Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brentwood Inn by Good Night Inns 2 stars

114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham, S60 2TY, United Kingdom

#6 of 11 hotels in Rotherham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Extreamly dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at the hotel only to find it was under renovation and there was no bar or anywhere to eat the place looked like a construction site!! I do need to say that the staff we extremely apologetic about the situation and they had tried to contact me prior to our arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed, no forewarning. It was being decorated and everywhere just smelled of paint. Rooms had cobwebs in and was generally quite scruffy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although booked a while ago, we were not informed until on our way that the bar & restaurant were being refurbished & that there would be no breakfast facilities, it was too late to arrange alternative accommodation. Disappointing motel type bedroom accommodation small and functional. Bathroom had a mildew smell to it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    Awful never to be repeated experience!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything . See above.

    Nothing. Awful awful experience. Why take bookings when you are renovating. Dirty filthy room with dirty bathroom. We are distraught and demand a full refund. Coffee? Where was the restaurant?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    Huge disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was mainly closed for a refurb which was not properly explained. I was only told the kitchen was closed. Computers not working at reception. Passageway to room that I was in smelt of urine. Had ground floor room with everyone smoking outside

    Nothing, it was all closed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Ermmmm
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival no restaurant or facilities for breakfast Old people’s smell to the whole place On entering the bedroom, the furniture was really old apart from the tele and beds, only one towel for two of us. Mouldy in the bathroom All night every hour a generator like sounds kicked in for about 1 min and then stopped, this happened every hour including overnight........ so no sleep had On leaving explained the above and was told they would look in to it 🤷🏻‍♂️

    The receptionist was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant and bar closed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar were being refurbished so they were closed. This was not mentioned on Booking.com when I booked. The car park was not looked after and had fast food wrappers on the ground. The block where the rooms are had a problem with the plumbing so every now and again there was a loud sound like a pipe reverberating. This I suspect was due to flushing toilets. As the restaurant was closed no breakfast was available.

    Not much. It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic night always had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because on ground floor couldn't open windows as much but really nitpicking to find anything bad.

    Value for money and 2nd time visiting. Always a good night had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Great Hotel for Your Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot and stuffy which felt like no air but given the time of year its expected. Maybe a fan or something.

    Nice staff, excellent location and great price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Quiet weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that payment was taken prior to arrival without permission and not at the property as per the terms and conditions. Reception very apologetic for the error.

    Warm welcome from reception on arrival. Bed was so comfy,had a suprisingly good night sleep despite being next to the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Great food, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed the one night, but everything was fine

    Staff very friendly, clean and comfortable. Food in bar was awesome, great choice on menu nice atmosphere, would stay again 👍👍👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.9
    Oh dear, don't bother visiting this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was dingy and felt dirty and had a damp smell. The toilet still had previous guests....mess in the bowl. The bathroom was awful, the shower didn't have constant hot water. The tables at breakfast were sticky and the cutlery was needing a good scrub. When we checked in, there was no personal service. Really disappointed.

    Really struggling to think of anything that was nice.... possibly the area the hotel is located in...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    2.9
    Comfy bed thats it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place needs a re furb It was like living in a dark cell House keeping was a joke Kobwebbs every we’re Smells Totally disgusting

    Nothing but he bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dark but there was plenty of lighting available. Toilet could have done with a good bleach.

    Comfortable bed. Provision of portable fan very useful as the weather was very warm. Very big television, much larger than what you normally get in a hotel bedroom. Plenty of parking. 20 minute walk into the centre of Rotherham which I enjoyed but there is a bus service from directly outside the hotel. There is a Tesco Express a few minutes walk away. There is a bar and restaurant on-site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Lovely family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so lovely and accommodating. We had a slightly noisy neighbours, called down to reception and it was dealt with in under 5 minutes! We have 10 month old twins and the hotel provided us with two travel cots and a large room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    My night at the Brentwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors slam pretty loud so if you're asleep and another guest goes to there room you may be woken up. Took us a while to figure out how to get a hot shower, so we had a warm shower at first but managed to sort it in the end. Towels were a little stained. Breakfast was ok but I think over priced for what it was.

    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The bed was extremely comfy and the rolm was great value for money. Location was perfect and ideal for my needs. Would definitely return if I was heading back to that area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazing, the bed was extremely comfy, having a huge TV was incredible! Our room had a fan as well, many hotels don't include things like this but we were so happy to find one! It was 32c!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    comfortable and safe and looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    I have stayed there 3 times and the staff were very good helpful and couldn't do enough for us Liz on the reception was excellent she is very friendly and i have been treated like a good friend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with updating. Shower curtain grubby, shower unit old and not very powerful. Sink had a crack in and the tap and toilet flush fittings were all loose and needed replacing.

    Room was very quiet. We stayed out of the main building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    wonderful stay Thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fifth step going up to the reception needs sorting it seems a little higher than the rest, I tripped up it a few times.

    Staff brilliant, especially Liz and Jo and all the bar staFF, nothing was too much trouble, staf went out of their way to accommodate, across the board they were second to none. Thankyou

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were so friendly and helpful it makes such a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Breakfast was great just needed to ask to top up food as there was no eggs. O beans when I was ready to go up, but staff very attentive and nothing too much trouble. Dinner was awful, you could tell nothing was freshly cooked, I ordered the pate it was definitely out of a packed. So bad and I would never eat in there again.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful it makes such a different when you have helpful and friendly staff. Nice welcome as you walk in and staff around the hotel saying good morning. Well done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly but Tired Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast facilities are limited but then, this isn't the staff - it's what they're allowed to do considering the understaffing problem. The place is tired & needs a complete overhaul. Cobwebs everywhere & tired furniture. I think they could charge a lot more per night if they just did some refurb work.

    The staff were so friendly & helpful, we felt really sorry for them as they are overworked & struggle on regardless. The beds are super comfy & clean. Cooked breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Rooms very clean, staff all super lovely, very central to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annexe felt quite damp through the corridors.

    Rooms very clean, staff all super lovely, very central to where where we were going and needed to be. The pub attached is convenient and the staff were welcoming and helpful. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    worst hotel i have ever visited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on arrival the hall leading to the room was grotty and smelt damp. on entry into the room there was an overpowering smell of air freshener, the room was grotty with poor hygiene standards. the old sash windows where dirty and mouldy and in need of repair and/or replacement, only one window opened and during our stay we had a person attempt to climb into our window whilst myself and partner where in the room , I reported this to reception, the bathroom was nothing short of filthy with a grubby shower curtain , dirt around the taps and a tide mark around the bath and sink, there was supposed to be a hairdryer in the room but there was none, to be honest I have written this review based on price against luxury, I paid £94 but got a £30 room.,,, not happy

    The breakfast was adequate,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Warm welcome, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues. The rooms are basic, but perfect for our needs.

    The staff are great. More informal than at most places but they make you feel really welcome. The pub/restaurant is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, ask if there is a party going on in room one when you book.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There appeared to be a party going on in room one, I was in room two! They were so noisy the hotel night porter was hammering in their door at 12.45 telling them to keep the noise down. He had heard the noise from the ground floor.

    The hotel provides very good value for money. I was in Rotherham for business and wanted a good value room for the night which this hotel provided. Very nice welcome from the receptionist. And an apology for my interrupted sleep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Dont have room 7
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 7 is a disaster, it smells really bad of damp and mould. This room is in the adjoining extension where most of the rooms are. Its the first room on the bottom corridor and sadly 3 doors, 1 being the entrance, 1 being the inner door and 1 being corridor entrance door all connect to the wall of room 7 and so every time anyone comes in or out of the building all these 3 doors slam and its like someone banging on your wall. You cannot get any sleep with people coming back to the rooms late at night and then contractors leaving early wake you up. I had a 3 hour period only where the doors were not being banged against my room and so was shattered in the morning.

    Having a pub joining the hotel, staff were good, food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to eat and socialise but dont think i will stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey inconsiderate people staying in other rooms.banging doors and emergency door alarm going off when builders taking a shortcut.

    Nice place / comfortable / staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff made sure we got the best out of our time in Rotherham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the bedroom was subdued and there was no bright light to work by.

    The staff could not have been more helpful and gave us more information about attractions than the visitor centre. There was plenty of shelf space in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Great staff but let down a little by the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I give a few negatives I must note first that when I mentioned my concerns to the staff the next day they were absolutely brilliant and couldn’t do enough for me. The corridor and block entrance doors slammed shut every time another guest went back or forth (ask for a room away from the front of the building I’d say). The fixtures in the bathroom were a little wobbly - but the water was piping hot which was great - and I think because of the bathroom fittings the room smelt a little damp.

    It’s location was great. The restaurant was excellent value. Every member of staff we met was lovely. If the facilities had a bit of an update this would be a truly cracking place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    The full breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard, consequently didn't sleep well. Apart from that our stay was fine. The toaster too easily burned toast (for several people, i.e. not just us...!), thus threatening arrival of the fire brigade. The serving staff had to be very watchful to avoid the latter.

    The full breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being really picky now because we enjoyed our stay ... but if pushed I would say the corridors were looking dated and the carpets worn. However, at the price and the location (for us it was handy for the althletics stadium in Sheffield) it was great.

    Staff couldn't do enough for us, very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Arrived at a very busy time (on the pub side) but didn't feel rushed. Beds were super comfy and had a great restful sleep (thought it might be different because of the pub). Late checking in (8.30pm) but had no trouble getting food ... curtesy of the bar. Had to leave before breakfast even officially started, but Liz was brilliant! We helped ourselves to continental breakfast while she was setting up then she made us a bacon barm to take with us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    good value for money although prices are creeping up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff slow to get to the accommodation checking in desk as were too busy in the pub side. Food slow to arrive

    good value for money although prices are creeping up. Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The lady who was at check in was friendly and bubbly she was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing on arrival would advise heating on low in cold weathers so warm when guests arrive. bathroom needs updating seems very old compared to the bedroom which was very modern the bathroom let it down in terms of decor etc reminded me of nursing home bathrooms or hospital bathroom rather than a hotel again it was very cold in the bathroom and the heated towel rail didn’t help with warming it up

    The lady who was at check in was friendly and bubbly she was excellent great customer service couldn’t be more helpful told me where everything was and helped me with the area, explained how to order a taxi and gave me the out of house number for emergencies. The next morning at breakfast she remembered where we had been the night before and asked us about our night nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant all staff were friendly and helpful food was good and hot, drinks reasonably priced. Check in and out was easy and quick. Room was clean and appropriate for the price. Lots to choose for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    A disappointing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dreadful smell on entering the bedroom - I was told by the staff it was Air Freshener - I explained it caught in my throat and shouldn't be used- bad for guests health and the environment! The carpets in the walkways were very dirty and the paintwork not good. The toilet did not flush well.

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loose paving flags at entrance door.

    Comfortable rooms, and excellent staff, but did you get the low level toilets from a batch destined for a primary school?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    A friendly hotel offering good value in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a problem for me, but, my room on the fourth floor had some very narrow stairs in the final flight. I would say that I think the information beforehand did warn about there being no lift and advised anyone needing a room on ground floor level could contact the hotel beforehand.

    Very good location with a 15/20 minute walk into the town centre. There is a nearby bus stop if preferred. Plenty of parking spaces. Though I didn't visit so can't comment, there was a popular restaurant adjoining the premises. Comfortable room with a very comfortable bed. Good size television. Very friendly and helpful staff (Jo and Liz). Overall, a good value hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a little thin and could hear outside however the location didn’t invite so much traffic.

    The location and staff were excellent. Beds were comfortable and the utilities were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel would not issue 2 sets of keys even though the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel would not issue 2 sets of keys even though the room was a twin room. This restricted movement and meant the two people staying had to return together etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Quiet Old-Style Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs refurbishment.

    Old fashioned guest house with lovely friendly staff just a short bus ride from the town centre. Value-for-money Chain restaurant underneath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was ok, and comfortable, staff were great. But it was a little tired and in need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote didn’t work, neither did overhead light or bedside lamp, but the staff were incredibly helpful and rectified this immediately.

    Breakfast was nice, good choice and quick service. Bed was comfortable with good duvet and pillows. Great being attached to the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Fab night with husband for a in expected night off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were abit stiff and the room was very hot through night even though radiators weren’t on

    Michael buble tribute was fab! Beds comfy didn’t have food overall a good night x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    we really enjoyed our stay and the staff were lovely, we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame some other visitors were disrespectful of people sleeping at night, as i was disturbed twice during the night with banging about and loud voices. Not the hotels fault. Not enough tea, sugar and milk in room ,but wasn't a problem as they gave us as many as we wanted. Would have loved a bigger bed. Would have been great if people staying at the hotel could have discount in the bar for food etc ,maybe something to think of?

    love the staff very welcoming and went the extra mile, well done. Breakfast was delicious and even did us some fried bread which wasn't on the menu as it was our favourite thankyou. The sheets were perfectly white. The staff in the pub were very nice and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we payed same price as my friends, they had a much bigger bed than us and their room was a lot more spacious than day our little attic room. The windows were too thin and let in a horrible cold draft, also couldn’t get the hot water in at all from the shower head and had to go for a luke warm bath early in the morning with the bathroom being freezing. Was not pleasant. The food next door at the flaming grill was good money, but on that note you are getting what you pay for. All food must of been reheated and reused.

    THE room was nice and clean & there was no noisey neighbours interrupting our stay. The tv was a good size and was easy to view from our bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a lot nicer than expected for the cheap price paid. Staff were extremely helpful and made checking in easy. The bed was the comfiest iv evwr slept in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Just what I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an update.

    Excellent friendly staff & comfy bed - good size room for what I needed. Beautiful original house building. Plenty of parking & good, easy location for getting into town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Staff was very helpful and super nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpful and super nice. My room number was 107 (I guess). All night there was like door slamming noise. I guess because of the entrance door . But lady she checked me in she was very nice and jolly person.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    The location was great and the parking good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was placed in the annex - it was slightly run down, and my main issue was a very stong smell of cannabis in the hall ways leading to my room. However room was fair, clean bed etc.

    The location was great and the parking good. This is attached to a "Flamming grill" pub that offers a varied range of food including steaks and burgers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Excellent comfortable clean quiet stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great very friendly and helpful. Room was warm, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee facility’s. Big flat screen TV bathroom clean shower great bath tub spacious. Shower gel and hand soap provided clean towells too. I liked the towell heater too. Room had space for clothes plenty hangers. Was a very quiet hotel. Breakfast value for money and couldnt fault it. Very laid back chilled bunch and loved the mid day checkout. Parking is exceptional space at the front and a massive car park to the rear. Pub next door great beer great food and very warm and friendly. Will deffinately stay again 👍👊🤩

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    One night was good for the money it was ok .. the bedding was nice and clean bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small the decor is tried but you can’t expect anything else for the money .. would of been nice to have a drink in the bar but it was closing ..

    The price ..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cold. Only small towel rail to heat it. Also shower temperature was either hot or scolding hot!

    Room was clean and modern. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and tasted great. Good selection of continental options also

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant was a sizzler burger chain which wasn't as I expected.

    room and building really beautiful, but very dated in décor and it needs a lot of tlc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Hungry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ignored at breakfast for 15 minutes untill I asked the same member of staff if we could have breakfast who was just around the corner in reception texting on her mobile. She must have seen us as she was in and out the breakfast room often enough. This is unacceptable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    the lady who checked us in went above and beyond due to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady who checked us in went above and beyond due to my bank card not working she was fast thinking in being able to put the transaction through. she was also very polite and professional but also took care not to be too stuffy with her language. we will most certainly be staying again due to her welcoming demeanour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    The room 1 was excellent beds and pillows really comfy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room 1 was excellent beds and pillows really comfy, breakfast was also excellent and the staff were lovely and so nice to my grandchildren thankyou for a lovely break, I would highly recommend to anyone

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Warm comfortable rooms, very attentive, friendly staff and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm comfortable rooms, very attentive, friendly staff and a good choice of food. All our party enjoyed the stay and were full of praise for the staff and amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff were nice. Rooms need updating. I would have preferred a window!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was cold, dated and very jaded. No toiletries and rather grubby round the bath

    The bed was comfy and once radiator turned up the room was warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, but the hotel oversells itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel oversells itself. In spite of what were advertised as 'facilities' there was no hairdryer or telephone in the room. The 'free toiletries' consisted of one dispenser of Dove soap and another of shower gel. The 'extensive grounds' and 'beautiful gardens' consisted of a large car park overlooked by a nice terrace with some trees, a small patch of grass and another car park behind. Similarly the 'fruit salad' at breakfast consisted of small plastic pots of pear and peach. The worst thing was the dreadful smell from the cleaning fluid which was used in the bathroom which nearly made me choke. Coffee at breakfast, even when it hadn't been stewing for over an hour was not good. Wifi was obtainable only via the Cloud which had all sorts of conditions attached so we didn't use it.

    The heating was good, so was the breakfast and the food in the restaurant. The staff were friendly. Free parking. Fluffy duvet. Tea was nice. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Largest family room that we have stayed in, our 2 year old twins had lots of room to run around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm being very picky but the seats in the breakfast room offer little support.

    Amazing family room with 2 bathrooms, 2 rooms with a huge double and 2 singles. Staff were friendly and very helpful. 12 noon check out on Sunday morning which made the stay more relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Think it was just an oversight that my room did not get serviced and would be willing to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not attended to during stay. Had to go to bar for tea milk etc. Bins not emptied. Toilet blocked up .

    Location, and staff were very helpful especially Liz. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money and very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bits of the building looked a bit tired.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. We were just stopping over before travelling onwards - had a nice evening meal, room suited our needs perfectly and breakfast was very good. Excellent value for money and staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Not for a holiday. Fine for stop over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation block has seen much better days. Room smelt musty in particular the bathroom as did the towels although there was no mould or obvious damp and towels were new and clean. Room carpet was badly stained. Needs replacing.

    Friendly helpful staff. Bedding was fresh and clean. Bathroom was clean and shower worked. Clean towels. Quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.2
    Don't go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    First there was a mistake with program of booking.com. We search for hotel with dog and this hotel was in the list. When we arrived we had a big problem because dogs were not allowed. Lucky for us our dog could stay but we have to pay 50 euros for security. The rest of our staying wasn't great. We couldn't have diner togheter with 12 adults. We couldn't pay after diner but with every order we had to pay and the music was very loud and not all the staff was friendly. The rooms were old.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Only stayed one night but would definitley sat
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 teabags and the same amount of milk in the room and when we asked for more the manager was not very pleasant about it. As residents of the hotel we felt the bar closed too early.

    The room was very comfortable and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. There was a very good choice for breakfast. Majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Only stayed one night but will definitly stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 teabags and the same amount of milk in the room and when we asked for more the manager was not very pleasant about it. As residents of the hotel we felt the bar closed too early.

    The room was very comfortable and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. There was a very good choice for breakfast. Majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Terrible. Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a terrible stay the room was filthy. Pubic hair all over the bathroom the picture I saw wasn’t true as ther was no bath I was booked into a disabled access room and not told. My stay was awful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Very handy location, friendly staff, reasonably priced - but a bit too scruffy, won't be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed a bit lumpy but bedding was clean. Cleanliness of rooms was pretty poor. Cobwebs hanging from ceiling to lampshades; sticky bathroom floor. Most unpleasant was a used sanitary towel lying outside the bathroom window on a ledge. I told staff about this on the first day, who said they'd move it, but it was still there when I left after 2 days.

    Staff were friendly welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Great for price, location and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay, using the hotel mainly for its location and price, however my twin room on the ground floor felt a little damp and the shower curtain made the room smell a bit musty. Unfortunately for me the mattress was too hard and I hardly slept. This I can't blame on the hotel as I'm guessing it's a personal thing.

    Great location for my visit to the town events and such friendly helpful staff. The price at £45 for the room is very good. Even after checking out the hotel very kindly let me leave my car in their car park during the day whilst I went out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Just booked for one night business trip, comfortable and great value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfy, the room was spacious. Staff friendly and welcoming. Food at The Flaming Grill was good and excellent value for money, WILL use again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were big and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled parking was further away from the building than some of the normal parking. My mother had to get up stairs to go to breakfast. Was a long walk to her accessible room!

    Rooms were big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.3
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very unfriendly reception- had to wait about 10 mins before anyone came to the desk ( I had rung the bell). Generally very unfriendly- room not very clean- towels left on the floor-bath not very clean- late night row outside my room with appalling language- had to ask for a hairdryer and handed to me without a word. Reception desk area unclean and not at all welcoming. So sad to see what was once a lovely family-run hotel now a cheap, shabby motel.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    The food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a few hairs in the sink and the room was a little dark even with all the lights on.

    The food was amazing.. The staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Stay in the hotel, eat and drink elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the pub and kitchens below, very steep steps to bedroom but other rooms well placed and great for the older members of family. First floor landing had odd smell (like stale beer- cellar? Bar below?) and stair carpet was worn and slippery on steep bits.

    Great location, set back off main road so was quiet. Hotel was very clean and well decorated with very interesting period features. Shame the pub doesnt live up to the promise of the hotel! Great amount of car parking and Liz on reception was AMAZING! Super friendly and helpful, really cheery and a great asset to your business

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the shower needs to be thermostatically controlled. Our fluctuated cool to scalding which was NOT a good experience.

    Clean comfortable room. Cheerful friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows and walls very thin let in a lot of noise had trouble with couple arguing early hours Paul the night supervisor sorted it out and got me a drink as I could not go back to sleep so stayed out side chatting to him while the missus slept

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: