Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Carlton Manor Hotel 3 stars

Chapel Road, Carlton Colville, Lowestoft, NR33 8BL, United Kingdom

#19 of 32 hotels in Lowestoft

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff are excellent, led by Kerry, you are make you very welcome. I travel to this area on business often, and have tried other hotels in the area, but the Carlton Manor is my first choice. Comfortable rooms, good food and with the facility to charge my hybrid is a definite bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked the option of fresh fruit instead of cereal for breakfast. Hotel is located in large dormitory village of Lowestoft with few other amenities although there is a decent local pub serving food. However, we knew that when we booked.

    Comfortable and large room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside area needed a tidy and TLC. Front garden overgrown and full of weeds and rubbish in the parking area. Fake flowers around the entrance looked naff, far better without them and the existing pots needed attention as does the lamp by the entrance. View of ICO container and unkeeped land to front needs addressing. All could be fixed with some simple screens, gardening and some pot plants in front of the lodges. First impressions matter! Thought the grounds would have been bigger and had no idea a caravan camp site surrounded the back of the property. Inside the rooms the daily clean needs to address some small details like emptying bins and removing cobwebs from ceiling. Rooms could also do with hotel info pack...eg meal times, locate area info, etc.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was really very good. Rooms were of a good size and decor was well done. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room was dirty, the hand basin was wiped round but not cleaned, the teas and biscuits were not replenished on the second day. We are used to having table cloths in the restaurant, not bear wood which wasn’t particularly clean. The breakfast menue didn’t include fruit or yogurts. The tea and coffee was help yourself with the warm water from a flask for the tea

    The staff were excellent including the chef who accommodated our requests. The bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather noisy at night and early morning from surrounding properties. The Satnav took us to the wrong Chapel Road. It is not at Mutford!

    Dinner was good, although my "Wellington," had no pastry as chef had run out. There was a varied menu. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious but some yoghurt and fruit, nuts, would have been appreciated. Car parking was easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the noise outside the room woke me up at 6am

    Great staff and great location to White Dove Barns Lisa front of house was excellent and very inventive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a sleepless night as our room was next to the hotel's boiler and clearly there was no proper sound insulation, it was impossible to sleep all night long. I complained 3 times during the night, however, nothing was done or offered.Not sure why I had to pay the full amount of the booking fee when the service was not provided? For a sleepless night?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a Beer Festival right outside our bedroom which was running until 10.30 at night, not mentioned when we booked.. Bathroom door handle broken. Poor recommendation from Booking.com

    The breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired building. No fresh fruit at breakfast. Doughy croissants. Doors need painting

    Friendly lady on reception- she seemed to run everything in the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in my room was awful. The showers in the other 3 rooms we booked for family were fine

    The food was great (dinner and breakfast), rooms were huge and clean, the staff were lovely, drinks were reasonably priced and it was nice and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a disappointment White bread for toast Brown bread for poached egg was cheap , eggs looked very orange , are they battery farmed ? Full English was poor , sausages were very cheap No fruit out Poor selection of general choice out A big price for poor lasting impression due to breakfast as you check out

    Big bed lovely Sofa bed out and all made Thick curtains No noise from a road or others in building Helpful receptionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside seating area could have been tidied up and the seats cleaned as they had leaves on and the tables also could have been cleaner. The dining room could have been laid out with table cloths and candles/flowers to give it a better ambiance. Also they ran out of lasagna, tagliatelle and beef burgers .

    The staff were excellent very friendly and Even sent us a card when they found out that we were celebrating our ruby wedding anniversary. The food was good and the breakfasts were excellent. The Sunday carvery was very nice too. There was lots of parking too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here several times previously but felt it had gone downhill this time. Room was in need of repair and redecorating - mildew on shower tile grout and rusty radiator pipes, filthy TV remote. Restaurant and bar area seemed empty and soulless, like it was in the process of being closed down. Whenever I've visited before it's been busy and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many small touches missing that make this hotel poor quality in comparison with so many others I've stayed in. TV didn't work in room on arrival - same problem next morning. Walls between rooms thin - woken early by doors banging etc. Not enough staff in hotel - breakfast waitress also seemed to be receptionist in morning - had to go out of breakfast room to find her! Breakfast experience uninspiring. A few packets of cereal and some dried up sliced bread in a bread bin. Not exactly spoilt for choice with continental options. Didn't once get asked if everything was ok with food. I feel like the hotel is trying to cost-cut in every aspect with the breakfast. Not sachets of tomato sauce etc. Big potholes on entrance to hotel - had to negotiate on arrival in dark. Hotel grounds look a bit unkempt and unloved. A shame because could be beautiful!

    Staff very friendly on the whole. Bed lovely and comfy. Cooked breakfast tasty (but rest of breakfast experience bland!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cups in the room were filthy and hadn’t been changed. 2. Chef didn’t turn up for work so breakfast delayed initially 1 hour then I waited 30 mins for my order to be taken with a hungry child. 3. Hot water wasn’t working for one half day through the morning so no shower. 4. Noisy other guests kept us awake. Staff only offered £25 discount for all these faults. Unacceptable.

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot and the air conditioning was hard to work out. The coffee at breakfast time was watery hotel coffee.

    We were allowed to check in early and we were moved to a better room when the first room wasn't ready. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing not to like however we felt that if more attention was paid to fine detail we could have give a stunning review. Chipped paint on doors, lights not working in the room. Overall the rooms were comfortable but we felt a little cold. In the lounge for instance bearing in mind it was sub zero outside, a fire (log effect) blasting out heat would have been nice

    Hotel was quite on the Friday night. Good service for dinner, food was plentiful and well cooked. Not fine dining but good food. Breakfast on Saturday was cooked to order, Sunday was buffet styl as more guests in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area could do with a tidy up and it took a while to find the staff on arrival

    Great value for the money and central to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall impression was of a shabby neglected hotel. Bath room facilities-disabled seat was in the way of the shower which didn’t drain properly and almost flooded the room. Very little choice of healthy breakfast options if you don’t want full-fried. Four of us guests waited over 10 mins for someone to arrive in order to check-out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet location, good breakfast was included in the price and the room was clean, warm and comfortable. I had a friendly welcome upon arriving at the hotel, the young woman at reception was very helpful and friendly the moment I walked through the door

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that we don't understand that it's not a busy time for them but room and hall were freezing, perhaps they could put the radiator on if someone is staying

    Every thing we have stayed here before

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff made us feel in the way and a nucience because they had a big party of people in and was busy attending to that and kept reminding us of the fact!!

    Room was beautiful (four poster room) Food exceptional, delicious and hot. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the receptionist attempted to "up grade," me to an outside access room on a freezing night, I would have needed to take my coat to the function, I believe that this was initially to avoid a member of staff having to assist me with my luggage, as there is no lift . After refusing the "motel," room I was allocated 1 in the main building. The bath was far too deep and uncomfortable to try and wash without getting my hair wet. That the sink was so small, style over function, square and much too shallow. The function room was quite cold and took a long time to heat up, so meal got cold very quickly.

    The heating in my room, when I was allocated a room in the main house. The bed. The breakfast. The close proximity to the function I was attending.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable, probably the best I have stayed in (stayed in four poster room with jacuzzi bath). The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was good. We opted for half board which was very good value. The room was quiet and had free wifi and a good flat screen tv.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a nice evening in the bar with family we went back to our room and it was cold. The heating had gone off and there was an electric heater but it spoilt our enjoyment a bit.

    They were very friendly and welcoming. Bed really comfy and slept really well. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Made your own toast but there was plenty there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a little limited in choice if the cooked option was not your selection.

    Large room, comfortable bed, clean and in good basic order. Nice quiet location with staff keen to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room was not lit correctly, areas where dimly lit gave the impression of 'gloom 'and was not conducive to a' happy' atmosphere. The black painted coving in many rooms was the wrong colour adding to our impression of dowdiness which is completely incorrect because the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. A few more appropriately positioned lights giving a more relaxed atmosphere would do wonders.

    Good parking .Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Nice bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea service for breakfast could have been better,water was available from a flask but the water wasn't boiling hot....when we got the tea in teapot it was perfect

    Place is spotless! Staff so nice and friendly...very relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we did not care for the wet room. we prefer an enclosed shower. we do not drink coffee. would have liked more tea bags in the room.

    the beds were comfortable. the food was good. parking good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise this was a wedding venue. It was noisy near our room. We weren’t able to get near the bar or seating areas in the hotel as wedding party every where.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was fairly basic. No staff in sight to ask for items that had run out at breakfast. Noisy young men in room next door were coming and going in the early hours.

    Handy for Southwold, Walberswick & Dunwich. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is lacking in character,but food and service good. Breakfast is a buffet (much prefer freshly cooked!)

    Large, comfortable and well decorated room in a new part of the hotel. even though we were very close to an evening function, the noise was not disturbing. Friendly and helpful staff. Food in restaurant is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is in a lovely quiet location with plenty for parking. The transport museum is literally next door and well worth a visit. The bus services seem to stop earlier than I would be used to so I would recommend bringing the car.

    The staff were exceptional. They were friendly, professional and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had to change rooms during the stay which was a pain and not so much as a glass of wine offered as recompense. Food pleasant enough.

    Spacious and clean rooms with helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very short of staff in the evening of our arrival, but as we were not in any huge hurry, this did not affect our enjoyment.

    My wife and I were celebrating our 53 wedding anniversary, and we wanted to find a peaceful place away from any hustle and bustle, and the Carlton Manor was just perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having looked at the websight it showed pictures of the food we could expect in the restaurant ,unfortunately this kind of food ie. mussels etc. was no longer available. as this was a special day for us it was a big disapointment and I feel it should show this on the websight

    the hotel itself was really good,it was a lovely room and very comfortable, the staff were excellence and very hard working which made the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from window was a fence. We were on ground floor in out buildings. Next to the large bins for nearby caravan site. Next door to cleaning stores. Trolley went past 5 times over gravel on first morning while we were trying to sleep. Delivery vans extremely noisy early morning.

    Room large, modern and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed to be rushed off their feet as there was no welcome book in the room, Just one poor guy on the front desk seemed to be doing everything. He even made my tea at breakfast. Had to wait for about 15 mins for eggs and bacon to be brought out from the kitchen. If you sort these things out, this will be an excellent hotel.

    Beautiful room, spacious and just lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in had a bathroom for invalids and was a wet room. Both of us prefer an enclosed shower or bath. Once the floor gets wet the room becomes unusable until it dries.

    The breakfasts and the evening meal we had in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I found that the location was a little bit away from the centre so a car was needed. This was fine for us as we brought our car. The bus service wasn't really a good option as we found that many of the services stopped early. However, the trains run regularly to the larger cities like Norwich.

    Staff were incredibly professional, accommodating and friendly; they are a huge asset to the hotel. The hotel itself was great, lovely rooms and great facilities. It was wonderful to have the option to eat at the hotel if we wanted to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had, was I got back a bit late and fancied a night cap and there were no bar staff to get me a drink and no one was willing to allow me to buy a bottle drink either, which was a little frustrating.

    The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant, the accommodation was perfect, it was not as close to where I needed to be, but the rest of my stay was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was very uncomfortable would have preferred two double beds instead of large double and sofa bed

    Lovely little hotel with great food and helpful staff. Lovely play area in the garden also..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have preferred to stay in the main hotel, not in the outbuilding although this was new and room was large and comfortable. The view was poor, overlooked a caravan and the laundry area. We felt like we were hidden away a little bit.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of nowhere. Reception staff indifferent. Decor of hotel very dated, apart from bedroom. Corridor smelled of cats. We were charged £50 for checking in early, although no one told us we were early. Hotel refunded £30 of this and Booking.com refunded £20 after an email. Don't indicate that you will be arriving until after 3pm on Booking.com, or hotel will add this charge automatically. Very prices for what it is.

    Dinner was lovely, although restaurant was empty. Serving lady was very friendly and hardworking. Lots of parking. Bedroom nicely decorated, good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one told us about payment arrangements when we checked in. Usually a payment is automatically taken when you book online or they tell you when to settle the bill. No one did. Although we checked out early no one asked for a payment so I assumed we had paid. We hadn't. It was very embarrassing to get a phone call later that day but it wasn't our fault. I have booked with this website many times but this is the first time anything like this has happened. Plus the beer in the bar was very cloudy and unfit for consumption.

    The food at the function we attended was excellent and we had a lovely quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really. The bathrooms are good, but have the odd little imperfections around the decor, but we're being picky given the overall value for money and the wonderful staff.

    Just a really nice small hotel. Very friendly staff. When I've stayed they make a breakfast to order which is always first class. Informal atmosphere. Not a chain hotel which is why I choose to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better with air-con. We staid during an uncharacteristic period of hot weather.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely situated, with free on site parking. Felt at home. Very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was changed from No 19 which I was told was one of their nicer rooms to Room No 3 without being informed! The room is dark and smelly. The whole place is tired and shabby. The staff although tried to be friendly were rushed. The breakfast was mediocre at best and didn't warrant the money we paid!

    Staff working hard to make up for failings in the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the shower recess was quite slippery with a high edge which would be easy to trip over if you weren't careful. There was loud music on both Friday and Saturday nights.

    The room was comfortable and we opened the windows- a bonus if you like fresh air. The location is between the transport museum and what appears to be a cabin park. We didn't access the beach or waterways. The staff were great, all were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    green fire alarm light on the ceiling it affected my sleep

    fab from start to finish cannot fault anything except the green light in bedroom on the ceiling

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to ring for service for anyone to take a breakfast order or bring a cup of tea was very cumbersome, food choice in the evening was poor for children

    Good sized family room, good shower and nice biscuits in the room, very helpful and friendly staff at reception in the evening when we checked in, and on Saturday morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No faults! Highly recommend this a stay over at this hotel

    Huge spacious twin room, immaculate with tasteful interior decor. Quiet for sleeping. Piping hot water and deep bath with nice quality toiletries. Excellent food, evening meal very reasonably priced. Breakfast choice plenty full, served in nicely appointed breakfast room. Nice bar/lounge area. Pleasant, friendly and efficient staff team. Nice farmland area for early morning runs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed that room wasn't ready when I arrived @ 2.45 even though I had emailed 7 days prior to confirm I would be arriving after 2pm. Staff quickly brought room up to scratch whilst I sorted out my luggage.

    I booked 6 months in advance so got a very good discount off normal rates. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was well prepared,hot and enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very informative. No staff around during breakfast to maintain supplies of milk, bread and juice. Bedroom and double bed quite small. Accommodation quarters didn't feel particularly clean or well kept.

    Comfy bed, beautiful exterior of hotel, excellent parking. Dining room well kept. Quiet location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not great, evening meal was average, feel like running on a tight budget that doesn't fit the price point

    The two staff that they have on were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be really really picky, the breakfast was a little bit too cool, but in fairness to the hotel and staff, my good lady and I were very nearly late for breakfast!

    Lovely location, gardens, superb room, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows on the bed where very uncomfortable, no bath robes as was stated on our booking paper, and I missed having a flannel. The staff seemed to be doing a good job.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed seemed small very warm in room window latch broken so couldn't open window stayed 2 nights didn't empty bins a little disappointed

    Breakfast was lovely room ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are friendly, location is great, food is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The single room could be described as 'snug', but is fine. Double rooms are very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took two rooms, the second had a "wet room" rather than a normal bathroom, which is not great when two people have to share. It's not a huge problem, but if another room had been available then it should have been given first.

    The Hotel was excellent, very clean and the staff were always around to help with anything. Breakfast was good, a standard English with as much coffee as I could drink!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu

    I did not think the breakfast was very good. Limited choice of food,food slight warm. Dinner menu was the same each night,variety would have been nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fresh fruit would have been nice and some pastries.

    This was a very pleasant find, the hotel is lovely and although we initially had a maintenance problem with our room, the staff did everything they could to rectify the problem and so our stay was not disrupted. The food was better than usual for hotel dining and the breakfast was lovely, I would have appreciated some fresh fruit and pastries on offer though. There is a caravan park attached/next to the hotel so it was a little noisy in the evenings at the weekend but all in all we would stay here again. A good experience and very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows on bed, a personal preference and mattress a little hard.

    The staff were so welcoming and even upgraded us to a bigger room at no extra charge. Food was beautiful and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab sized room and bed. Superb service and friendly staff. Evening meal was fab, kids thoroughly enjoyed theirs too (fussy eaters). Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classic English breakfast with the added bonus of kippers available. Comfortable rooms, with opening windows. The staff were very accommodating. We had lunch there the following day - the carvery was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit of confusion around dinner. We chose to sit in the carvery which seemed to mean we could only have food from the carvery - a menu didn't appear..... The communal areas are beautifully decorated but feel very empty - could do with lamps, pictures, cushions.

    Fabulous room, very clean, comfy bed, excellent bathroom, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really if I were to be really picky the radiator in our bathroom was very dusty so putting clean towels on it is not good just a small observation .

    It was clean and tidy staff were friendly although it seemed that they were a little under staffed in the evening when we ate there.Food was ok and it was nice that breakfast was included in the price as this doesn't happen to often nowadays,happy with our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two aspects that I was unhappy with. First, my friend and I were provided with a disabled access room when neither of us required those additional facilities. The bathroom was a wet room, the sink and mirror were too low to use and the shower chair fixed to the wall made it difficult to go under the waterfall shower head. After showers the wet room was unusable again until it had been cleaned. I had expected a bath/shower combo in my room so this detracted from our overall experience. Second, the breakfast service was not good. The setup is that there is a buffet with toast, cereals and juices, but an order is taken for fruit, yoghurt, porridge, croissants and cooked options from a fixed menu. On each of the two mornings that we ate the whole process took just under an hour which in my view was too long. On the second day my friend was served a plate of bacon when she had specifically stated each morning that she is vegan. Staff would be better designated to breakfast service rather than answering the phone or manning the reception desk at the same time.

    The rooms had clearly been renovated recently to a good standard, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast food was good quality and tasted nice. The staff were friendly and the hotel was conveniently located for our needs. Overall I would probably stay again when I visit the area again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside photos on the site do not look like the real thing. Pool table and dart board are now in the bar area making it look cheap and tacky where as the photos make it look really nice. Staff also sitting in uniform at bar all evening and felt like we were in the way when trying to order our drinks. Manager was sitting at the bar too drinking coffee so with three people sitting at the bar there wasn't alot of room to get to the bar.

    Liked as it was a small hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was not working when I arrived and still not working when I left in the morning. Kettle in the room is a major hazard in that scalding steam escapes from a vent in the top causing you to burn your hand - on further examination it was an unknown make with a dubious CE marking and no PAT test. The shower cubicle has been fitted into a space too small for it resulting in the folding door not shutting properly causing large amounts of water to spill on the floor. The window is blocked by a large desk therefore if you want to open it you need to move the desk out of the way (bad ergonomics) The bed was hard and lumpy and the staircase noisy as guests use it. Finally the shower head needs a good descale I was lucky to get more than four sprays directly onto me the rest went in all other directions - not great for legionella control either. My room number was 12!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they open the window in the dining area while i was eating breakfast and made the room cold

    i liked the hot chocolate in the room the breakfast was really nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason we were initially charged 25% more than the price at which we had booked. This was refunded with no fuss when we spotted the mistake. The shower in our room did not work properly, although the room was otherwise very comfortable. Breakfast was very limited. What was provided was nice, but small portions. We were offered no fruit, or pastries etc. Just cooked breakfast (with one mushroom) and DIY toast. The menu specified "egg to your liking" so we requested an omelette. This was declined!

    The front desk staff were very helpful. When we arrived our room had twin beds rather than the double we had booked. They happily changed whilst we were at dinner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival back to our room I realised straight away that there was not an extra single bed put up, which was arranged prior to arrival. Firstly, I thought this wouldn't be a problem as there were four of us and we were so tired I thought we'd be fine. We soon realised that the pullout double sofa bed wasn't big enough for my two children boy of 11 and girl of 14. In the end my husband slept on pullout bed which he said was very uncomfortable as he is a large man and every time he moved it would make a noise which woke us all. My children slept with me in the double bed again not enough room. The bathroom door was very noisy when we got up in the middle of the night it woke everyone up. Also, there was a constant banging of a door downstairs until approx midnight and the green security light was bright and kept me awake. In all not much sleep was had by all ☹️

    After returning from my Dads funeral we were all tired and hungry. To our delight there was a carvery set out which was just what we needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking forward to the breakfast but it wasn't as good as expected. it was far from poor though. Thin walls, we could hear the next room talking

    comfortable bed, good size room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor choice of Evening Meal (on the particular day I visited). Nice pub 15 mins walk away though.

    Lovely staff Excellent Breakfast Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: