Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Buck Inn 3 stars

Newbiggin, Richmond, DL104DX, United Kingdom

#20 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Richmond

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure from the shower wasn't very good.

    Ideal place to be able to bring your dog along, clean room and value for money. Nice views from the bedroom window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean room spacious bathroom and shower. Large comfy bed. Checkin very easy with the young bar staff who was very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beer garden and the breakfast.

    the rooms were comfy and clean no problems. I was disappointed with garden very untidy not as good as it was advertised,the staff were ok but not over friendly as stated in the reviews and also the breakfast was good on the first morning but warmed up and cold toast for the second one .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first visit unsure where to book in ,waited at the bar to be served( which was busy) then asked to go through and book in at other side of the bar. A sign to say where you book in would be handy .

    Ideal location for a visit to The Georgian Theatre and the lovely market town ,wish our stay had been longer . The bed was comfy and the breakfast was lovely , we would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issues: sheet on bed had a tear in and one of the pillowcases was torn completely on one side.

    Staff was welcoming and very friendly throughout. Re. the check out: we had to pay in advance, which enabled us to leave when we wanted, therefore no reason for a formal check out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it’s a pub as well, it was a little bit noisy up until closing time, but this was expected.

    Clean, comfortable room. Good facilities, hospitality tray, etc. Parking on the road outside door, parking disc supplied by them, no extra charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lighting and would have liked king-size bed.

    Location was quiet and we parked outside property. Staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Close to town centre and everything we wanted on our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little awkward only allowed 2hrs outside the hotel, however, it was only until 6pm so parking overnight was okay.

    Excellent breakfast, lovely clean room, nice beer garden, friendly attentive staff. Good location close to the town square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent. Best steak I've had for a long time. Breakfast also really good. Lovely and clean. The staff were very friendly. Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised as serving food, unfortunately not during my stay. I had to go in to town alone to dinner. I always book places that serve food so I don't have to do this. A bit disappointing.

    Beautiful place with friendly staff & locals

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were soft for us, but pillows too hard..but 1 thick 1 thin provided per person but neither were fluffy. Wifi was poor.

    Friendly staff in a good location for our 1 night stay. Great breakfast to set us up for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only 1 night but this place was excellent lovely friendly place if your going to catterick for pass out perfect place to stay

    Beds were comfy room was clean and lovely and warm breakfast was ace

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Great enviroment. staff were friendly and helpful, food was lovely, tasted good and was hot. The room was brilliant and spacious, will return 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed was very creaky and the TV remote control did not work properly. Both things easily fixed though.

    Very friendly staff and great breakfast. Delightful view from room 6 window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our comfortable room was at the front of the hotel and a street light immediately outside was rather bright.

    We had a very charming host, and a delicious breakfast. We didn't realise till the morning what a lovely location we were in - a cobbled street five minutes walk from Richmond castle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little weak but I expect that's just down to water pressure and the age of the building.

    Old pub with good atmosphere. The bed was comfy and bed linen and towels with pure white! It's location is good as it a 2 minute walk to the market place but far enough away to be quiet and get a good night's sleep. The full English breakfast was good quality ingredients, well cooked. You can park outside with a disc for 2 hours but then you have to move it. There are other long stay car parks nearby. No on-street parking charges or restrictions there on Sunday's (at the moment). Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel was in a great area really close to the town centre within walking distance of all the town has to offer.The hosts were fabulous lovely warm and friendly people who had a fantastic knowledge of the local area and who were always on hand to help, the beds were so comfy we didnt want to get out in a morning but when we did we had a delicious full cooked breakfast which was included in the price and set us up for the day,the hotel also had a bar area and a beer garden to enjoy, all in all I loved my 2 night stay here and can't wait to go back sometime in near future

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower.....not shower....trickling water,tired and in need of all new - It has been neglected, but in a new ownership.....maybe soon it will be great again....don't let this put you off though, because everything that is old beauty needing a revamp.....also is needing love and support .... and great that it is a personal venture and not corporate ....so support this Buck please :)

    The view out of the window at the back of the property, staff lovely...The breakfast was fresh as can be, new owner giving very best and definitely deserves support here :)...the location is perfect to town and surrounding beauty

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heating in room 3 landlord did try to sort it out but somebody had broke valve on radiator so no heat could get through shower not good ,difficult to control heat settings so water was freezing or boiling shud have got some money knocked off

    staff were very good ,bar area good and location excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the evenings would have been nice. They serve Thursday to Sunday only but plenty of other places to eat

    The staff are fabulous. So welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking through the day outside hotel is for a maximum of 2 hours which was a bit of a nuisance.

    The hotel is being upgraded. Our room was excellent but the bar where breakfast was served was a bit jaded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are wonderful and the pub has a really nice atmosphere. The room was very large and had a lovely new carpet. There were a few minor issues, it took a while to get the shower to the right temperature (it was either freezing or boiling hot) the TV was a bit crackly and the new carpet meant that the door stuck when you tried to open or shut it. However these are quite minor things as overall it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is situated very close to town and the food there was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is still under refurbishment , and lacked some facilities which I am sure will be addressed as work continues. Parking is an issue , but this is not under the hosts control , Richmond has strict parking rules.

    The Host was charming and helpful. Breakfast was good. Great Location , lovely view of Richmond from beer garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good sized shower, but the water pressure wasn't great, but still got clean, so fine for 1 night's stay, might have been a bit frustrated over a longer stay.

    We had the last available room - Room 0 - which is across the front of the building, with a king sized bed. The room was of a good size and had been recently re-decorated, so was very clean, bright and fresh looking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking outside the hotel is disc but only for 2 hours, however there is free parking further into the town.

    The staff/owners were very friendly, room was light, airy and spotless with a comfortable bed. Really nice tasty breakfast, cooked to order. View from the beer garden is stunning. Situated on a quiet street but only about 5 mins walk to market square. We stayed on a bank holiday weekend in a room at the front but never heard any noise at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable enough. It does need some work but to be fair to the owners I think this will be addressed in time. The time involved in establishing the food and drink part of the business has probably taken up a lot of time, and there's no denying that the owners work very hard in the pub too.

    The breakfast was beautiful on both days. Freshly prepared and very tasty. Great quality products; the sausage and bacon were lovely. The hosts at the property were great. Very welcoming to us and our dog and definitely made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking not able to park outside property only allowed to do so for two hours

    Comfy bed and excellent breakfast staff very helpful and couldn't do enough for you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyrthing was superb from friendly host, to comfortable clean room . and the full English breakfast was excellent. Would recommend the hotel highly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disc parking in the town was tricky. I can understand the reasons the council do it. Just a bit of a pain

    The location was pretty much in the town centre. The place was really nice, Paul and Fiona were nice people and really enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar a bit noisy with singers. Limited street parking. Taps in room difficult to turn off and shower head needed cleaning,

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast couldn't be faulted - excellent. Bed very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor was very friendly and helpful and the rest of the staff. The room was very clean and comfortable substantial cooked breakfast would recommend to other people .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only single glazed windows so traffic noisy in the morning. Also breakfast let them down - very over cooked eggs, and under cooked bacon.

    Very nice pub/guest house, recently refurbished.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like really. Didn't expect anymore that what I got for the price.

    Friendly welcome. Very accommodating with a 1year old baby. Good food & drinks. Honestly couldn't do enough for us. Brought our family back- who were staying in premier inn- for drinks and they were made to feel welcome also. Beautiful area, rural with everything you need within a walking distance. Loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location easy parking although watch those traffic wardens . Big room and comfy bed. Big full breakfast and friendly staff. We stayed in the front room which was very nice although quite light through the windows at night due to street lamps. Overall an excellent and enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not find anything to moan about.

    the room was very clean and spacious,the host paul and is wife Fiona went the extra mile to make our stay very happy.the breakfast was spot on and hot.i would return there without any hesitation.thank you so much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that had beer garden was nothing like the photos and no t area as advertised

    The advice and local information given from owners and food was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, it was all good

    We loved the hospitality and helpfulness. The room was spacious and clean, however it did take a while for the shower and the room to warm up. Maybe the heating could be put on prior to arrival? The Breakfast was basic but good quality. Apart from that it was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More toast and butter with breakfast.

    Staff v helpful with excellent info on the town and where to eat. I was well looked after. Good breakfast. TV in room was huge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom very comfy, breakfast very nice also paul & fiona who run the buck house in very helpful, the place is only 1 minute walk to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fiona & Paul (prefers Andy) were excellent hosts, the pub was really friendly and the town of Richmond is excellent for a day out. would definitely come here again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a shame parking, during the day, was a bit awkward.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were very obliging. Excellent views from the room I was in and they served good ale. Plus the location was very close to the town centre,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor room -shower room mouldy.Old fashioned decor.Chef not there.Lady helping out with breakfast did best with food she had.Nearest thing to Fawlty Towers I've experienced. 😣

    Hot water and radiators hot.Bedding and towels clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water in shower barely luke warm. Towel bar in bedroom hanging off the wall. Very noisy when patrons left the bar sometime after midnight. Overall the Inn is shabby and tired looking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People standing at the door way and standing outside drinking and smoke especially when travelled with kids smell the smoke funes..

    Like the service and the breakfast..the servicing we received was freindly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a single mattress on half a single divan safely off through the night,place was up for sale and proprietors moving on however very friendly and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area could be a bit cleaner and the outside area needs tidying up ,the place needs updating and a bit more TLC i think

    Comfy bed good size TV great breakfast great location and good staff especially the owner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasn't available when it advertised a great menu. And the disco that went on until the early hours. Parking was also a bit of a problem with discs that you had to keep changing the time on.

    Richmond itself was beautiful. Lovely town, friendly people, fantastic market.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needed updating very old fashion and needed decorating.towel rail falling off the wall.shower only Luke warm and took duvet cover off and duvet had blood stains on it

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible beyond words. It was cleanish but thats all I could say. The sink was in the bedroom there were holes in the wall where thing such as shelves may have been the furniture was a miss match of different white turned yellow old rickety rubbish, the sink that incidentally was not even in the shower room and was located in the bedroom did not drain away properly. Overall just a down right disgrace!

    Location. Nothing else!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two rooms a few months ago, arrived and only one room available. Bar staff tried to contact manager who told her to ring another hotel down the street, which she did. Offered to book it but cost more than our room so we asked them if they would be paying the difference which did not receive a positive response. Asked why we could not have another room if other people had not booked in as if we went down the street our party would be broken up. We had been standing around a good half an hour while the bar staff was trying to sort out with missing manager. Eventually we got the room but that meant when someone else arrived they would not have their booked room. Staff said "can't believe that he has done this again" so not an isolated incident, wish I had read reviews before booking. Poor rooms very scruffy place no pride with little respect for the setting or the visitors coming in

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More vegan options for breakfast (perhaps just keep some non-dairy milk, non-dairy marg (Vitalite is fine), veggie sausages and some fruit in the store cupboard.

    Lovely cosy room. Comfy bed. Really friendly and helpful staff/owner/manager.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I were to be picky, decoration a bit old but this was not an issue as everything I needed was there, clean and worked fine.

    Staff fantastic as was the breakfast. Room had everything I needed including a comfortable bed. While pet friendly, not an animal hair in sight.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty shower, mould on ceiling and around shower, very noisy at 2am in the morning as the bar was still open. Could do with updating.

    The view from the bedroom. Barmaid and owners were very friendly. Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in room a bit grotty, some lights etc not working. Old TV with no inputs. couldn't access guest house via main door out-of-hours.

    Nice staff, beautiful building, decent-sized room, good drinks at pub.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's the worst place I have stayed in booking through Booking.com .The place needed a good clean carpets were disgusting.Shower was grubby held on by elastic band.I payed extra for room with a view but window was only 2ftx3ft and handle was dropping off.Very Very noisey at night.We were oh so disappointed as we were celebrating our anniversary.

    NOTHING VERY DISAPPOINTED

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Buck Inn could do itself a favour with some fresh paint and decor. It's in real need of some TLC. As my wife and I ate breakfast we couldn't help but notice the collection of dust/cobwebs etc. around the nooks & crannies of the dining room. Also... Discarded cigarette butts spattered around the street entrance didn't exactly help to give a good first impression. We only used The Buck Inn as a one night stop over on our way to Lincoln. All, in all, it's basically a PUB with some cheap rooms for rent.

    The location was central and in a nice tree lined cobbled street. Our room and bed linen was basic (very) but clean. The staff were helpful on our arrival.The full english breakfast we both ordered was substantial and very well presented. The guy who made and served us our breakfast was really pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little extra cleaning needed on some places. One single bed in room was a child sized mattress base with a normal single mattress on top, not adequate.

    Good location for coast to coast. Central to town. Great staff, very friendly and welcoming. Great cooked breakfast with big portions. Decent choice of cereal and toast. Fab big tv with loads of channels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you like loud music until 2 am then this may be the place for you. However, you would also need to like a filthy dilapidated room in an Inn where very little thought or effort is put towards customer care or service. Having stayed at the Buck Inn once its is not an experience I will ever repeat.

    Nothing to like about The Buck Inn.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beer garden needs cleaning up fag ends everywhere , had a pint glass with dirty marks all around to top bed to soft

    just a short walk from the centre of town breakfast was good hotel gives out parking discs room clean ok for one night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a few minutes walk from centre of town in a quiet street with parking facilities. Room was clean and tidy with on suite facilities.Excellent breakfast food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I got there only one room was booked and it was a single. Rather than 2 rooms for a total of 5 people. Took about an hour to sort as the barmaid / receptionist tried to contact owner and get him to sort out. It was a shambles. One bed had stained sheets. There was a toilet whose systern filled very noisily for 25 minutes after flushing, not ideal at 4 in the morning. The rooms are above the pub, which was open to 2am with booming dance music keeping us awake. The second room was on the other side, where dance music was less of an issue, but instead it was the drunk smokers outside shouting and laughing. The place was an absolute shambles. The breakfast room had loads of junk in one corner, old printer and boxes of papers. The staff were all great, it's obvious the place is ran by somebody who simply doesn't care. I have heard it is changing hands mid September, and the new landlady runs the bar there and everybody can't wait as she's great. Shame she wasn't already in charge for our stay, it was dreadful.

    The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm afraid the general impression was that the whole place was a bit run down, though efforts had been made to smarten things up. The furniture was a bit tacky, and well used - I would not have wanted to unpack into it. We didn't like having the washbasin in the bedroom but not in the shower-room. The surrounds of the washbasin definitely needed redoing. Everywhere was clean, but didn't feel like it. There were no chairs in the bedroom, only a pouffe, which we didn't like. We didn't care for the quilts on the beds - no top sheet. Pillows were clean but not fresh.

    Good central location. Street parking but we had no problem with this. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lavish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the fact we could have been left without a room, stranded after travelling from Glasgow. We had booking.com confirmation, but they did not have us in their books. After 20 mins we eventually were given a room, with castle view as booked. This did not bode well. The room was not to our usual standard, I had only booked this due to pets being allowed. Didn't like smokers standing at door front blocking entrance. No shampoo or conditioner, no hairdryer. No glasses for drink of water or rinsing after brushing teeth. No hand towels but 3 thick white large bath towels. No AC - open window but bugs come in. The price was over priced for room - £80 a night. Sink is in room rather than in the en-suite, would prefer to wash my hands before touching handles on doors. En-suite needs more ventilation to stop the dampness which is on the walls and ceiling.

    Staff where friendly. Bed was comfortable (once I put a pillow behind headboard to stop it creaking, when sitting/lying on bed). Pets allowed for free. Breakfast was big but only ok, not great as our order was mixed up, but we swapped things over, black pudding was not cooked through, still too raw for my liking. Shower was ok, hot water and good power.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a facelift but my friends and I will stay again next year.Parking in richmond is a nightmare max 2 hours every where had to use public parking £4 a day and car got scratched in nuns car park no one owned up or left a number but that happens everywhere in this country

    Stayed with 5 friends and Staff were very friendly and welcoming great location good breakfast does get a bit noisy at night being a bar open till late but that did not bother us at all had a great stay and will be going back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs and a chest infection definitely don't go together. !! Also maybe should serve food

    Never been to Yorkshire before but needed somewhere to stay as my son was passing out with the army. Stayed at the buck inn and was happy with what we found.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel dated and in need of refurbishment

    Booked a family room and this is an old fashioned b & b so don't expect luxuries with this hotel. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners should tell you on the website this is a pub and live and loud music will be played until 2pm, and then people will be stood below your bedroom window well after 2pm discussing the evenings entertainment. Owner should decide if they want to be a live music venue or a hotel . They can't be both !!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower- cold only, slow flow rate Cereal - packets almost empty Bacon - overcooked (hard) Air Blower Heater- did not work Room 5

    Bed comfortable, (fitted sheet too small)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Spotless clean room.friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place small and run down needs a good clean and updated was like staying at your grans and dogs place

    Going home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location, property & all round service, drivers have asked for the ability to stay there again,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fruit for breakfast

    Lovely light room with perfect view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room one you hear the hand dryer from down stairs loudly.

    lovely old building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t seem to work but the wasn’t a huge problem.

    The location, affordability and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to room

    Very dog friendly and the staff couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: