Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Brown Trout Hotel

Station Road, Watten, KW1 5YN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Watten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 41 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a short visit.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watten as a place is rather disappointing. It is well-placed for visiting Caithness but Caithness is well below the Scottish average for scenic beauty .

    Very pleasant service and excellent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Made to feel welcome, breakfast was superb the staff went...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone signal, not the hotels fault

    Made to feel welcome, breakfast was superb the staff went out of their way for you, nothing was a problem. Definitely value for money. Would be my choice next time I'm in the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The cereal choice was limited.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The cereal choice was limited. Cooked breakfast - Tasty sausages, egg cooked to my specifications, exceptionally good slice of black-puddng. Generous pot of tea Nice crunchy toast with an excellent range of jams/preserves. Loved the fruit juice on the table

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Good old fashioned hospitality where nothing is too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a faint odour, this was also noticed by a friend who was also guest that night, which was a little bit like sick. Possibly a cleaning product? It was noticeable each time the room was entered, and my friend said the same

    The breakfast The huge room, especially the bathroom The artisan soap that was provided The fact nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased with our stay and kept information about the hotel, we will definitely return here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made very welcome on a late arrival , hotel actually kept the kitchen area open an extra hour to enable us to have a meal when we did arrive. Also may I add , the food was really good and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    See above. The all round experience was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Realistically, one could not expect a better experience.

    Nicely balanced menu well cooked and presented. Service was efficient and very friendly. The owner and staff took a real interest in ensuring that we experienced the best that the area could provide. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. As one would hope for in a family owned small country hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Lovely little place in middle of nowhere but still close to Wick etc. I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just little thing-my morning coffee was so weak so I coulnt taste anything but it was probably mistake...

    Lovely breakfast, nice evening meal, cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    One of the best places to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best places to stay at. Super friendly staff, very intimate, good food and very good value. The rooms are so lovely and full of detail and love, it's brilliant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, informative and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am fortunate as a motorcyclist I don't feel the cold. The only negative comment I would make, is that the bedroom temperature was too warm for me.

    Very friendly staff, informative and helpful. Premises clean and tidy, restaurant was pleasant and menu was varied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Very welcoming, clean and comfortable hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms was quite cold when we arrived in the afternoon but by evening it was lovely and warm. The extra heater that was there didn't work. Maybe some green tea, hot chocolate and some biscuits would have been nice in the rooms. Bath towels could be bigger.

    Big rooms with big en-suite. Comfy beds and good food. Big portions! Allow dogs at no extra cost.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Couldn’t have asked for more
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, would happily recommend the brown trout hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Donna and her staff were fantastic and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Donna and her staff were fantastic and very helpful. They went the ‘extra mile’ to help out. I’d stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    WASN'T LONG ENOUGH, BEST PLACE I'VE STAYED IN CAITHNESS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I LIKED EVERYTHING

    THE STAFF WERE EXCELLENT, THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD, THE LOCATION WAS CONVENIENT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Small country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect just what we were looking for after a long day on the bike breakfast was fantastic that ks Donna Tony and Linda

    Small country pub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside could do with a lick of paint!

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Food was great Bed was excellent comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was great Bed was excellent comfy Warm and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel hope to stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and the food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    friendly breakfast service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    musty room, could use a renovation

    friendly breakfast service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and homely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Great stop while motorcycling around Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stop while motorcycling around Scotland. Great bar, friendly locals and good staff. Rooms were spacious and comfy. Landlady was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.2
    The ladies that looked after us Deserve a special mention...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ladies that looked after us Deserve a special mention unfortunately I've forgotten there names. They made us feel very welcome and it was like a home from home. To get such genuine warm service these days is rare!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The staff could not be faulted, very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have no negative responses at all.

    The staff could not be faulted, very friendly and polite. For me it was well appointed for the reasons that I stayed ,ie. sightseeing. The food was freshly cooked and well presented. All in all a great experience, thank you.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    5.4
    price was good for an overnight stop on the way to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was the first ever "hotel" I have stayed in which was not en suite and I have stayed in a number of hotels and guest houses in this price range and the rooms were en suite. Although I knew at the time of booking it was not en suite, it was still an eye opener. My single bed just fitted the length of the room and the radiator was right up to the foot of the bed, was covered by the bedding; my feet were therefore very hot but the room was cool. Reception was a little table in the front conservatory and all in all, is not a hotel as you would expect; a guest house, yes.

    price was good for an overnight stop on the way to the Scrabster ferry. Breakfast was good and staff rushed breakfast so I could leave quickly.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: