Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Borrowdale Hotel 4 stars

Borrowdale, Keswick, CA12 5UY, United Kingdom

#16 of 21 hotels in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prestige room was nice - just don't expect too much. Probably not much larger than an average hotel room.

    Beautiful hotel in a perfect setting. The hotel sits at the bottom of the hills and is a short walk from the Lake. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. We stayed in a prestige twin room which was comfortable, though it didn't feel 'prestigious'. My favourite thing about the hotel was how ideal it was for a short break with our dog. Our dog was allowed in most rooms and the staff clearly enjoyed working in a dog friendly hotel. We ate in the restaurant one evening and it was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly attentive staff. Excellent food and service. Spotlessly clean rooms. Comfy bed. Everything perfect not one thing to complain about. Thank you all for a memorable stay We will return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way girl on reception spoke to her colleagues when we were checking in. Fine to us but wouldn't want to work with her!

    Great location. Nice food. Staff pleasant to guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small if I'm being picky but I am struggling to find anything I didn't like.

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Some beautiful features had been left in the property (the room bells in reception) from when it was originally built whilst also being very well maintained. The lounges were stunning with the lovely addition of board games to play! Absolutely beautiful hotel. The evening meal was incredible and we had our own private wine tasting (complimentary to hotel guests on Friday evening's but we were the only ones who went!). Overall a lovely break in a fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under floor heating in room no air con at all was absolutely boiling all night.. really rude judgemental man on the bar too which made me feel uncomfortable

    The woman on reception she was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (3) was quite small and so hot. There was a free standing air-con unit but it was impossible to sleep with it on

    Great location, lovely gardens, good breakfast. All the staff bar one were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After night in Keswick arriving back at 11.55pm (sober) hotel was all locked up and night porter took ages to let us in and made to feel very uncomfortable

    Beautiful setting and excellent level of service in all areas. 5 star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and at no time were they overbearing. The room was excellent with a comfortable style. Probably best to go for a prestige room for the extra space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room location (2nd floor - no lift-) . number 25 is positioned extremely badly. It is dark and most significantly adjacent to what appears to be the boiler outlet. This starts up at 7-0 to 7-30 am each day resulting in excessive noise. Just like being on a jet plane.

    breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My elderly mother was travelling with me and struggled with the stairs in the hotel, a lack of a lift makes it very difficult for anyone with mobility problems.

    The bedroom was lovely and very comfortable, views excellent, lovely comfy bed. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. Waited ages for a full breakfast and everything was either over or under cooked, except the baked beans. I am shocked that the dishes were allowed to leave the kitchen. They also packed the buffet table away before we had finished. Breakfast was supposed to be available until 10am, but everything was packed away by quarter to 10.

    Staff were welcoming. Hotel garden lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been visiting the Lake District over many years and stayed in a variety of hotels. Your hotel rates for me, as one of the best that I have visited. The friendly welcoming atmosphere on arrival was most noticeable. The cuisine was quite excellent, as was the level of service. Also, our room was very comfortable. I only wish that my wife and I had been able to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's worth asking for a larger room or upgrading to a prestige room for more space if you are taking your dog with you. Our room was at the back of the hotel with views of the laundry area so I have marked down a little for that. But - it didn't stop us from booking again for later in the year!

    The hotel is lovely and I loved the choice of dining in either the dining room where there is a dress code (smart or smart/casual) or in the conservatory where things are less formal. The bedroom was lovely and clean, but a little too small for us as we travelled with our dog. Dogs are not only accommodated they are welcomed which is lovely. If you want a dog bed though you need to ask for that separately or take your own. A bonus if you want a break from the car is the bus that runs between Keswick and Seatoller that stops right outside the hotel and runs every 30 minutes in the summer season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of ales very limited and not good especially as Keswick and other towns have own brewed beers which are excellent. To charge £10 a night for our dog when we stayed fir 7 nights is steep. I think that's ok to charge for shorter breaks. Breakfast table wasn't set up some mornings when it was quite obvious we would be taking dog with us but wasn't really a problem once realised. Eat in bar every night as dog was popular and atmosphere nicer. Some of the other guests found the restaurant a bit sterile and lack.of atmosphere. Lovely fires but was too hot with them alight on a couple of occasions as was rather mild.

    Location beautiful. Food and rooms wonderful. Staff lovely and very dog friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very dog friendly hotel, fine is you are OK with dogs (only in the bar, not the restaurant), less so if you are not.

    Great food and menu choices, flight of wines is a good option with dinner. Location is perfect for Catbells and Keswick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the fire was very smokey, the smoke filled the upper floors one morning ☹️

    The hotel is cosy, staff are friendly. My dog was made very welcome and the paddock across the road is great for throwing the ball, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel the only thing that let it down was the very slow service in the hotel both our evening meal in the bar and the breakfast. When someone finally did come over she couldn't understand what we were asking and had to get someone else. Not great service for the money that you pay to stay here

    Nice comfy bed, very clean room bathroom was very small and no bath water trickled out of the shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner uninspiring, breakfast poor, not freshly produced, shrivelled and black pudding like a dry biscuit. Room of rather ordinary standard and not spacious as advertised. Disappointing - not a 4 star rating

    Location in centre of Borrowdale

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a dog whining in the other room down the corridor but fortunately it stopped by 9pm and slept well thereafter. It is a dog friendly establishment

    good location, excellent meals (had dinner and breakfast), clean and ample parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful, very clean and welcoming. The staff were also friendly and helpful. We ordered room service for a 3.50 tray charge which was very reasonable and worth it. The beds were really comfy, the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. Although the weather was bad you could appreciate that the views would have been beautiful. We will definitley be returning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone was friendly, the food was amazing, the service was amazing and the room was lovely! It had amazing views and plenty of places of interest around it! Definitely going again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Bathroom requires some shelves for small items rather that put items on the floor! 2. Bathroom towel radiator did not work, informed then on check-out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could serve breakfast a little later at the weekend until say 10am. Not enough storage or hanging space in our bedroom, particularly after a wet day of walking. Standard room on the small size. Water is piping hot with huge baths but pressure is low. WiFi is not strong enough for streaming in any part of the hotel.

    Superb location close to the jaws of Barrowdale. Excellent food and good old fashioned service. Comfortable and very well maintained bedrooms and public areas. Nice to relax with complimentary coffee and chocolate in the conservatory or bar. A great place to relax after a day on the fells.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for breakfast on a busy Sunday morning. Food choices limited particularly for vegetarians.

    Good location for walking and proximity to Keswick. Very welcoming to our dog. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a pleasure to return to the Borrowdale once again. Our first visit was in 1961. In recent years we have been staying for a week or once a year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stopped in room 33 and the room was nice put after looking under the bed found waste and old used tissues

    breakfast very good meal in restaurant on the night was good and the staff in reception and in the restaurant both on the night time and breakfast where very efficient and polite the bar area was clean and the bar staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could have been better though the staff were friendly. On our second night we waited nearly an hour for our meal which arrived after we spoke to the waiter! think they had overlooked us for some reason or other. However they did sort it and the food was yummy.

    the breakfast was very generous and well cooked with lots of choice. Dinner was also delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception we received was poor. Limited information about the hotel and our stay - very unwelcoming! Handed information about having our dog with us with no explanation and told to read it rather than answering our query. The older receptionist with dark hair needed retraining. This seriously let down the hotel where we, otherwise, had a very pleasant stay. Lynne (BSc Hons Hospitality Management)

    The staff were v friendly and helpful. We were able to bring our dog.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel could do with a public computer or two, as wifi can be variable. Rooms are on the small side, even 'premium' size rooms which would normally rate as 'standard double' size in other hotels. If booking through Booking.com, double check that your requests (such as a room with a view) have been logged by the hotel. The hotel accepts dogs, so expect to see them (and their owners)!

    The Borrowdale Hotel's great attraction is its location with easy access to many walking trails. The staff are excellent. The standard of cleanliness is high. The restaurant menu is recommended. The bar menu is limited. Certain rooms at the front have wonderful views towards Derwentwater.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Burnt waffles for breakfast. Insufferable musack in the bar area.

    Good towels and cracking body lotion in the room. Let me in the restaurant even with my walking boots and muddy black jeans. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to second floor and no porter to carry luggage should be made clear when booking expensive for a tiny single

    Dinner was really not up to scratch the fish was not filleted and lots of small bones Very little fish Not worth the price charged but captive customers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was poor considering the price and presentation of meal needs attention. Singles tend to be overlooked in the restaurant and had long waits between courses( in favour of couples)

    Beautiful hotel... lovely room(although rather small and cramped) Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant serving staff at dinner could be more customer attentive

    The reception staff were excellent. Room has been tastefully refurbished. Restaurant manager was helpful in changing our table to a nicer one for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, modern interior design but in keeping with a period property, quality furnishings, walk in shower, comfy bed. Relaxing atmosphere and very pleasant surroundings. Beer garden, friendly staff and good service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. it's perfect.

    The location and views are outstanding. the staff were incredibly helpful, and very good with our Doberman dog. The food was excellent, as was the service. We had a magical time at this hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we paid extra for a disability room which was well worth the money, as we received a sweet type room. Also the Bath room had both bath and walk in shower. A lounge area and writing or make up area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent. Our deal came with a free and fantastic 5 course dinner as well as breakfast. Loved staying here even if it was a bit on the expensive side. The staff was highly accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the bar and the food was poor. The fish pie was sloppy and cold in the middle. The salads were indifferent. Bar staff were poor, more interested n drinking Coke than serving. Not what you would expect at a hotel with this rating

    The room was fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were good, with lots of choice but sometimes the coffee did not arrive as promptly as I would have liked - not really a problem!

    The room was very comfortable and the view was lovely. The cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike the only improvement would be to have a seat for disabled people in the roll in shower/wet-room

    The adapted room we needed was probably the best we have ever had, a seat for the wet room was all that was missing. The hotel was relatively wheelchair friendly and the car park was tarmac. The staff were pleasant without been over the top, the food although not a huge choice was beautifully cooked and presented. there is nothing to dislike about the Borrowdale Hotel, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to have a break in the Lakes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was on point with no problems at all.

    I stayed for one night on a Friday in June with my wife. We arrived exhausted at 20:15 after hiking Scafell Pike all day. Check in was nice and easy, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and booked for 20:45 when checking in. I phoned down to reception for an iron and ironing board which were brought up within minutes. Thirty minutes after checking in we were showered and in the restaurant ordering our food. The room is a nice size for an overnight stay, it wasn't a superior room but was more than adequate. The meal in the restaurant was very very nice and the staff were very polite and the service quick. Breakfast was really good and set us up for another day of hiking. Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again, if hiking Scafell Pike from Borrowdale then I would highly recommend it given how close it is. I can also recommend the restaurant for an evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints about the hotel, but I was disappointed to be misled by Booking.com, as the original advert for this hotel had a green text box on the picture of the hotel stating that half board was included. however, this didn't prove to be the case so we felt quite cheated. Only negative was that there were noisy guests stomping about and shouting in the corridor in the early hours, but you can't blame the hotel for that!

    Comfy bed, scenic views, peaceful location. Excellent service. Extensive breakfast menu with delicious home made bread.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk were a little miserable. They could be a little friendlier! Whilst waiting for my friend a few times, I could hear people trying to make conversation and they were having none of it. They weren't great for welcome staff! That was the absolute only bad thing about the whole hotel

    SO CLEAN!!!! Spotless in fact :) comfortable and gloriously quiet. The view from my room was spectacular (attached a photo) The location is lovely (be prepared it is a drive away from any towns - the closest being keswick) The wifi worked quite well too :) Stunning bar area, lovely conservatory dining room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft it sagged in the middle .

    The walk upto the lake side which is just on the door step of the hotel, beautiful views excellent food and the hotel its self was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and general look of hotel . Fixtures and fitting looking tired.

    Have stayed before and would say that although we have a very nice stay the hotel was not as good as we remembered. Main course on both evenings were disappointing. Hotel fixtures and fitting looking a little tired. Have also stayed at Ladore Falls before and if visiting this part of the lakes would probably stay there that said staff at Barrowdale very friendly especially in resturant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegetarian choice. Bubble bath for just first night. No hot chocolate on last evening. Good food. Nice staff.

    We loved the whole experience. Our dog was very welcome so our holiday was great. Our bedroom very nice,comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like :)

    Lovely hotel, like old meets new, some parts are really up-to-date and modern, but very much in keeping with this picturesque building. The gardens were very pretty with the Magnolia Tree in full bloom, were able to sit outside in the sunshine and have complimentary afternoon tea. We enjoyed fine dining in the restaurant, they have a selection of good wines to complement the menu. Breakfast was 'hearty!' ...... and the walks around Borrowdale were stunning. All in all a super weekend break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room far too small for a twin. Furniture had to be removed at our request to pull the single beds apart. Staff complained they had nowhere to put this furniture. Asked if we could change rooms. Told another room may be available second night but £30 extra. View of bin store from window. Noise from air conditioning unit just outside bathroom window. Had to pay all at time of booking. Far too expensive. I think my review is fair, but the resultant score here of 6.7 is unrepresentative.

    Location excellent. Bar lounge comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room incredibly hot and unable to cool down despite sleeping with window wide open. Had to pay extra for a travel cot for our baby. Room and bathroom clean but very small.

    Lovely setting and great location for exploring borrowdale.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no drink menu in restaurant. The taste of coffee and chocolate after dinner is not so good.

    I could park the car in front of the hotel. Christmas decoration was lovely. The balance of the taste of the price both dinner and breakfast is level without problems.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were interrupted during breakfast to be asked to move the car so that the Xmas lights could be erected outside. People want to be obliging but we felt that they should have been working around their guests and not the other way round. Spoilt the rest of the stay- we were leaving later anyway.

    The facilities and area are lovely with lake and fell views,The staff are efficient and friendly, the food and choice was very good. The room was spacious and very clean with lovely décor and toiletries in the bathroom. Our dogs also enjoyed their stay having stayed in many hotels, the hotel is very dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plastic flowers in a four star hotel - never! If you are going to have a fire make it a real one that actually burns coal or wood. Would have been nice to have had one in the lounge for the scrabble as it was quite cool.

    The food was good. Enjoyed the scrabble provided by the hotel after dinner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fabulous. A very relaxed place to stay. Would definitely recommend. Very accommodating with pet owners.allowing us to have breakfast in the conservatory so we didn't have to leave our dog alone in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management appears to hold the restaurant out as being 'special' in some way. The staff make a point of asking whether you'll be dining in the restaurant that evening... it does build hype. This is a shame, because then the let down of the food is greater than it needs to be. We thought the food was terrible. It is certainly overpriced. My son had a piece of haddock that stank to high heaven for breakfast. Dinner was a small portion of meat or fish with dollops of carbs, and an arty-farty carrot, aiming to impress. It wasn't good.

    The rooms we stayed in were fine, the hotel is clean, and the staff generally helpful. Its expensive though compared to other hotels offering similar accommodation. Wifi is a bit hit and miss. The hotel seems to cater to a largely older client base... most of the guests were 60+. Location is fine if you have transport; let's be honest, the Lake District is not actually that big!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bedroom,no air conditioning, no fridge, poor Internet. Breakfast; poor choice of fresh food and little variety in the cooked section.

    Location and service were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small (and expensive, as it was Bank Holiday weekend). Restaurant meal was so so. Nothing special. Overall, expected more for the price.

    Location in Borrowdale was great. We enjoyed using the leisure facilities at the sister property down the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot could not open the window enough

    Food was excellent service was outstanding. Though the receptionist could of smiled a bit more. Requested a fan for thexample room wenter out for the day and it was waiting for us in our room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaint's. We especially liked the service in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.all our needs were met with friendly genuinely nice staff. A credit to the hotel

    We stayed for 2 nights in a very comfortable clean room.loved the fluffy towels.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than expected. Only two biscuits over four days! Room service just ok, missed one day.

    A good breakfast, comfy bed and most of the staff pleasant. We would visit again. Great area for wildlife and walking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unable to get wifi

    The room was cosy and a generous size,very modern.Food was of an excellent standard,all staff very helpful and approachable.Plenty of car parking spaces.Lounge area for relaxing with newspapers to read.A quality hotel without the high price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our 'classic' room was quite small and over-priced. There is no lift and the staircase is steep.

    Attractive location with ample parking and good public areas. Breakfast was a pleasant, relaxed experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioning in the Rooms

    Nice Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little tired. Needs an update. Room expensive for price & size of room.

    Location excellent. Off the beaten track.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, I have no complaints

    The location is superb, the staff were very helpful and the food superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath robe, apparently only supplied in superior Rooms.

    Food was fantastic. High level of service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Beautiful garden and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bins to put doggy poop bags which was quite annoying in a morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Food and Drink was excellent service was outstanding best ever in all of our trips to the Lakes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom (room 5) was incredibly small.

    Afternoon tea was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was first class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little.

    Friendly attentive staff. Comfortable surroundings. Excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was close to drying room and very hot !

    Brilliant location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful hotel in a special place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and welcoming nothing was too much trouble even looked after our 🐕 we will be back soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: