Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bridge Of Lochay Hotel 3 stars

Aberfeldy Road, Killin, FK21 8TS, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Killin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    4 day break at Bridge of Lochay Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service not so good in dog friendly bar as main restaurant. Felt we had been overlooked.

    Old character inn which was comfortable and quaint with uneven floors. Bathroom could do with updating but adequate with toiletries provided. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Nice and homely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The place i very old, some 250 years old, but made up very good and tasteful. No reason for complaints.

    Breakfast was good. You could have it any way you wanted it. And plenty of good coffee. All staff was very helpful, kind and thoughtful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice clean hotel although not worth £120 per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very very dated , the walls in the room were cracked around the bathroom , funny smell in the hotel obviously due to how old it is

    Breakfast was nice and staff very polite and attentive , clean and warm rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    2.9
    Wish we had booked somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Struggled to find anything positive to say about our stay! Sadly the hotel is somewhat shabby, both in terms of general upkeep of the property & also the internal decoration & furnishings. For today's standards & expectations of visitors/guests this hotel is very much in need of a full renovation (in my opinion)!! We reluctantly paid £120 for the room including breakfast - I would seriously consider other hotels in this area for this amount of money! We are unable to comment on the food, as we decided to eat elsewhere...….

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Delighted and disappointed in equal measure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt that whilst the building is old, charming and quaint, the overall experience could have been so much more. Facilities were good, staff excellent but the accomodation just lacked that little extra to make a good visit a very good visit.

    This property delighted and disappointed in equal measure. The building is tired but has great character. The rooms were OK but could have been better. Location and setting was very good. Staff were excellent and the food was very good, especially the breakfast. We travelled with a group of 9 people over 5 rooms and everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Quaint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the water pressure in the shower.

    Very cute hotel located right on a picturesque river. The restaurant was very good. We had a foldaway bed in our room and it was comfortable for me (6'1", 225).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was great and the staff were really lovely and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small and noisy from an air conditioning system from kitchen just outside the window. As room very small it was also very hot. Too soft a bed.

    The staff were great. The food was good. The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.5
    Overpriced and mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm surprised at so many positive reviews of this Hotel. We considered it way overpriced (£120/night for a double). Outside and corridors were pretty shabby. Plastic flowers and tinned fruit at breakfast. Almost zero wifi. Kitchen extraction fan running right outside the window (room 10). Needs major refurbishment.

    Good restaurant food. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Lovely evening meal and breakfast had plenty of selection. Bedrooms clean with tea and coffee, large walk in shower and large fluffy towels. Plenty parking available and only a short walk to village centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    It was everything I needed it to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was exceptional. Nothing out of the ordinary, but all very tasty, and cooked perfectly. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A comfortable single room and three course meal in a cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred an earlier checkout and breakfast.

    A comfortable single room and three course meal in a cosy restaurant all for £80...what’s not to like? Bike storage and good selection of vegetarian meals in restaurant. Lovely location in a quiet pretty village.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent and service very good. Nothing too much trouble. Location was easy to find and the highlight of the visit was seeing a red squirrel running over the bridge. View from the window over the water was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent room in great local hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    I took a family room/ suite for one night and was delighted with the comfort and space provided. Worked well for my daughter and I and I look forward to returning again hopefully for a number of nights. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most comfortable bed of four hotels this holiday. Dinner was excellent, breakfast superb, service friendly. We've stayed here before and WILL be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    A pleasure to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    An old, but extremely airy and cosy room at a modest room rate. A restaurant you would make for your regular, if it would be situated at your home town. Interesting offers on the menu. Extremely good cooked food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Probably one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything that stands out as being unsatisfactory. Great value for money.

    Probably one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had. Delicious! In fact it was so good I shared a photograph on my instagram account!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Killin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast not great..very hit and miss bacon cremated and inedible. Sausage nearly as bad. Rest ok. Breakfast buffet good though.

    STaff and owners lovely and friendly and helpful. Room 5 good and comfy with a great view of river next to it. Evening meal superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a couple of nights break, but plenty room for improvement
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in the room on the wall was very small indeed. Wi-Fi signal was poor and unreliable. No mobile reception (O2 network) but can't blame the hotel for that. Long wait for service in rear dining room on the first night so ate elsewhere thereafter. Not good value for money at over 100 pounds per night for a deluxe room which was quite cramped and small.

    Great location for nature walks and the local village. Cosy communal areas. Friendly staff. Lovely comfortable bed. Dinner was good quality when it eventually arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The upstairs is in need of refurbishment. We had a twin bedded room which was a little smaller than we expected but reasonably comfortable. This would not be my first choice of stay but it was acceptable.

    The Bridge of Lochay is in a very good location. It looks attractive and the staff are very friendly. The ground floor is very attractive and the restaurant is very good. Car parking is ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    it was a birthday overnight The staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice to. we will go back on another occasion I'm sure about that, our room had a wet room & it was really good for me I have a surgical plate in my right shoulder & struggle because of limited movement so the space was great & it was spotless....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an absolute gem in Killin! I loved absolutely everything, strating from the warm welcome, comfortable bed, delicious dinner and fabulous breakfast and finishing with the calming sounds of nature. I will definitely return! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Loch Lomond.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was tempremental however this was the same in most of the village.

    Friendly and welcoming. Room was very comfortable and clean, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is understaffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understaffed

    Hotel is understaffed. They work very hard, without a doubt, but they must play 2 or more positions. When I arrived in the evening, there was no one at the reception. Well it turned out they were tending the bar. And then the same person was back at work at 7:30, eventhough she worked untill at least 10 PM the previous night.When an establishment is so understaffed it usually means something is very wrong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location with first class faciltiies and breakfast. Would highly recommend a stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This hotel is in a beautiful location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and facilities in the hotel were excellent. The breakfast was first class. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    The view of the river from the bedroom window was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about the Bridge of Lochay.

    The view of the river from the bedroom window was spectacular. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the food is terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Quirky hotel full of character: brilliant food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place was homely & comfortable Investments clearly went to key areas: beds, bathrooms & food Restaurant food was delicious Rush of river was perfect lullaby Smoked haddock for breakfast was divine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay at a friendly hotel on the outskirts of Killin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely hotel on the outskirts of Killin, a bit further out than i had realised when i booked. Very comfortable, delicious meals (breakfast especially) and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Log fires, good food, comfy bed and friendly staff, perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really dont have any negatives.

    The staff were very friendly. The restaurant menu was very good, the food was excellent. The location is ideal to go out exploring. I could adjust the heating in the room to suit myself. I chose the Lochay grill for breakfast, loved the haggis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great small country hotel that has a real character and is perfect after long cold day on the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is pretty rubbish in both restaurant and lounge area. It is a bit of a walk back into the village itself, although this was not an issue for us as we were happy staying at the hotel. The twin room was very comfortable, but not much space. Then again it is an Inn rather than a big hotel

    Nice lounge area, very good bar, restaurant food was excellent, manager very helpful in making sure we could still have dinner as we were late arriving, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was way under the expected standard for the price. Poor quality furnishings and decor. Sorry should have looked at photos more closely. Cold part of breakfast poor as claimed to have fresh fruit but all tinned. Just poor value for money.

    The staff were very welcoming and attentive - especially to our dog! Cooked part of breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No background music in dining area. Would of liked a nice bar area with some light music. Not very relaxing.

    Food lovely, hotel warm and cozy in a nice setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    It was a good start to my break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering I was there off-season the price could have been a bit lower, but it was a long way from being expensive.

    Very comfortable, lovely views from my windows. My breakfast was cooked exactly as requested.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dated and the residents lounge was very dusty. It advertised log fires but none were on even though it was wet and miserable outside. Evening meal was good but husband found a hair in his.

    It was in a beautiful location and our view from our room amazing. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Really enjoyed the stay and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was not great for comfort. Cleanliness in the bathroom and one bedroom was not as great as expected.

    Staff, location and food were really good. The accommodation space, layout and facilities were excellent but missing on some cleanliness in second bedroom and bathroom. We did arrive early and staff were extremely welcoming but maybe rooms were not fully prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    A charming inn in Killin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in our bedroom were a bit thin and we were able to hear guests in the adjoining room.

    A lovely inn. We had to change our travel plans mid-trip and were lucky enough to find this inn. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, our rooms (one of the newly renovated suites) were clean and comfortable for our family of four, and the breakfast and dinner were delicious. Try the fish pie and the lemon posset for dessert!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming we will return. (Be warned),😈
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bedding could be updated,towels could be a better size,toilet seat a bit wobbly. Throw out the awful artificial flowers and ghastly plants.

    Best porridge on our trip food excellent good menu.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and hallway could do with an update, which gives a not so great impression when walking in.

    The bed was super comfortable, we had a lovely view onto the river, the bedroom had been updated to a good standard including Harris tweed bedding. The breakfast was excellent and we had dinner, which was also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Hotel good but not much to do in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some problems with the dinner menu. had fish pie main ingredient lobster but no lobster in it.

    Bathroom was nice and large,the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good,dinner was just O.K.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Could be lovely but currently would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Decor was grubby and unfinished. Cleaning was sub standard. Chipped bath and grubby looking tiles. Kettle didn't plug in properly. Carpets in hall were very dirty looking. Dog allowed in restaurant whilst we were eating!

    Staff were friendly. Bed was large clean and comfortable. Location was stunning. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Exceeded our expectations, would return and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner menu, which to be fair was extensive, remained exaclty the same for both nights of our stay. we thought that at least some of the 'days specials ' might have been changed

    friendly staff, good food, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Everything good apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite basic - no potato scones or hash browns, no beans, no pastries, no fresh fruit. Bacon was fatty and greasy. Vegetarian sausages were not good. Small servings.

    Bright room, comfortable bed. Liked having a shower cubicle. Evening meals were good but short on vegetarian choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was lovely, the food good and the pub attached to the hotel very nice The room was of an acceptable size. I would definitely return if in the area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Such an enjoyable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault

    Gem of a place. The meals were excellent (both breakfast and evening). Amazingly good food, extensive menus and professional, friendly staff who were very welcoming. We'd definitely recommend guests to dine in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A Perfect End to Our Highland Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Zero complaints.

    Incredible rushing highland river next to the hotel, with the most cozy accommodations. We cracked the windows and allowed the sound of the rapids to serenade us to sleep each night. The staff is wonderful, the restaurant is perfect, with rough-hewn exposed ceiling joists, and the breakfast was lovely. Take some time to relax in the cozy lounge area next to the fireplace, and leaf through the scrapbook of photos and history of this 250-year-old hotel! It is a short stroll into town (10-15 minute walk), which is a great way to wind down your day in Killin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no wifi in my room but as getting away from it all it did not detract from my stay as able to access wifi in resident's lounge.

    Really nice hotel. Good food and friendly helpful staff. Lovely room with great view of the river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Bob & Amanda are very kind people, running this hotel as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bob & Amanda are very kind people, running this hotel as a home and making you feel very well there. This is a great hotel, with great staff, and a lovely place for a short break! The all team is doing a wonderful work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    I can recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our second stopping during our holiday in the Scotland, there we were very satisfied on this place and house with pleasant mood. Very friendly owners and staff, delicious meal, good furnishings in the rooms, romantic river and old bridge...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Room was large and comfortable but the layout was a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little ways out of town. Internet is not always available.

    Room was large and comfortable but the layout was a bit awkward. Very nice guest lounge and an outdoor seating area – if the weather is fine. Picturesque location on the river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Very organised host considering the large number of guests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi service in our room but to the owners credit we didn't approach him to sort it out as it was only one night.

    Very organised host considering the large number of guests he had there whilst we were visiting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    We could not find fault with anything staff and management...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One rainy day ,,,,

    We could not find fault with anything staff and management were very friendly and helpful , every where was clean , rooms were excellent , chef was brilliant , what more can I say except we would go again , and recommend it to our friends ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were made to feel very welcome. Bedroom very recently upgraded to high standards. Good breakfast and excellent evening restaurant menu. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely , quirky hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certain members of staff were lacking. I rang on the Monday after booking online, to clarify if we could take two dogs and how much it would be. I was told £10 per dog per night.Thankfully, I emailed also and the owner replied that it was only one £10 per STAY, not per dog, per night. Had this not happened, I would have cancelled the booking. At dinner on the Saturday night, my partner never yet received his starter of soup or the bread and butter offered by the waitress - possible language barrier...My Hunter's Chicken was too greasy and the cheese was oily. I could not eat it. The chips were also over-cooked. Very disappointing experience. The shower cubicle in the bathroom was too small. I could barely turn round in it. My partner is six foot and he really struggled to fit. I appreciate the size was maybe dictated by the shape of the ceiling, but a Wet Room would be a better option.

    Loved the room and the fact they had left a dog bed,towel and bowls for our dog(s). The staff made our dogs welcome,which is always a relief. The breakfast was delicious and the service was perfect,unlike the dinner - see above

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Luxury amidst the beautiful outdoors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't quite work and the area's phone reception not amazing. The breakfast was very good but could be slightly more organised.

    Excellent location and facilities very well kept despite age. The shower was amazing. The food was excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    My room was very nice and very spacious, and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast hours were very short.

    My room was very nice and very spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel was easy to find from the main road, and there was plenty of parking. Breakfast was very good - the hotel sources most of its products locally. All staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.3
    Sub-standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, we climbed three sets of stairs and had a very nice room. However, the heater was broken and the room was a furnace. So, we moved to a substandard room right over the front door with a window that had no screen. There was NO internet during our entire visit!

    The meal for dinner was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Our rooms were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aisles to get to the room. Carpet is old and ugly, but the initial feeling changed completely once we entered into the room

    Our rooms were really good. Remodeled and nicely set up. Not sure if all the rooms are the same. Old place with style

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather -but it is Scotland!

    The location is superb. The hotel is comfortable, relaxed and friendly without being over-zealous or pretentious. I think this stay (3 nights) represented the best value for money we've had for the last few years.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    A great stay in a characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much really. Some of the public areas look a little tired and might benefit from a bit of refreshment but good levels of cleanliness and we liked the character of this ancient inn

    Really nice owners and staff. We were a group of 9 hillwalkers and we were treated well as a group,with the hotel booking the restaurant for us both nights and being very flexible with how we settled the bill (which hasn't always been our experience elsewhere). Lovely location, right on the bridge, although a little removed from the main town (which suited us just fine). Very good food, both the breakfasts and the restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Visiting Killin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, reflecting that the owners are working hard to refurbish the building. If the conservatory roof could have some attention that would be great. The sticky roof tape is not attractive when viewed from the bedroom window! It reminded us of a house we used to live in.

    The bedroom was beautifully appointed and the bed really comfortable. We both slept well. The staff were pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Would go there again for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather heavy rain and very windy. not their fault

    The staff were very friendly and attentive the evening food was first class as was the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Base camp for a 2 night stay whilst touring on our Motorbike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rural location on the banks of a river, perfect sitting out location in the rare Scottish sunshine. Restaurant excellent food & service but book a table early its very popular with the locals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, pretty views but in need of tlc!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place needs some investment and tlc!

    Good views from the room (see above). However, the room and bathroom were basic. The evening meal in the hotel's pub-like restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Lovely night away.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change our booking to a pet friendly room. We were told that the room would be smaller because of this. However the room was a super size and we loved the provision of the dog bed, towel and bowls 😀

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stop over in Killin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Fantastic stay in Killin. Comfortable bed(room) and spacious bathroom. Staff were friendly and common areas welcoming. Everything you want from a pub stay/Inn.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff, lovely interior design and perfect food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a couple of spiders in our room of which I had to take care, but other than that it was very clean.

    Very nice staff, lovely interior design and perfect food. The lobby was great as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Really fun and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ideas on what you could do to improve the property. The WIFI could have been a bit stronger and more consistent, but this is not a business type of location.

    The room was quaint...this is a traditional Scottish Inn. It was clean and the staff was very good, really accommodating and helpful. The property was quiet and the breakfast was delicious! Very well done.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a twin put together as a Double as requested on Booking.com there were no doubles available on line. Pillows were uncomfortable, duvet was past it's best. Attention to detail of cleanliness could improve. In need of an upgrade.

    The staff were friendly. Evening dinner was good. I did choose the steak which was beautifully cooked. Fish pie was also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cannot think of any negatives.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff, we asked for a quiet room and got a lovely quiet room overlooking the river. We also had a great shower in the room - really important after being out hillwalking all day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot we had trouble sleeping on the first evening.

    Very confortable and in a great location. Food was good both in the restaurant for evening dinner and for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay as base for munros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked in the lounge. Building and decor is a bit tired but they did acknowledge it needed work.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't be more welcoming. We had lunch there which was great. Room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.8
    lovely place spoiled by bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found my single bed almost impossible to sleep on, Its saggy mattress and extra-heat making layers (such as a slab of yellow foam!) producing a very bad night. Only on rearranging the bed and turning the mattress round did I manage to get to sleep about 3.30am. On request next day I was granted (with some delay and a certain lack of grace from the chap at the desk) another bedroom, which was a double - with a somewhat better mattress and consequent successful sleep. This is only the second time I have ever asked to change a room and had offered at the time of the request to pay extra but was told this was unnecessary. Next day, however, I was told by the owner that booking.com regulations meant they had to charge extra, if not the full amount. Since he was pleasant and I just wanted to leave by this time, I just accepted this. He said the single bed was his favourite one in the hotel. I have to say, however, that I think, some new beds or mattresses would be a big improvement - and make this a much better place to stay.

    friendly owner; lovely setting; good breakfast with wide choice; lovely public rooms, esp. bars; homely; spacious bedrooms; good parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Killin, a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room and wonderful staff, super dinner menu and breakfast selections and the food was delicious. The Killin area is a beautiful part of Scotland especially with the autumn colours at their best.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very slightly chaotic (though it was busy).

    We had one of the brand new rooms. Very comfortable and pleasant decor. Very clean. Characterful old building within lovely surroundings. Really friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable stay. Food excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    White wine not served chilled. Had to ask for a wine bucket. Attention to maintenance details required - fire door kept getting stuck open on the carpet and door handle broken in the room.

    Food ( dinner & breakfast) was of a very high standard. Rooms well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    The Scottish Glens Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedrooms a little dated but nice and clean.

    Nice hotel with a great Landlord and Landlady. Nice clean room with good bathroom facilities. Great breakfast and friendly bar staff. Super location next to the river.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: