Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bull Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hall Street, Long Melford, CO10 9JG, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Long Melford

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No criticisms

    Great location, Comfortable room, bed, bath. Good breakfast. Value for money. Manager was so friendly and welcoming. Will stay again and recommend without hesitation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.3
    Two nights enough standards dropped since last visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom like a sauna no opening windows and couldn't switch off rad so all transferd to bedroom Cooked breakfast would be better in a road side van

    Room a good size and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heated towel rail in bathroom was very hot and unable to switch off. The room was very hot because of it and we were having heatwave weather. Had to keep bathroom door shut to keep heat out of bedroom.

    Excellent meal and lovely dessert

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes

    Superb. Helpful friendly staff. Facilities excellent. Food delicious. Returned to eat, the evening after we checked out with my sister and her husband, who were equally impressed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.3
    Bearing in mind this is a 1400.s built hotel we enjoyed our stay despite some issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning and on a very hot day the roof absorbs the heat. Bathroom was very small and retained the heat from the towel rail and shower. Dinner not great and wife had a hair on her plate.

    Stayed in the 'wonky room', two tiers with old beams, had to mind your step and head. Bed was on a sloping floor but very comfortable. Breakfast excellent with a fantastic choice of menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.0
    Great staff, very helpful and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very tired and not clean. Bannisters were sticky, carpets hoovered but not around edges and visible dust to the side of bed side cupboards etc . Furniture clearly not moved for cleaning.

    Great staff, very helpful and great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend break,nice area to explore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No double room disabled facilities such as walk in shower for my brother.That would have been very helpful but can appreciate that a listed building can be hard to adapt.

    We had a lovely overnight stay at this very quirky Pub hotel.Lovely old building with wobbly floors which added to the charm.We stayed in a family group,overall the staff and the hotel were good,nice breakfast and we ate in the restaurant on the first night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    So accommodating a really relaxing treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The new menu didn't reference the upright cross & * ( which I now understand is fish bones & ? ) Other pubs in town Very samey menus or expensive, The Bull would be enhanced with a 'specials board'.

    The staff were exceedingly helpful & polite all round, but particularly accommodating with my difficult & challenging intolerance diet. Well done & thank-you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    There was a wedding on in the hotel but I had a quiet room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a wedding on in the hotel but I had a quiet room and it was no problem being a single guest alongside a big party. Who-evers wedding it was on 12th May thanks for being considerate!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.5
    Our room was clean and we particularly liked the Tudor decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel the staff need a little more training. A few examples of what we experienced, morning paper not delivered on 1st morning, no remote for tv in our room also bulb not working in bathroom. Reserved a table for 4 on our 2nd night but on arrival found that the table had not been reserved this was not really a problem as they were not particularly busy that evening but added to the other things we experienced it just gave the impression of a lack of professionalism you would expect to receive when staying as a guest. Finally when it came to settling our account they tried to charge us for the room when we had already paid you weeks in advance. This was soon sorted out but this should not have happened. This might read as quite a rant but you did ask. So on closing, we enjoyed our stay the food was good and our room was perfect and although the staff were always friendly and helpful there is a need for better training.

    Our room was clean and we particularly liked the Tudor decor. Food was very good with the breakfast especially satisfying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed and spacious room - brand new travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable bed and spacious room - brand new travel cot provided for our daughter and very flexible with young baby - heating meal from home up and providing cows milk in her bottle warmed for the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent short stay for wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking a bit difficult on the sunday

    This was our first visit everything was very good,bed large and comfy staff very friendly and helpful and food delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and room needs attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was boiling with the smallest of windows to open. Bed was the most uncomfortable I have stayed on for a while. Room needed a lot of work. Shower hose was split, bathroom light had no cover and just felt dirty with cob webs on curtains etc. Room was very small and very expensive for what it was. There must be better in Long Melford.

    Central location and very old building full of character. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    A great stay whilst visiting area - will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault, but roads outside very busy - even late at night and early in morning

    Great location - unbelievably historic building - fantastic staff and service. We ate at hotel - very good value food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great period hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful old building, lovely period furniture in rooms and hallways, the rooms are very large and well appointed and only one short flight of stairs to climb, the staff were friendly and informative, there are a decent selection of meals available to order at the bar and the breakfast selection was as good as some 5 star hotels we've stayed in, all in all a very nice hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.6
    Just superb from the moment I arrived. Relaxation and friendly comfort guaranteed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had the loveliest stay at The Bull. The building is beautiful, the rooms lovely and very comfortable. Excellent service a wonderful place to visit a very beautiful place to explore. The staff were absolutely brilliant so friendly and I felt very welcome. Will definitely be visiting again soon. My new special place I loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our broken window mended so we could open (room 21)

    for its age it was very well kept , food 1st class,staff very friendly,very quick booking in and out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.5
    A bit run down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom shower sprayed everywhere and fan didn't work. Poor quality breakfast ingredients. Fairly soulless looking bar so I ate elsewhere.

    Friendly staff, cosy bedroom, got a good deal (wouldn't have been happy paying any more)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay and very good value
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent value for money. It was very clean and comfortable and the shower was very powerful! Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    5.0
    Acceptable but not as good as I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was tired and needs a lot of tlc We had to move rooms as there was no hot water in the first room

    In a lovely town and the place did have a certain charm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.4
    Lovely building but it all needs a shake up, including the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    eggs benedicte were served with béarnaise rather than the advertised hollandaise sauce. plates were hot, food was tepid. Lamp shades in bedroom were showing signs of burning. Toilet handle and loo seat were loose. a radio in the lounge below came on at 6.30 am. The staff weren't interested when I told them. It really seemed as though no-one was in charge.

    beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, very disappointed with evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food was not good, awful fillet steak and chips were thin and soggy.

    Lovely breakfast, comfy bed , room in need of a little TLC, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    7.9
    Good for our 1 night and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower did not work properly but we were given a discount of £10. Towel rail did not work. Also our room had a drafty fire exit door to outside stairs.

    Breakfast very good and waitress very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    smashing , does what it says on the tin !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the bar was lovely, ordered fish and chips from the smaller portion menu but the portions were very generous. Very helpful staff and overall a deffinate recommendation to stay there. `Lovely thanks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Previous stays fine some years ago but has gone down hill food now like a Toby car very no open fires kept alight in afternoon so had to keep coat on

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    8.8
    A nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inability to open bedroom windows at night, combination of central heating, closed windows and high tog duvet meant we were too warm at night.

    Top Sunday roast, very good value for money. Nice log fire. Very oldy/worldly. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    5.8
    I was disappointed.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I had no bedside tables AT ALL and the lighting was on the dressing table at the opposite end. No where to put glass of water or anything else I might require during the night. I am an elderly lady and HAD to keep my bathroom light on all night to ensure my safety to the toilet. The staff were fine and the breakfast was good BUT facilities need checking out when room is being vacated. Under these circumstances I would NOT stay in this hotel again. There was no overhead lighting either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    7.5
    We Had dinner in the bar and the food was poor, my wife...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We Had dinner in the bar and the food was poor, my wife ordered grilled salmon with roasted veg. and it came up "swimming" in oil, she left it and when the bar staff took it away we told him, and he said he would tell the chef - not even an apology or even an a good will offer. The desert wasn't any better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing and comfortable stay, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food eaten in restaurant not as good as last visit. Omelette ordered for breakfast was burnt underneath. Staff serving breakfasts were exemplary. Would not let this stop us returning to the wonderful atmosphere at The Bull.

    Staff were extremely helpful as we had to check out early because of a crisis at home. Everything we needed was provided in room, an especially comfy bed as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.3
    Visiting for a birthday the staff and food were excellent.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom tiles need to be fixed but it didn't spoil our stay.

    It lived up to our expectations, after 43 years of visiting Sudbury my husband got to stay in The Black Bull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Relaxing, cosy and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had smaller , but still comfortable room this time as superior rooms which we usually have were all booked for weddings.

    Have been coming here for many years. Nothing is too much trouble.Gary and his team work as teams should.Had smaller, but

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    6.7
    Lovely clean towels and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very 'tired' accomodation. Bathroom shower not working and vinyl floor covering coming away from tiles on walls - covered in thick dust!! Curtains in the room torn and tatty. Very disappointing as had stayed previously albeit few years ago! In desperate need for full refurb...such a shame the neglect for such a lovely hotel

    Lovely clean towels and comfy bed. Heating in room very good.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bathroom had no heating and therefore the bathroom was very cold and the shower was not very powerful.

    The hotel had character and all the staff were friendly. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing stay. The lounge and restaurant were out of bounds due to a private function but we weren't told this when we booked. We had to go to another pub to get a drink in the evening as the small room available was packed with guests from the private function. In the morning, there was no table for us and we weren't expected. We were put in another room with a constant flow of people bumping into our table working on taking down decorations. No privacy. It took 40 mins to be served our breakfast. We felt like imposters at a private function - not valued guests. The receptionist did give us a discount but we won't be returning. Furniture in the room was very scuffed, worn and old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff went out of their way to accommodate me with a very early check in. I drove through the night and arrived just after 8am. They had my room ready shortly afterwards and I was able to get a cup of tea and breakfast before grabbing a few hours sleep. I was given a room at the back so that it would be quiet. I would certainly stay again and definitely recommend them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.1
    not what I expected payed more for a suit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was on side road lorries turning into off main road all night,breakfast had been cooked and put under hotplate to keep hot well before being served ,could not watch TV in bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous and we will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One very minor feature: the cisterns were very slow to fill after flushing.

    The staff made this stay for us. They were friendly and attentive and very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place for overnight stay, friendly staff, super breakfast - thank you x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beams slightly obscured watching tv in bed (Melford Suite) but it's a period property and so not a problem at all for us but might be for others

    Comfortable room, full of character, clean and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    5.4
    It could have been exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom tiny, could not turn off radiator so was like sauna, shower constantly dripped, Chipped tiles and poor grouting behind toilet. looked dirty. Restaurant not opened to guests so had to eat in Bar. No info on hotel in room so had to hunt for staff to ask about Wifi and timings to eat. Receptionist not that welcoming, Breakfast had to ask twice for coffee (after hot breakfast served) and then was brought tea.

    Location lovely, quaint room with lovely sitting area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.9
    A very comfortable hotel all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were there only for on night but have no complaints about anything.

    The hotel was very good for our one night stay. Breakfast was excellent . We had to laugh about the sloping floor on the first floor and the creaking floorboards, it was all a good experience. We will stay there again. We

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    7.5
    We love Long Melford and enjoyed out stay and cannot praise your staff highly enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very very helpful and polite. Could not be faulted. We were not informed that the restaurant would not be available on the Saturday night and we had wanted to dine in the dining room as it was our 55th anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    excellent historic hotel friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing everything was great.

    the room we stayed in was no. 22 overlooking the street, very large room, staff very friendly and helpful, we were early and our room was not ready, so Rob gave us a free drink in the bar while we waited. two members of staff were very helpful and a credit to the Hotel, Rob and Sally, thanks for making our stay so memorable and restaurant staff very friendly too. will recommend to family and friends, will be staying here whenever we are in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    A fantastic weekend , well done to all the staff , we will be coming back . Thank You.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor lining in the bathroom was coming away from the wall and looked a bit of a mess . A few of the bathroom tiles were cracked and some had been drilled and plugged . The toilet was not working as it should . This was in room 37 . I am just being picky but it needs sorting .

    Helpful and friendly staff , we had a great weekend , we will be going back .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old building to stay in with lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because bedroom window was'nt double glazed, I get it... It's an old building, it was draughty & you can clearly hear people speaking outside & cars coming & going

    Bed was comfy,old building with lots of atmosphere, with uneven floors twists & turns in the corridors, good size rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.7
    Woken one night by false fire alarm and music till midnight on 2nd night so would not visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was over the restaurant and we had to suffer loud music till midnight. Future guests should check where their room is. Food was pub like. There are better eateries in town. Staff friendly but undertrained.

    Room large with sofa. Breakfast good. A fine oak beamed building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    6.3
    Not very happy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we found ourselves in the middle of a wedding function, (a fact we were not warned in advance !). It was very noisy with lots of "very merry" guests, many of whom stayed in the hotel for the night and who constantly made a lot of noise etc. Consequently we found it hard to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.8
    Satisfied apart from the shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower over the bath not good, put curtain in the bath but got the floor exceedingly wet, not very powerful. Would have liked some peppermint tea in the room.

    The rooms were good, staff helpful and the breakfast tasty. Plenty of parking space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    We had a very relaxing and pleasant time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kettle had a very short lead. We had to brew up on the floor.

    The staff were polite and friendly. The breakfast5 was excellent and the food was generous proportions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.1
    bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a toilet that did not flush each time and although we had two bath sheets to hand towels would have been good, a large bath sheet on your head when you have washed your hair is hard to balance. In the dinning room a table cloth would have been very nice to see or at least a table mat.

    bed very comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and place had a lovely old feel to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When got back to the room late the main lights would not work just the bathroom used this light to get ready for bed as tired.

    Friendly and place had a lovely old feel to it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    4.2
    Beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive room. Tired and neglected. Handles missing off shabby chests of drawers. Spare linen in `Wardrobe`. Plugs on bath and basin off the chains, screwholes and marks over bath where fitting had been removed, thick mastic behind toilet . . . and a shower curtain !

    Beautiful old building. Once inside ........... very little spent for a long time and it showed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the hotels fault we are just not used to traffic l did wake up quite early, not a problem though.

    Beautiful old hotel in equally beautiful location, staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a really nice night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    8.8
    A very nice atmosperic hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very warm and there was a lack of any air conditioning.

    The food was excellent. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Very good location for our needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.9
    easy friendly place to stay, lots of character - nice little town and lots to see in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better lighting but its an old building so it goes with the territory

    very pleasant stay - lots of character in the building, loved the wonky floors and walls, great breakfast - pleasant friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    7.1
    room lovely, spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel would appear to be a major venue for weddings. it means hotel is full, bars are crowded. i sat outside to eat to make the most of the very pleasant garden area and was the only one not involved in the wedding. I was surrounded by over 100 guests!!! no indication this is likely on website and i only booked 3 days beforehand. not really wanted for a quiet one night getaway.

    room lovely, spacious and clean. some parts of hotel in need of a little cherishing but it added to the ambiance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed a return trip to The Bull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A hotel where the age of the building prevents extras such as air-con in the rooms and layout of lighting.

    Excellent staff and very good breakfast choice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    5.4
    Characterful place, with good staff, but with some comfort issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and beds were very hot and we didn't sleep that well as a result, despite having both windows open. The bathroom plumbing needs attention; we had to pump the handle on the toilet to flush it, the sink took a while to empty and had no chain for th plug and the shower got stuck. The tea/coffee selection in our room could have been wider; there was no herbal option.

    The area by our window was nice to relax in. The staff were very helpful especially when the shower got stuck in the ON position; a plumber was summoned immediately. There was a good range of foods for breakfast. It was very interesting to have so much history of the building and the town explained in various panels around the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.5
    still a lovely hotel but dinner not as good as it used to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dinner was OK but disappointing and area to dine was not great. Shame we could not eat where breakfast was and service for dinner was slow

    breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and helpful in answering questions prior to arriving, checking in/out and during our stay. The taxi service was fantastic. Our taxi driver was friendly and helpful in arranging a driver to pick us up and return us to the hotel. The customer service was outstanding which contributed significantly to a fantastic stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.1
    Return to a handy stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One towel and the bathroom footmat had been badly laundered, with visible lipstick and ?mascara? stains (swiftly resolved by the excellent night porter).

    Excellent room on a special offer, was just what was needed after a week under canvas in hot weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a big issue but the shower curtain wouldn't cover the corner of the bath so the floor was a bit wet.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating. Great location as it was just 10 minutes from the wedding I was attending.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    7.9
    memory lane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rooms very dated. not changed since last time I was there 15 years ago. need total revamp of bedrooms and bathrooms. menu has now become very generic the same menu in each hotel of the chain but I remember the fantastic menu it had years ago. offer advertised on facebook of special meal deal during 12-16th June 33% reduction but no sign of this offer and no reduction in cost of our evening meal. waited over an hour for full english breakfast and when food finally arrived informed it was due to a cooker having malfunctioned. had we been told of this delay when ordering food would have chosen alternative. cannot fault the food it was very good both evening meal and breakfast. Have fond memories of this hotel and staff but feel it has become very dated and requires some much needed TLC

    the staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.8
    A lovely stay at a characterful hotel, with good food, and helpful service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little on the small size, we paid a discounted price so it was fine, but probably would have been a little disappointed with the size of the room if we had paid full price.

    Loved the character of the hotel, lovely old beams etc. Enjoyed breakfast, with a good selection of food to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.7
    A rather run down hotel.. staff pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For my first dinner I chose steak pie. This was the worst steak pie I have eaten in my 91 years. The pastry was soggy, the contents worse than indifferent. For later evenings I chose cheese and biscuits, they didn't have to cook those. My wife did have dinners without complaint. Breakfasts were OK but no more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most of the staff indifferent no communication had to change rooms booked a table for a meal twice to be told next day no table so had to go outside for evening meal with friends not happy

    Area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    8.8
    very good food and the staff could not have tried harder to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed under great presure i think there was some sickness but they could do with some more help.

    The food was very good and the staff were working very hard to make us happy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    5.8
    Good location and a standard coaching type inn with a few staffing inadequacies
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast staff were hopeless - messed up my order three times and no charm either. My room so hot the window had to be left open by a foot - lucky it was a quiet!

    Location and parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    8.3
    Easy, affordable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was so hot and stuffy and even with the window open it lead to a bit of an uncomfortable night. That's the only comment I could make though.

    Staff were really friendly. Everything you needed, clean rooms and venue. Breakfast was really tasty. Good value for money. Brilliant location for being in Suffolk. Lovely atmosphere, and great to be able to eat in the little outdoor part in the sun.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    10
    Birthday treat
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at breakfast was really appalling although when we got it the food was lovely, they just sat us down and basically forgot us even though at that time they weren't busy in dining room, serving people that came in after us one table having eight people to be served, in the end I had to ask someone as we'd sat for nearly 20 minutes and by that time it had got busy.

    The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I go away lots but always have trouble sleeping, had the best nights sleep even though they had a football party and disco.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    7.5
    The choice at breakfast was excellent & what we ordered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room ( #39 ) was very tired, with worn carpets & bathroom flooring.

    The choice at breakfast was excellent & what we ordered didn't disappoint. The character of this hotel is lovely, a beautiful quirky old building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal,was a sit down,for 50.but far to much stuff on the table during the meal....glasses,not used,cups/saucers not for use till the end,so was awkward to place veg platters on table,as not much space.

    All was ok,meal,breakfast, bed,shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    8.3
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we tried to have dinner on the Saturday, but what we ordered, they had ran out off. so we went to have a curry in the village .

    the staff were great, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.1
    I will probably think twice before booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa was covered in hairs and I mean covered as if a dog had slept on it. I put a towel on it before I sat down. Shame as everything else was spotless.

    The food was not up to their usual standard as everything was burnt and we left the majority of it. It appeared to have been prepared earlier and was re-cooked when served. We had the scallops, prawns, scampi and plaice. They did have an annual dinner dance on that night which may explain the reason. However, the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.1
    Weekend stay at the historic Bull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom facilities were a little dated. Breakfast on the last day disturbed by people setting up a day time event right next to us.

    Lovely historic building. Nice powerful shower. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    10
    Beautiful room and pleasant area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren't informed that the hotel was hosting a big function so had to eat our romantic meal in the bar which got mobbed between toasts.

    Extremely friendly staff who where very apologetic about how busy they were having to move our diner. The room was lovely and comfortable and not noisy despite large function.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: