff are very friendly and happy to help and engaged with us the whole time. And Edinburgh is lovely, a great Hotel, good food and a wonderful city, what else is there I can say, go visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    We had a lovely stay the christmas market were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have been happy if we hadn't paid £10 for parking with it being christmas day we think if you are spending in a hotel this should not be applied ?

    You were all so very nice and couldn't do enough for us Thank you happy new year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location within 1/2 mile of Princes Street. Staff across the board were warm and helpful. Than
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only niggle was that the lift was out of order for 2 days so getting to our room on the third floor was a bit of a chore.

    Excellent breakfasts with great choice of cooked food. Kept us going till mid afternoon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    It was a nice place to rest your head after a busy day sight seeing and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think they should review 2018 prices, we were given this as a gift so no idea what my parents paid for it but I don't think it is a £399.00 per night hotel

    Clean and comfortable, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a beautiful Crescent if Old townhouses in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The usual issue of being able to hear the tv of the room next door slightly.

    The hotel is in a beautiful Crescent if Old townhouses in Edinburgh. The room was large and very clean with high ceilings. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was strong and hot. Pleasant staff. I will come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely recommend and would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only slightly grumble was that the shower kept running hot and cold whilst in use, which was a little uncomfortable.

    The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel very well located. Breakfast was very good, and the decor was pleasant. As it was December when we travelled, the decorations were beautifully done and everywhere looked very festive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay a £5 tray charge for room service, this is ridiculous. The bed was uncomfortably soft. The high charge to park your car at the hotel.

    The staff were very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Gorgeous looking hotel, in a quiet location, but close to city centre
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was draughty ( reported & maintanence attended to it at once , reducing draught , but not completely ) Heating was noisy & meant for a disturbed night Parking charges

    Wonderful Georgian building,beautiful decorated Excellent staff, very professional, high customer service Very nice restaurant, lounge & bar Close to Princess St

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Although room tired and slightly dated we still enjoyed our stay. Lovely cosy warm hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt the room was looking tired compared to previous stays. Also not as clean as before, bit dusty.

    We have stayed at the hotel a number of times and loved the rooms, restaurant etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: